View Full Version : Miracle story-Bleeding/clotting/cramping

shereejoy
08-11-2005, 13:15
If I can help anyone with my story for their own reassurance I will be pleased!

I had discharge from 5 weeks to 8.5 weeks of which 2 days were red. All scans and HCG levels appeared good.

I started discharging again straight after scan on Thursday (approx 11 weeks), bit concerning but it wasn't bad. We had always planned to go to Warrick for the weekend to visit Wade's sister who is 19 weeks pregnant, and seeing as it had eased by Friday afternoon, off we went at 6am on Saturday morning. Wade's parents were there for the weekend also.

At 3am Sunday morning I woke up feeling all wet down there, sometimes I sweat alot during night, and I was inclined to ignore and rollover and go back to sleep, then I felt a gush, I bellowed to Wade, he turned on the light and there was red blood everywhere! I was crying, screaming and shaking. I woke the whole house. I went to the toilet and felt something fall out of me, I salvaged it from the bottom of the toilet. It was a clot about the size of my palm with no fetus in it! I was terrified, as I didn't know whether I had got it all from the toilet or not. Then I started cramping and had tail bone pain. Wade's sisters' husband is an ambo, and he raced me to the hospital. He has connections which was great, but they couldn't do a scan until 9am (when the obsterician came in). That was the longest wait, they gave me a sleeping tablet and I still couldn't sleep. I had given up hope as everyone knows red blood (and lots of it), clots and cramps are not a good sign. You could see on the doctor and nurses face they were not convinced all was ok. But sure enough
there was bubbles still alive and well. Bubbles was active, but hb had declined somewhat. Thursday it was 167, and it was now 120, which I was worried, but the doctor wasn't. That afternoon he did another scan and hb had increased a little. They kept me over night for observation, the bleeding was subsiding, as was the cramps. Finally went to sleep at 10:30pm Sunday night and then woke at 4am (hard to sleep in those hospitals). I had made an appointment with the gyno for Monday about a month ago and was eager to get back for it. The doctor released me and we made it back for my appointment right on the dot of my apppointment time of 2:20pm. That was such a long 5 1/2 hour drive, and it appeared that the bumpy ride, shook up my discharge again.

Anyway the gyno was very happy, he said for me to make it this far with all my discharge throughout the pregnancy was such a good sign. He said if I was going to m/c it would have happened on Sunday as with all that blood, it would have come away with it (normally)! He said at 12 weeks I now have a 95% chance of keeping the baby, and not m/c'ing, and at 16 weeks it become 98%. He did a scan and there bubbles was, very active, and the doctor said that was such a good sign. He could see nothing but good signs as the fetus and placenta looked healthy. But he ordered me to bed rest for the next couple of weeks as it is now so crucial. He truely believes if I do the right things there would be no reason for bubbles to leave. He told me my baby is a little fighter. He did an internal on me and confirmed that my current discharge is old blood and is reasonably confident it was my placenta coming away from the uterus in a section and blood got caught up behind it and clotted. He said I would have done something that day to dislodge it and it needed to be dislodged in order for the placenta to heal.

The doctor has given me so much hope, I just have to do the right things now. I am so relieved and can't believe the miracle that has just happened. Even the nurse told me that she didn't think bubbles was still alive. Wade and I are so exhausted and are glad we did not become a statistic. Now I can give hope to anyone that has a bleed, as mine was so extreme and here we are!

I can't explain my happiness!!!!!!!

Oh and also the scan on Thursday dated me at 12 weeks today, and my dates are 11 weeks 4 days today, and the gyno's dates from scan yesterday is 12 weeks 3 days today. So bubba is really growing well. I think I will go with the 12 weeks today (the one in the middle), just so I feel a little more at ease with reaching a milestone!

08-11-2005, 13:33
OMG Reading your story I was so worried but I'm so glad your both ok. I would have died of shock.

Goodluck with the rest of the pregnancy :)

RB

WeThree
08-11-2005, 13:38
WOW!!! Shereejoy, that is so amazing :) your little bubbles is determined to hang in there and meet you :) i was so worried when i started to read your story and so excited by the happy ending!! someone is definetly watching over you guys

blessings
erin

H&B'sMum
08-11-2005, 14:21
Oh Sheree,
How scary for you. Sooooo happy to hear everything is okay now for you and bubbles.
I agree this one is a fighter and must want to be yours and Wades.
Take care of yourself Sweetie.

Imogensmum
08-11-2005, 16:15
Sheree,
I am so very glad for you- what an awful thing to go through!! I have a friend who also had the same problem- she had the large bleed at 12weeks and thought the worst- then all ok- she also had another large bleed at 21 weeks- but again all well! Seems that sometimes the placenta just doesn't fit snuggly inside the uterus :confused: !!!! But her little boy nicholas is now a big bouncing 6mth old- and still a fighter!

Best of luck with the rest of your pregnancy- with that little fighting bub of yours :D

littlepickle
08-11-2005, 16:52
Sheree,
I am so happy for you! I was also gettign a bit worried there reading your post - I was so relieved to hear the good news in the end! You really have a little fighter there dont you! I hope that the next 6/7 months are more relaxed and stress free for you so you can relax and enjoy! Enjoy the feet up over the next few weeks!!

Rockett
08-11-2005, 17:09
I'm glad everything is ok.Before you know it,you'll be holding your healthy bubba in your arms. :)

mum2angels
08-11-2005, 17:44
Hi Sheree

That is fantastic news :) . I can imagine how scary it would of been for you, especially seeing such a large clot, I would have thought the worst. Make sure that you take it easy and get heaps of rest, your little one must be a real fighter, he/she is determined to hang in there. I hope everything goes well for you. Did you say you went to Warwick on the weekend? (We live there).

Jodie

Me 28
DH 30
Hayley born sleepong 10/11/04
M/C July 05
M/C Sept 05

Tea Lady
09-11-2005, 15:19
So happy for you shereejoy. What a relief!

L

shereejoy
11-11-2005, 20:35
Thank you for all your thoughts and well wishes, they are truely appreciated.

It truely is a miracle and I just hope that I can help someone else going through something similar to not give up on their bubba, it is not always the worst!

Thanks Shannon for that other encouraging story of your friend. That helps ease my mind somewhat more!

shereejoy
19-11-2005, 20:00

Just a quick update on what has been happening with bubbles and I.

Had my nuchal scan on Thursday, and haven't got my results yet, but am happy to advise that bubbles is really well. Couldn't believe it, I was starting to feel all negative again. Bubbles heart beat was 161 bpm and he/she was 7cm long. I am so happy and still can't beleive the miracle we are brewing inside there.

Hopefully the rest of this pregnancy is going to be breeze, I guess I have to be thankful of something, I have never really felt pregnant, other than that feint hpt with the double lines. Had on and off symptons but nothing to really rave about, guess I was lucky I did that hpt otherwise I really wouldn't know I was pregnant. I know understand why people don't know they are pregnant, but I reackon it has to be a giveaway when they get a big belly!!!!

Oh and I am still midly brown discharging, I must be one of those that bleed right throughout my pregnancy, which is a bummer as that was what I was looking forward to most, 9 months of no bleeding!!!!!!!

BubbleBelly
19-11-2005, 21:29
I'm glad to hear bubs is doing well! And that you're in good spirits!!!

shereejoy
22-11-2005, 21:43
Well I got my results back for my nuchal scan today and I am so happy to say that they came back as "NORMAL". Yeah I am so happy that was just one less thing for me to worry about and another hurdle that I have leap over with flying colours. My brown discharge has also gone, yeah! Couldn't be happier atm, hopefully I will just breeze through the rest of this pregnancy now! I am now ready to enjoy, please god give me a break, I would just appreciate it so much.

Now I feel like I can start buying things, was so hesitant before now.

shereejoy
04-12-2005, 13:21
Have my gyno appt on Monday and hope nothing has changed in 4 weeks.

WeThree
04-12-2005, 13:25
i hope everything goes well for you tomorrow sheree, i often wonder how you are and bubs are doing, so thankyou for keeping us updated! :) :) xxx

shereejoy
05-12-2005, 18:57
Had my gyno appt today gals, and I am happy to announce all is going really well. Heard the hb on the doppler, it was over 160bpm. Wow first time I have ever heard that over than on telly. It was amazing, wade couldn't believe how fast it was. Even asked the gyno why is it so fast, guess all this pregnancy stuff is spining him out. Even when I was in hospital - he was like, what the hell??? Don't think he realised how complicated pregnancies can get!

Anyway the doctor told me there is a very slim chance things would go wrong now.

I am so happy and relieved!

DIANNEKB
05-12-2005, 20:33
Sheree,

that is fantastic... make sure you get heaps of rest and good luck ....

Di.. :D

mum2angels
05-12-2005, 20:42
Glad to hear that everything is still going well after what you have been though :) . Take it easy.

06-12-2005, 00:51
Thats great news Sheree!!! :D Im so happy for you and your hubby that things are going as plan.

BubbleBelly
06-12-2005, 11:48
Wonderful news Sheree!!!

shereejoy
10-12-2005, 19:03
Thanks for your well wishes.

Yes bubbles and I are doing so well now it is hard to believe, but I am so so thankful.

shereejoy
28-12-2005, 10:24
I have my 19 week scan tomorrow, will keep you all posted.

shereejoy
29-12-2005, 21:01
Ok ladies, sorry to keep you all waiting, had to go baby shopping, I was so excited.

My scan went well, the senographer didn't talk us through it much, so guess I will find out the results tomorrow when I ring my gyno re: kidneys/heart/limbs etc... working properly. But I do know my bubba is alive and well. Bubba's hb was 155bpm, and we got an alien like 3D piccy of it, very weird! Don't know if the baby is measuring to size, like I said she didn't say a lot! I have had different ladies nearly every time I have been and this one was the quietist, but I guess all I needed to know is that my baby was well. She did mention though how active it was and I mentioned to her that the dramas I had had ie: profuse red bleeding/clotting and cramping that my doctor mentioned when he did a scan that my baby was very active and that was a good sign, she quoted back to me now that is an understatement. Bubba wouldn't co-operate at all.

Anyways I was always 60% wanting to find out the sex and 40% not, so I said to Wade do you want to find out, I will leave it too you, he said ok. So I said to him when the senographer asks do we want to find out the sex, it was his call to say yes or no, I was happy either way. Anyway she didn't ask, so there you go we don't know.

Then I conned Wade into coming to Target with me, my first baby shop, he was not at all interested, so I sent him home, but as he was leaving he said wish we had of found out there is 30% off baby clothes over there. Oh well guess we will only find out at the birth now. But gee I bought some of the 30% off clothing and it is so hard to buy unisex stuff, plain white and yellows I bought, boring!!!! Oh well too late now. Wade says he is sure it is a girl, that was his hunch before the scan and then on the screen he reackons he could see between the legs and there was nothing there. I was looking intensly too and I couldn't see what he was talking about, I reackon he was dreaming. The girl had such a hard time trying to get shots of bubba, it was just moving too much.

Thought I would just let you all know what happened anyway, have a good night.