View Full Version : Chosen any names yet?
niesl_bug
03-05-2007, 11:39
I think you can't go wrong with either Mac or Duke :thumbsup:
I think Lola is too close to Layla - will chat to my friend again on Saturday ... we are doing a St John's baby 1st aid course together.
We are now torn between:
Rio Poppy
~ or ~
India Jade
Tara, what about Poppy as a first name... hmmm I like that - will throw that atmy DH - he hasn't liked any of the bludy names I've suggeted... including my beautiful Angelina
This baby will be named something 'uneventful' like Jane... he likes that...
Previously I have liked 'Jon Marie' - so I'll probably end up with Jane Marie
niesl_bug
03-05-2007, 12:38
Tara, what about Poppy as a first name... hmmm I like that - will throw that atmy DH - he hasn't liked any of the bludy names I've suggeted... including my beautiful Angelina
This baby will be named something 'uneventful' like Jane... he likes that...
Previously I have liked 'Jon Marie' - so I'll probably end up with Jane Marie
I do like it, just worried it's a bit too "soft" for a first name? I was kind of hoping our little girl would be a tough little cookie like her Mummy :p
I emailed DH - as I normally do with my baby names...
'Poppy'
He replied - Goes the weasel!! Ha!
He is such a SH-IT head!!!
In re: Jon Marie - he said, WE ARE NOT FRENCH! *BangHEAD*
MammyMammy
03-05-2007, 13:41
ETs mum - love your avatar - is that a beagle I see? I love beagles - they are soooo cheeeeky!
I love Poppy too Tingles, and DH loves it too - but a friend of ours' dog is called Poppy so its out for us. Tell your DH you want to be french for this baby re: Jon Marie!! LOL
Tara - dont give up your LOLA, la la la la Lola, La la la la Lola.
I am also suggesting Lucy for anyone who wants a girls name - I think its sooooo sweeet.
MammyMammy
03-05-2007, 13:42
Poppy goes good with your surname Mrs N....
Snugglepot
03-05-2007, 14:54
We love Lucy too Mammy!!
DP likes Laura, what do you think of that?
I love Rio for a girl, it is so cute. My beauticians little girl is called Rio. (The only other one I know is Rio Ferdinand and Soccer player in the UK.!!) A spanish name is lovely, when it is said with a spanish accent and they roll the RRRRR...YUM!
We love Lucy too Mammy!!
DP likes Laura, what do you think of that?
I love Rio for a girl, it is so cute. My beauticians little girl is called Rio. (The only other one I know is Rio Ferdinand and Soccer player in the UK.!!) A spanish name is lovely, when it is said with a spanish accent and they roll the RRRRR...YUM!
I like Laura. I had Alorah and Elorah on my list... but I think it is running about 4th now.
I kept thinking Rio sounded like a soccer players name!!!
ETs mum - love your avatar - is that a beagle I see? I love beagles - they are soooo cheeeeky!
Yep that's my girl Kirra. Et LOVES her. She lets him drive his cars over her belly.
Nobody commented on my middle name post... ??? Is it too boring? Go on, be honest. I want to know. That is why I posted it. :yes:
Snugglepot
03-05-2007, 19:32
Nobody commented on my middle name post... ??? Is it too boring? Go on, be honest. I want to know. That is why I posted it. :yes:
I love James, it is Kyles second name. It sounds good with most names. I don't like Jay all that much, I am a bit like your hubby! I also like George as a second name. Does it have to be a family name? We choose James cos it went well with Kyle!
No it doesn' t have to be a family name - it is just that we've come up with nothing and I'm trying to start somewhere. DP rejects everything... he's sure it is a girl...
ETs Mum - DH's cousins son is JAYSON, I think Jason spelt with a Y is quite groovy...
How about JON - rather JOHN...
All just suggetions... as you seemed a bit 'unloved' that we didn't reply *HUG*
mom2jake
04-05-2007, 05:44
I've been trying to pick a boys middle name. I've looked at my family tree and they all seem to be William, James or John. Now... no offence to anyone, but, I don't like William and I think John is boring (but I might still choose it if I get desperate). I like James, and it is on DP's side too, but DP's nephew has that for his middle name - so same generation and all that.... So, I am thinking about using Jay. What do you all think of Jay? DP says it is an initial or a letter of the alphabet not a name...
I like Will for a boys name, could you compromise and shorten William?
MammyMammy
04-05-2007, 13:52
Oh i wanted to Go "Will" for a boy, but Mark wasnt sure about it. I love Will! Reminds me of Will Hunting....
sorry you felt unloved re: middle names - hugs for you :hugs:
can you post a pic/photobucket thingy of lil kirra the beagle...i am dog-mad can u tell?
It sounds like Miss Bug is going to sweep a few august boy babies off their feet if she is a RIO...its a HIT!
I liked Lucy but i wanted to share it because we arent using it (long story but the short version is my BF wanted to use it and right at the BIRTH her hubby said NO.... so i cant go stealing it now....she still LOVES Lucy!!!)
niesl_bug
04-05-2007, 15:09
I love Will too - and we know a Will who is an absolute darling :)
"Her name is Rio and she dances on the shore ..." pop quiz - can anyone tell me who sung this song ...?
MammyMammy
04-05-2007, 15:11
Duran Duran
!!!
mom2jake
05-05-2007, 21:10
Just announced to Df that I can't stop thinking about "hot milo"...
He thinks that would be good idea for a boys name, if we have a son......:laughing:
Mind you, because he is a kiwi and I'm Australian he thinks "Anzac" would be good name.....Thank god he's not sole name giver to our child...:laughing: :laughing:
niesl_bug
05-05-2007, 21:30
Duran Duran
!!!
Gold Star for Mammy ! ! !
Oh dear Kellie - you're gonna need to watch your DH with those name choices :shame:
MammyMammy
06-05-2007, 18:31
I'm saving Milo for the day when i am an old duddie in a nursing home and someone buys me a PUG for my lap...oooooh I want a lil Pug called MILO!!!
mom2jake
06-05-2007, 21:49
I'm saving Milo for the day when i am an old duddie in a nursing home and someone buys me a PUG for my lap...oooooh I want a lil Pug called MILO!!!
Milo's a great name for a pug:yes:
niesl_bug
21-05-2007, 13:44
OK - we have decided on RIO for our little girls name. We have no idea on middle names though. I like Poppy but DH isn't keen. I also like Jade but he would rather "save" it as a first name.
Any suggestions for a middle name ladies ???
MammyMammy
21-05-2007, 14:20
yay - hoorah on coming to a decision!
mom2jake
21-05-2007, 14:26
OK - we have decided on RIO for our little girls name. We have no idea on middle names though. I like Poppy but DH isn't keen. I also like Jade but he would rather "save" it as a first name.
LOVE IT... LOVE IT......
Rio's a great name tara:yes:
niesl_bug
21-05-2007, 14:44
Thanks gals, now I need your input for a middle name. Happy to go quite unusual as she won't use it everyday. We have decided to not name her after anyone so that makes it easier!
mom2jake
21-05-2007, 14:50
Thanks gals, now I need your input for a middle name. Happy to go quite unusual as she won't use it everyday. We have decided to not name her after anyone so that makes it easier!
I like individual, different middle names too....
Our girls name...
Aaliyah Honey
I also like Daisy, but a gay friend of ours is nicknamed Daisy, so out for us:yes:
niesl_bug
21-05-2007, 15:44
I like individual, different middle names too....
Our girls name...
Aaliyah Honey
I also like Daisy, but a gay friend of ours is nicknamed Daisy, so out for us
I absolutely LOVE your name :yes: ! ! !
mom2jake
21-05-2007, 16:54
THANKYOU...ME TOO:hugs:
2nd names for beautiful baby Rio...
Hmmm...
Rio Mia (sounds abit like a car?)
Rio Rose - that's pretty
I'll have to look abit more...
imisschampagne
21-05-2007, 17:52
I love Rio, Tara
how bout Rio Star, im loving the name star at the mo, but only for a middle name:yes:
Tan-mumof3
21-05-2007, 17:57
Love Rio, Tara :thumbsup:.
I see what you mean about middle names, ive been thinking for ages and only come up with a couple.
Rio Scarlett
Rio Brielle
Rio Skye
Rio Tahlia
Rio Elise
Rio Matilda
Will come back if i think of any more they are just a few that popped into my head.
How about...
Rio Arja
Pronounced Ar-sha, or Arrr-ja
That's something different? Arja is my cousins daughter - also Debbie Byrne (ex-young talent timer) has a daughter Arja (my cousin used to play with her daughter)...
mom2jake
21-05-2007, 18:39
How about....
Rio Coco?
Rio Leni?
(I love the name Leni...Can't use as it's my grandpa's name and I don't talk to him anymore)
Rio Allegra?
Rio Scout?
Just a few ideas:thumbsup:
I like coco and leni.
Rio is super!
:laughing: I'm a bit biased but I do like Leni - people who are close to me call me that...
Hey Tara - I love Tan's suggestion of Rio Scarlett. It was the first thing I thought of when I read your post. (Matches quite well with Tara too don't ya think?) Sorry mom2bee, but Rio Coco reminds me of Rio Tinto. Isn't that a mining or steel company or something like that?
:laughing: I'm a bit biased but I do like Leni - people who are close to me call me that...
Me too!!! :)
Come on Tara!! Your absence means you don't like any???
niesl_bug
22-05-2007, 11:15
Sorry gals ... just logged on!!!
Loving the suggestions ... keep 'em coming ...
Coco - one of my good friend's dog's names.
Lenny - one of the rugby boys and DH's staff's nicknames
Scarlett - I love! Was on my 1st name list at one point.
Allega - was also on my 1st name list but DH doesn't like it.
Star - love it! funny, there is a bit of a star theme happening in the nursery too ...
I was thinking about "Bella" yesterday ... what do you guys think?
my vote is for Rio Scarlett. i just really like Scarlett for some reason. Star is a bit strange for me, but maybe i'm a bit traditional! Bella...i know too many people with cats/dogs called Bella/Ella! :D
imisschampagne
22-05-2007, 14:01
Tara, i like Bella, isn't that beautiful in Italian:confused:
mom2jake
22-05-2007, 16:32
I like Bella..It's my grandmas dog's name....but I think dogs have pretty cool names so there will always be a dog named human names!!!
Tara, your gorgeous lil Ruby is the one of Sydney's top 10 girls names in the last 5years:yes:
My sister's dog is called Lillie... Quite funny, because a few months after she got her puppy, my cousin called her little girl Lily... So yes, dogs will always share human names :yes: :yes:
mom2jake
23-05-2007, 13:45
I told my mum our fav boys names and she felt the need 2weeks later to call me and let me know in her local paper the same name popped up as a top10 dogs name....
Thanks Mum:hugs:
I told my mum our fav boys names and she felt the need 2weeks later to call me and let me know in her local paper the same name popped up as a top10 dogs name....
Woof!:laughing:
niesl_bug
23-05-2007, 21:44
Well ladies, DH doesn't like ANY of our suggestions so it's back to the drawing board .... oh well, lucky we still have 11 weeks to go !!!
imisschampagne
24-05-2007, 20:56
Tara, i thought of another one, how bout Monet (like the painter)
Rio Monet, and you could use that little thing on top of the E...u know this thing `
What is that called? The thing that makes names sound french:laughing:
I just said the whole name out loud...it sounds so sweet...
I liked it for Ava Monet, but DH poo-hooed it...this coming from someone who suggested Ruby (SOHO)
Sorry, if i offended anyone who likes the name Soho...:p
imisschampagne
24-05-2007, 20:59
If we have another girl :fingerscrossed: Her name will probably be Ruby, same as Tara's little frenchy doggie:laughing:
With +/- 7 weeks to go we still are no closer to picking a boys name.
I'm still like Alec & Finn and Angus likes Patrick & Flynn.
But even those names we both only like- not like our girl's choice or last time with Hugh- where we were absolutely sold and loved the names.
So if I was to have a girl it would be really helpful!:laughing:
Kazza - I like both Finn & Flynn- They are both nice!! :yes: :yes:
We've had our boys name chosen for ages now... And It's still sticking! :yelclap: :yelclap:
Thanks Hayley-
it's not that I don't like Flynn, I just don't want it for my baby's name-IYKWIM?
The worst thing is if I have a boy I can't see him being named straight away which means we'll get lots of suggestions from my Mum & m-i-l:rolleyes:
But you never know- if he's a he- he might pop out and we just 'know' what to call him straight away!:fingerscrossed:
Oh Kazza - I can sooo relate! We are no closer to choosing names and like you, we have to have a boys name and a girls name ready. Good luck.
Len- I try not to think about it as it just stresses me out but then I think I can't totally ignore it!
Alex and I haven't discussed names since our 20 week scan! :laughing: We still have our list of 3 but only got to N in the baby name book (although one name starts with a T...heard it and liked it) before we got bored.
It's funny cause with Emily we discussed names ALL the time....even when we had it down to our final 2 names, we still threw other options out there.
This baby naming is such a challenge! I also like Finn (more than Flynn), I have friends with a little girl called Finley (not sure on sp).
We have just encountered a funny situation - our top girl name is Jasmine, would be shortened to Jazz. My parents have a poodle called Jazz (short for Jasper) and we are buying a Honda Jazz. DH says we will have to start listening to jazz if this continues :laughing:
greengables
16-06-2007, 16:48
eek! I am really struggling with names too. We have 1 option for a girl, and have no boy names at all!
I went through the baby name book this afternoon and only found one other name I'd add to the list. DH isn't sure about it so we might just be sticking with our 3 names unless he decides he likes it, then we'll have 4.
I had 3 boys names picked out last time (I was so sure I'd have a family of boys before falling pg) but I only like one of them now so I need to find at least on emore we agree on JIC. I have to have my options...just one name isn't enough!
Lucky for us any girls we have won't have middle names so that makes it easier (DH doesn't have a middle name and loves not having one so he didn't want his children to have them). The boy's names we did have picked all had grandfather's names as middle names. We just like the names so that will stay if we do have a surprise, providing we like boys names that go with them. If we don't they'll be scrapped!
Ally Jane
16-06-2007, 21:05
we cant decide :( i like Brodie James and hubby likes Jackson James.....we like a few other names,no names we really love and agree on.I love Asher James but he hates it
Thanks Hayley-
it's not that I don't like Flynn, I just don't want it for my baby's name-IYKWIM?
The worst thing is if I have a boy I can't see him being named straight away which means we'll get lots of suggestions from my Mum & m-i-l:rolleyes:
But you never know- if he's a he- he might pop out and we just 'know' what to call him straight away!:fingerscrossed:
Totally understand - There are so so many names I like, but wouldn't use... Hmm, makes sense in my head! :laughing:
mom2jake
17-06-2007, 07:03
I Love Brodie James, Ally:thumbsup:
imisschampagne
17-06-2007, 10:56
^^ Yep, what Kel said ^^
Hello All,
Kazza and ETs mum - we are in the same boat, needing to find names for both sexes - it would be so easy if we didn't know anyone!!! We can sort of agree or at least come to a compromise on girls names but boys names are completely useless as DH was in the army he knows someone with just about every name i come up with and won't use the name. It is so frustrating.
So I have a boys name I would like opinions on:
Waylan What do you think - it could be spelt other ways as well????? You won't offend me in any way I just want honest opinions please. Oh yeah and the middle name would be James as well.
Hello All,
Kazza and ETs mum - we are in the same boat, needing to find names for both sexes - it would be so easy if we didn't know anyone!!! We can sort of agree or at least come to a compromise on girls names but boys names are completely useless as DH was in the army he knows someone with just about every name i come up with and won't use the name. It is so frustrating.
So I have a boys name I would like opinions on:
Waylan What do you think - it could be spelt other ways as well????? You won't offend me in any way I just want honest opinions please. Oh yeah and the middle name would be James as well.
Hmm interesthing name... Can't say I really like it - Sorry! But, each to there own. If you like it, go for it! :yes: :thumbsup:
Ally Jane
18-06-2007, 14:39
im not a fan ,only cause its Smithers first name on the simpsons....however it does go nicely with james
it is? :laughing: I didn't know that!!
mom2jake
18-06-2007, 15:43
Personally not a fan...but it's not a terrible name...
As Ally said, it sounds good with James:yes:
My dads name is Wayne so kinda sounds like that:yes:
I am not really sure how much I like it really but I want something a bit different and came across it and thought maybe it could work. I have no idea though, it didn't jump out at me put it that way I had to think about it.
My favourite boys name is Hunter but DH doesn't like it!
Hello All,
</p>
Oh my goodness... tell me about it!!! We don't have the army excuse, but all I hear is... I went to school with ....., or there is a guy at the gym with that name.... or I know someone who so-and-so goes fishing with with that name.... Arrrggghhh!!!!! :)
hhhhmmmm.......... I'm with Ally on this. Sorry Trendy! :)
mom2jake
18-06-2007, 20:15
I LOVE Hunter, Trendy...
Kev didn'tlike it either...
Have you found with girls names they agree quite easily, then when it comes to boys names its a completely different story?
Ally Jane
18-06-2007, 20:43
definatly!we have so many girls names we agreed on.....someone has gotta give in with the boys name....ill have to bribe him i think
We are such opposites! Boys name we agree on faily easily...girls name we are hopeless. I think that boys are so much easier to name, I'm not that big a fan of many girl's names.
We have the issue that whatever we go with has to sound nice in Spanish too and can't mean something ridiculous. Like years ago, before we really planned on having kids I loved the name Tia and DH said staright away 'yeah, I'm not ringing my family and telling them we called our kid aunty.' Other names he suggests I just can't even pronounce properly and then there's the issue of me not liking the way it sounds with the Argentinian accent etc.
As far as Waylan goes.....sorry not a fan. It's too much like Wayne to me and I don't like the name Wayne either (sorry to anyone here that does!)
MammyMammy
18-06-2007, 21:51
We are SET on 4 names now, which is a great relief.
I am not sharing, as I am just funny about it, but I did want to share my joy that my two boy and two girl names are narrowed down!
We love both our girls names equally, and we'll see what happens when we SEE our bubba...and with out boys names we have decided that because they are similar, one is the softy version of the other, so we'll go by whether we have a softie boy or a robust boy....(from what one could tell in the first couple of days of baby!)
So we're wrapped because we know that we're definitely getting either a Boy or a Girl and thats for sure!!!!
I hope you are all starting to narrow names down! Good luck
Boys names are definantly the hard ones for us. We can always compromise on girls names and can agree but not boys names they are just so much harder. It is so annoying. DH always says: yeah that name is okay for a boy when he is still a kid but not when he is an adult, it is so frustrating. DH keeps saying - we have plenty of time to make the decisions there are still 9 weeks to go!! Well that isn't working with me, I can't even get him to agree that any names are okay - not good but okay for boys as he doesn't like any and there are 30 on my list for him to look at! Not good!!
mom2jake
19-06-2007, 08:22
Good luck Trendy, must be frustrating:yes:
We've been settled on girls name since the very beginning...Boys names heaps harder, but we're down to list of 2...:yes:
DH was in the army he knows someone with just about every name i come up with and won't use the name. It is so frustrating.
but all I hear is... I went to school with ....., or there is a guy at the gym with that name.... or I know someone who so-and-so goes fishing with with that name.... Arrrggghhh!!!!!
Snap, I hear you ladies- Angus went to an all boys school so he went to school with twice as many boys as me and they all seem to be idiots!:laughing:
Lots of names Angus won't have cause "I went to school with a guy called that and he was a jerk" etc
I really liked and wanted Fraser but couldn't for this reason.
Kazza i know two Frasers that were jerks too!! :laughing:
i'm glad we are sorted on the name front. hopefully we'll be having a 36 week scan too so we can definitely rule out the girl's half of the baby book! :)
Sorry Trendy, not too keen on Waylan either! But i like Hunter. :thumbsup: my DH would never go for any names like that though!
What are everyones girls names? We could hardly come up with any.
niesl_bug
19-06-2007, 09:34
We have definitely decided on Rio for our little one. Just can't agree on a middle name - actually, DH doesn't like anything I suggest but hasn't come up with any suggestions himself :banghead: . So, I have told him to come up with something or she isn't having a middle name!!!
I even bought little R-I-O letters from Bunnings yesterday which I'll paint for her room ... awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww ... :p
Super Trooper
19-06-2007, 09:40
We currently have Evanna Lily and Isla Jessica
and a few others on the maybe list are Arielle/Ariel, Amara, Eva, Georgia.
William Andrew is our boys name we have picked if scan was wrong :thumbsup:
We are waiting to meet her before we decide :yes:
Tara: my Dh is the same - doesn't like any suggestions for names that I throw at him but can't suggest any alternatives for boys names. Frustrating. I think we might just leave the boys names and concentrate on girls. I have definate favourites and DH has said he doesn't mind a couple of them.
Our middle names are solved which will be: May (my mums middle name) if it is a girl and James (my dads middle name who passed away when I was only a month old). DD (Zahli) has DH's mums middle name so this time we decided the middle name would come from my family. So that is all we have agreed on!! And that wasn't really open to much compromise on my behalf!!
and a few others on the maybe list are Arielle/Ariel, Amara, Eva, Georgia.
William Andrew is our boys name we have picked if scan was wrong :thumbsup:
We are waiting to meet her before we decide :yes:
I love Georgia - DH is not a big fan as it is quite popular around us at the moment and at DD's school in the pre-school class there are 3 Georgia's all spelt differently!! I like all of your names that you have chosen.
mom2jake
19-06-2007, 10:12
trendy...I LOVE your daughters name....what a beautiful name...where did you find or how did you come up with Zahli?
no1bub...LOVE both your girls names...Very pretty...
I think girls names are so much easier than boys:yes:
Tan-mumof3
19-06-2007, 10:23
I must be lucky we settled on both our names at easter, im not sharing either sorry you will have to wait til he pops out, but i will share my fav girls name that DH said no to it was PAYTON. I just love it, dh actually suggested it when i was pregnant with Tahlia but i didn't like it that much then, then when i fell pregnant this time he said NO i don't like it anymore.
Trendy sorry but i agree with the simpsons comment it's the first thing i thought of.
No1bub- I like all your names :thumbsup:.
MammyMammy
19-06-2007, 11:07
yay to the name game - wow we have so much time now to think about it - and yet when bubs arrive we wont give a damn! ha!
trendy...I LOVE your daughters name....what a beautiful name...where did you find or how did you come up with Zahli?
When I was pregnant with DD the winter olympics were on or getting close - don't know where, but they were featuring the skiiers and other athletes and they had Zali Steggell (hope that is spelt right) and DH just said that's it that's the name I like and it stayed. We had 2 girls names and just had to wait till she was born to see which one suited and it was Zahli. I am really happy with her name - we get alot of comments on it and we have actually met about 4 other Zahli's as well. I don't know what it means though as it hasn't been in a names book that we have seen. We just added the H into her name so that it was spelt different. Glad you liked it.
Tan, Payton is actually the name we have picked out.. thinking of spelling it Peyton though. I'm still not an absolute 100% sure on using it cause it doesn't go with my last name at all...Will more than likely stick with it if we come up with nothing else in the next 8 wks.
imisschampagne
19-06-2007, 17:40
We have definitely decided on Rio for our little one. Just can't agree on a middle name - actually, DH doesn't like anything I suggest but hasn't come up with any suggestions himself :banghead: . So, I have told him to come up with something or she isn't having a middle name!!!
I even bought little R-I-O letters from Bunnings yesterday which I'll paint for her room ... awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww ... :p
Tara - i made a suggestion for Rio's middle name, but you may have missed it because you have been off having fun being a SAHM :yes:
Anyhoo it's MONET (like the painter)
Rio Monet Neisler...I think it flows really well, if im pronuncing your surmane correctly
imisschampagne
19-06-2007, 17:46
love the names espec Evanna Lily:thumbsup:
i think girls names are easier too, our girls list was huge...hope we have more girls:yes:
Super Trooper
20-06-2007, 10:06
Thanks so much guys! The hardest part will be deciding on one... :rolleyes:
Niesl bug i love your name RIO!
Oh, and tan and skadi i like the spelling Peyton better too, cool name :thumbsup:
mom2jake
04-07-2007, 08:55
Kev and I decided to not share our names with family or friends...
Because we're not finding out the sex I talked Kev into letting us share with a select few and I have to say it was the worst decision of my pregnant life:yes:
We get opinions and "I prefer" or "have you thought of" or "you can't call him that, he will get teased"....
To be honest...I DON'T CARE WHAT YOU ALL THINK..THIS IS OUR CHILD AND WE'LL NAME HIM OR HER WHATEVER THE **** WE WANT....:thumbsup: (swap finger for middle one)
So now we aren't sharing:no:
:banghead: Has anyone else had this....
Mom2bee we are on the same wave length this morning - I was trying the 'revive' a baby names thread but each time I did it crashed!!!:banghead:
ATM our baby name is 'JonMarie Elizabeth'
Everytime I speak to my mum I get - I like Mary... 'Princess Bluddy Mary'... (no offence if you are a bubhubber Princess M)...
Oh and Mary Kate...
WTF!
After we named our #2DD 'Ellie Rose' a :devil6: evil relative kept suggesting other names WTF!!! (my uncle - someone with no bearing on our baby name choice!!!)
She has a name!!! He actually told us he didn't like her name, and it would have to GROW on him... it no longer has to grow on him as we no longer see him:p
mom2jake
04-07-2007, 09:23
I know, seriously...
My mum yesterday said eeewwww thats a dogs name...(says she who wanted to call her dog Ruby, Sydneys top 5 baby girls name:confused: )
And a friend of Kev's, girlfriend (or shall I say his weekend shag) said "Mac....He'll get I-Mac" WTF:confused: ..."who are you anyway"....
BTW...I love your name:yes:
We've been having this problem- my family especially- every name we come up with they can't get their heads around it. In some ways I wish we had kept the names to ourselves but at the same time it's been good getting peoples feedback too.
Anyway we now have a list of 3 for a boy:
Ronin
Corbyn
Seth
We hope that the little man will come out looking like one of these on the day:thumbsup:.
imisschampagne
04-07-2007, 18:26
I know, seriously...
My mum yesterday said eeewwww thats a dogs name...(says she who wanted to call her dog Ruby, Sydneys top 5 baby girls name )
And a friend of Kev's, girlfriend (or shall I say his weekend shag) said "Mac....He'll get I-Mac" WTF..."who are you anyway"....
BTW...I love your name
:laughing: i must be tired, i had to re-read as i thought you ment Kev's weekend shag :eek: WHAT THA??
Oh and i love Ruby!!!!!!! Why is it that all the names i like are the really popular ones, i didnt know they were popular when i put them on our list...at one stage we were going to go with Charlotte Ruby, then i found out that Charlotte was the 2nd most popular name for last year :crying:
Oh and BTW, who would ever think of I-MAC??????? EEJIT
Next time we wont be sharing our names...i got fed up with all the negativity...even from my mum...NOT ON!!!!!
mom2jake
04-07-2007, 18:54
Next time we wont be sharing our names...i got fed up with all the negativity...even from my mum...NOT ON!!!!!
You've had negativity about the name Ava? WTF
Are you serious:confused:
See people will always have something to say...But once your child is named I think it makes it harder for people to judge:fingerscrossed:
Imisschampagne - we were gonna go Charlotte too - but yes too popular... maybe it was Charli from hi5? that made it so popular:confused:
Mom2bee - re: IMac - I said to DH whats an IMac (thinking of an Ipod)... I would think he would get Macca from his mates - I think he would be really 'popular':yes:
And Ruby, I like this one too - I couldn't imagine a dog being called Ruby - My team at the hospy is called 'Ruby':D
MammyMammy
04-07-2007, 19:39
yeah I'ma gonna have a joke on everyone and say we've called it some shizen name....people have to swallow it allll up once the bub is named
imisschampagne
04-07-2007, 20:52
You've had negativity about the name Ava? WTF
Are you serious:confused:
Not on Ava, but Charlotte we did...and some of our boys names....:thumbsdown: to them...
imisschampagne
04-07-2007, 20:54
Imisschampagne - we were gonna go Charlotte too - but yes too popular... maybe it was Charli from hi5? that made it so popular:confused:
Ewww, is her name Charlotte!!!!!!????????
Oh she annoys me, a little tooooo happy for me
"HI MY NAMES' CHARLI" :barf:
imisschampagne
04-07-2007, 20:55
yeah I'ma gonna have a joke on everyone and say we've called it some shizen name....people have to swallow it allll up once the bub is named
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
as you can see, i still havent worked out the multi quote thingy
Last time round we only told immediate family our name choices and told them to not tell anyone. Well my mum didn't like any of our girl's names and kept telling us that she didn't like it. Seriously, have your opinion and then shut up! We only need to hear it once. Then, even after telling them to not tell anyone I found out both my parents and my sister were telling people that lived far away and so wouldn't be able to tell anyone else. I wasn't telling strangers in the street that I was never ever going to see again so I was not happy Jan!
This time round, my mum is the only person who knows our name choices and that's only cause after I got up her about being so bratty about our names and then telling other people she promised that she wouldn't do it again and apologised profously!
Not even my dad knows the name choices (funny cause my p's are happily married) and my sister never even bothered to ask this time...just asked how many were on our list cause she knows I'm not telling her.
I only told my mum incase we were missing something and had a name that would cause our daughter to be teased forever and she's been very good at just stating her opinion once (it was a simple 'I prefer those two name choices, but in the end it won't matter if you name her the third choice cause I'll still love her and then name will grow on me'). A big turn around from my mum who every single person she spoke to last time 'one name they have picked is soooooo common and boring and the other is different but I don't like it, have any suggestions for them?'
Guess what...we chose the boring and oh so common name and she loves it!
The only comment I got after Emily was born was from my uncle (and it wasn't even to me, but to my aunty and then we all laughed later) who said 'why didn't they call her Emily Rose? I really like Emily Rose' and even after my aunt explained that she doesn't have a middle name, just like her dad, and has a difficult last name he still kept saying 'I like Emily, but Emily Rose is sooo pretty.' I was actually laughing at his comments!
niesl_bug
05-07-2007, 15:33
Thanks Nic - but we have agreed on a middle name !!! I told DH he had to decided or a) I would decide; or b) she wouldn't have a middle name ... and he has chosen Poppy (what he used to call his grand-dad). I am very happy with Rio Poppy as our little girls name :yes:
We have not told ANYONE our name choice (except for you gals - and DH would kill me if he knew I was discussing it on here :o ) so TOO BAD if they don't like it. They can call their kids what they like and we'll do the same. If people keep asking we tell them we are calling her "Baboushka" and they shut up pretty quickly;)
Our beautiful little french bulldog is called Ruby and it suits her to a T! I always sing that song to her "Ruby-Ruby-Ruby-Rubbehhhhh" :laughing:
I love all your name choices ladies and TBH as long as you and your DH love them and they have meaning to you, then that is all that matters !!!
That's beaut Tara - I love Poppy (that was one of your name choices in the begining, I think):yelclap:
We're still tossing up names:o
I love most of the name suggestions - I love really different names :yes:
We too have given up telling people our choices cos there is always someone who screws their nose up. It would be a really boring world if we all liked the same names I reckon.
So I say stuff everyone else as long as you and you DH like the names you have picked then it's all good :thumbsup:
Hi everyone our little girls soon, and we have a few names
Sybella,
Taylah Skye
Jasmine
Its so hard to choose seens they have to have that name all there life
And her surname will be Farey like Fairy
So we havin trouble and cant decide on a name and middle people are sayin to me when shes born youll no a name then
mmm
i LOVE sybella!! That was on our list but we have gone with lilla, we kinda cant change it as DS talks to and about lilla and might get confused if we dont stick with it:laughing:
Tan-mumof3
06-07-2007, 09:49
Hi everyone our little girls soon, and we have a few names
Sybella,
Taylah Skye
Jasmine
Its so hard to choose seens they have to have that name all there life
And her surname will be Farey like Fairy
So we havin trouble and cant decide on a name and middle people are sayin to me when shes born youll no a name then
mmm
Hi Nikki,
I like all your name choices my dd's name is very similar to one you have chosen, her name is Tahlia Skye so very similar to your Taylah Skye, very pretty.
Tara i think Rio poppy sounds just gorgeous :thumbsup:.
Jamb i have probably already said it but i love lilla it is very pretty :).
We haven't told anyone our name choices, so it will be a suprise when bubs is born.
thanks tan, my DH jumped at the suggestion so it was a happy choice:thumbsup:
rio poppy is gorgeous niesl, i have been meaning to say that!
MammyMammy
06-07-2007, 13:33
for those of you that have chosen THE name, wow.
I cant get to grips with how some day soon we'll stop calling our baby :
the baby
bubbah
bubs
baby in my tummy
baby button
tadger (we're not calling it that at alllll anymore because we found out it means ****!!! OMG)
and then from one day it will be known by a REAL NAME
well spin me out!
whatwasithinking
06-07-2007, 13:36
Now that we know it's a girl we have decided on Emma Rose.
Though Hannah suggested Renee last night and I have to say I really liked it - but J didn't - he says it's Emma as that is what he has told everyone!
Renee is really nice though - oh well.
Our bubba-licious is "Peanut".... Until he is born, and the lucky name is revealed! :D :D
2princesses1prince
06-07-2007, 16:02
Our little man is Jacob Pearson. Although to my niece and nephew it is still jellybean as we decided not to tell them just incase the u/s was wrong.
I can't believe it is only 18 more days until my little man will be in my arms.
niesl_bug
06-07-2007, 18:24
Love your name choices gals :thumbsup:
Mammy - does Tadger mean willy? I wasn't sure, which is why I didn't say anything ...
Hayles - we also call our little one Peanut ... I am nervous to use her name in case I let it slip in front of someone ... people always trying to catch you out :shame:
Well it's just happend again...:rolleyes:
Dh said to his mother, oh that's the baby's name (on paper, on the bench) JonMarie...
Oh, mmm, I like Marie....
Then offered other suggestions...
Yay for you MIL:yelclap: :rolleyes:
mom2jake
06-07-2007, 20:15
WTF:confused:
Tell her you're pregnant and hormonal and don't need to hear neg comments about the name you have choosen:yes:
Or until the baby is born tell her you've changed your mind and you're going to call the baby after her:laughing: :laughing:
BTW she offers names like F-ing
Christie
Jennifer
Melissa
Melanie
Like they are names of the moment:rolleyes: so, 70's-80's!!!
No offence to anyone here....
mom2jake
07-07-2007, 08:24
OH TINGLES...
You poor thing:yes: :yes:
They sound like half the girls I was in school with...
Did she have any girls? Maybe shes living her favourite names through you....
No she didn't have any girls... that's why she's a :devil6: MIL!
Love your name choices gals
Mammy - does Tadger mean willy? I wasn't sure, which is why I didn't say anything ...
Hayles - we also call our little one Peanut ... I am nervous to use her name in case I let it slip in front of someone ... people always trying to catch you out :shame:
Ours has been Peanut since the beginning, thanks to my cute 8 year old little brother..... Though now he insists he might just have to call it watermelon :laughing: :laughing:
Everyone, relatives, friends... You name it, refers to him as "peanut"... Too cute! :D
Name change!!!:p
I'm going down the Ruby path now!!!
:banghead: I change names like underwear... this is soooo crazy... it's sooo hard 'cause I've already got 3 girls...
Kellie you were going with Ruby? It was your mum's dog, yeah? And Tara's poochie...
mom2jake
07-07-2007, 17:57
OMG TINGLES.......
WE LOVE THE NAME RUBY
It was our original name...Ruby Aaliyah
But everyone we knew had a niece, god daughter or friends with a baby called Ruby...We wanted something a little different....BUT WE STILL LOVE THE NAME:thumbsup:
Have been playing the song Ruby (by Dion)... off and on today... driving DH nuts:rolleyes:
Thinking... Ruby Jean
Did like Ruby Star (and so did DD#1)... it's actually a type of echineca (sp?)... but kinda reminds me of a Porn Star kinda name:laughing:
... just did a google on the name... there's a horror story writer by the same name... great:rolleyes:
imisschampagne
08-07-2007, 14:44
LOVE RUBY!!!!
If we have another girl, she will probably be a Ruby :yes:
Ally Jane
08-07-2007, 18:07
i think we have decided,we will probably call our little man Brodie James.....boys names are so hard to choose!
mom2jake
08-07-2007, 20:44
Ally...I Love the name Brodie:yes:
You are soooooo right about boys names...They are sooooo hard:yes: :yes:
niesl_bug
09-07-2007, 09:00
Hayles - my mum calls her "Pistache" which is french for Peanut ... very cute :)
Ruby is a great name ... we were kind of bummed we used it on our puppy as we would have used it for our little girl.
Tingles - is Jean named after someone? Otherwise Ruby Jane could be cute ....?
Tell her you're calling her Baboushka ... that always works at shutting them up :laughing:
Ally Jane - I love Brodie!
I found boys names much easier actually ... we had 3 names we loved straight away - tooks us ages to decide on a girls name!
I was reading a book yesterday with birthstones and flowers and the poppy flower is the flower for August ... what a cool coincidence!!!
I personally think boys names are easier too.... :yes:
Ruby is a great name ... we were kind of bummed we used it on our puppy as we would have used it for our little girl.
Tingles - is Jean named after someone? Otherwise Ruby Jane could be cute ....?
I was reading a book yesterday with birthstones and flowers and the poppy flower is the flower for August ... what a cool coincidence!!!
My fathers aunt is 'Jean', so it is in the family... I had offered Ruby Jane to DH and was met with:no: - as usual...
I love Poppy - DH just won't come to that party - what a beaut coincidence - I will have to tell him... may have an influence:yes:
spunkyboysmum
09-07-2007, 21:22
We have chosen Zachary for our boys name but are struggling over a middle name.
So far we have gotten it down to 5 names, we both love the top 2 and like the rest
(Top 2 so far)
*Zachary Harrison Gee* (DH's top pick)
*Zachary Dean Gee* (My top pick)
Zachary Cooper Gee
Zachary Noah Gee
Zachary Ethan Gee
Any opinions / suggestions??
mom2jake
10-07-2007, 08:10
Kellie, I like Zachery Dean Gee the best:thumbsup:
i like the first 2, i prefer zachary with names that are more than 2 syllables, flows better for me. hope that makes sense!
MammyMammy
10-07-2007, 08:19
We have chosen Zachary for our boys name but are struggling over a middle name.
So far we have gotten it down to 5 names, we both love the top 2 and like the rest
(Top 2 so far)
*Zachary Harrison Gee* (DH's top pick)
*Zachary Dean Gee* (My top pick)
Zachary Cooper Gee
Zachary Noah Gee
Zachary Ethan Gee
Any opinions / suggestions??
I think that Zachary sounds perfect with Harrison and Cooper. Just a thought though, Harrison is such a great name - are u sure you are willing to 'waste' it (ie - if you have a 3rd bub) on a middle name
I love hearing mums say "Zach" at the playground....its sooo funky....
spunkyboysmum
10-07-2007, 08:45
Mammy- I know Excactly what you mean by using Harrison!!! I have been thinking that we may have a third bub abd it is VERY likely we will have a boy (I have 3 brothers and DH has a brother (no sisters) so it is a very boy orientated family! and Harrison is the only other boys name REALLY I like for a first name is Harrison.
The reason we are concidering it as a middle name is that I have an issue with the nick name Harry ....I HATE IT!!!! (sorry to all the Harrys out there!) and I just dont think I could deal with people calling my son Harry. I know it sounds CrAzY but it is driving me nuts so DH suggested using it as a middle name.
Thanks for the opinions, Its really great to hear what other people think:)
MammyMammy
10-07-2007, 09:18
oh, I am the opposite - think of a lil man, say age 3....called Harry...oh i could eat him up!
But if you dont like it, you dont like it and that is that......
I would say that you then should use it as a middle name, and then you can pretty much guarantee that it will "stay" as Harrison
MammyMammy
10-07-2007, 09:20
or,,,,,you could "save" harrison for b#3....just insist that he be Harrison and not Harry
I am a Deborah and my parents always insist that I am ABSOLUTELY NOT a Debbie.....and I totally reinforce it - I hate when people call me DEBBIE....
People love to shorten names, but they really shouldnt unless asked! yah!
niesl_bug
10-07-2007, 09:35
Kellie - I like Zachary Cooper :)
Good luck with the decision making !!!
I am with you girls on the shortening of names. My mum hates it when people call me "Tarz" (I don't mind it though) ...
Super Trooper
10-07-2007, 10:51
Hehe i have a friend who is the opposite... her name is Jillian, but she hates it and insists she is most definately 'Jill' :laughing:
We call her Jillaroo, then sometimes Jillar**ter, and then R**ter, She loves it! :laughing: :laughing:
Kellie, I like Cooper as a middle name :) I like Carter too.
Isaac was Harrison for the first few months of this pregnancy, but like you we didn't really like Harry. We are happy with people shortening Isaac to Zach though if that happens.
Deb - don't you HATE it when people call you Debbie?! Deborah seems to be one of those names that people feel they can shorten without asking. Even when i introduce myself as DEBORAH people still say...so, Debbie....GRRRRRR
MammyMammy
10-07-2007, 12:01
Deb - don't you HATE it when people call you Debbie?! Deborah seems to be one of those names that people feel they can shorten without asking. Even when i introduce myself as DEBORAH people still say...so, Debbie....GRRRRRR
exactly. I want to smash those people. I dont shorten other peoples names unless invited, so what makes them think they can "Debbie" me???? I always correct people straight away, even if it seems impolite, i'd rather get it out early than be called Debbie and CRINGE....hehehe
:banghead: :mad: :mad: :mad:
MammyMammy
10-07-2007, 12:02
....and while I am on my Hiiigggghhh-Horsey, what is so short about Debbie anyway? Its two syllables, so they may as well use a tiny bit more effort and go for 2.5 by going for "Deb-or-rah"
jackassses...teeehee
imisschampagne
10-07-2007, 18:37
is Deb ok, cause i always call you Deb ;)
imisschampagne
10-07-2007, 18:37
Kellie, I like Zachary Harrison :thumbsup:
MIL rang tonite (spoke to her DS)... with HER LIST!!!
She'd better try IVF:laughing:
It's Ruby ATM.... not sure how she reacted to that!!
imisschampagne
10-07-2007, 19:28
WTF is with your MIL?
Her list...:confused:
That's just not right :no:
WTf is up with your MIL Tingles???
Have to say though, Emily is a beautiful name :laughing:
mom2jake
10-07-2007, 20:13
Tingles, I CANNOT believe the nerve of your MIL:no:
Tell her you've been really inspired by Gwenth Paltrow and are going to take a leaf from her book when naming your little girl "Apple"....Lovely:D
imisschampagne
10-07-2007, 20:15
Tingles, I CANNOT believe the nerve of your MIL
Tell her you've been really inspired by Gwenth Paltrow and are going to take a leaf from her book when naming your little girl "Apple"....Lovely
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
You gals are so funny...
Emily is beautiful... but we have an Ellie... mind you our estranged BIL called his SON Alex... and wrote in the paper... A SON AND GRANDSON TO CARRY THE NAME... WTF!
TOTAL *********... Lets hope that little 'Alex' doesn't turn out to be one Australia's most F-ing Wanted!!!:laughing:
Yes - We have BIG FAMILY ISSUES!!!:rolleyes:
Like your a total F-ing hero, 'cause you've got the F-ing boy... Hope they keep on having boys!!!:devil6:
*CALM DOWN*
DH told his Mother, if anyone asks what we are calling the baby, tell them.... 'MOWHAWKE BABOOSHKA':p
MammyMammy
11-07-2007, 06:40
yep. i'm a Deb ...just not a Debbie.
Mammy - I remember that your DH used your 'full name' the other week (when you'd been a naughty gal)... Do you prefer DEB? If so, why don't ya put it on ya Ciggie?
'DEB - THE SUPER MAMMYMAMMY'