View Full Version : August 2006 Mums n' Bubs #5

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

missie_mack
17-01-2007, 10:21
hey does anyone remember that genuine song- pony??
.. I can remember when it came out in 1996:laughing:

:eek: Now I feel old... you were like 8 or 9 Adele and Mumstar danced to it at blue light disco's!
:eek:

BTW It might've been late 1996 or early 1997

*Country Bumpkin*
17-01-2007, 10:24
no no definatly 1996.... i have the film clip on as we speak it has - Epic/Sony 1996 on it :D

And yes I was only 8:D

mum_I'm_hungry
17-01-2007, 10:56
Hey Brissies! Have booked the cafe for Fri 10am :thumbsup:. Can't wait to have my contraction-free carrot cake :laughing:.

Fairyfloss
17-01-2007, 10:56
HI there Ladies
just a quick note, to say Thank you for your kind words:hugs:

Cathy: I can't make it on Friday. MIL/SIL were suppose to come from overseas on Thursday but now it has changed and they are coming on Friday, and will be at our house for lunch . Sorry for the late notice. I just found out.
I can't believe my 50 days of MIL freedom are up:banghead:. oh well.

Got to go have a job interview tomorrow, lots of reading to do :cool:

Take care everey one:hugs:

*Country Bumpkin*
17-01-2007, 11:09
Help

I have another migraine... I had one last night and Im getting another one now. There is noone out here who can look after skyla so now what am I supposed to do?:crying:

It hurrrrrrrrrrts:crying:

mumstar
17-01-2007, 11:35
my house is messy and i have no motivation to clean it :( my mum is coming over in a minute so better hop to some of it!

Beany
17-01-2007, 12:29
beany - what are you doing prematurely ageing our babies!!! Baden is so NOT 6mths...because my son is 4mths and i wont hear otherwise :laughing: and do tell, what got u so worked up on another thread?

Right then, he's not 6 months.

You do realise that's just given me another excuse to not feed Asher until an even later date than I had planned ... er ... feed him solids I mean. I don't just not feed him, honest! Don't call DOCS!

What got me worked up in that other thread was a "lovely person" who thought that stay at home mums had a wonderful relaxing job and who didn't see any reason why "men" like him should help with the housework.

[the words in quotation marks are not the words I want to use. Feel free to substitute them for other words. Words that, in some cases, rhyme with "duckwit"]

In other news, Asher is doing some primal marking of territory thing. he's insisting on being carried everywhere, leaning towards everything and giving it all a thorough drooling before dropping it on the floor like a piece of trash. He's currently sucking on my glasses' case. The keyboard is soggy ... well, at least it got some of the dust off!

Its hot. not as hot as in the rest of Australia but still hot. I think I'll go nakedify him and let him air out a bit.

wattle
17-01-2007, 13:05
Beany I'm not planning on feeding Stephanie real food for ages yet. She has an appointment with the allergy guy on 27th February, so I'm waiting until then at least. So unless she reaches out and grabs the dinner off my plate she'll just have to wait! So while everyone else is busy with stinkier nappies, thousands of dirty bibs and piles of uneaten mashed pumpkin we can quietly enjoy our little milk munchers.

Sad news.... Max has tonsilitis. He has been so sick so I took him to the doctors. :thumbsdown: At least we know what it is now.

Better clean up MIL is coming over soon. *sigh*. At least I'm not the only one whos unmotivated today. hehe.

Beany
17-01-2007, 13:43
Oh poor Max! What a terrible thing to have just after his birthday! Poor little mite not even getting to enjoy all his pressies :(

Is he on a course of antibiotics or is it worse than that? I hope he feels better soon.

My apartment is a mess, too. Decluttering always messes things up. What I really need is another bookshelf in here. Unfortunately, there is no room. I should find us a bigger place, one with a spare room. That I can turn into a library! That's one of my dreams ... just to have a big room lined with floor to ceiling bookshelves, with a couple of comfortable armchairs and maybe a small desk.

*sigh* just sitting here thinking about it is making me smile wistfully.

Maybe in a few years.

lottiesmum
17-01-2007, 13:44
did someone mention unmotivated??? having said that i have just completed b'day and christmas ('07:eek: ) pressies for most of my nearest & dearest with Peters online!! never done this before...ill probably forget about this stash and end up buying pressies twice! but surely i deserve a lazy afternoon. was going to take the kids to the park but a thunderstorm has hit. cockatoos are going bananas. so here i sit...

wattle - your poor little man. hope he gets better soon.

beany - no doubt you put that "lovely person" straight . i didnt think guys like that still existed...:barf:

toddler calls...so make that a lazy 5 minutes...:rolleyes:

*Country Bumpkin*
17-01-2007, 14:23
woops- I just started a new thread cause our old one was closed and when i had finished this one was here:detective:

oh well ignore the other one lol

cheekypossum
17-01-2007, 15:26

Wattle - Yeek...about the spider....:hugs: to poor Max...hope he feels better real soon

Adele - GL with the drums

S_J - Yay for Jasper sitting up

Beany - Yes I think you have us all intrigued about that thread...will have to have a sticky

Shed - GL with the diet...the food sounds so Yummy

Rach - glad to hear you enjoyed ur coffee

mumstar - Love the pictures

missie_mack - loved ur my space

noosamum - a big party ain't a party without Karaoke....Themes are always fun...ummmm not very imaginitive sorry

alliJB - thanks for the info about the steriliser....what a waste of money then hee hee. Before I had Chloe we went out and bought the bottles, sterilizer etc...and I have exclusively BF and never used the darn thing. Actually I have started Sterilzing my Breast pump as I have been expressing before I go to bed at night to stack up for when I start solids

Raffee - glad to hear u have ur family back

Jessi - how cute that El is squeeling

lottiesmum - Christmas ALREADY???? :eek:

Us - Thanks for answering my questions ladies....especially about AF...I am not complaining was just starting to worry me a little.

Solids...well I have been counting Chloe by the weeks not the dates...that is how the clinic have been doing it.....she will be 6 months this Sunday even though by date it is not until 6th February. I have been counting it like this for her needles etc so thought I should do that for the solids. I have been so excited get her on the solids but now that the time has come I don't want to do it..........my little girl is growing up...I enjoy BF so much:crying:

Anyway, off to do nothing

Ciao

cheekypossum
17-01-2007, 15:39
Hey, I attached my MYSPACE link..too ( I am a copy cat MM :laughing: )

I have more pics to add...once I get my broadband back I will do it and let u all know

Bye

mumstar
17-01-2007, 19:21
The thread moved and i couldnt find it :o lol i thought it was quiet in the other thread! Anyways finally got my butt into gear and cleaned my house... it feels so much better to have it done!!!

Wattle: Sorry max is so sick i get tonsilitis all the time(they still wont take them out)... can he gargle yet??? if he can a really good throat gargle is difflam C...

I think I'll go nakedify him and let him air out a bit.
:laughing: thats a great way off putting it!
:wave: :hugs: to everyone else!!!

missie_mack
17-01-2007, 19:40
I second the difflam c rap. It numbs everything even your tongue if you leave it in your mouth too long!!

Anyhow just re subscribing to the new thread. I see Ive taken the gold medal from S_J of going first.

Im enjoying checking out everyone elses myspace.... I was told by a 16 year old today "Everyone whose anything has myspace..." lol

:wave: To everyone

wattle
17-01-2007, 20:08
Thanks everyone for your thoughts. Max's fever has eased and he even managed a few smiles this afternoon. I was just thinking how blessed I am to have 2 happy and (almost) healthy kids. I have some friends who have been trying for years now and my heart goes out to them. Aren't we so lucky to have these little miracles in our lives.

Did anyone watch Australian Princess tonight - yep, I love it. hehe. Who do you think is going to win? It's mindless stuff, but that suits me fine at the end of the day if I get a few spare moments. :)

Well done MissieMack - gold medal goes to you :yelclap:

amandaw
17-01-2007, 20:51
Nope I missed it Wattle.....DH was glued to the Tennis, so I thought I'd jump on and catch up on the goings on...who got booted tonight??

Tash - no AF this way either (but have also been exclusively breastfeeding). Also, other people answered the steralising one (I still do, but then again what's on her hands would be worse than dishes once they are washed!) but in terms of sensitive clothes wash, I stopped washing Charlotte's stuff in the Amolin after we used up the first bottle.....was too lazy to buy more, and my SA8 is phosporous etc free so didn't think it would be too bad - she's had no reactions, and I don't have to thaink about what I'm actually washing

It must be the 'age' for distracted feeding...I thought Charlotte was just being antsy with us being away so much recently, but maybe thats it...the milk fountains not fun though (or doing the quick cover up while we've been away....I wasn't worried about my friend or the 2 or 4 year old, but her poor husband (again another mate from school who I've know for 15 years, but there's some parts no one else should see!)

Lottiesmum...what is WBJ?

Hey Noosa…do you like the water (sounds like a stupid question considering where you live!) When my Dad turned 50 a few years ago (he's a bit of a sailing buff) Mum chartered a yacht 'Solo' for a suprise birthday event and it was fabulous. It left from the Manly boat harbour (so Brisbane based...maybe not so convenient for you, but there might be other options) at 8.00am sailed out to Tangalooma where we went snorkeling round the wreck, swimming, water and sand tobogganing, they provided MT, lunch, AT and drinks, and then we got back about 5.00. We saw turtles and dolphins on the way in and out and it was FANTASTIC!!! I think it carried about 40 people, and chartering was about the same price as having 25 people along and meant that we didn't have to share.......was certainly one to remember....hope somone does that for me one day!)

(Actually was even better, because we managed to keep it a suprise from him...he thought he had it all figured out as we had a simple party the night before and 'suprised' him with a few long distance mates travelling in, but he didn't know that was just a cover up....we aso all chipped in to buy him one of the ultra flat Longines watches...but instead of making it simple, I wrapped up a candy filled spiderman one in the Longines box...he got so excited only to have us all giggling at him...the real one didn't follow far behind though :)

YEAH for Brissie meet being booked :smiliedance:

Us - we had a fabulous time up the coast. Weather was great, fabulous friends to go away with (though it's like looking in a crystal ball and thinking that'll be us in a few years as they have a nearly 4 and nearly 2 year old...very cute but can be a handful when they're grumpy!). Charlotte loved the pool (we found one of those seats like you had Noosa which just gave her a little bit of independence) and she had her first beach outing too....wasn't as sure about the surf, but I think she was getting a little hungry by that stage. Charlotte has been in a wonderful mood - hope it lasts!!!

*munchkin*
17-01-2007, 20:57
I'll confess...I watched Australian Princess tonight. It makes me laugh! The pig farmer was the best, but Kylie Booby is pretty funny too. How *****y is Paul Burrell! I think Kylie might win it. How embarassing that I know so much about it.

Well, going back to work is becoming a scary reality for me now. I find out next week if I get a job at a graphic design agency I used to work at. It would be 5 days a week, but 8.30 - 3pm. I also got offered a family day care place today. I go and meet with the lady tomorrow. When I found out, I said "That's great", then got off the phone and cried. I don't want to leave Em with someone else. Specially now, when every single time I look at her, she smiles a huge big smile at me. :crying: She really KNOWS me now...I'm her mummy.

Anyway...there's another possiblity of a job share position in marketing for a big company, so that would be a five day fortnight. Now I'm in a real muddle as to what I should do. I can JUST survive until August if I don't work. Or I can work and have some extra money for emergencies etc. :confused: :crying:

*munchkin*
17-01-2007, 21:28
Oh...and here's some pics. Note: Pics of Em and I taken on Chrissie Day and Boxing Day when we'd both been awake most of the night! :cool:

http://s147.photobucket.com/albums/r290/munchkin_moo/Emily%20B/?action=view&current=1169033148.pbw

shed
17-01-2007, 21:48
munchkin, you gorgeous thang, you look so young.

Boy its hot. I have had the air con on but sometimes I like to swelter just for the hell of it. Reminds me that I live in Australia (strange kiwi!).

I forgot to tell you guys that I read in my book that its normal for babies to get a bit distracted at around five months. It shows that they are securely attached, so its a good sign even if it means the world catches the occasional glimpse of a nipple. "Mum is always going to be there but the world is just so interesting so she'll still be there in a minute".

My kool aiding project was a smash hit. I am just knitting it up now. DP had to help me wind the wool, he sat there with it while I wound it into a ball. We looked like Ma and Pa Kettle. We live such a fast paced life I tell ya!!

Lite n Easy today was fantastic. I had shepherds pie for lunch with a bread roll and an orange, and for dinner I had crumbed fish fillet with veges and wedges. I wish I had tried it years ago!! I can't help myself though, I have to torment DP a bit "ooh look babe, I've got wedges!!" LOL.

I watch Australian Princess every week. I don't have a favourite, I think they are all slappers. I can't stop myself saying "don't they know they're not REALLY going to be a princess?" every week, when I see them being humiliated by that awful awful Paul and that "dreadful" Jean. They remind me of how the family I nannied for made me feel when I was in England. Like a second class colonial savage. I lasted one week and four days. I can't stand the toffy class of pom. I like just the normal garden variety ones...:wave: you know who you are.

*munchkin*
17-01-2007, 22:48
Aaah yes, the "dreadful" Jean...."Fan-taaaastic"!!

Well, I had a big think tonight, about my finances, and about EMily and going back to work. I also had a big chat to my parents about it, and have decided to try to wait until August. I may have to sell some stuff to do it, but it is worth it (anyone want to make an offer...kidneys going cheap??!). I will sleep alot better tonight.

shed
17-01-2007, 22:58
I'll have a pelvis if you're thinking of selling :yes: . Mine got dislocated during pregnancy but its allright now, but I am worried about next time.

*munchkin*
17-01-2007, 23:07
Sure! You can have it for $100. It's not worth much more, cause it didn't seem to work when I tried to give birth! Either that, or Em just couldn't be bothered moving (After 12 hours labour I had an emergency caesar).

shed
17-01-2007, 23:32
Okay, I'll give it a go. But if I have to have a caesar then i want my hundred bucks back :D

Beany
17-01-2007, 23:42
Oh that's just unfair! You don't look old at all! Where's the horn-rimmed glasses? And the blue rinse? And what's with the lack of zimmerframe?!

Honestly, old people these days ... tch tch

My garden variety pomminess can't stand that Paul Dianasbutler so I don't watch Australian Princess. I did turn over briefly to see them going into a tizzy about being required to eat oysters or something. Fair enough. It's like eating whale snot. And that's meant to be an aphrodisiac? I guess from that point on, the night can only get better.

The next time I turned over, some poor cow had got stinging nettle on her leg and that guy just sat there reading a book :eek: I'd have taken the nettle and whacked him across the back of the neck. Nettles HURT!

All this pelvis talk reminds me that Asher's did something dodgy on his way out of me. I can't lie on my back for any extended length of time and my left hip hurts if I lie on that side. I need to see someone about all this.

Oh and you know how Asher doesn't poo more than once a week? He had a poo yesterday. Another this morning. Another this afternoon. And another this evening. He looks positively skinny now!

wattle
18-01-2007, 06:02
Beany - have you thought about seeing a chiro? I found a wonderful one who specialises in bubs and pregnant women and it made such a difference. I had shocking pelvic instability during my first pregnancy, but he straightened me out with a couple of sessions and felt great since then. Apparantly it's not uncommon to need some realignment after giving birth, our backs and hips are under such pressure! The one I saw was a Gonstead Chiro - apparantly they do more training than the regular type, which was fine by me as I was a bit nervous about having anyone crunch my bones. It turned out to be a great decision though.

munchkin - beautiful pics. I can't spot the zimmerframe either. :laughing:

Shed (everyone else please close your eyes) - I was perusing the clothies thread and am interested in the sewing pattern. I bought a cheapie cloth nappy at kmart just to try, and although it's a bit...er......um....well you know, I like the idea and thought I might try a pocket nappy on Steph. It's all rather overwhelming though as I have no idea about it all.:confused:

MountainGirl
18-01-2007, 07:37
I luurrrvve Australian Princess,...but "Hello,....ladies (and I use that term loosely),...HE WAS THE BUTLER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He should be making cups of tea for YOU!!!!!!!" I think the whole thing is veery funny,.....but I drive Mike mad by going on about how common they all are!!!!

*Country Bumpkin*
18-01-2007, 09:02
Shed (everyone else please close your eyes) - I was perusing the clothies thread and am interested in the sewing pattern. I bought a cheapie cloth nappy at kmart just to try, and although it's a bit...er......um....well you know, I like the idea and thought I might try a pocket nappy on Steph. It's all rather overwhelming though as I have no idea about it all.:confused:

:smiliedance: WOOOOO HOOOOO we have another convert in our clutches!!!

What do you want to know- i just brought a heap of fabric to make my own pockets and fitted nappies. Ask away!!!!:D

Beany
18-01-2007, 09:08
No no no, not "common" ... "vulgar".

"Common" just makes you sounds so ... well .. vulgar! :p

And yes, that's what gets me about that guy. He's a commoner with delusions of grandeur because he got to make tea for a dead lady. One that he STOLE from! The nerve of the man!

mumstar
18-01-2007, 09:14
OMG how have i survived! i havent been able to get onto bubhub for like 24 hours... computers fault not mine :( I missed u all!!!
We have troys grandads funeral today... will see how im feeling later... sigh... and my kittens are old enough to leave there mum now and one got picked up last night... effected me more than i thought...

good on you wattle for converting to clothies... i tries them for a while with aiden but he got nappy rash a lot even in disposables so they didnt really suit us... plus i think i would be too lazy too do all the work that comes with just to save a couple of bucks... thats just me though!!!

Im lucky and only get to watch telly every now and then so i dont really get sucked into the reality tv thing!! but give me my foxtel shows anytime... love my way and dangerous rock!

anyway enough blabbering from me... keep well all
xoxoxoxox

Beany
18-01-2007, 10:43
My sympathies to both you and Troy, Tegan :hugs:

I hope today goes smoothly.

shed
18-01-2007, 10:53
wattle, you need to come into the clothie threads. I won't hijack this lovely thread with my rantings lol!!

PM me your address and I will send you the pattern and forward the instructions that Tea Lady sent to me way back when.

jessi
18-01-2007, 11:18
Tegs, I hope everything goes smoothly. Its amazing how many 'grandparents' have passed in the last few months!

Im heading down to the water soon. Gonna take El for her first swim in the ocean. Well... probably not swim... more like wade in the ocean. I will sit with her so that we can just get the water lapping over our legs.
Its just so bloomin' hot. LOL, I need to get back into the water. I mentioned to Nat this morning that Im going to start going swimming on the weekends, while he watches El.

Anyways... Im out. Cya ladies.

missie_mack
18-01-2007, 11:28
And yes, that's what gets me about that guy. He's a commoner with delusions of grandeur because he got to make tea for a dead lady. One that he STOLE from! The nerve of the man!

Thats what I say everytime I watch it too. Who is he to carry on like that he is just the butler!! I was really disappointed when the one with glasses left I really thought she was going somewhere and I think the one they keep going on looks like princess diana is only there cause of that lol. It all sounded so catty last night I checked out the website (their diary entries) and things arent as they are made out to be suprise suprise. Oh and when they pay out what they wear- they all have stylist who dress them, do their hair and tell them what to do everyday. Its just such a croc. That Kylie Booby drives me bonkers she has to only be there to make it more interesting.... never been into reality TV but cant stop watching this one maybe cause theres nothing else on...

Beany
18-01-2007, 11:37
Is that really her name? Booby? :laughing:

*Country Bumpkin*
18-01-2007, 11:45
Is that really her name? Booby? :laughing:

:yes: Sad but true... Its her sir name. Kylie Booby:laughing:

*Country Bumpkin*
18-01-2007, 11:48
Shed- If I PM you my details would u mind sending me a copy of the pattern-

PUUUULEEEEEEASE:D

wattle
18-01-2007, 12:36
Thanks Adele. Any help is welcome - it's all rather bamboozling at the start. BTW - what is PUL??? I gather it's some type of material.:confused:

I'll go and read more in the clothies thread too when I get a minute, that may help me more.

MIL is a dressmaker, so she'd probably be more than happy to zip some up on the machine. Or else I could try...my sewing is really basic (I even stuffed up a doona cover I was sewing last week :laughing: ) so it would be a challenge!

Tonsilitis = horrible. Poor Max is a bundle of sads today. :(

*Country Bumpkin*
18-01-2007, 13:00
Wattle- No probs

PUL stands for Poly Utheranine Lining(sp?) its a waterproof yet breathable material whic you use to make pocket nappies and covers. You can only buy it online- PM me if you want the site addys(not alowed to post them here)

I posted as link to a nappy making "diary" yesterday have a look...

http://mayna.livejournal.com/198548.html

exclent page- it is realy basic and shows you how to make a nappy with pics......

lottiesmum
18-01-2007, 14:55
:yelclap: hmmmm...as much as i''d like to in theory, i cant get into cloth nappies myself - tho i have lots of other baby type obsessions to keep me busy :laughing:
i tried with DD but coulnt get the knack of attaching the damn things to her!

but our big news is DS sleeping unwrapped with no probs :yelclap: . now if only i could get rid of his wretched dummy...

anyway....Amandaw - Westfield Bondi Junction. its just a mall in sydney...i used to live in rose bay which is near to there and spent alot of time shopping there!

munchkin - your photos are GORGEOUS - what a beautiful pair you two make. i'm so happy for you that you can make what you want to happen, work financially.

ok - off to make biscuits with DD. i LOVE BF...not least because i can eat all the biscuits i want and not gain weight . eek - i'm so shallow sometimes :o

missie_mack
18-01-2007, 14:55
Arrgh! My hair is driving me crazy I went and got a cut and colour Tuesday night and specifically said "just make sure I can pull it back" well I can pull most of it back but the front layers are driving me bonkers in this heat they keep falling out. Which is great. This now means that DS can pull my hair and today Im grouting the bathroom and it keeps getting in my eyes which will probably mean I end up with grout in my hair :mad:

BTW your a funny lady Tegan :laughing: Thanks for taking my virginity from me on myspace lol

missie_mack
18-01-2007, 15:00
Oh I forgot to mention. I was reading Marie Claire this month and if you go to the dermalogica (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/www.dermalogica.com.au) website they are giving free samples of products out and a $20 gift voucher if you do a face mapping on their website. Apparently its only until the end of January though.

Beany
18-01-2007, 15:11
Hey I learned something new today ... projectile drool!

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 15:20
Hello all

Tegan - Big hugs, I hope the day is not too hard for you all

Wattle - Poor Max...still crook....hope he gets better soon

amandaw - glad to hear you had a nice time on the coast

munchkin - LOVED your photos....you have such pretty eyes. I am sure Em will appreciate her mum home as well....and you will learn to live with minimal cash flow...all will be good

Shed - I think i might start on that diet..not for losing weight as such but more so to know what I am having every night...that is the worst thing about cooking...deciding what to make

Jessi - have fun swimming....Chloe loves the water

lottiesmum - :smiliedance: for sleeping unwrapped

hello Missie_mack, Beany, S_J, and Adele

Hope all the Brissie mums had a nice meet today....did you miss me Rach and Alli :laughing:

Chloe just woke up....that was a little sleep

Be back later

mum_I'm_hungry
18-01-2007, 15:23
OMG :eek: what did I just see in my local Coles but mesh feeders. A big stack of the things -- Tommee Tippee $6.99. Stood there and laughed. Teddy thought it was most amusing too. Quessie, though -- aren't they awfully messy? Wasn't someone saying they put frozen blueberries in? Yikes!

See you Brissies tomozza! :yelclap:

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 15:34
See you Brissies tomozza! :yelclap:

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: What a dork I am....I thought today was FRIDAY

jessi
18-01-2007, 16:08
Missie_Mack- I just added you to my myspace :D

So, the whole beach thing didnt work out as planned. Elsh HATES the water. She screams when we put her in a bath... We tried her in a pool, same thing happened. I didnt even put her in the water today. Just sat with her, on me knee about a meter back from the water. What did she do? SCREAMED!!

Its so sad for me to have a child who doesnt like water. Because Im a total water lover. I ache for the ocean- as sad as it sounds. It would be so much easier if she would enjoy the water like me, then I could take her everywhere with me!

Anyways, Got a roast cooking, better go check it!

shed
18-01-2007, 16:43

Its called "spit"

:D happy to help

Beany
18-01-2007, 17:01
I actually typed that but it wasn't spitting. It was ... longer. Like vomit without the colour. And accompanied by hysterical laughing.

jessi
18-01-2007, 17:05
LOL Beany, I just read your post in my 'Mushy Brains' Thread. Bahahaha....

It gave me a good giggle. Plus Im also glad Im not the only one who does crazy stuff like that!

shed
18-01-2007, 17:09
oh...that would be "hoik" then Beany? Anyway...eww!!

tashmusa: I can recommend the food. Its so nice. Today I had a curried chicken salad with chickpeas. I wouldn't normally eat something like that but it was beautiful. I haven't looked at dinner tonight yet. Its a surprise but its gonna be gooooood!!

For afternoon tea I had date bread and an apple with my cup of tea.

Baden is wearing his watermelon soaker. Did you guys vote in the knit off?

I am just watching the news about the students getting accepted into uni. Poor things, gosh, when I was a kid if you wanted to go to uni you did year 12 and then went to uni, simple as that really. Its all different now.

missie_mack
18-01-2007, 17:09
Shed and Beany- :laughing: :laughing: Oh you both crack me up some days. You really are a couple of dorks (in the friendly kind of way)

Beany
18-01-2007, 17:26

Yeah, probably, Getting ready for his rugby days. First the hoik then the ... oh no. It's the rubgy nose blow, ain't it? :eek:

I'm moving out.

Beany
18-01-2007, 17:31
LOL Beany, I just read your post in my 'Mushy Brains' Thread. Bahahaha....

It gave me a good giggle. Plus Im also glad Im not the only one who does crazy stuff like that!

That wasn't even the worst of it. There has been an incident when I've found my shoes tucked neatly into the prams shopping basket. I don't even remember doing it. And I only *just* stopped myself from pouring diet coke into my bowl of cornflakes.

There have been many such instances. I don't speak of them much otherwise Noodle would really take the mickey :p

biscotti
18-01-2007, 18:24
Hey Noosa…do you like the water (sounds like a stupid question considering where you live!)

Amanda - love the water, we actually (trying not to sound too show offy here :o ) live ummmm, very close to the water here in Noosa and it is a huge part of our lifestyle.
I loved your idea, we have our own boat and are out on the water quite a lot but you gave me an idea that I have followed through on. I've been looking today at renting a luxury cruiser (sleeps 10) for a long weekend for me and DH, my best friend and her DH and another good friend of ours and his partner (we all turn 40 this year) oh and any Augustians who would care to join us of course :D - either here in Noosa (which might be good or bad, we know the waterways so well) or somewhere different like the Gold Coast (would love to do the Whitsundays but would have to factor in too much time for travel up and back which I don't think the others could do) - so thanks Amanda, that was terrific :)

I have more stuff to say, back in a sec :)

Noosamum XX

biscotti
18-01-2007, 19:10
Brisbane girls - I just realised your meet is tomporrow (insert green with envy emotion here) - have a great time!!

Lottiesmum - you inspired me with the Xmas shopping (Bubhub was down, so what else was a girl to do, so I shopped online too) and got some great things! I like to be organised!

Australian Princess - my Miss 6 thinks that this is required viewing and she fully expects to be on the show in 12 yrs time, and to win and is already planning her wardrobe, stay tuned lol !!

Crawling - I think it was Jane who mentioned an August bub she knew crawling? My DS was crawling at 4 mths 3 weeks (nobody ever believed me until I put him down and he would take off lol), but Miss C has no intention of crawling for quite some time lol - I was telling the older two about Mr 9 crawling at this age so they were looking at Clio lying on the floor with an expectant "well????" look on their faces lol

Edited to add that Mr 9 is now an excellent tennis player, swimmer and all round athlete so that was obviously just part of his make up lol. He does not take after his mother btw!!

Munchkin - gorgeous pics, what a gorgeous Mum and Bub!! And if you are still selling body parts, funny enough, I could actually do with a few, oh and BTW, $100 is far too cheap for a pelvis, get Shed to cough up a bit more - don't think she's spent her baby bonus yet lol - or try Ebay lol.....And the going back to work is tough one, thinking of you!

Tash - I have pretty much stopped sterilising, don't see the point if Clio is going to roll over and suck a table leg, no point in sterislising a spoon iykwim!

amanda - those swimming seats are great aren't they - Clio and I swim in our pool or the Noosa River everyday and it allows me to have a bit of a swim without having to hold her all the time, plus my older two love pushing her around the pool and she thinks it's a great game! And yes, she can squeal!!

Jessi - Elsha might enjoy the water in time - does she bath with you or nat in the bath at home? Miss C and I swim everyday and she loves it, it's abig part of our day so I can understand your wanting E to enjoy it with you :hugs:

Parisa - I just read your posts abuot daycare and going back to work :hugs: It will be ok, I promise.

Wattle - have you crossed over to the clothies lol How is max now? Loved the cake btw!

Adele - so how's Chinchilla, don't forget to go out to Auburn River, so nice out there :)

Beany - I followed that thread - excellent come back !!! Oh and you can't sleep on your back..??...well I can't sleep on my front without tremendous backpain, odd and painful - since Miss C's birth anyway, so something happened there, don't know what.

***waves to Missie_Mack, Jane, Mrs P, AlliJB, Mama Anne, (it was my sister in law with the froz blueberries btw lol, mumstar (hope everything went ok), Shed, Rene S, Raffee (sorry I missed you the other night), Rene S, lillbugalugs, Uniquey, Little Pickle, Bella, and everyone on the August thread, hoping not to miss anyone out!)

I have more, but have to run, back in a tic, I hope,

noosamum XX

Mrs Potts
18-01-2007, 19:53
***waves to Miss_Mack, Jane, AlliJB (it was my sister in law with the froz blueberries btw lol, mumstar (hope everything went ok), Shed, Rene S, Raffee (sorry I missed you the other night), Rene S, lillbugalugs, Uniquey, Little Pickle, Bella, and everyone on the August thread, hoping not to miss anyone out!)

s'ok... I'm used to it.... :crying::crying:

mumstar
18-01-2007, 19:55
thanks for all your kind thoughts today! things went well, everyone was a bit emoitional and it has been a very long day... dh and bil have also had a few drinks to calm the nerves so it turned into a very very long day :)

Jess: Aiden hated the water at first as a bubba but now we cant get him out of it... bit harder to take him to the beach though now i have noah in tow! She will get there...

missy mack : hehehe happy to take it!! (your myspace virginity that is)

To all the brissies girls im very jealous...*sings* "im all alone theres no one here in perth" have fun at your meet!!!

well gonna go have a surf around bubhub!!!
nite all!

Mrs Potts
18-01-2007, 19:56
Now that I got that out of my system... ;)

Thought I'd let you know that I chatted to Uniquey the other day. They are here in the grand Nation's Capital, albeit in a hotel until yesterday. So I imagine once their furniture arrives she'll pop in and say hi to you all.

The only news here is that Dough had his surgery yesterday (Percutaneous Radiofrequency Neurotomy, for those in the know) and is very sore and sorry now. Hopefully though this will be the beginning of the end and we can start to get our lives back on track :fingerscrossed:

biscotti
18-01-2007, 19:59
Oh Mrs P - :no: :( :gloomy:

I'm sorry - I was scrolling through the posts

:crying:

biscotti
18-01-2007, 20:04
Mrs P - I have edited :o

And I do hope that Dough is on the mend.

:kiss:

Noosamum XX

biscotti
18-01-2007, 20:06
And this is why I stress doing personals - I am always worried I'll miss someone out :crying:

Mrs Potts
18-01-2007, 20:12
aaaawwww you're too sweet.

I knew my purple dancing hippo friend wouldn't forget me on purpose :p

mama anne
18-01-2007, 20:13
s'ok... I'm used to it.... :crying::crying:

me too :crying:

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 20:16

tashmusa: I can recommend the food. Its so nice. Today I had a curried chicken salad with chickpeas. I wouldn't normally eat something like that but it was beautiful. I haven't looked at dinner tonight yet. Its a surprise but its gonna be gooooood!!

For afternoon tea I had date bread and an apple with my cup of tea.

YUMMY

biscotti
18-01-2007, 20:18
Oh gawd - mama anne - I have edited, soooooo sorry, I don't think I'll do personals again, I was just scrolling back thorugh the posts on this thread. I have some health things going on atm so don't get on all the time so don't get to catch up with what everyone is doing.

:crying:

Sorry.

Apologies to anyone else. I guess you are all going to come out of the woodwork now.

:gloomy:

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 20:19
That wasn't even the worst of it. There has been an incident when I've found my shoes tucked neatly into the prams shopping basket. I don't even remember doing it. And I only *just* stopped myself from pouring diet coke into my bowl of cornflakes.

There have been many such instances. I don't speak of them much otherwise Noodle would really take the mickey :p

My most recent, I throw all my left overs in the freezer, until Bin day (this heat just rots everything) and instead of throwing just the contents I put the whole bowl in...unfortunately it was DH who found it not me........but then things like this happen to me all the time....just a thing I got of my mum :laughing:

mama anne
18-01-2007, 20:20
no no no don't be sad
i wasn't really sad
just being silly

and i havent even posted on this new thread yet! so no wonder i'm fading away into nothing ...................... not really, being dumb again.:rolleyes:

i know you girls will never really forget me.:D

biscotti
18-01-2007, 20:21
mama anne :o - can I just say that your bub looks like a little doll in your avatar, oh she is soo sweet.

Ok, enuf from me for a minute or two.

Sorry again.

:o

mama anne
18-01-2007, 20:22

i got sneezed on today - not just a little drool, but aLOT of drool and flecks of snot. in my face.

mmm, great mummy day here :) :)

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 20:22
Tash - I have pretty much stopped sterilising, don't see the point if Clio is going to roll over and suck a table leg, no point in sterislising a spoon iykwim!

Welll......when it is put like that :laughing: :laughing: The things that Chloe sucks...YUKKY hee hee

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 20:27
Hey Noosamum.....when I do personals, I just generally say Hi to those who have posted since my last thread...that way I don't forget anyone :yes:

Hey Mrs Potts, Jessi, Mumstar and mama anne

Tegan, I am glad the day went OK for you all

Talking about sneezing....my nephew is 4 and everytime he looks at the sun he sneezes. it is so hilarious. I am going to send the poor boy blind as I get him to look at the sun just to have a laugh. I am laughing now just thinking about it

biscotti
18-01-2007, 20:30
Welll......when it is put like that :laughing: :laughing: The things that Chloe sucks...YUKKY hee hee

Exactly!! I think of AlliJBs daughter who sucked the mop at playgroup (I think) - why bother sterilising a spoon lol!!!

biscotti
18-01-2007, 20:32
Girls, after the weekend, I won't be on again for a little while, gotta check back into the Betty Ford clinic :laughing: so....in case this is my last post for a little bit...

......be good......

.....play nice........:D

noosamum XX

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 20:36
Good bye Noosamum

We will Miss you

Come back ASAP...not the same around here without you :hugs: :kiss: :hugs: :kiss:

amandaw
18-01-2007, 20:46
Oh Noosamum...that sounds amazing!!! I'll fill a spare berth ;) ! That'll be hard to top in future years!! I'm just holding out for my tenth wedding anniversary (we're only coming up to 4 so far, so still a while to hold out!) because I've told Joel he can take me to Bora Bora to stay in one of the overwater chalets...hope he's started saving!

BTW are you close to beach 'water' or river 'water'.... either would be fantastic! I stayed on Hastings Street for Schoolies and it was great...no big party as such (I was only 16, so there wasn't a chance my parents would have let me head down the coast), but it was so good to be able to just wander down to the beach, through the national park etc...

...anyway, glad i could spark off a plan for you!

Crawling - I think it was Jane who mentioned an August bub she knew crawling? My DS was crawling at 4 mths 3 weeks (nobody ever believed me until I put him down and he would take off lol), but Miss C has no intention of crawling for quite some time lol - I was telling the older two about Mr 9 crawling at this age so they were looking at Clio lying on the floor with an expectant "well????" look on their faces lol

Munchkin - oh and BTW, $100 is far too cheap for a pelvis, get Shed to cough up a bit more - don't think she's spent her baby bonus yet lol - or try Ebay lol

:laughing: :laughing:

I don't think Charlotte is too far off crawling...she's now up on her hands and knees (only as of yesterday...before that it was either just hands and hips or knees and head which she could motor across the bed with)...I'm not ready for it!

Charlotte loved her swim seat and I loved not having to concentrate on keeping her head above water (I missed the step when I went to sit down and she got a dunking...thankfully I realised what i was holding and got up fast! She only got antsy once and that's when Harry the 4 yo (who's already said that one day he'll marry her!) motored her off across the shallow pool facing away from me, other than that it was great (how do you /Clio go when the water's really cold? I'm a bit hesitant at the moment because I'm not sure if I'm freezing her, so we swam more of the arvo when the chill had gone)

Now that I got that out of my system...

Thought I'd let you know that I chatted to Uniquey the other day.

The only news here is that Dough had his surgery yesterday (Percutaneous Radiofrequency Neurotomy, for those in the know) and is very sore and sorry now. Hopefully though this will be the beginning of the end and we can start to get our lives back on track

:hugs: to Mrs Potts! Thanks for the Uniquey update - it'll be nice for her having someone who she knows already down there. And all body parts are crossed that everything goes smoothly with your DH from here on it...I'm not 'in the know' but from things you've mentioned in the past it sounds like there's been a bit of a rough path around your way. Really hopeing that all is good

Looking foward to meeting you tomorrow other Brisbanites...better go and get some beauty sleep!

amandaw
18-01-2007, 20:52
Talking about sneezing....my nephew is 4 and everytime he looks at the sun he sneezes. it is so hilarious. I am going to send the poor boy blind as I get him to look at the sun just to have a laugh. I am laughing now just thinking about it

Hi tash :wave: you know the funny thing - this is actually a medically recognised disorder! My brother sneezes twice every morning as he exits his room (has done for 15 years)..Mum mentioned it in passing when she was at the doctors once and was told that he was 'allergic' to the change in light intesity and it was quite common...had us giggling at him anyway (and I think we even used to go in and shine torches on him at night just to see if we could replicate it :rolleyes: ...the things you do to your siblings )

:wave: Come back soon NoosaMum (gees and you only just managed to catch up)... hope 'it' (whatever it is) all goes well

shed
18-01-2007, 20:53
I was just thinking of Uniquey today.

Noosamum, good luck :hugs: , we will be right here when you get back, probably in a new thread coz we are a bunch of chatterboxes but I am sure you will find us.

Dinner was beef casserole. And yes, I am going to bore you all with the menu each day, lol. At least I have stopped boring you with the details of my wedding. Mainly because I haven't done anything more. Coupla reasons: a) I can't be bothered looking for a dress until I am skinny, although I have an 'idea' but I don't want to take it any further till we know what sort of canvas we are painting on,

and b) all of my cousins, including my broidesmaid are heading off to NZ in May for an unveiling (its their dad so its a pretty important one), so I am waiting to see what day that is being held on before I can decide on a date for the wedding and book anything.

So its all come to a screeching halt for now.

Baden has been feeding like a gannet all day and sleeping sleeping sleeping in between. Me thinks growth spurt?

shed
18-01-2007, 20:55
oh and Mrs Potts, this is for you :hugs:

biscotti
18-01-2007, 21:06
Oh [B]Noosamum[/B
BTW are you close to beach 'water' or river 'water'..

Hi Amanda - well ...we are "river water" :laughing: but we can walk to Hastings Street. Mr 9 and Miss 6 actually prefer main beach to the river these days - the river is too calm for them - not that main beach has that much surf lol. I love where we are actually, it is the best of everything Noosa has to offer. Really great lifestyle!

Thanks Shed and Tash - I haven't gone yet :o still lingering here lol...hopefully I won't be at the Betty Ford Clinic for too long this time :)

Noosamum XX

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 21:12
Hi tash :wave: you know the funny thing - this is actually a medically recognised disorder! My brother sneezes twice every morning as he exits his room (has done for 15 years)..

Really???? Wow, am I still allowed to laugh at him when he does it...:D I think it is one of those things, that if I were really really down and he did it, it would bring a bundle of giggles.........he giggles after it himself which makes your heart melt....there is nothing nicer to hear then childrens laughter

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 21:13
Hope you are right and not there for long Noosa mum:thumbsup:

missie_mack
18-01-2007, 21:18
Noosamum you will be surely missed!! We all luv ya lots :(

shed
18-01-2007, 21:22
missie_mack, I just had a look at your myspace.

Can anyone see that or just people you tell about it?

Please give me a brief explanation of myspace. thankyou.

mum_I'm_hungry
18-01-2007, 21:23
Lots of :hugs: to those who are needing them -- Mrs Potts and Mumstar. And anyone else who's up for one! You seem a bit chirpier, Noosamum. A good sign!

Crawling - I think it was Jane who mentioned an August bub she knew crawling? My DS was crawling at 4 mths 3 weeks

Exactly!! I think of AlliJBs daughter who sucked the mop at playgroup (I think) - why bother sterilising a spoon lol!!!

Um, mmmmm. You might want to keep sterilsing, then. Ivy didn't crawl till she was, wait for it... one year and three weeks. :o Poor Ivy. When it comes to Ivy and milestones, my husband and I have a formula. We look up when she's supposed to meet them and then add six months. It works every time! Can't find anything actually wrong with the poor kid and she does meet her milestones (after a little added time!), so we've just decided to take a chill pill now we've prodded and poked her half to death. Not much else we can do, really!

Dinner was beef casserole. And yes, I am going to bore you all with the menu each day, lol.

Boring? Are you kidding? I am LOVING hearing about this. I'm such a sad sack. When people tell me they've been out to dinner I quiz them for about half an hour on what they had. I love eating out and we don't get to do it much anymore, so anyone I come across who gets out and about to all the new restaurants gets a grilling!

Teddy took a bottle at the creche at the gym today. Yay! Family daycare, here we come... :)

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 21:40
:yelclap: :smiliedance: For Teddy taking bottle

cheekypossum
18-01-2007, 21:43
:wave: Missie_mack

Shed - Just butting in here....I have only been a myspace user for a few months....anyone can use it....it is basically a free thing that you use to make a website all about you. You can add friends and basically can write each other messages. You can either make it a public one where everyone can look at your pictures and messages etc..or make it private so that the people you have added as friends are the only ones that can see all your things

Does that all make sense

Everyone.....I have just added some new pics of Chloe....click on the link under my signature and PLEASE check us out.....

missie_mack
18-01-2007, 22:17
Yeah its good as its a whole page about us lol no seriously we got it as some of our family and friends (insert symbol for evil inlaws in particular) are still on the old dial up and moan about the time it takes to download pics but also moan if they dont see them:ecomcity: .

Initially we had the baby website but with us moving we decided this will save us having to call people to tell them all the same thing. Its actually pretty cool might be good for the relos back home? Like tash said you can make it by invite only or you can open it to anyone its up to you. Someone else told me its a new way of dating also but I think Im giving that a miss.

Oh I forgot to add Shed will you now be planning the wedding when all the relo's are going home so its smaller but you have kept us appearances by inviting all those relos you would probably never see anyhow :D In our case they all turned up to the wedding for the free feed and alcohol and some didnt even buy us a card or present- not that that was our motive but its nice for at least an effort to be made.

shed
18-01-2007, 22:25
I'm gonna do a myspace tomorrow, stay tuned.

No, the relos that are going over are the ones that I do want there, well one of them anyway, but they are all sisters so they will all be going over.

My bridesmaid was heavily pregnant when her father died so she couldn't go to the funeral, so I understand that she will want to go to the unveiling. But I did say to them they can have ONE weekend in May but if they go for two weekends i.e. a weekend and a week and a weekend, then I am not putting the wedding off for the second one.

I probably will though. Its annoying though. I feel like the DRAMA has started already.:rolleyes: Its not their fault though, but still.

*munchkin*
18-01-2007, 22:57
No no no, not "common" ... "vulgar".

"Common" just makes you sounds so ... well .. vulgar! :p

I think the Aussie phrase to describe them would be "rough as guts"

re: The sneezing due to light change. Isn't that funny? I read something that said if you look at the light when you're about to sneeze, it will stop it. Weird!

I was going to do a heap of personals, but am claiming Mushy Brain and can't remember half of them. Sorry. The few I remember follow:

Noosamum - hope all goes well for you at the 'Clinic' and you are healthy soon, and do let me know if I can help out with body parts! Say hi to Keith (Urban) while you're there.

Mrs Potts - hope Dough get's healthy soon. Don't understand the medical jargon, but sounds like it's been a tough time, so hopefully better soon.

Mama Anne - Hi! Just because I remembered!

Shed - I'm on the Lite and Easy too. It works well...but I had a MASSIVE blowout last week. I'm talking a BIG bag of M&Ms, packet of Cheezels, packet of chips, some Ferrero Rochers...burrrrp... So, put a kilo back on in 2 nights lol! And last night I baked a banana cake to freeze, but ate three massive pieces. Aaaahh...the beauty of having no-one to save you from yourself.

Brisbanites - looking forward to the meet tomorrow. AlliJB - have been peering at your avatar trying to remember what you look like as I have a fear of wandering aimlessly around looking hopelessly lost!

:wave: to everyone else.

Beany
18-01-2007, 23:24
Mrs Potts: I hope Dough feels better soon and I hope you are coping under all this stress with two little kiddies to deal with :hugs:

Noosamum: sneak a bottle into the Betty Ford clinic. You don't want to feel left out ... :p

Asher looks utterly delighted with himself after a sneeze. And why not? I feel much better after a good sneeze, too!

Hey, he rolled again today! He rolled a few times one day back in mid-December and once the day after but just stopped after that one. He decided that he'd never get such a great response again (3 women laughing, cheering and clapping) so just gave up.

Anyway, I heard him wake up this afternoon but was in the middle of dealing with the washing and he was contented enough chattering to himself and his toy giraffe that lives in the cage with him. It went all quiet after a while and I thought maybe he'd gone back to sleep. I tip-toed in and there he was, perfect seal position, staring at my Steven Erikson books on the bookshelf.

He looked up at me and my squeal of surprise with a "Yeah? What? You knew I could do this" expression and went back to eyeing my books.

I also bought him a new bath toy today. It's a red crab that lights up when it comes into contact with water. He was very impressed ... for like 3 seconds and then he went after the shampoo bottle. For his birthday, I'm giving him an empty box. And maybe some scrumpled newspaper.

Fairyfloss
19-01-2007, 01:15
wow you ladies can talk:laughing:
oh well can't remember a lot of it but hee are the ones I do

:hugs: for noosamum,Mrs Potts, poor little max, hope you are feeling better dal, you too cathy

shed: are you planning to freeze your bouquet?
AlliJB: well done Teddy for taking the bottle. ( um can you send him over to teach my DD to do the same)
tashmusa: love the new pics.

Lite and Easy: I did that couple of years ago, but put it all back once I stopped, the food was great, but then having to cook for DH was a bit of a problem. I am now doing the jenny craig at home, (so I don't buy their food), so far so good, arrg this portion control, why is it that what seems to be one serve of something turns out to be three.

had the interview, wasn't too bad so we will see
MIL/SIL just landed as we speak, and I have already cooked my lunch for tomorrow, when they are coming over,any way better get some sleep before they turn up.

MountainGirl
19-01-2007, 07:53
Jasper ate pea and parsnip puree last night, it is a brand at woolies called "organics",..not heinz or anything,... comes in little tubs and is just natural puree,..... anyway,...he loved it! All of it!!!!

Gotta go,..Scarlett has taken to "Bronzing up",....(That is a VIC police term for when criminals cover themselves in poo - which they apparently do more frequently than you would think!),....so I am off to unbronze,..and to then clean my subsequent vomit off the kitchen floor!:barf:

jessi
19-01-2007, 08:09
LOL @ SJ...

Nat did possibly the most romantical thing out of our whole relationship last night! When I was in the shower, he lit a heap of candles in our room and had insence burning... He reckoned that he had other plans also but I got out of the shower too quick! So I got candle light and insence. Too bad I was too bloody tired to give him what he wanted! :laughing: I was pretty impressed though - he never does stuff like this for me!

Anyways, Gotta go clean my house for the 3 great ppl who are comming to help celebrate my birthday tomorrow!

wattle
19-01-2007, 08:11
I think we should have a big group hug today.

:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

(OOOhhhh I can feel the lurve)

shed
19-01-2007, 08:25
jessi: glad to see he's making an effort, although I can't help but think that helping you clean the house would be more romantic. But we take what we can get in this world! I know I do when it comes to romantic gestures.

Jane: gee, I am REALLY looking forward to Baden's toddler years now....

Fairyfloss: I hadn't thought about what to do with my bouquet. Hopefully my aunty will be doing it, she did my cousins one and I want basically the same but with white roses instead of red. No point paying a florist to do exactly the same thing I suppose. My aunty isn't a florist but she knows all the tricks, wiring, foliage etc etc. I think she might have done a course at some point, maybe, but I don't actually know.

But if it causes any hassle for her to do it, even the tiniest amount, including having to give her a ride somewhere or have someone staying at my house, then I am getting the florist to do it. sometimes "favours" in this famiy end up being "nightmares" so I don't bother. I sound ungrateful, but there is a lot of history there, trust me.

Baby is awake and he is on our bed so gotta go. He's the Rolling King and as fast as greased lightning with it.

mumstar
19-01-2007, 08:39
Good Morning Everyone!

We started Noah on Solids last night, come puree mixed vegies. He loved it smashed half a tin!!! i also think he might be very close to crawlig. he gets on his knees then uses is feet to push forward but as he hasnt got up on his elbows his head kind of just slides along the floor... it looks cute though...

:hugs: Group hugs back as well...

shed: The myspace thing was a little hard for me to get the hang of at first so i had a really boring page for quite a while. After you sign up you need to find other pages with myspace html codes to add to your profile to make it look pretty, then you can add pic or slideshows(photobucket, slide accounts etc) and of course adding your friends. If you dont make your profile private anyone can surf the pages and take a looksie which is great if you have family they want to see your page... If it is private only people you have added as friends can see it which means if your family doesnt have an account they cant see it... hope that makes sense... make sure to add me as a friend!!!

jess: maybe is tyring because is nearly your birthday :) maybe he just loves you :thumbsup: isnt it nice when they surprise you

noosamum: hope everything goes well for you... if you miss us to much get noosadad to get you updates!!

i might lurk around here for a while today just got some cleaning to do and spending a day at home with nothing on the plans!!!

missie_mack
19-01-2007, 09:52
Oh yeah I forgot to mention the HTML thingy. That was tough but then I googled it and found pages that already designed them and you just picked and cut and pasted much easier and more creative than I wouldve done lol.

Mrs Potts- Fingers and toes and anything else you can think of crossed that everything is successful :hugs:

Did anyone notice we have a new smilies gizmo?? Its a luuuurvey dovey one Valentine

biscotti
19-01-2007, 10:13
Noosamum: sneak a bottle into the Betty Ford clinic. You don't want to feel left out ... :p

I have a cunning plan......I'm going to decant it all into my shampoo bottles :laughing:

biscotti
19-01-2007, 10:29
I didn't think I was going to be on here today but here I am. We had planned a family day but DH has had something crop up with his work so we have been put on a holding pattern for a little while as he sorts it out.

jessi - happy birthday in case I'm not here for your actual birthday - And yay for the romantic bit from Nat - take it while you can get it!

Jane - that organics range is great, I also like the Baby Boost range, also in little refrigerated tubs - we call it Clio's take away (for the nights when neither of us can be bothered cooking) and :barf: to the bronzing up. Here have another one :barf: , BLERK.

Amanda - I forgot to reply to your bit about the swimming and not freezing the bubs and it is a tough one. I try to avoid the middle of the day (for obvious reasons) but in the morning our pool and the river are in full sun and they "warm up" so to speak, and in the afternoons, we have full shade because of the way the house is postioned but the water is still nice and warm iykwim, so we (Miss C and I) mostly swim in the late afternoons, it's a nice way to finish off the day too.

munchkin - thanks for the offer for the body parts lol *making a list*, oh and will wave to Keith :wave: We're like this now :fingerscrossed:

Ooooh - a new smilie!

Brissie Mums - have a great meet!!!

Noosamum XX

MountainGirl
19-01-2007, 11:39
take care Noos,...xx

Mrs Potts - hope your hubby is ok, and recovers quickly,...

Parisa - how is the daycare thing going?

Well,..I entered into a whole parallel universe today,....all I wanted to do was book Squidg into preschool,...it aint that simple!!!! I called Montessori (all good so far) and can book her in for whenever I wnt - which is excellent,...at a cost of $73 per day for a minimum of 3 days a week,...:eek: - I know! soooooooo,..apparently I am entitled to a childcare rebate,...through Centrelink,....and this was where the fun started,... I spoke to Centrelink for the first time in my life,...and after an hour of very confusing conversation with a very confusing person, I have come to the conclusion that although I am quite capeable of booking Scarlett into preschool, and I am capeable of dressing her, making her lunch and dropping her off,.. Scarlett can not go to preschool because I am incapeable of understanding Centrelink, their forms and what their confusing people are sayng on the phone! Sorry Squidgy!!!!!!!!!

oh,....so they are sending me a bunch of forms.......we'll see how we go!

btw - how cute is my cheeky little man! he was having a jolly old naked time on our bed! :)

wattle
19-01-2007, 11:48
Hey SJ that photo is soooo cute. Got me inspired to take a photo or two of Steph. Might get the camera out now since mr grumpy-pants-sicky-boy has finally gone to sleep. BTW if anyone wants to know anything about trucks, just ask. I've had to read his truck books over and over and over and over again today. brrrrrroooooooom etc.:rolleyes:

I used to work for Centrelink - I agree. Its the most confusing govt department imaginable. It's all a scam so you don't use them you know.:yes:

mumstar
19-01-2007, 12:19
i hate centrelink but persist with it as i know its a scam so you dont claim!! Im intitaled to it though so i go through the drama!! good luck with it all, everynow and then usually after months of confusing stuff you get one great person who fixes it all up...
i registered for online services now so i can manage most of my family stuff from my computer at home with out having to speak to someone!

the thing i think that has annoyed me the most is when we moved house... i already had my familt tax stuff and child care stuff claim processing at one branch and for some odd reason my health care card claim went to another that was miles away... i walked into the branch to give them all my birth certs etc, they copied them and all was great... i then get a letter from my health care claim saying i need to show them my birth ert etc... i explained i had just been to the other branch and handed that all in and they told me i would need to show them at there branch as well!!!

CentreLINK dont think so they aren't linked at all!!! considering they all started at the same place and it was there fault it went to a diff branch was not happy... they wouldnt even send it from one branch to another geez!!!sorry that turned into a bit of a vent!!!

mumstar
19-01-2007, 12:19
i just relised as well i made it over 300 posts hehehehe

*Country Bumpkin*
19-01-2007, 12:56
SJ- Love the pic but i have to say that its possibly not a great idea to have it up. I have just been redsing a thread where everyone has been warned by the police not to post naked pics of their children as peadophiles have been recently caught searching scrapbooking sites and parenting forums looking for naked pics of chilrden.

Its so so sick and terribly sad- but god it makes me extremly mad :mad: (didnt mean for that to rhyme lol)

Well I havehad quite a productive day. Ive done 3 loads of washing, baked a cake and undercoatd Skylas cot(repainting it):yelclap: Yah for me- its only 1pm too hehe

Oh well must run DP will be home for lunch shortly !!

Back with personals soon

mama anne
19-01-2007, 13:41
hey ladies :)

hope everyone's having a good day ......... my day has been good, but filled with annoying/bad incidents so far.
not to bore you with the details i'll just summarise:

* bella cracked my nose this morning with her skull (headbutted me while i was holding her). it still hurts - just praying i don't get two black eyes like a friend who hurt her nose!

* bella pulled an entire cup of (lukewarm, i wasn't drinking it yet cause i was holding her but clearly her arms have grown in the last few days!) coffee off a table all over me, herself, the table, the floor at a cafe we go to (the sea bar at dee why). SO embarrasing ...... felt like everyone was looking at me and thinking what a bad mum i am.

* we'd been planning on going to max brenna (chocolate shop) at st ives to celebrate dh finishing his uni stuff till feb ........... so we parked, all got out ...... and then it wasn't there. So we came home instead.

I still feel a little shakey about the coffee. If it was hot she would have been completely burned, it went all over her legs, my legs ......

anyway. just had to share.

oh, and centrelink? have been the COMPLETE bane (?) of my existence for about 6 years now. Thank goodness for claiming on the internet so you don't have to actually speak to anyone!
The one thing I've learned about centrelink in my time jane - get a receipt number for EVERY conversation you have with them about ANYTHING. So many times someone's told me something, I've gotten all excited cause it meant a better deal for me, only to call back/go back in and the next person tell me they have no record of telling me that and it won't happen like that.
Thank goodness we've got you around wattle - you can tell us the secrets :wizard:

catch you all later on

shed
19-01-2007, 14:49
* bella pulled an entire cup of (lukewarm, i wasn't drinking it yet cause i was holding her but clearly her arms have grown in the last few days!) coffee off a table all over me, herself, the table, the floor at a cafe we go to (the sea bar at dee why). SO embarrasing ...... felt like everyone was looking at me and thinking what a bad mum i am.

Hey, SNAP!!! my lukewarm morning coffee was belted out of my hand and all over us both this morning.

I can't remember the last time I had a hot cup of coffee anyway. Every time I make one it seems that it sits on the bench or the table while I go and attend to something baby-related.

We weren't at a cafe though, just the privacy of our very own lounge room. I did go and change bubby straight away though, in case DP came home early. Sometimes I don't feel like explaining everything.

Jane, the joys of Centrelink! I am not looking forward to the whole rebate thing if it ever happens but I have heard that there are some refunds or something that hardly anyone knows about. A lady who runs a preschool was telling my cousin. My cousin has four kids and she had never heard of this extra one that gets refunded. I guess they keep it pretty quiet.

I have been stressing a bit about when Baden goes to school. Not preschool, but primary school. I shouldn't be a snob but I feel bad that he will be going to school around the area we live unless I want to drive him for miles each day, and DP was saying that apparently you can't enrol them in a school out of the area or something. I don't know if thats right, surely if we are paying for it we can choose what school?

I feel like I haven't done the right thing by him. Anyway, DP goes the other day that he wants us to move out of this area before Baden starts school. Thank god for that.

I always say horrible things about our suburb, which I shouldn't but I honestly don't feel like I fit in here. And I don't really even have a preconcieved notion because I didn't grow up in Sydney, so it hasn't come from that, its purely observational from what I have seen.

Anyway, its the big parteee tomorrow. DP doesnt seem to have any idea, so that's good.

Beany
19-01-2007, 15:20
I'd have preferred lukewarm coffee on us. Instead I got lukewarm curdled vomit.

I'm so tired my head is spinning ... Asher has taken to waking up at 5am instead of sleeping through till 7. It's totally doing me in ... especially since I didn't get to bed till 1am. My own fault, I know, but there was a movie on on SBS called "7 Dwarves". As you all know, I'm trying to get back into the swing of this dissertation so I had a quick look at the foxtel "i" thingy and it said it was a modern German interpretation of the Grimm Brothers' classic tale. Whoopdeedoo, think I, this'll be worth at least a few lines!

And then I watched it. It was fantastic! Who knew that the Germans could do farcical comedy?! Honestly, it had both me and Noodle cackling with laughter, trying to keep the noise down so we wouldn't wake Asher. No good whatsoever for uni but utterly hilarious!

Ah, he seems to have sickened of Dr Phil (haven't we all?). I sat him in front of the telly in his bouncy chair while they were showing some horrendous woman violently shaking the child she was nannying. I figured this would show him how good he had it, really ... :laughing:

Anyway, back to Spewie.

amandaw
19-01-2007, 15:54
Must be the day for spills! Charlotte managed to upend a third of a chocolate milkshake at the Brissie meet.....lucky Munchin, AliJB and Little Pickle jumped to action to save the Cafe :D it was lovely meeting all 3 of you as well as Emily, Elise and Teddy :smiliedance:

littlepickle
19-01-2007, 16:47
Must be the day for spills! Charlotte managed to upend a third of a chocolate milkshake at the Brissie meet.....lucky Munchin, AliJB and Little Pickle jumped to action to save the Cafe :D it was lovely meeting all 3 of you as well as Emily, Elise and Teddy :smiliedance:

hehehe .. not to mention the water etc that E managed to knock out of my hand along with my cutlery!! :laughing:
I had a lovely day today, it was great to meet up! I popped into the mums and bubs day spa place next door to pick up a price list. Y'know, I never knew that place existed! What a good idea! Now I can get my legs waxed and a pedicure or whatever while someone looks after E for me! Brilliant! Now I have no excuse for not getting my hair cut too!

missie_mack
19-01-2007, 17:01
I shouldn't be a snob but I feel bad that he will be going to school around the area we live unless I want to drive him for miles each day, and DP was saying that apparently you can't enrol them in a school out of the area or something. I don't know if thats right, surely if we are paying for it we can choose what school?

I think they have to be accepted in your local public school but if you send them to one out of area you have to apply and be accepted. I dont think you pay for primary school if its public. I too have had this debate with DH. He is of the belief that public school must be ok cause he went and hes ok. I tell him I did both (much to my family's horror) and would prefer them only to go to private or a selective school. Hmmm I think we agreed private for primary school and will reassess it for high school. At our local private schools the fees are the same if you have 1 child in the school or 5 but when they get to high school out come the big bucks $$$$

I meant to ask you I went to a meeting at the Liverpool Catholic Club just before I finished work. It seemed really nice and tidy. Whats the local assessment on it? You know something can look nice to an outsider but the locals wouldnt spit on it type thing..... I promised to take DH there but havent quiet got there :rolleyes:

On our annoyance for the day. The education department havent been exactly honest with us. Dh was selected as a government funded uni student because of his Bachelor of Science and major. Apparently there is meant to be a shortage of science teachers. We asked where the work was and this was where we said we would be willing to move. Just wait for our call. Well we waited and they said things were slow as they have been on leave since christmas. Today its just on a week til most schools go back so I stomped my feet a little and Dh rang again. Oh theres lots of jobs in the areas you have but here try our staffing line. So Dh rings there and they tell us all the full time jobs have been filled unless we want to move to Bourke. Bloody Bourke:mad: Well Im fuming. Dh gave up a fulltime job and went part time to study to do this this was meant to be our lifestyle change for our family so Dh would be home after school and have school holidays and not have the 5am starts and dribble (not the word I wanted but only one approved to use) he puts up with now. As if you can bring up a family and pay a mortgage on casual wages never knowing if you will have money to pay the bills next week. We have only 1 hope at the moment and its a contract job in Condobolin. The home of the Aussie Larkakin- Shannon Knowl or whatever his name is :mad: . I might have to go back to work early and beg them to let me. Then I have to find childcare and I just know the minute this is organised a job will come up and we wont be able to go for it.

Im sorry about the rant and rave girls Im sure your sick of hearing them. But Im just so mad and cranky that DET mislead us. :banghead:

shed
19-01-2007, 17:47
If we lived in NZ I would happily send bubby to a public school, but its different here. There seems to be a wider gap between the two. I don't really understand it.

If we lived in a better area I would also happily send him along to the local school, but I just don't feel happy about sending him to the one down the road.

I haven't even checked it out. I am just being a snob. I just want him to be successful. **sniff** I don't want him to be a bogan or a deadbeat. He's my baby and I want him to grow up and be able to hold his head up high. **sniff**

I want him to do better than me, like evolution you know? I want him to have more and be more.

Anyway, not sure why I am stressing about this at the moment. Its not really relevant yet.

missie_mack: I dont even know where Bourke is!!:eek:

Oh, and the catholic club. I joined up but haven't been back but I have a one-month gym membership there which I put on hold a while back and I am thinking of starting it again next week coz DP has taken the week off (rant about that later...).

So I will be able to tell you about the gym part of it. the other part, I dunno. We keep saying we will go for dinner there but we haven't yet.

MountainGirl
19-01-2007, 18:55
Shed,...It is relevant now,..the waiiting lists for good schools are incredibly long..... get it sorted asap! Start checking schools out,... both my kids are on preschool lists,.and are on waiting lists for private schools,.....and it is expensive to put them on the lists too!

missie_mack
19-01-2007, 18:58
Shed,...It is relevant now,..the waiiting lists for good schools are incredibly long..... get it sorted asap! Start checking schools out,... both my kids are on preschool lists,.and are on waiting lists for private schools,.....and it is expensive to put them on the lists too!

Yes I agree! :yes: Some places charge a couple of hundred dollars to even consider you. There are children yet to be conceived on the really good ones!

Beany
19-01-2007, 19:35
Not knowing a thing about at, where would one find information about "good schools" in Sydney? And what should we be looking at now - just primary or secondary school too?

I'm utterly lost with all this over here. I'd be ok in the UK.

Beany
19-01-2007, 19:36
PS: "OK in the UK" Hah! Sounds like some sort of punk anthem!

mum_I'm_hungry
19-01-2007, 20:29
:yelclap: It was so great meeting up with the Brissie mums and bubs today. Teddy was so enraptured by all the blonde/brunette beauties around him (Charlotte, Emily and Elise) that he... slept the whole time we were in the cafe :o. That was okay, though, because it meant I got to eat and cuddle baby girls as well while the other mummies ate (haven't done the cuddling baby girls thing for quite some time!). Teddy said (with a yawn) on the way home that he's looking forward to his next big triple date (he always seems to be the only boy!). Oh, and Amanda, you'll be happy to hear I found Babies Galore. I had a little freak out about how far out I seemed to be driving, but then found it and even made my way home via a faster route (Enoggera way). I was so proud of myself :smiliedance:.

Shed, private schools for boys are hard. Really hard. I knew exactly where I wanted to send Ivy, but the private boys schools. Hmmm. They just have this attitude problem. It's all rugby, rugby, rugby and women shouldn't have jobs. Or brains, for that matter (we're just grocery fetchers/orthodontic appointment liner-uppers). I considered sending Teddy co-ed for a while (I wouldn't for a girl because of some of the studies showing they then don't perform as well in maths/science, but would consider for a boy), but the only co-ed options up here in Brissie (at the risk of also sounding like a snob), aren't prestigious enough. My brother wasn't happy at his school and my husband thought his was only okay and it's on the wrong side of town. I'm left with very few choices. :confused:

Hope everyone is going great guns. Am off to bed now as I'm doing the hard yards tomorrow. Husband is working all day and evening. All day is fine, but it's the 4pm-7pm bit that kills me. Both kids fractious, all of us hungry, trying to get us all clean and everyone pretty miserable, generally!!!

jessi
19-01-2007, 23:15
I probably should have come to the meet... but I didnt. Dont know why actually. Next time eh?

Well... I got a message from my only real "mummy" friend this afternoon. Shes moving back to Coffs Harbour. NEXT WEEK! Shes the one I went to Woodford Folk Festival with... She had only just moved from Coffs to the Gold Coast in October and already her and her DF are leaving. I congratulated them on getting a good house and her DF getting a great job offer back down that way... but I will miss her! Even if we do only see each other every month or so (when I visit my parents).

Devoed...

Anyways, check out my new AVATAR! Nat was playing the guitar to Elsh tonight and she started plucking at the strings also! SO CUTE! My little musician Valentine

Peace & Love to you ladies.

MountainGirl
20-01-2007, 07:18
That is a divine Av Jess,.... things good with Nat atm? I hope so,......

Beany - schools,...depends on what you are looking for,.. I come from a Private/GPS family so know all the good Sydney Schools,.... ie: Scarlett is booked into Abbotsleigh (where I went,..and my mum etc) and is also on the list at PLC Sydney,..just incase Abb is too big for her,....We are also looking into Steiner School if she is artistic/musical,... Jasper is booked into Newington,...and is on the list for Steiner,.. they are both booked into our nearest Montessori for Preschool to 6th class,..... Abb was $200 to get on the waitlist and then $1500 once a place was secured...as was Newington,... so already it has cost us over $3000!!!!!!!! rikey,..... we had better not move oversea/interstate!!!!!!

*munchkin*
20-01-2007, 07:40
Lovely to meet the Brissie chicks today! Em had a great time, but has asked for her nursery to be re-done in white, pink, and lime green now that she has seen that baby store.

I stopped in town on the way home to buy some presents, and popped her in the sling. It appears that the days of the sling are over, as she was putting her feet on me and pushing up as hard as she could upwards. I felt like a jerky puppet trying to walk along while she was jerking me all over the place.

RE: Centrelink - I must have had a one off experience, because I've always had reeeeally helpful people on the phone, and at the local office. Thank goodness, because the paperwork is like writing a thesis.

*Country Bumpkin*
20-01-2007, 08:19
Centerlink CenterSTINK more like.

I called them to let them know we have moved (I only get FTB) the lady said ok all you will need to do is take a copy of your lease to the nearest office- well the nearest office is 2hrs from here and I certainky am not going to drive that far to stand in a que all day.

I asked her if I could fax it to them and she said yes- thats not a problem. SO thats just what I did all sorted out everyojne was happy- or so I though

Then I recieve a letter in the mail saying that it was all wrong and I had to fill out some paper work. I pulled the paperwork out of the envelope- 8 DOUBLE sided pages long WTF. :banghead:

All I did was move address FFS. I pay $20 extra rent here a week and now i have to fill out a heap of ****ty paper work

They are so sneaky too....... as I was going through the paperwork I relised they kept asking the same question in different ways- almost like they were trying to catch me out(i know the paperwork wasnt specialy for me lol)

Arrrrrrgh- It took me a good 40mins to fill it all out. So it had better be right or they can take their meazly tiny amount I get every fortnight and shove it where the sun dont shine:mad:

shed
20-01-2007, 08:24
Alli, the minimal experience I have had with private school boys in Sydney confirms what you say!

When I was recruiting for Coles Myer we would do the holiday intake of young kids, and the ones from the private schools were so...snooty. Oh they were awful most of them. Not all of them, but there was a definite attitude there. They were obviously 'too good' to work in a supermarket in the holidays, I don't know what they were doing there then.

I didn't hire alot of them. Too much attitude.

But saying that, rugby is actually one of the reasons that I want DS to go private. Where I come from rugby is played in every single school, from the poorest grottiest school to the most elite, and the private school boys don't seem to have any advantage in that respect...take a look at the All Blacks if you need confirmation!! lol. A diverse cross section, all having played rugby since kindergarten.

So, being a kiwi, I would love my son to have the opportunity to play rugby at school. I just can't imagine him not being given that chance. Its in his DNA, on my side.

But it means he has to go private here, because over here its a private school boys game for some reason (on a side note, the kiwis have NO IDEA that its like that here! - they presume EVERYONE plays it and watches it over here the same as over there!!).

I know its not THAT important, and I don't know if I want all the private schoolboy attitude that some Sydney kids have and I don't want Baden to be the poorest kid in his class because his parents sent him to a school where most kids parents have more money than us, but ...sigh...I dunno.

My cousins kids went to a private school on the other side of town, and to be honest, I thought it was crud. But she's now at Danebank and she loves it. But of course that's a girls school. Girls are easier, I agree.

Anyway, I will start looking!

missie_mack
20-01-2007, 09:13
Umm I thinm they play rugby league in primary school and rugby in high school - from memory.

We thought about Kincoppal when we thought we were having a girl. It was $220 to apply and you had to get 2 family references. Not knowing where we will be makes it hard as Im not keen on sending my little man to boarding school.... Not really keen personally on the Montessori schools for us. I think everythings suits different people differently.

Whats All Saints in Liverpool like? I had a friend from Liverpool who went to Santa Sabina at Strathfield. But from memory they only take boys to year 4 or something. I have a cousin that went to SHORE and its meant to be pretty prestigious but I would shudder to see the school bill I think. But he wasnt too stuck up like some of the others but I think homelife can play a big part.

Too much thinking today off to do some brain numbing work... might go shopping :D

mumstar
20-01-2007, 09:48
happybirthday happybirthday happybirthday happybirthday
Jessi!!!
I think we should throw Jess a birthday party on this thread*throws streamers* we can have a cake and all so she can celebrate with all the August Mummies!!!

*Country Bumpkin*
20-01-2007, 10:19
HAPPY BIRTHDAY JESSI

Beany
20-01-2007, 10:20
:party: Jess! :party:

*munchkin*
20-01-2007, 10:24
:party: happybirthday Jessi! happybirthday :party:

missie_mack
20-01-2007, 10:28
:party: :wizard: happy birthday jessie! happybirthday

have a great day....

mumstar
20-01-2007, 10:47
i got a message on my myspace saying it was her birthday.. but someone else said its not till tomorrow... whoops... oh well she can have 2 days to celebrate!!! Is her party tonight???

amandaw
20-01-2007, 11:08
Happy Birthday Jessi:party:

You'll all be pleased to know I survived my first professional driving lesson....totally embaressing because my instructor was younger than me (now i know how all of my student teachers have felt.....rocking up to find a (at the time) 22 year old teacher (nearly all of my prac teachers have been older than me...up to 45...the only one I had who was younger was ****, and she plagerised one of my units of work as a uni assignment, despite the fact that she knew I was doing my Masters and we had the same co-ordinator....all it took was one phone call from the uni and she was busted...silly girl!!!!)...he's pretty happy, so maybe it won't be too long until they let me out on the roads alone....(then you can all run screaming!!!)

Shed: Just a question...if you can't find any private schools that you're happy with, can he not play club rugby on the weekends???? My brothers all only played club, and all three used to be selected for zone and Brisbane teams and the brother next in age to me is part of the QLD Reds development squad....sure it's not the schooling side of it, but then you could keep your pleasant, non-snotty, lovable child (and save yourself a lot of $'s there) but still have a future All Black or Wallaby

(I also have that concern about being the poorest of the private school people, and therefore having a child at a 'presigious' school and not able to afford to do all of the extra curricular activities etc....I don't know what it is like down in Sydney, but if you find the right school for you, all of the teachers are trained at the same place and expected to keep up with educational trends, and all (or pretty much all I suppose) of the schools try to do the best they can with the students that they have (i know there are also all the things like expectations, behaviour management and resourcing too)....it's just such a huge decision, but I think we'll be finding the best state school in the area (which is easier being a teacher and having friends high up in the education department I admit) and then spending that extra cash each year giving our kids the life experiences ( travelling, sports, music etc)...I doubt we'll be able to afford both without both working full time, and I refuse to do that!

wattle
20-01-2007, 12:17
Hi Everyone :wave:

Happy Birthday Jess. Hope you have a wonderful day.

OK reality tv fans :o Who's going to watch The Batchelor tonight? To all those who are rolling your eyes :p

Well I'm having a boy-free day today. Max has recovered enough to go to his grandparents (phew) and dh is at cricket. Ooooooh what shall I do? I just cleaned out the pantry so that's enough domestix for the day!

Fairyfloss
20-01-2007, 12:45
Hi Cathy I am so happy, max is better now,:smiliedance: um how about some scraping. (you are a scrapbooker aren't you?)

.. Asher has taken to waking up at 5am instead of sleeping through till 7. are you implying that he did use to sleep through the night. lucky you girl mine still wakes up every 3-4 hours for booby. (hence the reason she co-sleeps with me, just stuff her mouth with booby and back to sleep again:D )

I just want him to be successful. **sniff** I don't want him to be a bogan or a deadbeat. He's my baby and I want him to grow up and be able to hold his head up high. **sniff**
I think alot of parents try to do the same thing,(slowly puts her hand up)

There are children yet to be conceived on the really good ones! I have heard that too, but wasn't brave enough to find out more. I hope DH's work issues gets resolved soon.:hugs:

Fairyfloss
20-01-2007, 12:49
:party: happybirthday Happy Birthday Jessihappybirthday :party:

Fairyfloss
20-01-2007, 13:04
the MIL arrival went all well, and I did not embaress myself in the whole after party and that is all that matters as far as I am concerned.

Got a brand new hair cut and colour/highlights, the wroks, new look for new mummy going back to work. and then ordered a couple of new suits for work. :smiliedance:

oh god it is so humid in melbourne today, DD's farex is stuck in the box all goey and sticky, the hard cookies that I couldn't bite into two days ago are falling apart. humidity was 90% this moring, yesterday it was 95%, if I was forecasting clouds, these already pass the treashold, umm on a second thought it is not too bad, "we are livinng IN clouds":laughing:

wattle
20-01-2007, 13:17
Good idea Fairyfloss.

We're having a Christening type service for Steph on Wednesday (not THE christening though, long and complicated story). I tried on the family heirloom Christening gown the other day which looked sooo adorable, but her arms were too chubby to fit in the sleeves. :eek: So now I have to unpick the stitching and do something creative with the sleeves. aaagh, if I stuff it up I'll be in strife! Everyone cross your fingers. :fingerscrossed:

jessi
20-01-2007, 13:18
Thanks girls! Yes, my birthday is actually tomorrow. But its all good. I feel old... 22yrs. Heh. LOL

My party is tonight... the 3 cool ppl are comming but are only staying for an hour. Sweeeeeeet :rolleyes:

Anyways, just dropped in to say hi and check my mails. I'll catch up with you all tomorrow... Im sure i'll be on here in the morning. Letting you know all the exciting goss from my 'rockin' party.

shed
20-01-2007, 14:54
Just quickly popping in to say I am on my way out to DP's surprise 40th party. he thinks I am going over to my cousins, then his friend is picking him up to go out for "a drink" and bringing him to the party.

He has NO idea!!! its so exciting!!!!

happy bday jessi

gotta go!!!!

littlepickle
20-01-2007, 19:37
happybirthday Jess. i hope you have a lovely day
Shed, I hope your DF's surpride birthday bash is great!

Sorry for lack of personals and for not having posted much.
As some of you know, I have a bit of an upsetting family thing going on at the moment. Thank you all for your lovely messages it means so much.

In short, for those of you that havent read my other thread. My cousins wife had a baby last night who was not breathing. He is 4.5kilos, 54cm long and gorgeous. He is currently on life support and we are all hoping and praying that everything is going to be ok.

I puts everything into perspective. I used to think that we are all "entitled" to the birth we want be it natural, assisted, whatever. Now, I think a birth that results in a healthy mum and bub is the best birth anyone can hope for. Anything else is just a bonus:crying:
I will never complain again about anything that happened during my labour

mum_I'm_hungry
20-01-2007, 19:52
happybirthday for tomorrow, Jessi. Hope you have a great partee, Shed!

Rach, so hoping everything works out for the baby. That's just awful.

:crying: Oh dear. I just called my husband at work and he was hiding out in the bathroom and crying. He's just been dealing with an 18 month old who had a completely unexpected bleed in his brain. No warning, wasn't hit or anything like that. Completely out of the blue. They're just taking the little boy in order to donate his organs. You're so right, Rachel, it certainly does put everything in perspective...

amandaw
20-01-2007, 19:59
He has NO idea!!! its so exciting!!!!

Hope you're having a ball Shed!!! I don't think anyone would be able to throw me a suprise party...I'm way to suspicious and knowing that somethings going on, but not being privy to it just makes me grumpy! (like when we got engaged...we were on our way back from a friends engagement lunch thing and DH decided to stop off at Mt Cootha...fair enough...was a little unwell and buggered and just wanted to go home, but DH then decided that we'd stop off at Roma Street Parklands....I can remember getting out of the car thinking 'why are we #$^# stopping here...I just want to go home' and dragging my feet the whole way round before he finally suprised the hell out of me....then i felt like an ungrateful sod!!!

Littlepickle..i did see your other post...any updates yet? - it all seems so unfair :gloomy: He's a very big boy! hopefully that works in his favour...I agree completely with you thoughts about appreciating what we have....as much as we all have a plan (and I desperately didn't want anything more than gas, but there were a few glances going round the labour suite when Charlottes heart rate started dramatically raising and falling with each set of contractions...it's never been said, but I think she was struggling a bit) realistically the doctors and obs know more..I mean that's their job and what they've dedicated their lives to (and yes sometimes I'm sure they get it wrong, but that's pretty rare) . 2 weeks before Charlotte was born, another teacher at my school had severe complications with her bub...the obstetrician had wanted to induce, but she was desperate to go naturally until 10 days over when they finally 'forced' (not as in physically, just basically said it had to be done) the induction...it turned out that 1/2 her placenta had stopped functioning and even at 10 days over he was only 5pd 12, so it had obviously not functioned completely for a while...too much longer and he may have been in severe trouble. As I said in the other thread though, all my thought are with your family :hugs:

lottiesmum
20-01-2007, 20:02
Jessi - happybirthday . hope you had a good one.

LP - thinking of your family at this difficult time. may their darling boy be ok...

i was going to have a whinge about how hard it can be settling 2 kiddies to bed...

then i was going to have a whinge about the whole schooling thing...and how expensive private school fees are and my conspiracy theory about our pollies and public services...

then i was going to whinge about the fact that DH is working tonight (client function in thecity...gone are the days i used to go!!!)

but i dont think i can do this now, so will go and give my wee man a kiss and tell him i love him (even if it took him 2 hours to settle to sleep tonight.....)
and also my gorgeous girl.

goodnight all.

amandaw
20-01-2007, 20:05
AliJB...give him lots of :hugs: on behalf of all of us...I really don't know how they do it!
(I know this is NOTHING like it, but I can't even deal with seeing sick fish in a pet store tank, let alone illness, injury and death in people)
It speaks volumes about the sort of person that he is that it has impacted on him so much...they must have to toughen themselves to it, but I guess it's worse because agewise he fell in between Ivy and Teddy...a tragedy

Mrs Potts
20-01-2007, 20:13
Happy birthday for tomorrow Jessi!

Happy birthday to Shed's DH.

LP - prayers with you and your family :hugs:

Adele - I won't bother sending you pics of my nursery. Bland doesn't begin to describe it. If it were a biscuit it would be a Milk Arrowroot LOL

Noosa - thinking of you. Come back to us soon!

Us - thanks everyone for well wishes for Dough. He seems to be improving as each day goes on. Although in typical manly fashion he did more than he should have today so is consequently feeling like cr@p.

Mesh feeders - I GOT ONE! and OMG I'm so glad I did. Miss K just LOVES it! Gave it to her and she went to town on it right away. It's the first thing she's really grabbed hold of and munched on. Then a bit later the rest of us were munching on fruit and she was watching so I put a slice of banana in it. She was very impressed! Really glad banana's are affordable again.

Anyway my local little baby shop has a stack of the feeders, so if anyone is having trouble finding one let me know and I can send one on.

I'm exhausted now so off to bed for me. Take care everyone! Mwah

wattle
20-01-2007, 20:22
LP - my thoughts and prayers are with your cousin and his wife. Hopefully all the love being sent their way makes some kind of difference.

Alli - your poor dp, I imagine he'll be in shock for a while. That's wonderful that you were there for him when he needed you.

Mrs Potts - yay for the mesh feeder!

Shed - hope the party is going well. I hope he enjoys the surprise - they're always so much fun.

Well I fixed up the sleeves on the christening gown today and it looks fine. Phew. Steph gets a bit flustered with all that material though. She hates having clothes put over her head. Anyone else found that?

The nitwits over the road must be having a screaming party tonight, they're all making the weirdest sounds.

OK, time to go....have a good night all. :wave:

littlepickle
20-01-2007, 20:31
Oh Alli:hugs: to your dh. I have been holding E so close to me for the last 24 hours. It just makes you realise what youve got.

Amandaw: I had a giggle at your post about your proposal! i think I would have been the same.. dragging my feet around the park wondering what on earth dh was taking me there for! My DH hates walking anywhere so I guess I would know that something was afoot if he decided to take me for a walk!

MrsPotts: Yay! about the mesh feeder. Mum got one for me in townsville but its still there.. I might have to have another looka round Brisbane for one.. they definitely dont have any in the city.. will have to broaden my search I think

Lottiesmum: I agree on the whole school fees thing, its all way expensive but the way I look at it is that it really doesnt cost a lot more than childcare fees I guess

Speaking of childcare. Dh and I have been talking and decided that I am now not going to go back to work until E is 1 and has had her 1yr old vaccinations. I just want to keep her close to me. I guess its a reflection on how I am feeling at the moment, but I have o say, at the moment I just dont want to let her out of my sight so unless I can do some work from home, then I think I will be a sahm for a bit longer.

Oh btw, I bought E a magmag bottle after our meet on Friday, I got the one that comes with a teat, a spout and a straw. E loves it! I just use it for her water. She has bypassed the teat and loves to drink water from the soft spout. She holds it up herself too by gripping onto the handles. So all in all, a good buy!

MountainGirl
21-01-2007, 08:46
Oh Rach,...that made me cry,..... sending positive prayers your way,.... it really makes everything else seem so stupid,..doesn't it? Thank god my babies are healthy,......thank goodness,.....

Allijb - your poor darling hubby,...he must see some terrible things,.. I was talking to my obbie Stephen about this the other day,..and he said that he has delivered so many sick/stillborn babies,.and every time, he has to take himself off and have a cry,... yuck,....

Shed,...on a brighter note - how was the party?????

Jess - how did your big do go?????

Umm,... Jasper slept through last night,...from 20:30 till 6:30! Yay!

Oh.. btw - just back on Schools,. I went to a private girls school and my brother went to Shore,..and neither of us are snooty! There were a bunch of country kids who kept the horrible filthy rich kids in check,..and we all had an absolute ball!!!

Have a great day everyon,..and Sydney girls stay inside,..it is supposed to be a really hot one!!!!

jessi
21-01-2007, 09:38

My 'do' actually turned out to be ok last night. I got some great presents, and spent time with my family & a couple of friends...we had a few drinks (heh, a glass of wine here :rolleyes: ) and some great food.

Elsh really misbehaved, she was screaming for hours. Mum was trying to calm her but she was just unconsoleable. I had to go and lock myself in my bedroom with her to try get her to calm down.... I guess that she was overtired from having the extra people around who just wanted to snuggle her. She was not impressed.

OH, I took her down to the lagoon yesterday afternoon before everyone arrove for a swim with SIL & her 1yr old... It was the first time Ive taken her swimming and she didnt cry! She actually loved it! SO, now Im going to take her down there for a swim everyday!

LP- Sending lots of good vibes your way. I hope with all my heart that your cousin's baby pulls through. :hugs:

I have seen so much talk of schools on here lately. Are all of you putting your children into Private Schools? What are your reasons for putting your child in Private schools over Public schools? (Sorry if that sounds abit nosey, Im just interested! Nat & I havent even started looking at schooling things yet! I dont know what type of things to consider.)

happybirthday to me! :party:

shed
21-01-2007, 14:14
The party was great. He got a shock, you could just tell he had no idea, it was so funny.

There was no "oh my god" or gushing or anything like that. He just stood there sort of staring at everyone and looking uncomfortable while his brain computed what was actually happening. It was pretty funny when I think back.

I was cringeing inside because he really is quite shy so I wondered if we had done the right thing, but once he got over the initial shock he was smiling and laughing and he got very very VERY drunk.

He is so ill today. He's on the couch in the foetal position.

One of his mates didn't go and the reason was that their baby has a feed and goes to bed at a certain hour, so they couldn't come. I overhead DP telling someone that they "obviously had the baby in a routine" and the way he said the word "routine" was so funny. He said it with such a sneer I almost expected him to spit after it. I don't know why he thinks a routine is something so evil, I've never said anything like that!! But I am glad to know that our haphazard schedule obviously meets with his approval LOL!!

Their baby is the same age as ours but I think he's a much more difficult kind of baby so I told DP not to be too hard on his friend. We don't know what that's like so we can't say what we would do in their shoes.

I bought a magmag bottle yesterday as well! I got the spout one only.

jessi
21-01-2007, 16:56
Teehee... I got a PM from another bubhubber today saying that they thought they had seen me at the Lagoon yesterday. They described me and Elsh exactly... and I was like "WOW! Where were you?" and she said "Right next to you...:o my son was playing with the little boy who was with you"...

Bahahahaha! She said she knew it was me but was too shy to say something! So crazy!

Anyways, heres a picture of me & Elsh from yesterday... *note the cool hippy dresses we were sporting... LOL - Thanks MIL!!*

*CLICK HERE* (http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/AtMummiesbirthday.jpg)

missie_mack
21-01-2007, 17:18
Well we too had a very long day today with DS now baptised. And the heat was a killer! Everyone wanted to sit inside and I kept trying to push them out. A few little peeves from different family members but not too many. Mostly just people saying they were coming and not turning up. Which wouldve been ok if I was cooking but I had caterers and we paid per the head. Not to worry. FIL and BIL turned up but neither really spoke to me which was fine with me. :)

Im glad everything went well for all the other parties too!

Umm on the private vs public thing Jess. There are some brilliant public schools and some not so great private schools. I've done both public and private and in my situation when I went to public school (much to my family's horror) I was a year ahead of all the other kids in more than a few subjects. They were learning things in high school that I learnt in primary school. I didnt find the public school I went to as strict as the private school and if I didnt do my homework they didnt really care. Cause my private school data isnt considered in the public system for gradings I was put in mediocre classes and by the time I earnt my way into a higher class they had moved beyond my knowledge and it took a while for me to catch up (mostly on essay writing and maths). There is one selective public school in my area that would interest me but I think I also want a little more stricter controls than the public schools are able to do. The private schools seem to be a little stricter as they dont have to accept you. Overall I think you need to research your schools. Like I said some are better than others and it really can depend on the child. Like S_J who is interested in Montessori schools which have a different style of teaching (which is extremely interesting btw). I think each kid has their own style they need as do parents requirements......

Hey Im hoping to have the first secretary to state over here :D I've left the position of first president to my daughter should I have one lol. We dont expect much lol

shed
21-01-2007, 17:28
I want bubby to be a pilot or a tradesman.

DP wants him to be a professional golfer.

I think we both really just want him to be filthy rich so he can put us in the nice retirement home rather than the dodgy one.

We'll have another kid so they can go halvesies.:D

That's our superannuation plan.

*Country Bumpkin*
21-01-2007, 18:12
I want skyla to be whatever she wants. I will supposrt her 100% in whatever she chooses to do

All I want is for her to be happy and healthy- as long as she is both of them I will be happy ;)

jessi
21-01-2007, 18:50
So... Shed & Adele, What type of school do you think you will be sending your child to? Private or Public?

S_J-can you give me a description of what a Montessori school is like? I went to a Montessori site but they really didnt explain much!

littlepickle
21-01-2007, 19:41
I'm also sending E private. I have been to both and like missiemack said, they teach things a lot sooner, and are stricter. If E is anything like me she will benefit from that.
I also like the fact that every child that is there is there because their parents want to send them there rather than have to send them there if thatmakes sense. The other things is that the school we are sending her to can take her from pre-prep until grade 12,I like the idea of that. Another thing is just basic "manners" I will be doing my best to make sure that E grows up knowing how to be polite and respectfull of other people, I know that there is more emphasis on this in the private school I am sending E to so, I dot want her going to a school where kids are mouthing off and swearing at the teachers etc. Its not a case of being snobby.. its just old fashioned values that I think are really underated these days.
I guess I just want to do everything I can to provide her with the opportunities and facilities to find herself. What she does with this when she leaves school is not so important to me as long as she is healthy and happy

cheekypossum
21-01-2007, 20:33
Hello all

I have had a quick skim through posts....not much time I am afraid

I am in Brisbane...arrived yesterday...DH has an appt with the specialist tomorrow :fingerscrossed: all goes well

So just wanted to pop in and say :wave: to you all.

Hope everyone is doing really well....

:hugs: to Alli (& Mr Alli) & Rach...sorry if I have missed anyone else who needs a hug

oh happybirthday to Jessi Hope you had a nice day

wattle
21-01-2007, 20:49
Schools.....hmmm it's complicated isn't it. Such a big decision.

We're going with the Catholic Schools. Dh is a teacher in a Catholic school, and went to a local one when he was growing up which is highly regarded. I think they also provide a good alternative in the public vs private debate.

Their fees are much cheaper than private, but they have a similar ethos to the private schools. Their facilities are excellent and students don't have religion shoved down their throats like they used to. Their waiting lists seem to be quite long now, as they are an increasingly more popular option especially with the private schools having such high fees.

So we have a school sorted for Max (dh's old school), but haven't looked into one for Steph yet. There's a few in our area so I'll put her name down for all of them. The tricky bit is finding the right 'feeder' primary school, and also finding the right 'feeder' pre school. yep, ridiculous isn't it.

After working in schools for many years, I really believe kids can get a good education at any school, it all just depends on their attitude.....oh and their mates.

amandaw
21-01-2007, 20:54
I agree so strongly about the 'mates' part Wattle....it's not just school though...think about the mates you have now...while there might be a few oddities, your most valuable fiends are probably people who share the same sorts of values and ideas as you. Friendship groups definitely help or hinder you at school!

mum_I'm_hungry
21-01-2007, 20:57
I went to public school until grade 6, then did 7-12 privately (at the same school as noosamum!). The public school was a nice enough one, but it was a different world going private. Smaller classes, more attention to how the kids were progressing and yep, manners were a big thing. We stood up when teachers entered the classroom etc., which you never saw at my public school. Ivy's already looking very like my husband and myself. We were both shy kids and I think she'll benefit from the smaller class size and greater attention. If Teddy is very different, I'd consider sending him to public school until grade 7 (we're zoned for a really good one, which makes it a bit of an easier decision). Some of the boys' schools don't have an intake until grade 4 anyway.

Hope everything goes well for your husband, Tash! And hope everything is good with everyone else... :wave:

wattle
21-01-2007, 20:57
If any of you eat tinned fruit.....beware! I opened a tin of SPC fruit salad tonight and there were metal filings through it and the tin was dodgy.

Look :eek: http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/Jan21_01.jpg

I sent a message to the company, so I wonder if anything will happen.

*Country Bumpkin*
21-01-2007, 21:05
If any of you eat tinned fruit.....beware! I opened a tin of SPC fruit salad tonight and there were metal filings through it and the tin was dodgy.

Look http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/Jan21_01.jpg

I sent a message to the company, so I wonder if anything will happen.

:eek: Thats not good- almost as bad as what looked like an umbilical stump with a pubic hair coiled in it that I found in my maggi lasagne 2 weeks ago:barf:

Jessi- Firtly happy real birthday hehe Im glad you had a great night!! Love the dresses- do u mind ifd I ask where ur MIL got them- id love one!!

On the shcook subject it realy depends on where we are- Im looking at schools out here and were goign public. Chinchilla primary won an award for being one of the TOP 10 schools in 2005 coming inb at 4th from memory. The private school out her is no good - DP went there and hated it

mumstar
21-01-2007, 21:08
hello all,

jessi: hope you had a good weekend

missiemac: congrats on the baptism today!

we will be sending both our boys to a catholic school. i really want them to have the religious education that i got. also the public schools around our area do not have a good rep and when u go public you have to go to the one in your suburb etc...

A very slow day for us today... Cleaned my house and wrote out my list of stuff i wil need when i go away. In feb Dh myself and the boys are going to SA for my uncles wedding. We are lucky coz my family have organised carseats, booster seat and a porta cot ... we are hiring a car and bringing our pram... my plan is if i start thinking of my list now when it come time to pack i wont forget anything... not really looking forward to the plane flight with a 5 month old and a 3 year old but i suppose its better than a car bus or train trip!!!
anyway im off to watch so you think you can dance... about the only reality show i like!!!

Hi to everyone :hugs:

shed
21-01-2007, 21:14
Who got voted off on the Bachelor?

I forgot to tape it. And I missed Wife Swap too.

wattle
21-01-2007, 21:26
Oh Shed, you missed all the action. They had two shows back to back. The first one the evictees were Jayne the tripper and the dental hygienist........what was her name again? Yeah Andrea, that's it.

In the second show the girls were given the invitations to forego their individual rooms and share the fantasy suite with Byron. Chereese was the only one who didn't sleep with Byron and guess what...yep, she got the boot. He's the biggest sleaze yet!!!! He got all uptight when one of the girls mentioned his exwife too....hehe.

I think they have a big wedding proposal next week. I wonder who it will be.

mumstar
21-01-2007, 22:19
anyone here for the bubhub awards last year? did anyone get nominated... are you gonna nominate anyone???

MountainGirl
22-01-2007, 07:21
They have a private school in Chinchilla???? Buut no David Jones???Then where do all the borders shop???!!!!!!!!!:D Seriously,...how big/small is that place,...and what is the school called?

Any news on Deanie LP?

:laughing: to Sheds hubby!!!!!!!!

Beany - where are you girl?

*Country Bumpkin*
22-01-2007, 07:30
They have a private school in Chinchilla???? Buut no David Jones???Then where do all the borders shop???!!!!!!!!!:D Seriously,...how big/small is that place,...and what is the school called?

David Jones is going up in one of the local padocks :rolleyes: :laughing:

Chinchilla has a population of around 3000 but thats in the intire shire which includes- Miles (30km out) Tara(110km) Brigalow(30km) and a heap of others..... so in town there isnt that many people.

The school is called St Jospehs Catholic School. DP being catholic was sent to catholic schools but St Josephs wasnt the best.

*munchkin*
22-01-2007, 07:45
I really think it doesn't matter what school you go to, it's your home life that affects how well you do.

I am one of 5 kids, and my parents really strongly believed in sending us to public schools. And it was not that they couldn't afford to send us to private schools. THey both went to private 'select' schools in sydney, but they believe that you get most of your education, values, and discipline from home, and that you make the most of whatever school you go to. I always say that I learnt more around the dinner table at night than I did at school.

They moved us to Roma (much further west than Chinchilla!!!) when 3 of us were still at high school, and all their friends said they were "flushing their kids down the drain" in terms of education. In the end, we all did better at school than their kids. And all 5 of us went to university. (Myself mainly because I was so motivated to get the hell out of Roma! What a hole!)

So, private or public, I think it depends on the home life and the individual. Personally, I'm lucky enough to have a very very good public primary and high school within walking distance of my house, so Em will be going there. (Amanda - Holland Park Primary, and Cavendish Rd High - I've heard they are really good?). I like the idea that she will have life long friends in the area, as we moved every 5 years when I was little.

*Country Bumpkin*
22-01-2007, 07:58
I was so motivated to get the hell out of Roma! What a hole!

Give me chinchilla over roma anyday- DP was born there and went to school there for a couple of years before they moved to Walembilla(population 2 :laughing: ) then to Chinchilla.

DP HATES Roma.... his granparents are still there so we often drive the 200km west to see them:banghead:

lottiesmum
22-01-2007, 08:10
what a fab weekend!! we had the kids christmas present installed on Saturday. a great playcraft playground thing. DD''s eyes were like saucers and I dont think she believed me when i told her it was here to stay in the backyard!

schools - we are going private. there's a prep to year 12 private school up the road, which i've waitlisted my 2 for. when we were still in sydney i contemplated becoming catholic so the kids could go to catholic schools which are just as good but soooooo much cheaper...but even i thought this was too cynical for words, so we put DD down for Kambala and PLC burwood because we were not sure where we would be living...both excellent, excellent schools but of course we have since moved! from what i was told sydney privates only confirm high school intake the year before, so to guarantee a place you need to enrol from prep...this makes the school fees a huge burden, esp when you are talking $20k per child in todays money. the private school is co-ed, and i'd have preferred single sex for DD but the results there show girls do well academically and appear to choose a good range of subjects (ie: good distribution take maths/sciences etc not just humanities) and i'd much prefer the kids be a 5minute drive than have to commute....ooops i'm really raving now, aren;t i. Sorry :o

S-J - we are sending DD to montessori too! which one is she going to? We had DD waitlisted for Bondi and Lilyfield - they are both such wonderful schools...and a fabulous introduction to school life. i spent 3 hours observing the different classrooms at bondi one day, it was so interesting and had such a good vibe i didn;t want to leave! but i'm thrilled with the one up here. and its $30 a day :yelclap:

jessi - montessori method was developed by an italian doctor and teacher - Maria Montessori. in a nutshell, its about helping children to do things themselves. the schools use specific teaCHING methods and also special equipment. there's a ton of books available if you want to know more.

aaaargh...just got vomited all over....partially digested milk. yuck. back later!

jessi
22-01-2007, 08:48
Adele - MIL baught me that dress from Tree of life. When I saw that she had got me something from there, my heart sank. Everytime I go in there and try something on- it looks horrific. My boobs are just too big for any of their clothes. I thought that this dress would be just the same but amazingly, it looks good and fits me properly!

I think that Nat & I will be sending Elsh to a public school. We both went to public schools and we turned out ok.
I dont think what school you go to makes the decision for what kind of career and life you will have.
I have plenty of friends who went to public schools and have what would be considered a top job! Doctors, journalists, pilots, designers, builders, dentists... I dont think going to a private school makes you any better than a person who went to a public school.

A question though- are we really supposed to be looking at schools and putting them on waiting lists already? Im only just getting ready to start feeding Elsh!

Anyways, im going to take El swimming again at the lagoon this morning. I figured if she enjoyed it the other day, then I should keep it up- perhaps then she will turn into a water baby and I will get to get my water fix (even if it isnt in the ocean).

mumstar
22-01-2007, 10:03
i think the wait list for private you have to get them on when they are babies... when you go public you can wait till they are old enough coz i think you have to go to a school in your area etc...
well thats how it works in perth anyways!

lottiesmum
22-01-2007, 10:18
that's how it works in sydney too. someone asked about out of area school enrolments, which is possible depending on space availability. if you live in a catchment area the school needs to take you (although you have to enrol but this is just prior to commencing - check with your local school) but if you live outside they take on students - check with the school.

quick question for you gals that use cloth nappies. my DD is TT now during the day, but not reliably dry at night. where can i go to find a suitable cloth type nappy for her? i mean i have the old fashioned things but there;s no way she'll sit still long enough for me to attach with pins etc. but i feel guilty using disposables night after night and throwing them away dry...i had a quick look at the cloth nappy threads but i get confused with the lingo...where does one buy cloth nappies? is there a website??? thanks in advance/.

*Country Bumpkin*
22-01-2007, 10:39
quick question for you gals that use cloth nappies. my DD is TT now during the day, but not reliably dry at night. where can i go to find a suitable cloth type nappy for her? i mean i have the old fashioned things but there;s no way she'll sit still long enough for me to attach with pins etc. but i feel guilty using disposables night after night and throwing them away dry...i had a quick look at the cloth nappy threads but i get confused with the lingo...where does one buy cloth nappies? is there a website??? thanks in advance/.

Your best option would probably be a Green Kids Pocket- they are a nappy which has the waterproof cover built in so you only need to buy one thing.

With alot of other nappies you need to buy the nappy and then a cover(to stop it leaking) but the green kids has it all on one then you just put an insert inside it to soak up the wee etc....

Ill PM you a few links as were not allowed to post them on the site. Green kids are also one size so you could use them from newborn to toddler:thumbsup: and they only cost $24 each

lottiesmum
22-01-2007, 10:48
thanks adele! i'll google it. are we not allowed to post website addresses? i spose thats free advertising, so fair enough i guess.....

*Country Bumpkin*
22-01-2007, 10:52
thanks adele! i'll google it. are we not allowed to post website addresses? i spose thats free advertising, so fair enough i guess.....

U are allowed to PM them but n post them on the forum.

I have sent you a PM with all the details u need including links

Fairyfloss
22-01-2007, 11:07
Cathy: Have fun at "Christening type service" is the gown steph wearing in your avatar the one you fixed?
shed how was DH's party?
L-P: how is little Dean ?
jessi: have fun swimming

I really think it doesn't matter what school you go to, it's your home life that affects how well you do.
I second that, even though if I am certain that I would be still here by the time DD starts schooling I probably would put her on a waiting list for a private school. (our current house is in a good location for as long as DD needs child care (close to mum and MIL ), after that we are hoping to move closer to my work:p )
missie-mack congrats on the baptism of you bub
mumstar: bubhub awards , umm I probably will nominae some one for the funny catogary:laughing:
:wave: to Tash, AlliJB, amandaw, lottiesmum, mrspotts, S-J, noosamum and Adele

Us
DD was suppose to ahve her second dose of gastro vaccine today but I lost the priscription, I think I cleaned my house a bit too well:laughing: , better go and get it she needs to get it before she turns 6 months.

see ya

*Country Bumpkin*
22-01-2007, 11:23
fairyfloss- whats the details of the gastro vacine?? i have heard bits and pieces about it but nothing much i assume its an elective injection- not on the national vacine scheme????:detective:

amandaw
22-01-2007, 12:53
(Amanda - Holland Park Primary, and Cavendish Rd High - I've heard they are really good?). I like the idea that she will have life long friends in the area, as we moved every 5 years when I was little.

Not sure about the primary (though it does ring good bells) but Cav Road is definitely a goodie...my brother lives at Camp Hill and gave me 3 schools to ask my mate about and he gave Cav Road the thumbs up....pity when they went for the interview that they are 2ks outside the catchment and they look like they've got full numbers for next year, so his step daughter is not going to be able to head there

i mean i have the old fashioned things but there;s no way she'll sit still long enough for me to attach with pins etc. b/.

If you don't want to go to that expense, what about Snappy Nappy thingos....much quicker than pins and only $8 for 3 at bigW or wherever

mum_I'm_hungry
22-01-2007, 13:17
fairyfloss- whats the details of the gastro vacine?? i have heard bits and pieces about it but nothing much i assume its an elective injection- not on the national vacine scheme????:detective:

Yep, you have to pay for it. It's not an injection, but is taken orally. There's one brand that is one dose and another that is two doses. We went with the two doses. Can't remember why -- my husband looked into it and he thought the two dose was better for some reason. I think it might last longer or something? We went for it as we have Ivy with her kindy dirt/playground dirt/just plain dirty and also because my husband likes to inject us/medicate us with things. It's like a hobby of his :D. It's kind of scary to see how much he enjoys giving me my desenitization injections (cat dander, dust etc.) :laughing:.

Fairyfloss
22-01-2007, 13:22
fairyfloss- whats the details of the gastro vacine?? .... i assume its an elective injection- not on the national vacine scheme????:detective:
nop it is not on the natinal scheme, it basically prevents bub getting a gastro till 5 years of age, if you do it before bub turns 14 weeks(?) it is a single dose, but if you do it later they need double dose, both doses needs to be done before bub tuns 6 months, but boy are they expensive, I dished out $100+ for each dose. I did it because I was putting Elena in care early and I did not want her to get it, I probably would not have done it if she was not going to child care for another year

wattle
22-01-2007, 13:49
Aaagh I need some advice. We're having a Thanksgiving service at my family church (not that I'm a churchgoer, but all our family has been married/baptised etc there for generations) on Wednesday. Its similar to a baptism, but we're having that at a catholic church in a few months, to keep dh's side of the family happy. *sigh*

I was speaking to the vicar the other day to confirm the details and asked if there was a fee. She said that there was no fee, but people were welcome to give a donation. When I was on the phone to mum later, I asked her what she thought would be an appropriate donation. She said she wasn't sure, but would ask dad and let me know what he thought. Fair enough.

Today I get an email saying that she rang the vicar and kept pressuring her until she eventually said that people gave between $50 and $200. :eek: Is anyone else squirming at the thought of their mother pressuring a vicar? I feel really uncomfortable with this, and embarrassed. What do you guys think? I'm tempted to ring the vicar and apologise for my mothers behaviour.

jessi
22-01-2007, 14:30
sheesh, id call and apologize too! you didnt say 'call the vicar and find out'... you asked her what she thought would be a good donation!

$50 - $200 is abit steep though. LOL, it might just be me that thinks that because Im not a churchy person and giving them that much money... well, i cant fathom it.

Anyways, Elsh & I had a good swim... there were alot less people there today but the sun was scorching and I didnt want Elsh to get burnt so we only stayed for about 20mins. Im actually thinking of going back down there... its just too bloody hot here!

mumstar
22-01-2007, 14:42
when we got married we gave the church a donationm of about $200 to cover paperwork marriage arts etc... with a baptism there is not cost like that involved so really anything will do. The priest gave us a small gift for each children we have had baptised, (some of the water they were baptised in, a set of rosary beads and the certificate.) We had to buy all the other stuff, candle, white clothing etc and put on the party after (which we invited the priest to) we only gave a small donation of about $20 as a thankyou for his time etc...they are not really concerned whether you donate or not completly up to you. Most people put it in an envelope and give it for the priest to open later anyway so its not like anyone is going to know.

mumstar
22-01-2007, 14:43
Ps you should prob call and apologise for your mum LOL thats hillarious though...

hi to everyone else! oh and i got the photos back of noah today from his portrait sitting, will scan and post them at a later date!

shed
22-01-2007, 16:40
My mum has been doing things like pressuring the vicar for my whole life. I am beyond squirming.

At least you know the answer now!!

I have a MIL story for you: at DP's party my SIL (DP's brother's wife) told me that DP's mother said to her "do you think she trapped him?" about me, when I got pregnant!!:eek:

I just laughed at the time and said "oh how ridiculous" but of course I took it out on DP the next day (as you do :laughing: ).

So now DP's job is to make sure his mother knows that Baden is not a tool that was used by his mother to trap his father. He was a wanted and planned baby by both of us, no trapping needed. He can let her know this any way he likes, he doesn't have to say it straight out, he can let her know with other comments if he likes, but that's his job.

I don't know where this woman gets her ideas from. What a strange thing to say!! I think DP made some stupid joke about it at the start and she has taken it literally :rolleyes:

Its quite funny though because when I told DP about it he told me that my cousin had said "you got Shed pregnant to trap her didn't you?", ages ago. He hadn't told me that before.

Bloody families!!

the most important thing is that bubby doesn't overhear such silly comments when he is a bit older. Even a two or three year old can hear things like this and make their own assumptions. Its not true and its a silly thing to say, but I don't want him thinking he was an unwanted accident. I always felt a bit unwanted growing up so I am probably a bit oversensitive about such things.

But on a side note, hows the SIL's form? geez, as if you should be passing that sort of info along. Seems like she's trying to stir things up a bit!

mumstar
22-01-2007, 16:50
But on a side note, hows the SIL's form? geez, as if you should be passing that sort of info along. Seems like she's trying to stir things up a bit!

was she trying to stir the pot or give you a heads up about MIL??? maybe she is having prob herself with MIL!!! i feel for you i went through the exact same thing with my MIL when Aiden was born... she told me straight to my face though!!! She thought i must of coz there is 10 years between me and DH and that was a huge issue for her to get over...

i just said i didnt trap him! i'm just such a good catch he didn't want to let me go!!!

shed
22-01-2007, 17:42
was she trying to stir the pot or give you a heads up about MIL??? maybe she is having prob herself with MIL!!! i feel for

I dunno. but its not like I am new on the scene or anything. I already know the MIL is a bit cracked but I just let things go most of the time and so does my DP.

But I know I won't be able to resist getting a little 'dig' in somewhere, lol!!

mumstar
22-01-2007, 17:56
i had a crack at one of those flashy avatar things.. but coz i had to resize my images so little they went all bitty... oh well will leave it up for a bit and maybe have another fiddle around a bit later!

missie_mack
22-01-2007, 18:04
Hiya all

Busy day. We have a job interview this week out near Mildura. Im sure its a evil plan from DH to keep me as far as he can from Myer and David Jones :laughing: Anyhow they seem very keen to get Dh out there and are paying our travel and accomodation just for a interview. Its a 10 hour drive each way so I think thats a good sign if not paying for everything too. So cross your fingers and toes and anything else too. Just think it can be your excuse to say no to your Dh for the week lol

Wattle- Umm maybe a small gift or $50?? Depends on how well you know the Vicar. Did you think of asking the catholic priest to attend to get it all done in one hit. I know they do this for weddings they might do the same if you have a modern thinking priest?? Just thinking it might save you the added stress....

Oh err there was something else I was going to add and forgot hang on will go back and come back to alter.....

Of course dear Shed (how could I forget) How weird can some people be?? Trap him?? Why do boys mothers think that no one is good enough for their sons?? I just heard my aunty going on about this with her son who got engaged at Christmas. He's in his mid forties and never been married (although one of the good ones, hes not without fault) umm err if he's that old you think she would just be happy that he's happy. At that age he's (my cousins not your DH) lucky to find someone to marry him- just ask my older single friends. Ive met you your a stunner. She should be happy your improving the family DNA!

Again people are weird Shed. Ignore it one day a house will fall on her!

*munchkin*
22-01-2007, 20:15
Give me chinchilla over roma anyday-
:laughing: Yup, makes Chinchilla look like the big smoke! Still, Roma was good for me in many ways - great music program, healthy country life, and motivation to study so I could get out of there!

Not sure about the primary (though it does ring good bells) but Cav Road is definitely a goodie...

Cool...thanks Amanda. I know the primary is good, as it's in my street and everyone sends their kids there.

Bit of a mixed up day today. Think Em's second tooth coming through is causing some grief - lots of unusual crying, and now has taken 2 hours to settle, and is still whingeing. Poor little tot. IT's so so hot and sweaty here tonight that I don't blame her.

mama anne
22-01-2007, 20:44
evening ladies

well, i had a good day with b today ..... but yesterday. YESTERDAY. she was awake from 8am-6pm apart from a 10min sleep in the car and a 2 min sleep in her daddies arms. this from the girl who still feeds every 3 hours during the day, is up for an hour, then sleeps for two. like clockwork.

so it was a little tiring yesterday!

schools we havent even thought about it ......... perhaps i should have that conversation with dh later on

payments to churches i think everyone is different about this ....... personally i know that for weddings anyway, the minister does incur costs to do the wedding (marriage certificate, present if invited to the reception, smart clothing, petrol occasionally) so i think its only fair to donate something, if only for their time! but thats just me.

vaccinations i got all scared thinking i'd missed one when you girls were talking about the gastro one ..... then realised and went *phew*

trapping partners into getting married/committing all i have to say is :eek: i can't believe people would think that, let alone say it out loud!

overnight cloth nappies can't remember who posted about this ........ but whoever you are, start a thread in the clothies section explaining the situation, and there might just be a mummy there in the same boat who can tell you what she uses

my next-door neighbour told me yesterday that she thought she could be pregnant .... she took a test this morning and she's :bfn: . she was putting on a brave face but i know she was sad :( took me back to when we were ttc ..... sometimes i forget how lucky we are that we have b. took 7 months but we got there in the end.

well have a good night everyone ..... stay out of the heat sydney girls! i'm off to have watermelon from the fridge :yes:

wattle
22-01-2007, 20:48
Missie Mack - great idea, but it's long and complicated, so we really need two services. The one on Wednesday is only a really small event - just the four of us and my parents. I just wanted Steph to have some connection with that particular church as a family link.

We'll have the 'real' christening down the track sometime.

I was just holding Steph while she dozed off to sleep, snuggled in tight, with her head on my shoulder. I really didn't want to put her down. Could there be a more beautiful thing in this world? Sometimes they just make you melt. :yes:

wattle
22-01-2007, 20:48
Has anyone seen Beany?:confused:

Fairyfloss
22-01-2007, 22:11
missie_mack: hope DH gets the job (if that is what you want ofcourse)

shed: my DH says I have trapped him, every time we argue, (even though it took us 6 year to have DD:D), but I agree this is not something your DS needs to hear any time soon.

Cathy: oh DD always sleeps in my arms, I think I've spoilt her :o , don't they just look anglic?:yes:

Fairyfloss
22-01-2007, 22:13
oh yeh where are you Beany?, we need to laugh, come out of hiding.:detective:

mumstar
22-01-2007, 23:30
well i fiddled around all night with my avatar and it still looks all pixilated!!! oh well not as
clever as i thought i was

mumstar
22-01-2007, 23:31
good night augustians!!!

*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2007, 08:07
Ok so I think there must be something wrong with my posts. Lately I have been asking questions etc.. and getting no response.

This isnt me wanting pitty posts lol this is me seriously thinking there is something wrong:confused:

Fairyfloss- I asked you yesterday for ther details of the gastro vacine...... not sure if you saw my post though

jessi
23-01-2007, 08:27
You are being ignored *evil laugh*... Just kidding. Sometimes people just scan over the posts and dont see everything we want them to. You should know that by now. :)

So, we had an interesting night last night... Elsh woke at 2am and then stayed up til 4.30am. I have no idea why. She wasnt even crying. Just awake. So when I finally did get back to sleep with her, I slept through when Nat's alarm went off and he even got Elsh up and changed her before putting her beside me in bed so he could go to work. I was woken by a snap kick to the face. LOL, Elsh had wriggled around with her feet right in my face. Girl knows what will wake her mumma up!

Im feeling completely lazy today. I dont want to do any housework... or even play with ELsh. Blergh. Perhaps a swim would be nice.

just. Got. to. Get. Movitvated.

littlepickle
23-01-2007, 08:28
Jane, mthanks for asking about Dean. I dont really have any more news yet. We are all still hoping and praying. But I thought you might like to see him. He is such a cute bubba, and a big boy!
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n275/littlepickle/dean.jpg

*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2007, 08:44
Rach- omg that pic broke my heart:crying: That poor little baby. I really hope he pulls through :hugs:

missie_mack
23-01-2007, 08:57
Ok so I think there must be something wrong with my posts. Lately I have been asking questions etc.. and getting no response.
Fairyfloss- I asked you yesterday for ther details of the gastro vacine...... not sure if you saw my post though

Umm Adele here are yours answers if you missed them....

Yep, you have to pay for it. It's not an injection, but is taken orally. There's one brand that is one dose and another that is two doses. We went with the two doses. Can't remember why -- my husband looked into it and he thought the two dose was better for some reason. I think it might last longer or something? We went for it as we have Ivy with her kindy dirt/playground dirt/just plain dirty and also because my husband likes to inject us/medicate us with things. It's like a hobby of his :D. It's kind of scary to see how much he enjoys giving me my desenitization injections (cat dander, dust etc.) :laughing:.
and again

nop it is not on the natinal scheme, it basically prevents bub getting a gastro till 5 years of age, if you do it before bub turns 14 weeks(?) it is a single dose, but if you do it later they need double dose, both doses needs to be done before bub tuns 6 months, but boy are they expensive, I dished out $100+ for each dose. I did it because I was putting Elena in care early and I did not want her to get it, I probably would not have done it if she was not going to child care for another year

lottiesmum
23-01-2007, 09:01
hi all,

LP - Dean is a bigboy! hope his healthy size gives him lots of strength, im sure that must help?? its so awful seeing the little guy hooked up to all those machines...healthy vibes going his way...

Jessi - DS has done this occasionally too. LP told me not to stress b/c her DD did this from time to time but went back to sleeping...so did my DS. so :fingerscrossed: your DD will dot the same!

Adele- nothing i can contribute to the stomach bug vaccine - we arent doing it. think your posts are coming through ok though? thx for the info on cloth nappies for DD - am going to give GK a go!

cathy - forgot to askwhether the christening gown arm alterations went ok??? i wou;ldnt worry about the vicar and your mum...sure she (the vicar) has seen it all before. maybe your mum was exagerating her heavy handedness to you anyway....

mama anne - nice to hear from you. i like reading your posts b/c your DD, like my DS, is one of the ''babies'' of the group - LOL i know they are all babies....however my guy doesn't sleep nearly as much...wish he did!

on that note - run outof time to talk about us! gotta go...hopefully back soon.

littlepickle
23-01-2007, 09:06
Thanks Adele and lottiesmum:hugs:

*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2007, 09:20
Missi Mack-Thanks for that. I just went back about 4 pages and couldnt find them:confused: So obviously there is something wrong...... I cant see all the posts:(

mumstar
23-01-2007, 09:25
Good Morning All

LP: thoughts and prayers are heading your way...

Jessi: Just go do it... i was feeling this way myself last week but after it was all done i felt so much better!

Well today we are venturing to the cinemas to go see happy feet! Hopefully Noah will sleep the whole time (he did during our last babe in arms session) and Aiden will hopefully sit still and be quiet! My mum is coming will me for a little help! It is a kids movie and it is school holidays so even if it all doesnt work out i'm hoping no one will get to nasty about it!!!

lottiesmum
23-01-2007, 09:31
oh adele - :shame: what have you started???! :laughing: I've been reading through teh cloth nappies thread...theyve helpfully posted a couple of FAQ type threads which are a great read. so now i'm thinking i should try them with DS too. i'm not committing to not full time...but maybe when we are at home and overnight...it does worry me about all that landfill.

i thought i had escaped it this time but my hair is falling out :eek: . with DD it started when she was 2mths old...but its just started now with DS and its coming out in handfulls. the worst bit is when it all starts growing back in and i get all these fuzzy sticky-uppy bits. annoying. :mad:

mumstar
23-01-2007, 09:41
i'm having some hair loss as well... i never had it with DS1 but this time around not so lucky!

missie_mack
23-01-2007, 11:12
is it normal to loose hair?? I thought I was just preparing for the winter or really needed to give the blonding...

MountainGirl
23-01-2007, 12:06
Rach,..he is very beautiful,..thanks for the photo,........

shed
23-01-2007, 12:30
no no no, don't talk about the hair loss. I am not ready, sssshhhhhhhhhh!!!!

I looooooooooooove my pregnancy hair. I am not ready for it to start falling out.

Hair, if you read the posts about falling out, please ignore it, you are my new hair from now on, forever. You are not allowed to start falling out!!!

Nooooooooooo!!!!:no: :no: :crying:

Rach: that photo was a bit of a shock. He looks so lusty and big and gorgeous but he's got all these wires and things hanging off him. We are all thinking of him. Makes us all realise how lucky we are.

Sydney girls: is there a meet sometime soon?

Guess what I just did? I went to the gym, yes I did! DP has the week off, so bubby stayed home with him and I went off and exercised. I felt so good. So that, combined with the Lite n Easy, should produce some results pretty soon.

wattle
23-01-2007, 13:53
LP how are you guys holding up? Sending lots of healing vibes to Dean. The photo was quite a shock, does he have an injured ankle too? It's all quite overwhelming. I'm sure it's frustrating just waiting, sometimes it can be so hard to know what to say in difficult situations like that too.

Shed - your workout sounds great. Go girl :smiliedance:

The christening gown is altered and looks fine - phew. It will be lovely for her to wear the same gown as my dad wore all those years ago.....hmmm, must be nearly 70 years!!!!! Wow.

*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2007, 14:23
Lottiesmum- Sorry:o It is so easy to do once u get started and its extremly addictive too. When you see some of the sites with PICS of all teh nappies that go into landfill it realy make you think- i know it did for me

Wattle- I think Dean had a brace on his ankle to stop it moving. From memory there was a drip/tube attached to his foot:(

jessi
23-01-2007, 15:55
Im so excited. I just spent 3hrs shopping and Elsh was SO good for me! My brother gave me $200 for my birthday and another friend gave me $50 so I went to Chermside Westfield and spent roughly $400... ($150 extra from my account). Heh, It was goooood.
Got some awesome dress/shirt things from tree of life. They are African style- very cool when paired with a belt. Also got a Blender... a book on 'Becomming a sucessful business woman'. HA... A shirt from another shop... some new suits for Elsh & a floatie thing that she can float around in when we go to the Pool.
So we are going down to the lagoon soon to test it out.

Funny thing happened this morning... I had my new dress on and I picked Elsh up and she spewed. I quickly lent to the side so it would miss me but only heard a few small splatters on the floor. I searched for the rest of her vomit on my dress but couildnt find it... until I thought of beanys story of Asher spewing in her pocket. I put my hand in the pocket of my dress and low and behold, there was the rest of Elsh's spew! Hadnt even touched the sides- only hit the bottom of the pocket. She got some good aim!

Anyways, do any of you know how to check your lotto results on the net? My Pop baught me a lotto ticket for my b-day and I havent checked it yet.. Dont know how to!

jessi
23-01-2007, 16:05
OH BRISSY LADIES!!!

Im organising a meet for Monday morning at the Lagoon in Redcliffe if you are interested in comming down and bringing bubs for a swim and a chat! Let me know!

mum_I'm_hungry
23-01-2007, 16:17
Oh, Rach. :fingerscrossed: for Dean.

Adele, that's weird about the posts.

I'm losing my hair too. Aaaggghhh!

Must run. Went on a huge baby stroller search for Ivy this morning at the shops. Refused to buy a Little Mermaid one or similar (really despise how Disney #$%* is all you can get). Finally found a plain blue plaid one (could hardly believe it). Am now quite fraught. I never take them both to the shops. It's just too much hassle!!!

wattle
23-01-2007, 16:21
Alli - you're brave. I couldn't deal with taking both of them shopping. No way! :no: In fact I've only taken ds to the shopping centre twice in the last year!!!

mumstar
23-01-2007, 17:29
well the movie trip went ok!!! Noash slept the whole time and apart from Aiden wanting to go to the loo about 5 times he was really well behaved...

The big old lady at the doctors gave my beautiful baby boy his jabs today!!! I felt so bad he was just lying there giving her the biggest smiles in the world and then she jabbed him in the leg! his whole face just changed from absolutle happiness to complete and utter sadness... he stoped crying gave us another smile then she had to do the other leg! oh well thats done now for another 2 months...

Also have him booked in for an ultrasound on thursday... When i was preg they picked up he had an enlarged left kidney, so we are off to have that checked on thursday!

My sister is a hair dresser and when i told her i thought i was loosing my hair she said i was prob going through a malting phase, aparently you go through this like every 7 years...but when she adtully coloured my hair the other week she noticed that my hair was actually falling out in patches!! not really noticiable but its happening... if it gets worse rogaine here i come!!! LOL

what are people plans for australia day... we have a late eveing bbq with the family and then across to the marina for some fiireworks!!!

as for the shops i love taking my boys... got a wikid pram with toddler seat and they are both really well behaved!(touch wood i dont wanna jinx it) and i love hearing all the compliments about my kids!!!

mama anne
23-01-2007, 18:02
losing hair here too - LOTS of it.
it's all over my seat in the car, comes out almost in handfuls when i wash my hair ..... how is it when its on your head its normal, but as soon as it falls out its gross??

jessiteeheehee that pocket vomit story was a classic! see, without bubhub (or specifically beany) you might have found the vomit at a less appropriate time than straight away!

wattle have you had your gd test yet? i've booked in to have it done 3 times already ..... but either chickened out or forgot to do the diet in the days beforehand.
plus i'm scared of what the result might be :o

baby crying, off to be supermummy and fix everything :laughing:

Fairyfloss
23-01-2007, 18:25
I am going to windge:banghead:

DD is almost exclusively breastfeeding, however, she was given formula, when we were out or she was being looked after by a family member. she wasn't that great with, she would usually take less then what the tin said she should take for her age, but never the less she would take it, without fuss.

as you know, she is flat out refusing the bottle in child care and crys alot, yesterday she had a total of 60ml after three feeds:eek: . I have tried using larger tits size, making the milk a bit thicker, using a different shape tit (similar to her dummy), she will not take any of it.
I am getting desperate, the only thing she will take from her child care carer is her farex, I am so scared she is going to starve. :crying:

what else can I try? :detective: Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeellllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll llppp I really need to sort this out before I start work

got to go and feed DD abit more, will be back for some personals, see ya

mumstar
23-01-2007, 19:02
how long were you planning on breast feeding for? If you put her on the bottle full time do you think she would be more used to it at day care??? I am a bottle feeder and i know that a lot of people will tell you to stick with the boob, but if this suits you better??? I know Aiden refused his for a while at daycare and it was because there was so much going on, lots of new things and people and he wouldn't concentrate, maybe asking them to feed bubba seperatly to the others with no distractions might help...

*Country Bumpkin*
23-01-2007, 19:06
I have tried using larger tits size, making the milk a bit thicker, using a different shape tit (similar to her dummy),

Im sorry but I have to laugh at the tit comments:laughing: I have never heard anyone refer to a teat as a tit before- makes sense i suppose:laughing:

littlepickle
23-01-2007, 19:15
Well not much news on Dean yet. they are trying to reduce whatever drug he is on that is keeping him asleep and immobile. Once they have managed to do that, they are going to see if he will breathe on his own, then they will do the MRI scan. I am so scared for him. I really hope he can just keep fighting:crying:
he hasnt injured his ankle, I think he has a splint on his foor because of all of the IV feeds, I guess its just making sure that his ankle doesnt move or something. He iscertainly a strong little boy, he has the biggest hands, and looks so healthy, just has lots of tubes etc. I am hoping that the fact that he looks so strong meas that he is strong and that he can keep fighting. He is in the NICU with other babies that are tiny, he is by far the biggest and the sickest apparently.

Fairyfloss; I have to admit, I had a bit of a giggle at the "tit" I cant say I have heard of nipples being called that before either.. nice one:D

I got an SMS from Monique today, she is settling in well in Canberra and will be back on the hub in a few weeks as soon as the broadband gets connected.

Hair: Havent started losing any yet. But I know it is bound to happen soon...:(

mumstar: I hate vaccinations too.. its heartbreaking! I guess it is even worse when they are a bit older and know whats coming:no:

Alli: God luck with taking two shopping! I am fraught enough after taking a baby to the shops!
I agree with you about the disney stuff, I dont like it either

wattle
23-01-2007, 20:18
Mama Anne - nope, didn't even make a booking for the gd test. I couldn't deal with fasting overnight then sitting in the cruddy uncomfortable hospital waiting room for 3 hours and drinking that revolting drink and feeling awful.....all while breastfeeding. No way.

I'm sticking to a good diet at the moment (er um except for the KFC blowout yesterday.....oops, and the icecream with chocolate topping :o ) so I don't think I'd be putting my body under too much sugar stress anyway. I did have a few weeks of feeling a bit shakey after eating lots of sugar, but its eased off now.

I'm such a wimp, glad you are too...it makes me feel much better. :D I guess I'll get the test done one day. And I'll go to the dentist one day. And I'll get my car fixed one day. Gotta love the 'one day' list.

Poor Uniquey - she'll be going out of her mind without bubhub!

My hair hasn't fallen out this time. I lost handfulls last time though.

biscotti
23-01-2007, 20:41

biscotti
23-01-2007, 20:51
Hi, me back again, actually I never really left, I took you all with me (thanks to DH's laptop) - how did you like it? Bit gloomy eh :laughing:

Anyway, home again and in a good spirits :party:

Noosamum xx

Rach - my heart did a little flipflop when I saw Dean's pic. I couldn't post (best I could do was scroll that day) but I have my fingers crossed for him.

Keegans Mum
23-01-2007, 20:55
hi there
my name is Kristy and my son is Keegan he was born on 26.8.06 and i just wanted to chat with some mums with baby's around his age so i hope to chat with u all

mum_I'm_hungry
23-01-2007, 20:57
:wave: right back at you, noosamum! :D

Parisa, that is a hard one. All I can tell you is I know lots of mums who have had to try heaps of different styles of teats. Teddy wouldn't take a bottle either and we finally found he likes a slow flow teat (like newborns have) and he likes to hold the bottle himself. The holding it himself bit is key for him, for some reason.

Am a little less fraught now (funny that, kids are both in bed!). Now I know why I don't take them both to the shops. Yikes! Plus, Ivy is going through stroller refusal. What a waste of our Phil & Teds! Oh well, will have to move on to another stroller (have only been through about 500 so far...).

Bugger. Boy-o is crying...

amandaw
23-01-2007, 20:57
Hi NoosaMum....flowery today!

Jessi - saw your post in the meets area..can't do Monday...I'll be back at work :eek: A bit nervous, but DH is raring to go

Rachel - wow...he is a big boy - they're obviously feeling a bit more confident if they're talking about reducing the medication - hope there's more good news to follow!

:wave: everyone else

I was soooooooo sad when I started losing my hair....I loved pregnancy hair.....I've lost tonnes already (it's constantly in Charlottes fists) and am already at the frizzy grow-back stage (not a good look!)

Other than that...it's all a little too hot and poor Charlotte has a bit of heat rash...hopefully we survive tomorrow then it should all cool down a bit

mum_I'm_hungry
23-01-2007, 20:59
Hey Kristy :wave:.

Typing one-handed and feeding Teddy with the other...

amandaw
23-01-2007, 21:00
hi there
my name is Kristy and my son is Keegan he was born on 26.8.06 and i just wanted to chat with some mums with baby's around his age so i hope to chat with u all

So that makes Keegan one of the babies of the group! Welcome to the nuthouse Kristy:wave:

Keegans Mum
23-01-2007, 21:03
thanks i haven't done much of this dont really get time but Keegan is being a good boy tonight and is sleeping !!!:angel:

mumstar
23-01-2007, 21:08
Hi there Kristy glad you found the thread!!!

Noah was born on 21/8/06 also one of the babies, but he is my 2nd child so i feel i have a little bit of experience these days!!!

Welcome back noosamum! Been thinking bout you... hope everything went ok!

LP: it must be a good sign that they want to resuce meds right? Still he is in my thoughts and prayers!

be back soon Noah is squawking!!!

biscotti
23-01-2007, 21:32
then did 7-12 privately (at the same school as noosamum!). ........ We stood up when teachers entered the classroom etc.,

AlliJB - I know that this is from a few days ago, but...I had completely forgotten that... the standing up when teachers/sisters entered the room (was Sister Marianne still there when you were there).....your post made me remember other things too - the "Flower Show", the "white" uniforms (worn twice a year??!!??), sitting under Le Fanu (sp?) on the cold cold cement.....ah the good old days :laughing:

Keegan's Mum - :wave: welcome to the August thread!

Parisa - I have an entire collection of bottles and teats, in fact pretty much every one that has ever been manufactured lol (Avent, Tommee Tippee, Nuk, generic, Pigeon, etc etc ) - and Miss C hates them all so I can't help I'm sorry except to suggest a sippy cup/straw cup - Miss C will drink from one of those so worth a try? C has an Avent one - the non spill one that she will drink from reasonably happily.

Hi to Amanda, Mumstar and everyone else online or offline atm :) :)

noosamum xx

missie_mack
23-01-2007, 21:52
Hiya Noosa glad to see your back :wave:

Cyber hugs for LP. You have to stay positive for the bubba. A friend of mine use to work in the ICU section of maternity and said amazing miracles happen with positive thought and action....

jessi
23-01-2007, 22:02
amandaw - back to work?! Gosh, I couldnt even bare to think of it! How are you doing it?!

Hair falling out - YUP... mine is also. Damn it. Not in clumps, but the floor of my house has a nice cover of jess hair on it. I vacuume one day and the next, its almost as bad as right before I cleaned it up. Why do I bother? Ahwell, at least I know that if I go bald- I have a decent shaped head and can pull off a baldy look. (I think I have a couple of pics lying around of me with my Sinead O'Connor do somewhere... Should show you ladies!)

Keegans Mum- Welcome to the crew. Elsh was born on the 25th- only a day before your Keegan. Where abouts are you from? :)

Anyways ladies, off to bed. Im buggered. Talk soon!

mumstar
23-01-2007, 22:04
well noah is back in bed and aiden is jumping off the walls still!! its 9.00pm here... im gonna have to lay the law down soon though! I thinks its because DH is working away atm so he thinks he can get away with blue murder!!!

If i wasn't loosing my hair already i think i would be pulling it out!!!

mumstar
23-01-2007, 22:16
off to bed myself now... actually lying down next to aiden watching cars in the hopes he will go to sleep! but being on the computer is keeping him up!!! Good night all!

*munchkin*
23-01-2007, 22:38
Hi all...

Rach - my thoughts are with little Dean, willing him on to breath on his own. HE looks like such a sweetie. Hopefully he can pull through this with all the love he has surrounding him.

Keegan's Mum - Hi! Welcome to the August bubs thread.

Well, another sweltering day in BrisVegas...drip, drip...

Little Em spent most of the day at her cousin's house. My SIL was minding 2 older kids as well as 2 cousins, so Em got poked and prodded, cuddled and kissed all day. She just LOVES the older kids. They were all jumping on the couch making silly noises, and she laughed and laughed and laughed so hard and for so long that SIL and me were nearly crying laughing as well by the end. There's nothing as pure as a baby's laughter.

I spoke to ex-DP tonight about some serious stuff - doing up a will and who will take care of Em should something happen to me. Not nice to think of, but has been on my mind lately. Should I die, I want Em to be with my SIL and brother and their 3 kids so she can live in the same area and be with her cousins, but ex-DP said he might possibly want her to live with him. In Coober Pedy. Blergh. I feel absolutely rotten after talking to him. Really low. I haven't been like this since he left. I promised myself I wouldn't tell him anything, but it all came gushing out, and I told him what I thought. Strangely enough, he agreed with everything, even acknowledging that he is a father, not a Dad. He really has had some revelations since he's been gone.

Anyway, sorry for the vent and 'spilling my guts' on this lovely thread. Vent over.

G'night all you loverly ladies!

lottiesmum
24-01-2007, 07:15
welcome keegans mum - :wave:

munchkin - :hugs: . good job done tho? wills are important and murphys law will ensure you wont need it - having done it. ummm - do you hoping for a reconciliation with ex-dp? sorry if u have already talked about it, or if u dont want to talk about it for that matter.....

allijb- shopping with 2...generally :banghead: for me. i had fantasies about the P&T - walking around with my 2 calmly nestled in it. until DH pointed out that DD had refusedto get into a pram since she was 18mths! i have relied alot on the hugabub for DS but he's now 9kgs so rather heavy to carry for extended periods. have not found a new solution...good luck with ivy's new pram. how will you push 2 prams??

mumstar - hope you got aiden to bed...11pm. YIKES I couldnt stay up that late, let alone cope with a child at that hour!!! hope you got a sleep-in today.

Noosamum - hello! hope you are ok...:hugs:

no real news at our end. more of the same! raining here today so we'll be spending most of the day in the playroom. days like today i dont miss living in our tiny terrace in balmain!

*Country Bumpkin*
24-01-2007, 07:55
:gloomy: Tim told me to go again. I have no self confidence left I have no idea if Im coming or going.

We have been fighting constantly for the last 4 weeks and it keeps getting worse and worse as each day goes by. To top it all off- last night after he tol me to go and then asked me if I want to go out for dinner tonight:confused: I went to bed and he didnt come in so after about 30mins I came back out to check on him- I caught him red handed- he was going through my mobile.

How DARE he- he has just showed me that he dosnt trust me at all. Im so angry about that. I have NOTHING to hide so Im not worried its the fact that he thinks I do:(

I ned him to make some decisions but I constantly get I dunno allll the freaking time. Its I dunno this and I dunno that.

I want to leave

But Im stuck

I have nowhere to go

I gave up everything for him and this is what he does to his daughter and the one person he says he loves:crying:

jessi
24-01-2007, 08:30
Gosh... Drama Drama Drama. Perhpas you just need to leave. Tim might need for you to do this for him to realise what he really wants.
I know when Nat asked me to leave, it only took him a few days to realise he wanted me more than anything.

Anyways, I have a question for you all. Does anyone else's DH/DF/DP get a severe case of 'wandering hands' in the middle of the night?! Nat does. Its been diriving me crazy. We go to bed, and probably 3hours later, I am woken by hands being shoved down my pants and up my top. I try pushing him away, but hes so strong. I have to actually get OUT of bed and leave the room for him to leave me alone. He then goes back to sleep (although Im not sure he is actually awake when he does this) and then come back 5-10mins later. I hate that he does this- I often end up YELLING at him to leave me alone because I need sleep.

I got a cranky girl here with me today. She just wants me to be cuddling her all the time... Shes in her swing atm... letting out small cries every 30secs or so... shes half asleep though... Poor Bubba, must be starting to teeth or something.

*Country Bumpkin*
24-01-2007, 09:20
Jessi- I wish tim had wandering hands.. atleast i would know that he still had some sort of feeling towards me:(

MountainGirl
24-01-2007, 10:01
adele - Ok,...here are my thoughts on your situation,..... You guys are very young,....and had Skyla very early in your relationship,...there is nothing wrong with that,...but you may have not had enough time by yourselves in your relationship to get to really know each other,... Chill out a bit and give each other a bit of space,..... don't freak out every time he says/doesn't say something, forgets things....etc,.etc... infact,..leave him alone! It often works with men,.. the less you hassle them, the more they want to spend time with you,...... Yeah?

Alijb - Shopping with 2,...hmmm,...... I put all 11kg of Jasper in the babybjorn and chuck Scarlett into a shopping trolley with a cheese and bacon roll! She loves traffic directing in the trolley,.and is safe,.... and Jasper can lean on the trolley (he faces outwards in the BB) when he gets too heavy for me,.... Scarlett also likes to stack the shopping,..so all good! And 2 hands free for me! One for the large coffee I get at the first opportunity,...

Raining here also today,..Scarlett has gone shopping with my parents,..and Jasper is sleeping,... it is Mikes 40th tomorrow,..so I am wrapping prezzies,.and we are all going out to the local Vietnamese for dinner tonight,... cant wait to give him his prezzie,..I am more excited about it than he is,.I think!

MountainGirl
24-01-2007, 10:02
Oh yeah,...and Mike knows that if he had wandering hands I would chop them off!

*Country Bumpkin*
24-01-2007, 10:13
adele - Ok,...here are my thoughts on your situation,..... You guys are very young,....and had Skyla very early in your relationship,...there is nothing wrong with that,...but you may have not had enough time by yourselves in your relationship to get to really know each other,... Chill out a bit and give each other a bit of space,..... don't freak out every time he says/doesn't say something, forgets things....etc,.etc... infact,..leave him alone! It often works with men,.. the less you hassle them, the more they want to spend time with you,...... Yeah?

yeah easier said than done.. come live in my house for a week and see how **** you feel when you leave

I have tried everything including leaving him alone.

Hell ive left him alone for the last year now its time for things to change

Yes we had skyla early and NO i dont regret that. I love my daughter and tim loves his daughter. I also love tim but I dont think tim loves me

MountainGirl
24-01-2007, 10:16
Ok Adele,...whatever,.... I was just offering some thoughts,...

*Country Bumpkin*
24-01-2007, 10:44
Ok Adele,...whatever,.... I was just offering some thoughts,...

and all I did was respond:banghead:

Fairyfloss
24-01-2007, 10:52
Im sorry but I have to laugh at the tit comments:laughing: I have never heard anyone refer to a teat as a tit before- makes sense i suppose:laughing:
well the one I got seriuosly looks more like the former rather than the traditional teat, so I jockingly call them that, opps shopuld have been more careful:laughing:

Fairyfloss
24-01-2007, 10:56
I dont think tim loves me
he probably does, but just does not know how to show it, remember we are from different planets, perhaps take a short break away from him,( goto your mum's for a couple of days or something) that might make a differnce, mean while :hugs: hang in there

but then again

I ned him to make some decisions but I constantly get I dunno allll the freaking time. Its I dunno this and I dunno that.:crying:
since when it is his decision, to decide about your life?????? get a grip on girl it is your life, and you are skyla's voice too, think about what you want, and work towards that (I know you are inclining towards leaving), because even if you want to leave you want to leave on good terms, so skyla gets a chance to have a relationship with her daddy.
I do not envy your position, good luck