View Full Version : Just Moved to Melbourne

New mummy
25-01-2007, 19:27

we have just moved to melbourne and I was hoping to gop to some mums groups or playtimes but as Im new to the area, How do you find these groups? and does anyone know how to find the mother and child health clinics? (where you measure your baby ec.t?) where I came from we had really lovely clinics, you could get immunisations, and every thursday there was mops (meet other parents) groups.

Im hoping someone knows what I am talking about.

I live in the craigieburn area, and we moved down due to a transfer with my husbands job.

Hoping to hear from someone soon!! :D

Tasha

Two Little Buggalugs
25-01-2007, 19:34
Hi Tasha,

Welcome :wave: . I live in Preston so I don't think I'm close to where you live. I think if you ring your local council or check their website, you'll be able to find a list of health clinics near you.

There are Melbourne meets on every month. I just missed one (I'm new too) but if you keep an eye out they'll post about one for Feb.

Also, a lot of bubhubbers start up groups in their area. We're about to have a north west meet soon.

Perhaps you can start a thread asking for bubhubbers in your area. I'm not even sure where craigieburn is actually (not a geography type of gal!), but with all the people on this forum, there's bound to be someone near you. They'll probably know about the clinics too.

Good luck :)

New mummy
25-01-2007, 19:42
Thanks heaps! Ill head to the council site now :))

I know where preston is, we stayed in Hiedelberg Hieghts for a few weeks with friends till we found some where to live. Cragieburn is off the hume hwy-fwy, sort of. From preston its a little while away maybe 20 mins?? My husband works in Moonee ponds as we are quiet away from his work to where we live :) Where did you move from and how long have you been here??

Thanks again and Ill try see if I can get something started up
this way.

Oh and I hav a sonhis name is hamish and is 1 :)

Tasha :D

3 bambinos
25-01-2007, 19:50
I work in Craigieburn and I think the Maternal health nurse may be located at Selwyn House in Selwyn Avenue(behind the football oval) They may also have playgroups there and I think they are starting a musical group for kids there soon, like a kindermusic type of thing.

I know some women from Craigieburn who used the Maternal Health Nurse in Greenvale (which is about 10 mins away) as they are in my mothers group, our kids are around 18 months old.

Broadmeadows Library have baby time every second friday (I think) I used to go but go elsewhere now as I combine it with visiting family.

PM me if you want more information about the area and I'll try to help.

Two Little Buggalugs
25-01-2007, 19:56
Hi Tasha,

I moved here from WA. Sadly I have been here for 8 years and still don't have the best knowledge of suburbs. I know the places I live and the shopping areas. Chadstone and Bridge Rd were the first places I knew how to get to :laughing: . Where are you from?

You're welcome to join our meet if we're not too far. There is a thread going
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=61779&goto=newpost (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=61779&goto=newpost)
we're going to meet maybe Feb 7th.

My DD is 6 months old. I've joined a chat group on here of mums with bubs born in July. I'm the only Melbournite in the group, but with the beauty of cyberspace it doesn't really matter. Except I can't meet them... Oh well, when I win lotto.

BTW, nice to meet you. Hope you enjoy bubhub and don't get as addicted as me! I'm slowly weaning...

New mummy
25-01-2007, 20:11
Hey! another mum from craigieburn! Hi ya nice to meet you!

Oh you'll definately have to help me out with craigieburn, I have no idea where the footy oval is ;)
we have only been here in craigieburn for 6 days !

Oh and ill definately check out your mums web group, thanks ;)

We have moved from Darwin, NT.. yep a big move for us, dont know what to expect when winter comes oh boy!!

And im so glad I have cyber space too, keeps me in touch with friends, meet new people ect... very addicting! when ya got the time hehe ;))

I tell you something I had to adjust to was the sun going down at 9pm or so.. I must sound silly but its really different for us. im used to the sun goin down at say 6:30 - 7pm so was our son till we moved here now I cant get him to sleep till 9...

Tasha :D

26-01-2007, 10:59
You can head to playgroups.com and find a playgroup in your area. :D welcome to melbourne!!

mummaperry
28-01-2007, 09:58
How addictive is bubhub!
i only started on in a couple of weeks ago & i can't get off.....there is just too many lovely people out there! :)
How are you enjoying Craigieburn newmummy?
I am in Lalor....not too sure how far away from you that is...maybe 1/2 hr?

sethsmum79
24-02-2007, 19:42
Hi New Mummy, I've just seen your post. I have lived in the Craigieburn/Roxburgh Park area for quite a few years now - so if I can help you with anything, just let me know.

There is a Maternal and Healthcare place in Craigieburn, in Mitford Crescent, just off Hothlyn Drive. There is another one in Roxburgh Park just behind the homestead shops.

As for playgroups etc, a great music program for toddlers has just started at Craigieburn Salvation Army. Every Tuesday morning at 9.30am. My kids both love it.

PM me if you would like any further details.