View Full Version : 16 and pregant
penelope
15-11-2005, 11:40
Welcome Penelope,
I am not in your situation but still class myself as a young mum at 24.
Wow, you sound like one level headed chick! Congratulations on your preg and I'm sure you will find heaps of great people here to chat and share with!
Looking forward to seeing you around!
Mummy-2-2
15-11-2005, 13:46
Hi Penelope,
I'm not really in your situation either (am 24), but we are due about the same time!!!
24 weeks before you found out, you lucky thing!! (kind of) I would have done anything to not have to wait out the whole pregnancy, morning sickness getting bigger quickly etc :p ... not being rude, but did you not have anything? What made you get the ultrasound?
As for the father, he sounds like a p****. When you register a baby, if both parents dont sign the registration paper, you can write a statement as to why he hasnt signed, cos Centrelink might not pay you properly if father is not committed to paying child support. As for the 1000s for court, I dont really know, but cant legal aid help you out? It might not seem worth it now to bother about a loser father, but in the long run, he deserves to pay for yours and his child- even if you dont want the money- think about how the money that he does pay could help bubba even if you just saved it up and gave it to them on their 18th or something.
Just a thought. My friend is doing that.
So are you having a mad rush around trying to get everything ready... not long left now!!!!
Hi penelope,
I'm pretty new to this site too.
I was only 19 when I found out I was pregnant the first time, 20 when my DD was born. I too had a loser father and all his family were total idiots about EVERYTHING!
I hope you are feeling well, and I too think you were lucky finding out so late, I am 25 wks now and it's gone so slow I just wish I was due tomorrow!
Anyway, good luck with the pregnancy.
Have you picked out any names?
I am having another girl due march 1.
Keep in touch and if there is anything you need help or advice on, don't hesitate to ask, there are plenty of us who would LOVE to help you out :)
Kris xxx
Mummy-2-2
15-11-2005, 15:38
Are you sure about the benefits?
Im not trying to push, but know that (cos hubby and I separated for a bit) I got a lot more with him in the picture. And if your bubbas daddy does get a job in the future, then it might work out better?
Any who, what about all the other stuff?
Have you picked out any names?
24 weeks before you found out, you lucky thing!! (kind of) I would have done anything to not have to wait out the whole pregnancy, morning sickness getting bigger quickly etc ... not being rude, but did you not have anything? What made you get the ultrasound?
So are you having a mad rush around trying to get everything ready... not long left now!!!!
MissSparkle
15-11-2005, 15:51
Hey penelope!
I was 17 when i found out I was pregnant n my lil boy was born when i was 18. Im lucky my fiance is great n was there for me throughout everything!
I have a close friend who was in ur situation with her bf. He was fine when he found out, then flipped out n left! She is a wonderful mother and although its hard she has found support in friends and family.
If u ever wanna chat my email is stephkwok05@hotmail.com, I have msn too but i dont get around to gettin on there much with a 9month old on the go!!
Congrats on ur pregnancy!
I am not in the same situation as you but wanted to congratulate you and wish you all the best!
I look forward to chatting with you on bub hub and hearing about your bubs once he is born!
ChristineM
15-11-2005, 19:54
Just want to say how great it is to have somewhere that mums of any age or circumstances can get the great support that is being given here at bubhub. Well done ladies,,,this is awesome....
Melissa1983
15-11-2005, 20:05
Hi Penelope,
I was in sort of the same boat as you but i was 19. I found out that i was pregnant at 8 weeks and the father told me he didn't want anything to do with her. After he found out that i was keeping her he rang and changed his mind at this stage i was 5 months, then at 7 months he changed his mind and told me to have an abortion. Like you could at 7 months!
He has only seen Mikayla once and that was when she was 3 weeks old.
If you want to talk about anything please PM me or add me to your msn. melissa_wetherell@hotmail.com
Just want to say how great it is to have somewhere that mums of any age or circumstances can get the great support that is being given here at bubhub. Well done ladies,,,this is awesome....
Totally agree!
Congratulations on your bubba Penelope! Its so exciing becoming a mum no matter what age you are! You sound so level headed and mature - you are going to do a great job when that baby arrives:)
Its fantastic that you are reaching out for support now! Take all the support you can get - gosh, we all need that:)
Best of luck