View Full Version : Help me concince DH!!
borntobemummy
12-01-2007, 17:25
We've been using cloth since Tuesday night and DH is not yet convinced of the benefits, he sees it as more complicated than good. How did you get you DH's to come around to cloth and help with nappy changes?
It took hubby a while. He doesn't do many changes as he works a lot but now he loves it. He shows them off and tells ppl how good they are.
Hubby likes that
he doesn't have to buy disposables (more money for food!)
look for specials
empty stinky rubbish bins daily
struggle with heavy wheely bins that overflow
He changes the occassional nappy and he does well even with side snapping fitteds and a cover. It can be overwhelming at first but a lil practice is all it will tke.
GraceUnhearing
12-01-2007, 17:49
he was never against it.
I think he sees the benefits of them compared to sposies.
with me not working at the moment we need all the money we can get.
yep MCN are more initially but in the long run save us so much money.
Have you explained all the benefits of them to him?
How many nappy changes does he do compared to you?
And does he do the washing?
hehehe
borntobemummy
12-01-2007, 18:39
he usually does half the nappy changes, sometimes more sometimes less. It's just messy and complicated now that we have to deal with the poo and pull apart the nappy and put it in the bucket whilst watching that DD doesn't get into anything se shouldn't be...a lot more work. I was going out today and DH said he was just going to use disposables cos he's not sure what to do, but I really wanted him to use cloth, so we agreed to both wake up for the first nappy and I'll show him what to do. The problem was, the nappy was full of mushy poo!! So, it got a little messy to say the least, I flipped what I could of the liner into the toilet and then rinsed each piece of the nappy as the poo had gotten everywhere (including my hand!)....so with that as an introduction, he just can't see that that is better than just chucking out the nappy. And I see his point.
Just now when we put DD to bed, DD was wearing a disposable cos we went out (still not confident with cloth out of the house) and DH was changing her and reached for a cloth nappy automatically:D Unfortunately though I asked him to use a disposable because we only have 2 fitted MCN's and they were both in the dirty bucket, the rest are flats, and I don't think they would last the 14 hours she sleeps.:o
It does take a little while to get used to it.
Esp flats.
We are lucky now Av will stay still for a change. He still has messy nappies usually 2-3 a day :eek:but we have a routine and its working okay.
thebas2560
12-01-2007, 20:25
Yeah, c'mon guys!
Convince me! :D
(Yet I keep saying yes to buying more of these darn things :rolleyes::laughing:)
I guess my main challenge is the dazed stupor I am in in the morning when I gotta do this cloth business. I prefer things simple. I have enough trouble co-ordinating a microwaved bottle of milk! After all, I am male...:D
oh boy i love the way bubhub works , i was just ready to post about how hard my dp finds cloth and here is a thread about that already!
my dp cannot work out that some nappies need stuffing and others don't, some nappies need a cover and others don't, some nappies i prefer to use for nights and others for day and yet others i prefer for going out....:laughing: gee it sounds hard, but it's not!
ah i wish he was more supportive. it's not like he has to wash them, pick em up and put em away.
i only want him to change her occasionally.
I think it may help if you have the nappy change area set up so the easy nappies are easy to reach for. I used to leave the pockets and AIOs for hubby to use.
But he just likes the woollies. I just have to remind him to put a cover on him when he takes bub in the car. He is converted now.
Yes thebas, males.......;)
Well I cant help with the 'getting him to change them' bit because my DP has changed ONE nappy since DS was born and that was a disposable.
But I actually prefer him to keep out of it. I do the changing and the washing and the deciding and the buying. He does the paying and he also tells everyone how cute they are.
Works for us.:laughing:
13-01-2007, 10:59
My DH was a bit sceptical to begin with but once i went on a buying spree he could see all the benefits of modern cloth nappies opposed to sposies. Dh loves putting Dakota in cute nappies and now he likes to rave and rant about them to family and showing her off haha
There are so many benefits to cloth nappies ie.. environment, cost, cuteness ect.. the list does go on. All you need to do is show him this site.. it has all the answers anyone would need.
http://www.ozclothnappies.org/index.html
thebas2560
13-01-2007, 16:46
There are so many benefits to cloth nappies ie.. environment, cost, cuteness ect.. the list does go on. All you need to do is show him this site.. it has all the answers anyone would need.
http://www.ozclothnappies.org/index.html
Hmmmm. It still intrigues me; the image someone with a piece of material in their hand, jumping up and down with excitement at their discovery.
I figure that if enough people have gotten as excited as they have about these things, as unusual as it seems to me, there must be somethin to it. Alright, I'll try! I'll give it a go, and I'll even try and get excited about them. Woohoo.... :laughing::D
borntobemummy
13-01-2007, 17:14
DH's first attempt (http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y200/borntobemummy/100_0037.jpg) at a flat nappy:thumbsup:
how did he do (http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y200/borntobemummy/100_0038.jpg)?
DD looks kinda freaked cos she just woke up:sleeping: :D
not too shabby for a first attempt:thumbsup:
thebas2560
13-01-2007, 17:23
Feel free to use my ugly mug for your latest cloth nappy propoganda.
See how easy it is???!!!
Even THIS (http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y200/borntobemummy/100_0037.jpg) moron can do it!!!
13-01-2007, 20:08
Barry was majorally skeptical to the point of being in absolute horror with me saying i needed $100 to get our first starter kit. But now he loves them & advocates them to anyone seriously its hilarious !
Whats even funnier is how Boof loves his nappies. He will carry them around all day if i let him, once they are dry from being on the airer he will spend all day walking around with them folding them unfolding them & stuffing the pockets lol. He loves his cloth duds !
~PurplePaganPrincess~
13-01-2007, 20:21
I've used cloth on and off since my first child... although they were terry flats until I discovered the wonderful MCN!!
Mine was put off by the price. Couldn't believe how someone would pay that amount for a nappy.
Well he loves them now. They are easy for him to use (I have a nice stash of AIO's especially for him).
He does have abit of a sook when yet another arrives in the mail LOL But hey it's my hobby and I love it! I gave up chocolate, and took on collecting MC!!
I will never give up chocolate.
Bubby will walk around in a bare bum before I give up chocolate.
Not that he can walk :laughing:
Fitmumma
13-01-2007, 20:43
I converted my DH this morning & we dont even have any yet, I just calculated how much we are spending on disposables & how much it will cost to use cloth & he basically said..."What are we waiting for"....Music to my ears:D :D
~PurplePaganPrincess~
13-01-2007, 20:44
LOL You know I never thought I would either!
But these kilos are annoying me, so time to bite the bullet... or not LOL
I agree with shed - I will NEVER give up chocolate.
I had to keep it simple in the beginning for DH. Just the one type of nappy, and all put together ready to go. Also, he won't rinse poo's. That's still my job :banghead:
Now, he can cope with different types, and argues with me about what type is the best :rolleyes: We had his friend over for dinner the other night, and when I came into the room DH was telling him about how great MCN are lol!
So I guess, if you keep it simple, he will learn and will come round!
Oh, and keep remarking when you are out shopping about how much disposable nappies are, how ugly they look and how much landfill they make. My dh is so put of sposies now I don't think he will ever want to use them!!
jessgray
14-01-2007, 07:57
well i pretty much control the finances in this house so whatever i say to buy gets brought:laughing:
DP used to be a sposie snob and only like huggies..well..i convinced him the woolies ones were just as good. we now use them as i build up a decent sized collection of MCN.
DP isnt really against it coz i do the washing:laughing: and i do 99% of nappy changes so he is like "whatever makes you happy":thumbsup:
DP actually finds alot of MCn really cute he was pretty impressed with BBH's.
Well done the bas I must say. You will need to convince my hubby now. He wont use the flats as he says they are old fashioned. I think its cos he has no idea how to fold. Hmm neither do I...(I do the easy folds)
borntobemummy
15-01-2007, 11:01
Hey Kymmy, I had them already folded and ready for him:D I use the bat fold, it's pretty easy:thumbsup:
A - ha!
I use the bikini twist fold or "just fold it in three and fan it out at the top" fold. I think I should have a look at more folds.
borntobemummy
15-01-2007, 11:24
ooh, I've only tried this one so far, it's working great and I'm surprised how well it fits her, my friend used it on her bub since new born!!:thumbsup:
My DF was 100% on board from the start because he was just so happy to see me so excited! I think the biggest thing in the early days was to put away the sposies or put them out of reach because they're just too easy to grab and chuck on, although most MCNs are just as easy! In the first few weeks it really is just overcoming those initial doubts and barriers.
Now I have a highly organised nappy change area. All the different types of nappies are stacked together i.e. a BBH bamboos stack, BBH hemps together, flannel fitteds together, pockets stuffed and in one spot, spare inserts and boosters in a neat pile, etc. The neater the area looks the easier it is to grab and put on :thumbsup:
thebas2560
15-01-2007, 13:27
Thanks for the encouragement guys. I was walking past the disposable napy aisle yesterday and did get me thinking; everyone of these nappies is going to go into landfill and not decompose for ages, that can't be good....
So I guess I'm starting to feel pretty good about a positive contribution to the environment. After doing a course on Ethics I wanted to become more enviromentally conscious so I guess this is a great step. It's a little bit harder work but I guess doing the right thing is sometimes like that. And usually being more enviromentally conscious costs more money, but not this time. cha-ching! :yelclap: