View Full Version : Chosen any names yet?
whatwasithinking
14-01-2007, 12:41
We have chosen Emma ? for a girl and Evan James for a boy.
They are the only names that we can agree on and that would go with Hannah Grace and Rebecca May.
Better than Karmichael or Sterling as this is what my husband wanted to name any sons. :eek:
Has anyone else been so "keen :laughing: "
Boy - Kyan John Carey
Girl - middle names are set, but this is just the 'current favourite' for the first name. But we can't seem to agree on anythig else - Hallie Kathleen Lily
This one must be a boy. When I was pg with DD we had her name straight away, and were um-ing and ah-ing about boys names. Now we're the other way around.
We have Pearl Lily as a definite for a girl. Last time it was Matilda Ruth but sort of over it now.
Boys names we find so hard. Last time Hugh was the only boys name we liked.
I like Darcy, Alec and Miles. Angus likes Flynn and Clancy. I like Clancy but not to name my son and Flynn too but there is a 5 year old in our district with that name. Have no idea for a middle name at all! Hugh's is Thomas, Angus' late Dad's middle name. Possibly use my maiden name.
OverTheMoon
15-01-2007, 12:23
We have a small list - we only had 1 boy name last week, but it's grown a wee bit!
Girls: Lily, Ava, Ella, Bella, .... think that's all
no idea on middle names
Boys: William (Wil) John, after my grandad and DH's dad who passed away 2005.
Finn, Aiden (although this will probably go, i taught a kid with this name who was a terror, always think of him when i hear it),
Lachlan
AngelGirl
15-01-2007, 12:54
I like Lily and Ella too! I also like Charlotte, Grace, Emily, Eloise.
Boys I'm not so sure!
OTM- I like Lachlan but about 4 of our friends have Lachies so that's out for us. I also like Finn but Angus thinks it reminds him of Huckleberry Finn so it's out for him.
It's so frustrating!
Beautiful names AngelGirl!
niesl_bug
15-01-2007, 13:17
BOYS:
Hudson (my fave)
Mason (DH fave)
Finn (my 2nd fave)
GIRLS:
Scarlett (I love it, DH hates it)
Stella (we both think is OK)
Jade (DH fave but I know a Jade and she's a cow!!!)
We have an unusual surname so lots of names don't go with it :no:
Tara my great grandma, who was a sweetie, was called Stella, I love it too (my cousin called her daughter that), her whole name was Stella Bertha but I don't know about the Bertha bit!
niesl_bug
15-01-2007, 14:27
Hey Kazza! I really like Poppy as a middle name. It was what DH used to call his Grandad so it's kind of sentimental :)
AngelGirl
16-01-2007, 07:35
Jade (DH fave but I know a Jade and she's a cow!!!)
:laughing: isn't it a shame when you associate a name with a person who you don't like and somehow you just can't get their image out of your mind.
Poppy is really sweet :thumbsup:
:laughing: isn't it a shame when you associated a name with a person who you don't like and somehow you just can't get their imagine out of your mind.
:yes: My husband went to an all boys school so he seems to know a guy with every name I come up with who he didn't like at school. :laughing: I laugh and say well if you went to a co-ed school potentially half the names I come up with you wouldn't have been to school with one of them.
Did that make any sense:confused:
AngelGirl
17-01-2007, 07:19
:laughing: yep!
That's good then as I do have preg brain!
whatwasithinking
17-01-2007, 09:43
OMG I'm the same. I love the names Rachel and Bellinda but they were my two biggest bullies ALL through school.
pregomum
19-01-2007, 12:21
We got Tia, Hannah and Ella chosen for girls names and Kael, Caleb and Liam for boys, but who knows will prob change. Friends are trying to tell me its twins (cause I've got a big bump), that'll make it even harder.
littledawson
19-01-2007, 15:52
We currently call our bub Dawson. As in we dont know whether its a daughter or a son. My Hubby came up with that.
Other then that we have said we like Hayley and hubby would like to name a boy after his dad Noel and my dad michael. so Noel Michael. Noel's a bit old fashioned i think but it doesnt sound too bad.
niesl_bug
19-01-2007, 16:40
You could always have Leon, which is Noel backwards !!!
we have harrison geoffrey for a boy (geoffrey is a family name) and sophie marie for a girl. they are the only names we like so don't have any other choices at the moment!! i think it will be a girl though.
when we go through the name books we just don't like ANYTHING!! don't know how you girls come up with such long lists :)
You've nice names choosen Deb- my nephew's Harrison.
We were the same with Hugh- it was the only name we both liked and Matilda was the only girl's name we both liked, although Angus really likes Madelaine (sic?).
But both times we've found the boy's name the hardest. I'm waiting on my library books to arrive this week as I requested a baby name book or two in my order.
I have a long list because we too don't like anything... (for boys) I am just clutching at straws on the remote possibility that DP might also sort of like something that I would be willing to"put up with".
"put up with" sounds really bad, doesn't it? :eek:
although Angus really likes Madelaine (sic?).
Madelaine spelt like that is the French version! We have one of those in our baby group. :)
pregomum
02-02-2007, 18:06
We had chosen Hannah for a girl but my brother has had this horrible girl chasing him and is unfortunately named Hannah so it's off the list.I tend to associate names with people and she's just a @itch!!!
At the moment we like Jahzara and Isadora for girls. They are different, what are others thoughts on these? Are they TOO different?
JMO is that Jahzara doesn't really go with your other kids names. Isadora goes better.
Snugglepot
05-02-2007, 10:15
I have been looking up the most popular names for 2006, here are a couple of links..
http://www.babycenter.com.au/pregnancy/naming/topnames2006/
The above is a UK site, but it has top 100 names for 06. Jack is number 1 for the 12th year running!
http://www.bdm.nsw.gov.au/births/popularBabyNames.htm
It makes for fun reading!
Thanks Kez, Jack came in number 1 here last year I think. It's funny as I know a few Jacks but not that many.
Prego- I prefer Isadora myself- I feel it's more feminine, I like girly girl stuff though.
2princesses1prince
07-02-2007, 09:11
I'm pretty much set on names, just have to get DF to agree now.
GIRL: Emily Jaye
BOY: Tyson Wayne
just have to get DF to agree now.
:laughing: that's the hardest bit!!
I've decided Alec gets my 100% support, Angus likes it but I just have to get him to like it enough to name our son.
our new favourite for this week is Isaac. What do you reckon? :)
gets a thumbs up from me Deb, if that matters?
haha kazza of course it matters!! :)
Names are sooo hard... even though we knew the sex of the baby each time, we packed a list of about ten in my hospital bag... the time they thought I was going to have an 'emergency C' (I wasn't allowed home after my OB appointment) I was madly writting names on a tissue box :laughing:
My darling girls are:
Kara Mia - Ellie Rose & Louisa Michaela
Thinking along the boys names this time, surely DH got it right this time:rolleyes:
My mum finally suggeted a couple of names I don't mind... William Joseph (Billy Joe) & Robert Joseph (Bobby Joe).
DH and I also like Thomas
I like Xavier - dh :thumbsdown:
Girls names... well, that was hard enough last time!
2princesses1prince
01-03-2007, 11:13
My DF has finally come up with a boys name (fingers crossed jellybean is a boy).
So a boy - Jacob
Girl - Emily
Find out next week what we are having.
niesl_bug
01-03-2007, 11:16
I love Hudson.
DH loves Mason.
We both like Finn, but our last name is Niesler - does Finn Niesler sound too much like Vin Diesel?
Other names we're considering:
Cooper
Carter
Taj
But i'm not crazy about these as much as I love Hudson ...
Middle name we'd like to be Christopher after DH's grandfather, or Ward which is a family surname.
Girls names - don't get me started !!!
I am liking Liev, but have major concerns over pronounciation. Idea came from naomi watts boyfriend, pronounced Lii-ev, not leave. I could not stand having to correct people all the time and cant think of any obvious spelling.
I also like carter, archie, jarvis, will.....
Girls, well i am kinda not getting too involved in girls names until they tell me i am having one, but i like poppy, scarlett, andi with rose/rosie as a middle name. I also like essie, audrey...cant think of any others right now.
Hudson's a great name!
debbie - emily & jacob were our faves for a while as well. we can't have jacob thought because we are using geoffrey as the middle name (family name on DH's side) and they sound funny together. will have to have two boys so we can use it! :rolleyes: our boys names at the moment are still harrison & isaac....till next week :laughing:
i love ellie too, but my friend is calling her baby ellie (if its a girl) in april and i don't want to steal it. besides, i still love sophie.
tara, i like hudson & carter. i think finn niesler might be difficult to say and separate the names? only my opinion :p
jamb - i read that story as well and he actually said that he hates his name because no one can pronounce it!
niesl_bug
01-03-2007, 13:15
Deb - I love Isaac and I agree with you on Finn. Thanks for making it easier - it's off the list !
Jamb - it does sound like a hard name to pronounce. I do like Levi - could that be an alternative?
I love Poppy too - we'd like that as a girls middle name as that's what DH used to call his grand-dad :)
Does anyone else have a tough surname they are finding it hard to work with? I loved Noah and Nixon for a boy but wonder if N.N initials would be stupid and make him sound like a politician or porn star :confused:
tara, our surname is Shortt...so i'm trying to think of first names with two syllables or more so the name isn't too short(t)!
With the initial thing...that's my one problem with Sophie, she'll be SS. and we were going to use Marie as the middle name (my mum) ...then she will be SMS! hmmm.
one cool thing about Isaac is that it means laughter :)
deb, did he actually say that in an interview? i was not aware of that, i am so perceptive :p
no not a fan of levi, i like noah too, my friend is having a noah.
we havent got an unusual surname but i dont want to go to "out there" as my ds is jack, named for family, but it is a common name.
deb, i like sophie marie s, is it maaree, or mareee, if that makes sense (its a family name here, and they alternate between the pronounciations to mix it up)
I love Hudson. DH loves Mason. We both like Finn, but our last name is Niesler - does Finn Niesler sound too much like Vin Diesel?
Gee Tara - you like the surnames don't you!! :D
I have to disagree with Deb. I think Finn Niesler sounds fine. But, I don't like the flow of Noah Niesler or Nixon Niesler. JMO tho.. :yes:
debbie - emily & jacob were our faves for a while as well. we can't have jacob thought because we are using geoffrey as the middle name
Deb - Actually I like Jacob Geoffrey!! I don't see anything wrong with it... :D
Jamb - this is cut from the story (i actually read it on a nz news page)
_____
One thing for sure, however - The baby will not be named Liev. "It's an awful name," said Schreiber.
"It's probably the most oft-mispronounced name in showbiz.
_____
the pronunciation of marie will be mareeee!
Len, jacob geoffrey reminds me of that song...john jacob jingleheimer schmitt...or however it goes :)
Tara I want you to have a Finn, cause I can't! It's all about me LOL
We decided last night that this babe, should he be a he, will get my maiden name as his middle name- Geater (pronounce Eater with a g in front). If you've never heard of it it's cause there are basically none in Australia, hence our wanting to use it.
niesl_bug
02-03-2007, 10:30
Kazza - I'll see what I can do for you hun ;)
I LOVE the name Geater :thumbsup:
I also saw Griffin in a baby name book which is growing on me ... any thoughts?
Deb - my sister's full name is Maria-Helena but she calls herself Marie.
What was my Mum thinking? One sister is Maria-Helena Georgina Noel (she is born near Xmas) and the other is Marie-Christine Marilyn - and I get Tara Raquel (after Raquel Welch) - and if I was a boy they had named me Ian :laughing:
My friend is named Cheetah - her parents were stoned watching a nature documentary whilst pregnant with her. And her sister is called Tracey ... WTF :confused:
tara, so what is marie-christine called if there is already a marie?!
Hmm...don't think i'll be naming this baby Cheetah!! i tried to talk DH into Ariana or Juliana but he thinks even they are too much! :)
not sure about griffin...isn't that part lion part something?...just googled - eagle. And another surname!! :laughing:
niesl_bug
02-03-2007, 11:18
tara, so what is marie-christine called if there is already a marie?!
not sure about griffin...isn't that part lion part something?...just googled - eagle. And another surname!! :laughing:
Funny you say that - Marie-Christine goes by her middle name, Marilyn. In Mauritius (my Mum's nationality) you use the name closest to your surname as your christian name ...
Yes - me with the surnames! It's a mythological beast - half eagle and half lion (and we're having a Leo). I think I really like strong boys names - if our son is anything like his father he'll be a bit of a bruiser :eek: I make DH sound terrible - he looks mean, but he is the biggest teddy bear on the inside !!
I like both Ariana and Juliana :thumbsup:
Len, jacob geoffrey reminds me of that song...john jacob jingleheimer schmitt...or however it goes :)
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
We are finding name choosing a bit tricky too ..... well the hard part is agreeing on anything :p
For a girl we both like Imogen Olivia other names that I like but not DH are: Charlotte, Carys and Anais.
The only boys name we agree on is: Ethan William
Other names I like are: Riley, Kaleb and Rylan.
DH likes Jethro - which I don't mind but it reminds me of the Beverly Hillbillies a bit :laughing:
So I guess Imogen and Ethan are IT at the moment.
MammyMammy
11-03-2007, 13:38
i was just having a look at your thread on names...i am stuffed if i know what I am naming our baby (girl or boy)
I think its so hard to name a child that you havent "seen" yet - you know what i mean? Who's to say the bub will "look" like a John or a Sally etc etc..but its nice to be able to pick something
At least it sounds like you dont have too much of a family obligation, ladies... My girlfriend will probably have to name her baby after her parents names...and if its a boy...then f*** me...the kid is going to be called "Fokeon" as in "Fok-Eon"....holly bejesus!!!
eeeeek!
I have read through all the names...the only ones that i thought might worth mentioning as a possible issue are :
Alec (only because my mum always used to say to me when i was little "dont / stop being a smart alec" etc etc !!
And Jethro...and its a lovely name, but always for me it sounds like death-row...which isnt a nice word association at all!!!
We have a sirname that is the hardest thing to put with a lot of names without sounding like the child is from a royal / toffynosed or posh background, so i am trying to find names that "funk" up the posh/english sounding sirname...
I really got some great ideas from your thread...thanks heaps everyone xxx I have a while yet (we all have a few months hey!)
Hope your names just magically fit in to place when the time comes!:wizard:
I've got two we have settled on, though unsure of middle names, but hey they arent as important, kids just tease you if you have a **** one...
Louisa for a girl :yes:
Samuel for a boy :yes: , thinking maybe samuel christopher (my dad is chris, but he is just chris, and i think that is too short... :no: )
hmm just reading that, maybe louisa victoria (again my mum who died when i was 13 months old, tho she was just vicky, and i think its too short...)
I'm just too fussy, i mean its the name for the rest of its life, its not like its an important decision or anything... :gloomy:
Louisa for a girl :yes:
[/QUOTE]
You get my :thumbsup: for that one...as it is one of my daughters names!!
She is 'Louisa Michaela' - named after dec'd great grandfathers - italian heritage - DH & I both had grandfathers called Luigi, and dh other g'pa was Michealo.
Goodluck!
read what you said Mammy but decided no matter what you name your children others in the school yard will always come up with some sort of pay out
Here's my "short list"
Alec/Alex/Alexander
Finn/Finlay
Miles
Oliver/Ollie
Max
Charlie
D'Arcy
Angus' short list
Clay/Clayton
Patrick
Flynn
Charlie
There is one name in common, Charlie, but neither of us is 100% loving it yet- about 85% for me at this stage :laughing: But I'll keep thinking.
Well, looks as if most of you have some names planned... :thumbsup:
We have names here, there and everywhere lol.. I'll think about it more seriously after Tuesday when we definately know what we are having.... :smiliedance:
I'm in the same boat as you Hayley. Won't seriously think of names until we find out on Tuesday what we're having. I think that we are gonna keep the name a secret since we're letting everyone know the sex! We would like it to be a suprise!
Yep, we are doing the same Kimee... Keeping the name a secret :thumbsup: That way it'll be a surprise in the end for most people.... What do you feel you are having Kimee??
We are kind of set on a boys name, but haven't really been thinking of girls names since 12 weeks when they said they were pretty sure it was a boy lol So, it'll be a HUGE shock if they say we are having a little girl but exciting all the same....
MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 11:21
kazza I agree....you cant please all can you! You have to pick a name that you love and thats all you have to do!
I love the list you have compiled! What a great list!
I told my Mam the name we liked for a boy, and she said what if someone called him same spelling but one letter different....which would be a dirty word....but I said that she was a dirty old wench and to get her mind out of the gutter and we had a giggle!!!
I love Charlotte for a girl too, but DH says that it would always remind him of Charlottes Web etc etc....
A lot of people are using Charli or Charlie for girl and boy....its just lovely!
I really have no inkling about what bub is but without realising it DH and I always refer to bub as a he or him! I dunno if that means anything! I wish I had a feeling but I'll just have to wait and see! You're so lucky that you got to find out so early! It'll be interesting to see if it stays the same on Tues!
I told my Mam the name we liked for a boy, and she said what if someone called him same spelling but one letter different....which would be a dirty word....but I said that she was a dirty old wench and to get her mind out of the gutter and we had a giggle!!!
I call my husband Anus all the time, simply remove the g from Angus, cause I'm so funny!:laughing:
niesl_bug
29-03-2007, 13:04
We have picked our girls name (we agree and both LOVE it!) but are also keeping it a secret. As we know what we're having and on what day, we'd like to have at least 1 surprise for everyone!
Plus, when I mentioned the boys names I liked to some people they turned they're noses up at some of them and that made me want to punch them !!!
As we know what we're having and on what day, we'd like to have at least 1 surprise for everyone!
well done Tara,
my m-i-l's partner's d-i-l (:confused: get that? :laughing: ) is having her baby today.
We knew it was today and we know he's a boy and what they're naming him. No surprises at all, could have ordered the flowers a month ago!
Baby names are secret here too! We've hardly even discussed names, waiting until we know what we're having. Even then we just get a shortlist and then name the baby when they are born.
We've got Connor for our little boy as the favourite- Connor Christopher (middle name is my Dad's name).
MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 14:31
I love the name Connor...my nephew is called Connor....but I always get it mixed up for Cooper! I must not let that happen in front of Cooper, ahem, Connor's parents!
We too keep the names secret, and we wont be finding out the sex. My DH's comment to most names is "nahhh, sounds gay". For once I'd like him to come up with something original! :laughing:
What I did last time was come up with a long list of any names I liked - being a teacher I was particilar as it was, and stuck it to the fridge. Every few days DH would cross off any he didn't like and we ended up with 4 boys and 2 girls names. Worked for us!
This time around DH doesn't like the girls names from last time and I'm NOT happy about that! Oh well, got stacks of time yet!
My DH's comment to most names is "nahhh, sounds gay". For once I'd like him to come up with something original! :laughing:
Sounds like my DH!
imisschampagne
30-03-2007, 19:58
our list so far is
Girls - Ava, Charlotte, Helena, Ruby, Lily, Isabel
Boys - Sebastian, Kyan, Kai, Spencer, Patrick
We have decided not to tell any family or friends our final choices, as when we were sounding them out, people would screw up their faces and say ' ah, u cant call her/him this or that, cause i know a dog called that or nah dont like that etc etc.
Nic, one of my name picks- Max- is my bro's dog's name. I asked my s-i-l what she thought and she wasn't too fussed. I don't care.
imisschampagne
30-03-2007, 20:24
Nic, one of my name picks- Max- is my bro's dog's name. I asked my s-i-l what she thought and she wasn't too fussed. I don't care.
Yeah Kazza, im with u, i dont really care, cause once we have the baby, people cant really say to your face they dont like it or whatever, well i suppose they can, but i wont care that's their opinion. It just annoyed me the other day when i rang my mum and said 'dont u just love the name Charlotte' and she said 'aww no Charlotte the Harlett' i asked her what that meant and she said prostitute, i just thought oh for gods sake that a bit old school.
yep and like I said already,
it doesn't matter what you name your child other children will always come up with some sort of payout!
At the moment my fav is: Elizabeth Josephine - I would call her 'Betty Jo' - yes very hillbilly...
MammyMammy
31-03-2007, 22:18
Champagne & kazza - it is so true - lots of people will screw face up without even realising it - but not if the baby is already named!
its the way to go:wizard:
niesl_bug
01-04-2007, 08:32
Champagne & kazza - it is so true - lots of people will screw face up without even realising it - but not if the baby is already named!
So true!!!!
I love all your name choices so far .. and as long as you love them then that's all that matters!
Our beautiful little doggie is called Ruby - wish we'd saved the name for bub! Then we found out it is DH grandma's middle name ... whoops!
I've had heaps of people say to me "oh, i used to have a german shepherd called Tara" ... never bothered me (and i guess I can be a bit of a b&tch sometimes so maybe it's fitting :laughing: ) !!!
DH has really come around now to the fact we are having a little princess and everytime he gets home he says "how are my beautiful girl(S) ???" .......... awwwwwwwwwww....
I went to Harbourtown Friday night and went a bit crazy - I didn't realise they had Pumpkin Patch there! Picked up some maternity skirts that were $80 in town for $30! Got some gorgeous little summer things on sale from Cotton On Kids too .. just couldn't help myself :o
Our beautiful little doggie is called Ruby - wish we'd saved the name for bub!
My s-i-l said the same thing when I broached the subject of maybe naming our baby the same name as their dog. She wishes now they could have had it as a baby name choice.
MammyMammy
01-04-2007, 12:56
We think we know our middle names...
....dependant on how they match with first names.
Middle name for girl is Florence (my nannys name)
Middle name for boy is Owen (my grandfathers middle name)
and we have a lastname like this, starts with C and is 3-syllable so it sounds great!
We stayed clear of DH's family's names as they are admittedly flat:
here is a few of the names in their family - it must have been a short n sweet thing: Brett, Scott, Mark, Steve, Sue, Ken, Will, Jack, Don, Carol, Bob...you get the drift.... :sleeping: borrrring
I'm pm'ing you Mam,
we might have the same surname
My s-i-l said the same thing when I broached the subject of maybe naming our baby the same name as their dog. She wishes now they could have had it as a baby name choice.
We did the same thing... silly...
ETA - the dog is Sam...
niesl_bug
02-04-2007, 11:23
I guess though our dogs ARE our babies! They are just the furry ones! Mine is my baby and I cannot believe how much I adore her ... in fact it worries me if it's an indication of how much I will love our non-furry baby :rolleyes:
Deb - I love your middle names :thumbsup:
We are the other way around - we think we've decided on our first name, but stuck on middle names. Have decided not to use any family names as to not upset anyone. We are leaning towards "Poppy" though as it's what DH used to call is Grandfather ... I think it's so cute!
imisschampagne
02-04-2007, 11:55
I guess though our dogs ARE our babies! They are just the furry ones! Mine is my baby and I cannot believe how much I adore her ... in fact it worries me if it's an indication of how much I will love our non-furry baby :rolleyes:
Hey Tara, im the same, I didnt realise u could have so much love for a pet, our fub bub really is our little baby, and she loves us just as much, she follows me around the house all day. And she loves kisses and cuddles.
BTW i love the name Ruby, it's on our list probably use it for a middle name. I think Charlotte Ruby sounds gorgeous!
Poppy and Charlotte Ruby are both gorgeous girls!
niesl_bug
02-04-2007, 12:58
Nic - Charlotte Ruby is a gorgeous name :yes:
MammyMammy
02-04-2007, 13:55
Oh,.... dont go there...to furry babies that is...
I lost my german shepherd boy Sasha nearly 7 weeks ago and he was my whole world. We still have Bonnie, our retriever, she is lovely but not the same....Sasha was like "my boy" and I miss him so much....booohooo
I was so distraught when he died that I couldnt part with him and DH had to gently pry me off him as I was cuddling him still, six or so hours after he went to the kennel in the sky...I wanted to "keep" him....I think I went a little nuts, but I was so scared I'd forget how soft his ears were (like velvet) and how gorgeous his beauty spots were (very), and where his saddle changed to black and where it went to tan etc etc etc....but I am pleased to say I will never forget...he has made an indellable imprint on my heart and I will love him always....
I am sad that he wont meet our baby, he would have loved giving them "pony rides"
imisschampagne
02-04-2007, 19:28
Nic - Charlotte Ruby is a gorgeous name :yes:
Tnx tara, BTW i forgot to say before i love Poppy!! it's just so pretty, it reminds me of poppy flowers and the fact that it has meaning to u and ur DH makes it so special, i think later in life ur little princess would love the meaning behind her middle name if u choose that. SO CUTE!!!
imisschampagne
02-04-2007, 19:33
Oh,.... dont go there...to furry babies that is...
I lost my german shepherd boy Sasha nearly 7 weeks ago and he was my whole world. We still have Bonnie, our retriever, she is lovely but not the same....Sasha was like "my boy" and I miss him so much....booohooo
I was so distraught when he died that I couldnt part with him and DH had to gently pry me off him as I was cuddling him still, six or so hours after he went to the kennel in the sky...I wanted to "keep" him....I think I went a little nuts, but I was so scared I'd forget how soft his ears were (like velvet) and how gorgeous his beauty spots were (very), and where his saddle changed to black and where it went to tan etc etc etc....but I am pleased to say I will never forget...he has made an indellable imprint on my heart and I will love him always....
I am sad that he wont meet our baby, he would have loved giving them "pony rides"
Oh mammy, so sorry to hear that news:crying: I totally understand...I would be a complete mess if we lost our little girl, she is our world! Sending u lots of hugs:hugs:
niesl_bug
03-04-2007, 11:12
Oh Deb - I am so, so sorry hun. There is nothing I can say, other than I know the immense love you have for your furry ones that some people just cannot understand.
Sending you lots of :hugs: ...
MammyMammy
03-04-2007, 14:47
he was such a clown! I miss him. But I am glad that if he was suffering that its over now.
He was the coolest dog in the world....just an absolute clown! Always hamming it up with his toys!
The other thing I did last time I named a baby was to Google the whole name-
Hugh has a namesake accountant in Canberra.
I'm off the Google these new choices.
Max ******** is an author and president of a company in the US and apparently was a character in Neighbours in 2000 and was an eminent historian in Australia.
Pearl ******** is a counsellor and a Dr in the US and one in Australia has a butter churner from the 1900s!
mom2jake
15-04-2007, 22:11
What a good idea Kaz...
Just checked our top names and they're unique...nobody in the world with these names, well google didn't pick them up anyway:D
I hope all the beautiful august to be mummies had a great weekend...
I'm off to bed, just ate way too much chocolate:barf: xx
Thats a great idea Kazza!
The name we have chosen for our bubba boy isnt very popular, so no famous people have it lol... So thats good, cause thats the way I like it! :D
MammyMammy
16-04-2007, 07:33
Kaz, I really think that Pearl ******** Is a lovely name.
And when your bubba grows up (well if its a she), she will be equipped with the sort of name that will work well into when she is an old lady....IYKWIM...its a very good name for all ages...
, she will be equipped with the sort of name that will work well into when she is an old lady
Yes it does suit someone who would show up on Collectors with their butter churner!:laughing:
MammyMammy
16-04-2007, 07:41
"...and today on Antique Road Show, we have Butter Churner Antique expert, Pearl....with what appears to be an exquisite brooch found at the bottom of a butter churning pot....splendid....."
:laughing: "it appears she stole it from her Mother's beautiful collection!"
MammyMammy
16-04-2007, 08:51
wish u lived nearer - i bet you have a mega good stash of PROPER cow milk on your 'ranch' huh? yumbo.... i am MILK MAD
Not unless you like sheep or goat's milk Deb!
this is really off topic but anyway-
last year when I had Hugh he was born in June- like all our lambs- they are supposed to all be born during May/June- and it used to really annoy me that I was struggling to breastfeed Hugh for the first 9 weeks and these lambs would just run up to their Mums, bunt them a few times in the belly then have a guts full of milk!
Meanwhile I was there double checking the way I was sitting, getting the nipple in the correct hold, making sure I had Hugh positioned correctly and then popping him on- if it wasn't right I'd have to go back over the while procedure again!
niesl_bug
16-04-2007, 12:24
We thought we had a name picked, but the meaning of it isn't very positive. Would you still use it? We have 2 other names we like but this name we both loved instantly :confused:
leishacaz
16-04-2007, 12:33
We've picked the name for our bubby girl *****drum roll*****
Sienna Rose
Awwwww I think its so pretty!!
Would you still use it?
:yes: if it was a name we both loved I'd go for it.
To tell you the truth I didn't find out til I got my keepsake bangle with a H and Hugh's birthstone charm love hearts on it-pm me if you want details where to get one! Anyway- it came with a little bit of info on Hugh and that's when I found out what it meant.
:ecomcity: sorry Tara- my point is I don't think it really matters
Sienna Rose is very pretty Leisha
mom2jake
16-04-2007, 13:01
Would you still use it?
If we both LOVED it then yes...It's so hard to choose a name as is!!
I think my name means warrior princess:barf:
check different sites though because some have completely different meanings....
Leisha...Sienna Rose is a beautiful name....So feminine:yelclap:
leishacaz - Sienna Rose is a beautiful name.... :yes:
Anyone else definate about what names they are using?
Tara - I would still use the name if it is something you both love...
niesl_bug
16-04-2007, 13:39
Thanks girls - we really love the other 2 names so will be happy with any of them. Our first choice means "sorrow" which is kind of sad. One of the other names is from the movie Gone with the Wind - which I was named after, so might be a cool kind of connection ? The other name means "river" so we'd be happy with either of those. We kind of want an exotic name because we hope with our ethnic mix our little girl will be dark and exotic :)
Kazza - if you could send me info on the charms, that would be great :thumbsup:
Tara, its a tricky one. i ditched a name because i didn't like the meaning. depends how much it means to you.
we both love Isaac because it means laughter. the meaning was a big deal to me but may not be for you....hmm i haven't really solved your problem have i? :laughing:
Love Sienna! :)
mom2jake
16-04-2007, 16:33
Our girls name we've choosen means "Sublime" which is kinda cool...
Our boys names we've choosen, one means "title of nobility" and other means "son of"
Kellie when I looked quickly at your thread I thought you meant you were going to call your daughter Sublime! LOL I re read it and now it makes sense!
MammyMammy
16-04-2007, 18:29
imagine...."its a boy.......and we've called our son SUBLIME!!!"
Tara who cares about what it means in some book, its more important what it means to you and DH - so if its the name you want, then go forth!
I've been banging on about a certain name that was in gone with the wind too, but DH says he doesnt want to use that name so that kind of sets that one out.
we have pretty much got both our full girls name and full boys name.....now onward to the birth!!!! yah :yelclap:
MammyMammy
16-04-2007, 18:32
Kaz, I JUST loved the lamb story - its a fair point, prollly not for the names thread but anyhoo : on that note - how come only human babies are so helpless??? A puppy, a little baby lamb, a birdy etc, they all go to the breast or where the food is, they all try to walk / fly straight away....but OUR babies - completely reliant...makes you wonder, did we somehow CREATE this behaviour to feel more important a long time ago in evolution...hmmmm
imisschampagne
16-04-2007, 19:27
Velisha - Sienna rose is gorgeous!!! Love it love it love it!!!!
We have either Ava or Ruby for a girl, DH loves Ava Rose, its growing on me, but i knew someone named Rosie and i couldnt stand her:laughing: Hate it how that happens with a name
I like Ava Elizabeth (Elizabeth is my nanna's name) I think she would be stoked.
Everytime i think of Ruby, that Kieser Chiefs song comes into my head, Ruby, Ruby, Ruby, Ruby, la la la la la. Lucky for me i love that song!
Avalon is a new one i like! i Also had Isabel on the list but my SIL has it too, so i had to relinquish that one.
For a boy (just in case the sonographer was wrong, anyone else afraid of this?) Im loving Sebastian, Cohen or Kyan, has to be a middle name of Matthew, DH family tradition, lucky i love my DH's name huh?
:ecomcity: :ecomcity: Sorry gals
mom2jake
16-04-2007, 20:50
Nic...Your girls names are just beautiful...Very sweet:yes:
I also like Sebastian. My first ever boss called his boy Bastian...I've not heard this since then 13years ago!!
mom2jake
16-04-2007, 20:53
Sorry Ladies...Not to keen on the actual name "Sublime" hehehe:laughing:
The funny thing is, just watch for it to pop up as a name somewhere in Hollywood:yes:
Again- way off topic!
how come only human babies are so helpless???
I think the theory is our brains develop more than our physical features in the first year or so- and maybe a bit longer for some people:p
I managed to score a copy of Desmond Morris' Baby Watching last night off eBay ($8!)- can't wait to read it.
I've read a few of this books on humans but a specific baby book I can't wait to get my hands on!
Tan-mumof3
16-04-2007, 22:27
We have chosen a boys name (but its a secret) but still not decided on a girls name.
mom2jake
17-04-2007, 05:34
We have chosen a boys name (but its a secret) but still not decided on a girls name.
There is actually a few of us who aren't finding out sex of our bubbas....
I have a secret thou...I gave my ultrasound DVD to my sister, who has a doctor friend.....He's going to have a look and see if he can see anything!?! I really wanna know:fingerscrossed:
imisschampagne
17-04-2007, 06:04
oohhh Kellie, u r a naughty girl:p Think u could keep it from DF?
mom2jake
17-04-2007, 06:19
oohhh Kellie, u r a naughty girl:p Think u could keep it from DF?
Well I told him that i gave my sis the DVD, I can't keep things from him, but he is the one that doesn't want to know the sex, so I'm going to try and not blurt it out:yes:
It's going to be hard I know, but I think the reason I want to know is for me(I hate surprises) I won't tell anyone hopefully:fingerscrossed:
MammyMammy
17-04-2007, 08:24
I just tried my girls name in my head with Elizabeth as the middle name....I like it!
thanks to IMissChampagne!
I have a new boys first name that I love (cause DP said a BIG FAT NO to the others) and I stole it from one of you Aug mummies (I think you are a lurker not a regular poster :)), it is your toddlers name. I hope you don't mind. DP is yet to fully agree though :( and we haven't picked a middle name but I have a list.
We have 2 girls names ready to go - maybe 3 if I take the first from one of the names and put it with the middle of the second name. I love them both, but slightly prefer one over the other and DP prefers them the other way around. I'll probably be stewing over it for the next 15 weeks. We still need to work out spelling, eg with or without a H etc... Actually the name I like is the same as one of you Aug Mummies daughters names, but I didn't steal that. Just a coincidence!!! Promise! :)
Oh.. If anyone is really desperate to know what we planning on using at the moment you can PM me. I'm just not posting the names cause I don't like seeing my posts come up when I search for things on google - IYKWIM?
Id be interested to know what names you are using....
Do our posts come up on google?? :confused:
YES! I found that when I posted a list of names - then I googled a few combinations of those names, you know to make sure they weren't axe murderers or porn stars etc... haha and my posts came up.
Well hmm..... I think I better watch what I write :laughing:
Our latest name is:
'Charlotte Jon Marie'
Hmmm... :idea: maybe just, Jon-Marie... not sure if dh would go this one??? He's not one for hyphenated names - even though my name is hyphenated...
Tingles - Thats nice! What are your other daughters names??
Just popped back... in between hanging washing... feeling :sleeping:
My girls are:
As perviously posted... proposed girls name... Charlotte Jon Marie, or just simply Jon-Marie... there are too many Charlotte's these days?:yes:
I should probably add my name is ...................... - maybe someone would like to name their baby after me:laughing:
niesl_bug
17-04-2007, 11:50
We have decided to ditch the name ... BTW it was Lola. We love the 2 other names and the meaning of "sorrow" just made me sad :(
Deb - I wonder if one of your names is Scarlett :rolleyes: I love that name but DH isn't into it.
Nic - I love both Ava and Ruby ... and Avalon is just gorgeous ... I guess people will shorten it to Ava anyway ...
Kellie - would you tell your DH if you found out??? Oohhhhhh ... that's so naughty and exciting !!!
Tingles - love your name choice :thumbsup:
mom2jake
17-04-2007, 12:04
Kellie - would you tell your DH if you found out??? Oohhhhhh ... that's so naughty and exciting !!!
Tara...I would try not too (as he really wants a surprise) but I'm shocking at keeping things from him...Especially such exciting news like that:yelclap:
Btw...I love the name Lola(I love older names for girls), your other 2names must be just as beautiful too...I had no idea it meant sorrow!
Tingles...I love your name choice...all of your girls names are beautiful:thumbsup:
Tara:
lola
Lola, a 2-syllable girl's name of Latin/Spanish origin, means: Cloud; strong; womanly.
Entertainers with this name include Lola Falana (Stage/Theater).
Nicknames for Lola are Loleta, Lolette and Lulita.
Other names associated with Lola are Lolita.
It really depends what name finder you use -
http://parenting.ivillage.com/namefinder
Marie means... 'The perfect one' - 'bitterness' - 'sorrow'... how can you go from perfectness to bitterness & sorrowful??? which one is it!:laughing:
MammyMammy
17-04-2007, 12:19
Tara - you are right, and I also like a different version of it too...but DH says it reminds him of the person with same name thats in all the movies etc....
darnit
maybe i will keep working on it / him to get my choices sorted...
im going to google the names i like to see what comes up
niesl_bug
17-04-2007, 12:21
Tara:
lola
Lola, a 2-syllable girl's name of Latin/Spanish origin, means: Cloud; strong; womanly.
Entertainers with this name include Lola Falana (Stage/Theater).
Nicknames for Lola are Loleta, Lolette and Lulita.
Other names associated with Lola are Lolita.
It really depends what name finder you use -
http://parenting.ivillage.com/namefinder
Marie means... 'The perfect one' - 'bitterness' - 'sorrow'... how can you go from perfectness to bitterness & sorrowful??? which one is it!:laughing:
Tingles - you're a flippin' legend! Thanks so much for that! I got "sorrow" from 3 different sites, but obviously didn't research enough! Thank you so, so much :hugs:
Kellie you're like me!
We didn't find out from the amnio(it's 100% accurate) or scan but I'd love to know-Angus loves a surprise. I'll pester him to know what he got me for Christmas but he can wait.
But having said that I did enjoy getting the hugest surprise when I had Hugh!
DP and I have chosen our boys name - We've liked it since I was only a few weeks pregnant and now that we know we are having a boy, the name has stuck.... It's quite unusual, but not over the top - We love it!! :yes:
Anyway, I thought it was funny that DP was on the phone to his dad the other night, and being on the mobile it was quite loud and his dad asked "Hows ***** going"........ I thought that was quite hilarious that he was referring to bubba by the name we have chosen... :laughing:
imisschampagne
17-04-2007, 18:28
I just tried my girls name in my head with Elizabeth as the middle name....I like it!
thanks to IMissChampagne!
It's such a classic name, just gorgeous!!
Call me Nic if u like, i miss champagne must be a pain in the butt to type
imisschampagne
17-04-2007, 18:29
We have decided to ditch the name ... BTW it was Lola. We love the 2 other names and the meaning of "sorrow" just made me sad :(
Nic - I love both Ava and Ruby ... and Avalon is just gorgeous ... I guess people will shorten it to Ava anyway ...
Tara - Lola is gorgeous!!! and with the new meanings that tingles found, well...they are great!! Have u considered Poppy for a first name, it's so pretty and cheeky!!
I just asked DH if he liked Avalon, his reply:barf: but he loves Ava! :laughing:
I love the name Ava! :thumbsup:
niesl_bug
17-04-2007, 20:40
Tara - Lola is gorgeous!!! and with the new meanings that tingles found, well...they are great!! Have u considered Poppy for a first name, it's so pretty and cheeky!!
I just asked DH if he liked Avalon, his reply:barf: but he loves Ava! :laughing:
Boo-hoo to your DH :thumbsdown:
Poppy is actually on our 2nd name list. It's what DH used to called his Grandpa so has sentimental value :)
Lola is now back on the list, thanks to Tingles !!!
MammyMammy
17-04-2007, 20:58
We LOVE Poppie....but unfortunately DH's best mate's DOG is called Poppie so it wouldnt feel right.
I think that to use the names you really like best, you basically have to have no friends or family ever again...so you dont run into them and they find out you called your baby their pets name, or their kids' names
I always always always thought we'd go with Sienna, i simply love it....but now I am friends with one of my b/friends sister as she is a SAHM and has kids and comes to see me during the week for a cuppa...her 1st born is sienna...DOh!...
you basically have to move to a new planet to use the names you REALLY want!
dreamer80
17-04-2007, 22:02
We have decided on Hudson ( concived in NY...we won't ever tell him that..:laughing:) James (great-grand farthers name) Deane ( my maidan name) Bonfield.
So it will be Hudson James Deane Bonfield
MammyMammy
17-04-2007, 22:22
Everyone, this is DREAMER80 ---- our new mate, found her lurking in the product recommendations area....recruited her to the August Mummies Army...
WELCOME!
Oh and I love the name HUDSON....so cool....
dreamer80
17-04-2007, 22:27
Thanks Mammy Mammy!! :D
imisschampagne
18-04-2007, 05:20
I'm a lady!!! Boy ha ha
niesl_bug
18-04-2007, 08:59
We have decided on Hudson ( concived in NY...we won't ever tell him that..:laughing:) James (great-grand farthers name) Deane ( my maidan name) Bonfield.
Dreamer80 - hi and welcome :wave:
Hudson was one of my boys names - I LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT !!! Kind of funny as my maiden name is Bloomfield ... a bit similar!
We have our names down to 3 and I just would really love some feedback so I am going to spill:
Lola ~ Rio ~ India
2nd names:
Poppy ~ Jade ~ Marley ~ Bailey
What do you guys reckon?
Lola Jade
India Bailey
Rio Marley
Our surname is Niesler ... makes things very difficult :rolleyes:
Lola Jade Niesler has my vote Tara :)
dreamer80
18-04-2007, 11:39
Dreamer80 - hi and welcome :wave:
Hudson was one of my boys names - I LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT !!! Kind of funny as my maiden name is Bloomfield ... a bit similar!
We have our names down to 3 and I just would really love some feedback so I am going to spill:
Lola ~ Rio ~ India
2nd names:
What do you guys reckon?
Lola Jade
India Bailey
Rio Marley
I like Lola Jade:thumbsup:
mom2jake
18-04-2007, 12:38
Lola ~ Rio ~ India
2nd names:
What do you guys reckon?
Lola Jade
India Bailey
Rio Marley
I like Lola Jade too, but I also really like Lola Poppy:thumbsup:
Hi Dreamer80 - great name choice!! All my kids are going to have my last name as a second middle name too!!! Like yours, it is a boys name, but if I have a girl she is going to be stuck with it too!
dreamer80
18-04-2007, 13:28
Hi Dreamer80 - great name choice!! All my kids are going to have my last name as a second middle name too!!! Like yours, it is a boys name, but if I have a girl she is going to be stuck with it too!
Yes, I think it nice to have abit of family history so to speak in a name...it is great to have a surname that is also a boys name:thumbsup:. Don't think my DH would have been okay with "deane" as part of a name if we had girl :laughing:
Hey Tara - I love anything with Jade. Lola Jade, India Jade etc, etc... Not to sure on Rio Marley. It doesn't sound like a lil pink princess to me... a bit to unisex. But hey that's JMO!!!
Tara - I vote for Lola Jade too.
DH has a difficult surname too, and he grew up with people having difficulty pronouncing/spelling it, so we've decided we have to stick with a first name that is simple, to avoid the poor kid having to explain both names. Its a shame because I love a lot of beautiful girls names around that are just a bit too exotic to use with his surname. My surname (which I kept when we got married) is so nice and simple, so if we had that to work with it would be so much easier. I tried to convince DH to change to my name, but strangely he wasn't interested?:laughing:
Tan-mumof3
18-04-2007, 14:28
Tara- I like all your name choices but i like Lola Jade the best :thumbsup:.
Welcome Dreamer80 i love your name you have chosen for your little boy.
I wish i could tell you my name pick but my bf and sil would read it and i don't want any family knowing his name. (pm if you want to know im dying to tell everyone lol).
India Bailey
:thumbsup: gets my vote Tara, I really like India/Indiana/Indi
DH has a difficult surname too, and he grew up with people having difficulty pronouncing/spelling it, so we've decided we have to stick with a first name that is simple, to avoid the poor kid having to explain both names.
I grew up with a hyphenated surname with one part apparently being difficult to say and spell (it's really not that hard if people made an effort) so I'm with you Chick- easy names all the way!:yes:
dreamer80
18-04-2007, 14:48
Do you ladies think it is okay...and not too long for our son to have two middle names..? :detective:
His full name will be:
Hudson James Deane Bonfield
Dreamer - you can have as many as you like! My DH has two middle names, although he typically only uses the first one, unless its a really official document or something.
MammyMammy
18-04-2007, 16:57
Tara love all your choices.
wish we were a bit more "ethnic mix" here at our house - i'd love to call a girl INDIA.... not with my english and his irish background though
love everyones names
i'm in a lovey mood!
imisschampagne
18-04-2007, 18:57
Tara - i thought ud crack soon, :laughing:
it's so hard to keep things to urself when ur so excited, spec if ur already keeping it from family & friends! Hope a few of the other girls spill soon too.
I love Lola Jade, it sounds so beautiful together but i love, love, love India, maybe India jade, i think that sounds lovely 2:yes:
ok... Tanya and Hayley - I've PM'd you. I wanna tell someone too!
Tara - I love Lola Jade - Its beautiful....... Jade is a great middle name, considering its mine :laughing:
ETs mum - Thanks, checking now! :D
Dreamer - Hudson is a great name and I think it sounds fine with 2 middle names :thumbsup:
I love Lola Jade too, and India is a beautiful name.
Hudson is a great boy's name, love it, love it! My Dad has 2 middle names - I think it's quite common.
Well, we've been really struggling this time around, we had a great girl's name picked but boys names are so much harder!
The shortlist so far - would love your opinions!
Benjamin Alexander
Max
Kyan
Jett
DS is Jasper Evan so not sure about Jett as it would mean them both having the same initials and that might be confusing? We have a very common 2 syllable surname so pretty much anything goes with it. Arrrgh!
Doesn't help that my DH refuses to take it seriously and keeps suggesting ridiculous, outrageous names that he thinks are hilarious :banghead: . I've told him if he doesn't cut it out I will pick a name and he will just have to live with it :devil6: .
mom2jake
19-04-2007, 08:52
Benjamin Alexander
Max
Kyan
Jett
I love Max...Will the middle name be Alexander?
Millis - I thik either Jett or Kyan are great names! :thumbsup: I dont think having 2 'J' names would prove to be much of a problem....
Snugglepot
19-04-2007, 10:44
Doesn't help that my DH refuses to take it seriously and keeps suggesting ridiculous, outrageous names that he thinks are hilarious :banghead: . I've told him if he doesn't cut it out I will pick a name and he will just have to live with it :devil6: .
My DP does the same, it is so funny, he keeps telling everyone he like Nolene (sorry if you do like it!) and with DS he said Humphrey all the time. Always with a deadpan face,so people do not know if he is joking or not!
This time we actually like a couple of names the same and I am not allowed to say them to anyone, well except here of course, he didnt ban Bubhub friends!
Lucy
Zara
Sophie
Have not even thought of second names
What do you think?
niesl_bug
19-04-2007, 11:08
Chicken - it's funny how our DH's expect us to take our name, but would never consider doing it the other way around :rolleyes: . We really want a first name our bub won't have to spell as she'll always need to spell/repeat our surname too ...
Nic - you gals are the only ones I can bounce ideas off! we're not telling parents, anyone our name choice so I love getting feedback from you :thumbsup:
Kez - I like both Lucy and Zara. I know a few Sophie's and prefer to go for a name hopefully there aren't too many of around ...
Milis - I love Jett !!
Well it looks like Lola is winning at the moment ... I keep singing the Peter Allen song "her name was Lola, she was a showgirl" ... :laughing: but then was also singing "rio" by Duran Duran when I found that name !!!
I think the finalists will be Lola Jade or India Jade ...
niesl_bug
19-04-2007, 11:09
Nearly forgot! Dreamer - have as many names are you want to ... one of my sisters is Maria Helena Georgina Noel :eek: Luckily my Mum ran out of names when she got to me ...
Thanks for the feedback guys!
Kez - I like all those names, but particularly Zara - we had that picked out for a girl. It's a bit unusual but not weird, and so pretty! Your DH and mine sound very similar :laughing: .
Mom2bee - not sure about middle names yet, but I really like Alexander and it goes well with a 1 syllable first name like Max or Jett, so will probably stick with it (until I change my mind ;) ).
Jett is my fave too at the moment but we probably won't make a decision until he arrives. Jasper was going to be James for ages, but it just didn't suit him - he was too quirky.
Benjamin Alexander
Max
Kyan
Jett
DS is Jasper Evan
I think all those names go well with Jasper!! I prob prefer Ben, Max and Jett over Kyan tho.
Tell me about it!! Soooo frustrating!!! DP says it is WAY to early to be worrying about names.. What the...!! I started trying to come up with the next boys name as soon as I had named DS cause we had so much trouble!
Kez - I LOVE Zara!!! Maybe you could put the names you like together... eg, Zara Lucy, Zara Sophie etc...
mothertobein2007
19-04-2007, 15:36
i having a boy and im calling him noah matthew:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
MammyMammy
19-04-2007, 16:11
Hey M2Bin 07 - loving Noah - thats fab fab fab
love it - so jealosu!!!
imisschampagne
19-04-2007, 19:32
Milis - I love max & kyan, they were both on my boys list, but then:wizard: we are having a girl!
Kez - Lucy & Zara for me:thumbsup: they are gorgeous!
Tara - isnt there another song with Lola....something something cherry cola?
I love it Lola Jade!! And u can buy her a gorgeous little bangle made from jade. Ahhh so pretty.
BTW does anyone know what the birthstone is for August?
ET's mum - PM me too:yes:
MammyMammy
19-04-2007, 21:01
yeah it goes
well I'm not the worlds most passionate man....bla blaa
Lowwwllllaaa
La
La
La
Lowwwllaaaa
La
La
La
La Lollllaaaaah
thats how it goes ----are you all cracking up at my lines!!!???
imisschampagne
19-04-2007, 21:36
Yup, thats the one!!!
U always crack me up mammy, u r one funny mammy!
niesl_bug
20-04-2007, 10:08
Nice one Mammy ... not sure if it was your words, or the fact that I was singing along while reading them :laughing:
August birthstone is the Peridot :confused: ... it's like a lime green colour ...
http://gilletts.com.au/index.php?cPath=296_304
MammyMammy
20-04-2007, 10:39
what month is the birth stone diamond? I want a diamond...hahaha
niesl_bug
20-04-2007, 10:46
December is diamond - my sis and DH are December (the same day). I am emerald :(
I'm emerald too!!! I love emeralds (esp sitting next to a big fat diamond!!) - hahahaha!!! Well I can dream can't I.....?
niesl_bug
20-04-2007, 12:10
I'm emerald too!!! I love emeralds (esp sitting next to a big fat diamond!!) - hahahaha!!! Well I can dream can't I.....?
Your birthday must be coming up then? Mine is 2 May. I would rather a diamond than an emerald ;)
AngelGirl
20-04-2007, 12:49
Tara - Lola Jade is a beautiful name!
M2BI2007 - Noah is cute! I like it!
I've changed my mind a thousand times re: names. Today my fav. boys name is Jonah. If we have a boy, the middle name will be William (after DH's grandfather) so whatever we choose has to go with that. Jonah William...what d'ya think?
I have always liked Emily for a girl. DH likes Charlotte but both those names are so popular right now, it would be nice to have something different. hhmmmm...
MammyMammy
20-04-2007, 12:58
popular is always thought of as a downside, but its not like all 100,000 Emilies (etc) registered in 2007 will all be in your bub's class etc...
I say go with what you want! yah!
do i ever stop talking? no. Bla bla bla:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: I love these little men that jump yah!
Angelgirl I was soooo dead set against using a super popular name for any of our kids....yeah well we have an Emily! I know there'll be others in her year at school but so what? We love it, it suits her, and it flows well with our last name (German, something she'll have to spell for the rest of her life and is quite harsh sounding so she needed something soft to set it off). It just suited her best when she was born!
My mum called my sister Olivia cause she didn't want a popular name and now there's 1000's of Olivia's out there! My mum's a bit p*ssed off cause it used to be different but now she just gets told 'that's my neice's/daughter's etc. name.'
If you like a common name put it on your list I say! If you like something better you can always get rid of it!
MammyMammy
20-04-2007, 14:54
agree. forget whats popular. go with what u like! :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
what month is the birth stone diamond? I want a diamond...hahaha
April is Diamond.... Cause I have a diamond :smiliedance:
December is Blue Topaz/Turquoise.... My mum is this one! :thumbsup:
MammyMammy
20-04-2007, 15:03
I'm a january girl
Garnet - which equals = darnit
Only diamonds for me thanks....big ones.
Yeh, the joy of being born in April! I love my diamond!! :D
MammyMammy
20-04-2007, 15:16
We've decided on a name for our baby......
because
We paid our $ 3096.40 ....20 week bill in full today, and we've also counted:
140 for blood test
100 in pregnancy tests etc
80 for a maybe baby
200 for CF test for me
200 for CF test for DH
200 for more blood taken
240 for initial meet with Ob
32 for sub ob visit
120 for ultrasound & dvd
120 for 2nd ultrasound & dvd
500 in supplements and yoga
260 already in massage and osteopathy
so thats $5352
and I am not even going to start counting the baby goods and pram etc...
so we've come up with a name for bubs
Farkyouareoneexpensivekido
like it?
niesl_bug
20-04-2007, 15:21
April is Diamond.... Cause I have a diamond :smiliedance:
December is Blue Topaz/Turquoise.... My mum is this one! :thumbsup:
Whoops - sorry :o Dumb dumb pregnancy brain again !!!
niesl_bug
20-04-2007, 15:22
like it?
LMAO :laughing:
:laughing: Love it Mammy!!!
MammyMammy
20-04-2007, 16:02
not that I am blaming you, little bubba....you are probably going to be a perfect bub in every way...ooahhhhhhh cutie
(and addicted to butter menthol if this throat continues) ha!
imisschampagne
20-04-2007, 18:55
Yeh, the joy of being born in April! I love my diamond!!
Here here, i love april, diamonds all the way!!!! I love my diamonds, big fat white ones!!!
Hayley, when is ur b'day? Mine is on tuesday.
I'll be 29 :crying:
Mmmm, not sure if i like that peridot:thumbsdown:
Maybe bub will come early and be a july bub (not that that would be a good thing)
:thumbsup: to ruby's. Big fat ruby's, with big fat diamonds.
We have finally decided on bub's name, i chose first name and i let matt have the middle name, but he had to ok it with me first lol
Anyone interested:cool:
Here here, i love april, diamonds all the way!!!! I love my diamonds, big fat white ones!!!
Hayley, when is ur b'day? Mine is on tuesday.
I'll be 29
Mmmm, not sure if i like that peridot
Maybe bub will come early and be a july bub (not that that would be a good thing)
:thumbsup: to ruby's. Big fat ruby's, with big fat diamonds.
We have finally decided on bub's name, i chose first name and i let matt have the middle name, but he had to ok it with me first lol
My birthday is on the 30th... So I just make it as an April girl... I'm turning the big 21 :smiliedance:
I'd love to hear your bubbas name!! Let me know! :D
ME please!!!!
Your birthday must be coming up then? Mine is 2 May. I would rather a diamond than an emerald ;)
Just after you - 05/05!!!
dreamer80
20-04-2007, 19:40
:laughing: :laughing:
mom2jake
20-04-2007, 21:37
Pick me ...pick me:thumbsup:
WOW...there are heaps of birthdays coming up, lots of us Taureans...YAY...I'm 15th may...We rock....:smiliedance:
neostudded
21-04-2007, 02:39
Iam calling my baby Julius, but everyone knew that!
he hasnt got a middle name yet, it has to be short because the last and first name's are long.
Benjamin Alexander
Max
Kyan
Jett
DS is Jasper Evan so not sure about Jett as it would mean them both having the same initials and that might be confusing?
I love Max- my front runner boy's name at present and I also have Alexander on my list so :thumbsup: to them from me. My b-i-l's name is Ben(jamin) so I never really think about it but it's good.
My father and bro have the same initials and that is confusing but they have no middle names so makes it even harder.
he keeps telling everyone he like Nolene (sorry if you do like it!) and with DS he said Humphrey all the time.
Kez, Angus kept telling his mother last time-cause she hassled us so much!- we had Jayden & Shakira picked out-no offence at all intended to people with those names or thinking about them- they just weren't us and we knew it would surprise her
:thumbsup: Lucy, I would have loved to have Lucinda but friend's have a Lucy so decided against it.
my sis and DH are December (the same day).
That's weird, my b-i-l and I are the same day in Dec, the 8th and my bro is the 6th.
Jonah William...what d'ya think?
Just after you - 05/05!!!My Dad's b'day.
Iam calling my baby Julius, but everyone knew that!
he hasnt got a middle name yet, it has to be short because the last and first name's are long.
hmm, I'll have a think for you Neo
MammyMammy
21-04-2007, 07:41
spill the beans Nic!
MammyMammy
21-04-2007, 07:43
Neo - what if he doesnt LOOK like a Julius? have you got a back-up Plan B (does he look like a cutie julius from your scan??)
How cute!
(oh and he'll have a shedload of freeeeebies at your place to try when you get home from hospy!)
MammyMammy
21-04-2007, 07:47
hey Kaz, if you end up going with Alexander thats a nice one too. and Max (but the kid next door is max and he is a super-pest so maybe i have to meet a new max to get super-pest Max out of my head! LOL)
BTW short name for Alexander is Sasha - I love the name sasha because it was our beloved doggie (RIP baby :gloomy: )
and if its an Alexandra then the shortie is Sashie (say-shee)
or just alex...obviously...
god i am a :ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity:
reminded me Deb to go google Alex with our surname
MammyMammy
21-04-2007, 08:24
Kaz, I just said your proposed name out loud (dont worry nobody in my living room and omg it sounds HOT)
what middle name would you go with, if you went Alexander?
you know, with Alexander ******** you dont even need a middle name if you didnt want one.
what middle name would you go with, if you went Alexander?
we want to use one of the names from my hyphenated maiden name- it is basically finished so it's another way to just keep it going that bit longer- Geater
imisschampagne
21-04-2007, 14:25
lots of us taurean mummies!!!! We r :cool: :cool: :cool:
bubs name will be Ava Rose!!!
(does that sound too similar to axl rose:confused: )
provided she doesnt come out with a spout accidently.
niesl_bug
21-04-2007, 15:36
Us Taureans ROCK - and we are so humble :p
If your good friends were pregnant (due in Oct), weren't finding out what they were having, but liked Layla for a girl - would you name yours Lola ??? Even though we were keeping secret, I think I should discuss this with my friend. The girls (if they have one) will hopefully be good friends so maybe a bit difficult?
Then my other friend who is on IVF said she likes Lila as a girl - it was so hard for me not to say anything!!!
Tara, first in first served I guess:D
I do believe my two auties were pg at the same time... one due in April, other Sept - the one in Sept always said her baby names was 'Natalie'... the one due in April STOLE (WTF) her baby name:p !!!
Doesn't really matter, even if you were to use the same names... they are two different names though... it's nice to chat about names - I don't know why people are so secretive:confused:
mom2jake
21-04-2007, 17:51
bubs name will be Ava Rose!!!
(does that sound too similar to axl rose:confused: )
Love love love it!!! I love that name but Df wasn't sold. Didn't really go with his surname...
Not like Axel Rose at all, it's way prettier sounding:thumbsup:
If your good friends were pregnant (due in Oct), weren't finding out what they were having, but liked Layla for a girl - would you name yours Lola ??? Even though we were keeping secret, I think I should discuss this with my friend. The girls (if they have one) will hopefully be good friends so maybe a bit difficult?
Then my other friend who is on IVF said she likes Lila as a girl - it was so hard for me not to say anything!!!
That's the only thing about keeping your name from everyone..I agree, you should tell your friend...I'm sure she'll be fine and by the time Oct comes around, she'll have found something else:yes:
mom2jake
21-04-2007, 18:53
Ok...I need to share!!!
If it's a
GIRL...
Aaliyah Honey
BOY... either...
Duke(both like it)
Mac(I like)
Munro(Kev likes)
Unsure of a second name for boys? Maybe my soon-to-be maiden name, Bryce? Any ideas?
I look everywhere for names...
here's a link
http://www.popculturemadness.com/Music/Girls-Names-Songs.html
girls names in songs...
niesl_bug
21-04-2007, 20:08
Ok...I need to share!!!
If it's a
GIRL...
Aaliyah Honey
BOY... either...
Duke(both like it)
Mac(I like)
Munro(Kev likes)
Unsure of a second name for boys? Maybe my soon-to-be maiden name, Bryce? Any ideas?
I love your little girls' name and all of the boys names ... your maiden name will make an awesome middle name too :thumbsup:
niesl_bug
21-04-2007, 20:11
I look everywhere for names...
here's a link
http://www.popculturemadness.com/Music/Girls-Names-Songs.html
girls names in songs...
Tingles, you are just full of wonderful ideas :yes:
I love your little girls' name and all of the boys names ... your maiden name will make an awesome middle name too :thumbsup:
I completely agree with what Tara said Kellie! :yes:
In situations like that Tara I'd talk to the friend. See what they say! It might not even bother them. Your IVf friend I wouldn't worry about talking to. She's got to fall pg with a girl yet, and could change her mind 100 times! Your friend could have a boy and it wouldn't even be a problem at all but if you're concerned and Lola is your absolute definite choice then I'd talk to her about it.
Mom2bee Aliyah was the other name choice we had with Emily! Love it! It's off our list this time (I still love it I just don't like Aliyah and Emily together).
Tingles we don't share names cause we find them hard enough to come up with and then when we find a name we like we don't want to be turned off by it. Also no chance of having it stolen, or being accused of stealing a name (IRL) if we don't discuss names with anyone. And we like to leave one surprise until the end! Everyone knows we're having a girl but no one knows the name, including us! She'll affectionately be known as the belly until she's born and then we'll pick the name that fits her best!
YES - Bryce goes with all those names. I'm all for maiden names being used for middle names. All my kids will be stuck with my last name as a 2nd middle name.
imisschampagne
22-04-2007, 13:01
Tara - i would talk to ur friend about your name, i think it would be better to discuss it first, but i think she would be fine about it, they r two different names, they only sound a little similar, it's not even like they rhyme...are u fine with it?
Kellie - I love Aaliyah, i had it on my list but matt wasnt to keen:thumbsdown:
I love ur boys names too espec Mac & Munro and i think Bryce sounds great with either:yes:
Mac is the start of my maiden name so i love love love it!!!
MammyMammy
22-04-2007, 13:03
Tara that is hard, but i think you should mention it to both of them, then its up to them what they do - if the couple due in oct still want to call bubs Layla after you have thrown Lola around a bit, then thats ok.You should joke next time you talk that they will be Lola & Layla....and i wouldnt worry too much about your friend having IVF - she is 9m + away from giving birth potentially - her tastes could change anyhoo... xxx
MammyMammy
22-04-2007, 13:07
You know, i was racing ahead with posts and didnt read the full Aaliyah name - omg its so cute with HONEY next to it!!!! love it love it love it
is it pronounced Ah-Lee-Yah ???
MammyMammy
22-04-2007, 13:08
Or
Al - Iy - Yah ??
mom2jake
22-04-2007, 13:47
Or
Al - Iy - Yah ??
More this one I think...
A-Lee-ah
We've had our girls name picked for ages now, which makes me think we'll be having a boy...
Initially I was certain it was a girl that we'd not even thought about a boys name!!!
niesl_bug
23-04-2007, 10:44
I will discuss it with both my friends. I feel awful as the ones doing IVF had Ruby as one of their girls names and that's what I named my dog! She didn't tell me until months afterwards, but I felt so bad. They are both good girlfriends so I think it's best that I chat to them about it. We still love Rio and India so would be more than happy with either of those names ...
... Imagine having a Lola, Layla and Lila :laughing:
My latest :rolleyes: name is 'Angelina'
second names in the running (so far) - Grace, Bella, Marie...
Angelina Grace sounds nice... :yes:
I know an Angelina, her middle name is Ruby - She just gets called Angie....
niesl_bug
23-04-2007, 11:44
My latest :rolleyes: name is 'Angelina'
second names in the running (so far) - Grace, Bella, Marie...
I love Angelina Bella - sounds like a little princess :)
I have a friend called Angela and everyone calls her Ang ... I think Aussies shorten ANY name !!!
Tara - I think you'd be fine with Lola. Ever since I was little, I have loved the name Leila. I always told all my friends that I'd name my daughter Leila, and I'd be heartbroken if one of them used the name before me. But Leila is not Lola, and I'd be perfectly happy for one of my friends to use Lola, even if I still wanted to use Leila (as it turns out, DH's surname works horribly with Leila, so we probably won't end up using it after all).
Tan-mumof3
23-04-2007, 11:53
Tara i think it actually sounds quite cute lola, leila & lila. If Lola is your fave name i would still use it, but let your friends know.
Kellie i love your name choices & i think bryce goes really well with all the boys names.
Tingles i really like Angelina Grace.
Nic i really like Ava rose, i don't think it sounds like axl rose.
imisschampagne
24-04-2007, 20:32
Tnx tan:thumbsup:
Tingles, i love Angelina Grace...it's beautiful:yes:
i LOVE the name grace, but unfortunately at uni we met a grace...so that name is out for us. plus its probably not a very masculine middle name for isaac :p
my sister wants to use the name Joy which i think is pretty cool as well :)
will have to order a girl next time for all these beautiful names!
mom2jake
26-04-2007, 07:25
... I think Aussies shorten ANY name !!!
I think you're right...Shorten or add an "ie" or "y" to the end!!! I've told Df his fav boys name Munro will be shortened to Muny...He doesn't liken that:thumbsdown:
Tingles...I love Angelina Bella, very pretty name:thumbsup:
pregomum
26-04-2007, 15:36
Everyone is having girls I love Ava Rose and Angelina Bella they are so pretty. Boys are so boring to name if we had a girl we finally settled on Shalise but since it's a boy at this stage he will be named CAELEB
Boys are so boring to name
:yes: I agree- both this time and last time we had such trouble coming up with boy's names we like- Caeleb is a good one.
AngelGirl
02-05-2007, 06:46
because
140 for blood test
80 for a maybe baby
200 for CF test for me
200 for CF test for DH
200 for more blood taken
32 for sub ob visit
120 for ultrasound & dvd
so thats $5352
like it?
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: and don't forget all the nursery furniture, the car seat, the pram etc etc!! DH thought it would be really funny to keep a list of all of the bubba's expenses throughout his/her life and present him/her with the bill at their 21st party!
because
140 for blood test
80 for a maybe baby
200 for CF test for me
200 for CF test for DH
200 for more blood taken
32 for sub ob visit
120 for ultrasound & dvd
so thats $5352
like it?
Hi, So was this covered by private health insurance or is this what you had to fork out yourselves?
hi all my first is a girl and we were thinkin of Baylee, or Taylah cant decide on middle names..
Mind is blank....
I love ev1s names some of them are so cute.
its so hard to decide what to name your child in which we want something that different
mom2jake
02-05-2007, 11:12
Nikki...
I love Baylee, very cute...Do you have any middle names in mind?
We haven't found out what we're having...We're stuck on middle name for a boy...
Well we have no agreement on names for either sex but we do have middle names sorted - so opposite to alot of you!!!! We have May for the middle name if it is a girl (after my mums middle name) and James if it is a boy (after my dads middle name) apart from that we are getting nowhere at all. I am not talking about names again I promised myself for a couple of weeks so we will see if that makes a difference. Maybe I have been nagging too much about names!!!!!!!!!!
Trendy1 i think you should have August as a middle name, not May!! :D
Was your mum born in May?
My mum was actually born in December but I think it was her grandmas name or something like that!!
DH and I do not agree on anything - the only boys names he doesn't mind (not like) are: Harrison and Hamish so will wait and see. I like Hunter and Hudson also but he doesn't like them. I don't know what it is with the H's though.
MammyMammy
02-05-2007, 14:32
we've forked out ourselves. But now that we've hit the medicare safety net thingo we get 80% back of most stuff.
oh well. We wanted a baby and babies are expensive....its worth it.
I dont want to think what i have spent on clothes and blankets and nursery stuff...and prams....eeeeekkkk
We have three names picked for our little girl.....no middle names (we don't bother with middle names). She'll be named when she's born!
Deb I showed DH your post when you first posted about how much you had spent so far and he was a very happy man that we weren't using our private health to have a baby :laughing:
MammyMammy
02-05-2007, 14:41
Its the only time you get anything from private Health Insurance so we are going private,private,private all the way.
When Medicare has coughed up all the bills to the value of 80% of what you spend, its not too bad. And the hospital stay is completely covered, as well as paediatric nurse, should one be required.
I didnt see the point at all in going public when we're paying through the nose already for cover -we may as well use it. Its not like HBA or others 'reward' people for not using a private hospital (there should be a no-claim bonus!!!)
horses for courses I guess.
Its the only time you get anything from private Health Insurance so we are going private,private,private all the way.
When Medicare has coughed up all the bills to the value of 80% of what you spend, its not too bad. And the hospital stay is completely covered, as well as paediatric nurse, should one be required.
I didnt see the point at all in going public when we're paying through the nose already for cover -we may as well use it. Its not like HBA or others 'reward' people for not using a private hospital (there should be a no-claim bonus!!!)
horses for courses I guess.
True but if I went private I'd never have my midwife or my birth centre, they're public funded! I prefer seeing a middie and we benefit from our private health all the time! We get money back from gym memberships, alternative treatments and at some point I'm going to need braces again so I'll be getting my money's worth there too!
I love the fact that I get exactly what I want during my pg and birth (and after birth....my middie comes and sees me at home after bubs is born) for no cost what so ever!
thanks mom2bee not sure about middle names a bit stuck ,
ev1 keeps givin us suggestions on names but havent told anyone the 2 names we like,
but im enjoyin ev1s ideas on names.
We haven't found out what we're having...We're stuck on middle name for a boy...
I still reckon you should go with Bryce.... (hope I've got the right person... :))
I am not talking about names again I promised myself for a couple of weeks so we will see if that makes a difference. Maybe I have been nagging too much about names!!!!!!!!!!
DP is soooo over talking about names too. Whenever we are in the car together that is all I seem to want to talk about - I suppose because he can't get away.... hahaha! Well, if he would just suggest something....!!!
I've been trying to pick a boys middle name. I've looked at my family tree and they all seem to be William, James or John. Now... no offence to anyone, but, I don't like William and I think John is boring (but I might still choose it if I get desperate). I like James, and it is on DP's side too, but DP's nephew has that for his middle name - so same generation and all that.... So, I am thinking about using Jay. What do you all think of Jay? DP says it is an initial or a letter of the alphabet not a name...
mom2jake
02-05-2007, 19:59
I still reckon you should go with Bryce.... (hope I've got the right person... :))
You've got the right person:thumbsup:
I like the idea of calling our son (if it's a boy) after my family name....BUT
My middle name is Jayne, so is my mums and my sisters and my aunties and 1/2 the family, so I would kind of like our children to have their own names......
imisschampagne
02-05-2007, 20:00
Kellie, Bryce all the way for me too i love it!!!, still love Mac too
mom2jake
02-05-2007, 20:15
I love Mac too...
Our list has gone from 3 to 2 now...
It's Duke or Mac:yes:
mom2jake
02-05-2007, 20:16
I love Mac too...
Our list has gone from 3 to 2 now...
Duke or Mac:yes:
imisschampagne
02-05-2007, 20:31
I love Mac, it's the start of my maiden name...
imisschampagne
02-05-2007, 20:32
Oh and i love my MAC makeup brushes...:laughing:
MammyMammy
03-05-2007, 07:48
....and I love MAC...donalds mmmm hahaha
Yeah I think mac and duke are cool names. It will be a cool kid.