View Full Version : Working full time & BFing
I would love to hear about other people's experiences in working and BFing.
I'm going back full time on the 15th & have been expressing & freezing for a while. I intend to express with my electric pump for the 2 feeds a day I'll be away.
DP will be looking after her & giving her the ebm. But he came out the other day with "I don't think you should buy a pump as I know you really want it to work, but I reckon you'll be weaning early. :(
i was really cranky and people keep asking if i've laid on some formula "just in case" :mad:
So I need some encouragement - let me know how it worked for you! Surely I shouldn't have to give up just cos I'm the breadwinner?
I didn't go back full time - just part time, but kep expressing at work to cover the two feeds a day I was away for, and then another express at night after DD2 ws alseep to top up the bottles for the next day. She was 8 months when I went back to work and I expressed until she was 12 months then started to cut back a bit. I bought a tin of formula, but ended up throwing it away because I had opened it and we didn't use any of it. I used to carry my manual pump and two bottles in an insulated bag to work each day and home again on the bus - kept it in the fridge at work and never had any problems.
A good friend of mine went back to work fulltime when her daughter was 9 weeks old and breastfed until her daughter self weaned at 2 years. She had EBM and when her daughter was very small she went home at lunchtime each day for a feed too - the nanny would ring as she was waking and my friend would jump in her car and shoot off. She did live in Canberra though where distance isn't an issue.
Give your DH a kick in the bum and tell him to support you - it is possible and you will do a great job! Perhaps join the ABA to find support and tips - I know they helped my friend an awful lot and she credits them for the success in her working and breastfeeding relationship.
Good luck and good on you for giving it a go!
I went back to work full time when my bub was just under 6 months old and continued (and still do) to breastfeed her. I just expressed during the day and froze the milk - at first it took a while but it's not so bad and workplaces these days are supposed to be accomodating to feeding mothers.
I don't believe you should have to give up breastfeeding! It's the best milk around!!! :thumbsup:
I also get cranky when people assume that just because I'm working full time that I'm no longer breastfeeding. (or that I'm pregnant so therefore should stop breastfeeding as well!)
Good on you!!!
jojojonsey
08-01-2007, 14:53
Not having had the confidence to continue full time b'feeding when I returned to work with my last two children I ended doing a mix of both formula and bm. I wouldd feed each morning and evening (wake up and good night feeds) while the bubba had formula during the day. While this worked quite well for both (particularly my first and my second decided to fully wean himself) babes for a while it wasnt' my ideal. I am a little wiser and more confident with my current role and employer so I fully intend on expressing at work with this baby if all goes to plan.
Thanks so much for the replies - just what I wanted to hear!
I can go home for lunch and only work 7 hrs (public servant!) most days. Ella feeds 2 hrs apart min so I should only be away for a max of 2 feeds.
I am an ABA member which has been really helpful!
Did you find your baby was awake more at night making up for lost time?
Hi, I too am going back to work full time in March and are currently exclusively breastfeeding my four month old. I also work in a male industry so storing bm in the lunch fridge will probably take some explaining, but I am going to give it a go.
I breastfed my son until he was 12m so I feel like I would be cheating my daughter if I didnt try.
How did your electric pump go...I am thinking of buying one myself, mainly for speed...is it any quicker?
Hope your return to work has gone well.
Cheers:yelclap:
evolve77
20-01-2007, 21:49
i went back to work fulltime (afternoons, evenings and weekends and short mornings!) when my daughter was 11 weeks.
our baby refused the bottle in most cases (from DH and nanny) and at five months is only now mastering spoon feeding (EBM) without wearing most of it.:confused:
our saving grace has been that i am next door and came come back for a b/f, but we have seen a lot of EBM go down the drain, and tears until i can come and save the day.
good luck on working out how much baby takes at each feed:(
i would really recommend an electric double pump (mine is Med$%^).
i never thought i would but for us co-sleeping is a great way of keeping up supply and not getting so tired. i love not having to get up, or spend ages getting baby back to sleep after a feed, or having to resettle because she has woken as soon as i put her down. unfortunately DH also works opposite hours so we can share caregiving, so is in the spare bed!
hope it works out well and give your DH a reminder of your commitment to the family by BFing!!!
Hi Kw
I also work in a male dominated industry, but didn't have too many problems :). I didn't want to store my EBM in the fridge (could NOT handle the thought of someone putting my precious expressed liquid gold in their coffee - I have heard of it happening). My LC suggested that a cooler bag with an icebrick was just fine and it worked really well. My boss only asked what was in there once, I told him he didn't want to know :p at which point he blushed bright red and never, ever asked again :D.
(and I never accidentally left my EBM at work)
Just wanted to drop back in and say that it's all going swimmingly.
I feed her right before I walk out the door and when I go home for lunch, and express twice a day.
I bought a Med*** pump that comes in a back pack. It's awesome, Klwillo it only takes 5 mins to empty both sides! Also it has a battery pack so I can take it out with me. This morning I was sitting int he work ute under a tree in a paddock, expressing!
My office is nearly all male but they all know not to open the door to my office when it's closed :yes: and I keep the milk in the fridge in the little cold bag that came with the backpack.
evolve77 my baby has always fed quite frequently (she has only just made it to 2-3hrs during the day!) and I only ever express about 70ml. But she isn't hungry and is thriving, so I must have some very satisfying milk!
Also she is still (apart from one bad night) only waking twice so that's great too.
I only hope it continues this well :D
Hi Bec,
Good on you!. Thanks for the info. I was actually looking at the M pump on the ABA website, I think they call it the Swing?.
I will have to give that a go.
Did you stock up before you started back at work?.I have bought myself some of the breastmilk bags, so I will see how they go.
Fun Times.:thumbsup:
actually i got the pump in style. it costs about $560, but i got one 2ndhand for $360. I was hiring one from the aba before that.
Yes I built up a stock in the freezer, i used to wait til she was asleep in the baby carrier then pump around her! we have only used 1 bag so far though, as DP just gives her what I pumped last session. It's good to know it's there for just in case though.