View Full Version : quitting on the 14 of feb
24-01-2007, 08:56
anyone want to join, we can start to plan stratagies to help cope, whinge and support each other:yelclap:
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 08:57
I am so here baby :thumbsup:
24-01-2007, 08:58
Why the 14th of Feb ? why not tomorrow ? :p
Goodluck BJ, i have my fingers crossed (again) tightly for you :fingerscrossed:
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 08:59
Why the 14th of Feb ? why not tomorrow ? :p
Goodluck BJ, i have my fingers crossed (again) tightly for you :fingerscrossed:
We chose a date together and that is when my hubby will be back to help support me :thumbsup:
24-01-2007, 09:04
this is going to be hard for me.
im going to have to change my routine alot to do this
maybe i might start delaying my first smoke everyday, instead of with in 5 minutes of waking:D
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 09:06
Thats a good idea logon here and have a chat first to prolong it:thumbsup:
I think i will hide all the wiggles dvd's for a while when we start :laughing:
24-01-2007, 09:09
i might stop drinking coffee, or at least stop drinking it when i smoke, you know, separate the association:yes:
my dh works 12 hour shifts, at night too, so hes only functioning here for about 3 hours a day, the rest of the time its me and the kids:devil6:
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 09:11
Oh i cant do that my kids wouldnt survive if i gave up coffee too :laughing:
If ds#2 starts carrying on in the morning DS#1 says "No not yet mum hasnt had her coffee" :laughing:
24-01-2007, 09:11
use the Allen Carr book..it tells you to smoke all through and its not til the last bit that you actually stop...
whats it called, i might buy some reading material... i need to scare myself:D
24-01-2007, 09:13
Oh i cant do that my kids wouldnt survive if i gave up coffee too :laughing:
If ds#2 starts carrying on in the morning DS#1 says "No not yet mum hasnt had her coffee" :laughing:
i drink 8 cups a day, just to function, but apparently it can make your stress levels worse:eek:
might try tea:D
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 09:18
I havent drank tea since i had DS#1 i craved coffee with him and have been drinking it ever since so its his fault :laughing:
24-01-2007, 09:21
here ya go..its on CD too..so you can listen to it instead..
http://www.dymocks.com.au/ProductDetails/ProductDetail.aspx?R=0141026898
thanks, i'll get it soon:D
24-01-2007, 09:22
cool glad you want to join us.. 3 so far:yelclap:
Nickster
24-01-2007, 09:28
Can I just say congratulations to you all for quitting smoking. It's bl@@dy hard - I know, I've been there, and so has my DH.
Big big pats on the back!:yelclap:
Is anyone going to use patches or gum?
24-01-2007, 09:30
im not going to use patches, rather just get it all out of my system:D
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 09:31
Hey nicstar yeah i might go the patches this time
24-01-2007, 09:33
we'll probably need a new thread by the 14th:laughing:
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 09:33
we'll probably need a new thread by the 14th:laughing:
Probably with the way we are going :laughing:
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 09:34
but hey at least it is keeping our habds occupied :p
24-01-2007, 09:36
but hey at least it is keeping our habds occupied :p
did you mean hands:D
Nickster
24-01-2007, 09:36
It's tough because I went cold turkey when I found I was pregnant, but I was too darn ill with morning sickness to even consider wanting a cigarette.
Poor DH though - he smoked for 27 years.....but he got off it through willpower and using patches and loads of gum.
He's off the patches now, but we just can't get him off the gum. He has probably about 4 2mg gums a day now.
But, like I've said before, lesser of two evils, huh?!
Just so you know there's light at the end of the tunnel, if it helps...:)
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 09:37
did you mean hands:D
:laughing: Yep them too :laughing:
IheartOman
24-01-2007, 09:45
:yelclap: Yay for the ladies quitting or who have already.
Just my 2 cents but I found what worked for me was not making quitting a big deal. To elaborate - smoked for 10 years and I always saw myself as a 'smoker'. It was like that was my identity, if that makes sense? So I tried to quit a couple of times but I freaked out because I thought I was losing a part of who I was.
When I decided to quit I did it the next day and tried to be as blaze about it as possible. Otherwise the more emphasis you put on it the harder it is because it is a 'big thing' in your life taking up your thoughts/energy etc.
Is is very hard :yes: But if you have a reason for quitting that is important to you you will stop. If your doing it because of everyone else that wont be enough :no:
About 2 months later I started crying for no reason! Dp thinks it was me grieving! Sounds pretty silly but could possibly be true. It's like your losing a friend in a way but you end up feeling so proud when you know you can can yourself a non-smoker because you accomplished something so hard.
Good luck ladies :fingerscrossed:
24-01-2007, 09:52
: I always saw myself as a 'smoker'. It was like that was my identity
yeah i hear you on this, ive smoked for 14 years, and over 30 a day.....ive tried to quit heaps of times, i feel lost...what do i do... but this time thats it, dh is thinking about quitting too, so i'll see if he'll join in:D
oh if im pg though i'll quit as soon as i know;)
24-01-2007, 09:53
Good luck guys!! Seriously, i hope you kick some goals :D
Shani - At what age did you take up smoking if you were a smoker for 10years ? That must have been very hard for you to kick it.
IheartOman
24-01-2007, 09:54
Good luck guys!! Seriously, i hope you kick some goals :D
Shani - At what age did you take up smoking if you were a smoker for 10years ? That must have been very hard for you to kick it.
11 :eek: And mum was buying them for me by the time I was 12 :yes:
Gross hey
IheartOman
24-01-2007, 09:55
yeah i hear you on this, ive smoked for 14 years, and over 30 a day.....ive tried to quit heaps of times, i feel lost...what do i do... but this time thats it, dh is thinking about quitting too, so i'll see if he'll join in:D
oh if im pg though i'll quit as soon as i know;)
So you can quit no worries when your pg? Like have you quit before while being pg?
24-01-2007, 10:02
So you can quit no worries when your pg? Like have you quit before while being pg?
no i smoked through my pg:o almost lost my last baby, so im not going to risk it ever again
IheartOman
24-01-2007, 10:09
no i smoked through my pg:o almost lost my last baby, so im not going to risk it ever again
Ah ok! Cos I was going to say if you can quit while pregnant than your half way there!
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 10:25
I have only had one smoke today cause i am too busy talking with you guys :laughing:
24-01-2007, 10:32
I have only had one smoke today cause i am too busy talking with you guys :laughing:
ive had 7:eek:
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 10:34
ive had 7:eek:
Thats ok it is not the 14th yet. And it helps me cause i dont smoke in the house ;)
24-01-2007, 10:39
Thats ok it is not the 14th yet. And it helps me cause i dont smoke in the house ;)
i dont smoke inside either:eek: , i just slip out when i have a spare 5 minutes:rolleyes:
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 10:50
:laughing: I must be lazy then :laughing:
Good on you girls! I'll be sending you positive thoughts on the 14th, and now too!
Sounds like a great idea you had BJ, to start having coffee at a slightly different time to smoking. I know that coffee makes me want to light up and I haven't smoked in ages :(
:fingerscrossed:
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 15:46
I have had 5 today so far
24-01-2007, 15:50
oh i'd hate to admit it, but ive had around 20, i try not to count:devil6:
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 15:52
I will say again dont stress babe its not the 14th yet :hugs::kiss:
IheartOman
24-01-2007, 15:53
I have had 5 today so far
That's awesome :yelclap:
javalava
24-01-2007, 15:57
Good luck guys.... sooooooo glad something good came out of that thread.
you can do it, you can do it.... im cheering... haha well trying.... laugh at me, please!!!
~rambox~
24-01-2007, 16:09
Good luck guys.... sooooooo glad something good came out of that thread.
you can do it, you can do it.... im cheering... haha well trying.... laugh at me, please!!!
Your thread had nothing to do with it sorry
But thankyou for your encouragement :yes:
~rambox~
25-01-2007, 06:22
Hey BJ I am off for the long weekend so behave :p and i will talk on monday :wave:
maybe1more
25-01-2007, 12:49
Good on you for setting yourself a goal, go for it:thumbsup:
28-01-2007, 08:17
i went 24 hours with out one:smiliedance:
just caved, hangovers are great motivation:yes:
~rambox~
28-01-2007, 11:41
Yay BJ :yelclap::smiliedance:
28-01-2007, 11:58
i didnt even stress, so im going to start practising for the big day:yes: , i'll have a smoke free day every secong day:thumbsup:
~rambox~
28-01-2007, 12:59
Good on you :hugs:
If my test shows what i think it will tomorrow i will start early :fingerscrossed:
Pobblebonk
31-01-2007, 08:33
Hi Ladies. I am (now) a non-smoker and I'm here to lend my support. I was never a 'big' smoker to begin with in my full-time smoking days, probably only about 10 a day, and only ever really in the afternoon/evening. There's no WAY I could wake up and have a smoke.
So I think those of you who are BIG smokers are being VERY VERY brave and courageous to give up! Well done! I wish you the best of luck.
Just think of all the money you will save!
Something you could do is put the money you would be spending on cigarettes (when you would be buying them) in a jar, and see how much money you have at the end of the week - and get something nice for yourself! Like a massage! Or new clothes!
Another thing you could try, is to put $1 in a jar every time you have a craving and BEAT it.
I wish you guys the best of luck, and I'll be watching this thread to lend my support.
Oh - and what strategies is everyone using? Like cold turkey, or patches?
03-02-2007, 07:14
im going for it tomorrow, i cant wait... im going to get some mag's...oh maybe even a parenting book:D
~rambox~
03-02-2007, 08:39
YAY BJ :yelclap:
Do you know if you are pg yet?
~rambox~
12-02-2007, 17:45
Only two days to go :thumbsup:
13-02-2007, 05:31
one now.... but i have a bomb shell ..... i might be moving, and not sure if we'll get the net connected again:eek:
~rambox~
13-02-2007, 06:35
NOOOOOOOO BJ you have to reconnect i will miss you to much :crying:
IheartOman
13-02-2007, 08:34
one now.... but i have a bomb shell ..... i might be moving, and not sure if we'll get the net connected again:eek:
Why wouldnt you get it reconnected? :eek: Plus you'll need something to occupy your hands instead of smoking... Need I say more ;)
13-02-2007, 11:16
im scared about quitting... what if i cant:eek:
~rambox~
13-02-2007, 11:51
You are a very strong women BJ you can do it :hugs:
IheartOman
13-02-2007, 11:53
And what if you CAN!!!!!!!!!!
Maybe when you start thinking a negative change it to the positive ;)
Your like the little train that could..
"I think I can, I think I can" :laughing:
IheartOman
14-02-2007, 07:43
Today is the day ladies! :smiliedance:
shorty_851
14-02-2007, 08:38
Just wanted to drop in and say good luck ladies.
I hope you enjoy your new found lease on life.
GraceUnhearing
14-02-2007, 09:06
just wanted to say good luck guys!!
~rambox~
14-02-2007, 09:24
Thanks guys it is hard but i am ok atm :fingerscrossed:
the_original_duchess
14-02-2007, 11:15
Good luck to you all today!!! hope that you can quit, it will be hard, but trust me it can be done. and if you fall off the horse, dont worry, just hop right back on.
:yelclap: for the effort of trying to quit and :fingerscrossed: you can achieve your goal.
IheartOman
14-02-2007, 11:17
mmmm, where's BJ today? :detective:
Jelly Baby
14-02-2007, 11:37
Hey girls, I am a quitter like the rest of them!! :smiliedance:
Although, I've already done the 'cutting down' stage up until last weekend when I quit totally.
It feels awesome not to have that burden anymore.
Good luck, you can do it!!
Pobblebonk
16-02-2007, 12:02
Hi guys. How are you going with your quitting?
Jelly Baby
16-02-2007, 12:11
I'm such a loser!!!!
When my DP took me out for dinner on Valentine's Day, I had a couple with a glass of wine.
HOPELESS!!!!!
~rambox~
16-02-2007, 12:13
I have cut down from 20 a day to 10 a day but with what i have to do this arvo i am not ready to stop cold turkey sorry to dissapoint anyone.
Jelly Baby
16-02-2007, 12:19
with what i have to do this arvo
???????
~rambox~
16-02-2007, 12:20
Go to pets section Jelly Baby :crying:
Jelly Baby
16-02-2007, 12:28
Oh that's no good at all, what a sad sad day for you. :crying:
Pobblebonk
17-02-2007, 09:28
Rambox - Yes, I did read your other thread and I think if you need your smokes for that, then go for it. Very hard.
But keep doing what your doing. I think cutting down to half the amount of cigs is a pretty bloody good effort!
~rambox~
17-02-2007, 10:40
Thanks Guys :hugs: