View Full Version : Kiwi Chat

ZarasMummy
17-01-2007, 22:20
Just wondered if any of you Kiwi's were interested in starting a Kiwi chat thread?

Shakey
18-01-2007, 21:15
i'm keen to start a kiwi chat :smiliedance: what shall we chat about??????

ZarasMummy
18-01-2007, 21:22
Hmmmmm, well what about the stuff we miss from home...that's a start. I miss Cookie Time cookies............yum!

Shakey
18-01-2007, 21:24
mmmmmmm cookie times, i've got a huge **** stash in my pantry, along with onion soup for my dip, shrewsberry bickies, yummy yummy yummy, now i'm hungry lol, I flew to NZ last thurs and flew back on mon, so i'm all stocked up lol, probably will only last a few weeks lol

ZarasMummy
18-01-2007, 21:32
Oh that's just not fair giz, why such a short trip? I really miss jelly tip ice creams

Shakey
18-01-2007, 22:24
mmmmmm Jelly tip ice creams that what i didn't have while I was over there,

it was a really short trip, only cause we didn't have much money, went over for SIL wedding, it rained just about the whole day lol, but it was good, I didn't get the chance to sit on the grass cause it was all wet, i so wanted to do that, i miss going on picnic's and not getting bitten by something

ZarasMummy
18-01-2007, 22:41
oh, you lucky thing to go back tho.....i also miss pixie caramels

jacquit
24-01-2007, 18:52
I am a kiwi, still in NZ. Will check in here again to chat!

ZarasMummy
24-01-2007, 20:09
Hi jacquit, how are you? You lucky thing still being in NZ....whereabouts in Auckland are you? My Aunty lives right across the road from St Luke's shopping centre.

shed
24-01-2007, 20:12
My aunty lives just up the road from the St Lukes shopping centre!

ZarasMummy
24-01-2007, 20:28
Lol shed, my Aunty is going to the UK to visit my cousin at Christmas for six weeks so we are hoping to get time off work and house sit for her. It's so handy where she lives...we wouldn't need a car or anything.

Wondermum
25-01-2007, 22:45
I wanna go back this year :fingerscrossed: for Xmas/ New Year...... have to show off the new bubba!

Mmmm!!!! I remember getting cookie times while cruising around town when I was a youngster *zap em* in the servo microwave *drool* :D

NZMama
08-02-2007, 09:45
Have to join this convo...I flew back in last wednesday and my pantry is stocked with Burger rings (not the yukky ones you get here) Rahuns, cookie times, Jaffa slims and even brought some real mussels back....yummy!

ZarasMummy
08-02-2007, 19:20
oh NZMama, cookie times? I am coming to raid your pantry! :laughing:

NZMama
08-02-2007, 20:19
haha Ive got a personal stash of those...I dont mind sharing the other things with DP but not the cookie times :shame: :laughing:

*Chels*
15-02-2007, 16:39
I miss NZ sometimes.Heaps of my friends and family are coming over for my wedding so will be getting them to bring me a stash.DF LOVES green onion chips and the maggi soup.He reckons the soup and dips here are ****.
I miss Rashuns...so yum!!!
I miss not having a zillion bloody bugs everywhere!!
Anyone from CHCH?

mumx3littlies
15-02-2007, 21:18
Hey guys how are you? I'm pleased to find some other kiwis on here! Me, DH and 3 kids moved to Oz last September. Havent met many other NZers in oz yet so was stoked to see the kiwi thread. I also miss those yummy things from NZ like jellytips! And definately missing the green lawns.

Corriene 29:)
Mike 31
Liam 4 :smiliedance:
Chloe 2
Cody 1

Jo9999
15-02-2007, 21:42
Does anyone else find it a struggle to find normal marshmellow easter eggs??? I found some this week, but they were $4.20 for 6 :eek:
I have a week in NZ in about 3 weeks... I will bring back grainwaves, rashuns, NZ burger rings (I'll probably get some of those kids multipacks so they last longer :smiliedance: , thick cut chips (the best for dipping!) and LOTS of marshmellow eggs.
While I am there I am going to a fish and chip shop and ordering a feed of just fish, I miss yummy cheap kiwi fush and chups!

Ky
17-02-2007, 16:56
Have you guys discovered that the new w/w select brand choccie bikkies are actually NZ made??? They have bikkies like hokey pokey squiggles, toffee pops etc ... yummmmmmm

Home ice-cream do a sort-of jelly tip ... not as good as NZ, but def an ok substitute.

I get sunshine pegs and maggi oxtail soup every time anyone comes over from NZ ... I miss the old reduced cream and onion soup dips :crying:

deb1234
17-02-2007, 17:10
hey guys,

better jump in here since you are talking about dip!! there is a little shop in brisbane in springwood that has onion soup if you ever need it...i see some of you are from around there! :) they also have whitlocks tomato chutney/sauce! :yes:

yes, definitely miss the green lawns!! and friends of course. we moved in august 06. if any of you are keen to meet up in brisbane/gold coast pm me :)

veve
17-02-2007, 20:59
ok -- so I'm intruding .. I'm not a kiwi ... but .. I moderate this section - and I thought of you all last weekend ..

I was at the Forest Lake Markets (south of brisbane) and there was a NewZealand food stall - selling biscuits and all kinds of things from NZ...

one of my friends (australian .. but her mum was Kiwi .. ) got quite excited .. but mentioned that there were no chocolate fish (what ever they are :p) .. but there was a fair bit of stuff ..

I dont know if she is there regularly .. but just thought it might help a few fellow hubbers and their cravings :D

Jen

nats
17-02-2007, 21:08
Thenks for thus Lun!
I'm so much rucher for heving popped me beak in thus thrud, eh________ :laughing:
Luv ya LL :kiss:

veve
17-02-2007, 21:17
Thenks for thus Lun!
I'm so much rucher for heving popped me beak in thus thrud, eh________ :laughing:
Luv ya LL

CRIIIKEY!! how am I s'posed to moderate this bonza thread if you kiwis are gunna speak another language?? struth!!! (insert many phrases about lizards drinking, and prawns on the barbie) ... :laughing:

*reaches for the NZ/ Australian translation manual * :p

ok... that my last intrusion .. promise!! :p

Jen

cwsmum
17-02-2007, 21:33
I really miss jelly tip ice creams
Now, there's something I remember :yes: I moved here in 1988...I was 8yrs old...so really don't remember all that much. I remember going to the beach and watching White Island puff away but thats about it.

I was at the Forest Lake Markets (south of brisbane) and there was a NewZealand food stall - selling biscuits and all kinds of things from NZ...
There is a New Zealand shop at, umm...Cleveland I think it is...my parents go there alot. There is also usually a NZ shop stall at the woodridge markets and a few others around the place.
Also, lots of the smaller lollie shops around the place stock a few NZ type foods. Mum buys L&P by the box from a shop 2mins down the road from her place.

I'm still undecided if I want to go back and visit, we have no family left there other than my granny who doesn't have a clue who anyone is these days anyway. There's plenty of my parents friends there but most of them want to move over here :D

Shakey
17-02-2007, 21:42
hi guys :wave: I forgot about this thread, whoops, oh well at least i've found it now, I've got my mum comming over at the end of april, i've given her a shopping list of things to buy lol, now i've read throught this thread i've got a few more things to put on it lol,

i've requested some rice risotto, I so miss that, ummm shrewsberries cause i've ran out :( cookie times, cameo cremes, complan, onion dip and other maggi dips, oooh i'll have to add green onion chips, yummy,

anyways just wondering if anyone went to any waitangi celebrations here, I know they had one on the GC here (I heard it cost alot to get in) and they had a free one in logan I think, I missed out on going, cause hubby slept in lol, and then we had to be somewhere else, i'll have to make it next year

shed
17-02-2007, 23:09
I used to go to Waitangi Day on the Gold Coast when I first moved to aussie, years ago.

It was just a bunch of kiwis getting on the turps back then, with some maoris performing on the back of a truck and then a game of rugby and then everyone getting drunk.

It didn't cost anything, but then a few years later it had turned into a more formal type event.

Anyway, chocolate fish, yum. Veve, a chocolate fish is:

A chocolate dipped marshmallow in the shape of a fish, often used as a form of reward - if you do something good someone will tell you that you deserve a chocolate fish for doing it.

Shakey
17-02-2007, 23:36
Anyway, chocolate fish, yum. Veve, a chocolate fish is:

A chocolate dipped marshmallow in the shape of a fish, often used as a form of reward - if you do something good someone will tell you that you deserve a chocolate fish for doing it.

you forgot to add that they normally have pink marshmellow inside, they are called sprats, I LOVE EM, will add them to my list pmsl

Wondermum
27-02-2007, 06:48
Thenks for thus Lun!
Luv ya LL :kiss:

Watch out.... this ones is an impersonator! We call her Nits not Nats :p

ZarasMummy
27-02-2007, 19:14
PMSL Nits!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We have just got back from the fish and chip shop up the road, some Kiwi's have bought it so they have a few lollies and chippies up there. We have some L&P, wine gums, K bars and Whittaker's peanut slabs...yummy!

nmummy
05-03-2007, 17:56
hi all just wanted to say hi Im a kiwi lurking on here I live in christchurch but i actually lived in oz all my life but now married to a kiwi and I was a kiwi born too confusing huh I guess Im a little backward that I miss all the stuff you guys can get and you miss what I can get!!!But there is never a party with maggis dips and reduced cream or it's not a party!!!

ZarasMummy
06-03-2007, 11:13
LOL nmummy...that's a problem missing your food isn't it! I hate it...sometimes I just crave a jellytip, I'd kill for one almost. Can you get any Aussie stuff over there?

nmummy
06-03-2007, 16:46
oooh I have a whole box of jellytips in the freezer at the moment but they are my hubbys favorites no dont really get much auzzie food over here as such it just doesnt taste the same even cadburys tastes different better here in nz what do you think!!

KiwiMumma
08-04-2007, 15:53
Hello all-Just found this thread- so so stoked!Moved over to Brisbane about three weeks ago- had spent some time here in aussie prior with work but now here with my lovely husband and waiting on our first little bundle of gorgeous, pot banging, drag strip loving, Samonella dub dancing girl to be born.Maggi chicken soup! And fresh up!Need to check out the kiwi food store in Darralee the rumoured oasis of kiwi decadence- have no idea where it is yet but will.Living in Aussie but will always be a kiwi- right down to the tiki on the front porch and butterfly on the fence.Kai Pai!Erica.

ArnaNZ
05-06-2007, 20:57

I've just found this thread too! I've been on my OE for 7 years now... left home on my own, went to London, had a blast, met a beautiful Australian man, moved to Brisbane, married the man, had a sprog and have been here now almost 3 years! Really love it but miss home so much too. Planning on heading back (to Tauranga probably) when we both finish at uni in about 4 years time.

I miss the beach at Mt Maunganui, good meat pies, skiing in winter, milk bottle lollies and jelly tips!!!
I found a lolly shop at Stafford not long ago that stocks kiwi treats - I try very hard not to go there!!!

Hope all are well!!! :smiliedance:

tyler's mum
05-06-2007, 21:05
hey girls im not a kiwi.. but i do love kiwi men:laughing: so if anyone has a single brother send him my way:thumbsup: ...lol...

luckymama
06-06-2007, 07:11
OMG did you grow up in the Mt? I did, and went to Mount College, 1995-1999

I've just found this thread too! I've been on my OE for 7 years now... left home on my own, went to London, had a blast, met a beautiful Australian man, moved to Brisbane, married the man, had a sprog and have been here now almost 3 years! Really love it but miss home so much too. Planning on heading back (to Tauranga probably) when we both finish at uni in about 4 years time.

I miss the beach at Mt Maunganui, good meat pies, skiing in winter, milk bottle lollies and jelly tips!!!
I found a lolly shop at Stafford not long ago that stocks kiwi treats - I try very hard not to go there!!!

Hope all are well!!! :smiliedance:

natasha
06-06-2007, 09:56
Im in NZ...:wave: Auckland.:thumbsup: Moved here from Sydney a couple of months ago. I adore Auckland...I wanna stay here forever.:thumbsup:

Has anyone lived round Auckland before?

deb1234
06-06-2007, 10:03
hello there all you crazy kiwis!!

Natasha - i lived in akld for 8 years in the city, ellerslie & royal oak. i moved there for uni and married an aucklander...but have since managed to convince him to move to the gold coast :)

Empowered/Arna - i grew up in Tga, went to Otumoetai College 1994-1998. :D

Tyler's mum - no brothers sorry :laughing:

to everyone else talking about jellytips - can you get them here? anyone know a shop in brisbane/gold coast? :)

ArnaNZ
12-06-2007, 14:24

Empowered - I went to primary school in Te Puke then Otumoetai Intermediate in Tauranaga and then moved to Auckland for High School. I didn't live at the Mount but have plenty of friends who are still there!

I went to Otumoetai Intermediate in 1989/1990 so would have missed you Deb1234.

Such a beautiful part of the world. We're moving back to Tauranga when we finish Uni here in Brisbane in (hopefully) 4 or 5 years time. Very excited!

2inBlue
25-06-2007, 12:47
You guys are making me home sick :o I've been Living in Australia for 4 years this October and I haven't been back to NZ for over a year and a half. :fingerscrossed: We'll be able to visit sometime end of this year.

Hey natasha I grew up in Auckland, (on the north shore) lived there till I was 17 then did some traveling. It really is a beautiful city and I do miss it. Just not the insane prices when it comes to moving out of home. When I was younger never did I once believe I'd move over seas to live.

I can't complain though Australia is a beautiful country too and we have a great life here.