View Full Version : Welcome to all new January 2007 mummies

Pages : 1 2 [3]

~J'dore~
27-02-2007, 06:47
Cooper went from 7pm to 5 this morning:yelclap:

I love him so much! He's the cutest little bubba!

Is anybody's babies laughing yet?

Cooper has done a little half giggle twice now, it's soooo cute! Whenever we try to tickle him he just grunts and squirms, he hasn't quited figured out what that's all about yet:laughing:

I hope everyone has a good day:hugs:

Jenko
27-02-2007, 08:19
My two year old has been a right little so and so lately. He has such a temper on him he hates been told off or told not to do something. It is driving me mental.

I hear ya Kylie :yes: . My 2 year old is the same. She hates being told off, it just escalates to a major tantrum that can go on and on. She refuses to get dressed or put her shoes on when going out. Oh and the attention seeking. "Look Mummy, watch me Mummy!!" Especially when we have visitors.

I know it's a big adjustment for her aswell, it still makes it hard on all of us though. Especially when DH and i have different opinions on discipline...but thats a whole nother thread...:laughing:

sugar n spice
27-02-2007, 13:35
JDore - Yes ashton is laughing now. It is a crack watching him laugh. Big open mouth smile, its such a delight.

Ashtons not feeding very well atm but the dr says he's fine as long as he keeps gaining weight. he is now 6kgs.

2s'nuff
27-02-2007, 14:04
Phew, I'm away from the computer for a few days, and had heaps to catch up on.

Perth Catch-up - Friday seems to suit most people, so Friday March 9th, at my house, about 10-10.30am. pm me for details.

Wild@heart...welcome (Wild@heart...welcome)
Leisa...gotta love tupperware!
Nappies - not sure if you're asking disposables or cloth. We're using Huggies for night times and outings. Tried the Coles brand newborns, they seemed ok. Trying Woolies brand at the moment, ok but the nappy is very wide at the crotch and seems to be short. Might try Snugglers next, on the tv ad they look a lot like the old huggies. With DD1 I used Babylove, so will do a cost comparison between them all before we start daycare (we provide daycare nappies)
Cordelia...love the new list, well done!
Freddie...Where do you buy the Safeties Nature Nappies? How are you finding them?
Sugar...:hugs: I think I could leave DH alone with the two kids for a week and he still wouldn't get the idea of me being on call 24/7. He grizzles that he's tired, and that he works 12 hour days:banghead: .
Tabby...hope bub has been a bit more setteld today. TJ has been the same for the past 3-4 days. Yesterday she barely slept. I think some of it is my fault, with daycare dropoffs and pickups and the doc visits last week. She's sleeping ok now, hope it continues through the day.
Ellembee...TJ has had a dummy from day one. DD1 was the same. I'd rather use a dummy that can be cleaned and taken away at an appropriate age than fingers/thumb. A friends kids both suck two fingers, DD1 has given up her dummy, but Friends DD (same age as DD1) still sucks her fingers.
Jacstar31...TJ seems to do laps of her cot.

A very tired mummy here at the moment. DH flies in sometime today (plane due to fly out on was hit by lightening so they have to wait for another). Can't wait for a nanna nap or two, and some extra help with the kids. DD1 has been pushing my buttons again this past few days.

Hope everyone has a good (and long) nights sleep:sleeping: .

Lisa

Flicka
27-02-2007, 15:01
Afternoon ladies.
Well, Kelsey has been a bit of a pain this morning. Dropped DS at daycare and had a few things to do with DH but Kelsey drove us nuts with her crying in the car. We stopped 3 times during the morning so I could feed her and try to settle her but she was very unsettled. She loved the car as a brand new bubba and went to sleep but now she just cries and cries. DS even covered his ears this morning because they were "hurting" from her crying. Anyway, as soon as we got home she was all smiles and has now gone down for a marathon nap. Whew!!! Anyone elses bubbies crying heaps in the car?

Lukeandmattsmum and Jennasmum - totally know what you are saying with your 2 year olds. Mine keeps saying "no" and "that's mine" to everything. He is also a pain when going to bed - he won't walk to his room so I have to carry/drag him - very hard when holding kelsey! You are right in saying it is a huge adjustment for them having a little brother or sister and I am trying to remember that. I also keep telling myself that he is learning about life and he has to test the boundaries to see what will happen. Oh, and he laughs at me when I grumble at him which is very frustrating!!!! BUT I love him soooo much - just like I know you guys love your little 2 year old pains!!! In years to come you will look back on these times fondly!!

Tabby
27-02-2007, 18:03
Mousebrown: will pm you closer to date as depends on car situation at the time. :fingerscrossed: its ok for then.
I did a quick search on those safeties nappies and selected IGA stores is the go. Was going to give them a try also. Katie has settled much better today, I think it was just from the needles as she seemed to have the snuffles as well but all gone now and shes back to normal. Hope you get that much need rest while DH home.

Jdore: We had been noticing Katie trying to giggle for over a week but last night we got a full on giggle episode and today she gave her grandfather a huge one when she saw him, sooo cute isnt it!

Flicka: Katie is about average in the car, some good some not so good, really depends on my timing, I try to time it to when shes happy or so sleepy that 2 secs down the road shes out. So far so good.

Well as said Katie is back to normal behavior, much more settled. We have just got home from getting the cot, so is off into the big bed tonight! awwww not sure I want her away from me yet but she shakes the bassinet too much now for my liking, plus she can see things from in the cot and am sure will help to drift off to sleep when needed. well heres hoping thats how it goes anyhow lol

ikea cot so am off to assemble!
Vicki

finalcountdown!
27-02-2007, 20:18
hey all...
good to hear those who have bubs sleeping through the night!!
SOrry no personals..took me ages just to catch up on the posts...

Well as far as the hours of screaming go, it still happening, from 8 pm every night till around midnite. Its soooo cruel, he is in sooo much pain, stiff as a board, and we have tried absolutley everything....he had one good night there and i thought it was all over!!

Took him to the CHN today, she said that i shouldnt have changed brands with the formula, i went from breast feeding, then added a few Karicare HA AR comps, then changed to Heinz Nurture, and with his probs then thought id give the s26lactose free a go.
So the plan is to stay on this, ive given up the b/f, and she also said that the prune juice that i was giving him, was prob making it worse...so have to stop that too. She said that he may have an allergy, and have to go on a prescription formula, but we wont know until i give his bowels more of a chance to get used to the formula.
Basically he is just having sooo much gut pain, and is totally inconsolable for 5 hours, and then he will do a poo...(quite runny or pasty) and the he feels better.
Has anyone had a similar experience??
This is soo frustrating, first it was the reflux, now this!!?? Im soo suffering from sleep deprivation too which isnt helping....
:thumbsdown:

freddie
27-02-2007, 20:50
wow finalcoundown you're having a rough time, hope it gets sorted soon.

I saw the CHN again today as the endless attempts to get Hamish to sleep during the day was driving me nuts and not achieving much. She was fantastic and basically said to trust my instincts as I know him best and to make sure I look after myself as Hamish is obviously a very healthy and happy baby. It made me feel much better - the routine stuff was just stressing me even though it is very useful as a guide.

Anyway, sorry no personals, I read the posts over the day and then forget who said what! The nature nappies are mostly at IGAs in WA as Tabby said. I didn't really try anything else except the samply huggies from the hospy bag and we had 4 weeks of cloth nappy service. I think they're ok though - no complaints. We're about to move up to the next size cos they're a bit tight for mr chubby thighs - 5.6kg at today's weigh in which is just about 2kgs above his birth weight. It seems I'm unlikely to have a milk supply problem, just lucky to have nipples that close up properly and don't leak and I don't ever feel too full.

Mousebrown I won't be able to make Friday 9th as my brother is coming over from Sydney and we are going down south to see mum. Bit disappointing as it would be great to meet everyone, so hopefully there will be a next time.

happy :sleeping: all
kx

sugar n spice
27-02-2007, 22:46
finalcountdown - ashton had diarohhea for two wks. only stopped yesterday and the dr reccomended the lactose free formula. I didnt try it i tried karicare HA AR but that made him worst. The dr said you usually only need to use the lactose free or soy formula for a wk its just sometimes after they get a tummy bug there body cant take the sugar lactose for a while and it helps to settle the tummy.

Hope things improve for you:hugs:

bossoflatch
27-02-2007, 23:27
hey all...

Well as far as the hours of screaming go, it still happening, from 8 pm every night till around midnite. Its soooo cruel, he is in sooo much pain, stiff as a board, and we have tried absolutley everything....he had one good night there and i thought it was all over!!

Took him to the CHN today, she said that i shouldnt have changed brands with the formula, i went from breast feeding, then added a few Karicare HA AR comps, then changed to Heinz Nurture, and with his probs then thought id give the s26lactose free a go.
So the plan is to stay on this, ive given up the b/f, and she also said that the prune juice that i was giving him, was prob making it worse...so have to stop that too. She said that he may have an allergy, and have to go on a prescription formula, but we wont know until i give his bowels more of a chance to get used to the formula.
Basically he is just having sooo much gut pain, and is totally inconsolable for 5 hours, and then he will do a poo...(quite runny or pasty) and the he feels better.
This is soo frustrating, first it was the reflux, now this!!?? Im soo suffering from sleep deprivation too which isnt helping....

hey - sorry to hear about all your troubles. my little one was like this - still is sometimes - but we got her some donnalix from the pharmacy -(behind the counter medication ) you have to use it sparingly 0.4 mls for a four kilo baby and she settles when she is like that - i use it mainly at night when she gets bad colic... it settles her very quickly - it is an antispasmatic medication... i would hate to be in that much pain - maybe you could talk to your pharmacist and see if it might help, if you were to get it and it didn't work then you know that it is not the spasm i quess??? she would go stiff as a board as you said one minute and then the legs would go kicking and the screaming would be inconsolable...

good luck with it though,,:fingerscrossed:

leisa

Tabby
27-02-2007, 23:27
Finalcountdown . Cant offer any help but wanted give you a big :hugs: . Hope you find out soon what the problem is and things get better.

Well Katie is asleep in her new bed!
She went in there no problems, just looked around at her mobile and lights and nodded off after about 15 mins. Wonder how long she will go tonight with the new surroundings and all.
Have added a pic of it to my site as shown below. its the last pic :D

Sweet dreams to all the mummys and bubbas

Charis
28-02-2007, 00:30
Finalcountdown HUGS to you hon! Must be v trying, also the expectation of it too. Lucky they are angels on waking..I thought this morning, whole new day each time!

You ll be getting advice from everyone..so just adding two bits:
-chiro - bub specific. H has had 5 visits..(my Mum is a believer), they sometimes 'miracle cure' colic/reflux/infant syndrome.

-babybjorn..just taking a walk? I reckon they settle fast cos they're secure, can hear yr heartbeat, yr not stressed and their stiff legs have to swing freely..

Happy sleeps all..Vicki the cutest tinyest little un in cot, gorgeous. Also that she's already asleep:angel:

*Sparkles*
28-02-2007, 02:28
hey all...

We have had this for the last few nights, except he starts screaming from about 6pm. I have been giving him brauer colic medicine, it seems to have helped a bit. He also hasn't poo'd for 24 hours. How often should a baby on formula do no #2's?
I am starting to feel like I can't cope, especially when he is screaming. I can't handle feeling so tired and it's making me resent him at times. I know it's not his fault but I feel like I want my old life back at times.
Is this normal and does anyone else feel like this at times? :(

Tabby
28-02-2007, 05:37
Hels: Katie normally does poo once a day but she misses a day here and there. Apparently its quite normal to go a day or 2 without. It took Katie a couple of weeks to adjust to formula and get regular. When we first started formula her poo was too hard so on advice of clinic sister we tried water, she hated it so then advised to add an extra 20 mils water to a bottle once a day, it helped and the next day she went fine.
and YES its quite normal to feel that way. Sleep deprivation is a horrible horrible thing, Ive been through it with all three at some stage or another especially ds2 who never slept properly day or night, but it will get better. :hugs: to you.
Are you grabbing naps when bubs does ? I know that was one of my problems, to use that time to do things instead of catching up on sleep. Hope things improve for you soon hun I know how crappy it can make you feel

bella_angel_13
28-02-2007, 05:40
hey all hope u dont mind me joining. my lil man nicholas was born on 8th jan. at his 6 week checkup he weighed 6.3kgs.

in answer to ur question hels nicholas is on formula and some days we too get no number 2s other days we get 3 or 4. the nurse said that its normal. :hugs: hels if u need to talk im here also i know how u feel but be strong trust me all your hardwork will pay off very soon and it will be so worth it all.

with the pain finalcountdown have u tried giving them a bath and after that try moving their legs like a bicycle as this helps nicholas alot of the time. as well as this tummy time is great also as it puts pressure on the tummy to help them.

one important tip that i was told by sister in law if you get sad or depressed with them crying leave them somewhere safe and find somewhere where u cant hear them cry for a cpl of mins to calm down and try again.

:hugs: to u all

*Sparkles*
28-02-2007, 06:07
Thanks for the reassurance, I was feeling so tired yesterday but I have managed to get some sleep and found it alot better to fully close our bedroom door, so I could only hear bubs on the monitor and not "in the flesh too".
He also did no #2's during the night and it sounds like he could be doing another one now as I'm feeding him :smiliedance:

The last couple of times that I picked him up he has given me a huge smile which has made me feel so guilty for my negative feelings. I even had a few tears before when he was smiling, but in a nice way.
I think having my folks here makes me feel like I have to meet certain expectations and that my parenting skills are constantly under the microscope.
Although my mum has been a great help around the house and with bubs.
Geez... maybe I just need some valium :laughing:

3Divas&me
28-02-2007, 06:59
:hugs: to Hels I know its hard to do when you have visitors, but do try and get some rest during the day when Reece goes down. Your mum has been there before she will understand. If you dont get enough sleep thats when you feel like you are not coping. I have runs where I can go 5-6 days on 6 hours sleep a night, then I get really tired and I will have a day where it all seems too much. I will have a whinge to DH and he will let me sleep as much as possible that night.

Ellembee- Dummies ROCK!! Bridget wouldn't take one at first, but I persisted and fianlly she took it and now loves it. There is a negative stigma attached to the use of a dummy, but why dismiss the one sure thing which will settle your bub???

You guys are lucky to be able to catch up in real life, how fun. It seems like I am the only one from NSW- is there any others? There seems to be alot of you guys from WA, VIC or QLD.

I woke up yesterday (Bridget a whole 6 weeks old) to find that my period has returned:eek: !! I thought B/F was suppose to delay the onset of this happening? Went to the Dr and he said well if it is your period assume you are now Fertile so you may want to consider the mini pill. I have a prescription which I havent filled- Any thoughts??:idea:

bella_angel_13
28-02-2007, 07:14
liviesmum - i live in nsw as well. i agree with the dummy as well. nicholas hated it at first but now he loves it and dozes off straight away. the doctor gave me a prescription for noraday (sp?) but since my period isnt here yet i cant take them as u need to start them during your period. after that and when i feel comfortable enough to stop breastfeeding fully im having the trial tablets of depo-provera (injection which lasts 3 months except can only have it for 2 years straight). in the end liviesmum its totally up to you what you choose to do.

at the moment nicholas loves me to pat his head and sing twinkle twinkle to him i find that settles him as well as his dummy.

aries_moon
28-02-2007, 09:07
Hello all:wave:

Gosh it takes me ages to get around to do a post, and I can't seem to keep up with how fast this thread goes, so as usual, lack of personals........

Having the usual common new bub probs as most seem to experience. X is actually turning into a rather good sleeper for a breastfed bub I would say.....last nite he last fed at 12:30 then didn't wake us up until 6:30 this morning!!! That's huge for him as he's such a big boy, he feeds constantly during the day, not sure how he manages 6 hours but oh well no complaints from mum and dad, lol!!

Anyone finding huggies nappies bad for leaks at nite?? I have MCN"s to use when we use up our stash of sposies, but the newborn size huggies have been leaking after only like an hour or 2, does this mean maybe they are just too small??

HELS, i'm kinda glad u said it first, but yep I feel the same as you at times, very much missing my old life even resenting my boy who I love dearly, but the crying does get to you.....DF just says he isn't doing it on purpose etc; etc; but they aren't the ones dealing with it all day are they!!?? A couple days ago I said something awful that really scared us both, thought it may have been an indicator of PND, but then I realized hey it's probably best to vent how i see fit, instead of possibly screaming back at baby to shut up!! So know that you are not alone in your feelings. I feel like i'm the only one having problems when I'm at my lowest, but it's comforting to think it's all part of being a mummy, and we are lucky to get to be!!

MOUSEBROWN I would love to come to the meet!! PM me your details if possible. Such a great idea, I don't know any other mums here, and CHN mums group doesn't start for a month, but way more keen to meet ladies I have been chatting to already!!
ok enough:ecomcity: from me, best try and get something done while x still sleeping......all the best for today/nite mums and bubs!!!

Lukeandmattsmum
28-02-2007, 10:06

Well Matt had a better night last night he slept from 9pm till 1:50am. It was so good to get some sleep.

Liviesmum with DS1 my period return while i was BF:mad: . So far with DS2 it hasn't so i have my fingers crossed that i will be lucky this time. I also got a script for the mini pill which i can start if i like the doctor said i didn't have to wait for my period to return. Although i haven't started it yet.

Welcome BellaAngel13:wave: . I thought my boy was big at 6 weeks he was 5.2kg.

Finalcountdown i am sorry to hear about your poor baby's pain, it is terrible when you feel like you can't do anything to help them. I don't really have anyother suggestions, just thought i would send :hugs: :hugs: your way.

Matts awake so i must dash.

dragonflyblu
28-02-2007, 10:30
i havent been here for ages and now i cant find the last post that i read... okay i am now going to go back and catch up. cordelia the birthday list is :thumbsup:

well a quick update from us... bf i have too much milk so i am trying to space feeds a bit, i hope she doesnt start to ween:fingerscrossed: trying to feed her about every 2-3 hours during the day and twice at night.

Clea is still really good. we have bad days but generally she is happy. I am not as tired now, must be getting used to it. I bought another BBH nappy because tey take so long to dry, and have broken out my medium peapods stash. They are pretty big on her but will do for around the house. i got sick of washing so many terry flats and we go through less fitted mcn's.

well better get to reading the thread....:wave:

Tabby
28-02-2007, 10:39
bella_angel_13: :wave: welcome and congrats on the birth of Nicholas. look forward to chatting.

Katie spent her first night in the cot and kept to the usual sleep pattern of 9-4am then fed and right back till 8am yay! Before I went to bed even though I have the monitor I kept going in for a peek and missed her something terrible beside me in the bassinet, took me ages to get to sleep.

huggies work fine for us aries_moon, even after her 7+ hrs they are very heavy but no leakage here but katies quite tiny so it maybe size yes.

Hels and aries_moon: The resentment followed by the guilt feeling I think most of us get at some time or another. In the earlier weeks I felt it a couple of times its from feeling so damn tired and irritable. I started to wonder how I was going to cope, it may be no3 for me but im 43 this time round! Dont dwell on it though, hard I know, but remember we are not ourselves at the moment because of the sleep deprivation and your hormones are all over the place as they change back to normal ( pre-pregnancy )as it can take some weeks to do that too. It will get better, just hang in there and try get some mummy naps in there as much as possible and know that we are here for yous

well best grab that shower while shes napping!

tired*mummy
28-02-2007, 11:13

WOW so much to catch up on. Spent ages just reading all the posts i've missed.
Hels & AriesMoon - i know how you are feeling. It is hard. I find that i'm coping really well with Sierra but i'm not really coping with the change from 2 - 3 kids. DD1&2 have just started to be quite naughty the last few weeks and they are always fighting with each other and yelling, its driving me insane. I also find that cause i havent had hardly any sleep i tend to snap at them quite alot and quicker than i normally would. Its great having them at kinder 2 days a week but i'm feeling guilty and upset that i constantly have to tell them off, i know i hate being snapped at so i feel really awful doing it to them. I'm trying to think of different things that would help the situation but so far nothing is really helping that much. We had a bit of a break the other night... went out for dinner for our anniversary while my mum watched all the kids. That was good and the kids were really good for her but they always are. Dont know why they are always angels when they are with their nanna but terrors when they are with me lol.

Sierra is great. 6 weeks old yesterday. She's still waking every 4 hours at night and during the day her feeds are about 3-4 hours apart. She does have 1-2 big sleeps during the day which is great. She sleeps the whole time DD1&2 are at kinder. I know i should really use that time to sleep aswell but there is always heaps of washing & cleaning to do. I cant wait til she sleeps a bit longer during the night though, that will be good. On formula she usually does a poo every 1 - 1 &1/2 days. She doesnt get alot of pain or colic which is great. She has her moments though. I think she is at the startle & loud noises stage... she gets a little upset if she hears something loud and it scares her, or if she's alseep and she startles herself she gets really upset, poor bubba.

DH has just made his appointment for 1st consultation with the surgeon for a vasectomy :laughing: It isnt for another month but at least the appointment has been made and i didnt have to tell him to do it, so he must want it as much as i do lol. It'll be a relief when he's had it done but its a little upsetting that there will definately be no more babies, not that i want anymore but just the thought of not being able to have anymore is upsetting. Its just so final lol.

Anyway i can hear DD1 & 2 starting at each other, so better go break that up lol.
Sleep & settling vibes to all who need them

Acacia
28-02-2007, 13:38
I dont think there is a mother in the world who doesnt get stressed out and frustrated with their children, even resentful. If they dont then they obviously have full time nannies that deal with all the crying and feeding and they just see their kids when they are happy and smiling! To be honest with you i have only started to enjoy motherhood in the last week or so. Now that Tom is brighter and has a better sleep pattern i feel like this gig isnt so bad after all! That said, i still get very sad when i cant do the things i used to. I hate my tummy too and sometimes i'd love to sit down with a beer and have a smoke...but alas i will be waiting a while!

Tom goes down to bed at 8pm and sleeps till about 1-2am. Then he has a feed and change and sleeps will 4ish. He gets a bit unsettled then so im awake for about an hour with him then he will sleep till 7 or 8 if im lucky. I give him his bath at about 6pm and we hang out until he goes to bed. Even though he isnt sleeping through, i dont feel too tired. Tom is co-sleeping with me so i dont use too much energy at night feeding him etc.

I hope everyone is well. Sorry about the lack of personals.
Im a NSW girl.
Who of us are single mums? sahm? wahm? Might be interesting to see the mix we have here!
Im a single SAHM and i guess young mum.

SammyG
28-02-2007, 13:58
Hi Mums,
I'm a Sydney Mum too!

Totally agree with everyones resentful feelings towards bubbas and toddlers!

I have found if I get out on my absolutee lonesome once or twice a week, even if it's just for 45mins, I come home happily after rediscovering a little bit of me again! BTW the 45mins is usually doing something exciting like groceries!

Sleep vibes to all bubbas and mummas! ZZZZZZZZZZ

Cordelia
28-02-2007, 14:49
SO much to read!!

Sounds like everyone's routines are getting sorted out a bit better.

Caitlin's sleeping 6-7 hours a night so that's cool!

In laws have GONE (yay) only to return in a month.

mousebrown - have pm'd you for some details! Thanks for organising it :) Can't wait!!

I know this is a very slapdash post but I must run to comfort a crying baby! Bye!

2s'nuff
28-02-2007, 15:56
Hels...:hugs: coming your way. It's completely normal to resent bub for all you seem to have given up. I had only just started to feel that I had some time to myself when DD1 was 3yo, then TJ appeared. IO figure another 3 years or so and I might be able to get back to doing something for myself. The big problem then is remembering/finding something you enjoy doing that doesn't involve kids.
Freddie...sorry you can't make the 9th. Maybe next time.
Bella Angel...welcome
Aries moon...in regard to huggies leaking, how big is bub? Maybe you have to try the next size up. We have had a couple of leaks, but I think it's more to do with how TJ was laying at the time of the wee rather than the nappy itself. Will PM you my details.
Cordelia and Charis...have PM'd you details
BenAndMichaelsMum..it's funny how an exciting hour or so fighting with a shopping trolly can make you feel a whole lot better.

TJ barely slept yesterday afternoon between 2-8.30pm. When she finally settled at 8.30 she slept 'til 3.45am.:smiliedance: our longest sleep yet. Won't hold my breath that it'll happen again soon though.

Have a great day!
Lisa

Charis
28-02-2007, 16:05
Welcome bella_angel13 and your beautifuil weighty Nicolas!! WOW looking forward to chatting.

FinalCountDown, HUGE SORRY for some mad thought during the day that a baby bjorn would do anything!!Great to hear he slept better! H was really screaming in pain after only 2hrs sleep and I thought how ridiculous a suggestion that was !

Talk about multitasking, just had an hour long wait at the Dr..then a pap smear whilst breastfeeding uhhuh! :eek: Definitely feel rather giggered and pokered!!

Hels, yes hon for sure!! :hugs: No one can annoy us as much as family :yes: Resentment yes..at times! understanding why people shake/give them drugs/petrol to sniff..at times for sure, luckily our minds and hearts are too clear through the fog of screams to ever do anything to our precious ones..BECAUSE ITS FOREVER realising we're not the only ones is a relief!

It is wonderful how beautiful and peaceful and what a beautiful color they are in the morning..all the little horns have gone :laughing:

Work is keeping me a bit sane, I think..of course also stressing me hugely at times.

I think I'll get a dummy tomorrow!!

Does it take more than 1/2hr just abt always to settle yr bubs..?? Some I think not.. I walk/pace usually outside. BBjorn or driving works in the day..anyrhing else is just too hard..

Happy sleeping nights all!! I know its only 3pm here!

Karrina
28-02-2007, 16:25
Hiya ladies,

I think I must be loosing my mind!:no: I took Billy in for his 6 week check and needles to child health. They informed me he is in fact 7 weeks old?? I lost a week somewhere and don't know how. I made them double check the dates and yep they were right! They also told me they get needles at 8 weeks not 6, so I don't know how I got that idea. To top it all off I went to the primary school for the child health classes today to be told that the classes are still back at community health (they are renovating) and will start there next week - a week ahead of myself!

Anyhow....................

Billy is 7 weeks and is 6 kg, he is on the 97th percentile for his weight which is apparently really good for a BF baby - it means that out of 100 babies 97 would weigh less than him. He seems to have a sleep routine and has his last feed at about 10pm then around 2am and then at 6pm. I basically sleep from 10pm - 8:30am (apart from dozy BF laying down), DD keeps herself amused from 7am - 8:30 when she wakes me. I went into work today and they all say I look so rested, I actually feel a bit like a different person. That is, I am much less stressed now that I am not at work - even though I am so busy at home:yes: I guess the 'work' is different. I am actually much nicer to DH too!!

DH is about to buy a car - so we will have 2. Life will be so much easier. Next week I am off to Adelaide for the WomAdelaide and Fringe Festival - I can't weight. My mum is going to have Billy and I am going to have a full day and night with all my old friends - I plan on getting drunk too!! Not sure what I am going to do with full boobs - maybe express into the toilet?:laughing:

Karrina
28-02-2007, 16:46
I forgot to ask....

I was put on the mini pill about 1 week ago and now I have a sort of period? Is this normal..when do periods return after a baby, I can't remember from DD:idea:

sugar n spice
28-02-2007, 16:58
Karrina sounds like you will be having fun. Make the most of it. Ashton is 10wks and weighs 6kgs

dragonflyblu
28-02-2007, 20:36
tummytime- clea hates it, she doesnt seem to understand that i want her to put her head up. i have tried bright colours, laying in front of her... anyway she is 9 weeks and doesnt put her head up, but she holds her head when she is on my belly and when i carry her... mmm hope her neck is strong enough.

liviesmum bf only works as a contraceptive if you feed alot, including night feeds. so no more than 4 hour breaks.

ariesmoon thats a huge sleep, the longest clea has slept is just under 5 hours

i dont feel resentful, but i do feel bored. imiss my old life working, i miss my staff and i miss the money...and have spent the day trying to work out a job that i can take clea to.

nappies, i think i already said that we use mcn's,we found sposies leaked alot, particularly if she was on her side and a really runny explosive poo in a sposie ends up going up her back. i just love our babybeehinds and our peapods have gotten better with washing, no leaks at all. but i think sposies get better as they get bigger.

oh to get drunk.... what joy have fun karrina

freddie
28-02-2007, 22:00
hi all

had the internet down all day and there are so many posts I can't manage personals sorry. We had our first parenting class today - luckily I made a last minute appt. with the CHN yesterday and found out it was Wednesday as I was thinking Thursday. Anyway, she was very reassuring about our lack of ability to stick to the sleep/eat/play routine and I feel so much better about using the bits that work for us and finding our own rhythms the rest of the time. I liked her explanation that you really become a mother when you take control as you are the one who knows your baby best.

So there were 12 mums (and 12 bubs) at our group today, seems like a great group, and mine was the only one who sat up staring at everyone for 2.5 hours while all the others slept! I felt better knowing that he certainly is 'alert'. He hated it when I held him towards me so he couldn't see what was going on. At least the CHN could see I wasn't exaggerating about him not being a sleepy baby!

Hamish is now weighing 5.6kg at 7.5 weeks - 75th percentile according to the purple book. He's sleeping from 7.30/8pm for about 5 or 6 hours then 2-3 hours after a feed which is usually a 45min - 1 hour turnaround (up to 2 hours on a bad night). Sometimes I wonder if I would be saner if we went back to a later bed time so I could get more sleep but it is quite nice having evenings for just me and DH.

One other thing, I noticed lots of mums using dummies today and wondered if that would help settle Hamish, although I don't think he really has a bad problem he does do a lot of hand sucking and I'm wondering how long before he finds his thumb and whether or not a dummy is better than thumbsucking? DH isn't keen on dummies though. I'm not really sure.

Wish us luck for our needles tomorrow morning. I'm not looking forward to it.
kx

ps dragonfly we have the opposite problem with tummy time - Hamish doesn't seem to realise that he can actually put his head down if he gets tired!

finalcountdown!
28-02-2007, 22:02
Hi everyone, thanks for your concerns, its soo good to know im not alone!!!!
Took Jett to the health nurse today, she seems to think that is definetly bowel spasms that hes suffering from.
I was b/f then started comping with karicare AR, that didn’t agree with him so changed to Heinz, that formula (stinks!! Literally) and he started the screaming so changed to S26 lactose free. The CHN said for a start its no good to change brands in the formula as they all contain different thickening agents.
I was giving him prune juice also,and she said this would’ve been contributing to the problem..due to the sugars etc in it. Hmmmmm so the plan is to go back to basics, keep him on the same formula, as it can take up to 3 weeks for them to get used to a formula. No prune juice and just use ONE colic relief medicine and stick to it. (Brauers), and give it to him through out the day.
If he is still going through the same thing then he may have to be tested for different allergies, and put on a prescription formula.

I must admit, as great as it is to have hubby be able to give bottles of formula to bub, and me not be rushing to express all the time is great, but as my milk is drying up its very sad, I still think, what if id tried harder, what if this, what if that……..and no matter how much I reason with myself, there is still some disappointment there.
On the plus side, I can now start the diet I sooo desperately need!! Have started the Tony Ferguson one, just need a kickstart, I d lost a bit of weight before I fell pregnant and would love to get back to that….so, 12 kilos to go!! (by the way, today is day 3 and im STARVING!! HAHA)

Sugar and spice – That’s no good about the diareohha, that’s good to know that they recommend the lactose free to settle the tummy a little. I just decided to try it off my own back in the hope it would help! Hope the diarehoa has settled and doesn’t come back.

Leisa – Thanks for your concerns!! And as for the medication, I d never heard of that one, nor has anyone mentioned it so thanks for that, I will see the Pharmacist tomorrow. Jett is the same, he d relax a little then go stiff as a board.

Tabby – Thanks for the hug !!

Charis – That is sooo true, a new day can bring sooo much new emotion and a fresh approach!!
And hey, any suggestion is a good one, I find if theres still things I can try, then theres still hope of sorting him out!!

HelsBels – maybe your bubs is having a similar problem, you have just gone from b/f to formula haven’t you? ? Maybe its just their gut getting used to it? I understand how you feel totally, and its absolutely normal! I went through this really bad with my first child, I used to look at her with complete hatred for ruining my life.. I ended up with postnatal depression, and this time was prepared and have been on medication. It still doesn’t make handling the screaming a breeze but I must say I find myself a lot more level headed, and I just keep telling myself…’this wont last forever’
If you need to talk, feel free to pM me, in the mean time, try to get as much help as you can, take breaks, get out of the house…walk away from bub if you have too…
Good luck..

Bella angel – thanks for that, yes have definetly tried that…to no avail unfortunately. Wow your bubba is a little chubba…my little fella is almost 6kilos and is 7 weeks…hes a chubby little man too! Is this your first bub?

Ariesmoon – I was going to ask the same question about the huggies nappies, I find them shocking for leaking, not what they used to be that’s for sure

Lukeandmattsmum – Thanks for the hugs!!

Karrina – LOL!! Thanks for your story, ive been doing some pretty strange things myself lately due to lack of sleep!! So much for only have a brain of mush whilst pregnant hey!!

Well this has been a mammoth effort, sorry if ive missed anyone, and thank you all for your thoughts and ideas, it really does help! I really should be in bed , no doubt he will wake up the minute I lay down, isn’t it always the way!!!

Tabby
28-02-2007, 22:21
:hugs: to Hamish for his needles tomorrow!
Freddie: If a dummy works then why not give it a try ,DH might not be keen but is he the one missing out on sleep? It can be the difference from pacing the floor/rocking/settling/getting up constantly to pop it in and asleep in no time. I cannot say how enough how what a life saver ( sanity? lol) I consider them to be. Good luck with your decision.

Finalcountdown: I went through the exact same feelings when I gave up bfing, Dont know if you remember but I gave up after I ended up back in hospital with a c-sec infection and I just wasnt coping with being ill and the sorest nipples ever! I was in tears by day 3 of the stay so I made the choice to give it up and concentrate on getting better. anyhow what I wanted to share was that I felt so guilty on and off for weeks after thinking should I have kept trying etc and what if's. It does pass. I just kept reminding myself how much happier I was after I made the choice and more importantly in doing so how much more I enjoyed Katie because I wasn't stressing about it all.

Katie has become harder to settle until late arvo. Wont do anything more than catnaps and very restless till about 3 pm. Not sure whats changed there.
She does crash eventually, usually late arvo for 3 hrs or so and back to normal routine after that. Not complaining seeing as her night sleeps are still great, just cant work her out at the moment during the day.

Stress levels have reached a peak here I think, as you know dp lost his job 2 weeks ago, no job yet and centrelink havnt finalized any payments to us and said it could take up to 28days " oh but we back pay you from the date applied" !!!!, what in hell do they think we are going to live on in the meantime ??
sorry...just had to let that out somewhere and I knew yous would understand
Hes had a few interviews so fingers crossed I can tell CL "to go to ....."
Vicki

*Sparkles*
01-03-2007, 01:02
Tabby - :hugs: to you, sorry to hear of your financial situation and problems with CL. I hope your DP finds work soon hun.

Finalcountdown - Yes we have recently switched solely to formula and have experienced similar problems to you.
However, yesterday we had a different bub :smiliedance: I took him off all the medications, so no infacol or colic medicine. He just had his formula and water (we are using NAN gold HA) and he had less wind, slept more and no more hysterical crying last night. :yelclap:

His feeds are quite close together now but he won't take anymore than 120mls each time.
It's early days yet but I agree that he needs time to adjust to the change in formula and to settle down.

Re the coping and stress - DH and I had a little chat and we have agreed that when I get over tired he will look after bubs from around 8pm and do his last feed and put him to bed. This will mean I can go to bed early and get up at his first feed in the early hours.
Also, after my folks go home I will put Reece into daycare 1 day a week (for about 5 hours)as I work from home so I need a day to myself to do bookwork etc.
I feel alot happier about things now :D

3Divas&me
01-03-2007, 10:04
:hugs: to Tabby- Centrelink is a pain in the bum. I dont know what expectations they have of people, they dont seem to mind leaving you stranded in times of need.

Hels, sounds like a good plan. You need to do these things to make life easier on your self.

Nappies- I use Huggies- no probs with leakage- except when Bridg does big runny poos- up the back- get my drift?:eek:

Oh the period thingy- seems to have stopped again. God knows whats going on. Will fill prescription for mini pill when I have a proper period I think.:confused:

Tabby
01-03-2007, 10:44
Thanks for the :hugs: you two! Just had a call from them and hes looking into it and should get a call back later to at least let me know whats happening.

Hels*Bels: Good to see things are looking better, makes a difference doesn't it and good on DH. Sounds like a great idea so may have to have a chat to mine also I think ;).
Even tho Katie sleeps 7hrs at night her day feeds for over a week are closer than usual, now every 2.6 to 3 hrly. Since last night tho she is taking 180mls so maybe less often now..I did try her on more before thinking maybe she was hungrier but would only throw it up or leave it.
Hope you had a good night.

Ive not had the runny poo up the back yet lol :fingerscrossed: I dont!

I finally brought a sling the other day, as when out at shopping after about an hr in the pram shes had enough and wants to get out and look around.
The monitors, As Katies room is at the rear near backyard, every time the dog barks it sounds like hes in the room with us, scared the hell out of me last night :laughing: Got to love the spying aspect tho, when shes laying awake talking and laughing at the mobile, soo cute!

shes napping at the moment so better go clean up etc while can. I dont get much done at all when shes up, cant seem to drag myself away for long lol

Vicki

bella_angel_13
01-03-2007, 11:12
final countdown - yeah he is my first and is big compared to other babies but he was born big. the nurse said he was too fat and to limit his food but he only eats every 3 hours now and he is very long.

Strawberry_Shortcake
01-03-2007, 14:13
Hello Everyone,

bella_angel_13: Hello and welcome. I’m looking forward to chatting to you.

:hugs: to Hamish and his mummy for his needles, I hope all went well..

:hugs: to you Tabby. fingers x your DH finds a job real soon.

Freddie – I gave my son a dummy at just a day old. I used it as a comfort thing. He loves it and I don’t have a problem with it as he only sucks on it for a bout 5 mins and spits it out :laughing: . I think later down the track its easier to get rid of a dummy, then it is to try and get bub to stop sucking its thumb.

Sugar - Hows Ashton going on the lactose free? Has it settled his little tummy?

tummytime- clea hates it, she doesnt seem to understand that i want her to put her head up. i have tried bright colours, laying in front of her... anyway she is 9 weeks and doesnt put her head up, but she holds her head when she is on my belly and when i carry her... mmm hope her neck is strong enough.

Dragonflyblu - Talon was the same HATED tummy time. Its only the last week that he has started enjoying tummy time. No crying yet touch wood :laughing: . i got told not all babies are the same, so darl Clea will do it when she's ready.

As for Talon he sleeps really well at night. I usually put him down at 8pm and he sleeps till 6/7am, sometimes he wakes up for a fed at 4 depends how tired he is. He’s constipation is gone thank goodness. I give his 1ml of prune juice in his bottle once a day to keep him regular. It seems to be working so that’s good. I’ve started lay buying winter clothes for Talon, as I have notice by the time winter is here there isn’t much of a range to choose from for babies. I’ve just brought a christening outfit for Talon lets hope he doesn’t grow out of it before the christening.

Anyway my little man has finally woken up for his feed, so i better go.

Take care everyone
Kel

Flicka
01-03-2007, 15:02
Hi everyone.
:hugs: to those feeling a bit frustrated with bubs at the moment. I can remember when DS was a bub and DH was on nightwork, I couldn't get him to stop crying and I picked him up and stared at him and wanted to throw him out the window. BUT instead, I put him in his cot and made myself a cup of tea. At the end of the day, if you need a break from the crying put them in the cot or somewhere safe and close the door and go outside or sit down and have a cuppa and take a few deep breaths. I guarantee by then you will want to go back and pick them up with a fresh approach. It worked for me. Totally agree with you Charis when you said you kinda understand how mums shake their bubs. I think is is good to recognise and acknowledge those feelings because I think we have all had them at one time or another.

Kelsey has been a good girl. She is still only getting up 1 or 2 times a night which is fantastic as I have DS to run after during the day and don't usually get a rest/sleep. She is smiling heaps and is starting to vocalise with little coo's and gaa's. It is adorable.

Acacia - I suppose I am a SAHM at the moment - on maternity leave until November. Just trying to enjoy every day before I have to think about going back to work. I am married and am 29.

Karrina - About the mini pill - I took it after DS was born and got heaps of mid-cycle bleeding. Maybe that is what you are having and not AF??? In the end I stopped taking the pill and the weird bleeding stopped. I am getting an IUD this time as once they are in you don't have to worry about birth control for 5 years and alot of women don't even get a period while it is in place. Also it only costs about $30.

Take care ladies - I'm off to have a relax before the kids get up from their nap. Too late - Kelsey is awake!!!

2s'nuff
01-03-2007, 15:46
:hugs: Tabby. Hope DH gets a job soon. Telling CL where to put there payments would be nice.
Hels...remember to take some time out for yourself when you put Reece into daycare.

TJ has just woken up.

Had one of those messy moments last night. TJ had had 50ml but wouldn't burp, so I layed her down to change her bum. The next moment the entire 50ml is on the table, its mid nappy change, so while trying to control the milk, she wee'd on me. After cleaning up she poo'd 5 minutes later. Not quite up her back though.

Have a good day,
Lisa

Cordelia
01-03-2007, 15:58
hi everyone,

just back from the mum and bubs movie session - lots of fun!

Hels: Glad you're happier now :)

Karrina: The doctor said sometimes you might get bleeding in between periods with the minipill so you need to have a double dosage - but I think you'd need to speak to your doctor about that!! I haven't started on mine because I'm on antibiotics and I'm not sure if they're compatible - so I thought I may as well wait - what's another 2 weeks after 10 weeks anyway!! lol.

Tabby: hope things get better for you :/

RE Dumies: I've been giving Caitlin a dummy in the car lately as she hATES it and cries and cries. But she spits it out when she's in her bassinet.

Monitors: DH's uncle bought us a monitor and the people up the road have a monitor so we hear THEIR baby crying and even on the other channels there's still masses of interference - so frustrating!! I would love to start moving Caitlin to her cot which is up the other end of the house but I'm not going to if I can't hear her (it's a looong way back up there!) I'm thinking of going and bargaining with the neighbours!

I hear the cry of a hungry baby.

~J'dore~
01-03-2007, 17:54
Oh my goodness!!!!!

Did anyone see Oprah today? There was a lady on there talking about "baby language" it's a universal language that all babys speak that tell us what they want/need. There are 5 'words/sounds' that are in their pre-cry that tell us whats wrong. It's a reflex thing. Like when you go the doctor and they tap your knee and your leg kicks up.

Well I've been listening to Cooper all afternoon and it has been right everytime:yelclap:

For the first time in weeks he happily slept while I was having dinner!

"Neh" is the pre-cry sound they make when they are hungry. It comes from the sucking reflex they have, with their tongue on the roof of their mouth, you need to listen out for the N sound.

"Owh" is the pre-cry for I'm tired, like the shape their mouth makes when they are going to yawn.

"Heh" is discomfort, like if they need their nappy changed, listen out for the H sound.

"Nar" is Low gas, its a guttsy sound when they need to do their business;) Listen from the R sound at the end.

"Eh" the sound for needing to burp. It's a reflex of them trying to bring up their wind. Listen for the E sound.

I recognised a lot of these cries before learning this, eg. I knew his hungry cry, but I didn't identify what it was about it.

Have a go at listening to your babies, it's so amazing:thumbsup:

Charis
01-03-2007, 20:45
J'adore it is great isn't it! She was on with Ray Martin?? around Nov too.. some friends taped it for me, it certainly felt empowering then. I had been trying to recognise the 'neh's but H makes an 'elle-err' hungry sound. The airrgh sound for wind is right on..Yes FinalCountdown would be interesting which of the crys are being made??

Bella - Yes I know what you mean about length, H is tall and kinda skinny..yes we're helping out by filling the space under 50th weight percentile:o Karrina, awesone, re chubby Billy, also about yr plans for the weekend!!

Hugs to Hamish for injections.. Cordeliawhat was the movie and what was it like..Ie to you leave/stand in doorway when they cry..??

StrawShortexcellent about winter clothes for Talon..I mean wow! I still don't have a cot mattress...

Has anyone taken their bubs swimming..do we need a 'wet nappy' at this age? I'll do some research.

Had a great run yesterday 6wk appt day. Loved the run, so excellent to run, sweat, power up hills, am fitter than I thought..we all would be as your cardio stays good due to all that weight and extra blood we were walking around with..

Oh and H had a lovely routine of a night 3.5+5hrs him 2.5+4hrs me. Oh and no crying, he just fell asleep feeding.:fingerscrossed: for tonight.

freddie
01-03-2007, 22:00
thanks for thinking of us today everyone. The jabs weren't fun but over very quickly. I had a bit of a cry along with Hamish and we've had lots of cuddles all day since. He also had a big mid day sleep and went down really easily tonight after being a bit unsettled. I gave him the Brauers pain and fever relief rather than baby panadol - I think it worked???
Just a short post tonight. It took me ages to read everything and now I really should go to bed given H has been asleep since 7.30 already and will probably wake around 12.30/ 1am. Not bad really. My problem is getting me back to sleep after night feeds - if only I had someone to rock me to sleep....
kx
ps hels I was thinking about you in the middle of the night last night...???really??? and thought that if you are sleeping close enough to Reece to hear him as well as through the monitor then maybe the best thing is to turn off the monitor at night. Then you will only hear the cries and not all the little grunts and snuffles that keep you awake. Kaz Cooke suggests reversing the monitor so they can hear you instead! We have Hamish in the next door room now and its much easier than when he was just at the end of the bed. I think the more you hear the more you worry. Just the late night thoughts of an insomniac anyway. Hope you're feeling better.

LadyLou
01-03-2007, 22:14
Finally some time for personals......

Hels - I know exactly how you feel!! It took about 4/5 wks before it all caught up with me after I had DS. It's such a life changing experience. This time round I have had similar feelings - I find that if I haven't had enough sleep then thats the difference between me coping and not - NEVER underestimate the power of sleep! Sleep whenever you can. My bub is now 6wks+ and I am still napping with her (DH is home on leave atm so I can grab one whenever I get the chance), I had a lovely three+ hour nap today!! It makes everything so much easier to deal with. I ended up on medication after DS - this time I am trying to get on top of it early - before it gets on top of me. I simply know my limitations and ask for help when I need it - It can feel like you need to prove to everyone that you are coping and can do it all when you're a new mum - but seriously you don't need to and it's ok to ask for help! I just wish I knew that the first time round.

liviesmum - I too live in NSW - a fair way from Bathurst though!! I live about 30kms out of Canberra. That is horrible about your period!! I am having the implanon inserted in my arm at my 8wk check-up (not a moment too soon it seems - bit worried about what I've been up to now!!). The implanon is meant to be the same as mini pill - it lasts three years and you don't have to remember to take it. Some women get their periods as normal (33%), some just get spotting (33%) and the remainder don't get periods at all (wish we could all be that lucky!). I am not sure about having and and BFing - Dr assured me that it won't affect my milk - thought I might call the BF people and ask too.

bella_angel-13 - Welcome!:wave:

ariesmoon - We are using Aldi nappies - they are great. They are actually the same as the most expensive brand in Germany (similar to our Huggies), so far they have been great - allbeit a little big for her atm - still work fab! And so cheap - 28c per nappy!

Acacia - I know what you mean about your tummy - just looking at mine make me sick!! Its sooo streched that no amount of exercise will ever improve it!! Seriously considering a tummy tuck after my last bub (whenever that may be).

Also I am a married sahm until Sep - then back to work :gloomy: really not looking forward to it, not sure I can handle my stressful job anymore - will start looking for something else around July so hopefully I don't have to return to my old job! I am 26yrs old.

Dummies - Sometimes I wish bub would take one - she won't, she gags and near vomits when one is offered! She can't suck her fingers either as I put them in "jail" (wrap her up tight) for every sleep.

Tummytime - Emily hates it! It's such an ordeal - she needs an urgent BF afterwards just to cope with the stress "Princess"! So I haven't been doing it much - ahh wellll. I am sure many children don't have it and develop fine - starting to think it may be something the health nurses invented to give us something else to worry about.....

Charis - most pools ask that non-toilet trained kiddies (such as ours) have a wet nappy as they can (and do) poo while in the pool!

Us - Well no routine here at all, couldn't tell you when bub last fed/slept, we just do it. I haven't been watching the clock at all. She feeds/sleeps around every four hours, has wet/dirty nappies and is nearly in 00 at 6wks!! I am sure she is around the 5.5kg to 6kg mark, will have to jump on the scales with her later and check!

We are getting very excited about our holiday, leaving for QLD on March 12 for seven days - can't wait. DS will no doubt be in the hotel pool every day! My brothers wedding is happening up there in the middle of the holiday - it'll be good to see family again and show off our new bubba. DS is looking forward to a visit to Dreamworld too! Do the QLD ladies know of anywhere fun and inexpensive to take 4yr old DS while up there??

Anyway - must go and annoy DH - he's too quiet, I think he's snoozing on the lounge!!

Hope you all have a restful night :sleeping:

Tabby
01-03-2007, 22:48
2cutekidz: You reminded me of someone else who said bubs wouldn't take the dummy, Katie was the same in the beginning, gagged and choked on it so I got one of those small flat type ones and not the rounded ones, the cost was higher ( as always ) but it worked. I have about 10 dummies from trial and errors!
Have fun in Qld! so envious :D

I'm already back on depo provera injections, have been since 6 week checkup, Im one of the lucky ones who doesn't get periods on it :yelclap: .

I'm a sahm and plan on staying that way till Katies in school.

Thanks for the :hugs: cordelia/strawberry and mousebrown.
mousebrown: I had to have a giggle at your predicament last night..sorry I have a warped sense of humour sometimes..It was the pee bit that got me :D . Ive come close but shes yet to get me, she doesnt realise that after 2 boys im one step ahead lol

sleep well mummas and bubbas xxx

sugar n spice
01-03-2007, 23:16
Hi all. Its been a wet miserable day today and ash only wants to sleep in my arms today and sheldon has just been up to mishchief. My nana and grandad are down atm for my sisters wedding so they looked after the boys for about an hr while i took ethan to pre school and then whipped up to the shops. That was good otherwise the boys would have got soaked.

Tabby i to am on the depo provera. i had it in at 8wks and i havent had a period didnt the other times i have had it either.

strawberry shortcake. I only just started tonight on the lactose free formula. the dr said not to worry about as his diarrohea stopped but it only stopped for a day or two so i have put him on it and will try to keep him on it for at least a wk as the dr said if it comes back to do that and it helps the bowel and intestines to have a break

3Divas&me
02-03-2007, 08:27
Thanks J'Dore for those Baby Whisperer Tips. I also watched Oprah yesterday and thought it was amazing. I was listening out for the cries all afternoon but did not write any of it down so I began getting confused last night with what sound meant what! How amazing was that Blind kid that came on after the baby Whisperer- I was just amazed!:wizard:

Question- Can babies develop reflux after some time? DD1 had reflux but right from the beginning and was treated from the beginning. Bridget was okay until she was about 5 weeks and has all of the sudden become a bit of a spewy bub- Is it reflux or maybe she is gutsing the milk down?

Ellembee
02-03-2007, 08:59
Morning everyone.

Just thought I would share what I have been doing to combat wind (it seems to be working) - I take her off the breast more often to burb - so she ends up doing 4 or 5 burps per feed instead of the usual 2. This has eliminated her unsettled period in the evening and the number of vomits she does. I am sure the same principal would work with a bottle fed baby.

Acacia: I am in Sydney, married, 32 and am on maternity leave - so a SAHM for the time being. I plan to go back to work next January, but only part time. I really would prefer not to go back at all until she/my next bub is at least 3, but we really need to get stuck back in to the mortgage.

In relation to the resentment/anger feelings - I haven't had them fortunately, but I do occasionally get an overwhelming feeling of sadness. Poor DH - when this happens I call him in sobbing tears - he just doesn't know what to do with me! We are all tired and our hormones are still out of whack - so as everyone said, its entirely normal. Right???

tired*mummy
02-03-2007, 09:36

Liviesmum - My DD1 developed reflux from about 8 weeks old, she evertually had to go onto the AR formulas just to keep her feeds down. She never had anything before the 8 week mark.

Sierra was pretty sooky yesterday and i finally figured out that her feeds have gone upto to around 130-150mls. She would have about 100mls and then be ok for about half an hour and then start sooking so i would offer her some more formula and she would take another 30-50mls before she fell asleep so over night i gave her 150ml bottles and shes been very happy ever since. Glad i sorted that out quickly. Other than that she has been really good. Getting heaps of smiles from her, trying to take photo's of it but she is more interested in looking at the camera when i hold it up and not at me lol... oh well have gotten a few. Will post one in my avatar when i finish this post.
DH has been quite sick this week with the flu, his boss has had it at work so it was only time before he got it too. So he came home from work on monday and is home today, hopefully after he's had a bit of a sleep in he will be able to help me out a bit. DD1 & 2 have also starting getting runny noses and coughs so i'm really hoping that Sierra and I dont get it :fingerscrossed:
DH's sister is being induced tomorrow with her 4th girl, so i should be an aunty again tomorrow sometime. It will be my 6th niece, no nephews yet lol.

Question about periods returning... is it any different with a c-section? Or is it just like a normal birth and it returns when it wants too? :laughing:

Hope you all have a great weekend, sleep vibes to all

bella_angel_13
02-03-2007, 09:39
hey all

how are you all? well nicholas is sick he is getting allergic to the change in weather and the different smells and things since being born. hes on 3 different medicines.

maybe all us sydney mum should arrange a meet up one day?

how is the depo-provera? i dont know what to do im still waiting for my period so i can have the mini pill the doctor has suggested i have the depo-provera but that means i have to give up breastfeeding fully (he only has 2 feeds a day anyway) and help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

hugs and :kiss:

wild at heart
02-03-2007, 10:19
Was prescribed depo-provera as I am bf totally. My ob told me it was fine..

Bubby going so well after visit from midwife- strict three hour feeding routine and min up time between feed and bed is 1 hour 15 mins.

Charis- Midwife told us that if it bubby not settled after 30 mins- to get him up and try other relaxing activity in an effort to get to sleep eg sling/ walk in pram/ another bf/ dummy. This is similar to the info in the settling chapter of babylove where it says that if anything is going to work to settle it will work within 20-30 mins..

and yeah after ALWAYS saying i would NEVER get a dummy.. bubby has one to settle and it really helps. He spits it out when he is settled..

Hope you are having good day

wild at heart
02-03-2007, 10:20
Tired Mummy- sierra is soo gorgeous.. LOVE the smile..

Tabby
02-03-2007, 10:21
morning all

Ellembee: Yes its entirely normal, As good as Katie is im still having my "moments" where im all sad and teary and no idea why! . Takes a while for those hormones to settle.

liviesmum: Im still trying to work out why Katie sometimes throws up what seems like half the bottle to other times none, sometimes she even takes the whole bottle and no burps and brings up nothing, other times lots. I was wondering if maybe the temp of my bottles were the difference, some not warm enough maybe.

sugar: good luck with the milk changeover.

tiredmummy: The same as vb for periods, I had one at 5 weeks after only a weeks break from birth bleeding! and I had c-sec . Fingers crossed yous dont get that flu either, theres a lot of it around at the moment.

Katie slept from 8-4 this time, thats an hr longer than usual. back to sleep after 4 am feed then till 830, that too was longer by half an hr.
I don't know if yous remember but a few weeks ago when huggies on sale I got 2 boxes and the 2nd box they were all faulty, today I received my replacement, I did tell the girl to please send the next size as Katie was almost out of newborn and by the time we got them she would be for sure so I was sent a box of 100 infant girls. Was kinda disappointed there wasn't any extra for compensation tho, oh well.

Playtime now :D . DP is off on two interviews! Ive been really short with him lately but I just cant help it!
As centrelink havnt finalised ( over 2 weeks now ) things are getting scary.
edited to add that I rang cl again and this time I got told all looks good for a payment for me ( at least one is better than none ) and will get a call later to confirm, turns out the lady who did ours went on leave and it was just sitting there so hes taking the case off her and will finalise it!!! inconsiderate b.... Im sure shes ok for money! DP's is still being "finalised" though. rant over lol
Vicki

*Sparkles*
02-03-2007, 11:44
Sorry no personals today, just grabbing a few minutes as Reece is due to wake-up shortly and my mum has just made some lunch for me :D

Reece is 5 weeks old today and now weighs 4.1kgs :smiliedance:

Re reflux - can someone please explain exactly what this is and is there a difference between reflux and just having a few sicks now and then? I can't work out if Reece has a problem or not as sometimes he spews heaps and other times not much. I have also started giving him 1 ml of mylanta liquid when he starts squirming and whinging in pain and if I can't get him to burp. This seems to be helping.
Does anyone use Marina Infant Formula? I read on another thread that it is great for spewy bubs and colic as it contains some peppermint calming stuff and is very gentle. I am not sure whether to switch to it :confused:

We are going to the shops this arvo to pick up some peapod nappies that I ordered so I can't wait to start using them as he is big enough now.

How is everyone's weightloss now? I am getting frustrated that I have to wear trackie type pants all the time. I can get in my old clothes but can't do the buttons up, they don't quite meet round my middle by an inch or so :banghead:
I don't have my AF yet but I am going to get a prescription for the normal pill when I have my 6 week appt at the doctor (next week).

We have been using a dummy since hospital, I would be so at a loss without it!!

Tabby
02-03-2007, 12:33
Hels: I would also be interested in an answer your question. I had just posted that it also confused me as to why sometimes she threw up what seemed half the bottle and other times nil. Makes no difference on how many burps either. Sometimes shes taken the whole bottle and no burps at all and kept it all down..I was wondering if it was the bottle temp maybe? So hard to get it just right, dont want to burn her but dont want it too cold either. So am making sure today that I get it jusssst right everytime and will see, am at a loss as to what else it could be. I dont think its how fast she drinks it as shes allways drinks the same.

Vicki

Flicka
02-03-2007, 13:33
Wow so many of you have changed the pic on you avatar. So many smiles - our bubs are growing up so fast aren't they?

J'dore - Thanks for the run down on the cries - missed Oprah but have been listening to Kelsey intently.

Charis - I use a swim nappy at the public pool (they can be a pain to get on as the huggies ones are "pull ups") but in my own pool at home she either goes in nude or just with bathers on and no nappy.

Bella angel - My doc suggested an IUD for birth control as he said it is the least likely to affect b/f as the hormones are delivered straight to the uterus. The pill on the other hand does go thru your whole system including your milk however won't hurt bubs. Also with the IUD if you eventualy want another baby apparently your fertility returns as soon as it is removed - not like the pill where it takes a few months to settle.

:hugs: to everyone who has taken their babies for their needles. I was advised by paed to get the rotavirus one too so I have ordered it at the chemist. Has anyone elses bubs having the rotavirus injection?

Well, both kids asleep at the same time again - yippee. Might go and read a book (but should be doing that mountain of iroining!!)

Flicka xxx

PS Hels - Know what you mean about the clothes thing. Can be very frustrating. I also feel very podgy around the middle like there is too much skin. Can't wait to get back into my 'old clothes'. Unfortunately don't get much of a chance to exercise with 2 kids and a hubby that does shift work!!!

cate
02-03-2007, 13:36
Hi all...I've been off the air for a few days and have taken awhile to catch up!

I just had the nicest morning visiting our next door neighbour who has a 7 mth old.....we had real adult conversation!!! It's so exciting......

Welcome bella_angel_13. Your bubba was born the same day as Audrey! She's now 4.9kg so pretty average but fairly long 58cm.

Things are going well but she's decided to get the afternoon grumps as we call it! She just has a little yell in the afternoon....we just jump in the pram or baby bjorn and walk.....though that doesn't seem to be helping my weight loss!!! I'm totally stuck on that front. (being at home is not helping!!! Too much opportunity to cook which i love doing but didn't have time for when working)

When are people going back to work and what have you done about daycare??? I was talking to our neighbour about the whole thing and it's stressing me. I'm not going back to work until the start of school next year and have got Audrey on 5 family day care coordinator lists but am so stressed that she mightn't get a place!

Thanks to all about advice for vaccinations...Audrey's off to have her first next week!!

Lukeandmattsmum Coffee Club at Garden City sounds great. How about Friday 16th March? pm and we can organise details. Any other brisbane mums pm too and we can organise further.

Final little question to those mums who had baby in private hospital....I'm just finalising all the medicare/health insurance etc.... and was wondering how much people ended up being out of pocket??? All up we have only been out of pocket $300 for the anaethetist....nothing else!!! I was so pleased...I've been waiting for a gap bill from obstetrician but there was none!!!! Is this normal????

Catch you all later

*Sparkles*
02-03-2007, 17:12
Cate - I can relate to the "afternoon grumps" today! We went to the shops and firstly he didn't want to be in the carseat so he cried all the way there. Then he screamed whist in his pusher.
Why is it that everybody stares with a look of disapproval when you have a crying baby? Or they like to make some stupid comment about it. And all the other mums just give a sympathetic smile.
I felt really uncomfortable today because of all the stares :thumbsdown:
The only way I could console him was to carry him around Coles in my arms. Then some woman couldn't resist saying "oh he's so small"
Stupid bloody woman, what could I say in reply to that? "um, well he's a 5 week old baby so they do start off small don't they????" :banghead:

Sorry for the vent, it really bugged me today.

P.S Thought for the day... when you have a baby there is no longer a need for an alarm clock :laughing:

Cordelia
02-03-2007, 18:10
I am at my wits end with this non-sleepness!! 2 nights now and she's slept for about an horu each night. Fortunately she's been sleeping all afternoon so i'm hoping that she'll get rid of some of her over-tiredness for tonight. DH has thoughtfully asked some of his friends around so I've spent her sleep-times cleaning up and getting dinner ready. So I'm operating on about 4 hours sleep in a period of 48 hours - I didn't know it was possible til I had a baby!

The difference between reflux and just normal vomitting is that you can see that it really hurts them when they vomit.... like they're in pain - they screw their body and face up.

We watched the Dunstan Baby Language dvds at parenting group and I've been working with it for a while now - it's brilliant and DH has really picked it up. Although she tends to use "neh" (hungry) together with the "airgh" when she has a sore tummy. I guess this is because she likes to suck when her guts are hurting her.

I find the brauer's stomach calm really good after the last feed of the day just before I put her down.. (apart from the last 2 nights of course!! ARGGHHH)

Private health insurance: those of you who had it I would be interested to know how much you were all out of pocket.. is it worth it? We are considering it at the moment due to all the traumas of what we went thru at the public hospital for the next child we have. And given that you need to have it 12 months in advance we need to act pretty quickly!

My mind is like mush due to extreme sleep deprivation... I feel like I'm a typing zombie - I'll probably come and read this tomorrow and go WHAT THE!

Have a good weekend everyone!! Specially for those who have a long weekend! YAY! (DH can look after Caitlin for an extra night :) :) :) )

Flicka
02-03-2007, 19:46
Cordelia - You poor thing!! You must be so tired. Hope you can fit in a few naps when bubby is asleep (but if you are like me you probably catch up on other things like showering and washing your hair!!:yes: ). Hope hubby gives you a break over the w/end as you are being so good about organising things for his mates to come over. Your DH owes you one!!

About the private health - I was out of pocket my excess and then for some of the paediatricians fees for Kelsey although I claimed some of that back from medicare. So all in all - no more than about $500 probably for the whole hospital stay. That isn't counting all of the docs appointments I paid for when I was preggers. They were obviously extra. I haven't had a bub in the public system but we had alot of problems having our two (easy to get pregnant but lots of miscarriages) so we went private.

DH is at work at the moment. I feel like such a legend because it is not even 8pm and I have both kids tucked up in bed and some time to myself!

Hope you all have a good weekend and get plenty of sleep (especially you Cordelia!)

Flicka xxx

*Sparkles*
02-03-2007, 20:04
I've started a new thread for march as this one is getting too big (the mods will close it soon).
Here's the link;

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1174000#post1174000