Pages : [1] 2

M O P
15-01-2007, 07:38 AM
Ok, well here is the new thread,
speak away! :ecomcity: :laughing:

Sandy
15-01-2007, 07:53 AM
Good morning everyone :wave:

Well to start this thread off with some good news, I will be 12 weeks this week! But still, after 2 m/c I will not relax until this child is born!

Have to tell the boss my news in my regular Monday morning meeting with him today (10am). I'm as nervous as hell about it and not sure why. I hate stressing people, and I know this will cause him some stress as my type of engineer are hard to find and he is busy enough as it is. Plus I will be asking for two years off :o

This weekend we are off to Parkes NSW for my grandfathers 80th birthday and so I will be able to tell people then. My cousin who lives in Tamworth will be there too and she just announced her 12 week pregnancy about a month ago so I ain't too far behind. This is her first so I will look like a heffa compared to her!

Hope everyone has a good day!

Sandy

Kirst
15-01-2007, 08:25 AM
Great news Sandy! Have a great time in Parkes with your family this weekend.

We told my family at Christmas, and it was awesome to have everyone there rather than calling them all individually.

So, do we have any more good news?

I'm 9.5 weeks today (or there abouts). Have to get my bloods done this week for my NT scan.

Sandy
15-01-2007, 08:31 AM
Kirst, thanks for your post. Parkes is going to be in the high 30 degrees but luckily our hotel has a pool! We went to the coast yesterday for the day to escape the heat in Canberra at the moment.

With the NT blood test, when are you supposed to have it? I was told by my oby to have it after my u/s at 12wks and 4 days. Have I missed the boat on this one? :confused:

Kirst
15-01-2007, 08:37 AM
I'm having the actaul u/s on the 31st (12 weeks), but they need bloods from week 10 I believe.

Edit: I am reading the pamphlet now.

It says blood test at 'around 12 weeks' and the u/s at 'approximately 11-13 weeks'.

jcb
15-01-2007, 08:50 AM
Morning Girls:wave:

Wow there is a lot of post for me to catch up on...I am sorry if I am leaving anyone out as there is heaps to still read....

Bigglet- :fingerscrossed: you get great news today....Good luck I am thinking of you....

Len- where are you getting your NT scan done....I am having a scan on Thursday at George Street....I wonder if they do the scans there aswell .....As I will have to go for one since the Hospital doesn't do them...

Hope everyone else is going well....And this new thread gives you all a better vibe.....

Sandy
15-01-2007, 08:56 AM
Thanks Kirst!! I'm stressing about the NT scan because I will be 35 on Wednesday and that puts you into a higher risk group. I know, I am not being rational but I can't help it!

M O P
15-01-2007, 09:02 AM
We have my mother's 50th this weekend. We're still not telling everyone as the party's Sun and n/s Mon. So just waiting for those results first.
Angus seems to think people will pick I'm preg- I'll be 12 weeks, it's my 2nd so I too am popping out Sandy! But my guess is no one will suspect as Hugh will be only 7 months, they'll just think I'm doing a terrible job at losing my post preg flab! :rolleyes:

I'm having my blood test straight after n/s all going to plan. Last time I had it half way through as Hugh wouldn't move. It took 3 and a half hours!! So half way through they said go have your bloods done will we actually see someone else. :fingerscrossed: Next one will be quicker. My parents and bro/s-i-l will be in Adel for a few days so we'll drop Hugh off in their motel room for his morning sleep while we're at the appt. Works out very well and now he's been having formula top ups they will be able to give him a bottle if we're not back when he wakes.

wow :ecomcity:

Sandy
15-01-2007, 09:43 AM
I just told my boss and he looked really happy! I knew my fears were unfounded! Silly me!

niesl_bug
15-01-2007, 09:57 AM
Sandy - glad your boss took the news well! Mine was very happy for me but said "what are we going to do without you?". I am not returning to work so they are pretty sad about it.

More conflicting info! My Ob told me to have my nuchial blood test at 10 weeks (which I was on Saturday, having test tomorrow) and my nuchial u/s at 12 weeks (which I've booked in for 12W and 2D). When I booked this they told me to have the blood test before the u/s :confused:

Any more news from Bigglet? I really hope she is OK.

M/S has been quite bad since Thursday - hopefully it will settle soon. Not much is staying down and I can only eat bread or potatoes.

Have a great day gals :)

2princesses1prince
15-01-2007, 10:03 AM
Well I'm now 11.5 weeks and m/s has started to subside. Still have nausea, but at least i'm not :barf: everyday.

Hoping for good news for you biglet.

Had my first hospital appointment, and because of my weight I have to go to a different hospital (KEMH) but I can share care at the hospital close to us.

Hope everyone else is keeping well

shorty_851
15-01-2007, 10:10 AM
Good morning everyone

Sandy that is great you have hit the 12w mark only 2 weeks tog o for me yeah yeah yeah.

The only time i get sick now is if i eat fish and chips but i can eat mc donalds chips.

How is everyone feeling today

Sandy
15-01-2007, 10:20 AM
I have been driving DH mad with my eating at the moment. Twice now I have said that I want KFC for dinner. I love the cricket and all the KFC advertising is getting to me! So I insist on the "lunchbox" and then don't eat it but for a small chips. Last night he made fish and prawn cutlets. Nope. I ate two bites, the lemon and then asked to be excused from the table. I live on stone fruit at the moment. Not sure what I will do when Autumn rolls around! Get into oranges I guess!

shorty_851
15-01-2007, 10:23 AM
Thats the same as me i was living on stone fruit nothing seems to make me want anything.

I want something then i get it and change my mind again

Secretive
15-01-2007, 10:33 AM
Hi guys!
Well I'm 8 weeks today. My acupuncturist had a cancellation so providing DF gets back from his meeting in time (to give me the car and to look after DD) I should be feeling normal again after 4pm! I'm excited...I just really hope DF makes it back in time. His meeting was starting at 8.30am so he should be.
I've been feeling ok...really weak feeling but the nausea isn't as bad as long as I keep eating. I went wedding dress shopping on Saturday and was out all day. I was a little sick before lunch but afterwards I was fine. I got my dress too so yah for that! It was a couple of sizes too big so I'll just go back in 2 weeks before the wedding and they'll alter it to fit...no worries about it being too small.
I still don't look any different. I hate the first tri! I really want to look pg...well I just want the m/s to be over and to be able to feel the baby! I hate that stage where you just look fat and not pg!
My biggest food adversion is bread...I can eat toast but not bread. It makes lunchtime fun. DD is allergic to dairy, eggs and nuts so I can't eat anything that contains those either.
Bigglet I have everything crossed for you today. I hope everything is ok!

ETsMum
15-01-2007, 10:39 AM
Thanks Kazza for starting the new thread! Champ!!

jcb - I'm going to QDI near the medical centre/chemist etc on Boardman & Anzac. They said they don't do the NT at George St. I thought you meant George in Bris for a while there.. silly me!

I am a bit worried that I'll be too early. I will be 13wks exactly on paper that day, but I really only think I will be 11+1wks. Oh well. Does anyone know if you have to pay for two scans cause the first one was too early?

Sandy - you must be so relieved that your meeting with the boss went so well. Happy Birthday for Wed. I'll say it now cause I will prob forget on Wed. I'll be too distracted with my scan and hopefully telling the world that I am up the duff!!

Isn't it crazy with the conflicting advice...:eek: at least you can just take the bits that you like the sound of and ignore the rest. With the NT scan, I was told bloods before the scan - from 10 wks. I had mine on Fri and I tell you I won't be getting it done again if it was too early! They also said on top of all the water you have to drink, also have some orange juice or something else sweet to drink half an hour before to "wake" up the bub.

:fingerscrossed: for Bigglet

:wave: Hi to Kirst, Mumtotwins, niesl_bug, shorty. and anyone else here! ... hhmmmm... that is a bit cheeky of me! :p

chicken
15-01-2007, 10:49 AM
Good morning all.

Bigglet - hope everything is OK with you.

I'm stressing about the NT scan because I will be 35 on Wednesday and that puts you into a higher risk group. happybirthday

Sandy, its my birthday on Wed too!!! - I'll be the big 34!!! Spooky.

I'm off to my first appointment with my OB in about an hour. Have been told they will do a scan, so really looking forward to the first peek at bubs, seeing that I didn't have an early U/S. Heard the heartbeat only a few days ago with a doppler, so hopefully all goes well. I'll tell you about it when I get back.

Hope everyone else is well, and yey for all those coming up to the magic 12 week mark.:smiliedance:

M O P
15-01-2007, 10:57 AM
Thanks Kazza for starting the new thread! Champ!!

it was pretty easy!:)

Crazy Monkey
15-01-2007, 10:59 AM
So much to catch up on...

Bigglet... fingers crossed everything is OK...

Happy birthday for Wednesday Sandy and Chicken... hope its a great day for you both...

No change here... The change in iron tablets has made the world of difference, no constant nausea, just a bit off if I'm hungry - nothing that a snack doesn't fix... I'm loving watermelon and really cold fruit at the moment... a bit of chocolate, which I guess is a good thing...

Can't wait for the 31st to have the ultrasound... :p

Anyway, hope everyone is doing well...

Sandy
15-01-2007, 11:04 AM
Good morning all.

Bigglet - hope everything is OK with you.

Sandy, its my birthday on Wed too!!! - I'll be the big 34!!! Spooky.

That is freaky Chicken!! Even though we seem a big group we are indeed small and to share a birthday? Wow! What are the odds???

Well, an early happy birthday to you too!! happybirthday :party:

starlight
15-01-2007, 11:19 AM
Hi everyone!!

Great news about your boss Sandy.

Hey chicken, I have my 1st appoint with my OB today too!! Very excited, I am pretty sure I will get a scan, can't wait!

Tan-mumof3
15-01-2007, 11:35 AM
Yay a new LUCKY Thread.
Happybirthday for wednesday Chicken & Sandy.
:fingerscrossed: & goodluck today bigglet hope all is well.
Great news about your boss taking it well Sandy you must feel so relieved now you have told him.
Not much to report here im 8 weeks & 4 days today and still feeling nauseas and exhausted but slowly getting better.
Hi to anyone else i missed and hope you are all well.

bec77
15-01-2007, 11:45 AM
Hey everyone, :fingerscrossed: that the new thread brings lots of good luck to all.
Bigglet, am thinking of you, hope all turns out well.
I am also 11.5 weeks and am having on and off again spotting that seems to be getting heavier, as well as a few niggly pains in my belly which i can not decide if they are "growing" pains or cramps.
There is not much but enough to be giving me heartattacks!!
Not sure if I am being over the top but I am terrified of another miscarriage, and especially this close to the "12 week" mark where you start to feel better about things going ok.
Have an appointment tomorrow at the royal womens hosp, they have a clinic for problems in early pregnancy, they do bloods and u/s and give you the answers on the spot soyou know then and there if there are issues or not.
Am terrified but also excited because i think that if it is good news at least i can go on with enjoying being pregnant and not worry about the bleeding (and get to se bubs on the screen),but am scared because deep down i think that it may not be ok, because i never bleed with ds, but then i read some of the miracle stories on here and have hope.
nyway just rabbiting on is making me feel a bit more positive, so:fingerscrossed: all goes well and i can keep enjoying this journey with you ladies!!!

niesl_bug
15-01-2007, 11:46 AM
Hi Bec77
I agree with you about the new thread!

I hope all goes well tomorrow - i am sure you will be fine. Please let us know as soon as you have any news.

Take care gals xx

M O P
15-01-2007, 11:59 AM
Bec, have everything crossed for you too!
I can completely understand why you would be freaking out but I have a magazine story here somewhere explaining lots of bleeding can happen in the first trimester and it doesn't necessarily mean the worst.
Good luck!

OverTheMoon
15-01-2007, 12:11 PM
Yay! So happy about new lucky thread too!

Bigglet and bec - :fingerscrossed: for you both :hugs:
Sandy - glad your news went down well. I have a new boss starting this term, don't know who it is yet, and my pg wasn't confirmed at end of last year, so I hope he takes it as well as your boss did. I have to tell the girl i'm job sharing with when i meet up with her tomorrow. She knows we were on IVF, so i'm sure she will be happy for us.

Haven't been on for a few days - DH sucks all my concentration levels out of me when he's off work over the weekend! Whilst being very lovely, he is like a child and can't cope when my attention is not on him - hmmm wonder what it will be like come late August!!

I was feeling really good yesterday morning, at just over 9 weeks, thinking "Wow, this is getting good!", but, had a craving for fish and chips last night, and my tummy didn't really want it in there, so had my second, third and fourth :barf: . It was so gross. I hate being sick. Feel so sorry for those of you who have it all the time.

Other than that, all going well, in the process of repainting an old chest of drawers and lil table for the nursery. Well, i'm not, DH is, i just hold my breath and look at how lovely it's coming up! Ob appt is next Monday, can't wait!

bec77
15-01-2007, 12:32 PM
thanks, am trying my best to keep positive, good to hear about that magazine article, will let you all know tomorrow how it goes

AngelGirl
15-01-2007, 12:52 PM
Sandy - glad to hear he took it well. See, nothing to worry about hey!!

Not much is staying down and I can only eat bread or potatoes.

Same here Tara - The only thing I really feel like eating is anything starchy, like potatoes, bread pasta....

Secretive - Yay how exciting that you bought your wedding dress! When are you getting married??

Other than that, all going well, in the process of repainting an old chest of drawers and lil table for the nursery. Well, i'm not, DH is, i just hold my breath and look at how lovely it's coming up! Ob appt is next Monday, can't wait!

Be careful with those paint fumes!!

Bec77 and Bigglet - Thinking of you both. Please let us know how you go. xxx

As every week passes we acheive another milestone and I just want to say congrats to us all. Not long now till that magical 12.

I feel like I'm missing out not having the NT scan at 12 weeks but if we're not going to act on the results, I guess there's no point. Would have been good to see another pic of the bubba though!

livismum
15-01-2007, 02:20 PM

First off:
:fingerscrossed: for both Bigglet and Bec77. Please let us know how you go.

Sandy I'm glad you're boss took your news well, it does make a difference when they are 100% supportive and positive.

Well where should I start with myself. I have been quite sick. Every morning and then again half hour before dinner. I feel nauseas all day everyday and nothing seems to fix it.

I too have cravings then when I eat the food, it wasn't what I really wanted afterall.
What is it with our bodies when we're pg...:thumbsdown:

I have also been extremely tired. I am sleeping nearly everyday when DD does, which is why I haven't been on here for a while.

Anyway enough complaining and whinging. Hope everyone is keeping well.

chicken
15-01-2007, 03:10 PM
Sandy - I'm also worried about telling work. I'm sure it will be fine, but you know that you are causing major disruption. I'm trying to hold off as long as possible - will let my belly determine timing.

Bec77 - thinking of you. I hope it all goes well tomorrow.

Well, I've just got back from my first visit with my OB, and it was probably one of the best experiences of my life.

Firstly, she was amazing and I'm so glad I chose her. Everyone that raved about Glenda McLaren on Bubhub was right - she has such a great way about her. For a total stress-bunny like myself, she made me so relaxed and confident, and seemed genuinely excited about our baby.

Then I had an u/s (my first chance to see bubs so far). I was thinking it was going to be an internal one, as they hadn't asked me to drink anything beforehand, but it wasn't. And almost straight away, we saw bubs. She was pointing out a leg in the air, a hand over the face, the heart beating, the umbilical cord, etc. What a truly amazing thing.

She said he/she looked perfectly formed and the heartbeat at 170 was great. According to the baby's size, it put me at 11wks 4 days. I told her I was pretty confident of my dates as I know when I O'd (which would make me 11 wks today). She asked whether DH was tall. I said he was 5ft11. She said we may be having a tall baby! I'm so relieved. I'd much rather them say I was further along than I thought than the other way round.

And, unlike my GP who said the baby was sitting very low in my pelvis, she said the baby was in a very normal position. I got printouts to give DH when I get home. And now I can't wait to have another go at the Nuchal scan next week, which she said we should get a DVD at. What a great day and a great birthday present.

bigglet
15-01-2007, 03:15 PM

Well I hate to be the first in this thread with the bearer of bad news but I guess you all are wondering what happened....

Had my u/s this morning and it was hard to see my uterus (apparently it is long or reversed - just some people have it in strange positions) so they had to do an internal u/s and from the gestational sac they said it looked like I was only 6 weeks and not 11 weeks! Well I know I'm 11 weeks, my dates aren't wrong and there was no heartbeat so the docs (2 saw me) said that most likely what had happened was that the foetus grew until 6 weeks and then stopped - we don't know what happened. My HCG levels are 12,444 which is extremely low if I'm supposed to be 11 weeks.

So..... basically I have another u/s next week and if nothing has changed (no growth and no heartbeat) then I guess they call it a "failed pregnancy" and they mentioned something about a D&C.
I'm a little sad of course but if it wasn't meant to be then of course nature has taken its course. I do hope that I can conceive again soon because I did want to have another bub close in age to my little girl.

I better not hang around this area too much anymore because I really don't want to bring any more bad luck to this group!

Do take care of yourselves everyone!!! Thanks for all your support!! :hugs:

Sandy
15-01-2007, 03:28 PM
First up Bigglet. I am so sorry to hear your news but you know, you are totally right. This just wasn't the right time and your body does this for a reason and the good news is that you obviously don't have a problem concieving which seems to be the battle for most. You'll be pregnant again soon for sure!

Chicken - that was the most positive and happy post that I read so far. You sound so thrilled and I am just so pleased for you. Your baby sounds soooo cute. With height, I am 174cm (5'8" so on the tall side) and DH is 6'2" so we and oby thought, yep tall kid on the way. DD was 51cm long when born, that is average, but is the tallest kid now. The community nurse who does the vaccinations said that Kate will probably be 179cm. Can't recall the age but its around the 2 year mark and they triple the height reading and can give you an estimate of final height. Pretty cool.

shorty_851
15-01-2007, 03:34 PM
Bigglet - I'm sorry to hear that. I do know how you feel. I have been there and yes i was told that in the end i was fine but i know how you feel with being told there was no heart beat etc. I have been through that with this little fighter.

In the end it was found that i was a fair few weeks not as far along as we thought and i too thought my dates were spot on.

It has been said that they dont see a heart beat until 6-7 weeks. I dont want to give false hiope or anything but i tell you as i tell everyone else in this situation not to give up until the fat doctor sings.

Tingles
15-01-2007, 03:59 PM
Bigglet sorry to hear your news. Have been following your story & thinking of you.

Have been where you are - 'no h/b'... not something you want to hear, and hopefully will never again.

D&C will leave your insides all fresh, ready to accept your little one next time.

*hug*:hugs:

niesl_bug
15-01-2007, 04:00 PM
Bigglet - I am sooooooooo sorry for what you are going through. I had a scan at 6.5 weeks and no heartbeat either, but they got a heartbeat at 8 weeks so hopefully this is the case for you too.

Remember that we are your support network here and sending you lots of love, strength and support during this tough time :hugs:

niesl_bug
15-01-2007, 04:04 PM
Does anyone else have the measurements of bub at the moment? Just prior to our 10 week mark our little peanut was 16mm - but from the books, etc I have read he/she should be a bit bigger than this? I didn't read this until after Ob appointment - Ob never mentioned anything and said all was good, I was just curious to see if you guys had measurements? I am 5'6" and DH is 6' so I guess we are kind of average in height?

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:09 PM
Bigglet - I'm so sorry. What a terrible thing to go through. You really do seem to be taking it all rather well? I suppose its the best way to be, and to look forward now. I hope you're back in another 'due in' thread soon.

Sandy, I'm a bit taller than average too, so I suppose it makes sense to have a taller than average baby. I don't mind if its a long and skinny baby, but don't fancy giving birth to a baby that's big the other way (ie wide!).

I guess it will just be interesting to see whether those sizings change over the course of the next couple of u/s.

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:10 PM
does anyone know how to delete these duplicate posts?

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:11 PM
sorry everyone

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:13 PM
and again...

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:14 PM
and another...

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:14 PM
oops

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:16 PM
and again...

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:16 PM
oops

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:19 PM
and again...

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:22 PM
Oops - don't know what happened there!

Sandy
15-01-2007, 04:25 PM
Chicken - We sound so similar on everything. Must be the star sign :) As for size, you want a small head :thumbsup:

Tara - At 9w 5d my bubs was 2.1cm which seemed bigger than everyone's at the time :confused:

chicken
15-01-2007, 04:28 PM
Chicken - We sound so similar on everything. Must be the star sign :) As for size, you want a small head :thumbsup:

Yes, we do. Who knows, we may deliver on the same day!!

bigglet
15-01-2007, 04:29 PM
Wow chicken - you kinda repeated yourself a bit there! :D

I know I didn't get my dates wrong only because as my husband put it to the doctor "it's been 11 weeks since..." when the doctor asked whether we could be incorrect in our dates....
So I guess this is why I'm not holding much hope - plus the fact that I've just soaked through another pad and through my pants - looks like I'm bleeding very heavy now :(

Don't worry - some things just aren't meant to be and even though I am sad and feel worse inside I do have a lot more respect for pregnancy - and the whole birth process.

jcb
15-01-2007, 04:30 PM
Bigglet- I am so sorry sweetie :hugs::hugs:...Hope everything goes smoothly for you....

Len- For your NT scan where did you get your referal from...is it from the hospital or your GP.....

Sandy
15-01-2007, 04:41 PM
Bigglet, you sound so strong. You will get through this girl and pop out the other side a mum to two kids in no time.

I watched a year or two ago this awesome documentary on conception and pregnancy. It was on the ABC or Discovery Channel, can't recall, but the footage was award winning. The show gave me such a huge appreciation for just how hard it is for the body to get EVERYTHING right to make that perfect baby. It helped me get though my 2 m/c greatly. I honestly didn't realise just how hard conception is. The conditions for the sperm alone to penetrate an egg with a surface like raw hide, have to be PERFECT. It was mind blowing. Not sure if anyone else saw this...

But miscarrying sucks and I wouldn't wish it upon my worst enemy. As Tara said, we are all here to offer our love and support Bigglet :hugs: .

Tingles
15-01-2007, 04:46 PM
So I guess this is why I'm not holding much hope - plus the fact that I've just soaked through another pad and through my pants - looks like I'm bleeding very heavy now :(

Bigglet - are you comfortable at home? Do you think you need to go to hospital... You will know if you need to go... when I lost my bubba (17weeks) - I was loosing blood like you at a rapid rate - I was walking around feeling abit 'woozy' in the head - I ended up calling for an ambulance, as I knew we could not cope with that amount of blood - not even with towels - it is definatley an ambulance case - please use them if you need to! Are you in physical pain?

whatwasithinking
15-01-2007, 04:48 PM
Bigglet - I am truly sorry to hear your news. May the love of your family and your strength get you through this difficult time.
:hugs: and :kiss: .
We are here for you always.

To everyone else - Hello. All is well at the moment - still have sickness - probably will have neucal scan at the end of this week. Nothing else to report.

Talk to you all soon.

Sandy
15-01-2007, 04:59 PM
I was the same with my first miscarriage. Even at 9 weeks I was stunned at the blood and the cramping (like labour). It peaked too in the middle of the night like real labour and I passed my biggest clots then. Horrible but that is how it is :gloomy: . After that, it went like a normal period and I was back to my normal cycles immediately. Pregnant again in 3 months without TTC. I had an u/s and my body had efficiently cleaned out everything so I was lucky to avoid an D & C. The whole thing is just so darn awful. Bigglet, just know that a few of us have been there and can share your pain.

littledawson
15-01-2007, 05:14 PM
:wave: Hi Everyone

I'm very new to all this with my first due 11th August. I've found this forum to be very useful and thankyou to everyone who are so willing to share their stories. Just really wanted to say hi whilst i have a look at some other posts.

littledawson
15-01-2007, 05:28 PM
Hi again

I'm so sorry Bigglet to hear the bad news. I hope you are ok, Well as good as you can be. Good luck in the future.

Tan-mumof3
15-01-2007, 05:30 PM
Bigglet so sorry for your sad news.

Tingles
15-01-2007, 05:32 PM
:wave: Hi littledawson - sometimes we all have toooo much to say! Are you having a good pregnancy so far? Morning sickness?

Hope everyone is plodding along... :)

I am feeling sick most of the time, and when I'm not, I'm worried that I'm not... can't win.

Told my manager today that I was pg - apparently another staff member already had :eek: cannot believe that!

Cravings? Yeah I'm on the stone fruit too & water melon & cantelope. Potatoes with olive oil & vinegar... yesterday linguini Marinara (at a resturant), then I had to make it for dinner too... and yet I always stayed clear of 'marinara mix' whilst pg - 'just in case'.

Anyway I better go, must eat, must eat!

niesl_bug
15-01-2007, 05:34 PM
Welcome LittleDawson :wave:

We are due on the same day :thumbsup:

littledawson
15-01-2007, 05:45 PM
Hi Tingles & Niesl_bug. How exciting due on the same day. It will be interesting to see the difference at delivery.

So far i've had smooth sailing. I havent been sick yet but have had nausea on two occassions. I've been very lucky by the sounds of things.

Just curious if anyone on here is from the Gold coast. I'm still trying to find a specialist dr to work with. If anyone has any suggestions.

OverTheMoon
15-01-2007, 05:54 PM
:hugs: bigglet. so sorry for your sad news.

:wave: littledawson and welcome to our corner of the world.

littledawson
15-01-2007, 06:04 PM
Hi and thankyou for the welcome. Its good to say everyone can still be nice an polite especially with all the hormones running wild:laughing:

Secretive
15-01-2007, 07:12 PM
Bigglet I'm so sorry to hear about your news :hugs (news:hugs): I was really hoping that it was going to be good news. (I don't know why the first news is like that either?)

Welcome littledawson!

I just wanted to say that I had acupuncture this afternoon and damn I feel good!!!! I feel normal, 100%! I totally recommend it.

After reading everyone's measurements of their bubs I went and looked at DD's nuchal scan to see what she was measuring. I was 13 1/2 weeks and she was 11.9cm. She came out 56.5cm long so she was a longie from the start! :laughing: DF and I are both average height (I'm 5'8", he's about 5'10") and DD is only little now. I've been told by many doctors that life was better in than out for her (she was 9lb 1oz too!) :laughing:

I can't remember who asked now but I get married on the 25th March. DF proposed to me in Nov and it's our 9th anniversary together. We're having a ceremony followed by a party, not a reception. Very casual affair...it's just time we got around to it!

Well going to go get some things done around the house.

Crazy Monkey
15-01-2007, 07:24 PM
Bigglet, I'm so sorry to hear your news... I believe these things happen for a reason... :hugs: to you and your family...

LittleDawson, I'm also due on the 11th August... Welcome and congratulations...

Kirst
15-01-2007, 10:22 PM
Big :hugs: to you Bigglet. Please don't wait at home if the bleeding gets heavy. We all care about you, and wish only the best for you.

Chicken, as far as size is concerned, it's funny. They told me DD was going to be born a week early based on her size, and she ended up being induced a week late. I am about 5'7" and DH is about 6'5". She was born 51cm and 3.7kgs (pretty ave), but is now HUGE!!!!

She has just turned 2 and is the size of an average 3 year old. So, although your bub may be big, it doesn't necessarliy mena that he/she will be big at birth....might just be in later life.

Good luck with it though. Great news.

AngelGirl
16-01-2007, 07:30 AM
Bigglet - I'm so sorry to hear this is happening to you but you sound like a strong woman and you'll pull through this. Sending you lots of :hugs: . Please take care of yourself. xxxx

Little Dawson - welcome to our thread!

[quote=Secretive;1000224]
I can't remember who asked now but I get married on the 25th March. DF proposed to me in Nov and it's our 9th anniversary together. We're having a ceremony followed by a party, not a reception. Very casual affair...it's just time we got around to it! quote]

T'was me! March is a great time to get married, our first wedding anniversary is coming up on 11th March (we got married on our 9th year anniversary too!). Can't believe 1 year has passed by so quickly!

Hope everyone else is well today.

M O P
16-01-2007, 07:43 AM
They told me DD was going to be born a week early based on her size, and she ended up being induced a week late. I am about 5'7" and DH is about 6'5". She was born 51cm and 3.7kgs (pretty ave), but is now HUGE!!!!

your daughter was born pretty much the same size as Hugh. He was a week late and measured 50.5cm and weighed 3.39kg so yes pretty ave. His birth weight was on the 50 percentile line and has been on that line the whole way. Angus and I are both ave height, prob both need to lose a few kilos though!
At 9weeks and a 4 days our new baby was 2.85cm. Be interesting to see how long they will be at n/s next week.

We did the ring test last night and it was definately a boy round and round motion.
Off to see a Chinese lunar chart next.
Funny for a couple who won't find out the sex at 20 week scan!

Sandy
16-01-2007, 07:50 AM
:wave: Littledawson. Welcome to our friendly little board.

DD was 51cm long and she weighed 3.5kg so average. I was a 9 pounder baby and DH a 10 pounder so everyone had me down for a big big baby.

In the end, an average baby with an average head (can't recall the diameter now) but now she too is in size 4 clothes and 3 years old. Slim, tall child.

I am so curious as to how this baby will turn out.

Listening on commercial radio this morning, they were talking about pregnancy brain. I have it bad. I have missed two of DD friends birthday parties in the past month. Turned up the following day on both occassions :o but apparently Birthing & Pregnancy magazine have an article on it this month. Now the editor of the mag was saying, and I don't how true it is, but HCG levels are higher for mum's with baby girls and lower for boys. At what "week" I am not sure. They didn't say.

Took photo of belly this morning before breakfast. Will download and see how decent it is...

Tan-mumof3
16-01-2007, 10:48 AM
Hi sorry littledawson i forgot to welcome you, so :wave: & welcome hope you enjoy it here and have a wonderful pregnancy and birth.

Sandy i have the pregnancy & birth mag and it doesn't actually say which week it is higher. It says "women who went on to have girls perforfed worse at tasks involving listening, computational & visualisation skills." according to a study they did.
It says that "hcg may interrupt the working of the hippocampus, the part of the brain that makes new memories, which may be partly to blame for pregnant women feeling they have a memory like a sieve."

It's nice to know that there is an actual reason for pg brain and we aren't just making it up.
Maybe im having a girl cos typing that was really hard lol.
It is actually a really interesting article, worth a read if you can get the magazine.

ETsMum
16-01-2007, 10:51 AM
Bigglet - sending you big :hugs: .

Little Dawson - Welcome. What a cute name. Tell your hubby I think he is very clever!! :D

I'm thinking of calling my bub "ducky" for now.

Does anyone else have the measurements of bub at the moment?

My book says some docs measure head to feet and some measure head to bum, so maybe you need to check which they are doing if you are concerned about the length.

Len- For your NT scan where did you get your referal from...is it from the hospital or your GP.....

GP

Sandy
16-01-2007, 10:55 AM
Tanya - Thanks for posting that!

Len - Mine measured head to bum (2.1cm). Thanks for the info cause I thought that they all did head to bum.

littledawson
16-01-2007, 04:32 PM
Hi everyone :wave: thankyou for all your welcomes. I feel so loved

Hey Len my husband thinks he is pretty clever too i thought it was pretty cute.

Hope everyone is well today and enjoying themselves.

bec77
16-01-2007, 05:18 PM

Bigglett, i am so sorry about your loss, i know exactly how you feel.:gloomy: :gloomy:

I too have bad news to share, sorry to send this lucky thread theory down the toilet!!

I went and had my scan and there was no heart beat, i was meant to be 11.4 weeks and bub only measured at 7.5 and there was no sign of the h/b., which meant that bub had stopped growing around xmas eve which is when i had my first spots of blood.

Unfortunately because it is an incomplete miscarriage they have booked me in for a curette for tomorrow morning, am terrified of being put to sleep and have lots of silly questions running through my mind, like (sorry tmi) do you wear underwear and a pad into theatre and if not how do you stop blood etc, and do they put underwear and pad on you afterwards to contain bleeding, i know silly questions but ones that are really worrying me.:confused:

Not really sure how i am feeling, i think in shock still, 2 miscarriages in a space of 6 months is a lot to handle, the docs have said that we can try again as soon as a normal period comes, but now i am terrified that i am prone to lose the bubs and don't know if i could go through it a third time.

I wish the rest of you the best of luck and will drop back in now and then to see how you are all going, especially in Aug when i can see how all the bubs have come along:party:

ETsMum
16-01-2007, 05:22 PM
Oh Bec :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: That is so sad. Sorry I can't help you with your questions. Stay strong and remember we are sending comforting thoughts your way!

ETsMum
16-01-2007, 05:23 PM
I've suddenly become scared of my scan tomorrow....

littledawson
16-01-2007, 05:27 PM
:hugs: Hi Bec Wish you all the best in the future and try to stay positive (if possible). I'm really sorry and take care.

niesl_bug
16-01-2007, 05:27 PM
Oh Bec I am sooooooooooooo sorry for your loss. I'm afraid I can't help with any advice but I am sure there are lots of other threads on BH that could help?

Sending you much love, strength and support and remember that we are all here for you :hugs:

I had my nuchial BT today and have the scan in just under 2 weeks. I too am getting worried as there has been so much tragic news for us August ladies :crying:

Take care everyone xxx

M O P
16-01-2007, 05:34 PM
Bec I'm sending you loads of hugs, I'm so sorry.
I think they'll prob put you in a hosp gown, no underwear.
Take good care of yourself and take it easy for a while.

Tan-mumof3
16-01-2007, 05:35 PM
Bec :hugs: to you so sorry for your loss. Don't know the answers to your questions sorry, but you could ring and ask them before you go in.

When i had my scan last week my bubs measured 1.1cm from head to bum i was according to the scan 7 weeks 3 days but according to lmp 7 weeks 6 days.

jamb
16-01-2007, 05:49 PM
:hugs: bec, sent you a pm

Kimee
16-01-2007, 06:38 PM
I'm so sorry for your sad news Bec

The curette sounds scary but its a really quick and painless procedure. Try not to worry as you've been through enough already. This is what happened to me:

I was sent in with just a gown on. I was then given a needle to put me to sleep (happend so quickly!) and when I woke up there was already a pad in there. After a while, a nurse helped me to my feet so I could get dressed again and put underwear on then (in private) I was still quite groggy and wobbly.
You get to relax in bed for a while and have a cup of water. I think after half an hour I got moved to a recliner with a heatpack on my tum and was offered sandwiches, biscuits, tea and coffee. when you're done you are transported to your car in a wheelchair.

Afterwards you may feel cramping. I used a heat pack and panadeine.

Hope this info will help. Ask as many questions as you need even if you think they seem silly because it will reassure you. All the best for tomorrow sweety:hugs:

Crazy Monkey
16-01-2007, 07:04 PM
Bec... Sorry to hear about your loss... Sending you lots of hugs...:hugs:

Len, I'm a little nervious now about my scan on the 31st... All the best for your scan tomorrow...

bec77
16-01-2007, 07:11 PM
thanks everyone for your kind thought (and honest answers!!).
I definately appreciate the support that you have all given, not looking forward to tomorrow, but am just trying to think of it as one day closer to saying goodbye to this bub, healing and trying for another bub.
take care all

SilverStarfish
16-01-2007, 07:21 PM
Bigglet and Bec77.... :hugs: I feel so bad for you both. No matter what news I get at my scan next week, I hope I can face it with even half the strength and grace that you have both shown.

OverTheMoon
16-01-2007, 07:23 PM
Bec i'm so sorry to hear your news. Big:hugs: to you, and thinking of you tomorrow.

bigglet
16-01-2007, 07:52 PM
oh Bec - I'm so sorry to hear your news - I really know how you feel. :hugs: :gloomy:

I will be having a curette myself in a few days - I'm scared just thinking about the procedure.
I bled quite heavily last night and spent 6 hours in the emergency room before a doctor could see me - they were that busy. In the scan the gestational sac had gone but there was a lot of blood and clotting "junk" as they called it so the curette will remove all that. It's still scary thinking about it.

It hasn't quite hit home yet what has happened and what I will be going through in the next few days so I will leave this thread because i just get sad thinking about babies and all but I want to wish all you mummies all the very best and thank you all so much for all your support - I really appreciate it. It has meant so much especially to hear of others going through the same thing or just being understanding. Thank you all again and take care! :kiss:

Kirst
16-01-2007, 08:35 PM
Oh Bec, sweeite. I"m so sorry for yor loss. Both you and Bigglet have been so strong,a nd I hope that we all can take something from that. I know that I have.

My scan isn't until the 31st too C. Monkey, and I'm beginning to gt a bit nervous. I have to stay positive though, and not stress. We all do.

Len, I'm sure that everything will be okay tomorrow. Good luck to you. Let us know how it all goes. We'd love to hear some good news.

Tingles
16-01-2007, 09:30 PM
Bec sorry you are having to experience another m/c...:hugs:

Nothing I can say to you or Bigglet will ease your pain.

In regards to a curette, it is a very safe proceedure - I was told that it is best to have one as you reduce the risk of any 'after' problems, like infections from 'stuff' being left from a natual m/c - they make your insides all 'clean' - ready to accept a new pg. They will tell you not to ttc for 3 mths, but that is up to you. They say you are extremely fertile, as you have 'fresh' grounds for a little egg to implant itself.

Please don't be scared, we are all thinking of you.

Just wear some loose comfortable clothes - yes wear knickers - maybe bring a pad, but I'm sure they will give you some till you get home. I found the nurses in that dept to be really lovely & sympathetic... a bit like all of us. You won't be bleeding 'heaps' - just like af.

Good luck :fingerscrossed: you never know what is around the corner :hugs:

bigglet
16-01-2007, 09:33 PM
They will tell you not to ttc for 3 mths, but that is up to you. They say you are extremely fertile, as you have 'fresh' grounds for a little egg to implant itself.

Really? Darn! I was hoping to still be able to get a 2007 bub..... hmmmm :o

oh BTW - why do they say that? Is it dangerous to conceive then or something?

Tingles
16-01-2007, 09:58 PM
Bigglet I am a big believer in your body will only accept a pregnancy when it is 'ready'. I think it's just a matter of your emotional state & hormonal state - I personally treated my m/c as a period... ready to start again.

I had a m/c b4 my first dd (it was a natural loss 5/6wks) and I concieved the next month... even though I was told wait a couple of months...

In that time I even donated eggs to ivf...they never amounted to pregnancies - so maybe my body was just 'lacking' something??

Maybe because you are a bit further along get at least one 'normal' cycle under your belt... give your body a little rest.

I had 4 m/c in about 18mths - totally sucked - thought I was never going to have another bub - DR said, your only young...try again... yeah just what I wanted to hear. But I made it! I'm here having #4:fingerscrossed:

bec77
16-01-2007, 10:01 PM
Thanks again girls, I get teary just reading your kind thoughts and wishes, they mean a lot at the moment to know that there are so many wonderful people thinking of you.

Tingles - thankyou for your kind words and advice, this time round they are not recommending for me to wait the three months, who knows they change their minds every two mins :rolleyes: i can not keep up with it all!!

Bigglet - with my last m/c they told me to wait three months as they said that if you fall too soon you may have a higher risk of a second m/c, but this time they have said the opposite and told me to try again as soon as i get a proper period as the curette "cleans" it all out and makes for a nice environment for a healthy fetus. My friend concieved first month after a m/c and is now 6 months along and doing nicely, yet I waited the three months as told and had this happen, who knows, go with your own instincts I say!!

Faeml - I am thinking of you and will check back to see how you go with your next results :fingerscrossed: that all will go well for you.

I will pop in and out of the post and see how you are all going but will also take a backseat for awhile untill emotions return to sanity!!, but am sure i will chat to many of you throughout other b/h areas.

Again goodluck to you all, don't be scared about your scans, enjoy them, I am sure you are all going to be fine, there can only be so much bad luck in one thread and hopefully for you girls the good luck is in and here to stay!!!!!

take care....bec :kiss:

bec77
16-01-2007, 10:02 PM
Thanks again girls, I get teary just reading your kind thoughts and wishes, they mean a lot at the moment to know that there are so many wonderful people thinking of you.

Tingles - thankyou for your kind words and advice, this time round they are not recommending for me to wait the three months, who knows they change their minds every two mins :rolleyes: i can not keep up with it all!!

Bigglet - with my last m/c they told me to wait three months as they said that if you fall too soon you may have a higher risk of a second m/c, but this time they have said the opposite and told me to try again as soon as i get a proper period as the curette "cleans" it all out and makes for a nice environment for a healthy fetus. My friend concieved first month after a m/c and is now 6 months along and doing nicely, yet I waited the three months as told and had this happen, who knows, go with your own instincts I say!!

Faeml - I am thinking of you and will check back to see how you go with your next results :fingerscrossed: that all will go well for you.

I will pop in and out of the post and see how you are all going but will also take a backseat for awhile untill emotions return to sanity!!, but am sure i will chat to many of you throughout other b/h areas.

Again goodluck to you all, don't be scared about your scans, enjoy them, I am sure you are all going to be fine, there can only be so much bad luck in one thread and hopefully for you girls the good luck is in and here to stay!!!!!

take care....bec :kiss:

bec77
16-01-2007, 10:04 PM
oops sorry for the double up:)

bigglet
16-01-2007, 10:08 PM
Ah Bec - you rock :hugs:
Your mesg above was excellent - thanks :kiss:

AngelGirl
17-01-2007, 07:09 AM
Bigglet and Bec77.... :hugs: I feel so bad for you both. No matter what news I get at my scan next week, I hope I can face it with even half the strength and grace that you have both shown.

I agree with Faeml, you are both strong, beautiful women. Sending you lots of :hugs: , I admire your courage and hope that it won't be too long before you are blessed with a healthy pregnancy. All the best, take it easy. xxx

Sandy
17-01-2007, 08:36 AM
Oh Bec!! I am so sorry for what has happened and I know how you feel. I had two m/c and told DH that I will reluctantly go a third but if I m/c again now, that's it for me. Mentally I can't do it again but that is a personal choice. Plus I am older too and I don't want newborns in my life at 40!

My aneamia was a result of two m/c in 6 months so my doc said NO WAY to another pregnancy until my iron levels are up and close to normal. I was at blood transfusion stage. Plus I went to a naturopath and they found me very low in zinc and magnesium. Plus I was diagnosed with early cervical cancer. I fixed all that, feel pregnant unexpectantly and hopefully this one will stick.

My advice is to get yourself healthy. Make sure your body is getting all the the nutrients and minerals it needs. Make sure you are 100% and like me, I'm hoping this will increase my chances. I don't think there is much more you can do. But I can understand your feelings about trying again and you need to decide, not now, wait til after the grieving, what you can handle. Not what DH or your friends can cope with but what you can deal with. This is about you and your body.

:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

whatwasithinking
17-01-2007, 09:44 AM
Bec I am truly sorry to hear your sad news. May your family, love and strength get you through this difficult time.

Hugs and Kisses from a friend who is there for you always.

ETsMum
17-01-2007, 11:43 AM
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

I had my scan this morning. All ok - phew. Here are the stats:

Heart beat - 152
Length - 6cm (head to bum)
Gestation - 12w + 2 (which I still don't think is right, but I wasn't in the mood to argue)
EDD - 30 July
1:10000 risk of DS

Well anyway, you still aren't getting rid of me. I still think I am due Aug, but I better start paying attention to the July thread too - LOL. I have my next scan on 27 Feb at the hospy so I'll see what date they come up with.

The lady who did the scan accused me of not drinking 1L of water!! How rude! Def did though!!! Maybe I was dehydrated cause I don't drink much at night - maybe half a cup, to try and reduce the trips to the loo.... hehehehe!!

whatwasithinking
17-01-2007, 11:50 AM
Well anyway, you still aren't getting rid of me.
Len - we wouldn't want it any other way!.
Congrats on the good results though!

ETsMum
17-01-2007, 11:52 AM
happybirthday Sandy
happybirthday Chicken

whatwasithinking
17-01-2007, 11:54 AM
Oh didn't realise.

happybirthday Sandy and Chicken.

:hugs: :smiliedance:

17-01-2007, 11:59 AM
Glad your scan went well today Len we have the same due date now, well until tomorrow when I have my scan, I could be an august girl yet I hate being on the cusp of two months it's tough! I have been posting mainly in July but I will try and flick between both, see what tomorrow brings I suppose!

So sorry to Bec77 and Bigglet for your loss guys.
I hope you are doing ok, sounds like you are both positive about the future so thats awesome, hope we see some new BFP's from you soon!:wizard:

SilverStarfish
17-01-2007, 12:00 PM
Len - congrats on the scan. I'll bet that's a load off your mind now. I'm so glad it went well for you.

happybirthday to the birthday peoples!!

niesl_bug
17-01-2007, 12:12 PM
Len - sooooooooooooooo glad your scan went well :thumbsup:

happybirthday Sandy and Chicken happybirthday

I have been up since 3am, just couldn't sleep. Feeling very close to :barf: again, so have taken the day off work.

Hope everyone else has a great day xxx

Sandy
17-01-2007, 12:23 PM
Thankyou for the birthday wishes girls :) :)

And a happy birthday from me to Chicken!

Len, loved you're report from the u/s. You mus feel very relieved. Kick back now until the 18-20wk one!

I too have felt sick today and considered taking today off. Very, very tired. My bump must be growing again or something is stretching cause I feel tight down either side of tummy. Its uncomfortable. With 37 degrees and no air-con at home, I'll bludge here at work today! Days like this it is fab having your own office and a boss who is scared of people and won't talk to you! He is very nice though.

I swear that I am not eating enough calories and maybe this is causing my excessive tiredness :confused: I ate a turkey sandwhich for lunch and I swear, I forced myself to finish it. Now I know that I will have trouble with dinner.

Tan-mumof3
17-01-2007, 12:24 PM
Len- so glad your scan went great.

Sandy & chicken- happybirthday hope you both have a great day!

Neisl bug- sorry your feeling :barf: today, hope you feel better soon.

Little X-man- please feel free to join in our group as well we would love to have you here.

I finally booked my nuchal scan today, im having it on thursday 8th feb at 2pm (seems so long away still).

jcb
17-01-2007, 03:34 PM
Sorry to those who have had losses :hugs:....

Len- I am glad you scan went well today..I have mine tomorrow morning, I can't wait.....

happybirthday To Sandy
happybirthday To chicken hope you both had a great day.....

Crazy Monkey
17-01-2007, 07:49 PM
Len, so glad everything went well with your scan... We'll consider you an August mum until bubs arrives... :)
Sandy & Chicken a big happybirthday to you both

bec77
17-01-2007, 10:01 PM
happybirthday Sandy and Chicken.

Len - I am so happy for you :smiliedance: , now you can sit back and enjoy your munchkin

All went as well as you can hope with the curette and I feel fine, minimal pain and bleeding which is a relief. Got my answers on all those embarrasing issues put to rest at the hosp as well as on here so that was great.
Can not praise the staff and doctors at the RWH in randwick for the kindness and care that was shown to me today, they were excellant !!!
Bigglet - please try not to scare yourself over this procedure if you end up having it, I was a nervous wreak and at the end of it looked back and realised that physically it was fine, not painful and very quick, just emotional to deal with.

It is strange but I had a good cry in recovery and feel emotionally better, and am getting used to the idea of trying asap, so :fingerscrossed: I will be happily preg again soon and ;look forward to chatting on here again about all those issues that we all have.

Great to hear that everyone sounds like they are doing well, except for the :barf: .
Take care all.
bec

Sandy
18-01-2007, 07:48 AM
Oh Bec, it was nice to read your post and hear that everything went well.

Wishing you the best of luck and will be looking out for you in the due in Sept or Oct threads :thumbsup:

AngelGirl
18-01-2007, 09:05 AM
First of all - Bec- I'm glad the curette went well and that you are ok. I wish you all the very best :hugs: .

Happy Birthday to Chicken and Sandy for yesterday!

Julie - Lovely to see you! All the best for your scan today. Same to Bec (JCB) !! Let us know how you go.

Len - great news on the positive results from your scan!

The lady who did the scan accused me of not drinking 1L of water!!

I don't get it, I drank nearly 1L and was told I drank way too much. You were told you didnt drink enough. I'm confused :confused: . I'm starting to realise that there are many conflicting reports and advice when it comes to pregnancy! I went to a friends place on the weekend and she served up tiramisu for dessert. I apologised and told her I couldnt eat it cause the marscapone contained raw egg white. Another pregnant friend sat the table said it was a load of bullocks??

chicken
18-01-2007, 10:18 AM
Thanks for all the birthday wishes girls. Hope you had a great day Sandy. Had problems logging on to BH yesterday (and this morning too!).

Bec - Glad you're OK.

Len - great news about your scan. According to my scan earlier in the week, I am 12 weeks today. But I know I'm not that far along either, and should be 12 weeks on Monday (yey!).

Hope everyone else is well.

Sandy
18-01-2007, 10:23 AM
Thankyou to everyone for the birthday wishes and I hope Chicken that you had a good day too!

I'm feeling dog tired today and have heaps of work to get through.

Hope everyone is well :)

ETsMum
18-01-2007, 10:41 AM
Hey Bec :fingerscrossed: Good luck!! Can't wait for your report!!

You too Julie X-man - make sure you post in Jul & Aug!! :D

AngelGirl - During my first pregnancy, I found the most frustrating thing was food!! Can I, can't I... should I, shouldn't I etc.. It was even worse than lack of sleep!!

OJandMe
18-01-2007, 11:02 AM
Bec I'm so sorry. :hugs:

Hi to everyone again. Gee I've been slack in keeping up...

had my scan on Monday.. which put me at 9wks 2days. I was sure I was further along than that. I was hoping for an early August bub.

So EDD is now: 18th Aug.

JUST ONE!! YAY!! I can buy a hug-a-bub now

The lady said that Freckles heartbeat was a bit high, 170 bpm, but she said not to worry about it too much as Freckles is doing a lot of growing at the moment and it's better to be higher than lower at this stage. She said it should come down and by the next scan should be about 150 or so. So everything's looking good for the Mater Midwifery Group Practice. :fingerscrossed: for a VBAC

Am really beginning to feel it sap my energy now. I'm sure the hill outside my house gets bigger every day!
The boys seems heavier every day, and we're moving them into big beds, so i can change their nappies on their beds and not have to lift them up onto the change table all the time. Also, hopefully it will give them a chance to settle into their big boy room before Bubs arrives.

I know Angelgirl, foods confusing. I'm just eating whatever doesn't make me feel sick.

And I've had huge cravings for soft boiled eggs the last few weeks... which I know you're 'not meant' to eat... but I did anyway.

Today it's nectarines and wonton soup. Dh has got the nectarines, but I'm still waiting for the wonton soup.

ALSO: I GOT MY LICENCE ON TUESDAY!!!! :smiliedance: I's so happy. I might just go and buy my wonton soup myself. :D

OJandMe
18-01-2007, 11:04 AM
Sorry to multiple post.... But I just thought of something else...

It seems like heaps of us seem to think the dates we got on our scan were different to what we thought. What does that mean? Which dates should we go by? The scan dates, or our original dates?

I'm so confused :confused:

ETsMum
18-01-2007, 11:19 AM
ALSO: I GOT MY LICENCE ON TUESDAY!!!! :

CONGRATULATIONS!!! :smiliedance:

ETsMum
18-01-2007, 11:23 AM
It seems like heaps of us seem to think the dates we got on our scan were different to what we thought. What does that mean? Which dates should we go by? The scan dates, or our original dates? I'm so confused :confused:

I spent the WHOLE of my last pregnancy arguing with the doc about due dates. I just can't be bothered this time. Bubs will come when it is ready :fingerscrossed: At least this time they are putting my dates forward - unlike last time!!! So to answer your Q - I am using the latest scan dates. ;)

niesl_bug
18-01-2007, 11:58 AM
LilXMan - I would love to see you in this thread as we were both in the Dec Testing thread - come on down !!!

Sandy - I hope you are feeling better today. I know what you mean about food. I am literally living on toast / cereal and vegemite or peanut butter rolls for all meals, including dinner. How can bub possibly survive on this? The trouble is anything else I even try to eat makes me :barf: Hopefully this subsides for us all soon :fingerscrossed:

OJandMe - at our 8 week scan bub's hb was 170 and they said all was perfect !?!?!!?

Bec77 - you are an inspiration. I am so glad things went well - and I think a big part of that was due to your positive and strong outlook. I am sure now your body is ready to create a perfectly healthy bubba! Congratulations for making it through such a tough time :hugs:

Back at work today and haven't been sick yet so hopefully this continues !!

Have a wonderful day ladies xxx

Milis
18-01-2007, 01:42 PM
Hi :wave: .

I've been lurking for a while, not wanting to jinx myself by posting until I had the all clear at my first scan. Had it on Tuesday and all is well, so thought I would officially say hello :D . I'm due with #2 on August 28th.

Looking forward to sharing this journey with you all!

Snugglepot
18-01-2007, 01:55 PM
Hello Everyone,

I have been lurking too waiting for my scan!

I had it today and we are all good. It was great to see the little bub kicking around. This is my second bub and I am really looking forward to sharing the experience with everyone. You all seem such lovely and supportive girls! :smiliedance:

niesl_bug
18-01-2007, 02:05 PM
Welcome Milis and kez&kyle and welcome to our wonderful thread :wave: You will love it here! You are so good for keeping quiet until your scan - have been blabbing since the day I got my BFP!!!

Wishing you both wonderful pregnancies and I look forward to sharing our journey together :)

Sandy
18-01-2007, 02:14 PM
Welcome Milis and Kez! So pleased that you posted. I hope you both have trouble free, wonderful pregnancies :yelclap:

M O P
18-01-2007, 02:15 PM
Bubs will come when it is ready
Spot on Len :thumbsup:
My dates always corresponded with the scans I had last time but Hugh was exactly a week late anyway.

(and the scan I had in the obs matched what I suspected was LMP date this time)

:wave: welcome to our new members to jump on board!

Sandy
18-01-2007, 02:23 PM
I'm going by my scan date but my gut feel and symptoms compared to the text books has me a few days early. I'm betting the 1st whilst scan has me at the 3rd.

DD was early by three days. I saw oby on the Thursday from memory. I was having pre-labour and I told him that I'd see him tomorrow probably. He said, "I bet I see you next Monday when our appointment is due." I said, "Nope, I bet you 5 bucks tomorrow." He never did cough up the money :smiliedance:

M O P
18-01-2007, 02:42 PM
I was having pre-labour and I told him that I'd see him tomorrow probably. He said, "I bet I see you next Monday when our appointment is due." I said, "Nope, I bet you 5 bucks tomorrow." He never did cough up the money

:yelclap: your intuition is obviously pretty spot on Sandy!

Snugglepot
18-01-2007, 03:59 PM
With my first I had the strangest feeling that he would come a week early, on a Sat and he did! Sometimes our intuition is right, having said that I thought I was having twins this time and I found out this morning there is only one! Not such good intuition....

My due date is the 3rd August, at the scan today she dated me 5 days earlier. A few days early at the end is a god send, so I'm not complaining!

ETsMum
18-01-2007, 05:00 PM
Hi Milis & Kez!! Congrats on great news!!! :smiliedance: Welcome to the thread!!

I thought I was having twins this time and I found out this morning there is only one! Not such good intuition....

Haha Kez!! I reckon there were a few of us here having our second and thinking there were twins when a belly just suddenly popped out of no where!! I'll put my hand up to say I was one of those. :laughing:

Prudie
18-01-2007, 07:08 PM
Hate to report bad news, but I found out at my 10 week scan yesterday that my baby has no heartbeat, and this was confirmed today at a follow up scan. :crying:

Have written about it under the Pregnant after Miscarriage thread, so won't go on about it here.

Just really wanted to say bye and to wish you all the best for your exciting lead up to August 07.

Except that I'd love to hear from anyone who is going through the same thing, or has in the past.:hugs:

Crazy Monkey
18-01-2007, 07:27 PM
Prudie, sorry to hear the sad news... Big :hugs: to you and your family...

Congratulations and welcome Milis and kez&kyle... Its great to have some more August bubs here... Enjoy the thread...

I'm feeling really well (sometimes I wonder if everything is OK, cause I feel so good), except for the tiredness (guess thats a good sign)...

Have had a slight pain in my right side when I pick up DS, just putting it down to growing pains at the moment....

With DS my labour started a week early (he was born 36 hours after labour started), so I'd be happy for the same thing (only a much shorter labour) :fingerscrossed:

Hope everyone is well...

whatwasithinking
18-01-2007, 07:33 PM
Prudie I am so sorry to hear your news.

May you find the love and strength to get through this terrible time.

:hugs: :kiss:

whatwasithinking
18-01-2007, 07:34 PM
Hi to all the new aug07 mumstobe.

Welcome and hope to chat more.

Prudie
18-01-2007, 07:40 PM
Thanks for your :hugs:

Just want to get through tomorrow now (d&c), relax over the weekend and start to get back to normal.

DH wants to start TTC as soon as possible, but I'm just not sure how I'm feeling about that right now.

Take care all :wave:

Milis
18-01-2007, 07:41 PM
Prudie - so sorry for your loss :hugs: . I had a m/c last year at 10.5 weeks - please feel free to pm me if you want to talk. My thoughts are with you.

When I was pg with DS everyone kept telling me I would be overdue, but I had a feeling I would go early and he arrived at 38 weeks! I also had a feeling my waters would break before I went into labour and they did :yes: . Am going to be sitting on a towel from 37 weeks this time :o

Len - yes, it's amazing how much earlier things pop out with #2 :eek: . I'm only 8 weeks and already walking around with my jeans undone. Can't wait to get into some maternity clothes!

Chuckle Puss
18-01-2007, 10:15 PM
Hello everyone I thought it was about time I posted in this thread.

Prudie I have no idea what your going through at the moment but I just wanted to give you some more :hugs:

Tingles
19-01-2007, 07:16 AM
Going to hospital today for my 1st visit with midwife, then again Monday for a visit with Doc... I know they don't normally listen for the heartbeat till about 17 weeks - but of course I'm going to have to ask!!!! With all the stress this week has bought our Aug thread, just need more reassurance:)

AngelGirl
19-01-2007, 07:27 AM
Prudie...honey I'm so sorry to hear your terrible news. :hugs: sending you lots of strength to get through this. Please know that we are all thinking of you xxxx

Gretel - congrats on getting your licence...woo hoo!!! Now you're officially a crazy p-plater!! :laughing:

A big welcome to Milis and Kez :wave:

AngelGirl
19-01-2007, 07:28 AM
ps. Tingles - good luck with your apppointment today!

Sandy
19-01-2007, 08:00 AM
Prudie - sending you lots of love and strength. Good luck with your D & C :hugs:

Gretel - Remember, keep your hoon mates out of the car after 10pm! :laughing:

Kez - Good stuff with the u/s

Well, I am excessively tired today and feel the yukkiest that I have felt for a week or two. Had sharp pains last night which I put down to stretching and well, just dog tired. I have so much work to do but just want to go home and sleep. I went to bed at 8.30 last night :confused:

Still eating funny and very little. It sits in my throat now and I'm sure that is not helping to my feeling of "well being", or lack there of.

I hit 12 weeks today and have my scan on Monday at 11.30am. Might take the day off then.

Have a good day girls :)

chicken
19-01-2007, 09:49 AM
Prudie - I'm so sorry that you have to go through this.

Welcome to the newbies.

I hope that the bad news in this thread stops coming at some point. Hopefully with some of us reaching the 12 week mark now, and others not far behind, the bad news will be behind us.

I feel bad that I'm not feeling as horrible as some of you lovely ladies. Apart from my tight waistbands, I forget that I'm even pregnant sometimes. Even the horrible constant peeing at night seems to be diminishing.

I forget who asked now, but I'm going to stick with my dates, rather than the ultrasound dates. I told my OB that I was pretty sure of my dates (I'd been using OPKs so I'm pretty sure I know when I O'd). She seemed happy to stick with my dates, even though the u/s put me 4 days further along. Like someone else said, if I happen to give birth 4 days early, I won't be complaining.

niesl_bug
19-01-2007, 10:11 AM
No, no, no ... Prudie. I am so, so sorry for your loss. I hope everything goes ok with your D&C and just spend the weekend in bed with a doona, some choccies and the love of your DH. I am sending you lots of strenght, love and support during this tragic time :hugs:

All is fine here. I am 11 weeks tomorrow, haven't been sick today just very tired.

With the recent events, sending everybody lots of positive vibes and lots & lots of extra-sticky baby dust :wizard:

pregomum
19-01-2007, 12:14 PM
Thought I should introduce myself. I'm due on the 12th of August and after a mc at 11wks last sept I'm trying not to panic too much. I'm starting to get a bump now and I'm loving it. This will be my third as I have a 7yo DD and a 4 1/2yo DS. Is good to hear that i'm not the only one sick and tired!!!!!

niesl_bug
19-01-2007, 12:27 PM
Hi pregomum and welcome to our lovely little thread :wave:

Wishing you a safe and happy pregnancy (you are due a day before me) :thumbsup:

Sandy
19-01-2007, 12:31 PM
Welcome Pregomum! :)

niesl_bug
19-01-2007, 01:50 PM
Ladies,

I am sorry to ask such a dumb question, but what is Braxton Hicks? I thought it was something like contractions, but I've ready the due in July thread and they are talking about it already and the possibility of it happening earlier with each pregnancy?

Would appreciate any help on this one :)

Sandy
19-01-2007, 01:56 PM
Hi Tara :wave:

Not a dumb question at all!

They are uterine contractions and can start from 6 weeks but you won't normally feel them until mid pregnancy. I will have to consult my text books! Not sure about 2nd pregnancies as you can feel bubs sooner than with a first.

Hope that helps :)

niesl_bug
19-01-2007, 02:20 PM
Ahhhhhhhhhhh ... thanks Sandy :thumbsup:

OverTheMoon
19-01-2007, 03:04 PM
Prudie - so sorry. Sending big :hugs: your way.

Welcome to all of our newbies, and best wishes for a positive pregnancy!

I'm not liking the update i have to offer today - i've had more bleeding! I've decided that i am just going to live on the couch and do my beading, 'cos every time i've been out for more than a couple of hours since my :bfp: i've had bleeding.

I went to the movies yesterday (no detours, just to movies) and was fine. Today i got suckered in to Target's sale, and wanted to buy some bunny rugs/wraps or something so we aren't hit with the costs all in one big hit. I went with mum, we had some lunch, she wanted to look at clothes in 1 other shop, and then i stopped to get fruit on the way home. Of course, i get home, and what do you know? I've had a bit of bleeding again. Sorry if TMI, but not as much as last time, and still a browny colour, which is my saving grace.

Funny thing is, i'm not at all worried like i was the last 3 times (it's been 2 1/2 weeks since my last one). I'm quite calm about it. I see the ob on Monday and m/w tues, and i think that will be fine (unless of course i get more, but touch wood that's not going to happen).

Anywho, apart from that i'm not able to eat as much the last few days - i'm getting halfway through my meals and i'm done, unless i wanted to :barf: , that is! Still tired, restless legs and darn bleeding gums.

Sending good thoughts to all!

niesl_bug
19-01-2007, 03:42 PM
Hi Mel

Sorry to hear about the bleeding. Put your feet up for the rest of the weekend.
Hope you're feeling better soon :hugs:

littledawson
19-01-2007, 03:44 PM

Been a while since i've posted. I'm so sorry to everyone who has had bad news in the last couple of days. Take care and we are all thinking of you.

Welcome to the newbies.:wave:

i had a look at some belly pics and they are all so cute. You have all convinced me to buy a camera and take pics. I normally hate photos. I will get my first photo of our Little dawson on the 29th when we go for our 12-13wk scan. Really looking forward to it i hope everything is fine. i'm excited and nervous all at the same time.

Hope everyone else is travelling well

Milis
19-01-2007, 04:06 PM
Welcome Pregomum :wave: .

OverTheMoon - hope the bleeding clears up soon - I had a couple of bleeds with this pg and I know how scary it can be. Sounds like a good idea to take it easy over the weekend - let DH spoil you ;) .

Prudie - hope everything went OK today...

Well, I'm sitting here trying not to :barf: at the smell of DS's dinner. The nausea seems to come and go with me, some days I feel almost normal and others (like today), I just want to live in the toilet. Anyone else finding this?

Hope everyone else is doing well - have a good evening!

Prudie
19-01-2007, 05:44 PM
Hello Ladies

Just to let you all know that the d&c went well today - and I am now at home relaxing on the couch, watching the cricket with DH (well, I'm not really watching the cricket, I'm chatting with you guys ;) ).

I haven't had any major pain, just dull abdominal pain (like a period) and a bit of bleeding. Am so glad it's all over and I can now concentrate on feeling better and looking to the future.

Thank you so much for all your support and advice - I really really really appreciate it :) Good luck with your pregnancies and I will pop in every now and then to read up your progress.

Hopefully I won't be too far off joining the When Are You Due thread again. :fingerscrossed:

whatwasithinking
19-01-2007, 06:26 PM
Take care Prudie.

whatwasithinking
19-01-2007, 06:28 PM
I have my first midwife appointment booked - 23 Feb. Can't believe I will be 16wks then.

Morning sickness annoying the begebees out of me.

Have to book the pappa (nucal-sic?) test for next week too - been slack but I'll do it soon.

Nothing else much to report except depressed at the moment so trying to work through it.

Take care everyone and talk very soon.

Tingles
20-01-2007, 06:34 AM
Went to the midwife yesterday... waited 1 hour & 20 mins :rolleyes: had to put more money in the meter...and while I was gone she took someone else in!!!:banghead: (Even though she knew where I had gone & I'd be back real quick)

I was asked all the usual questions, are you a smoker, do you smoke canabis, are you a drinker...

I ended up saying I guess I'm a pretty boring person.

Knowing that they don't check for the heart at this early stage - I asked if she would try - I told her I understand if you cannot find it - and of course she couldn't find it!!! I heard the placenta 'wooshing around' so that gives me hope that it's wooshing around to 'something'!

I see the Doc on Monday, and will have bloods done then & book ultrasound...

:fingerscrossed: everything is going to plan! I get so worried, but the, it's out of my hands!

Cheers everyone - hope you are all doing well - welcome to the newbies...

Overthemoon - please take it easy - lots of rest!!!

pregomum
20-01-2007, 07:29 AM
Milis - That is exactly how i feel.... fine one day not so good the next. Sick of having to not make any plans til the morning of the day.

Prudie - Good luck for next time, I miscarried with my last pregnancy, lost so much blood I had 3 drips in to keep my blood going and had 3 blood transfusions. I know how scary it can be. Rest up and take all the help you can get

OverTheMoon - I have bled in this pregnancy too, but by the books there is only a very slim chance of anything going wrong if its light so that put my mind at ease.

For everyone - Follow your heart not your head, it's alot more peaceful.

OverTheMoon
20-01-2007, 02:30 PM
Hey girls!

Prudie - rest up, chicken! Sending sticky thoughts your way for the next.

Hope everyone is having a good start to the weekend.

Stoopid (or not so stoopid) me called the FC just to let them know i'd had some bleeding, and 'cos i hadn't had a scan in a couple of weeks, they told me to go in and have one, and they said the u/s guy would be waiting on me to go home, so i had to leave ASAP. And we were in the middle of watching the latest US ep of Grey's Anatomy! Can't wait to get back to it!:smiliedance:

U/S went well, as usual, and we are now 3.7cm, and we have arms that were flailing about waving to us, and wee little legs! :yelclap: Apparently the CRL is about 4 days ahead of where they would expect, but i'm still 10 weeks. So glad it went well, i'm back in bed, waiting on my lunch to be made and brought in to me (DH is a great chef come waiter:D ).

Roll on ob appt on Monday!
Have a great weekend everyone. :hugs: to you all.

Crazy Monkey
20-01-2007, 07:46 PM
OverTheMoon... great to hear everything is going well.. Rest up...

Everything is pretty much the same with me... Today I've had a bit of the runs (sorry if TMI), not sure what its from, its not too bad, just uncomfortable... Very tired and bloated by the end of the day (well really come 4pm)...

Hope everyone is well... and sticky baby dust to all the mums & bubs...

OJandMe
20-01-2007, 08:06 PM
Welcome Milis, Kez and pregomum!!!
YAY! I love babies!

Purdie, I hope you're feeling better... lots of hugs :hugs: and a roll of sticky tape for next time :yes:

Thanks to everyone who congratulated me on my licence! I'm really pleased about it... more because it will make it much easier to get the kids around!

Pregomum and Milis: Me too... I have no idea how I'm going to feel from one day to the next. I :barf: yesterday.. for the second time this pg... and I have no idea why. I ate exactly the same thing for brekky as I've been having for weeks.

Crazy Monkey: I know... my bowels are funny too... but in the opposite way (sorry TMI) maybe why I've been craving stone fruit like nectarines and plums... :detective:

I'm extremely tired! And the boys seem to be choosing this week as their transition into the T2's!
I'm nesting.... and because I can't fix up Freckles room yet, because it's still my office and I don't have anywhere to put stuff... I've been rearranging the boy's room. They're going into beds next week.
I've taken all their nursery rhyme things down and decorated their ceiling in stars and swirls. I've moved their beds around to give them more floor space to play. I've taken down their baby mosquito nets (you know the ones on the stand) And next week I'm off to buy some cute storage units and car bedspreads. I'm also pricing the stuff I want for the baby's room.

Does anyone else want to move house? I'd love to just pack up and go somewhere new, so I can choose the perfect garden, and bedroom for the boys and freckles and decorate afresh.... but I spose I'll have to make do with changing the curtains and getting some new paintings *sigh*

Carlo's banned me from BubHub after 10pm at night... coz I'm addicted and am staying up obsessively hitting the 'new posts' button till past midnight... and then I'm not napping during the day... so he's grounded me.. LOL. says he's putting his foot down for Freckles! (He's a good man)

Love you all!!

Kirst
20-01-2007, 09:56 PM
Hi guys. I haven't been able to get on for the last few days....the forum has been so slow!!!!

Welcome to any newbies, and :hugs: to those who are leaving us far too soon. Relax and recooperate ladies. :kiss:

Sandy - you keep referring to text books.....what is it you do honey??? Are you a nurse, midwife, doctor???

As far as the change in Due Dates is concerned, when I asked my OB about it last time, he said that the ealier scans are more accurate dates based on what 'we' know about foetal development. Up to 12 weeks, the majority of foetuses develop at the same rates, and from past data based on the kid's size, that's how they come up with the 'new' date.

With DD, by my periods, I was due on Dec 1, 2004. By size at my 12 weeks scan, they put me forward to Nov 25, 2004. I ended up being induced and she was born on Dec 1, 2004......I think it was meant to be.

I am just seeing the dates as a guide. Plus or minus 10 days......it'll come out when it's ready.

Hope you are all keeping well though. Only 10 days 'til my first scan...yay!!! :smiliedance:

Talk later.

SilverStarfish
20-01-2007, 10:08 PM
:hugs: Prudie I hope you are doing ok.

pregomum
21-01-2007, 07:41 AM
Kirst - My daughter was born on 1st Dec too, but 1999. Don't know if it's just her starsign or what but she is very headstrong and always right no matter what. Is your DD the same?

OJandMe - I've been craving plums too and grapes. Had the same cravings when I had my DS so I'm thinking at the moment I might be having a boy, but then I had no ms with him only with my DD I did so then I'm thinking it's a girl!!!! MyDF calls it a mystery bump cause it keeps us guessing on whether it's gonna be another DD or DS.

Can't wait to school goes back not that I wanna get rid of my kids but cause they are soooo bored and I'm sick of having the whole neighbourhood here, yesterday there was 12 kids here, I just want to rest. I don't want to let DS go over other peoples places yet cause he's only 4yo and it seems unfair to let DD and have him stay behind, thats why I end up with a backyard full. Though it does keep DS and DD amused....well until the arguments start.

OJandMe
21-01-2007, 01:38 PM
aahh Pregomum.. that's so many kids! You should start charging an entry fee! :yes:

Yeah I have no idea what Freckles is going to be... I have different cravings to the boys, and am feeling really sick (I wasn't sick at all with them) But I don't want to say I'm having a girl, in case it's a boy and I feel dissapointed. (although I'll love him just the same)

Has anyone else started thinking of names yet?

I've got mine :D Although we'll see how I feel closer to the date.. I"m certain on the girls name though,... it's the same girls name that I had chosen if the boys were a girl.. and I love love love it.

For a pink: Felicity Arynn - 'enlightened to a state of pure bliss'
for a blue: Kaelin Timothy - 'to honour God with purity'

SilverStarfish
21-01-2007, 01:49 PM
OJandMe, what lovely names :thumbsup:

Tingles
21-01-2007, 07:55 PM
I get so sick of people/family degrading our name choices, so, I told dh when people ask - we tell them, we like the name 'Mohawke' sp?

Mowhawke John

Certainly different... :confused:

ETsMum
21-01-2007, 08:46 PM
OJandMe - Nice name choices.. Wish I was that close to narrowing it down. I can't get DP to be serious. Anyway, we aren't ignoring your question but there is a whole thread on names in the Due in Aug 07 section... :)

OJandMe
21-01-2007, 08:48 PM
Oh is there???

lol, goes to show I don't get around our section much :o

Sandy
22-01-2007, 07:03 AM

Home today with a pretty sick toddler. Its 7.57am and she is still asleep which is unusal. Horrible green snotty nose and I am praying that I don't get it.

I have my u/s today and blood test. I'm nervous as, so :fingerscrossed: My appointment is at 11.00 then I'm having lunch with DH so I will post my results this afternoon. I am supposed to be 12wk 4d today.

Kirst - I'm an engineer. A nerd and like to know how everything works and goes together, including the human body whilst pregnant :p

Had a busy weekend in Parkes with family for my grandfathers 80th. DD had an awesome time with her cousins (hence being sick now me thinks) and I fell asleep during Toy Story when we got home and didn't wake until 6pm. So bless DH, he unpacked the car, made dinner etc etc. He was rewarded accordingly ;)

Have a nice day!

AngelGirl
22-01-2007, 07:33 AM
Our computer hard drive is at the computer doctors and who knows how long it will take to get fixed. It's driving me crazy missing out on B/H over the weekend!!

Follow your heart not your head, it's alot more peaceful.

I love it! And a big welcome btw !!

I get so sick of people/family degrading our name choices, so, I told dh when people ask - we tell them, we like the name 'Mohawke' sp?

:laughing: I should come up with something crazy too. Everyone has an opinion on names and I'd prefer to keep our choices to ourselves cause I don't want anyone to ruin it for me.

Mel - take it easy and get plenty of rest!

Prudie- I'm glad it went well. Wishing you the very best of luck and hope to see you back in the "Due in" pages soon.

Donna - hon, why you feeling depressed?

Sandy - good luck with the ultrasound today!

As for me, I'm 11 weeks, 4 days today and I'm feeling pretty good. The nausea has subsided somewhat and my face has cleared up quite a bit. Still tired....yawn. Still needing to pee during the night but I can handle that. I'm noticing veins are more prominent all over my body and I'm getting more of those damn spider veins on my legs. God help me when I'm heavily pregnant :eek: .

I'm kinda feeling a little left out not having the 12 week nuchal scan...I want to see jellybean again!! oh well, have to wait till 18 weeks now. We'll get a DVD at that one apparently!

deb1234
22-01-2007, 08:32 AM
hi everyone! i was away for 10 days and there were just too many posts to read....so i only read one page. :laughing:

i'm getting my blood tests done today for the nuchal scan, and having the scan on wednesday. i don't think it matters when you get the bloods done, and you don't even have to have them, just with bloods + scan they can give you a more accurate result. we aren't really going for the downs result anyway, we just want to see the baby again before we tell everyone!! i'll be 13 weeks on wed :yelclap:

haven't had morning sickness at all!! so hopefully everything is all right in there. :fingerscrossed:

hope you all have a great start to the week. :)

whatwasithinking
22-01-2007, 08:37 AM

Won't be chatting for awhile as I am in the process of leaving my marriage.

Hence why I am depressed at the moment. :gloomy:

I'll come back on once I know what is happening - not official yet cause I need to find somewhere to live and need to organise/tidy up legal and financial stuff.

Other than that pregnancy is going well.

TO ANYONE WHO HAS MY EMAIL PLEASE DO NOT SEND ME ANY AT MOMENT AS HE HAS ACCESS. TIA.

OverTheMoon
22-01-2007, 09:32 AM
Oh Donna many :hugs: for you and your little cherubs.

I have my first ever ob appt at 11:30, so much like Sandy i will post afterwards to let you know how it all went. For some strange reason, some of my friends seem to think they will put me on bedrest after the bleeding. I jolly well (hehe i haven't said that in ages!) hope not, and hope they are over reacting. Our finances wouldn't cope very well without any work from me for the next 8 months. Then again, there's always the bank of mum and dad! LOL. Nah, i would feel so bad having to ask. Sorry, i'm :ecomcity: .

Good luck to those of you having blood tests and u/s today / very soon.

Tan-mumof3
22-01-2007, 11:00 AM
:wave: to Milis, Kez & preggomum.
Donna so sorry to hear that hope all turns out okay, glad everything is going well with bubba though.
Overthemoon good luck for your ob appointment today.
Sandy goodluck for your scan today.
Deb goodluck for your scan on wednesday.

Well for me im soooooooo extremely tired i don't want to do anything at all during the day, the nausea is slowly settling down, but it's still there.
Apart from that nothing else to report still the same.

niesl_bug
22-01-2007, 11:02 AM
Good Morning Gorgeous Gals :wave:

I haven't logged on all weekend (a miracle) so I've missed out on a bit.

WhatWasIThinking - I am so sorry things aren't working out for you. Wishing many wonderful things for your future with you and your bubs :hugs:

M/S seems to be subsiding. We have our scan next Monday. I will be 12W on Saturday - can't wait! I am a little concerned though from reading other posts about bub's size - at 10 weeks peanut was only 1.6cm??? We saw the heartbeat though ...? It just seemed a bit small but Ob didn't say anything about it ... :confused:

Hope everyone is doing well xxx

niesl_bug
22-01-2007, 11:08 AM

Certainly different... :confused:

I tell people we are naming our baby Xiang Xiang Britain - that normally shuts them up :laughing:

leishacaz
22-01-2007, 11:13 AM

Just wanted to join in as my little nugget is due on 29/8/07. This will be my 2nd, I've got a 3 yr old DD.

I've forgotten a few things from my first one and wanted to ask you all when you've been booked to have your first ultrasound? My doctor has said I won't need one until the 18-20 week mark as I'm low risk but I'm sure I had one earlier than that with my first, so I'm wondering when any of you have or are having your u/s?

niesl_bug
22-01-2007, 11:18 AM
Hi Leishacaz and welcome to our thread :wave: You will love it here!

This is my 1st, due to cramping I had an u/s at 6 weeks, they couldn't see anything so I had another at 8 weeks. I also had one at Ob at 10 weeks as he can just do it in his office. I am booked for nuchal scan at 12 weeks. Then I guess nothing until around 19 weeks if you want to find out the sex?

Wishing you a healthy and happy pregnancy :thumbsup:

Crazy Monkey
22-01-2007, 11:30 AM
Whatwasithinking - I'm so sorry you are going through a hard time... :hugs: to you and your girls and I hope things work out they way you want...

leishacaz - welcome and congratulations on bubs#2... As for scans, I am having my first scan at 12/13 weeks... This is the nuchal scan to check the risk of Down Syndrome (can be done with or without a blood test)...

Everything is going well with me pregnancy wise... Feeling pretty good, except for a bit of a headache and dizziness today...

Last night, DH and I were doing some 'bedroom exercises' (as my friend puts it) and towards the end I started feeling really out of breath, to the point that everything had to stop... Took me about 15 minutes to get regular breathing happening.. It was so scary, dont remember this happening while pregnant with DS... HAs this happened to anyone else???

Good luck to the girls having there scans today... Looking forward to hearing some great reports...

Ally Jane
22-01-2007, 11:59 AM
hi everyone:wave: ,i am due on 24/8/07...been having terrible 24/7 sickness but the ast few days have been a little better...cant wait to get to twelve weeks and see the bubs,we had a scan at 7 weeks but it just looks like a little peanut,nice and reassuring to see a heart beat though...look forward to getting to know you all better

Kimee
22-01-2007, 12:09 PM
Hi August ladies!!

I'm baaaccck!! Havn't been on here for a while cos at my 6 wk scan they said I was due in Sep 4th but had another scan done today due to brown spotting and I'm further along than they thought. 8 wks 3 days today (due 31st August)

Bub is perfect with a strong heartbeat of 176 bpm and is 2cm long! woo hoo!!
Sonographer said spotting was due to old implantation blood making it's way out! so so happy!!

look forward to chatting to you all again!

chicken
22-01-2007, 12:12 PM
Whatwasithinking - Hope you get through this period OK.

Over the moon and Sandy - all the best with your appointments today.

And Deb- hope your scan on Wed goes well.

I'm having my nuchal scan on Thurs. Had the blood tests on Sat and for the first time since I was 12, I didn't faint!! I think this pregnancy thing may just cure me of my needle phobia. Having them so often kind of gets you used to them.

I'm officially 12 weeks today. Yey!!!:smiliedance:

AngelGirl
22-01-2007, 12:15 PM
Donna - sweetheart, I'm so sorry to hear that you're having problems in your marriage. The most important people are yourself and your little ones at the moment so take care. :hugs: Thinking of you xxx

Welcome to leishacaz and Ally Jane!

leishacaz - I had a dating scan at my first appointment with the OB and I was just under 10 weeks. I opted out of the 12 week scan cause I dont' care about having the downs test. My next scan is same as you - 18/19 weeks. The OB said this was an important scan to take accurate measurements of the baby. You can also find out the sex at this stage (if you want to!)

AngelGirl
22-01-2007, 12:16 PM
Congratulations Chicken on making it to the 12 week mark!! :party:

AngelGirl
22-01-2007, 12:19 PM
[quote=Kimee;1024487]
Bub is perfect with a strong heartbeat of 176 bpm and is 2cm long! woo hoo!!
Sonographer said spotting was due to old implantation blood making it's way out! so so happy!![quote]

Kimee - that's wonderful news!!! Yay and welcome back to August!!

niesl_bug
22-01-2007, 12:33 PM
YAY Kimee - what wonderful news !!!

Does anyone else have bub's measurements at around 10 weeks? I am getting concered our little one is way too small :(

Sandy
22-01-2007, 12:54 PM
Donna - I hope you find somewhere to stay soon and good luck with everything!

Velisha and Allyjane - Welcome to our friendly little board.

Kimee - that is good news re your scan! I am sooo happy for you!

Tara - I have no idea about the 10w size. I wouldn't fret too much. I'm sure your baby is fit and healthy!

My scan was a drama today. Bubs would not stay still for measurements and then hid in the left hand corner of my uterus and wouldn't come back out! They did internal, external, and then both at the same time :eek: Still, bubs would not co-operate. So all I know is that he/she is healthy, busy, has a heart beat although they couldn't measure it due to bub's going nuts. Sooo I have to go back again on Wednesday at 11.30 for a second go.

DD is down for her sleep so its my chill time :)

chicken
22-01-2007, 12:58 PM
Sandy - sorry you weren't able to get any answers today. At least you'll get to see bubs again on Wed. I never even thought about the possibility that they might not even be able to take an accurate measurement.

Tara - I can't help you with sizes, but when you had your u/s, didn't they tell you how far along your bub's size indicated you should be? And wasn't that roughly in line with your own calculations?

Kimee
22-01-2007, 01:05 PM
Sandy - that is adorable that your little one is so active! It may be good in a way that he/she was playing hide and seek cos you get another scan! I love scans! Aside from the being busting to go to the loo part!

Tara - I've never had a 10 wk scan done sorry but I've read everywhere that the size of the developing bubs vary a lot. Mine is proof! I've googled my peanuts size and he/she is is on the large end of the specrum. Some say for my dates bub is only supposed to be 1.5cm (bub is 2cm!)

As long as there is a healthy heartbeat I'm sure your bub will be fine.

niesl_bug
22-01-2007, 01:53 PM
Sandy - your little one was playing peek-a-boo with you ... soooooooo cute! I hope the next scan gives you some more results though!

Chicken - They told me my EDD date at 8 weeks, and it was only 3 days different to my calcs. I think bub was only 0.4mm then?
I know I am worrying about nothing, just being paranoid! Can't wait to hit 12 weeks and for our scan next Monday!

Ciao ladies :wave:

whatwasithinking
22-01-2007, 02:00 PM
Hi everyone. I have found somewhere to live - RIGHT HERE! We are going to live under the same roof but separated until such time some other arrangement can be worked out.
Hannah and I are going to be roomies.
Thanks for everyones support.
How this will work out is anyones guess but at least now I can stop stressing and getting myself sick - I feel better already!

deb1234
22-01-2007, 02:33 PM
Donna, hopefully this arrangement works out for you. I'm sure your daughters will love having both parents around (although not always practical i know!).

Tara, i have emails coming to me once a week from about 3 or 4 different websites telling me about my stage of pregnancy and they are usually very different in what they say about the size of the baby at that point. i wouldn't worry about it at all. hopefully this means an easy birth with a small baby!! :D

chicken thanks for the good wishes - to you too!! i'm so excited to see the baby again. glad you've gotten over your needle phobia! i just don't look. i read somewhere if you look at something painful like that it hurts more. :rolleyes: especially if you see the tubes filling up with blood!!

Tingles
22-01-2007, 02:56 PM
I had a scan at 9 weeks + 1 day ... crown rump length 2.5cm with heart rate 170 giving me a due date 13/8/2007.

Tara I don't think you need to worry about size at the moment...

As long as you'ver got no blood & a strong little heart you're :thumbsup: Keep up the good job Mumma:)

niesl_bug
22-01-2007, 03:26 PM
Donna - glad you have come to some sort of agreement, I'm sure things will be fine for you and your roomie :thumbsup:

Thanks for your kind words about bub's size ... I know I am being totally paranoid :o

OverTheMoon
22-01-2007, 03:38 PM

I am back from my ob appt - it wasn't as bad as i thought it would be, although i was a little emotional, thinking "I can't believe we actually got here and we are finally having our baby". And then there was the "but what if i still lose it?". The things we put ourselves through!

The ob was really nice, we were really happy with him. It looks as though we will probably have to have a c-section, given my history of surgery to my uterus, and my endo. But he did say we will wait a few months before making a definite decision. I had already expected that anyway, after discussions with the FC. So, if that's the way it goes, it will be around the 4th August, 'cos my actual due date is the 14th August, not the 19th like someone from the clinic said.

I have to wait until the end of this week and see if i have any more bleeding before he will tell me if i'm alright to go back to work next week. He said if i don't have any, he's happy for me to return, but if i do we will talk about it then.

Tara, we had measurements done, but they said that they will always tell you if they are concerned about size etc (don't know if this is the same where you are going). I am 10 weeks something , but with my revised EDD i think i'm more like a bit over 11 weeks. Anywho, measurement was 4.1cm, but they said it's growing at a fast rate. I wouldn't worry too much, i am sure they would let you know if they had any concerns.

Donna - glad you've come to an arrangement, hope it works for you.

Hugs to everyone, sorry if i forgot anyone.

niesl_bug
22-01-2007, 03:44 PM
Mel - I am so glad things went well with your Ob. It's nice when you feel comfortable with them, huh? I just really read your signature and didn't realise you had been TTC for 2 years ... what a fantastic achievement to be pg!!! We too are thinking "so close to 12W, what if something happens" and then I snap myself out of it !!!

Also, I have stopped worrying about measurements as I know our Ob would have said something if all was not 100% :)

Tan-mumof3
22-01-2007, 04:02 PM
Donna glad you've come to a living arrangement for the time being (im sure hannah is going to love having mummy sleep in her room).

Overthemoon Glad your ob appt went well today.

Sandy thats one active baby you've got there, hopefully it is a little more quiet on wednesday so they can do the measurements.

Welcome to Leishacaz & Ally Jane hope you enjoy it here (we all do)!

Neisl bug glad your not as worried about the size of your bubba some just start off a little slower than others in size (my sisters did but all is back to normal now, she is actually bigger than her dates now),
as you said your ob would have told you if he was concerned.

sorry if i missed anyone.

spunkyboysmum
22-01-2007, 11:17 PM
Hi Ladies:)

Well I had my 12 week scan today!! and Bubba is doing great!

The CRL- 6cm (putting me at 12w 2d which is exact) and the heart beat was 160 bpm. Als DH noticed that the neck measurement for Downs syndrome testing was 1.2 which is awesome because it was much thicker with DS and I needed an amnio so :fingerscrossed: I wont need one this time!!

Just a tip to anyone going for your scans LEAVE OTHER CHILDREN WITH SOMEONE!! DH and I took DS cause we though he would like to see the baby, boy was that stupid!! hes normally soo good but he just cracked it and was sooo loud and naughty and DH hardly saw any of the Ultrasound :(

But all is good and Bub is looking perfect in size and has all arms, legs etc. So we are so happy! Now Im just waiting for final results and then Im just waiting to find out the sex!!
Boy or......Girl???? Im happy either way but I just cant wait to find out!!!

Donna I hope everything works out for you. Try to be strong for your bub,( I know easier said than done) *Big hugs*

Good luck to all awaiting scans!!

onabreak
23-01-2007, 07:35 AM

Haven't been in this thread for awhile have been to sick. Well I see my OB for the first time today at 9.45am. I am really looking forward to it but I am really nervous aswell.

I am now 9 weeks & 5 days. It just seems to be going so slow, just want the 12 week mark to hurry up.

I still have morning sickness now and again but I can feel it slowly disappearing which is great as I hate feeling sick all day, just have to make sure I have something in my stomach when I first get up.

Hi :wave: to all the newbies

Milis
23-01-2007, 07:48 AM

Haven't been on for a couple of days and 5 pages to catch up on :eek: :D .

Congrats to all those who are at the 12 week mark, I feel so far behind you all as I'm only 9 weeks today. MS still not easing off much although I do feel a bit better today.

DS was up in the night a few times last night so am too tired to write much - will post again later after a nap :sleeping: .

SilverStarfish
23-01-2007, 08:16 AM
I'm feeling pretty nervous this morning. The long two weeks are up and today we are having the scan to see if our little baby has a heartbeat. DH has the day off work so he can come with me.

I've got everything crossed and I hope we get a good result... but I'm also aware that it might not be too - though all of the :crying: stories of the August mummies that had to leave us too soon.

:fingerscrossed: and I'll let everyone know this afternoon what the news is.

Milis
23-01-2007, 09:28 AM
Faeml - best of luck with your scan, I'll be keeping my :fingerscrossed: for you.

Tan-mumof3
23-01-2007, 11:48 AM
Spunkyboys mum glad your scan went well, and thanks for the tip about leaving the kids with someone else whilst having the scan i definately think i will do that.

Mandymoo good luck with your ob appointment today.

Faeml Best of luck for your scan today i have my :fingerscrossed: for you that your little bubba is okay.

Im feeling sooo tired today as my ds was up all night :barf: poor little thing im taking him to the dr shortly and now my dd says she is not feeling well either, oh well doesn't look like im getting much done today lots of mummy cuddles i think.
And just after i typed this my poor dd also :barf: .

silver_locket
23-01-2007, 12:26 PM
Hi ladies :) :hugs:
I'm new to this site, but just found out I'm preg for the first time. doc says it's due on 29th Aug but that could change. I'm 8-9 weeks in. and don't get a scan until 17 weeks. I'm pretty nervous, as it's all new to me, plus I'm not used to seeing my breakfast twice!!!.. but I'm doing ok.:yes:

Sandy
23-01-2007, 12:36 PM
My DD was sick yesterday and I am trying so hard not to catch it. That's my main concern at the moment. Not sure how I would cope being sick as well. I had a migraine the other day and could only take panadol. Great.

I am just so tired at the moment that I am becoming dysfunctional. My patience is getting short too and others around me are coping it.

I really disliked my u/s lady yesterday and I have her again tomorrow. I don't like her attitude and I am one for telling people what I think of them straight up so I have to serverly bite my tongue. She almost copped it yesterday. To 2nd, 3rd...mums out there, could you half empty your bladder and hold it? Not me and that is what she wanted me to do yesterday. I came back into the room and she says "So, half bladder?" I say, "No, I told you that is almost near impossible for me now, after DD, and I am not even sure I could do it before!" And so we got into an argument over that. I was ready to smack her one I swear. Then she carries on about not being able to see bubs properly as my uterus is tilted. Like its my fault? I tell her that I have internals for that reason. She says no, we don't do internals unless its absolutely necessary (not from my experience and I'm the one who has them). Then she conceeds. But where I normally am asked to get into a gown, in front of my daughter and husband, she gets me to pull down my skirt and underwear. I got a small sheet to put over me but thats it. So I got that gel stuff all over my clothes etc. NOT HAPPY JAN. I can't change to someone else either cause they are all booked out. And I thought that you couldn't have u/s so close together due to safety concerns/radiation etc.

Thankyou for listening to my rant.

I am tired and in a filthy mood :mad:

pregomum
23-01-2007, 12:58 PM
Hi to everyone, glad I'm not the only one feeling as though I've been hit a train all I want to do is sleep. Cant wait till kids go back to school my youngest starts prep this year so will be sad to see him go as much as I'm gonna love the sleep during the day. I just wanna:sleeping:

My first hospital visit isn't until 6 Feb which will make bub bout 14weeks, can't wait to hear a heartbeat.

Does anyone know what are the normal times to go see the hospital? I thought the first was 12weeks then 16 wks for your ultrasound etc, but it seems to have changed since my last bub.

Sandy
23-01-2007, 01:43 PM
I'm not sure Pregomum. I thought in the public system its a matter of who is available to see you rather than how far along you are but I am guessing that they take that into count! The 12wk fuss is only about the nuchal test and that is optional. The critical one, which any oby (private or public) will recommend is the 18 - 20wk anatomy scan, I think.

Kirst
23-01-2007, 01:59 PM
:wave: to all the newbies, and congratulations on your pregnancies.

Donna, I hope that your 'new' living situation works for a while., I know it's easier to say, but try to relax, and stay healthy. We're here for you.

Can I just say guys, I understand that some people are nervous about the development of their babies, but I don't understand why everyone is so concerned about the differences in their sizes.

When you walk down the street, is everyone the same size??? I think that it's silly to worry that your baby might be a bit smaller than someone elses (or bigger), they're all different. Have a look in any good book about pregnancy and childbirth, and it will give you ranges (and these are just averages too).

Don't stress ladies. As I think Sandy said, if there is anything to be concerned about, your doctor would have discussed it with you.

If you are worried now, what are you going to do at your Early Chilhood appointments and they tell you that your baby is in the 25th percentile for weight, but 75th for length? Will you freak because they are so out of proportion, or just understand that you have a 6'5" stringbean brother who your baby is taking after?

Individual differences. Everyone is different.

One word...............relax.

Love and hugs to you all.

Sandy
23-01-2007, 02:13 PM
I agree Kirst. For the first time mum's, get used to a life time of having your child compared to another. It starts from birth and then at every checkup where they are measured and pigeon holed against a percentile. The it starts with your friends; whose child spoke, crawled, walked, slept through, did a wee on the potty first. It never ends, the comparing against what is considered "normal".

I forget all the things you discover after your baby is born that they never tell you, in books or at the hospital.

Kirst
23-01-2007, 02:18 PM
And we're not even there yet, but when they go to school, they're all categorised, and normalised.

You're right Sandy, get used to it all now. And it's hard to not compare, but try not to, as you'll just make life hard for you and your child.

Sandy
23-01-2007, 02:29 PM
...get used to it all now. And it's hard to not compare, but try not to, as you'll just make life hard for you and your child.

Totally.

niesl_bug
23-01-2007, 02:40 PM
Faeml - how did your scan go? Can't wait to hear your news ...

Silver_locket - Congratulations and welcome to our thread!

Sandy - so sorry you got the u/s witch, I bet you were filthy with her!!! I hope your DD is getting better and keeping her filthy little germies to herself.

Kirst - ummmm ... I kind of feel like you were having a bit of a go at me with the bub size thing. I am a first time mum and getting used to everything. As you can imagine I am reading as much as I can and I have noticed that the "general standard size" that seems to be referred to is almost double what my bub was at that stage. I have since stopped stressing about it, I was just curious to see where everyone else was at. I understand my Ob would have brought it up if it was an issue, I was just airing my thoughts and concerns, which I thought was the point of this forum.
I am a bit of a stress-head anyway and this is something I am working on - but this is who I am! I am a bit anxious and looking forward to passing the 12 week mark and I am doing my best to "relax" but it's often easier said than done!

deb1234
23-01-2007, 02:41 PM
hi silver_locket :wave: welcome to this thread and congrats on your pregnancy! :yelclap:

well its too hot to do any more work i reckon. might have to go and watch some more tennis. :)

onabreak
23-01-2007, 02:47 PM

I am finally home after seeing my OB this morning. I was so happy she did an ultra sound for me and didn't charge me :smiliedance: would of cost me $155 otherwise. It was so good to see my little baby again. It is just over 3cm long. I have attached a photo for you all to see from my scan. If you can make it out the head is on the left hand side. You might have to use you immagination a bit but I can definately see it.

http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m149/mandymoo77/Mybaby.jpg

She was a very nice OB, a bit older than I thought she would be but she was very caring and talked through everything. I see her again in 4 weeks time after I have my NT scan in three weeks time.

Talk to you all soon.

Sandy
23-01-2007, 02:49 PM
Tara, did they say whether the measurement was rump to head or included legs?

A book that I am reading at the moment says that pregnancy is the work of worry and I agree with that. I will find the passage later tonight and quote it here for you. It may help you with your worry :hugs:

Sandy
23-01-2007, 02:51 PM
Amanda, that was so good of the oby to give you a scan at no charge :thumbsup:

Milis
23-01-2007, 03:17 PM
Mandymoo - what a cute piccie! Glad everything went will with your appt.

Sandy - I get migraines too, had a killer one this afternoon - don't know about you, but I find Panadol less than useless :( .

Silver_locket - welcome :wave: . Look forward to chatting with you more.

Tara - I remember being pretty anxious with my 1st pg as well, I'm sure once you get past 12 weeks you'll be able to relax more. The other girls are right about the comparison thing, but you learn to ignore all that stuff or it drives you mad.

Poor little DS had his needles today. He wriggled so much that the doctor ended up stabbing him 3 times in one arm :eek: . She was absolutely mortified though and gave him a balloon which seemed to ease the pain! Apart from the migraine, I'm not feeling too bad today, the m/s seems to have eased a little - hopefully it's on it's way out!

onabreak
23-01-2007, 03:21 PM
Amanda, that was so good of the oby to give you a scan at no charge :thumbsup:

She said the reason she didn't charge me was because I had a scan at 7 weeks to determine my date. This was done at the local xray clinic. I think she did the scan so she could see what was going on.

niesl_bug
23-01-2007, 03:33 PM
Tara, did they say whether the measurement was rump to head or included legs?

A book that I am reading at the moment says that pregnancy is the work of worry and I agree with that. I will find the passage later tonight and quote it here for you. It may help you with your worry :hugs:

Thanks Sandy - didn't specify about measurement but that's ok, I am over it !!!

M/S looks like it has left the building.
Hello nipples! The feel like they have grown so quickly that they are shiny from being stretched !!! I went and bought some Palmers Nursing Cream at lunchtime ...

Milis - poor DS, hope he's ok after his jabs.

Mandymoo - great to see your scan and what a bonus about the cost!

SilverStarfish
23-01-2007, 03:45 PM
Houston, we have a heartbeat. 138 wonderful heartbeats per minute!

I'm happy, but more relieved than anything else. They've also changed me EDD again, and I'm now smack in the middle of September. The 15th, which is the exact same day that I'm to be Matron of Honour at my friend's wedding...

I'm determined to be there, hell or high water. Or perhaps that should be hell or broken waters? :laughing:

This whole experience has thrown me for a bit of a loop. I don't think I'm ever going to rest easy until I'm holding our little baby in my arms.

Kirst
23-01-2007, 03:52 PM
Tara Sweetie! Sorry, not having a go at anyone. I just wanted to get it across to EVERYONE that all our kids are different, and to try not to compare. I know it's hard not to worry, but believe me, yo'll learn not to, otherwise you'd be a worry-wort!

I also believe that people can read too much, and then read too much into things. Don't get me wrong, I have my fair share of pregnancy books which I peruse, and having Molecular Biology and Psychology degrees makes me even worse - far too much knowledge. And when docs find out, they expect me to be able to look at things as a scientist rather than a mother, and lose the emotion.

What's the saying "a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing"?

Hence why I push the whole "relax" bit, and try to get people to stop worrying. I don't try to have a "go" at anyone, that's not what we're here for. We're here to support. And if we (old mums) can help first time mums alleviate worry, then we've done our jobs. Sorry if it came across that way.

{hugs}

Kirst
23-01-2007, 03:56 PM
Wendy, that's sensational news! Congratulations to you and Jim! You must be relieved!

OverTheMoon
23-01-2007, 05:32 PM
Wendy - so glad for you! Yay!

Welcome to our newbies!

The grumpy witch:devil6: in me has come out today (i'm sure it's the hormones :D )- courtesy of our large gas company and my husband! DH is being so annoying, it's like he forgets i'm already feeling like **** and that a bit of TLC as opposed to being a stirrer is what i need.

Then, there's a freakin disconnection notice for our gas. This is the second time in two weeks (first was for power)!!!!:thumbsdown: I somehow, when i changed our address when we moved, got the two idiots that work for these companies who don't actually change the addresses we phoned them to change! They both, for some reason kept it at the old address after i called, hence all bills were going there. Now, i know i should have been more on the ball with when bills should be arriving, but over the past 6 months with all the IVF and ovarian surgery and new home bills we've had, i've missed the fact we haven't received these. ARGH! At least the phone, insurance, council, water etc got it right!

Sorry about that vent there, girls. I feel so much better.

Anywho, i had my bt for the 12 week scan today, and got a lecture about making sure that i have the scan done before 13 weeks (i haven't booked in yet). I wanted to say "I'm not an idiot! I've been told this 3 times now".

MS is starting to ease somewhat, but i am getting pain where i believe my ligaments are. I sneezed yesterday and thought i was going to lose all my insides! Ob and MW said that's fine and normal given my surgery in Oct. Sleeping lots more too, like a lot of you! Been having 2 x 1 hour sleeps in the day - don't know how i'm going to cope going back to work next week!

Take care all, and sorry for my rant once again.

Tan-mumof3
23-01-2007, 05:52 PM
Faeml what great news about your scan.

Mandy thats good you got to see your bubba again.

Secretive
23-01-2007, 05:57 PM
Wendy that's awesome news!!!! Gawd I bet your glad that 2ww is finally over and with good news!!!!!

I've been MIA the last few days and there have been so many posts I can't do personals for you all! Welcome to the newbies!
I'm glad some of you are at the end of morning sickness. My nausea has settled down a lot but I'm tired all the time now and have had a huge headache all day. Back to the acupuncturist on Saturday and then I'll be 10 weeks on Monday and should be in the clear.

I had my 8 week app last week and my blood pressure is low but I'm not too worried about that. It'll fix itself when I'm feeling better I'm sure. I also have my 12 week scan booked in for the 12th Feb..when I'm 12 weeks and can reveal who I am!

Tara I just wanted to say try not to stress and just enjoy your pregnancy. I am only saying this after reading what you wrote about being someone who does stress and worry. Like it has been said before, if there is reason for concern your doctor will tell you straight away so if they don't say anything then be confident that you and your baby are fine! Honestly, it feels like forever away but before we know it we will be holding these baby's in our arms. I didn't stress at all my last pregnancy (I'm just not one to stress) but never really enjoyed my pregnancy and I mourned the end of my pregnancy for about 6 months after DD was born. I was so estatic to have her in my arms but I kept telling DF how I was so grateful I had 10 extra days of being pg (DD was born 10 days overdue) even though at the time I hated every minute of it. Even though it wasn't my last pregnancy, it's the only time I will ever be pg with DD. We're going to be all different when they start measuring us...at one point I was measuring 2.5 weeks behind what I should have been. I was told not to worry and I didn't. I measured ahead once but the rest of the time I was behind and DD was 9lb 1oz! Not little at all...it was just how I carried. :hugs: I just wanted to tell you that cause it's the next growth thing to worry about!

chicken
23-01-2007, 07:17 PM
Yey for faeml :smiliedance: I know how stressful the last two weeks must have been for you.

SilverStarfish
23-01-2007, 07:38 PM
Thanks everyone for your best wishes. It has been a long two weeks... I'm just so relieved that everything looks ok now.

But if nothing else, this experience has taught me to take nothing for granted, esp when it comes to babies!

Sandy
23-01-2007, 08:30 PM
I found this little insight very helpful for my stress and I wish to share for anyone interested. Quote Birthing From Within.

"Worry is the Work of Pregnancy

Our study group in Albuquerque resisted when Dr Lewis Mehl, a psychologist who specialises in childbirth-related issues, said, "Worry is the work of pregnancy." We were all holding on to the notion that women who appear relaxed, confident and together, birth naturally.

We were intrigued by his story about a childbirth class in Georgia. There were six couples in that class. One of the couples was particularly concerned about how to avoid a Cesarean birth. Every week, they stretched the patience of their childbirth teacher with questions. Later, at the group's postpartum reunion, everyone was amazed that the couple who had worried so much about a Cesarean birthed normally, while the five other couples who had sat quietly all had Cesareans!

In the years to follow, my midwifery practice taught me that for some women, worry is the work of pregnancy. In fact, an over confident first-time mum who thinks she has it all figured out, worries me. I worry she will not be truly prepared for what awaits her."

Pam England

spunkyboysmum
23-01-2007, 08:51 PM
[/QUOTE]The grumpy witch:devil6: in me has come out today (i'm sure it's the hormones :D )- courtesy of our large gas company and my husband! DH is being so annoying, it's like he forgets i'm already feeling like **** and that a bit of TLC as opposed to being a stirrer is what i need.[QUOTE]

LOL !! I just read your post out loud to my DH and he thought it was my post!!!! hahahaha I have become DEVIL:devil6: woman today too (minus the gas company issues) , Ive been ready to scream at DH all day but im sure hes asking for it.
Dont the realize that when a woman is hormonal they just need to keep their distance and be super nice.... not stirr and make you worse!!!

I hope tomorrow is better for you:)...... and me for that matter LOL!!!

chicken
23-01-2007, 08:56 PM
I found this little insight very helpful for my stress and I wish to share for anyone interested. Quote Birthing From Within.

"Worry is the Work of Pregnancy

Our study group in Albuquerque resisted when Dr Lewis Mehl, a psychologist who specialises in childbirth-related issues, said, "Worry is the work of pregnancy." We were all holding on to the notion that women who appear relaxed, confident and together, birth naturally.

We were intrigued by his story about a childbirth class in Georgia. There were six couples in that class. One of the couples was particularly concerned about how to avoid a Cesarean birth. Every week, they stretched the patience of their childbirth teacher with questions. Later, at the group's postpartum reunion, everyone was amazed that the couple who had worried so much about a Cesarean birthed normally, while the five other couples who had sat quietly all had Cesareans!

In the years to follow, my midwifery practice taught me that for some women, worry is the work of pregnancy. In fact, an over confident first-time mum who thinks she has it all figured out, worries me. I worry she will not be truly prepared for what awaits her."

Pam England

Thanks Sandy. I loved this.

shirls84
23-01-2007, 09:48 PM
Hi all :wave: , Ive been trawling around this site for about a week and finally have the guts to post! Im 22 and live in Ipswich QLD and this will be our first baby! Very much unplanned so still adjusting to the idea, but not wanting to get too excited as dont have my first OB appt until next tuesday so no idea if I have heartbeat etc and this is all so new and overwhelming so Im abit unsure of it all.
So rough EDD is august lol wont have a sure date until after OB appt guesses are im inbetween 8 and 12 weeks at the moment! It seems weird not knowing, as ive been reading everyones stories how they test straight away etc, but as I had been on the Depo Needle and was switching to the pill - I still hadnt gotten my period back but obviously got pregnant somewhere inbetween. So Im rambling :ecomcity: enough now - I shall def keep everyone informed and hopefully will become a regular here in the august 07 thread !!

deb1234
24-01-2007, 06:21 AM
welcome shirls84! :)

speaking of worrying...every time i put my hands on my stomach my DH says is everything ok? HE is the worrier! he said he'll be worried until 40 weeks and i said he'll be worried until this baby is 40 years old!! :laughing:

we are going in for our 12 week scan (at 13 weeks) today :yelclap:

chicken is yours tomorrow or was it yesterday? (i know the day started with T) :)

AngelGirl
24-01-2007, 07:00 AM
I haven't been on in a few days, our computer at home is still out and I was away from work yesterday with horrible m/s.

Wendy - That is fantastic news that your 2WW resulted in a positive outcome. You must be so relieved. Well done :thumbsup: . 15th September is a great due date, it's my birthday!! Looks like you'll have a neat and tidy little Virgo on your hands!!

Kellie & Mandymoo (and anyone I have missed!) - glad your scans went well!!

Silver_Locket and shirls84 - Congratulations & Welcome :wave:

Deb - Good luck for your scan today and anyone else who's having their NT scans soon!

Mel - sounds like you haven't been having a good time with your utlilty people!! I was on the phone to a marketing company on Monday who are distributing my details to charities and I'm getting about 2 phone calls per night from people asking to donate money. Anyway I was on hold for 10 minutes waiting for someone to answer my call. By the time I got through, I wasn't in the mood for pleasantries!! I have a very short fuse at the moment, I should have a sign on my forehead saying "Beware - Pregnant & Hormonal" !!!

Oh and I'm officially 12 weeks tomorrow...woo hoo!!

deb1234
24-01-2007, 07:35 AM
angel girl congrats on making it to the 12 week milestone! :yelclap:
will be back on in a couple of hours after my scan :)

Sandy
24-01-2007, 07:49 AM
Well I have my 2nd scan this week, today, with the ogre from hell. I'm ready for a battle though should she cross me :devil6: DH said he doesn't want to be there again incase I make a scene. Humph!

Anyho, I hope that little post helped. I'm a control freak like Chicken it seems (Capricorns) and this book has really helped me to face my fears.

And sorry to Silverlocket and Shirls84. I was on a mission and didn't welcome them. :hugs: to you both and welcome! Shirls84, my baby was unplanned too and I had resigned myself to one kid and one kid only, so I'll admit that I cried when I found out but now I am looking forward to it :) Took me about 48 hrs to feel comfortable with it.

Kirst
24-01-2007, 08:00 AM
Ooh! Good luck Sandy. Give it to her!

I'm off to have my blood taken today for my scan next week. Fun!

Other than that, nothing to report here. m/s seems to be subsiding a bit, and am sleeping quite well.

All good.

{hugs}

deb1234
24-01-2007, 09:32 AM
hi everyone,

just had the scan and everything is looking good. heart beat was 161 bpm. two arms and two legs! will find out downs results in a week. :)

Sandy
24-01-2007, 09:35 AM
That's good news Debs! I am about to leave for mine too. Busting to wee!! Not good for people who have already given birth!

deb1234
24-01-2007, 10:07 AM
i only had to drink 500ml this time so wasn't as bad as before. and i cheated and drank it on the way :)

niesl_bug
24-01-2007, 10:38 AM
Morning Ladies :wave:

Kirst - thanks for your post. I think i was a bit hormonal yesterday and taking things way too personally :o
I am starting yoga on Saturday so hopefully that will help towards making me more relaxed!!! Thanks hun xx

Faeml - soooooooooooooo glad your scan went well - YAY!!

Shirls - CONGRATULATIONS and welcome to our wonderful little thread!!

All good here - been up since 3am though. Once I get up for that 3am pee, i seem to be having trouble getting back to sleep :(

Sandy - if that woman is a cow to you again, I suggest you punch her in the nose .. will make you feel much better :p

Angelgirl - YAY for 12 weeks!

Sorry if I missed anyone .... have a great day gals xxx

OverTheMoon
24-01-2007, 10:46 AM
Sandy - luv that excerpt about worrying. Thanks for sharing.

Kellie - it must be something to do with our suburb and devil women! hehe Hope today is better for you.

Welcome to silverlocket and shirls84.

I'm feeling much better today, but that said today has just started! I'm off to my mw appt with the fc. They cancelled yesterday's appt as she was sick, if they cancel again today i'll be peeved cos i need more pessaries so have to go in there anyway. At least i'm on the wean down with them - i'm down to one a day from saturday for a week, and then none after the following saturday! yay! no more yuckies with that!

DH was lovely last night, after i explained i just need some TLC. He said maybe we should have a picnic at the place we got married today! how noice!

Anyway, good luck for all with scans etc. have a wonderful day girls!

Tan-mumof3
24-01-2007, 10:57 AM
Firstly a big :wave: to Silver_locket & Shirls 84.

Angelgirl congrats on reaching that 12 week mark yay (i still have 2 weeks to go).

Sandy goodluck with your scan today i hope the ogre lady is better and your little bubba co-operates today.

Deb great news on your scan going good.

Neisl i bet your feeling extremely tired today since you've been awake since 3am (i hate having to get up to pee then not being able to back to sleep).

Overthemoon goodluck at your midwife appointment and i hope you have a lovely picninc with your romantic DH today (lucky girl).

Not much happening here ive woken up with a really sore neck (must of slept funny) so im going to try and get into see the chiro, then it's off to the shops to lay-by my first new bubba stuff before the target sale finishes and get my dd's school stuff (im leaving that a bit late seeing as she starts next week).
MS not too bad atm but i did just eat breakfast, im finding it's worse in the arvo now ( hopefully it starts to subside soon :fingerscrossed: ).

Thats about it for now hope you are all well and have a great day. :D

Cinta
24-01-2007, 12:13 PM
Hello ladies :wave:

Ok if I join this thread? :)

I am 11 weeks and I day preggie with my 2nd as of today...

Further along then I expected as I only not long ago found out I was pregnant! :eek:

How is everyone going?

I've been having a bit of morning sickness lately but feel fine today, just a little tired.

My boobs are getting huge! Can't believe how fast they're growing.

Does anyone have a prediction as to whether or not they're having a girl or boy?

With my first baby, I knew I was having a girl right from the start...But this pregnancy I honestly don't know! It's weird...

Who is finding out the sex and who isn't??

I most definately am, I couldn't wait that long to find out hehe...

niesl_bug
24-01-2007, 12:17 PM
Hi Cinta :wave:
Congratulations and welcome !!

I am 11W 4D so we are not far apart! My m/s is subsiding so hopefully yours will soon too. My boobs are also getting huge, moreso my nipples are getting bigger, darker and shiny (that's how much the skin is stretching). I waved goodbye to my body as I know it last night :(

I think we're having a boy and we will definitely be finding out.

This calendar has been pretty accurate so far when I've checked it back with my friends who have had bubs. It goes by month of conception and age you will be when you give birth:

http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/niesl_bugs/Peanut/ChineseGenderCalendar.jpg

Take care xx

Sandy
24-01-2007, 12:36 PM
Hi Cinta :wave: and welcome to the group.

Well I had the second scan, ogre lady was better so that was good but bubs still would not play. He/she hid under the placenta and refused to come out. No matter how much coughing, jumping, stomach crunches I did. So no nuchal result. They recommended an amnio :eek: So I plan to ring my oby today and talk to them. Bubs looked cute but still, I worry about a downs kid. Couldn't cope with that.

niesl_bug
24-01-2007, 12:42 PM
Oooh Sandy - what a little bugger you have in there :yes:

Let us know what your Ob says ....

Take care xxx

Cinta
24-01-2007, 02:32 PM
Thanks for the welcome Sandy & Tara!

Only three days between our due dates Tara! We might give birth on the same day hehe!

I really really hope I don't go overdue, I went over with Imogen by 2 days and that was bad enough! But some other girls on here go overdue a lot more then that...

When is everyone having their next scan?

Have any of you decided on names yet? :)

Sandy
24-01-2007, 02:47 PM
M'kay. Bad news time.

My Oby just rang me. He spoke to the ultrasound people and yes, bubs has a thickening of 5mm which is considered high risk for Downs.

He said that it doesn't necessarily mean DS, it can disappear just as quickly but I told him where I stand, I want a DEFINITE answer as I do not want a disabled child. No debates please.

So he is faxing my info to the Foetal Medicine Unit and they will contact me next week some time and assess me themselves and recommend a CVS or amnio.

I am not sad. I feel numb right now. What is there to be excited about? An abnormal child? Great. What a winner I am.

shirls84
24-01-2007, 02:56 PM
Thanks all for the welcomes, im going to GP tonight to get my general blood test results - the checking for rubella etc ones, and will ask about finding out a more def how far along i am, i know i will find out tuesday but seeing lots of people over the long weekend, who we rarely see and will ask why is shirls the biggest drinker of us all not drinking etc etc and wouldnt mind telling them, i would like to be able to give people answers rather than oh due in august i think etc.... anyways

as im fairly new to all this can i ask what the CVS or amino they might refer you to is sandy? I hope it all works out for you :wizard:

Sandy
24-01-2007, 03:02 PM
Shirls, a CVS is where they take a sample of the placenta. It can be done now but carries a slightly higher risk of miscarriage than an amnio. An amnio takes a sample of fluid from near the baby (in the womb) but is done later in preganncy (15wks). This is a 100% test and can tell you 100% the sex, any other genetic defects (beside cleft palate) and lung development.

My oby is wonderful. I adore him and I told him where I stand in terms of wanting to know a definite answer and he is supporting me and my decision all the way.

My best friend, a doctor, had her children at 40 so she had the FMU do all her scans and she says they are brilliant. My oby said the same thing and wants their opinion before we do anything else.

Cinta
24-01-2007, 03:07 PM
Aww Sandy what a tough time you're having.

It's your decision so its great that your oby is supporting you through everything.

Wishing you all the best hun, hope everything turns out ok :fingerscrossed: