View Full Version : Would This Make Me a Pushy Mum?
Cobey's only 6 months so this isn't going to happen for 5 or 6 years, but in any event, let me babble. (and it's a lot of babble)
He's already a very strong bub, I was told when he was only 36 hours old by a paediatrician that he had excellent muscle tone (pulling head to chin when being pulled by arms!!! :eek: and holding head off ground during tummy time)
He rolled at 2 weeks, is army crawling now and looks like he's going to take off real crawling at any tick of the clock. He's also always loved standing.
His father and I are.. well... computer people. I loved sports when I was younger but couldn't give a fig about them now, and Chris floated from footy, to soccer, to karate... now his sport is "Sega Virtual Tennis" :rolleyes:
I want to get Cobey involved in sport early! I want him to enjoy it and have a go.. I don't want a strong little boy who doesn't go out and kick a ball around - I want him to become strong and use what he's got!
Lately I've been looking into the ages that children can start League and thought it's a good idea to sign him up when he reaches that age.. even though he may not know a thing about the game.
Half the people I talk to tell me to do it and if he doesn't like it don't push him (which is exactly what I was going to do - let him choose after a few goes) and the other half tell me to wait until he tells me what he wants to do.. besides - he'll play sport at school.
But if I send him to the school I want to, he's not going to have that opportunity and until the population gets boosted by about 100 he never will.
So - now that' i've babbled... would it make me a pushy "Soccer Mum" to sign Cobey up to play league when he's 5 or 6? :)
Grizabella
20-01-2007, 15:27
No Hun - you would be a Mum who wants their son to see sport as part of his everyday life. I see nothing wrong with that. We will be enrolling Brion in martial arts and hockey as soon as we are able. If he doesn't like it then we will let him stop, but we will also encourage him to take up another sport in it's place.
We are also doing the same thing with music. And again if he doesn't like it, he can stop.
I would give him as many opportunities with different sports as possible. That's what we've done with Jayce. Then go with what he's interested in. At the same time there is no harm in signing him up to encourage and create an interest, but if he truly doesn't like it u can change your mind.
If he has potential hun u must try and foster it. I mentioned that my hub played professional footy. If he had not been given the opportunities by his parents he never would have done as well as he did. They exposed him to heaps of sports and he went on to win International titles in other sports.
Anything is possible. I think it's wonderful that u thinking this far in advance.
tanni_83
20-01-2007, 15:29
i dont think so. Like you said, if he doesnt like it, you wont be forcing him to play. He will only know if he likes it if he is given the oportunity to have a go :thumbsup:
the_queen
20-01-2007, 15:31
No! If I knew nothing about you, and just read the ^above post, I would say "hmm what a caring and thoughtful mummy, just wants the best for her bubby, not pushy at all, and what a cute name - Cobey" :D
I grew up in the country, and there was no choice about playing sports - well, the only choice was 'tennis or swimming' in summer and 'netball or hockey' in winter, and everyone played basketball. And no-one ever felt pushed, I don't think. If you wait and let him decide... well IMO there are some things that need to be "pushed' on kids, ie sports, swimming lessons, table manners... A kid will not, of his own volition, choose to learn which is the fish knife and which is the butter knife :rolleyes: and I think it's the same with sports. 'Pushing' him would involve forcing him to do something that he clearly did not want to do. 'Providing him with the opportunity to give something a go' is not 'pushing' him.
whatwasithinking
20-01-2007, 15:35
No way!.
DH wants DD#1 signed up for soccer ASAP - he would have signed her up at 2 if they allowed it but she has to wait until she is 5. Hubby was so upset.
But if at any point your son doesn't want to play the particular signed up sport then it would be good to stop and let him choose what he wants. IYKWIM.
rynosmum
20-01-2007, 15:36
Hey Seek,
I think it's a great idea.
Hubby is quite into sports but I'm certainly no sportswoman - never have been. Always thought I couldn't catch a ball. About 4 years ago, found out I could catch and throw really well with my left hand (I'm right handed for everything else). Too bad it's too late for my sporting career;)
Since DS has been getting older though, I have realised that he loves sporty stuff but especially if Mum and Dad are doing it with him. We play soccer in the backyard together now, we go to the park and 'shoot hoops' but whatever we do, we're doing it with him.
I think that getting C into sport is a great idea but you may find that he learns from example. Our playstation is banned during Ry's awake time. If it was accessible to him, I think he would want to play on that instead of going outside.
On a good note, we're much healthier now that DS has come along.:yes:
ETA: Oh, to answer your question, if you play enough different sports with him, you will know what he likes by the time he gets to that age. I think he might do the choosing :-)
Not pushy in the slightest Seek...
I was (and might well be again) very athletic all through my childhood and up until a couple of years ago...
I've already decided the first thing I introduce Pip to will be little athletics... then team sports will come later.... as you said if they don't like something then you stop.... but if you don't introduce them to it they'll never know it exists!
Sports are a great thing for kiddies.... not only do they stay fit and healthy, but they learn so much about teamwork, leading and following, communication, how to win and lose graciously.... as long as your not super competitive there's no harm at all!
mummade3
20-01-2007, 17:43
not pushy at all!! my son is 19months n we already kno he'll be playing soccer or some sort of ball sport as soon as he can!!
i'm putting him into kindy gym next month as he loves to do all things like that... n has tonnes of energy to burn..
u can only give ur son a chance at diff sports.. if he's interested u will know about it!!
my boy watched the soccer last year n loved it!! he would wake at 4am n i'd put it on n he'd lay quietly on my bed n watch it... also he loves the nrl as well!! loves any game where they use a ball!!
misskittyfantastico
20-01-2007, 18:02
Where I am, sport is mandatory! (see Queenies post!)
Even I run (well not RUN but sort of huff and puff) round a hockey oval!
I taking Millie to swimming lessons next month and will get her into minky hockey or netta (although DH and I are hockey folk) when she's 4-5ish.
You're not being pushy, you're being a caring, interested mum.
:hugs: I luff the 'hub :)
And re swimming... err.. Cobey had his first "lesson" today (being someone who often has to teach kids to swim.. or at least supervise, I always said I wasn't going to have a kid that didn't want to blow bubbles!)
our little treasures
20-01-2007, 18:12
No way that does not make you pushy. I would rather you pop your child into sport than leave him infront of a tv. I think your a great mum who obviously loves your ds and has already seen his potential.
Maybe I am biased coz my dd started dancing at 2, lol..
jessgray
20-01-2007, 20:11
if dp could he would be signing ds1 up for footy:laughing: and somehow trying to get him in with the collingwood team so he can be a rookie for them at 18 lol
me i'd love for ds1 to do dancing coz he loves music but dp says :shame: no no to it lol
i dont think its pushy in our day and age with all the obese kiddies etc i think its great mums and dads are taking the lead and starting their kids in sport:thumbsup:
Pushy would be making sport his entire focus and being disappointed in him if he chooses not to play sport.
What you're suggesting isn't pushy at all - anything that gets a kid outdoors, running around and engaging in physical activity has got to be a great thing. It is great for long term health and social development.
Go for it.
No way! We're doing it. it's important for kids to see sport as part and parcel with growing up... and besides.. what little boy won't love chasing a ball around with lots of other little boys???
We're signing the kids up for aikido at 3.. as that 's when they can start... and Oliver is already twirling bamboo sticks around... so I might get him a fire twirling set... LOL (jk)
We're also going to encourage them to play music and think creatively... but that's just us.. creativity is a big part of our lives... music is a passion of mine, so they've grown up around guitars and things and even try to 'strum' now.
Do it.. let him play... if he doesn't like it.. shop around.. there's plenty of sports.. if he doesn't like team sports try swimming or little athletics. I loved playing sport as a kid.. I think if he's introduced to it early, and the focus is on having FUN not competition, then he'll have a blast. All the kids that I know who are involved in some kind of sport absolutely LOVE it!
Your son sounds similar to my first......we was a super baby (strong) and commando crawled at 4 months. He has a LOT of energy to burn now (he is 3) and we would like to get him involved in sports or something active....I am thinking of starting him in Little Athletics and he has also expressed an interest in tap dancing (whatever, I will go with the flow). I think by the time your son reaches 4 or 5 you will know if he wants to play little league. They start to express likes and dislikes fairly early. If you expose him to it he will tell you if he is interested or not. Maybe watch it on TV and take him along to see some older kids playing....
bec