View Full Version : Help, I Want To Know How To Bring On My Labour

chook
26-01-2005, 09:22
I am in need of help, I want to bring on my labour but nothing is working. I have tried CASTER OIL - 4 times now as it brought my first one on, i got pains and her head come down and it made me sit on the toilet...
SEX - i only got pains and that was it.
WALKING - only hurts
SHOPPING - nothing.

Please help... I want to have my baby either today or tomorrow!

jaycobntyler
26-01-2005, 21:42
well other than the things that you have mentioned I cant really think of anything else that might work.
I tried Raspberry leaf tea but it only made me sick.
try getting down on all fours and scrubbing the floor I have since heard that it helps something about pressure on the cervix or something like that!!
Good luck I hope it works for you!!!!!!

emmaandhayleysmum
27-01-2005, 08:49
Hello Chook,

I'm hoping for your sake this message is too late already!!! If not is there anyone around with a newborn baby that you can go and have a nurse of. Honestly it works a treat! My friend came round when I bought my DD home, and she had a nurse of her, that evening her waters broke, and her labour started one week early, so she was rapt! Just an idea, hope this helps. Another one is nipple stimulation I've heard. Anything is worth a try!! Good luck! Hope everything goes well.

Anna :)

redbaby
28-01-2005, 07:00
Bummer about Castor Oil,. I took it once and my baby was born 3 hours later!

nickosmoo
28-01-2005, 12:24
Book yourself in for an induction - I went into labour naturally the night before I was due to be induced - must be something psychological as I've heard a few stories about this happening.

Someone told me to do handstands in a pool :confused: to bring it on and I have heard that for some acupuncture works ! Good luck :D

cleighsa
28-01-2005, 15:08
yeh induction worked for me!! went to doc thurs and booked in for induction fri 8am, my waters broke at 430am. bub born 230pm!! :D

chook
16-02-2005, 08:21
Hi.
I am still pregnant and only have 11 days to go, but they wont induce me until the 14th of March! That's ages away. I had a show about 12 days ago, but still nothing has happened....

I am going to try caster oil again tonight as i think with my first one, i had already had the show...

With Raspberry leaf tea i tried that and it made me throw up the next morning, and i also tried walking, riding in a truck on a bumpy (very) road, cleaning and nursing a new born baby as every one around me is having there's and i am still waiting.

I am hugh and just need her out!

Mumoffour
16-02-2005, 13:18
according to new research castor oil really isnt good as it can have the same effect on bub as it does on you. meconium (bubs first poo) really doesnt go well in the amniotic fluid. Accupuncture is recommended by the midwives at the birth centre. I found tandoori chicken worked (spicy) with my second as I was to be induced the next day. Is your due date up yet? Its wierd that they wont induce u till march as that is more than 2 weeks away and the placenta gets tired after 42 weeks. Hope this helps

JodieG
16-02-2005, 18:02
I recently gave birth to my child and being due on Christmas Day by New Years Eve I was desperate!
Had tried everything.. castor oil, sex, hot baths, bumpy rides in the ute but all to no avail.
My partner cooked dinner on New Years Eve - a spicy Thai Curry (no red hot would be a better description... after eating it I went into labour that night.
Looking back now I don't know what hurt more - my burning tongue and lips or the labour process!
But it certainly worked for me and may work for you too.

GOOD LUCK ;)

nickosmoo
16-02-2005, 20:22
Hi Chook

Try to hand in there - the last weeks are the slowest to pass in th whole pregnancy but your bub will come when it's ready to make a move I guess.

Good Luck :)

RuthK
23-02-2005, 12:55
Both times I felt the same way as you and both times one thing worked for me, and it's very hard.

Relax

your body is not going to go into labour whilst you are tense and anxious. As soon as I allowed myself a day to relax and not think about going into labour, it happened the next day!

ecomummy
02-03-2005, 01:00
I think bub is going to come when he or she is ready!

But, if you are desperate and are sure it's in the best interests of you and bub to start labour, have you heard of doing a cervical sweep? Sometimes doctors or midwives will do this, but you can do it yourself at home if you're quite comfortable with getting to know your body more intimately. It usually works within hours.

yummmmy_mummy
04-03-2005, 13:24
i didnt realise there were so many different ways to induce labour

i was 7 days over when i gave birth and going insane as i had wanted her since 35 weeks so after trying everything i had sex with my husband it was very painful and by 3am the next morning i was in labour.

i would also like to advise u not to take castor oil as my daughter passed meconium in the waters and swollowed some and became very sick and had to be put in special care it was horrible

i think that the only thing really to do is try all the things that are safe again and see how u go

please let me know when u have ur baby

Jamie'sMum
05-03-2005, 21:06

Another suggestion as an alternative to spicy food is LICORICE I ate heaps of it as suggested by my midwife and it worked. What it does is get your bowels moving and all the bearing down helps to encourage the baby to come. It might not necessarily work for you- but it is worth giving it a shot.

Jamie's Mum

alicesmum
06-03-2005, 20:55
i tried everything too, to no avail. i wanted my DD to come early so my husband could be here for the birth (he was to be in townsville for 7 days starting from the day before my due date!!! we just couldn't get out of this particular trip!). Soooo... at 9 mths pregnancy i was swinging on swings in the local park (that's gotta look funny for passers-by), eating curry, raspberry leaf tea, sex, walking, licorice. Nothing happened! Anyway, Murphy's law, I didn't go into labour until he was away (2 days overdue) and luckily he was able to fly down, be at the birth and go back up later. BUT...I think the stress of wanting so badly to go into labout and worrying if he would make it back made my labour very long (30 hours of early labour, 6 hours of active)

Anyways.....a friend just had her 2nd baby 1 day early (her first was 10 days over) by eating bucket loads of fresh pineapple!! Who knows if it really made any difference, but she reckons it ripens the cervix. (Can't hurt I guess!!

:p

MUMVIC
08-03-2005, 11:29
Chook If Your Still Hanging In There And Can Handle The Taste Go To You Local Health Food Shop And Get A Herbal Extract Called Blue Cohosh, The American Indians Used It Along Time Ago To Bring On Labour Unfortunately It Tastes Terrible It Actually Made Me Throw Up A Couple Of Times When I Drank It But The Best Thing Is Its Natural And If It Doesn't Work It Really Won't Hurt You Or Your Baby

Michele Crocker
08-03-2005, 18:51

Try eating spicy food. I hear that can send you into labour. I remember with one of my kids I had ice cream and a couple of hours I was in labour. I hope it is not long now.

Michele
Mother of Christopher, Luke, Melissa, Jayden and ?(due in November)

ingulita
12-03-2005, 12:27
Hi, this is unbelievable, why no one in hospital told me that I could do so many things to bring on labour? :)

My due date is today, but for last one week I've been very impatient, I think, in general, I'm an a reasonable person but I can't stop thinking how much I want to get over it and get him out :) So it's great to see that so many other ladies felt the same!

I'm going to print this thread out to follow all suggestions, starting with sex :)

Good luck to all!

dominique
20-04-2005, 05:23
ladys are saying that casteroil brings labour on, are they tablets or do u drink casteroil.

just woundering if cod liver oil brings on labour.

thank you hope u can help me.

Nan
20-04-2005, 13:07
Hi Dominique.
If you are looking for something to bring on your labour, unfortuantely Cod Liver Oil won't do it for you. It is something that assists normal growth, development & reproduction, however in the capsule/tablet form too much of it may cause birth defects. My doctor told me to take it pre-pregnancy because I needed more Vitamin D (found in Cod Liver Oil), but when he found out I was pregnant he said to only have it every few days as it also contains high amounts of Vitamin A (Retinol) which is harmful to developing babies in high amounts. (Retinol is also the reason we shouldn't eat liver during pregnancy - not that I'm a big fan!!) So, small amounts will help your baby, but won't bring labour on.
With the castor oil thing, I agree with what 'Yummy Mummy' wrote. It isn't fatal, but it also is not recommended as it can cause difficulties after birth.
I TOTALLY agree with the comment that nipple stimulation might help. The hormone that is responsible for milk let down (Oxytocin) is the same hormone that induces labour - so go for it! It might work. Hope this helps.
Love,
Nan. xx

lostmum
20-04-2005, 15:45
hey , i was in ur position and wanted to bring my labour on, my sister told me how she used an exercise ball and it brought on her labour. So out i ran and bought an exercise ball. The first nite i sat on it and bounced till my little heart was content which being only about 30 minutes (im lazy lol). I went to sleep and woke 3 hrs later with contractions and 8 hrs later my little angel was born. coincidence(not so good at spelling ) or not im not sure, but it is worth a try :) my sister said she used hers for 2 days and it worked. Its a alot safer and healthier then some suggestions so maybe worth a shot :). good luck and let us know how u go