View Full Version : has mater mothers brisy got any better?
macsx2
11-11-2005, 03:58 PM
just found out I'm pregnant with second bub, and have once again booked into the mater mothers brisbane. we still feel like it's the safest place to be etc, but didn't have the best experience there last time with the midwives changing shift every five minutes, and all having contradictory advice that started to drive me crazy. has anyone had a baby there recently, or no anyone who has? I heard from a mum the other day that they've changed their midwife system, but not sure if it's true or not, or if it's made things any better???
:confused:
[QUOTE=macsx2]having contradictory advice that started to drive me crazy[QUOTE]
Unfortunatly this happens at most hospitals :( . I do know of 2 mums who had their bubs there in the last 12 mths and they were both happy with there experiance.
I found 2nd time around I cared a lot less what the midwifes had to say, I just went with what I felt was right.
Hope your experiance is better this time.
JanetF
11-11-2005, 08:42 PM
A friend of mine had a horrific experience there. She's having a HBAC next time around. If you take a doula with you it doesn't matter so much when shift changes occur because you have your own continuity of care. There are lots of doulas in Brissie.
tickle
14-11-2005, 08:00 AM
You do generally get contradictory advice where ever you go.
I had my DS at the Mater 15 months ago. I did get some different advice but I just went with what worked the best for me. My experience there was pretty good. I didn't have any major complaints.
I am going there again with this baby too and I am hoping my experience will be even better! :)
I had both my bubs at the mater and had great births, the first with my DD we had a change of midwives and I guess at the time they had a big tiff infront of me (rather interesting than anything *LOL*) but the second time around I had the most amazing midwife, I can't remember her name but she was an indian (?) with an english accent and she just made the birth of my son so amazing. I had an epi and instead of making me push, she just left me dialate to 10 cms then just left bubs move almost out untill I felt the need to push and with two pushes my DS was out, it was so amazing and I felt so incontrol.
Also second time around I found afterwards was a lot easier as I just did things my way, if I had any problems I would ask but I just did whatever felt right for me (I guess it is the same with CHN's - every different one has a different opinion on what should be done!!!)
Hope your second birth is great
Amanda-Jane (27)
Grant (26)
Anja Elizabeth 17/9/03
Kaeden David Gordon 2/4/05
14-11-2005, 07:10 PM
You do generally get contradictory advice where ever you go.
I have to agree with the above quote.
Also my niece had her bub at the Mater less than 12 months ago and the staff there were really really helpful to her, I helped her for a while whilst she was in labour.
I myself though went to the Royal and I thought I got good service there too!
15-11-2005, 04:58 PM
Ditto about the contradictory advice wherever you go. I had my boy at the Mater public 7months ago (my first baby) and was happy with how it all went, barr the midwifves confusing me about how was the best way to BF :confused:
The midwife who helped me deliver was fantastic and supportive, let us film the birth - though thats not everyones cup of tea and gave me a mirror to watch the birth. I would love to have had a water birth though and they dont do that which is a bummer.
bpato
18-11-2005, 10:24 AM
We had bub at the Mater mother on the 1/10., and I will never go back there. The midwifes were rude and bilergant, (given ther were a few nice ones) but what got me was that I was discharged with no information about what to do as I had ceasar, or about CCHC (as I am a first time mum). :mad:
My husband was horrifed one day when he came back from work to hear that I had asked a midwife for help with my bag and her repose was " couldn't have your bloody husband helped you with that".
I also felt that as a first time mum that they weren't really interested in helping me. It seemed liked they had better things to do.
Well that my opinion. Good luck with your decision.
Belinda
Belinda: *hugs* I am so sorry that happend to you - things like that should never happen :( but unfortunetly they do :( Sometimes they are buisy - but still is no excuse especially with a first bub and ceser as well (I had both mine natural so I have no idea how bad it would have been not to be given information on it - I do know the lady next to me had a cesar and she was in a lot of pain :( (the wound started to get an infection then they thought she had DVT) let alone to carry your own bags!!!! I am so sorry you copped a bad experience. If I was in your position I would not want to go back either. I just hope if you have another bub - that the hospital you deliver at you have a wonderful experience :)
JulieXavier: I think we had our bubs in there within days I am considering videoing the next one's birth (If I have another one that is *LOL*) they let my video my DD just after birth. I had a great midwife during the birth too. I did notice they were rushed heaps though - They kicked me out of my room and I had to wait in the little lounge area untill my hubby made it up to pick me up. But having a wonderful birth made up for it (thank god)
Amanda-Jane (27)
Grant (26)
Anja Elizabeth 17/9/05
Kaeden David Gordon 2/4/05
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.