View Full Version : yucky poo!

borntobemummy
15-01-2007, 10:00
I had to scrape off and rinse 2 pooey liners this morning and the second one made me gag!! I really don't like that part, I'm think flushable liners might be the way to go. Are they any good? Where do you get them from for the best price?

Zada
15-01-2007, 10:01
:laughing: i think the only ones are from eenee site...theyre on other sites aswell but google eenee

borntobemummy
15-01-2007, 10:02
can you buy them at shops?

Zada
15-01-2007, 10:03
what town are u in and ill tell u

Zada
15-01-2007, 10:06
going by ure postcode are u in wagga wagga? if so Wagga Wagga – On Request Only - Healthy Life, 177 Baylis St, Wagga Wagga, NSW ph 02 6921 3998

sells them

borntobemummy
15-01-2007, 10:07
i'm not in wagga wagga lol!! I'm in Sydney:D Interesting that my postcode came up with that:laughing:

borntobemummy
15-01-2007, 10:07
what about Big W or a shop like that, do they have them?

HoopDeeDoo
15-01-2007, 10:10
you can get ones to bin, but I don't see the point.

Have you thought about getting a little squirt, then you don't need liners you just rinse it into the loo :yes:

15-01-2007, 10:11
Will you be putting the new bub in cloth ?

If so, your best bet is to purchase a 'little squirt' that hooks up to the toilet and it trigger sprays the poo's off.

For me, this has been a life saver. I can't recommend them enough especially when you get tired of the flushable liners and when you notice that majority of the time they will not 'catch' all the poo.

Emma : SNAP :D

CurlyG
15-01-2007, 10:29
Yeah I agree. I find the disposable liners are pretty hopeless and there's always poo on the nappy. Microfleece liners work really well. but again, you have to rinse the poo off the liner.
Apparently you can go to a plumbing store and get them really cheap, just ask for a "nappy sprayer". Otherwise, if you can't afford that, get a really good trigger spray nozzle for your outdoor hose and VOILA!

beeware
15-01-2007, 10:31
I saw some of the flushable liners at a baby shop in Westfield Hornsby. Maybe that's near you- the name of shop is Babies Galore. PH 9476 5866
Maybe phone first to check they are in stock. They were Natures Child brand.

Cheers!!

borntobemummy
15-01-2007, 10:32
thanks for that.. I'll look into the little squirt. I'd rather not spend much though cos I still haven't got enough nappies to go full time, I'm getting them slowly.

InSaneOne
15-01-2007, 10:51
i use the woolies homebrand liners - if they are pooey i toss them and if they were just peed on i wash them a couple of times until they start to fall apart but by then they have usually been pooped on by then.

the ususally manage to catch most of the poo depending on how well they were put on.

Zada
15-01-2007, 12:20
going by the site alot of health shops sell them

jade21887
15-01-2007, 13:13
I bought a little squirt at reece for $50.

HoopDeeDoo
15-01-2007, 13:38
flushable liners are an on going cost little squirt is a one off :thumbsup:

15-01-2007, 14:29
Ariene did her first "food poo" this morning... I fully freaked out :eek:
I always thought that I'd manage fine when this time comes, that I'd just continue rinsing in the trough, use flushable liners etc..

So I'm off to Reece for a Little Squirt ASAP :laughing:

borntobemummy
15-01-2007, 14:51
do you guys use liners at all? I have been using polar fleece cut to size, it seems really flimsy to be spraying water onto it kwim. Do you just have the nappy as it is with it's insert and spray the whole thing?

Zada
15-01-2007, 15:23
do you guys use liners at all? I have been using polar fleece cut to size, it seems really flimsy to be spraying water onto it kwim. Do you just have the nappy as it is with it's insert and spray the whole thing?

i dont have a little squirt. my bubs poo is like ummm "cookie dough" :laughing: so just rools off the liners into the loo:thumbsup: oh yea microfleece liners

SJE
15-01-2007, 15:24

Just crashing your thread - hope its OK:o

The disposable liners used in this household are about $3 for a box of 100. If there is a poo, the nappy disposal bags are turned inside out and used to pick up the solid parts of the poo (rather like you do with the dog). The nappy is washed as usual with powdered bleach on the hot cycle with an extra rinse.

My method is not the most sophisticated but it appears to be working for us ATM.
My pricing that included all possible running costs works out it costs about 3 cents per nappy.

HoopDeeDoo
15-01-2007, 17:36
With the little squirt

I don't use liners at all unless Noah needs cream on his bum. I use the homebrand disposable ones - but this is maybe one per week if that

I rinse, I put in the bucket as usual

I never use bleach or harsh chemicals, just Amolin sensitive, and I've never had a stain the sun didn't get rid of.

My LS cost $71 from bunnings, if I was using disposable liners I'd go through a box per week which ends up being $150 in a year. Lachlan alone will be in nappies for more than a year to come. Also no extra cost or rubbish in bags, or smelly poo in the bin

Pockets rinse off with no dramas, BBBs are a bit harder cause of the snap in inserts, but you just have to left and find all the little gaps :D

jade21887
15-01-2007, 17:44
So I'm off to Reece for a Little Squirt ASAP :laughing:

Callin advance, I had to get mine ordered in. Took 2 working days. Worth the wait for the savings!!

15-01-2007, 17:52
Callin advance, I had to get mine ordered in. Took 2 working days. Worth the wait for the savings!!

Oooo thanks for the tip :D :thumbsup:

borntobemummy
15-01-2007, 22:44

Just crashing your thread - hope its OK:o

The disposable liners used in this household are about $3 for a box of 100. If there is a poo, the nappy disposal bags are turned inside out and used to pick up the solid parts of the poo (rather like you do with the dog). The nappy is washed as usual with powdered bleach on the hot cycle with an extra rinse.

My method is not the most sophisticated but it appears to be working for us ATM.
My pricing that included all possible running costs works out it costs about 3 cents per nappy.

so these, you have to throw in the bin or can you flush them down the toilet?

As for the little squirt, it seems really complicated to install, how did everyone go installing it? And would it be easy to take off again? We're renting and looking at moving in the next few months.

HoopDeeDoo
16-01-2007, 06:00
We are renting. Not hard to install, you just have to make sure it's all nice and tight so no leaks :thumbsup:

susiehomemaker
16-01-2007, 22:53
So getting a little squirt next time..... DD mostly has the "cookie dough" poops (as discribed early lmao) and we use washable polarfleece liners. but there is still the occasional "Im going to barf at this peanut paste poop containing grapes/sultana's/oh god we fed her curry nappies" (lol- sorry! tmi) and it is these times that make me wish I had a little squirt!

CurlyG
16-01-2007, 23:19
"Im going to barf at this peanut paste poop containing grapes/sultana's/oh god we fed her curry nappies" (lol- sorry! tmi) and it is these times that make me wish I had a little squirt!

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
Curry + baby = :barf: nappy

LOL! DDs not old enough for those kinds of solids yet, but she should be used to them anyway because I virtually lived off curry during my pregnancy!

Also, how does the little squirt hold up to the peanut paste poos? I usually have to rub the liner against itself to get the poo off...

HoopDeeDoo
17-01-2007, 08:44
There is so much power in the little squirt you have to be careful about splash back :laughing:

Noah eats A LOT of fruit and vegetables, trust me it works brilliantly :thumbsup: And he has a few intollerences that make some really disgusting poos, so the little squirt has removed every type of poo just fine

CurlyG
17-01-2007, 09:36
There is so much power in the little squirt you have to be careful about splash back :laughing:

Ewwwww :laughing: Might have to invest in a heavy duty apron at the same time! :laughing:

HoopDeeDoo
17-01-2007, 10:58
:laughing: mostly water :D Just gentle with the squeezing till you get the hang of it :laughing:

Mor
17-01-2007, 13:23
I recommend microfleece liners for home, flushable ones for out and travel and the little squirt is great!

you can adjust the pressure on the little squirt. Try turning the nut on the back of the gun barrel, or turning down the water pressure at the wall tap to your toilet.

borntobemummy
17-01-2007, 14:58
DH showed me a new way to get rid of the poo.. it's pretty gross, but it works. hold the liner in the toilet and flush, so let the rushing water clean it off. It works really well and I've been doing that and washing my hands really well after. Don't know what to do about the spill over into the rest of the nappy though, I'm still rinsing it piece by piece (nappy parts, not poo:laughing: ) into the laundry sink, which is yuck cos the bucket is in the sink too:o

our little treasures
17-01-2007, 15:02
No way!! yuck yuck. I would buy the disposables, but then the little squirt is good too but as I am preggars anything sets me off!!