View Full Version : February Mums in Melbourne?

JoJoMart
10-01-2007, 08:52 PM

Are there any Mum's to be due in February that also live in Melbourne?

I'm due 20/2/07 and having my baby at Cabrini. Leaving work next Thursday. It's been so hot here in Melbourne I can barely face going to work each day. I catch the train and don't always get a seat :thumbsdown:

Anyone starting to feel a bit nervous?

kl mummy
10-01-2007, 11:37 PM
Hi 1st Time Mum in Melbourne!

I'm not in Melbourne BUT I was there...I moved to Kuala Lumpur a year ago...:) .

I thought I'd write though cos I love Melbourne (lived there for three years) and cos where I am now is hot! I am due 2/2/07 (around abouts :) ) and can't handle being out of the a/c for too long. So spend much time moving swiftly between home, the car and shopping centres (all have a/c!). My DH sits at home with a jumper on as I've got the a/c so high...whilst I'm in a singlet!

icugal
11-01-2007, 12:07 AM
Hiya !! I'm in Melbourne (outer northern suburbs) and am due on the 14th February (but will be induced at the end of January because of cholestasis). I'm having my baby at the Mercy Hospital for Women in Heidelberg.

Thankfully, I've been on maternity leave for a little while now, so haven't had to worry about work... plus I drive my own car so don't have to rely on public transport... thank god !!

And nervous?? Hell yes !!!! :D

brenbel
11-01-2007, 06:55 AM
I'm from essendon.

this is my first week of maternity leave and I'm due feb 14th I'll be having bubs at RWH.

hey we should all meet up if possible. grab lunch or something.

I'm not feeling nervous yet...... this all seems so ser-real still. I've got a feeling when I'll see bubs for the first time it'l be like "OMG there really was a little person growing in there"

re: the public transport. just ask for a seat. people HAVE to get up for you. and I bet your showing heaps. otherwise grab a toy hammer like on the com bank add and beat some inconsidate male butt up with it.

If your afraid to ask for a seat approach a standing woman and get her to help you get a seat. they always help out. men never do. and don't be afraid to just tap a shoulder if someones got head phones on. your pregnant and won't be for much longer. take your rights on public transport in hand and be a *****. it's not like everyone on the train knows you. feel free to be a ***** then when you do get a seat smile and thank the person who gave it up and comment if it happens to be a woman how men NEVER seem to give you a seat.

LMenz
11-01-2007, 07:53 AM
Hi too :wave:

I'm in Melbourne (Strathmore) I'm due on the 7th February and will also be having bubs at the Royal Women's.

I work from home so I've been very lucky that I can pick and choose when I work. I was frantic in November and December (due to Christmas) but things have slowed down now and all my shops know I'll be having the baby soon.

Feeling a bit nervous but just want to get him out now :laughing: I want my body back!! And I'm so excitied to meet him and see what he looks like.

Take Care :hugs:

JoJoMart
11-01-2007, 01:45 PM
Thanks for all of your replies! I finish work next Thursday and can't wait. Some trains were cancelled yesterday in the heat (the train drivers must have gone to the beach) so it was chaotic but luckily I got offered a seat. I've been meaning to buy one of those blow up hammer things to hit people over the head with :o)

Brenbel, that's a good idea to catch up sometime, hopefully when it's not so hot !!

It is surreal being pregnant that's for sure! I'm starting to get excited about seeing my little boy but quite nervous not knowing what to expect of the labour/birth. I hope we all have good births!

Gosh KL would be hot and humid I imagine, if it's anything like Thailand or Bali where I've been for holidays.

Talk soon.

Hels*Bels
11-01-2007, 03:26 PM
I'm a first time mum in Melb (outer south east). I am due 26/1/07 but the rate I'm going I'll probably have a Feb bub!!

The heat is awful and I am all swollen up so pretty much housebound now until bubs makes an appearance.

juzzy
11-01-2007, 07:18 PM

im due on 5th feb and am having my bubs at Monash Medical Centre in Clayton

im another Melbourne mum (well kinda more mornington peninsula) but i am feeling your pain about the heat!!

last night when it didnt get under 30 was horrid, i was so tired and over emotional that i was in tears cause i couldnt cope....

im feeling a little bit nervous but i guess that goes with the territory

im with hels, im pretty much housebound and just waiting for bub to make their grand entrance...

brenbel
11-01-2007, 09:19 PM
well we should pick a day to meet up. say weekend of the 20th looks good if it's not too hot. and we could meet inner city. somewhere we can get ice cream which is always good no matter the weather. or pancakes which is also always good. or crown which is always air con. the pub has good food. that where I work, on leave now tho but hubby's still working on arvo shifts.

Hels*Bels
11-01-2007, 10:01 PM
I'd love to meet up with you all at some stage. But I'll have to pass this time as the 20th is too close to my due date and I am having alot of trouble walking because of pelvic pressure. Also, I don't drive the car anymore.
But definitely count me in after the bubs are born :D

SuperFrog
19-01-2007, 12:06 PM
Another first time mum in Melbourne checking in! I'm in the Western suburbs and will be having our baby at Werribee Mercy.

My official due date is Feb 8 but due to gestational diabetes I'm being induced earlier, probably Jan 25. That's less than a week away!

Getting very excited and nervous now. Not too sure what to expect. It's not just the birth that makes me nervous... the whole concept of having a baby to look after still boggles my mind!

Hope everyone is coping in the hot weather. Even today, which is cooler than it has been, just feels really muggy. Good luck to everyone!

JoJoMart
20-01-2007, 03:09 PM
Hi Superfrog,

I'm with you when it comes to getting nervous! I'm not due until 20th February but I'm still getting my stuff together (hospital bag etc) and 4 weeks doesn't seem that far away!

It is also exciting though, not knowing what to expect and the type of birth/baby we will have.

All the very best with your labour on 25th and new baby!

Purplebird
22-01-2007, 03:56 PM
Just found this site. I'm due in two weeks time and I live in Cheltenham so I'm guessing I must be near you if you're having bubs at Cabrini. I'm going to Sandringham and YES I'm nervous and excited now!!
Hope you're keeping well and I'm up for meeting people after bubs are born..

JoJoMart
23-01-2007, 07:51 AM
Hi Purplebird,

Yes, I'm near you I live in Bentleigh. I also considered Sandringham Hospital but my OB delivers at Cabrini and chose to go private this time around (1st time).

I'm not too bad..........due in 4 weeks time but have been feeling a bit emotional lately and stressing myself out. I will try to relax today though. Helps getting on this site!

I hope you are well and taking it easy?

harleyq
24-01-2007, 05:11 AM

Are there any Mum's to be due in February that also live in Melbourne?

I'm due 20/2/07 and having my baby at Cabrini. ...Anyone starting to feel a bit nervous?

I am in Melbourne too, living in Coburg and would love to catch up - anywhere central would be great.

1st time mum - your due date is one day after mine... its exciting being so close, but its still so far....

I'm from essendon.

this is my first week of maternity leave and I'm due feb 14th I'll be having bubs at RWH.

hey we should all meet up if possible. grab lunch or something.

Brenbel love the idea of catching up... name the date and l shall be there!!!
I am also going to be at the RHW - but in Frances Perry House - l am due on the 19th... l haven't done the tour yet so l don't know how close the two maternity wards are, but perhaps we will see each other somewhere along the lines...

victoria75
24-01-2007, 07:48 AM
Hi, I am new to this site. I am in Cheltenham. Having my bubs at Monash on the 25th January. YEP tommorow.!!!!:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap: I am so nervous and excited. Would love to be part of a catch up once everyone is under control again. Good Luck to all. Oh I am not due to Feb hence why I am in this section not due in Jan.

JoJoMart
24-01-2007, 07:49 AM
Harleyq,

Thanks for your reply! I hope you are feeling well........yes it seems like we have ages to go especially when I read about women due now but it will go fast !!

I could catch up sometime early next week if that suits? Am pretty busy the rest of this week. Where would be central? Richmond, the city?? :wave:

JoJoMart
24-01-2007, 07:53 AM
Hi Victoria75,

Good luck for tomorrow!! Are you being induced tomorrow or having a caesarian? I wish you all the best anyway. :thumbsup: It is very exciting but scary too.

Yep, keep in touch via this site so we can all meet up at some stage.

victoria75
24-01-2007, 08:58 AM
Thanks, I am being induced. Fingers crossed all goes well. I am at a loss as to what to do with myself today. I think in some ways it would be way better if I didn't know what was happening tomorrow and it all just happened naturally.

JoJoMart
24-01-2007, 09:02 AM
I know what you mean......maybe try and take your mind off it if you can, like watch a DVD or two or read a good book. Gosh it's hard to say because if it was me I would be thinking about it too!

I'm sure you will be fine and I hope it all goes well for you. Keep us posted & good luck!

Hels*Bels
24-01-2007, 10:13 AM
Hi, I am new to this site. I am in Cheltenham. Having my bubs at Monash on the 25th January. YEP tommorow.!!!!:yelclap: I am so nervous and excited. Would love to be part of a catch up once everyone is under control again. Good Luck to all. Oh I am not due to Feb hence why I am in this section not due in Jan.

Hi Victoria :wave:
Good luck for tomorrow you lucky thing and welcome to the Feb group.

I am due 26/1/07 but think I will go late so I am in both the Jan and Feb sections.

The january thread has a birth group now for all those who have had their bubs, so feel free to post their if you want to.
Here is the link;
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=312

I can't make it to any meets until after I have my bub but I would definitely love to afterwards :D

victoria75
24-01-2007, 10:41 AM
Thanks for the warm welcome and support. Hels you are hedging your bets arent you. I'lll let you all know how I go. Good Luck to you all.

Look forward to arranging a catch up once all these bubs are around.

Purplebird
25-01-2007, 02:06 PM
Hi First Time Mum in Melb.

Ooh Bentleigh - just round the corner then! :yes:

I know what you mean about stressing out. I soooo wish I'd gone private now - I'm freaking about giving birth in a public hospital now. I'm from the UK and I sort of didn't know what I was doing when I booked my antenatal care!! I feel really disappointed with the care Ive had here :thumbsdown: . Lets just say I could have taken my own blood pressure and used a doppler so why make me go in for appointments?!

I'm also starting to get a bit fed up now - I know its not Feb yet and I'm trying to be postive, but really, I've put on heaps of weight and I can't do much due to pelvic pain. Please bring on bubs!!

Take Care,

Purplebird

Purplebird
25-01-2007, 02:09 PM
Hey Victoria,

GOOD LUCK for today - how exciting! Hope it all goes smoothly.

I'm a FTM in Cheltenham too.

Can't wait to read your birth announcement!

Hope to catch up with you and others once bubs have made their arrivals.

Hels Bels - Best of luck to you as well. Hope you are not going crazy waiting?!

Purplebird

harleyq
25-01-2007, 02:55 PM
Harleyq,

Thanks for your reply! I hope you are feeling well........yes it seems like we have ages to go especially when I read about women due now but it will go fast !!

I could catch up sometime early next week if that suits? Am pretty busy the rest of this week. Where would be central? Richmond, the city?? :wave:

City is good for me, but l could do Richmond as well... l am working through to the end of January (wednesday) - I could probably take an hour out on Wednesday - it sounds like Thu/Frid will be difficult for you - otherwise l am absolutely free from then onwards - Monday morning l will be at Freemasons so Richmond anything is possible!!!

Who else is up for it???

icugal
25-01-2007, 04:16 PM
Monday morning isn't so great for me :D

JoJoMart
26-01-2007, 12:08 PM
Harleyq,

Monday morning isn't any good for me unfortunately because i have my OB appointment and then seeing a physio, but the rest of the week I'm okay except Wednesday at 2pm when I get my hair done!

Let me know what you think & anyone else who's up for it?!!

Victoria75 - I'm sure everything will go well for you at the hospital.......I get pelvic pain too as I have mild pelvic instability (is that what you've got too?). It's when the joints in the pelvis are unstable and your muscles around the pelvis (hips, butt etc) compensate and get stiff and sore.

JoJoMart
26-01-2007, 12:10 PM
Sorry Victoria75 & Purplebird........I was talking to Purplebird about the pelvic pain!

Purplebird
27-01-2007, 09:26 AM
Hey 1st Time Mum in Melb :wave:

Yep - I've got pelvic instability too. Ive been seeing a physio and an osteopath. I had it under control for a while but the last three days have been agony :(
I guess its cos bub is engaging and moving down and putting more pressure on my pelvis. Oh well, not long to go now - yay! Just frustrating not being able to do anything. I feel like I need to clean and tidy like crazy and I can't - DH has to do it and their standards are never the same are they?!!

Anyway, not long for you now either. Hope you are managing to stay sane and pain-free. Did you make it to the big Melb meet on Thursday? I didn't, but I hope I can get to one in the next few months ( I think they have them monthly).

JoJoMart
28-01-2007, 02:01 PM
Purplebird,

Sounds like your pelvic instability is a bit worse than mine......mine started around the 6/7th month mark when I thought I'd torn a muscle but turned out I have pelvic instability. Since quitting my morning exercise walks and taking things slower it's improved but I still get pains in the groin area and woke up with a bad stitch like pain a couple of nights ago.

I didn't make it to the big Melbourne catch up but I would like to go to the next one!

Glad to hear you hubby is doing some housework and stuff........yeah they don't quite have the same standards though but it's better than you doing it and ending up in pain.

Good luck & I hope you keep pain free as much as possible until your birth. Gosh not that long for you now!! Keep us all posted :wave:

brenbel
29-01-2007, 04:54 AM
hey girls. haven't been on much coz my little man decided to come a month early.

alls good here tho it'll take time tho. I vote we make the meet first week end in march that way we should all of had bubs by then.

JoJoMart
29-01-2007, 07:30 AM
Brenbel,

Congratulations! I hope everything went well & is going well for you! Not in too much shock I hope :)

Great idea to wait until we have had our bubs to catch up. It's just so close for us all now and who knows what could happen between now & our due dates.

Did everything go well with the birth?

Purplebird
30-01-2007, 11:38 AM
Congratulations Brenbel! I'm sooo jealous, he he, I know I shouldn't be, but just want my lil one here now.

I agree ladies - good idea to meet in March, I would like to catch up too if that's OK?

JoJoMart
31-01-2007, 11:27 AM
:wave: It will be great for us all to meet up in March, including you Purplebird!

I've been busy packing my bag today. I feel like I've packed too much & I haven't even finished packing yet.

Purplebird
31-01-2007, 11:51 AM
I know what you mean 1st time mum in Melb!:yes:
I have packed, repacked and repacked my hospital bag soo many times - its crazy! I know I have too much stuff, but I can't help myself!

Trying to keep busy now DH is back at work and Im on my own at home (DH is a teacher). Hmmm, think I might do some cooking this afternoon, but that means going to the shops for ingredients. Not sure I can manage that on my own without walking into something (Im totally uncoordinated at the mo!). Oh well, I can give it a go...

JoJoMart
31-01-2007, 11:58 AM
Purplebird - cooking sounds like a great idea. I have been wanting to bake some muffins but will have to wait until later today as I have a hair appt soon!

What are you going to cook? A friend told me to start baking heaps of dinners to freeze. I haven't started this yet.

I know what you mean about being unco!! I'm such a clutz at the moment :)

Have fun cooking ;)

LMenz
31-01-2007, 05:52 PM
Hi girls :wave:

I'd love to meet up in March too......

JoJoMart
01-02-2007, 07:59 AM
LMenz,

It will be great to meet up with you and the other girls. Not long for you now! :wave:

LMenz
01-02-2007, 08:35 AM
No...not long at all. 6 days and counting :smiliedance: Hopefully it will be sooner...I don't think I can wait much longer, just can't wait to meet this little person

Hope you are feeling well :hugs:

young_mummie07
02-02-2007, 06:07 PM
Hi there i'm a 1st time mum i'm in East burwood, i was due to have my bub on the 28th jan but i will be induced on the 7th feb if i haven't had bubs by then at monash clayton.

JoJoMart
03-02-2007, 09:04 AM
Young_mummie07 - good luck I hope you go into labour before the 7th Feb but if not all the best with your induction :)

young_mummie07
04-02-2007, 01:56 PM
thanx 1st time mum melb i hope everything is going to go well i am getting really nervous.

Hels*Bels
04-02-2007, 08:25 PM
I have had my bub too so I'll put my hand up for a meet at the beginning of march. Anyone have any ideas on a venue yet? maybe a park or something?

Ist_time_mum_in_melb - I will drop you a line soon :)

brenbel
04-02-2007, 08:58 PM
could go a park but then you have to hope the weather is good.

I vote the pub at crown they are very family there and there's parking available or public transport. and if you need the man to drive you in he can catch a movie while he waits for us.

icugal
04-02-2007, 10:55 PM
Oooh... count me in for a meet-up !! :)

Purplebird
05-02-2007, 08:03 AM
I agree - somewhere with parking sounds good for a March meet up. I guess Crown would be somewhere in the middle for most of us too??

Hope you are all well

JoJoMart
05-02-2007, 09:12 AM
Sounds good I hope you can all make it for a catch up! We should all have had our bubs by then.......if I go late I might not make it until the middle of March but will wait and see :wave:

Driving & parking at the Crown might be a good idea because it will be air conditioned. We are having such a hot summer compared to last year aren't we girls!

Take care everyone & have a great day....keep cool :)

harleyq
06-02-2007, 01:55 PM
Count me in!!! March sounds great - shall we make it mid March -- that way giving all the Feb mums the best opportunity to make it along?

How exciting!!! I would love to meet you all and see your babies - share stories , tips etc!!!! :yelclap:

LMenz
06-02-2007, 02:44 PM
I'd love to come too. I agree with harleyq and Ist time mum about making it mid-late March so everyone can come along :) Be great to put faces to the names

young_mummie07
07-02-2007, 06:14 PM
Hi everyone :wave: I'd love to come too if that's ok.mid-late March sounds great.

icugal
07-02-2007, 08:02 PM
Yep, I also agree with mid to late March...

mumslilspunks
08-02-2007, 08:25 AM
I live in Wangaratta but used to live in melbourne. My parents still live down there and i would love to take a trip down and meet up with everyone. I could have a mini holiday and stay with my parents!! Ill keep popping in to find out when and where, if thats okay?:yelclap: :D

JoJoMart
08-02-2007, 09:46 AM
mumslilspunk - it would be great if you could make it when we all catch up sometime in March. Everyone is welcome. I guess we are all just waiting around for all the bubs to be born so we can actually organise it !! :yelclap:

juzzy
08-02-2007, 11:03 AM
ill be in on that!! should be great fun

Hels*Bels
26-02-2007, 08:08 AM
Just bumping this to say...

Does anyone mind if we have the meet on a weekend? I am a very nervous driver and I hate driving into the city. If it was on a weekend my DH could drop me off and pick me up.
Also, are we going to meet for lunch or just for a cuppa?
What's everyone's thoughts on that?

LMenz
26-02-2007, 09:55 AM
I'm easy........not the best city driver myself so a sunday arvo would be good. I'm happy to do either a cuppa or lunch.

Maybe we should do a poll??

icugal
26-02-2007, 01:27 PM
Well, maybe we could go somewhere other than the city??

Any suggestions?

Hels*Bels
26-02-2007, 02:06 PM
I'm still in favour of the city as it's central to everyone and we were going to take my parents and make it a day out anyway. I would just meet up with you ladies during the course of the day for lunch or a coffee.

But I will fit in around what everyone wants to do. :D

icugal
26-02-2007, 10:10 PM
I'm happy whatever we decide... just make sure that wherever we meet up is located within my GPS software please ;) I'm shocking at trying to find my way around the city.. I may as well be a tourist !! :D

Maybe I'll drag DF with me, and he can go and lose some money at Crown while we meet up :)

JoJoMart
02-03-2007, 10:50 AM

I don't know if you have read the February chat thread but I have had my baby boy Liam and I have just arrived home today. I had an emergency caesarian so I can't drive a car unfortunately for a few weeks. I might have to postpone meeting up with you all unless you won't to wait a while.......which is a shame. I could catch public transport into the city or something but would prefer not to as its early days. Please don't forget about me if you meet up because I would love to meet you all !!

Joanne

icugal
08-03-2007, 03:13 PM
Thanks Lauren for organising the move of this thread to our new home. :thumbsup:

Now where were we??

If we account for the last of the caesars, then we'll need to wait until April at least. Easter is also something we need to take into consideration, so I suggest that we organise a date in the second half of April.

We also need input into...

*meet on a weekend or weekday?
*morning, afternoon or evening?
*where will we meet?

Opinions?

Purplebird
09-03-2007, 03:05 PM
Hi All :wave: ,

Not been around much as I appear to have a very clingy bub who takes all my time * sigh*

Anyway, I would love to meet up with you all too. Can I suggest we stick with Crown as we all seem to be in agreement? Personally I'm happy with any day of the week or weekend so I'll leave that for others to figure out! I'm not sure about others but my bubby is very fussy in the evenings and wants to cluster feed so I think evenings are out for me for the moment :thumbsdown:

Joanne- huge congrats on the birth of Liam! He sure kept you waiting. I can always pick you up and drop you off for a city meet up as you are on my way. Just let me know.

harleyq
09-03-2007, 05:07 PM
Oh l can't wait to meet you all... l am really flexible - so happy to fit in with everyone else, am used to driving in the city so have no problems meeting up at Crown (nice and central).

I live in Coburg is anyone from around this side of town?

LMenz
09-03-2007, 05:42 PM
Oh l can't wait to meet you all... l am really flexible - so happy to fit in with everyone else, am used to driving in the city so have no problems meeting up at Crown (nice and central).

I live in Coburg is anyone from around this side of town?

I'm not far from Coburg......were in Strathmore just near Essendon.

Coen was the exact same birth weight as Jack!!

I'm easy too with meeting up. Crown is pretty central for everyone.

Maybe we should come up with a date first??

JoJoMart
10-03-2007, 09:20 AM
I can't wait to meet up! I still think it will be April but I really want to meet you guys & meet your bubs.

Maybe closer to the time we can think of where to meet. The city is central but such a hassle to drive to........I will have a think of somewhere maybe easier? I don't mind the city though as I usually work in the city and at least know my way around.

As for a weekend or weekday.......I'd prefer a weekday myself but happy to fit in a weekend.

See you back on the other thread!!

Hels*Bels
10-03-2007, 09:43 PM
I prefer a weekend too as my DH will drive me in, I hate driving in the city.

I have posted in the chat thread about the possibility of meeting for a cuppa one arvo before the April meet, probably at someone's house. It's mainly for the benefit of those who are struggling a bit at home by themselves as we are all in the same boat. I thought it would be a nice idea to try and start up our own mother's group. Let me know if anyone is interested and we'll work something out.

icugal
11-03-2007, 12:04 AM
A favour... Can we make the meet-up after the 22nd April?? It looks like DF, DS and I might be going to the UK for a couple of weeks over Easter and won't be back til after then.... Pretty, pretty please !!! I don't want to miss out meeting your lovely ladies !!

SuperFrog
11-03-2007, 09:16 AM
Even though I get to read everyone's posts quite often, it is very rarely that I get a chance to reply. But I'm still here!

I'm in the Western suburbs so I'd be interested in a meet up somewhere central. Crown would suit me fine, just let me know when and where and I'll be there. Don't think I would make it to the catch up at someone's house though... wrong side of town for me.

Look forward to meeting everyone and swapping stories. I haven't heard anything about a mothers' group in my local area so it will be good to talk with other mummies. I'll probably have lots of questions and keep asking 'Liam does this... is this normal??!!'

JoJoMart
12-03-2007, 10:05 AM
Purplebird - Good to hear from you again! Thanks a lot for offering to pick me up when we meet one day in the city.......only thing does your car have 2 car seats? If we don't meet until mid/late April then I can drive anyway so that will be fine. Also, Hels has mentioned meeting at someone's house and I think we live in the same area in the Southern suburbs of Melbourne so we could always arrange to meet up before the big meet in April with everyone? I don't want to leave anyone out though....

Shajbm
14-03-2007, 11:42 PM

I'd love to be involved in the meet up. Just let me know where and when and hopefully we can make it.

How are you all doing with your bubs?

JoJoMart
15-03-2007, 07:47 AM
Hi Shajake,

We will keep you posted when the meet finally happens! I can't speak for everyone else but I'm just extremely sleep deprived. Also having trouble BF Liam as I have a low supply so formula feeding him, trying to BF him and then express so it's hard work! He's just georgeous though.

Will keep you posted on the meet. Keep an eye out for this thread too so you don't miss anything.

Look forward to meeting you. I think sometime in April is when we will meet up.

Shajbm
15-03-2007, 08:51 PM
Hi 1st time, it's hard work BF'ing and expressing to keep up supply. I BF'd my twins for 5 weeks and then just couldn't build up a good supply so have put them onto formula fulltime and haven't looked back since. Try resting more and drinking heaps of water. April is school hollidays but we will see what happens.

JoJoMart
16-03-2007, 10:51 AM
Shajake - if you haven't already check out the other thread Fab February Mummas are now Mums in the birth groups thread as we are talking about a coffee catch up.

icugal
16-08-2007, 04:03 PM
*bump*

As requested...

harleyq
17-08-2007, 02:14 PM
Thanks for resurrecting this Penny!

So as not to annoy the non-Melbournites in our group - it was suggested that we recommence organising our get togethers through this thread rather than in the main one...

It was agreed that the next gathering would be August 30th in a central location - not Crown.... somewhere like the Point or the Bottanical Gardens - venue yet to be decided... Mon put up her hand to take charge of this one -- you still up for it Mon?

Hels*Bels
17-08-2007, 05:29 PM
Great idea girls :thumbsup:
We'll have to put our thinking caps on to think up some more good venues that are central for everyone. It will be great when the warmer weather comes and we can meet in parks etc.

If anyone else in Melb has any suggestions of places suitable to meet at (for mums with 6 mth old bubs) please post in here.

SuperFrog
20-08-2007, 10:20 AM
There is a great French Creperie in Williamstown. Should be plenty of room for prams. Is that central enough for everyone?

JoJoMart
21-08-2007, 08:10 AM
Mon - I haven't been to Williamstown for ages so that sounds like a good idea!

What's everyone else think?

harleyq
21-08-2007, 09:32 AM
Fine by me... for anyone who doesn't know where Williamstown is, it is just over the WestGate - Penny (just over the Balti Bridge, shouldn't take too long from your place)...

harleyq
21-08-2007, 09:50 AM
Oh - as an alternative.... Mon you mentioned Studley Park Boat house.... DH and l went for a drive past there the other day (when our little mister fell asleep in the car)... it looks georgeous.... perhaps we can also consider that as an option...

Check out the Cafe menu here (http://www.studleyparkboathouse.com.au/)

icugal
21-08-2007, 10:03 AM
hehehe... you are psychic Sandy !! I was just thinking... "where the hell is Williamstown?"... and then I read your post :D

SuperFrog
21-08-2007, 10:17 AM
That's what Google Maps is for Penny!

How about Williamstown this time and the Studley Park Boathouse next time... would be nice to go there on a warm day, which is difficult to predict at the moment.

LMenz
21-08-2007, 01:41 PM
Williamstown sounds great :thumbsup:

Hels*Bels
21-08-2007, 02:49 PM
Williamstown :eek: I'll have to give this one a miss I think.
Have fun :)

SuperFrog
21-08-2007, 04:40 PM
It takes 10 minutes tops to get from the city to Williamstown, and from your place Hels it is freeway all the way!

Am I convincing you yet??

Hels*Bels
21-08-2007, 07:44 PM
I'll think about it lol. DH reckons it will take about 50 mins from here.

Purplebird
21-08-2007, 09:35 PM
Hey

Studley boat house is lovely.. i used to work near there. The fairfield boat house is nice too.

I'm seriously too sleep deprived to do much driving so I wouldn't trust myself to get to Williamstown safely, but that's fine..I'll just come to the meets closer to home :)

icugal
22-08-2007, 12:07 AM
I don't know if I actually said it... but yes, Williamstown sounds fine by me (no idea where it is... but have GPS, will travel :) ).

SuperFrog
23-08-2007, 08:18 AM
Will book the restaurant later this morning when they open and will PM the details to everyone later today. I haven't forgotten! :thumbsup:

juzzy
28-08-2007, 02:56 PM
One question i do have.... i did post it in the other thread but thought i would post it here anyway....

Are we still going to have meets at peoples houses or is it only public places now?

I guess having a meet at my place is probably out of the question and im not sure if anyone else is interested in hosting (i am but like i just said, may be too far) but i thought i would put the idea out there again.

SilverStarfish
30-08-2007, 09:48 AM
Ladies, I know it can be disappointing when mets don't go as planned - we've had a few up here in my area that have rather flopped - but as mums I'm sure we all understand the unpredictability of trying to go out with babies and small kids. Sometimes "things" just come up.

It's ok to say that you're sad that the meet didn't go as planned, but please don't start pointing fingers or making posts that are going to make other members feel bad.

I really hope your next meet goes off with a bang :wizard:

Have a great day :wave:
Faeml

juzzy
30-08-2007, 09:59 AM
Thanks for straightening things out Wendy, much appreciated! We will play nice from now on! :wave:

icugal
30-08-2007, 01:09 PM
Very quickly before I go out again (baby is in the car, rearing to go.. well, actually asleep)... do you think maybe the fortnightly meet-ups might be a bit too much now?? People will start going back to work (if they haven't done so already) and being as we live in all distant corners of Melbourne, it probably is a bit much to expect everybody to drive long distances every fortnight.

What do you girls think?? Should we make them monthly?? 2nd monthly... or leave as is??

Comments and suggestions welcome :)

Hels*Bels
30-08-2007, 06:54 PM
It looks like some posts got deleted? :detective:

I take it (reading between the lines) that the meet didn't go ahead today?

I'd like to still meet fortnightly, and the way that I used to organise things was to have a couple at each other's houses in a row and then one central one at a public venue.
It seemed to work quite well.

I have an idea... how would you all feel if I re-instated myself to the Meet Co-ordinator again?

I am in no way implying that everyone else isn't capable of arranging them. But I think it is best that 1 person organises the schedule and sends out the details etc.

It was working quite well before I cracked the sh!ts and I do appologise for that, I was just getting jacked off with being ignored. But now that's out in the open I am happy to take up the role again. I just have one request which is... PLEASE RSVP to me!!!

Anyway, let me know what you think and if everyone is happy then I'll get started on organising the Sept schedule. :)

Just wanted to add, to those of you who live more central - Sandy, Lauren and Jo - how do you feel about having them more frequently at your houses? Then the rest of us will take a turn every so often to keep it fair. How does that sound?

juzzy
30-08-2007, 06:59 PM
good idea Hels, more organised that way!

harleyq
30-08-2007, 07:14 PM
Sounds good Hels - l'm still happy meeting fortnightly - people can still choose to only come monthly if it gets too much - nobody is going to judge them (providing you've rsvp'ed ofcourse :D)

Happy to have them more often at my place - if everyone pitches in to help clean up it really isn't a burden at all.

Welcome back Oh Mighty Meet Organiser Woman!!! (dare you to figure out that code Mon :p)

Purplebird
30-08-2007, 07:53 PM
I think that's a great idea too! I agree that the meets should go ahead fortnightly and, as Sandy said, people can choose to go or not as long as they let the organiser/host know - just as you would let any of your mates know if you weren't going round to their place :) . :thumbsup:

SuperFrog
30-08-2007, 10:01 PM
Hi guys...

Today's meet got post-poned due to sick bubs. Entirely understandable and I'm not blaming anyone. I know us Melbourne Fab Feb Mummas can be an emotional bunch (myself included!), but it isn't worth getting our knickers in a knot over stuff like this.

Anyway, no hard feelings towards those who couldn't make it, or those that had to cancel.

It was vaguely mentioned about perhaps rescheduling for Thursday next week, but if people still aren't able to make it to Williamstown perhaps we should organise for somewhere else.

I seriously don't mind organising meets, and I'd hate for people to think that I am a complete incompetent basketcase. But if Hels is happy to be the organiser I am more than happy to handball it back to her. She's your baby again Hels!

So, what's the plan? :D

juzzy
30-08-2007, 10:18 PM
Mon :hugs:

Im gunna tentatively raise my hand to host again, i know seeing as i am unable to come to most meets that my chances are slim, but it would be lovely. I will leave it up to Hels and her wisdom

icugal
30-08-2007, 10:57 PM
Juz - I think the hosting 'circle' is fairly complete now.. we're probably due to head back down your way again if you're interested.

Besides, I want you to show me your MCN's because I'm just thoroughly confused by it all :D

Hels - Welcome back as meet co-ordinator !!

juzzy
31-08-2007, 07:16 AM
Juz - I think the hosting 'circle' is fairly complete now.. we're probably due to head back down your way again if you're interested.

Besides, I want you to show me your MCN's because I'm just thoroughly confused by it all :D

Hels - Welcome back as meet co-ordinator !!

Mmmmmmmhmmmmm ill raise my hand higher then!! It means i will actually get to go to a meet! LOL

Purplebird
31-08-2007, 07:35 AM
Ladies - are we going to alternate between peoples' houses and public places? I guess it would be only fair to also continue alternating between each side of the city? I don't think there is really a 'central' meet point as we are all spread out over Melbourne.

Mon - I don't think you're incompetent or a basketcase!! The meet was cancelled because of sick bubs, that's totally not your fault! :)

jbie
31-08-2007, 10:06 AM
hi! just wondering if i'd be able to come along to your meets when you do have them?
bubs was due 31st jan, but came 2 weeks early; but the jan mums group don't have meets AFAIK.
i live close to burwood.
oh i can bring mcns to show too

thaanks =)

JoJoMart
31-08-2007, 01:41 PM

Mon - I'm kinda glad you guys didn't go ahead yesterday as I was really looking forward to Williamstown. I really like that side of the bay. I still have a shocking cold......feel **** today but Liam is better which is good. P.S. I thought you did a great job of organising it - it was just unfortunate how it turned out.

Hels - Personally, I like the idea of meeting monthly, so if you guys keep it fortnightly I may come every time or only once a month.....I'm happy for it to be at my place more often though, so that's no drama.

Hels*Bels
31-08-2007, 06:01 PM
Mon - do you still have your MG every second thursday? If you do, then when is your next one?

I was going to suggest the next meet at to be at Sandy's place, followed by Juz's.
The date will be confirmed when Mon replies :)

SuperFrog
31-08-2007, 11:05 PM
So everyone is waiting for me, huh??

My MG is all over the shop. People are going back to work or moving, so our next meet is a Sat lunch.

Thursdays should work for me, but I'm open to a new day if anyone has a preference.

juzzy
01-09-2007, 07:50 AM
I thought everyone had held a meet or whatever so we were back at the start?

But thats sweet, Sandy can have the next one

icugal
01-09-2007, 08:57 AM
I think that we should probably do the Williamstown thing first and then maybe Juzzy's... I only say this because the previous meet was at my place, so the next one should probably be on the southern side.

BTW.. if you do re-schedule the meet for this Thursday than I probably won't make it. My mother was threatening to come down again... so I've opted to go up there instead to give DF abreak from her :)

juzzy
01-09-2007, 09:13 AM
That was my thinking Penny

The williamstown meet should go ahead as planned (maybe make it when Penny can come however!) as Mon put so much effort into planning it and then the meets can go from there

SuperFrog
01-09-2007, 11:13 AM
I used to do project management, so it wasn't hard work at all organising for the meet!

How about Thursday fortnight, which is when the next meet would be anyway?

Doesn't bother me if we skip Williamstown (although it is really nice there in the warmer weather). My flooring is being laid today (yippee!) so hopefully I'll be able to host one at my place soon.

So again, back to Hels for the official organising!

(Why is this so hard?!)

juzzy
01-09-2007, 11:25 AM
Well maybe Williamstown can wait until the truely warmer weather? Rather than this pretend warmer weather, where it looks nice outside but its still a bit chilly? LOL :laughing:

Hels*Bels
01-09-2007, 01:55 PM
Ok, the next meet will be on thurs 13th Sept, at Juzzy's place. We will still do Williamstown but wait until perhaps october when the weather is better.

Executive decision has been made :)

More details will follow....

jbie
02-09-2007, 10:23 PM
please can i come?
i've been hoping to find a group to come along to with bubs around the age of mine, but there just isn't another one....

juzzy
02-09-2007, 10:30 PM
jbie ive PMed you

Hels*Bels
03-09-2007, 06:47 PM
Jbie you are more than welcome to join us. Really sorry as I meant to add that in my last post.
You'll get a message from me soon with all the details for the next meet. I'm looking forward to meeting you and your bubba :)

jbie
04-09-2007, 09:20 AM
heheh thanks!! looking forward to it then

Hels*Bels
06-09-2007, 04:37 PM
A new thread has been started for the meets, it can be found here;

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=119590