View Full Version : young mothers in canberra
shaelerda
27-01-2005, 18:11
heya
im trying to find other mothers or mothers to be in canberra who want to make friends and meet for coffee
im not from canberra so i dont know anybody!!
i havnt found alot about in canberra especially for young mothers so if anyone is interested let me know
I'm a young mum in Canberra! What side of town are you from? I'm on the South Side.
How are you fitting in? How are things going? Have you been to the young mothers groups that are held at the youth centers? I've heard about them but I haven't been myself.
- Belly - Mother of one (23 Years old), My little princess is almost 5 months old!
shaelerda
21-02-2005, 13:15
finally a reply!!- i thought i might have been the only mother under 35 in canberra!
i live in calwell, i did try some mothers groups but i was the youngest by about 10 years so i didnt really have much in common with anybody- and some were really nasty!
but anyway id love to contact you sometime or vice versa so just email me or whatever
shaelerda
21-02-2005, 13:18
sorry- i forgot to put some details in :)
im 21 and i have 1 little boy- oskar who is six months old
bubbalove
22-02-2005, 11:07
There is an ACT thread a little further down the page if you're interested, but no-one has been on it for a while! I'm a 24 yr old mum with a 19 month old boy and number 2 due in 2 weeks! I'm south-side too, Conder. Feel free to PM me!
Hello again!
I'm so excited that you both live close by!! I'm in Conder as well. So I thought that maybe we could meet up at the Layon shops. I am free as a bird at the moment as I am a stay at home mum. (except for Thursday mornings)
So why don't you guy's pick a day and a time and we can meet for a coffee!
I hope to hear from you soon.
Belly
bubbalove
23-02-2005, 15:54
I too am a stay-at -home Mum at the moment, so any day is good for me, but if I go into labour then I won't be there ;) So what day/time is good for you guys? After lunch is generally good for us, around 1.30pm or so? Or in the mornings before about 10.30am. Let me know what suits! Lanyon sounds like a good place to meet, ice chocs at Michel's ;)
shaelerda
23-02-2005, 17:12
umm,sorry but is lanyon that place just south of tuggeranong?
it would be really good to meet up, at the moment im in qld with family, but ill be back in a few days ill msg again when i know when ill defineltly be able to make it- you guys should go anyway though!, but i would love to do it some other time!!
bubbalove
24-02-2005, 11:19
Yeah, Lanyon is south of Tuggeranong, just follow Tharwa Dr south and it's the shopping centre on your left with the Maccas. Let us know when your back and we can all catch up!
shaelerda
24-02-2005, 11:59
alright cool
well ill let you guys know when im back- if you could email me your email address' that would be good- other wise ill just post it on here
ive never been down that way (toward lanyon) i only went once to a mothers group but i didnt look around that much
there is another lady on the bubclub website who wants to meet for coffee so ill let her know where and when as well so we can all meet!
Hello again,
It sounds like you guy's have it all sorted.
Kerri-anne, When is your Bub due? What's the gosip? Was your first early or late? What hospital are you at? Who's your Ob?
Shaelerda, Let us know when you are back in town and we'll make a date! :)
Looking forward to it!
-Shelley
Taylor & Lachlans Mummy
24-02-2005, 14:25
HI, Im a 24 SAHM of 2 Taylor 2 & Lachlan 1. I would love adult conversation I am in Gordon (South Side) I would be interested in meeting people to have a coffe with. Also the YMCA at Lanyon ran a young mums group last year & Im trying to find out if they are running it this year. Once I find out I can let you all know if you wish there are about 4 of us that attended last year but the more the merrier. Other wise if they arent running it well organise our own little thing if you want.
PM me
bubbalove
24-02-2005, 15:42
Hey Shelly - I'm due on the 8th March, so anytime soon would be nice! Not much gossip, I'm a bit out of the social scene at the moment ;) I'm having bubba at Calvary, as it's where I work. My OB is Jakub Dreher, he's just fantastic :)
Hi Jillian - The more the merrier! What days/times are good for you?
Taylor & Lachlans Mummy
24-02-2005, 16:08
Yeah when ever, Im easy I can get rid of my two next week during the mornings other wise I have them, but I organise them around what I want to do.
shaelerda
06-03-2005, 12:01
ill be able to come on the fourteenth of march- you guys do something sooner if you cant wait! but i will be around then, so i thought we could meet at 10.30 at a coffee shop in lanyon (sorry i dont know what it would be called :))
does that sound ok to everybody?
bubbalove
06-03-2005, 16:59
Sounds great - except that I am due on Tuesday, and if I haven't had her by the 15th, I'm booked in for a caesar then! So if I'm out of hospital or haven't had her on the 14th, I'll be there :)
Taylor & Lachlans Mummy
06-03-2005, 21:55
Hi, Ill check & see if I can make it but it should be fine.
Is anyone going to the young mums group held by the YMCA Gordon? Its at Kids Rampage (Tuggeranong square-Reed Street Tuggeranong) on Tuesday (8/3). Ill be there with my 2 terrors. If any one is interested & hasnt spoken to the girls at the YMCA their details are
Zorica or Ange on 6294 4633. Should be fun & im sure there will be a few of us there. The good thing about this group it is aimed at young mums under 30 & its free.
Hope to see who ever there if not then hopefully Monday the 14th.
Jillian :)
shaelerda
09-03-2005, 23:00
um does anyone know what the coffee shop is called? :) because i have no idea!
so if anyone knows the area just tell me the name so i can be sure im going to the right place!!
oh and should we book or something? it looks like there will be a few of us there and how will we know who to look for?- i have blonde hair and lots of piercings so im usually pretty easy to identify :)
if any one has any ideas post them!
bubbalove
10-03-2005, 10:44
I think the only place to have coffee at Lanyon is at Michel's patisserie, so we shouldn't need to book. I'll be the huge pregnant one with the toddler, if I'm there ;)
Taylor & Lachlans Mummy
10-03-2005, 13:30
Yeah its Michells Patisserie (sp?), nah you dont need to book. Depending if I can get a bs will depend on who I have with me. I will more than likely have two darling toddlers with me. Cant miss them I more then likely be reading the riot act to them for one reason or another.
I'll be there - 14 March, 10.30 Lanyon!
I'll be the one with the little 5 month old girl with sooo much hair.
I called the YMCA to join the young mothers group and left a message for them. It's been over a week and they never returned my call. I'll talk to you about it tomorrow.
Shelley and Jasmine
shaelerda
14-03-2005, 13:14
was i at the wrong shops or what?
i went to lanyon market place and i didnt see anybody, i waited at michels and noone turned up!!
well anyway let me know what happened
Taylor & Lachlans Mummy
14-03-2005, 16:51
Shelly - They are meeting up at the chemist tomorrow for free photos at 11 (Layon chemist) then going to Michelles for coffee.
Sherelda - So Sorry I forgot until i got on the puter, as I said to shelly there is a young mums meeting tomorrow first at the chemist for free photos then coffee at the coffee shop.
Jillian
I feel terrible! I'm so so sorry. My little girl an I got the flu yesterday morning. We spent the morning getting to the doctors and the afternoon resting. I didn't have anyones details so I couldn't call you and let you know.
Jillian, Because I'm sick I won't be able to make it to the young mothers group.
So sorry once again! :(
Please forgive me and I will make plans when I'm better and give you my mobile number - so if someone can't make it we can contact each other.
Sorry :(
Shelley
Taylor & Lachlans Mummy
15-03-2005, 13:24
Shelly, dont worry bout it, next week we are going to kids rampage at Tuggeranong. (Zorica is trying to make it so they pay for us) I spoke to her today, she asked if you could ring her 6294 4633, she mis placed your number as the person who took the message didnt say what it was about. & she wil have a chat to you about the group & things. I hope you get better soon.
To all other young Canberra Mums, please ring & join the group its godd there are 6 of us so far with kids ranging from 2.5yrs to expecting. it is run through the YWCA so there are very rearly any costs for us & we try & do heaps of stuff for both mums & the kids. Ring Zorica at the YWCA on 6294 4633.
bubbalove
17-03-2005, 12:41
I'm so sorry I didn't make it either, I had my bub in the very early hours of Monday morning! All is well, I'll post more about her later :)
Taylor & Lachlans Mummy
17-03-2005, 14:50
Congratulations. Glad to hear all is well. :)
Taylor & Lachlans Mummy
22-03-2005, 15:13
We are going to the libary next Tuesday for the young mums group.
bub_4_eva
13-11-2006, 14:40
Hi im a 20 year old mum with 2 kids a almost 4 year old boy and a almost 2 year old girl with number 3 on the way i have moved from albury almost a year ago now to be with my new partner and trying to find some mums to chat and hang out with ever since so i hope some one will write back thank you and have a good christmas:tree:
mummybunny
13-11-2006, 15:00
Hello there :wave:
i am in canberra also...
what area are u living in??
pm me if u like
Just came accross your post just then - I know it is late but better late then never. I have just recently had twins who are now 12 weeks old and also have 3 others, Tahly 4, Jess 3 and Ben 2.
I am 25 years old and a stay at home mother who is looking to meet other mothers in the canberra area to catch up and have coffee or relax (yeah right:yes: ) while the kids play.
Have just sold our house in Dunlop and looking to move over to the south side (found 2 houses we like - one in Banks and the other in Kambah)
If you guys would be interested in meeting please drop me line - would love to meet you all!:thumbsup:
If I dont speak to you all before - have a great, safe christmas and new years.:tree:
lovingmotheract
21-04-2007, 20:47
hey i don't know if some of you guys are still on here but i say lets get this thing going i know there are heaps of you guys in canberra so i say let's have a meet some where near the north and south side of town and it needs to be kid friendly we could go to a park one week then someones house the next to a play center or cafe/club for kids.
what do you GUYS think come on and let's get this thing on the road so to speek so let's say i meet at
Adventure Playground
A fantastic playground for children of all ages. Playground equipment includes flying foxes, large tree houses, tarzan swing and space net. Facilities include picnic area and public toilets.
Springbett Street Kambah
say the 4th may thats a friday 12pm so it's sunny and warm not cold and frozen at that time.
lovingmotheract
22-04-2007, 10:51
come on girls get a move on with this we have to get ts thing up and running
hi my name is kerri i have a 12 month old lil boy and i realy want to get out and meet new people and i would love to meet new people im on the south side of canberra and i would love to meet up for a coffee and talk and get to no new ppl if you are inrested please email me on
mummybunny
07-02-2008, 13:54
hi kerry where are you from.. im in tuggranong with a 12 month old boy too pm me if you would like to meet up some time
I have removed several email addresses and mobile phone numbers from this thread. Bub Hub is a public forum and viewable to anyone. We advise that you do not post any personal details but send them via our PM system.
Cherbarina
10-03-2008, 23:31
I am 21, and mother to a gorgeous 2 year old son. I moved to Canberra about 4 years ago, and didn't get a chance to find anyone before I became a mum. Would love to have the opportunity to meet others, for coffee, or lunch, whatever :D
lovingmotheract
12-03-2008, 14:01
welcome to the hub i'm 25 with a 2 year old and i have lived here all my life:laughing:
will have to catch up for a coffee or some thing?
do you work or are you a sahm?
Cherbarina
12-03-2008, 15:21
I work, and I am a SAHM :D I work at nights, starting at 6pm. Coffee sounds great!
mummybunny
12-03-2008, 16:15
I work, and I am a SAHM :D I work at nights, starting at 6pm. Coffee sounds great!
hi hun, im also a 21 yo mummy to a little man... what side of town are you on??
i sent you a pm!!
lovingmotheract
12-03-2008, 21:11
thats cool with have to catch up next some time let me know what day is good for you?
Cherbarina
13-03-2008, 01:47
Any day is good for me, except the weekends, would rather spend what little time I have with my husband :D
lovingmotheract
13-03-2008, 14:55
thats cool i can do week days how about not next week but the week after say on a tuesday morning about 10 am will see what the day is going to be like then we could meet aat the park or some thing like that all other bub hub mum's in canberra welcome. will pm when it get near the date so we can work out where to meet up.
Cherbarina
13-03-2008, 15:58
Next week, week after...are we aiming for the 25th? Just want to make sure, lol. That is fine by me though :D Sounds good
lovingmotheract
13-03-2008, 19:13
yep the 25th it is.
Rileynjill
13-03-2008, 21:38
Hi I have just been reading through all the posts and decided to join in! i am a 22 yr old mum to my little man riley 14months and am looking for some younger mums to chat with in canberra (it can get pretty lonely for the younger mums in this town!) we live in gordon south side.:wave:
lovingmotheract
13-03-2008, 22:13
well hello and welcome to the hub what a cute man you have there.
hope to catch up with you soon and it can get a bit lonely in canberra.
mummybunny
13-03-2008, 22:43
Hi Jill, wow how funny i have an almost 14 month old Riley as well how are you???
we are having a meet your welcome to come along tomorrow...
Cherbarina
24-03-2008, 01:10
The 25th is two days away, have we left it too late to organise something?
lovingmotheract
24-03-2008, 13:31
:osorry i forgot about it i have booked a photo shoot then as well maybe we can try a again some other time again i'm so sorry.
hey all im 21 with my 1st bub due at the start of June live on south side too :yelclap:
lovingmotheract
25-03-2008, 10:10
hello to you and congrats on your baby bump.
and june is a lovely onth as that is when i was born but as gemini bubs are very much to ppl as the start sign saids.
good luck with the birth where are you brithing?
Lanamuma90
16-07-2008, 10:48
hi guys im new to this place, i lived n canberra all my up until about a year and a half ago, moved to QLD got pregnant had my baby and i came back about a month ago and all my old friends have dissapeared.i am 18 in two months,and i have a 4 month old daughter named stevie(shes such a cutie) if anyone wants to meet up one day go for coffee or lunch i live in deakin atm but am moving within the next 2 weeks, so i can pretty much get anywhere, i would love to
well hope to hear from you guys soon
(L) Lanah:wave:
mummybunny
16-07-2008, 11:32
hello and welcome to Bubhub, you will love it here.. come say hi in our ACT section, we would love to hear some more from you..
Im Kim and i have a 17 almost 18 month old ds Mr R.. wed love to meet some other younger mummies around here too :D
Wow i looked at the first page of this thread and its from 2005 lol