View Full Version : UK People!
Hmm I can't find the UK section on here anymore:confused:
OK nearly went to Hamleys today but didn't I knew I couldn't handle it lol
I went to Selfridges instead, and got stared at people were staring at me so much I actually went to find a mirror to see if I had something on my face, but I didn't, (hard being a total babe) :p
Looked at Jimmy choos and rather pricey undies and DP got shouted at as he went to the ladies instead of the gents LMAO twit
It has snowed 2 days in a row now, Eliza has her first cold and is on a serious snot marathon my heart is breaking for her she whistles as she sleeps I want to hold her non stop my poor baby
Guys, my heart is breaking for you missing out on Mothercare the winter outfits are mega cute
I am pretty housebound now as Eliza is so sick :(
Hi Pixie
Been thinking of you. Have decided that I am going to live my life vicariously (sp) through you. Here is my list of things to do:- (sorry at lot of it will probably involve eating and drinking, lol!)
1. Eat some Walkers Cheese & Onion and Salt & Vinegar crisps
2. Got to a REAL pub
3. Have an M&S Prawn Sarnie
4. Drool over the clothes in Next for kids
5. Go on the tube and a London Bus
6. Meet up with my girlfriends, flirt with some "Suits", catch the night bus home and feel like c*ap the next day.
7. Goto the theatre
8. Goto Brick Lane and have a dodgy curry
9. Watch the Bill, Corrie, Eastenders, Parkie and some daytime trash
10. Buy a bottle of wine in the supermaket and pack your own shopping bag
Let me know how you go Pixie, await further instructions in due course:D :D
Hope Eliza gets better soon
lachies_mum
26-01-2007, 20:24
I lived and worked in the UK For 13months a couple of years ago and LOVED it! But I haveto agree- the cold is pretty bad. You look out the window and it looks all sunny and nice,and as soon as you get outside you are freezing your booty off!
One of the funniest things was when we went grocery shopping for the first time, we went to Morrisons and we had no idea that they didnt bag the groceries for you- we just assumed the cashout people did that because thats what it is like with all supermarkets in Australia! So here we are with all the groceries piling up as she scanned them and no one was bagging them and we were both looking at each other really weird as if to say "Arent you going to bag them?" Until she actually did say that and I was like "OH, oops, I didnt know" lol
Keep warm!
Hi pixie just thought i'd say hi :wave: ..
i am from the UK originally been in australia 3 years. I miss the snow :no:
Aw Nat, poor Eliza, I hope she gets better soon!!! I miss being cold though......:yes: :rolleyes:
Are you liking it there hun?
Hi Pixie
Been thinking of you. Have decided that I am going to live my life vicariously (sp) through you. Here is my list of things to do:- (sorry at lot of it will probably involve eating and drinking, lol!)
2. Got to a REAL pub
4. Drool over the clothes in Next for kids DONE
5. Go on the tube and a London Bus DONE
6. Meet up with my girlfriends, flirt with some "Suits", catch the night bus home and feel like c*ap the next day. Went to the Exchange yesterday "suits" galore fricken hard to flirt with the baby and DP but sheshh darn tempted tell ya now
7. Goto the theatre
9. Watch the Bill, Corrie, Eastenders, Parkie and some daytime trash Done Eastenders ;)
10. Buy a bottle of wine in the supermaket and pack your own shopping bag Done lol I keep forgetting to pack my own bags so funny
I thought I'd mark the ones I'd done so far been here 4 days so not doing to badly.
ahhhh la de da
Yeah Nasha I am having a good time I miss my fwends though
Wow I'm going to have to put my thinking cap on, quick worker:laughing:
I did think of something at 3am this morning, LOL
11. Have crispy aromatic duck (sorry I did say there would be a lot of food related ones)!
12. Go on the Eurostar to Paris for the weekend (DH's contribution:yelclap: )
13. Goto Harrods foodhall
14. Go camping along the River Wye (maybe wait a few weeks for this one, LOL)
15. Visit Island and the Isle of Man :yes:
That should keep you busy for now. What does DH think of it so far?? Where did you end up living?
Purplebird
27-01-2007, 09:09
My Goodness you're making me soooo homesick :gloomy:
I would like to add some other suggestions to the list of things to do:
(btw 15. I think you mean Ireland, LOL).
16. Go shopping for proper bargain clothes in places like H&M, Top Shop and Dorothy Perkins.
17. Watch some decent TV!!!
18. Go to the theatre in the West End.
19. Go anywhere in Europe for a holiday without paying the equivalent of two months salary.
20. I'm with pp on the crispy aromatic duck! Oh, and the curry...yum!
21. Go shopping in Harvey Nicks.
22. Go and see any one of a multitude of live bands.
23. Do all the daggy touristy things- you know, Tower of LOndon, Buck Palace etc.
I could go on forever!!! Hope you settle in well and hope your lil one gets over her cold soon (better get used to colds, you'll probably have about ten a year!)
[QUOTE=Purplebird;1045107]My Goodness you're making me soooo homesick :gloomy:
I would like to add some other suggestions to the list of things to do:
(btw 15. I think you mean Ireland, LOL).
:laughing: Yep Ireland! Oops
Think we are going to keep Pixie busy, hope she can afford it all:laughing:
Manxie - Get Foxtel it helps with a fix of uk tv!!!!
OK we're going to Paris in September via Eurostar so that's already taken care of :D
Hmmmm duck yumbo
Ireland pish done that for 8 weeks when I was a teenager, need something else Isle of Man will do then.....;)
Manxie he loves it, totally unware yet of the weather keeps saying he likes the cold, he is yet to live through 5 months of cold, I shall ask him in March next year if he still likes it lol
PB we plan to do the Wheel and some of that stuff take a picture of Eliza in front of Buckinghuge Palace!
gosh you have given me a busy time lol
OOh Pixie I'm jealous, I love PARIS:smiliedance: and Crispy Duck!!!! LOL!
Glad your DH is enjoying it, mine never bothered about the cold when he lived in the UK think all the central heating helped. Has anyone tried to cook you yet? We found when we were last over that everyone turned up the heating so high as they thought we would be cold that we could hardly breathe!!
p.s. Isle of Man is great (bit expensive to get to though!)
Well last DP felt cold so we had the heating on 27c I find though if it is up to high I can't breath!
rubyredlips
29-01-2007, 12:08
Oh, to sit in an English pub, preferably with a real fire, and a soothing pint........ah! if only.......
I keep going with foxtel (eastenders every night at 7pm drives dp nuts :D and I watched Lilly Savage do blankety blank yesterday morning!), and bbc radio online, Chris Evans, jonathon woss,
Sorry to hear Eliza is sick Pixie, get well soon little one!
Fingers crossed to be over there before the end of summer this year :fingerscrossed:
filmgirlgail
29-01-2007, 13:58
Yes I'm with you girls on most of that. I miss some fo the daytime stuff from the UK, here all teh morning stuff is really infomercials. Who thought we'd miss Fern and Phil, Big Strong Boys, Cash in teh Attic, etc - just nice to have on in the background.
I miss the theatre - used to go to the musicals and the South Bank all teh time. Oh and I'll be having the Crispy Duck when I go home in 10 weeks!!!! :smiliedance:
ah went to the pub yesterday we walked through a field to get to it lol warm beer yucko lol had a nice stella and there was a fire.
Was meant to go out today to Buck place but I have a cold and zero energy so another day :D
ohhh and I had prawn cocktail crisps :p
ah went to the pub yesterday we walked through a field to get to it lol warm beer yucko lol had a nice stella and there was a fire.
Was meant to go out today to Buck place but I have a cold and zero energy so another day :D
ohhh and I had prawn cocktail crisps :p
OOh prawn cocktail, <<droools!>>> Gotta love a real pub, why oh why did they ruin all the ones here with pokies and plastic:no:
coz they aint got no class :D
Guys been a week now and been using Pampers nappies and all I can say is HUGGIES suck a$$ these nappies rock my socks I got 54 or something for 9 quid too bloody crazy the wipes are awesome as well but bit pricey at 5 pounds for 200 I think defintely a item to get on sale.
Also can't get over this one, Argos has become a really good store, not just a bogan/chav store got some decent stuff in thar.
Hoping to get to London Zoo in a couple of weeks really looking forward to that!
mythreelittlemonkeys
05-02-2007, 23:26
Guys been a week now and been using Pampers nappies and all I can say is HUGGIES suck a$$ these nappies rock my socks I got 54 or something for 9 quid too bloody crazy the wipes are awesome as well but bit pricey at 5 pounds for 200 I think defintely a item to get on sale.
Also can't get over this one, Argos has become a really good store, not just a bogan/chav store got some decent stuff in thar.
Hoping to get to London Zoo in a couple of weeks really looking forward to that!
Yup we used Pampers this hols and I brought some back with me :) I couldnt believe how cheap nappies and wipes were in Tescos buy 2 packs of nappies for 15 pounds or something like that...plus the range of baby food just blew me away...as did the range of all organic food too...and not as big a price hike as here...
I msising the pub too...we went to my local a couple of times whilst home, log fires, scrummy food and lots of wellies and dogs!!
We also didnt really feel cold, that mainly cos my dad had fires lit all the time and the aga heats the house...and we wrapped up heaps...
oooooooo sounds like you going all out with the day trips...havent been to London Zoo since was little - let us know what was like!!
And yes Argos has changed dramatically hasnt it!!
its funny i dont want to live all the time at home but to be able to pop back for the weekends would be heaven!!
ENJOY!!
Nevermind the dodgy curry, go the fantastic bagels!
And I got withdrawls from Good Morning with Phillip Schofield and Fern Whatshername when I came back to Sydney after spending a month in the UK.
Wow I'm going to have to put my thinking cap on, quick worker:laughing:
I did think of something at 3am this morning, LOL
11. Have crispy aromatic duck (sorry I did say there would be a lot of food related ones)!
12. Go on the Eurostar to Paris for the weekend (DH's contribution:yelclap: )
13. Goto Harrods foodhall OK done this twice lol
14. Go camping along the River Wye (maybe wait a few weeks for this one, LOL)
15. Visit Island and the Isle of Man :yes:
That should keep you busy for now. What does DH think of it so far?? Where did you end up living?
ughhhh doing lots of free things lol went to the National gallery yesterday and trafalgar square Wednesday we went to the TATE modern...see a arty farty pattern here lol and walked the millenium bridge
its warm here 15C the past week daffodils everywhere!
Here's some pictures! CLICKY CLICK
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a285/Bosister/_DSC1045_DXO.jpg
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a285/Bosister/Milllybridge-1.jpg
going to the Nat history museum this week and maybe the V & A see the free Kylie exhibition ummm oh and the National portrait gallery
Waaaaahhhhhh so so so homesick, come and get me Pixie:gloomy: I want to come to all those cool places too. The animal expo and the parent and baby expo just are not going to cut it I'm afraid :rolleyes:
The photos look great
tanyac1976
03-06-2007, 12:24
Hi Pixie
2. Got to a REAL pub
4. Drool over the clothes in Next for kids
5. Go on the tube and a London Bus
6. Meet up with my girlfriends, flirt with some "Suits", catch the night bus home and feel like c*ap the next day.
7. Goto the theatre
10. Buy a bottle of wine in the supermaket and pack your own shopping bag
awww...don't...you are making me cry....sounds just like my old life..:) I miss (most) of that so much:D
Tanya