View Full Version : Anyone do Tupperware, Nutrimetics or Body Shop parties??
fire~fly
18-01-2007, 11:39
Hi I was just wondering if anyone on here does tupperware, nutrimetics or bodyshop parties? I want to get some sort of job that i can do mainly from home or out of office hours when DH can mind DS and i was thinking of doing one of the above but have been told that its a lot of work for little $. Can anyone give me any info on it?
Thanks heaps! :thumbsup:
newmum2one
18-01-2007, 13:11
Oops meant to PM hang on a tic :-)
Harmony83
18-01-2007, 13:22
If you can choose something that you have a passion for it wont feel like work at all! Basically you get out what you put in, if you work hard and do a few parties a week you can bring home a pretty decent income, but if your like me and just do it casually you wont make much!
I have also thought of doing something like this as well.
Not really into Tupperware or Nutrimetics myself, but the Body Shop at Home idea sounds great! Does anybody out there do it? Are you able to PM me some details too?
Didn't mean to hijack thread - I've got DS in school and due with bubs in Feb, but something to get me out of the house a little later down the track would be great.
Thanks guys!
I started doing Tupperware in October and I would have to agree that it is a lot of work - the money is good but it is not consistant - you can have a great party and sell heaps or one like I had on the weekend where hardly anyone showed up and you make very little.
There are deliveries and paper work which take a lot of time and make you no money.
You also need to be the right time of person. Very confident and outgoing and willing to push people a bit to book parties etc.
ImSethsMum
18-01-2007, 14:18
I do Tupperware. As far as time outlay: a party is generally 2 hours. There is the visit or phone call prior to plan the host/party, doing the order, picking up the order, packing and delivery. All up one party might be 4 hours work?
For that you get 20% of the sales. An average party is $500 (my worst party had one guest and was still $300, my best party was $2000). So for a $500 party you will get $100. So thats $25 an hour. There is also a 12.5% 'slush fund' type set up. Your supposed to spend around that figure to keep your kit updated, buy brochures etc. If your kit is fully stocked and you dont need to buy anything then that 12.5% is extra cash in your pocket. So there is really a 32.5% profit potential.
Also unless you are a manager or work at a dealership on a wage etc, doing Tupperware Demonstrating is tax free. I called the Tax office to confirm this when I started and they advised that I did not have to pay tax. I do 1-2 partys a week and I only do them Friday nights and weekends as my DP is home to look after DS.
At first there is a bigger time commitment as there is training classes etc, but Ive been doing it nearly a year and have made some good money. Paid extra bills, had a good Xmas without debt, have a fully stocked kitchen of Tupperware and so does my Mum LOL, and made some great friends.
Sorry if this has sounded like a hard sell - I just wanted to give you some info. If you want any other info or want someone to contect you just PM me. Geez I sound pushy again sorry. Im actually a rather casual person LOL.
Hope that helps ???
Kelly
3boys1girl
18-01-2007, 15:56
Another one u might be interested in is the learning ladder. It sells educational stuff for kids like DK books etc. If I was going to do something, it would be that, but im not much of a seller. Typer the learning ladder into google and it will come up.
Hope that helps!
My sister in law does the body shop parties and she makes a fair bit and really enjoys it. I do Avon i really like it, it gets me out of the house and i make some pocket money on the side...
sunnygirls
18-01-2007, 17:27
Hi, I've looked into doing Undercoverwear parties and will probably start doing them in about February.
Anyone else do these? If so, please PM I would love to get some feedback.
Sunny
19-01-2007, 20:56
I did Body Shop @ Home but it didn't last long.
PM for more details, don't want to go into details here..
I have a friend buying a house with her Nutrimetics income :)
I used to do Creative Memories, but stopped cos my other business took off. It was a lot of fun & I was earning enough to cover my own purchases.
Melissa
cupcakemafia
20-01-2007, 19:15
I do Body Shop At Home and I ADORE it!!
PM me if you'd like some details :)
heatherp13
10-07-2008, 00:42
Hi there just thought i would let you know that I have been involved with Nutrimetics for just over a year now and find its great. I can choose when and how much I want to do and when I want to do it. It's all up to me. I can fit it around my family and lifestyle. What's good too is there is no pressure. Email me if you would like further details. I hope this helps.:flowerz:
I also am a consultant with Nutr!- I do find we arebringing in extra money each week- but I do work for it.
The products do sell themselves though
If you want more info Im happy to help :)
Good Luck
E
Like everyone else says - its all relative to the effort that you put in. I started Avon last month, and all I'm doing it going for a walk around the block most days and dropping/picking up along the way. Have not had to hard sell anything, and am making some easy pocket money. But if I wanted more, I know that a little bit more effort would get me further.
The little work for not much money thing, doesn't worry me. I have no desire to work *properly* just yet, so this is something that keeps me busy, gets me out of the house and meeting the locals, and making some spare change. Thats all I want out of it, so the fact that I probably make a relatively low hourly wage makes no difference to me.
I would probably suggest that you try to get into something that how a low/no start up...so you aren't out of pocket if you decide its not your thing.
Mummyof2
15-07-2008, 21:27
Hi cupcake mafia, can u please tell me more about doing the body shop at home? I am interested. Tell me how it has been for you, how long you have been doing it for etc. Thanks, my email address is: roslynjfuller@yahoo.com.au
regards, Roslyn Fuller.
candicehunt1
06-05-2010, 08:09
I am a Manager in Training for Tupperware and have 2 children aged 3yrs and 15mths I am also at uni full time my idea for doing this was the cash! :smiliedance:
I am finding it very time consuming and hard work but the rewards far out way the work you put in. I was working for a real estate company marketing investment properties from home and it was the most boring mundane stinking thing I have ever done!:hair:
I longed for social interaction and to get out of my Pj's before lunch time....:yelclap:
And Tupperware is where I found it, the best part is Centrelink consider it a "hobby" so not only do you not have to declare it as an income but it is all tax free....:smiliedance:
RaryGirl
06-05-2010, 09:52
I am a Manager in Training for Tupperware and have 2 children aged 3yrs and 15mths I am also at uni full time my idea for doing this was the cash! :smiliedance:
I am finding it very time consuming and hard work but the rewards far out way the work you put in. I was working for a real estate company marketing investment properties from home and it was the most boring mundane stinking thing I have ever done!:hair:
I longed for social interaction and to get out of my Pj's before lunch time....:yelclap:
And Tupperware is where I found it, the best part is Centrelink consider it a "hobby" so not only do you not have to declare it as an income but it is all tax free....:smiliedance:
Please remember, it's always best to check with ATO & Centrelink as to the rules in relation to income and what needs to be declared as each individuals circumstances are different, what maybe a 'hobby' for one person, may not be for another.
Good luck with your new venture Candice. :)
Hi, I'm a Lorraine Lea Linen Consultant. I joined last year in September after having a party. Like you, I wanted something to do around my kids. I do 2 - 4 parties per week and am earning on average $200 - $250 per party.
I love Lorraine Lea because we don't do any money handling (meaning we don't pay for the orders on our card and then have to collect it back) and we don't do deliveries (TOLL or AUST POST take care of this).
Kelly
Hey I've just started up with The Learning Ladder and was worried that it would be a lot of hard work for not much $$ but I am REALLY enjoying it! Some parties can be not really worth it money wise but generally most of them are okay...and it gets me out doing something that I really enjoy (I love books, games & toys).
It's been a fantastic way to meet new people and I am feeling a lot more confident in myself and have definitely learnt lots of new skills. :) I never thought I'd be able to stand up in front of people and do the presentations but I can and I do! :) And the funny thing is, I think I do okay...hehe...
I can HIGHLY recommend The Learning Ladder!!! :)
mumof3spunks
06-07-2010, 22:49
Hi guys - I have just joined this site - wow so much to read! I am a stay at home mum of 3 boys and I do The Body Shop at Home and love it. It is a passion of mine really, can rave about community trade and ethics for hours!! But seriously, find a company with a product you are passionate about and can believe in then it will not be just a job to you. It is also my social life, I don't get to go out much with an 8 month old as well so a few hours at a time for a party kills 2 birds with 1 stone! So whichever party plan you choose, I say Go for it, it does work around family life if you set yourself up properly. Look forward to getting to know some other mums out there!! hey what does PM mean?
Thermolicious
07-07-2010, 01:14
Hi Everyone :)
I am about to start training as a Thermomix demonstrator, I've had my own Thermomix since just before Christmas last year and I still use it 3-4 times a day! We have been preservative and additive free now for a while and having a Thermomix means I can achieve this in half (if not less) the time it would take if I had to do everything by hand. We are also saving a lot of money because we do not buy prepackaged food and most of my money is spent at the fruit and vegetable shop :thumbsup:
As a previous poster mentioned if your passionate about something and you believe in it then you can't go wrong!
Nice chatting to you all :)
Welcome mumof3spunks! :) PM is a Private Message (like email) on here. :)
Babymaker, what on earth is a Thermomix? I've never heard of it!?!? :confused:
I agree girls...if you love something enough it makes it very easy to 'sell' to others. :)
Thermolicious
07-07-2010, 22:56
SC74 Here is a great video from you tube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pm8Xwd3PHPo&feature=youtube_gdata
Not something I really need folk to know, but can I reiterate the moderators comments - I work for Centrelink and can assure you that Centrelink need to know about ANY income earned from ANY source. PLENTY of folk have incurred debts because of failure to declare income (including income from "hobbies" or businesses). If you have been told you don't have to declare this income, please question it and ensure you protect yourself by getting a receipt number and preferably something in writing. In some circumstances no income will be assessable (cause you can claim expenses etc) but sometimes you can't and it will be ALL assessable - it depends on each circumstance. Just want to protect my online "friends" here at Bub Hub! :)
Babymaker, can you actually cook a proper meal for a family of 5 in the Thermomix? For example a roast, curry, pasta etc??
I am having a demo in a couple of weeks and can't wait. I have a slow cooker, which is great when I am up and organised early enough to have it on in time to be ready for dinner.
Not something I really need folk to know, but can I reiterate the moderators comments - I work for Centrelink and can assure you that Centrelink need to know about ANY income earned from ANY source. PLENTY of folk have incurred debts because of failure to declare income (including income from "hobbies" or businesses). If you have been told you don't have to declare this income, please question it and ensure you protect yourself by getting a receipt number and preferably something in writing. In some circumstances no income will be assessable (cause you can claim expenses etc) but sometimes you can't and it will be ALL assessable - it depends on each circumstance. Just want to protect my online "friends" here at Bub Hub! :)
Kobie, how do you find out!? I've asked Centrelink and basically got dismissed...she just said "it will be okay" or something similar and sent me on my way!?!?!? Is there a particular person (job name) I should ask for?? Most of them don't seem to care or want to help... :(
Thermolicious
08-07-2010, 15:26
Babymaker, can you actually cook a proper meal for a family of 5 in the Thermomix? For example a roast, curry, pasta etc??
I am having a demo in a couple of weeks and can't wait. I have a slow cooker, which is great when I am up and organised early enough to have it on in time to be ready for dinner.
The Thermomix does not do a leg of lamb roast, bake a cake (can steam puddings), bake biscuits. I love that I can whip up a cake batter in 40 seconds or some biscuits in 1 min even if it wont bake them, and I only have one thing to wash that really cleans itself ;)
You can defiantly do anything saucy ie curry, beef stroganoff, creamy pasta dishes. For something like a curry or beef stroganoff you would do the sauce/meat side of it then tip it into the thermosaver (which will keep it pipping hot for 2hrs) and then cook your rice/pasta/mash potatoes. For something like spaghetti and meatballs you cook your sauce and steam the meat balls at the same time, tip them into the thermosaver then cook your pasta.
The bonus is it takes about 5min of prep actually standing at the machine to do the above then you set it too cook and walk away for 20ish min come back and set the pasta/rice/mash potatoes the walk away again, there is no need to stand and stir (yes even for a risotto) no need to worry about it sticking or burning.
I LOVE that I can do things like meatballs and the only time my hands get dirty is when I roll the balls, no freezing cold mince meat hands :smiliedance:
I like to steam chicken breasts and vegetables with herbs while cooking mash underneath yummy!
Most recipes call for 500g of meat and it cooks 400g rice, 1 kg potatoes or 500g pasta at a time. Even if you wanted to cook more then the above the first lot would stay pipping hot in the thermosaver while you did the next batch.
HTH, feel free to ask any questions
JessicaKim
03-08-2010, 16:15
I myself have done some Avon and body shop as well. Mostly its good just to be able to order your own things and cheaper without going through someone else.. You can pm me if you need to know any more about it. But i found after i had my 2 babies i was so bored, and needed some 'normal' conversation and adult contact. one of the above was a lot more harder leg work than then other, though lol.
Iris princess
01-09-2010, 10:46
hello~
so much to read here! I wish I had the time, if only my little ones will let me :valentine:
I've never heard of My Learning ladder? hmmm~ sounds interesting.. what is it exactly? what's the website? do you organise parties?
I have to start thinking about organising a party for my 4 year old for Nov, she's been asking for it, I'm sure you all know what i mean..:laughing:
I earn extra cash for answering online surveys and it helps me to pay some bills :yelclap:I can do the surveys whenever I want and I can exchange for cash into PayPal deposit or even Myer gift vouchers.. Best of all you are not committed to anything and it doesn't cost anything to join either.. I found 'My Survey' to be more rewarding than the others, you might want to try it!
I've never heard of My Learning ladder? hmmm~ sounds interesting.. what is it exactly? what's the website? do you organise parties?
Hi Irisprincess :)
The Learning Ladder is a party plan business where I go around showing my books, games & toys (mostly for 0-15 year olds but also stuff for adults too) & take orders. I can also do catalogue orders to anywhere in Australia. It's great because I make some extra $$ without having to put my kids in care...I'm loving it!! I've met so many great people too which is a real bonus. :) {link removed by moderator}
Hay There
Im wanting to purchase some tupperware get my kitchen sorted out, we have just moved to sunshine coast so im not interested in having a party as i havnt got anyone to invite could anyone help me get in contact with a someone whole sells tupperware on the sunshine coast.