View Full Version : how fast!
18-01-2007, 17:40
i cannot believe that school holidays are almost over. many years ago (pre my children) school holidays used to drag by. now here i am already getting in the books, finding a pair of shoes, that dd1 likes, and heaps of other stuff, for her to start again, in just under 2weeks!
this has been the first time, that i have had not been working for the whole school holidays.
i cannot believe that dd1 will be off to grade 3, im happy but sad at the same time.
are you glad that school is back or not?
jasminesmum
18-01-2007, 17:43
My kids are at the stage where they are very bored and are ready to go back now.
So am I.:yes: :D
MrsTwith3
18-01-2007, 17:43
It has gone pretty quick hey. My DD is going into 6th grade:eek: . Another year and she goes to high school.
I'll be glad and sad to see her back to school. She is a great help with the 2boys but is at the age where her attitude is a major issue.
ummm yes....we are all ready to go back LOL
grade 3 and 4...so i have more time to spoil the baby LOL
Yep, definately time to go back, Mums pregnant patience is starting to wear....
I have one going into year 3, one into year 2, one into year 1
Then in week 5, one starts kindy full-time..
Then 2 or 3 weeks after that, we have a newborn invade the premises..lol..
Yep, Im looking forward to the 'break' IYKWIM before bubba 5 comes along.
18-01-2007, 17:58
im also looking forward to it, but not the rush-out-the-door morning routine. juggling a very active 3yo, and a 6mth old bubs.
it will be nice to start having some one on one times with bubs though.
FourAngelKisses
18-01-2007, 18:04
Yep, definately time to go back, Mums pregnant patience is starting to wear....
You and me both!! 3/4wks of fighting, *****ing and carrying on has been far too much for this pregnant mumma. Combine it with the hot weather and I'm a disaster waiting to happen. Not to mention that all they have done today, aside from fight, is ask me to feed them every five seconds. What happened to breakfast, morning tea, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner?? They have had about 10 meals each today. :banghead:
Loved having them home and I'll miss them terribly when they are back, but OMG I need some sort of peace and quiet!! I need happy children, lmao.
I have Jacob going into yr 4 and Brooke going into yr 3.
20-01-2007, 13:06
im yet to cover all the books, im not looking forward to doing all of that. have you all got yours covered?
jasminesmum
20-01-2007, 13:09
No,I haven't started yet either. I hate doing it. :yes:
Our school is having a meet the teacher day next Thursday and the kids can take their books along then too and just leave them there. So much easier than taking them on the first day.
It just means I had better hurry up and cover them though.
I'm hoping that my dh might offer and do them. (Yea right.) :rolleyes:
20-01-2007, 13:11
I'm hoping that my dh might offer and do them. (Yea right.) :rolleyes:
:laughing: mines exactly the same, in his words "its your job" pfft!
Yep will be glad when my two older one's go back to school. Counting the days (7 to go)... And the two of them are going to grandparents for a few days as well!! YAH.....:smiliedance: I can't beleive that Becca is in yr 9:eek: allready!!! And Nick is in grade 5!! OMG i just thought that Jade( my youngest) will start school the year after Becca finshes!!!:eek: :eek: Now thats bad!!
TwoBoysOnly
22-01-2007, 14:29
I am sooo over these holidays, it was fine when we were away but now we are back.....fighting all the time (bloody sibling rivalry). Our eldest is supposed to be going into grade 1 but we have a meeting with the school on Wed to try and convince them that he is ready for grade 2.....hmmmm my patience is wearing thin :banghead:
FourAngelKisses
22-01-2007, 14:32
8 more sleeps, 8 more sleeps, 8 more sleeps, woohoo!!!!
I have kind of got mixed feelings. I do like having them around as we go on some fun outings, however the fighting and nagging drives me crazy at times. So sometimes it does feel like a very long 6 weeks:laughing:
My dd is starting prep and my ds is in Grade 3 so only 1 little one at home:crying: My baby girl is starting school:crying:
22-01-2007, 16:00
1 week to go and still no books covered:shame:
sunnygirls
22-01-2007, 22:26
:D I'm soooo over the holidays. Counting the days until they all go back. All books covered, new school shoes, uniforms, lunchboxes bought and named (I've even bought new hairbands!)
Soon I will have time to myself again .......
Tell me why do teachers feel the need to have a pupil free day the week they go back? Didn't they just have 8 paid weeks off? Surely school could arrange for their teachers to come in 1 days in the holidays to get their sh*@ in one sock? Arghhhh
I love the rush in the morning to get them out. It means that I have some brain space for a few hours.:smiliedance:
TwoBoysOnly
23-01-2007, 07:29
When is the pupil free day........:banghead:
FourAngelKisses
23-01-2007, 07:32
We don't have one here in NSW, thank heavens!! I have my maternity ward booking in appointment on Tuesday, I couldn't imagine taking 3 kids with me, lol.
I cant wait till DS1 goes back either.
All they have done is fight and eat!!!! The last two weeks have been hell on earth here.
My due date is the day they go back so my baby needs to either be late or early (hopefully early) as i want to be there for the first day or so back!
AngelKisses- im in NSW and we have the pupil free days. I think they are called staff development days or something but its the reason they arent going back on Monday. Hope that doesnt sound bad- it wasnt inteneded too sorry.
FourAngelKisses
23-01-2007, 13:03
Oh okay, we weren't told that Monday was off for that reason. I just assumed it was when they went back as that is what the calendar said also.
sunnygirls
23-01-2007, 13:16
My girls go to a catholic school in QLD and the Monday is the pupil free day. My friend's kids go to a state school and they start back on Monday and have the Thursday of that week as a pupil free day.
TwoBoysOnly
23-01-2007, 17:55
Hmmm best look at the calender
23-01-2007, 20:16
My girls go to a catholic school in QLD and the Monday is the pupil free day. My friend's kids go to a state school and they start back on Monday and have the Thursday of that week as a pupil free day.
i wasnt aware that the thurs was a pupil free day! :eek: im starting back work of a thurs, so this is a bummer.:eek:
FourAngelKisses
24-01-2007, 10:36
ARGH!!!!!!!!! How long until Tuesday gets here?? I have had to put up with 4hrs of fighting and crying and it is driving me nuts trying to keep them quiet so that DH can sleep (he worked a 12.5hr shift last night).
If it wasn't wet outside it would be so much easier.
MrsDribbleDrawers
24-01-2007, 10:47
i wasnt aware that the thurs was a pupil free day! :eek: im starting back work of a thurs, so this is a bummer.:eek:
Don't panic - check with your school... EQ allowed schools to decide individually this time when they would have the pupil free day - our teachers decided to wait until August and have it with the EKKA holiday!
sunnygirls
28-01-2007, 09:36
2 more sleeps wahooo! (well only 1 more for some of you). I just can't wait to get my time to myself (at home that is) back.
I feel like a caged animal at the moment but the escape is near. My house looks like a bomb site, I really want to clean it up before they go back to school so I don't cut into my me time. Is that being selfish???
DH thinks I should be playing with them for the last days instead of cleaning. Maybe he should be off his fat bum and do one or the other.
I've covered the books, washed and ironed the uniformed, got the hair ties happening, labelled everything (except for the books because the labels haven't arrived that I ordered 4 weeks ago!!!)
Is everyone ready? Its a good feeling isn't it?
Sunny:smiliedance:
I am really ready. Just put the water bottles in the freezer.:smiliedance:
28-01-2007, 09:53
Don't panic - check with your school... EQ allowed schools to decide individually this time when they would have the pupil free day - our teachers decided to wait until August and have it with the EKKA holiday!
i will be checking with the school
omg tomorrow school starts :D dd1 is also very excited. a few more books to cover then i am finished! YAY
will be making the lunch this evening. but tomorrow, i will have dd1, dd2 and dd3 as well as the big bag of school books to carry . should be fun, classroom is upstairs also
Don't panic Maria. the pupil free was the thursday just gone :) public schools had the choice of Wed/Thurs and have 2 days off in august (ekka day - normally one day is a pupil free)
or only go in on thurs and only have the one day in August :)
Public schools start this monday, no thursday off.
Thanks for that seekrit, I was beginning to worry too
We (being the principal) opted for the 2 pupil frees now, to have 2 days off in August :D that 2nd day is hubby's birthday :)
28-01-2007, 12:06
thanks nikki :D
yay i just finally finished contacting all the darn books. definitely next yr i told dh its his turn :D
FourAngelKisses
28-01-2007, 12:15
I'm not ready. Haven't got my back to school cheque yet so the kids have no shoes to wear other than their tatty sports shoes from last year, lol.
jasminesmum
28-01-2007, 12:18
I have finished and am all organised. :yelclap:
Bring on tomorrow!
MrsDribbleDrawers
28-01-2007, 14:57
I'm doing the lunchbox baking at the moment... and also not looking forward to carrying all the books to classrooms... have to be there for tuckshop at 8am, so hopefully someone will let me dump books early!
28-01-2007, 23:08
im also not looking forward to carrying all the books, as well as taking all 3 kidlets!
Im due to have our 4th baby tomorrow so i hope i dont go into labour before 9.30am LOL.
I am so ready for him to be at school- not to mention the fact that he has been counting the "sleeps" for two whole weeks!!!
29-01-2007, 16:52
well dd1 went back today. she was so excited. glad to be back she is. although i have to say, the day went extremely fast also. bet it will be hols again before we know it!
FourAngelKisses
29-01-2007, 16:59
bet it will be hols again before we know it!
The sooner the better, my baby is due in the middle of the next holidays, lmao.
Glad your DD had a great day. :)