View Full Version : What do you do for yourself to feel special?
As one single mummy said, "we need to pamper ourselves to feel special and then we are happy mums/dads" (yes including dadotwo - the token male - must find him more dads!)
So to make me feel special I am going to have a long relaxing bath, read a good book and watch a daggy movie which lead me to think....
What do you do to make yourself feel special?
Butterflymumma
19-01-2007, 19:45
At the moment I can't get comfortable in the bath being so pregnant so i like t opt for a candel lit shower instead, just before bed- using a nice soap and putting the hot water on my back and neck- Makes me feel special all the time!
Oh and this is going to sound a little weird but i like drinking Mason on the odd occasion pretending its a fancy expensive french champagne LMAO! :laughing:
GREAT POST yay!
Magicbananas
19-01-2007, 20:35
I took up pole dancing - Great for fitness, and makes me feel a little bit sexy!!! :devil6:
Love it pole dancing! I had my bath but god I am addicted to this site!!
sugar n spice
19-01-2007, 20:49
i go clothes shopping:laughing::rolleyes:
sarmelie
19-01-2007, 21:33
Ive been a bit down lately (happens every now and then as you all know!!) So for the past two weeks ive been putting dd into daycare for the full day Monday, so i can have a ME day (which doesnt involve me going to work because as far as im concerned thats not a break) I have been spending it going to the cinemas, and... ahem, cleaning the house haha.
:P So far its helped to lift my spirits!
SweetSerenity
20-01-2007, 00:02
Okay here's my ritual to make me feel great about myself...
Once Peter is asleep... i hop in the shower, wash my hair as usual, shave my legs, then i put a deep conditioning mask in my hair, then i make up my body mud up and put that all over my body and it really gives my skin a deep cleanse and exfoliate too. Then i cleanse my face...wash the mud off and wash the deep conditioner out of my hair.
After i get out and dry myself, get changed, moisturise my face, i then sit down, file my nails and buff them. Put my Body Shop almond oil hand and nail cream on. I then get this beautiful body moisturiser and just massage it into my feet...
By the morning i feel so soft, clean, purified and glowing :D
mum2littleman
20-01-2007, 08:23
i go for a long run i guess i think healthy body healthy mind -
OneBabyBoy
21-01-2007, 21:12
I don't remember the last time I did something for myself. I don't know what I would do anyway as funds are very tight at the moment. I guess just having a longer shower than 2 mins when bub's asleep is my time by myself.
tyler's mum
24-01-2007, 12:55
once tyler is in bed im to tried or to lazy to do anything so i just sit and watch tv:rolleyes:
gettin on bub hub is what i do for myself, so i guess thats something
Dadandtwo
24-01-2007, 19:00
Pole dancing!! Send me a photo. They have that here in Canberra, but it's usually followed by 'other activities' :)
Making myself feel special? Right now I'm trying to find a nice place to stay in Melbourne in March so I can just be by myself, without my kids, and do nothing but relax. I used to get free foot massages from the sister in law when I was married...but no more, pity. God she was good though. Generally though, I just do what I want to do...that generally makes me feel special as I'm not one of the 'sheep'...hope that makes sense.
There are heaps of places in Melbourne suggest the CBD location Sofitel, Hyatt as it is central or south yarra - where the famous people stay on Chapel Street (can't remember the name)
Lucky you get time off -very jealous then again I cherish every moment with my little one
Dadandtwo
25-01-2007, 04:21
OK. Will have a look at that. Have only been to Melbourne twice before, but love it. I'm also taking the kids on a holiday up the coast after my trip to Melbourne...not the best at planning trips though.
I've just realised I need time out and something just for me.... so I'm taking up rugby again... I figure I'll get back to my old fit self, get in a little socializing and bonus I'll get to let out some frustrations on the tackle bag... :laughing:
Pobblebonk
25-01-2007, 23:34
This is going to sound so corny but here goes...
I actually feel special when I'm on the floor playing with DS.
Because he's sleeping so well and going down so well nowadays, I get all of my cleaning/cooking/housework done when he's asleep, and then wait around for him to wake up so that I can have some more fun and crack up at the crazy faces and Xavier-isms.
So the gift I give to myself is to get all the boring mundane things out of the way when DS is sleeping, so that awake time can be spend enjoying every single moment of it.
*munchkin*
26-01-2007, 23:59
Okay here's my ritual to make me feel great about myself...
Once Peter is asleep... i hop in the shower, wash my hair as usual, shave my legs, then i put a deep conditioning mask in my hair, then i make up my body mud up and put that all over my body and it really gives my skin a deep cleanse and exfoliate too. Then i cleanse my face...wash the mud off and wash the deep conditioner out of my hair.
After i get out and dry myself, get changed, moisturise my face, i then sit down, file my nails and buff them. Put my Body Shop almond oil hand and nail cream on. I then get this beautiful body moisturiser and just massage it into my feet...
By the morning i feel so soft, clean, purified and glowing :D
OMG!!! Want to come round to my house and do all of the above for me? Sounds amazing! I wish I could be bothered!!!
I don't really do much to make myself feel special, apart from having broadband internet so I can access Bubhub and feel like part of the outside world. Oh...and reading Who magazine!!!
On a corny note...sometimes I sit in DDs room at night, just watching her sleep. That makes me feel special.
Tomorrow is my day for making myself feel special. Im off to the hairdressers to cut all my long hair back up to my shoulders and dye it dark:eek: (currently bra strap length and medium golden blonde).
Then im just going to pamper myself all day