View Full Version : Petrol falls below $1 a litre

FourAngelKisses
22-01-2007, 06:16
http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,21095102-2,00.html

Has it fallen where you live since the ACCC said prices were too high? It hasn't here.........we are still paying $1.25 a litre. :mad:

22-01-2007, 06:32
http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,21095102-2,00.html

Has it fallen where you live since the ACCC said prices were too high? It hasn't here.........we are still paying $1.25 a litre. :mad:
But living in a rural area would bump your price right up, would it? due to the delivery cost etc :/ sucks I know.

It's at 100.9 c/l here

pumpernickel
22-01-2007, 06:33
We paid 99.9 yesterday up near Noosa.

FourAngelKisses
22-01-2007, 06:40
But living in a rural area would bump your price right up, would it? due to the delivery cost etc :/ sucks I know.

It's at 100.9 c/l here

True, but when the ACCC said prices were far too high, we expected them to drop by at least 3-4 cents.
I am glad though that we aren't paying 157.9 like we were about 6mths ago.

jessgray
22-01-2007, 06:44
:detective: not sure dp said it was cheaper i think its just over a dollar

pinkandblue
22-01-2007, 07:26

I paid $1.06 yesterday in Sydney.

Natalie

Lollie
22-01-2007, 07:31
$1.04 a ltr on Friday in Townsville but it coulda changed, I haven't been into town since

Percy
22-01-2007, 07:32
I filled up yesterday in Brisbane for $0.99 a litre!:smiliedance:

Ky
22-01-2007, 07:56
It was $1.15/l when I cruised past a servo at 2am this morning!

We are only 2 hours from Sydney on the Princes Hwy, so you wouldn't expect more then a few cents difference ...

luckie_me
22-01-2007, 08:05
Here its 98.5 cents a litre!

U can check out ur price on

Motor mouth

Yasmeena
22-01-2007, 08:30
I wonder if the ACCC takes into account the cost to the planet, when it says prices are "too high"?
I think petrol should be more not less expensive :devil6:
*ducks*

OscarTheGrouch
22-01-2007, 08:32
I wonder if the ACCC takes into account the cost to the planet, when it says prices are "too high"?
I think petrol should be more not less expensive :devil6:
*ducks*
You're brave.:laughing:

FourAngelKisses
22-01-2007, 08:47
Unfortunately, petrol is a neccessity and there are no alternatives to using a car for a lot of people.

Moorish
22-01-2007, 08:51
Unfortunately, petrol is a neccessity and there are no alternatives to using a car for a lot of people.

:thumbsup: what she said!

jkate
22-01-2007, 09:20
At Crows Nest, in Sydney yesterday it was 99c a litre!!

Yasmeena
22-01-2007, 10:48

the planet is a necessity as well, and there are alternatives:thumbsup:
By saying "oh I have no choice I need my car" you are acting in an environmentally irresponsible manner.
You do have a choice, you can take responsibility for the planet, the combustion engine is not the only way!!

Petrol is a necessity = global warming and the consequent death of the planet as we know it is inevitable

I have no choice = I am not willing to change, I don't want to think about the damage I am causing, and I am not interested in alternative forms of transport, that don't involve private vehicle ownership.

Alternatives are:-
walking
riding a bike
riding a horse
catching public transport
car-pooling
car-sharing
car-hiring (only for the time you need it)
lobbying the government
kinetic engines (eg. toyota prius)
changing the world
changing your life
changing your mind
and thinking of the future of the planet, the future for your children, rather then todays convenience.

When petrol runs out you will find that life will go on:D and petrol won't be the necessity for life that you seem to think it is, or do you think civilization will crumble?:p

FourAngelKisses
22-01-2007, 10:52
Alternatives are:-
walking
riding a bike
riding a horse
catching public transport
car-pooling
car-sharing
car-hiring (only for the time you need it)
lobbying the government
kinetic engines (eg. toyota prius)
changing the world
changing your life
changing your mind
and thinking of the future of the planet, the future for your children, rather then todays convenience.

Walking...I do it when I can, which isn't very often as the shops are 45km away and the school is 13km away.

Riding a bike....would do it if I could, but 45km each way with 4 kids?? Yeah right!

riding a horse....I would need 5-6 horses, 1 for each of us.

catching public transport.......we don't have any here

car-pooling......no one I know has a car that can hold all 6 of us, plus themselves.

car-sharing........with who?? Everyone I know only has a 5 seater car and they need it as much as I need mine.

car-hiring (only for the time you need it).....no car hire places exist here.

lobbying the government.........for what? They think NSW stands for Newcastle, Sydney, Woollongong, they don't care about those of us in regional areas.

kinetic engines (eg. toyota prius).........find me one for under $250000 that seats 6 people.

HollyHotLips
22-01-2007, 11:48
the planet is a necessity as well, and there are alternatives:thumbsup:
By saying "oh I have no choice I need my car" you are acting in an environmentally irresponsible manner.
You do have a choice, you can take responsibility for the planet, the combustion engine is not the only way!!

So you dont have a car then?

And you dont take holidays that involve flying?

And you grow all your own food, because food sold in the shops has been transported by road/rail/air?

And you collect your mail, you dont get it delivered?

Bubble*Crazy
22-01-2007, 11:53
Per OP ... our cheapest cost atm is $1.159 cpl ... but combine it with a 10c voucher from Woolies or Coles plus the extra 2 cpl discount (I always 'need' something else in the store LOL) it brings it close to $1 pl. Prices have been slowly dropping over the past week or so.

HollyHotLips
22-01-2007, 11:55
kinetic engines (eg. toyota prius).........find me one for under $250000 that seats 6 people.

I watched Top Gear last week, always makes me laugh, and they were on about all these celebrities that own Prius'... that also own these huge gas guzzling status cars.

Sorry, slightly OT but it made me laugh at the time :laughing:

woven_wings
22-01-2007, 12:09
It has dropped? I didnt notice.. I shall be looking and filling up today then!

~mia&ryan~
22-01-2007, 13:41
Our local servo is 98.9c per litre and he is always at least 1 - 2 cents dearer than everywhere else.:fingerscrossed: lower prices are here to stay......

FourAngelKisses
22-01-2007, 13:42
:fingerscrossed: lower prices are here to stay......

Hopefully they will head out this way sometime over the next few weeks. :(

Jodiee
22-01-2007, 13:44
Not here, we are still $1.07 today, I checked thismorning..:crying:
Wish it would though, Im sick of putting in $10 just incase it does go down!

MissBrightside
22-01-2007, 13:45
I filled up today for 105.9. It hasnt gone up in the past week though since they had that story on ACA last week.

Mummaof2
22-01-2007, 13:59
I paid $1.04 on the weekend but that was also using a 4 cents off voucher

whatwasithinking
22-01-2007, 14:04
In ACT I paid $1.09 - unfortunatly didn't have a shopadocket then I could have got it for $1.05.

But this is still cheaper than what it has been so I ain't complaining.

A reduction is a reduction.

98c would be heaven :)

joe
22-01-2007, 19:51
Fueled up today for 96.9 :thumbsup:

Yasmeena
23-01-2007, 18:00
So you dont have a car then?

And you dont take holidays that involve flying?

And you grow all your own food, because food sold in the shops has been transported by road/rail/air?

And you collect your mail, you dont get it delivered?

So you ignore the effect your lifestyle is having on the planet?
and you don't do anything to change your lifestyle to reduce the cost of your luxury for every other species on the planet?
:confused:
good one :yelclap: If you aren't living in a tree eating indigenous herbs than don't bother, is that your point?

also my ecological footprint requires only one planet so nyah:p your attempt to discredit my concern for the planet by not actually making any point as to why the wanton destruction should continue, but to personally attack my lifestyle doesn't work anyway.

Ana Gram
23-01-2007, 18:25
I think she made a very good point actually. Her questions to you are as valid as your questions to the OP.

Things may be a bit easier for you if you live in a city but those who live in the country can't do the list of things which you gave to improve the environment.

But I saw that you didn't bother to answer the OP's response to you. Interesting that.

FourAngelKisses
23-01-2007, 18:39
But I saw that you didn't bother to answer the OP's response to you. Interesting that.

I was just about to say that. maybe she realises I'm right and it IS a neccessity??

23-01-2007, 19:15
92 cents here...

~mia&ryan~
23-01-2007, 20:12
Hopefully they will head out this way sometime over the next few weeks. :(
I am sending loads of cheap petrol vibes your way :fingerscrossed: it gets there soon. I actually filled up today for 88.9c per litre because we had a shopper docket... I was stoked, can't remember the last time I got pertrol for under 90c........

23-01-2007, 20:27
97cents here! Although DH has to get the boost stuff so it was a bit dearer at $1.00 per litre.

~rambox~
23-01-2007, 20:28
Our is still 1.08 per litre but yet we are suppose to be getting a government subsidy go figure :confused:

~mia&ryan~
23-01-2007, 20:35
Our is still 1.08 per litre but yet we are suppose to be getting a government subsidy go figure :confused:
:eek: the difference is amazing isn't it, it is so ridiculous!

~rambox~
23-01-2007, 20:42
:eek: the difference is amazing isn't it, it is so ridiculous!

I know you think that the country would be pretty much close to each other in price not so far apart

Thnks to Woolies 10c vouchers atm :thumbsup:

Missus S
23-01-2007, 20:43
Yep.........several places here in Adelaide had it for 99.9 cents per litre today.

Thank God for that too..........as it's now less likely that we'll get another interest rate rise now due to the lesser inflation.

~mia&ryan~
23-01-2007, 20:46
Thnks to Woolies 10c vouchers atm :thumbsup:
Yep go the vouchers, they make such a big difference!!:yelclap: Now they just need to drop the prices AND continue the vouchers!:p

~rambox~
23-01-2007, 20:46
Yep go the vouchers, they make such a big difference!!:yelclap: Now they just need to drop the prices AND continue the vouchers!:p

Oh yeah i will agree with that i have an 80l tank to fill :laughing:

FourAngelKisses
23-01-2007, 20:59
Yep, mine is a 75L tank.........hurts so bad to fill it from empty each week. :( But I didn't feel so bad one day when the 4WD next to me cost $150 to fill, lol.

~rambox~
23-01-2007, 20:59
Yep, mine is a 75L tank.........hurts so bad to fill it from empty each week. :( But I didn't feel so bad one day when the 4WD next to me cost $150 to fill, lol.

Now i dont feel so bad my 4wd is only $90 to fill atm

Femme la Phoenix
23-01-2007, 21:08
we are still paying $117.0 per litre
haven't seen a drop at all since the report
:mad:

mumstar
23-01-2007, 21:51
the lowest its dropped is $1.04 but i have to do some grocieries tomorrow and get a 10c voucher so that will bring it down to 94c OMG!!!

I also think that cars are a nessicity for some people and not for others... Families with no other options need them( i know i could not get around with out my car, eg what if the kids were ill with no transport!!!) , people who drive to work and back on there own etc clogging up our freeways when they could catch public transport or car pool etc should be the ones targeted on helping save the planet. There are so many differences of opinion and there are always going to be people who embrace what they can to help and those who will not change... Such is life!

Yasmeena
24-01-2007, 10:10
I was just about to say that. maybe she realises I'm right and it IS a neccessity??

Do you think a planet is a necessity? or just an optional extra:p
Petrol is finite, the earth can only provide so much, the solutions will have to be made, why not make them now?
It is your choice:thumbsup:

Yasmeena
24-01-2007, 10:12
mumstar - such is the inevitable death of our species:crying: and all life on the planet

FourAngelKisses
24-01-2007, 10:20
Well, you tell me how I can make a difference then. Something that WILL work for me. Because when you live out in the sticks, there is NO alternative but to drive.

HollyHotLips
24-01-2007, 10:35
***quote of deleted post removed by moderator***

We now have solar water heating and I am extremely careful with water usage, unlike a lot of other people who tend to waste gallons of the stuff on their lawns.

IMO water is a more precious commodity than petrol and should be used more sparingly otherwise we'll all die of thirst one day soon.

I wasnt personally attacking anyone, I was making the point that just because someone may or may not own a car there are a lot of other things that are affected by the cost of petrol and that need to be transported by road or rail, which therefore impacts the environment.

The high cost of fuel doesnt just impact how much it costs us at the petrol pump, it also affects the price of food and other necessary items, which people will all buy, again, regardless of whether they personally own a car or not.

I too would be interested to hear your solutions for those who live in the country and dont have easy access to regular and cheap public transport like those in the city.......

Back to topic, still over $1 a litre here too...

Nates_Mumma
24-01-2007, 10:41
bah petrol below $1/L...whats that

we are still paying 1.25/L

FourAngelKisses
24-01-2007, 10:53
bah petrol below $1/L...whats that

we are still paying 1.25/L

Here too. :(

juzzy
24-01-2007, 11:11
im sure we all have our own environmental concerns...

as for me, in answer to the OP, i saw it for $1.04 in Frankston this morning. Annoyed cause i had to fill my car up for $1.20 late last week and i dont need petrol yet!

1+1=5
24-01-2007, 12:03
nup $1.04 here.....

BlakeNatsMum
24-01-2007, 12:50
Petrol here has dropped for 119.5 a litre to now 114.5 a litre, which is great for us I reckon... I would love to see it at under 110.00 a litre...

mummyof5
24-01-2007, 13:56
I am hearing you angel_kisses, hasn't dropped below $1.27 for diesel here...I got all excited when I had to go to Sydney and got fuel for $1.18.
I have the same issues going without my car too. When they make a Prius style vehicle that holds my family, I would happily pay for it!

blessedmummy
24-01-2007, 19:13
its $1.22 here atm...been going down past few days which is great!!! :thumbsup:

Ana Gram
24-01-2007, 19:27
Get set for it to go back up, for the long weekend.

Ky
24-01-2007, 19:41
Still above $1.15 a litre for petrol here!

***quote of deleted post removed***

Yasmeena ... I live in a country town where there is no public transport available in our area and no public transport available to anyone on a sunday. Do you suggest that we walk with our little ones in summer heat the several kms to town? I use my car, but not as much as I would have in the past. My dh rides a push bike to work and comes home absolutely exhausted after tackling the traffic, heat and distance after a 10-14 hour day at work.

I walk my dd to school, will be walking my ds to pre-school and carpool with others (we have a 7 seater) when we are all going the same direction. If we are going on a long trip (usually to Sydney) we drive to the nearest train station and then catch the train which costs more than the petrol if the whole family goes ... are we being irresponsible?

Any suggestions you have for me would be appreciated!

ETA ... I do mean that any suggestions would be appreciated - I'm not being sarcastic!

xkwzit
24-01-2007, 20:01
Just a note to all, can we please stay with the topic of petrol prices. Several argumentative posts have been removed, any more and the thread will be closed.

Please feel free to start new threads about reducing our effect on the environment.

Mahjong
25-01-2007, 05:46
Tuesday petrol was 96.9 cents a litre, only for it to jump back to 1.08 last night as oil over night jumped $4, plus it was pay day yesterday and they always put the prices up mid week :mad:

SorenLorensen
25-01-2007, 06:59
the petrol station down the road (about 1km) is 101.9, the one in the next town heading to sydney (about 5-6km) is 103.9 and heading south (about 5km) its 104.9 then i head up the hill (9km) its 109.9.:eek:
i dont uderstand how they can differ so much since they are all clasified as the same region.
im just happy that i live in the middle:yelclap:

jessgray
25-01-2007, 09:20
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=181445
has anyone seen this?:eek: :shame: the oil companies just are listening are they:rolleyes:

FourAngelKisses
25-01-2007, 09:29
I read that this morning, greedy ******** they are. :mad:

xkwzit
25-01-2007, 16:41
Before we start bagging oil companies too badly, I must say something: petrol prices have a certain cycle because ppl like to buy petrol at the same time. If you have a refinery that produces X thousand litres of petrol a day, you really want to iron out the surges in demand on certain days - because you can have less of the product hanging around as a buffer for heavy demand.

So here in SEQ petrol is predictably cheapest on a Tues, most expensive on a Thursday (just after ppl get paid and before the WE). Ppl who buy petrol on a Tuesday are being rewarded for buying on a slow day with cheaper prices. It's not so much that the aim is to rip you off - just to try to even out the demand.

MissBrightside
25-01-2007, 21:23
Petrol has gone up 10c a litre here today, from 105 to 115. Just in time for the long weekend.:thumbsdown:

jessgray
25-01-2007, 21:27
:detective: it still doesnt explain why before every public holiday petrol jumps in price

xkwzit
25-01-2007, 22:29
It's sort of the same reason, most ppl want to fill up just before a long WE. If you can fill up a few days earlier, or last through to Saturday / Sunday, it will be cheaper.

FourAngelKisses
26-01-2007, 05:59
Our prices don't go up or down on different days of the week, they stay steady. But as soon as the price of oil goes up, they jump. But as soon as the price of oil falls............nothing happens, prices stay the same until the next rise.