View Full Version : The great pram search
Am looking around for the "perfect" pram and would love some advice.
Have scanned the net and like the look of the Bertini shuttle and the Emmaljunga EC sports.
Does anyone have any advice re the above two prams...i.e weight, steerability + would they fit into the boot of my little old Toyota Carolla Hatch etc...
Also is there anyone out there (who lives in or arround Brisbane) selling either of the above two prams CG/second hand as we don't have the cash for a brand newwy
Thanks in advance,
Kerrie & Weeny Buba :D
Hi There,..
I bought the Emmuljunga Minor Classic,.and I LOVE it!! It has the best suspension and huge tractor wheels - it is also 4 wheeled which I like,.. It is pretty big though,.about 15 KG I think.... Depending on your budget, I would look at the Bugaboo Frog,. it is pretty sexy and sleek,. Have a look at the babies galore website,.. they have them I think,.
noniandlilysmum
27-01-2005, 16:19
Hi there Kerrie, I too have started looking around for "the perfect pram". Have a look on ebay, I found the one you were talking of, the emmaljunga ec sport and it is starting at $110, not sure what your budget is, but when I bid I always watch the item until the last couple of minutes and then place a bid if it is what I am willing to pay... Oh don't forget to take into consideration shipping charges if you decide to bid for an item, I have been caught out a couple of times... Another thing, with the Emmaljunga sports ec, I have heard it doesn't lay completely flat,and it is suitable for a baby from 6 months+, just something else to think about, or enquire if you are really interested in this particular model, Hope you find what you are looking for, Haana :)
Raoni and Lily's Mum
p.s. Lily's babyshop at Redcliffe stock a huge range of prams and get them at really great prices(well compared to babyco and babys galore etc.)
Lachlan's Mum
27-01-2005, 18:25
Hi Kerrie
I have the Bertini Shuttle - sometimes I think it is great - for example when out walking and want to go on grass or sand at the beach. Other times I find it too large and bulky (and it is heavy)....like just for shopping etc. It has the 4 wheel steering but I find has a large turning circle...not good in confined spaces. My husband thinks it is fantastic (of course) because it is fairly "macsuline" (sp).
Hope this helps.
Thanks everyone :)
Yes I've seen the bugaboo too. That little guy or the Bertini Mio would be my first choice....except that the Bugaboo is $1400.00 & the Mio is $1000.00 :eek:.......+ there both brand spankers so there arn't any secondhand ones on the market for wee bargain hunters like myself ;)
Good to know a bit more about the Bertini shuttle ie that's its heavy & the turning circle (that sounds fantastic in all the adds) is actually quite large.....helps me rule that one out.
Looks like the Emmmaljunga EC sports is the one to look out for. I too have seen that one on ebay Hanna. Will be interesting to see how much it goes for considering that there $750-800 new..... Will keep an eye on it.
Thanks again for all the helpfull advice :)
Kerrie & Weeny Buba Xx
Yeah, Got one :D
A Emmalgunja EC sports. perfect condition for $260.00......Am such the bargain hunter :cool:
DH loves it too....Very exciting buying our first baby purchase together :)
Kerrie
ozclaudia
03-05-2005, 11:24
We are expecting our first baby and really like the look & light weight of the bugaboo too.. it has to fit in our golf and don't think any of the 3 wheelers will. Searched the net for best deals and all standard $1399 except for shop at Double Bay called BayBeeCino which sells it for @1259!!! Thats a saving of $140!!! Look up on: baybeechino.com.au and the same goes for a lot of the expensive brands such as stokke sleepi etc. If anyone is going to the US soon - you can buy it there brand new for $950 approx. Just make sure you declare it as second hand (after you have removed all plastic and scuffed the wheels - so you don't pay the blasted tax coming into Aus). Good luck
Hi there!
Can I just ask why many new parents buy such big prams? They are just everywhere. It is just such a strange phenomena. I find this fascinating and don't understand why everyone thinks that bigger is better. We have a Maclaren Vogue and love it. It is 6kgs and is suitable from birth to 4 years. We can go shopping with it and walk around the block with it. It has suitable storage space etc.
I tried prams like the Bertini Steerable and looked at Joggers and Emmuljungas (did a man design these, they are huge!) and just find them so heavy and cumbersome. Plus, many friends I know who have had a tyred pram (3 or 4 wheeler) have changed over to an umbrella stroller before their baby's first year is out as they get so sick of lugging the things and can't fit anything much other than the big tyred pram in their boot.
I am sure thet the tyres make a smooth ride, (although you need a 6 point turn to get out of many places), but apart from that, I really don't understand this big pram craze.
Can someone enlighten me? :)
LuvMyKids
05-05-2005, 07:53
I bought the Bertini Shuttle when I had my son (2001) and was disappointed. I have just recently sold it. It was quite bulky, the turning circle isn't good and I found it just to be too big/wide for shops, cafes/restaurants etc. I have no idea what we were thinking when we bought it as we had a Daewoo Lanos at the time and needed to take the wheels off to fit it in the boot (we now have a Commodore Wagon thank goodness). I was always frustrated using it. It was good for walking but I found when going over gutters (where you need to lift the front of the pram) the adjustable handle wouldn't hold and you would need to try a few times to get up the gutter.
I bought an umbrella stroller (Childcare Rover) when my son was 9 months old and it is fantastic. It has 5 layback positions so is also suitable for newborn/sleeping toddler. I used to use the shuttle still when we were walking, going to the park etc though.
I recently sold our shuttle and was just using the umbrella stroller, but found it hopeless if needing to go walking, going to the park, any rough surfaces, so just bought a jogger (Childcare Overlander). This has been fantastic. Great for walking, good price ($300), great turning circle and it seems to be a bit more compact than some other joggers (even handled well at the shops). My 3 1/2 year old even fitted into it happily. My husband took bubs for a 5km jog in it on the weekend and he said it went really well (although he said its hard running with a pram).
I have been searching for the perfect pram and think the best option is to maybe buy something bigger for your newborn (like a jogger), especially if you plan on walking with it, and then buy an umbrella stroller down the track.
Hope this helps
Felicity
mum to Connor (3 1/2) and Ella (14 months)
I bought an Urban Mountain Buggy (3 wheeler) and love it. It goes anywhere- we live on the coast and this pram traverses the soft sand dunes with ease, and has great suspension for the dirt road- bubs sleeps like an angel despite the bumps. In town it is easy to handle (very small turning circle), controlled easily with one hand and is very light (9kg). It folds almost flat and i can pick it up with ease. It fits in my boot (toyota corrolla) and is suitable from birth to 4 yrs. We picked up a brand new still in box one off ebay for $500- worth every dollar. I reckon you have to go into the shops and push, collapse and pick up all different ones before you buy- the moment we played with the Urban in Baby's Galore we loved it.
noniandlilysmum
05-05-2005, 20:44
Hi all... I am 6 months pregnant with our 3rd child and we too are having the same problem, THE PERFECT PRAM... I don't think it is "bigger is better"... I think it is that we are looking for something that is classical, long lasting, easy to maneuvre (sp?), easy to dis/assemble, and most of all comfortable for our precious little ones... I love the look of the emmaljunga minior classic, It is in a range of colours, It's got big tyres, has a huge storage basket, It's a very classical pram that would not out date and have been around for years... It also resales very well second hand... However, It hasn't got the best turning circle and is a little bulky for those who have a small car... All in all, I just love these prams for it's classical look and quality craftmanship... I thinks this is the one, but I bet in 6 months I will be back on here whinging because I have made a big mistake... Has anyone else owned an emmaljunga and loved it not just for it's good looks, but it's actually not that bad to steer??? Would love anyones feedback... :)
Hi there!
Actually, I just thought I would pass on some advice in the perfect pram search that we received that helped us get the pram or stroller suitable for our lifestyle. That is to think beyond baby and think toddler and up too. To me, a sensible pram should be able to fit in any size car.
So, these tips you need to consider in addition to features (Shopping basket, durability, forward & rear facing, baby comfort etc etc) is:
What is your lifestyle?
If you buy a jogger will you actually be going to walking or jogging with it regularly (not just once or twice a week) on the bitumen road or are you more likely to use a pram/stroller at the shops and going out to less off footpath places? If you don’t walk around the block now, are you very likely to when you have the baby? Plus, not that you can actually jog with a jogger until the child is 6 months old with good head control.
But if you do walk around the block or jog regularly, then a jogger is for you.
When testing the pram in the shop, get the sales assistant let you fold it and test it in your car boot. Try folding it up on your own. Your partner will not always be with you, so how easy is it to lift into the boot on your own with a possible screaming baby and all of your grocery shopping? Secondly, see what is involved. Do you have to remove a wheel to put it in the boot and how long does it take and then to put the pram back up again from the car boot. Can you fit anything else in the boot too? Say your week’s groceries, and esky for a picnic, other baby goods for staying with friends and family (eg: porta cot, portable highchair, suitcases etc)
Also, if you are planning on more children, be wary of toddler seats that attach to the front of the pram, especially on a 3 wheeler. These are actually considered unsafe (some have barely passed Aussie Safety standards) as they tip if the front wheel is placed on a 90 degree angle. The best sort is a seat that attaches to the back (the Phil & Ted E3 is one of the only brands in jogger that does this). Also, note that with the toddler, on many brands, the younger baby has to be in full recline to support the toddler. There is always umbrella stroller and pouch as an option too.
Sometimes it is actually cheaper to buy a good basic jogger (say up to $300) and a top name umbrella stroller that supports newborn up (up to $300) ($600 all up and you have top brands too but you can go cheaper in both styles anyway) than a big pram like a Bertini Shuttle or Emmuljunga (up to $1000) as you can walk around the block and leave the jogger in your garage and not have to take it with you and take the umbrella stroller to the shops. Both prams meet your lifestyle, but you are not lugging one monstrous thing around in your car and out and about to the shops and cafes etc. If you do go shopping etc the can you take the pram into smaller shops or are you taking half the clothes etc of the rack to get in and out of the place.
Anyway, that’s the advice we received and it was very handy. A lot of people forget about lifestyle. All the bells and whistles have to be able to cope with your lifestyle too.
P.S: Thought I would add how Choice Magazine test their prams and strollers. These are the things that they looked for. Some are mentioned above, and here are the rest: This was from a recent test of top name jogger strollers.
Trialists assessed the manoeuvrability of the strollers by pushing them over a set course, including:
doorways
stairs
sloping footpaths
kerbs
grass
rough ground
They also checked how easy or difficult it was to:
fold and unfold each stroller
put on the brakes
carry the stroller
put a shopping bag in the carry space
place their children in the stroller and make adjustments, fastening and unfastening the harness
This was how they tested jogger strollers. Also, only 2 out of the 10 actually passed safety and durability standards 4 failed completely and 4 were okay. A bit of a worry for the top big sellers. Some joggers are not even recommended for off road use anyway, some manufacturer's were confused whether to use them for jogging or not and others said jogging was conditional. Weight and bulk was a concern with most triallists particularly with getting in and out of the car and negotiating stairs and the joggers that actually excelled were the simplist and most basic. Swallow and Mountain Buggy were the overall winners and the safest jogger strollers.
I recently purchased an emmaljunga combi duo, with basinnet and seat. I purchased my emmaljunga second hand and i must say that i absolutely love it, very easy to wheel and the suspension is brilliant, my little girl now 4mths loves being in her pram, esp the basinett part as she is free to move and kick her legs and can actually lie flat in this pram.
It depends what you plan on doing, if you plan on walking alot than the emmaljunga is fantastic. I have a comodore berlina and have to take the basinet part off my pram then fold the base, but overall it is not very difficult to do, once you get your routine in order. Plus the carriage is reversable so you can choose whether bubs faces you or not. A fantastic investment if you get a great second hand one, around $300 for the one i purchased or $1100 new.
I also have purchased a stroller for when i have to catch the tram, we went for a maclaren xt, very simple one handed fold pram with all accessories, raincover, reclining seat and cocoon to keep bubs warm, actually this was the only pram i had till bubs was 3mths. Downside you cant hang shopping off the handles as it may tip, but then all strollers are like that. this one was around $450 new. no idea second hand what the price is on this one.
happy pram hunting
kim