View Full Version : Thinking of trying cloth, v.confused...
Two Little Buggalugs
17-01-2007, 22:55
I can tell you are all passionate clothies here, but please be kind in your responses. I am very new to the idea of cloth and the terminology has still got me bamboozled. :confused:
So, was thinking of trying cloth, but don't want a bulky nappy. My DD is a bit of budha, 6 month old, poos anywhere from 2 to 4 times a day at the moment (two teeth have just come through, she used to be one a day regular), she sleeps about 11/12 hours at night.
I'm not really into the poo handling aspect of cloth, so was thinking of using the flushable liners. Presumably this means I need a two part system rather than an all in one?
Also, should poo escape or I skip the liners, with dry pailing of the nappies, do you just put the poo stained nappy in the washing machine like that? Does the poo always come off? How hygienic is this? I have some caneston in wash stuff, can you use this with them?
So far I've looked at Baby Beehinds, Ella's House, Peapods and Bambino Mio. Any pros and cons to these, given my requirements?
Also, I like the look of the Itti Bitti slim ones, but I can't figure out if they're an all in one or not (ittibitti.net) - has anyone used these?
Any advice would be appreciated!
Karen :wave:
I have some itti bittis, I have 2 of the snap in aio's. They are great for going out, they fit really well under clothes...but recently my DD has started to soak them in under 2hrs so I've had to add extra boosting to them.
I tend to just use flat nappies most of the time so I can't really help you any more than that :)
The itti bitti snap in AIOs (All in one nappy with snap in boosters) are very hard to get. I don't have one but do have a fitted.
Other trim nappies are not my forte- hopefully someone else can help! I love big nappies! THe trimmest nappy I like is the Bamboozle - made from bamboo and very trim yet absorbent.
You can use flushable liners in any nappy but most use it in fitteds made with natural materials.
Hope that helps. If confused at all, just ask more qs. It will make sense soon.
SweetDreams
17-01-2007, 23:11
I think I just saw some TIC AIOs on Buyena so might be worth checking them out :) They are quite trim.
17-01-2007, 23:13
Ok in regards to the poo handling you dont need to because a) you can use flushable liners like you talked about or go with option b) Little Squirt which you can buy at hardware stores. It attaches to your toilet & you use this to spray the poo off into the toilet. This is a much better option because you have ongoing costs with flushable liners as well as them not always working.
Dry pailing is fine even for blow outs hehe just wash the nappy off as best as you can then when you do a wash, do a rinse cycle first this gets rid of any leftovers. All bubs go through these stages of having lotsa poos etc but they usually settle into their routine in no time.
I wouldnt suggest canestan or napisan because it can affect the nappies depending on what material they are made of. Sunlight or a warm wash with your washing pwder/liquid is sufficient enough to kill all the germies :thumbsup:
Itti Bitti are slim line nappies i havent used them myself as im not too keen on slim nappies as ive had disasters with Swaddlebees.
Peapods have a so-so reputation you either love 'em or hate 'em it seems again i havent got these so cant really comment.
BabyBeehinds are great but you do need a good cover for nite i would suggest wool as it breathes & will hold explosions beautifully !
Bambino Mio & Ella's again i havent tried so cant really comment.
Im a true fan of Green Kids & Cherubs Kiss they are awesome nappies. GK's are pockets & soooo easy to use especially as you can easily boost them to suit what you need. CK's are All In One's again easy to use but take longer to dry having so many layers but are beautiful nappies to have.
For us atm we use GK's overnite with a hemp & microfibre insert this is perfect for my almost 2yr old boy so i havent varied because we found what works for him.
Im pg again so plan to get some bamboo nappies for nite which i will team with a wool soak/longies for this bubs. Will be trial & error again but that seems to work for most then everyday will be either some AIO's or fitteds with a cover until bubs is old enough to wear GK's.
Not sure if i have helped hopefully i have cause my brain has skipped town lol.
Good luck !
Two Little Buggalugs
18-01-2007, 07:51
Thanks for all the input. Yes, the Itti Bitti's do seem to be hard to find.
Allyoo - when you say 'pockets' does that mean there's cover and insert?
So for night, if I went Baby Beehind, do I have to use the bamboo cover, then another wool cover over top? It sounds like so many layers...
Does anyone use cloth at home and disposables when out?
I'm still getting my head around pooey nappies in the washing machine! I've got the old soaking nappies in napisan in my head... I had no idea cloth nappies had changed so much!
HoopDeeDoo
18-01-2007, 07:52
Re the poo situtation. The best tool for poo is the little squirt, there has been a few threads lately in regards to liners if you have a look around.
If you don't get all the poo off you can do an extra rinse cycle before you wash like allyoo mentioned.
The best thing to do if your are worried about nappy shapes is to try a few types before settling on the one you love. I have heard that GKs can cut into chunky thighs. I have got 5 BBBs which I use as night nappies on my Toddler and 8 month old, and I have got to say they fit both boys perfectly. Although GK are supposed to be a one sized nappy they go no where near fitting my toddler. So don't go overboard with one type at once, try a couple and see how you go. And if you can sew even better cause making them yourself is great fun, and saves quite a bit of money. :thumbsup:
You'll be fine by the way, it's awesome when you realise you haven't had to buy disposables for weeks :D
Oh I also have 7 peapods which have been great to boost my stash until I make enough nappies for both my boys. They do need extra boosting though, I always stuff mine with the hemp insert that comes with and a microfibre insert. These are the only type of nappy my toddler takes off though so they probably aren't as comfy as some, probably cause of the extra boosting
i use bbh hemps. for nite i use the small snap in , a fold up bamboo booster & wool soaker...not bulky:thumbsup:
HoopDeeDoo
18-01-2007, 08:00
Pockets have a water proof outside layer, then a lining with an opening at the back so you can stuff them with absorbent inserts - no cover needed
AIO are All in one, no cover needed
Fitteds are just the absorbent layer - Baby beehinds are fitted. These require a cover usually PUL, fleece or Wool. They aren't anymore bulky then an AIO or pocket depending on the boosting and the covers.
Most of the nappy selling site have pictures of the nappy explaining about the different layers
18-01-2007, 11:34
Allyoo - when you say 'pockets' does that mean there's cover and insert?
So for night, if I went Baby Beehind, do I have to use the bamboo cover, then another wool cover over top? It sounds like so many layers...
Does anyone use cloth at home and disposables when out?
I'm still getting my head around pooey nappies in the washing machine! I've got the old soaking nappies in napisan in my head... I had no idea cloth nappies had changed so much!
Pockets are a nappy that usually has a fleece or PUL outer with a suede cloth inner & a pocket lol which means you stuff it with what you need to make it suitable for your bub. It could be hemp it could be microfibre or a combination. No cover is then needed.
If you use a BBH you would either get a bamboo nappy or a hemp whichever you prefer then you cover it with a wool cover. Bamboo is meant to be the most absorbant so you dont need extra loads of boosting so the nappy wont be too bulky.
Many mums use sposies when out for ease. For us we use cloth full time as thats much more easier for us & we have enough to do so. I even have a small stash at my mums for when we visit.
Seriously it does sound wierd putting pooey nappies in the wash but it works trust me. As i said while bubs is going through the gross poo stage a rinse before you wash solves any dramas you may have.
HoopDeeDoo
18-01-2007, 12:04
I started out using cloth for day, sposies for nights and out and about.
I honestly found it easier to use cloth full time, but it all depends on what type of nappies you buy as to the absorbency etc for outing or night times
Two Little Buggalugs
18-01-2007, 12:50
OK, so for a pocket or all in one you change the whole thing each change and for a fitted you just change the insert - is that right?
And when you're talking about nappies with Baby Beehinds - are you talking about the bit that gets washed, not the cover?
Would that mean all in ones are slimmer, but less absorbent? Can you 'boost' or use a liner in an all in one?
I'm getting there!
ok every nappy needs to be changed completly. Some AIO's are trim yes but some can be bulky
Baby Beehinds make nappies and covers. I have to say they make wonderful nappies but their covers not so great (though they do sell soakers which are awesome)
I like the bamboo nappies with wool cover. Covers need airing between wears and then washing when smelly or soiled. Wool is great as it needs much less washing when lanolised.
:wave: Nix,
Don't worry, you'll get the hang of it very soon!
Here are some info sites for you:
Ozcloth Nappies (http://www.ozclothnappies.org/info.html)
The Jargon (http://www.allaboutnappies.com/jargon.php)
The Myths and Misconceptions (http://www.rwh.org.au/wellwomens/whic.cfm?doc_id=7691)
And don't forget to have a look at some of the past threads on this forum, all the ladies here are very helpful!
Now just to clarify, with the fitted nappies this is what they usually comprise of:
* The outer shell - which often has extra layers of absorpant material sewn INTO the shell, and can be made of bamboo, hemp, flannel, cotton, fleece, etc.
* Various sized snap in (this means they attach into the nappy) or lay in boosters - i.e. Baby Beehinds fitted nappies come with a short snap in booster AND a long snap in booster, whereas Kidz in Cloth fitted nappies come with one lay in booster, so it varies.
BUT with a fitted nappy, once you have put the nappy onto bub, you need to then put a cover over the top and covers come in PUL (polyurethane laminate), fleece and wool.
if you are wanting a slim fitting nappy, the slimmest I have seen have been pocket nappies. I personally LOVE a big cloth butt :D
Ok, good luck! :thumbsup:
ETA: And yes, the whole fitted nappy needs to be washed after each use, but as Kymmy said the covers just need to be aired out unless their pooey or smell really strongly of wee.
Where do you live? I think you are from North West Melb ? I was thinking you need to see the nappies themselves irl - it makes more sense then.
Two Little Buggalugs
18-01-2007, 19:06
Thanks so much for all the advice, I think I am nearly there! :hugs:
A demo is a great idea. I was hoping to get nurture nappies, but they don't have a Melbourne rep ATM. :( Bugger, the one state without! I'll keep looking. Does anyone else now a company that does demos of lots of brands?
I feel like I completely understand the AIO's and pocket nappy's, but there's something about the fitted ones I don't get. I thought the nappy part looked kinda like a pad (period pad) and they either got laid in, stuffed in the pocket or snapped in. I must be reading it wrong though because it sounded like, with the Baby Beehinds, that you had three layers - like the nappy goes all around with a laid or snap in booster plus a cover. Is that right or have I completely lost the plot? :confused:
The wool covers sound good (airing in between, less washing etc) but are they itchy? I read somewhere that they're great for night, but not so comfy for when bub is in car seat or pram a lot. Is that true?
Carly, thanks for the links!
beehinds are the nappy then u snap in some inserts so it dries quicker basically then a cover over it. wool isnt itchy at all
Two Little Buggalugs
18-01-2007, 19:12
What a quick reply, thanks! So it's kinda like 3 layers then - does that make it bulky?
nope not bulky!i only use the long snap in for say times.. My ds is wearing one in my avatar:thumbsup:
My DD is wearing one in my avatar as well :thumbsup: They're trim, whilst also being really thirsty!
Front view (http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m104/greene_carly/Nappies/Picture142.jpg)
Two Little Buggalugs
18-01-2007, 20:58
You are all so patient answering my questions, many thanks! :wave:
Got one last q though - with disposables, I can tell how wet her nappy is by feeling the 'gel'. How can you tell when to change a cloth nappy? Or do you just change at/after feeds?
The texture of the bamboo nappies kinda goes from being soft and easy to squish to being more firm when you squeeze it. And you'll know because with fitted nappies, the outer shell of the nappy is damp :yes:
It can be hard to tell when a bub in cloth needs changing - sometimes heavier or the cloth is damp.
I use organic and soft wools - luxury! Such lucky bubs!
Hmmm no rep in Melb? I wonder if I could do that.....:detective:
YEAH Kymmy! Av would make the perfect model for all the nappies and soakers! :thumbsup:
Two Little Buggalugs
18-01-2007, 21:20
Give them a call Kymmy. Wouldn't it be great to make some pocket money from your obsession for cloth!
My mothers group are all interested in cloth nappies now so you've all done a fantastic job encouraging and educating me.
Many, many thanks,
Karen x :hugs:
I would love to do it but I just want to knit....I will think about it ...
No worries Karen! Its great to talk cloth and soon you will as cloth crazy as us I hope!
Kymmy, when are you setting up your Ozebaby store? :D
I am actually involved with Yarns United on ozebaby - have a look at 'about us' (inakid) I hope I can mention this. It is for a good cause - for charity.
My store is on WAHMania though :D
Kymmy, PM me the link to WAHMania please? Because I think I have the wrong WAHMania site bookmarked? I can't see any stores, just some products! Cheers!
HoopDeeDoo
19-01-2007, 07:55
Thanks for that Kymmy I just got a dolphin soaker - it is made in China, but it's really cool so I thought why not? :shame:
Show us a pic in acton okay Emma?
Two Little Buggalugs
25-01-2007, 08:46
Thank you so much for all your advice, it has really helped to understand the lingo.
The demo idea was great, but I'm not allowed to invite other bubhub mums on the forum. But don't worry, I'm having one for me and my non bubhub friends, so there will still be conversions!
I'll let you know how we go and what we end up buying.
Kymmy - you're too late! Nurture nappies already found a demonstrator in Melbourne. You would have been good at it, but I understand the knitting calls...
Thanks heaps,
Karen :wave:
25-01-2007, 14:25
I'm coming in really late here, but because you were having trouble (at one stage) getting the idea of fitteds and how they look on bub- here's one of Ariene in a Baby Beehind in bamboo. This pic was when she was about 5-6 months old and about 7.5-8 kilos, I would say.
Baby Beehinds - bamboo (http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m312/pookiesossige/TummytimeinaBBB1.jpg)
Both the snap-in inserts are in that nappy. At night time I add a separate one then pop a cover over the top and no leaks, ever.
I put a cover over the top, which is such a pity sometimes cos I just love the colours of the Bamboo BB's! But it's better then a wet lap/floor/highchair etc!
Two Little Buggalugs
25-01-2007, 17:35
Hi Em,
Thanks for the photo, she's gorgeous! Yeah, that's what I couldn't understand, I thought the pretty nappies was it. I didn't get you had to put a cover on top. You're right, it is a shame as they look nice on their own!
But everyone assures me they are still quite trim even with the cover. I can't wait to check them out in real life!
I'll post an update and some photos when we've bought our first clothies! :wave: