View Full Version : Bought anything yet ?????

kazmac73
17-01-2007, 19:53
Just wondering if anyone has bought anything yet for when baby arrives. I know some of you already have children, however if you are a first timer like me - you need to start from scratch.

I personally have not bought anything yet. Waiting untill after week 12. Actually i tell a lie - i bought 1 maternity top from ebay for $3.00.

So what have you splurged on?:)

OJandMe
17-01-2007, 19:57
I haven't bought anything for Freckles yet. But my Mum has bought him/her a stuffed toy elephant, and my uni friends have already started collecting stuff along the lines of a theme they won't tell me..... :detective:

Crazy Monkey
17-01-2007, 20:00
This is bub#2 for me... I have not yet bought anything for this little one... Waiting until 12 weeks...

I want to buy a stroller because my pram will soon get too heavy and awkward to lift... Also need to clean out the spare room... All to be done after the 12 weeks scan and we know everything is OK...

OverTheMoon
18-01-2007, 09:18
We wanted to buy just one thing to make it more real, and my excuse was 'to make the baby feel welcome'! It was just an excuse to start the spare bedroom feeling like a nursery!

We bought a change table with the pull out bath. DH has been repainting an old chest of drawers and bedside table this week for the nursery, and my mum and SIL have bought a few little things like jumpsuits and socks etc.

I want to wait until after 12 weeks for anything else.

OJandMe
18-01-2007, 10:25
Well Freckles room is currently my office, so we're planning on waiting till about June to do anything. I have an old cot which my father bought second hand for my little brother 5 years ago,and while we could get a new one, this one is just gorgeous, It just needs to be restored... which we'll do in May so I can set up the room in June.

Apart from that I'll need to get a chest of drawers, a bookshelf and a little bedside table big enough for my laptop, so I can work on my thesis during night feeds.

I also really want to put a fishtank in Freckles room. Decorated with all black stoned and stuff... and then a few little pink or blue things once I know what we're having. Oh and a lamp.. which I also have, but want to strip back and restain the same colour as the cot.

hmm. now that I think about it.. that's a lot of work.. I might have to start earlier.

Kristy07
18-01-2007, 11:28
We couldnt wait another week! I'm 11 weeks now and I bought some Nappies on the weekend. Nothing big but just something (as Mel said) to make it feel a little more real.

My In laws have bought some baby blankets and jump suits and stuff but my parents refuse until 12 weeks is up just to be on the safe side! So me and mum are going shopping next Friday!

ETsMum
18-01-2007, 11:30
Nope - can't say I have bought anything for this bub yet. Unless I can count $151 for a scan :p
But DS is only 17 months so we have heaps already!! I think I'll have to get maternity stuff first (I have hardly any as I borrowed work mat clothes last time). I am sitting here with my shorts undone! :eek:

M O P
18-01-2007, 12:34
Just the other day I ordered a few small cloth nappies, most of the ones I have are "one size fits all" and might be a bit big to start with.

I also ordered 2 Monstar Mode wraps. I have 4 that Hugh uses and they are great, starting look very washed and a bit worn so got a couple of new ones for the baby. (I saw them on special)

Livy
18-01-2007, 12:45
I couldn't help myself and bought a couple of little suits, some socks, hats etc. I have told myself no more til after 12 week scan now - though I am trying to be completely positive.

We have already been given things from family too. I want to layby all the major stuff like pram, cot, car-seat etc. But will wait until we are 4 months or so to do that.

It's just too exciting not to buy stuff :yes:

starlight
18-01-2007, 12:51
My mother inlaw has brought a few things and we have been given a few things.

I have brought a few things for the nursery, we are doing a Noah's Ark theme as we are not finding out the sex so I bought a few noah ark things off ebay - a lamp, clock, sticker boarders and cot mobile and cot set.

My MIL has also started a noah ark woolen blanket as they take her ages to make.

It's baby week at target this week with really good discount so we may laybuy a pram tonight as they have steelcraft ones for about 30% off... well we are going to have a look.

Oh and I have brought curtain fabric for the nursery too.

hhmmm I bought more than I thought hee hee!!

Sandy
18-01-2007, 14:37
I haven't bought anything yet. Don't want to jinx myself, but my mum is itching too.

With DD I started buying maternity pads every food shop and breast pads and started to store them away. They expensive so I put them away bit by bit as you will need a few! I used all mine bar one packet of each and I kept them :thumbsup:

I sold my pram two days before finding out I was pregnant! I had a Valco so now I will buy an E3 - red but there is a nice lime green one out I heard.

I bought very little before DD was born as I don't like clutter. I'm a clean freak. But the day after she was born, I was on the phone to my mum saying I need a thousand face washers, wraps, nappies, singlets and bond suits! She raced off to Target for me and bought all the stuff that she had been hassling me about :o

I used disposables but in the hospital they have cloth. The little three point grip things I found easier to use than nappy pins (I sit here now with one on my work pants :o )

AngelGirl
19-01-2007, 07:31
I gave DH a little pressie on Christmas Day which was a bib that said "I Love my Daddy". That's all so far!

Xavier's Mum
19-01-2007, 12:34
I haven't bought anything yet - I have so much stuff from DS I would struggle to justify buying any clothes for a boy - I am desperately hoping this is a Girl then I can go shopping - I'll have to wait until around Mid March to find out - in the meantime it will be New Born Nappies....

OverTheMoon
19-01-2007, 15:13
Oh dear, i succumbed and bought more stuff today! My mum bought a Pooh mobile, we got some jumpsuits and some rug/wraps. Ooh, also got a cot sheet set. My newest excuse is that i want to space my purchases so we aren't up for it all in one big hit! I'm naughty!

AND, i saw this new glider rocker chair at Target that i've decided i HAVE to have - it is more like an armchair than their previous rocker, and comes with an ottoman. Hmmm... might have to layby that one!

Kirst
20-01-2007, 22:41
I haven't bought anything yet - I have so much stuff from DS I would struggle to justify buying any clothes for a boy - I am desperately hoping this is a Girl then I can go shopping - I'll have to wait until around Mid March to find out - in the meantime it will be New Born Nappies....

Isn't that funny. I am hoping for another girl so that I don't have to go shopping for more clothes. There are so many 000s packed away that have barely been worn, that I want to get some use out of them

I'll make a deal with you Kimberley, if you have a girl, and I have a boy, we'll just swap clothes.....we'll be in the same hospital at the same time, and live a couple of suburbs away. It'll be easy. :laughing: :laughing:

pregomum
21-01-2007, 07:47
I couldn't help myself I went to targets sale and layby'd nearly everything I need, I'm so excited I couldn't wait and I thought doing things like this and thinking positive was a good thing.
I'm going to be so bored for the rest of the pregnancy though cause there's not much left to get, until I find out if it's a DD or DS then I'll be buying clothes.

Livy
21-01-2007, 10:00
I have to confess that I bought some more stuff at the Target sale on the weekend too - mostly cos my Mum came with me .... we got some more little suits, singlets, blankets etc and a bassinett sheet set. I also think it's good to think positive. Plus the 12 weeks thing doesn't mean all that much to me anymore ...... have had some good friends m/c at 16 weeks and 20 weeks. So I am not going over-board but I am going to get excited and stay positive.

neostudded
27-02-2007, 23:12
I didnt buy anything for mine till 12 weeks!

I was given a bath seat, change mat, nappy bag, toys, all the clothes ill need for a year, many cotton blanket's, a sling and heaps more free off my family 2nd hand..

I got the cot at 13 weeks it's a wooden cot 2nd hand, my step dad sanded it down and we repolished it! its a whinnie the pooh one it's retail price was 500 dollars i payed 50 but now it looks new.

The baby is 18 weeks and i got 600 dollar wooden draws from amart for 400 on sale, they are proper sturdy wooden one's.while grocery shopping i alway's spend at least 10 dollars on baby products, normaly wipes and lotions.last week iga brand wipes were on sale so we got heaps and heaps, there wipes are nice and soft, but huggies are the best.Next time huggies boxed nappies are 30 dollars a box we are getting 4 boxes.

iam getting my fisher price baby swing off layby in two weeks it was 300 dollars but i laybyed it on sale and only have to pay 150.Mine plug's into the wall no batteries for us!we bought some baby music cd's on sale too.

iam on the look out for cheap stuff and sales at the moment..I contacted all the popular baby product's website and requested samples..i got so many replys!!! i even got free baby spoons and a little container..wipe's, bibs, little lotion's in mini bottles, breast pads, nappy rash creams, a few nappies.

shorty_851
28-02-2007, 06:29
My goodness we had people buying us stuff as soon as we knew.

We have everything all i want now is more clothes.

Jason and i put little things in every week when we go shopping like nappies and lotions. I firgured i may as well get as much of it now as i can so i don't really have to worry when Lucky is here.

I have nappies in every size. Im use disposibles.

The only thing we dont put in is baby food and we will get all the formula later in the pg.

deb1234
28-02-2007, 08:04
still nothing for me!! we literally don't have anything for the baby. we are thinking of buying the pram in the next couple of weeks though. and next friday we find out the sex so i'm sure i won't be able to resist buying some clothes in blue or pink :)

trendy1
28-02-2007, 16:39

Well this is # 2 for us but today I ordered a Maclaren stroller as I wanted a good stroller as I have a 3 wheeler but it isn't always practical!! And on the weekend I lay-byed some more sheets for the cot and a couple of other little things (a couple of different brands of dummies just in case and a pram toy thingy). I have most of the bigger stuff so all I need now is a nappy bag and to decorate the nursery which won't be until late June probably as the room is currently our spare room full of **** so gotta find a new home for it all including the computer.

kazmac73
03-03-2007, 14:03
Wow guys, thats good that you are getting some stuff and taking advantage of sales etc.

I bought 2 boxes of nappies on sale, jumpsuits, socks, singlets, some bath products and Nappy-San on sale.... LOL!!
My mother is coming down to my house at easter and insists on buying me a pram. So i guesss i will be going pram hunting very soon.

Some friends are throwing in to buy a baby monitor and my sister will be giving me some of her old stuff.

I was waiting untill after the 1st trimnester, but now i am a little hesitant untill i have the 18-20 week scan.

Enjoy further shopping and bargain hunting ladies.

Livy
03-03-2007, 21:38
Well I just can't help myself :p

I have just put on layby all the main things we need - bassinet, change table, car seat, cot, mattress & pram. I swore I was going to wait but I am just getting too excited and plus I saved around $400 buying when I did and I can pay it off and be organised while I am still working.

Naughty me :shame: