View Full Version : Dream Stash!!

MammaSoni
17-01-2007, 21:03

I am very new to cloth having just had my bub in them for a few days but I gotta tell you I am sooo addicted! I have even been dreaming about them!!

So far I have a Green Kids Anytime which has been great for the 4 times I have used it, 2 BBB's (bubba is sleeping in it for the first time with a wool cover tonight - man does his butt look cute!!) and an eenee which I am not so impressed about apart from the fact that you can use it until it is soiled before washing and I can use my terry flats in it if everything else is in the wash.

I really want to go cloth 100% of the time so my dilemma is, what do I buy to complete my stash???? I really like the idea of the one sized nappies coz I plan on having more (hopefully several) babies that I can use the nappies on until they are TT. After researching this site amongst others to the extent that my DH is getting concerned!! :laughing: I still haven't worked out what would be right for us. Any
suggestions would be greatly appreciated including how many I will need to complete my stash!

Zada
17-01-2007, 21:23
if ure planning to use for a few bubs bbh would be the best option i think:yes: I love them..Tried pockets didnt like them. Ive tried a heap lol. Maybe u could make some?

V8
17-01-2007, 21:44
I like the BBB they are great! I am glad i got about half a dozen right now so that should last me for a few more bubs, hopefully anyway! I like the fact they are once size fits all. I don't mind pocket nappies either, i find they dry fast and are quite easy to use. Most are pretty reasonably priced too i think. Just get a few samples of different nappies, see what you like and what you don't like. You can usually re-sell them for a pretty good price too. :thumbsup: Goodluck with it, i'm still working out my way to get cloth happening 100%, i've got about 21 nappies right now and slowly getting there. Not yet trialled a night nappy, mainly cause DS sleeps in our bed, so i don't wanna risk any accidents! lol

Zada
17-01-2007, 21:45
I like the BBB they are great! I am glad i got about half a dozen right now so that should last me for a few more bubs, hopefully anyway! I like the fact they are once size fits all. I don't mind pocket nappies either, i find they dry fast and are quite easy to use. Most are pretty reasonably priced too i think. Just get a few samples of different nappies, see what you like and what you don't like. You can usually re-sell them for a pretty good price too. :thumbsup: Goodluck with it, i'm still working out my way to get cloth happening 100%, i've got about 21 nappies right now and slowly getting there. Not yet trialled a night nappy, mainly cause DS sleeps in our bed, so i don't wanna risk any accidents! lol

21 gee ure doing good:D Be brave use a bbb/h with a soaker:yes:

CurlyG
17-01-2007, 21:54
I'm with Dani! Definately get most of your stash Baby Beehinds (BBH) :thumbsup: and then save a little extra $$ for the special show-off nappies and covers (I am soooooo in love with woolies atm!).

I've got pocket nappies and even though they're cute for show-off nappies I can barely be @rsed stuffing them. MUCH easier just snapping in the boosters with BBH as there's no fiddling to make sure the inserts are in the right place so it doesn't leak. IMO the only two good things about pockets are that they usually come in adorable prints and they dry fast. But fiiteds are my fave.

If you want fitteds that dry reasonably quickly, get the BBH hemp. But if you still want the level of absorption the BBH bamboo nappies give you, then remove the long hemp soaker and replace with a bamboo fold up (also from BBH).

AND if you want cheap BBH bamboos and bamboo fold ups go to A New Blessing. However, BBH do good package deals too in which you can get some covers.

I hope that's not too much info!!!! :o

CurlyG
17-01-2007, 21:59
One last thing - there are heaps of great things about BBH (bamboo ones in particular), but the three main good things are:

1. Snaps closure means toddlers won't be able to open their nappy and remove! DD is only 5 months and she can already undo velcro!

2. GREAT value! For $25 you get the outer shell, a long insert and a short insert! With most pocket nappies you have to buy the inserts which can cost anywhere from $5-$13+. Otherwise you're stuck using flannel and cotton which from my experience is nowhere near absorbent enough and is quite frankly annoying!
3. One size fits all! :smiliedance:

Ok, I'll shut up now! :D

CurlyG
17-01-2007, 22:01
:o Sorry, just wanted to agree with Dani!
We use a BBH bamboo with a bamboo foldup with a wooly soaker overnight. We've even done it with PUL wraps! and fleece wraps!
Be brave! :thumbsup:

*Country Bumpkin*
17-01-2007, 22:31
I personaly I would say BBH I got my first lot today and they are FAB.

OMG soooooo cute:D When I am old and incontinent I want them :laughing:

GK are good cause you dont have to buy covers for them- once you get them thats it for the whole time the child is in nappies.

I just spent $203 in 2 days and I have just brought about $70 worth of fabric to make my own:D So your right It is addictive

17-01-2007, 22:59
I prefer fitteds for so many reasons as have already been mentioned (wonderful Carly!)
But I do think you should try a few of each style as everyone has different preferences.
Bamboo and wool at night - perfect combo imo!

shed
17-01-2007, 23:12
We use mainly greenkids and ones that I made myself which are similar to greenkids, but lately I have had a few leaking issues, so I am starting to get annoyed with them.

Funtimes only, the Anytimes are great. I get sick of stuffing the pockets as well and I hate the new inserts.

The wool soakers are amazing. I need to knit a few more and that's what he will wear overnight from then on and I might order a couple of BBH.

I have a couple of Erica's which I quite like.

17-01-2007, 23:23
We use mainly greenkids and ones that I made myself which are similar to greenkids, but lately I have had a few leaking issues, so I am starting to get annoyed with them.

Funtimes only, the Anytimes are great. I get sick of stuffing the pockets as well and I hate the new inserts.

The wool soakers are amazing. I need to knit a few more and that's what he will wear overnight from then on and I might order a couple of BBH.

I have a couple of Erica's which I quite like.

You may be finding he is starting to wee more S as he is getting older etc so the Funtimes arent lasting as long. Like in my case with Boof because he is a fast wee'er lol the hemp cant soak it quick enough so we just use the microfibre inserts by themselves which is fine if he isnt sitting for too long say in a car seat. We get a good 3hrs outta the microfibre alone.
What dont you like about the new inserts ? Curious tis all ( plus you know who will take 'em if you dont want 'em anymore :p )

shed
17-01-2007, 23:28
Yeah we thought it might be because he was weeing more now that he's that little bit older.

Will try the microfibre tomorrow, thanks for the tip.

New inserts: they scrunch up at the ends and when I am stuffing them they have to be smoothed out or they stay in a ridge. It takes me a couple of goes to get it in right.

I have two, brand spankers, never even been washed. Can't remember what I paid for them but they are for sale if you want em.

The hemparoos stay smooth and the stuffing is so much quicker.

17-01-2007, 23:36
Yeah we thought it might be because he was weeing more now that he's that little bit older.

Will try the microfibre tomorrow, thanks for the tip.

New inserts: they scrunch up at the ends and when I am stuffing them they have to be smoothed out or they stay in a ridge. It takes me a couple of goes to get it in right.

I have two, brand spankers, never even been washed. Can't remember what I paid for them but they are for sale if you want em.

The hemparoos stay smooth and the stuffing is so much quicker.

Salivates !!!!! SOLD !!!!!!
Brand new means i will pay what you bought 'em for ! Just give me a week to get my act together lol ! Ive got major baby brain cant remember my PIN for my acct so am getting a new card *sigh*.
Hrmmmz ive never had hemparoos only inserts from BabyBloomers which the folding around the microfibre annoys me lol but seriously if they work best stick with them. Ive found when you fiddle too much etc it creates more problems especially if you have something that works.
Ok will PM you when i have money for payment ... Awesome ! Thanks hun !

CurlyG
17-01-2007, 23:53
I find the GK inserts SO irritating to put in too. I had to fiddle and re-fiddle! Needed a glass of wine between stuffing the Gks :D Hmmm, maybe that was the problem? :laughing:

Shed, what seize hemparoos do you use?

HoopDeeDoo
18-01-2007, 07:22
Not yet trialled a night nappy, mainly cause DS sleeps in our bed, so i don't wanna risk any accidents! lol

Gotta say I was scared to, but i've have less accidents using BBB with a soaker then sposies :thumbsup:

HoopDeeDoo
18-01-2007, 07:41
if I had been using cloth right from the start I would have got all BBB and BBH. I love my pockets that I have made myself with Malden Mills fleece though, but as far as I know you cant buy MM pockets ATM. Please correct me girls if I'm mistaken

MammaSoni
18-01-2007, 07:53
I had a major disaster last night with our BBB with a hemp soaker, microfibre liner and the wool cover. It wicked through to his clothes and also his growbag was wet and also it didn't contain his poo which got all over the wool cover. It was a seriously feral nappy change :barf: , DS wasn't impressed either and screamed through the whole thing.

I am not sure what I have done wrong, should I have got a larger wool cover (I did lanolize it before use) or is it because the nappy was new and perhaps not so absorbent yet? It has made me loose a bit of confidence about cloth for overnight.

Zada
18-01-2007, 07:55
i use bbh hemp with the small snap in , a fold up bamboo booster & liner with a wool soaker

shed
18-01-2007, 08:01
Carly, I use the green hemparoos. I think they are medium. I recently bought some hemp to make my own but its still sitting there...lol.

MammaSoni: sounds pretty offputting. Maybe a couple more washes.

beeware
18-01-2007, 09:11
You can get Maldon Mills pockets from Beetlebums at Ozebaby. Mel who runs it is really lovely & helpful and will do custom orders.
I have only started doing this modern cloth thing since Christmas- so far tried BBB overnight with extra bamboo booster and PUL cover (haven't lanolised the wool one yet- too lazy)
It worked beautifully but bubs is 3 and half months and not feeding at night so prob not a huge weeer yet!
I like all the different options and think its good to try them all out- I like the idea of AIOs for short trips out tho.
And this is my third & last baby - wish MCN existed before so I could justify my purchases more to DH!!

HoopDeeDoo
18-01-2007, 10:39
You can get Maldon Mills pockets from Beetlebums at Ozebaby.

Sorry forgot about them :thumbsup: , but I meant on a large scale like if you wanted like 20 or so IYKWIM

bluey
18-01-2007, 11:22
1. Snaps closure means toddlers won't be able to open their nappy and remove! DD is only 5 months and she can already undo velcro!

I love my BBB as well - but don't think snaps protect you from little fingers - they don't :laughing: bubs will eventually learn to undo anything

18-01-2007, 11:27
I love my BBB as well - but don't think snaps protect you from little fingers - they don't :laughing: bubs will eventually learn to undo anything

Oh yes they are crafty thats for sure !!!!!
My 2yr old thinks he is hilarious taking the snaps off :rolleyes:

HoopDeeDoo
18-01-2007, 12:05
the only nappies my 2 year old takes off are peapods, and they have snaps :yes: