View Full Version : Where is everyone?

MonMic
04-11-2005, 14:44
Hey where have we all gone?

too busy posting on the religion/spirituality thread? or playing the word association game! :rolleyes:

come on tell us how you are going!

My new DS is doing well in his own room :p but now refuses to take a bottle or dummy :( and the good news of the week is DD has slept through for the last 3 nights! :D (touch wood) .

Here is something to make you laugh. DH had a day of in-liew on monday and actually though that he would have the whole day to himself to do nothing. Ha!
He was a bit dissapointed and I waited till the evening to point out that with 2 kids I doubt we will have a day to ourselves for a while!

hope you are all doing well to
M.

zenifa
04-11-2005, 15:29
Looks like all the Jul-Sept mummies are very busy with their little babies.
My DD Romilly will be 12 weeks old next Tues (gosh, the time has just flown!!).

Like Monmic's DS, Romilly has been sleeping through the last three nights, fingers crossed it continues!! Romilly has slept in her cot since she got home from hospital and now she is even taking some of her daytime sleeps there too (previously she only liked the snuggle bed).

She is smiling, giggling and cooing/chortling lots, she's very keen to talk, sit and is fascinated my her own reflection in the mirror (I don't think she's figured out that its herself she's laughing at!!). She's interacting with people more and focusing more on the dangly toys in her pram and nursery. She always giggles at other kids that she meets, so very socialable so far.

We have taken Romilly out with us a few times to cafes & restaurants for brunch/lunch with friends, but this week, we met up with a friend and had dinner at a local pizza cafe and Romilly did really well - only got a little grizzly before we left to go home (during dessert). Once in the car she slept all the way home and once home she went to bed and no further grizzling!!

Monmic - do you and your DH have family that you can leave the two kids with, to have a little time to yourselves? DH & I are lucky, as both sets of grandparents live nearby and babysit once/fortnight so that we can have a day or night on our own. Romilly loves spending time with her grandparents and it gives DH & I a chance to go out for a meal, movie, theatre, go to a party or just spend time alone as a couple!! For us as new parents, its also a sanity-saver!! LOL

Grubincubator
07-11-2005, 11:03
Ethan's still thriving... 7.6kg at 3 months lol. I think he's going to be a tall boy. My brothers are both 6'3" and daddy's not too short either.

He's getting very strong but hasn't figured out how to roll over yet... although cloth nappies don't help lol.

I'm spending most of my time on Yahoo groups pertaining to cloth nappies and elimination communication. It's an interesting journey.

I started building up a store of EBM in the freezer only to discover that he hates the taste of frozen milk... sigh. Too much lipase I guess. So I have to keep a fresh supply in the fridge for babysitters (read grandmothers ;) )

We basically end up with a sitter every Saturday whether we like it or not :o

I'll have to post more later. E's decided it's bedtime.

Cheers.

MonMic
10-11-2005, 10:31

unforunately my DD is 2! unlike romilly she didn't sleep through for ages and has just started sleeping better again this month, since the new baby arrived (august). he is sleeping well and usually wakes once a night.

Yes I have my MIL and step- mother around to help out with babysitting, although they are both quite busy and I hate to ask, so we don't go out every week/fortnight, but I make sure we don't miss out on things either.

M.

JnA
13-11-2005, 02:33

Jade is thirteen weeks on Monday. She's just over 5 kilos, and I love to listen to her babble in the morning, which she does.. a lot! We think she is talking to her mobile buddies (which we call her 'boys') I wonder if she can't work out why they aren't talking back to her!
She, also, loves to look at her reflection in the mirror and is holding her head up during tummy time really really well, though hasn't got the gist of rolling over.

Grubincubator - you have just given me a clue of why she suddenly doesn't want frozen EBM. She drank it quite happily about six weeks ago, but has given up on it recently. Thankyou! I was trying to figure it out!

Mind, I don't leave her with anyone yet and I still have the cot in our room, mummy is having separation issues :rolleyes: Mind you, she sleeps through the whole night, so it's not too bad, and DP can at least get a full nights sleep before he has to go to work.

Grubincubator
15-11-2005, 09:15
I can't believe how quickly Ethan's developing! 8kg, 67cm... I swear he grows an inch every night.

He's rolling onto his side now and if there's a bit of a gravity well... like in bed with us he can roll onto his front.

And he's learned how to turn his Fisher Price Aquarium on and off. Even less likely to be able to sleep in now. :rolleyes: We usually scoot him over to his sidecar cot when he wakes up in the morning so he can play.

Stay tuned...

How's everyone else getting on?

MonMic
15-11-2005, 14:43
WOW Grubincubator 8kg! what are you eating, thats some pretty spectacular BM you have there!

My DS is large as well about 7.5KG (born on 11.08.05) don't know his length, but he is growing out of his size 00 clothes already .

Is your DS in size O's yet? Jamie's bulk seems to be all in his chest and trunk.
I find it quite strange as my DD was 7 months old before she was this size!

Our big thing this week is that he has started to sleep through, has was only having one drink a night which I didn't really mind and has dropped that too! Unfortunately my boobs are still working as if he is having a drink so I have to get up at 3am anyway to get rid of some before they explode!

DS has also become very nosy now and like to sit up and watch what everyone is doing.

take care
M.

Mary_T
15-11-2005, 19:08
Hello to all Just found this thread and my DD Isabelle was born on 23rd August 05. She is a petite girl and is only just 5kg and 57cm. Isabelle has slept through almost form birth however I have started waking her at 10 for an extra feed to encourage her to put on more weight. She is a healthy happy girl who is now smiling at everything and everyone.

Recently she has become transfixed by the TV when it is on and the other night she was staring off into what I thought was space when I realized she was looking at the TV's reflection in the sliding glass door!

16-11-2005, 10:24
Sheesh, i haven't looked in here for a while, and its amazing how everyones bubs are growing! I haven't had Charlee weighed since she got her 2 month needles....lazy mum.... :o so I'll have to go do her so i can update you all. She hasn't lifted her head yet while having tummy time, but she hasn't really had much of that, as i can't leave her for a minute as her big sis tries to pick her up (we have BIG jealousy issues...). I'll have to make more of an effort to put aside time that i can sit for 1/2 an hour with her so she can develop. She has started giggling in the bath now when i run the face washer over her stomach...she's very ticklish! She has AT LAST started sleeping through this week! ( I have been giving her about 1-2 tablespoons of farex and pear once a day for the last week...) She was good before (sleeping from about 9.30pm til about 4am), but now i'm lucky to get a feed in at 9.30 as she won't wake up, and if i do its only a half feed, and she sleeps right through to about 6am......i feel soooo much saner just having a weeks worth of full nights sleep! I wish i could say the same for big sis Mackenzie though, she's been having nightmares the last few nights...at least Charlee sleeps through her yelling out.

Mary_T - Charlee loves watching the tv too....loves the wiggles and playschool especially!

Anyhow, i will have to pull my finger out and get her weighed and measured to try and keep up with you all! Take care & keep having fun with those bubbas...

giggles
24-11-2005, 08:23
HI Everyone,

I have a daughter, Ava who was born on the 17/08/05.

She is beautiful, and really just starting to have some major changes.

We have recently had a few feeding dramas, and I have just started to supplement her with formula. Becasue of a trying couple of weeks where she wasn't getting enough food, we have lagged behind a bit in things.......now she is putting on some pud and getting much more interactive though so it's all worked out in the end. She really likes me singing to her in a silly voice, songs like Supercalafragalistic :-)

She weighs just under 5kgs and is 59.5cms long at the moment. She had a mop of brown hair when she was born but that is changing to quite an auburn colour now...

She found her hands a few weeks ago and is since a dribbly mess as she loves to suck on them and pull her shirt up and suck on it....she is also just starting to get interested in toys and trying to touch them.

She was sleeping thorugh until a few nights ago and has started to wake around 1pm for a feed, not too sure why, but maybe all of this extra growing she is doing is requiring a bit of extra sustenance.....I'll just roll with it until she starts sleeping thorugh again anyway :-)

An amazing time but jeez, how hard is it!

Aren't we amazing to be able to do what we do???

27-11-2005, 17:13
Ok, so lazy mum (me), went off to the docs last week to have Charlee weighed, she was 5.3kgs. I didn't get her measured as i just popped in and the sisters didn't have time, but will do it soon. She sure is growing! I look at her sometimes and can't imagine her being so tiny a while ago.... She still hasn't lifted her head off the ground, which is frustrating, but she's close. She can lift it enough to swap sides...so just a matter of time...She's pretty good at holding it steady while sitting up though (supported of course).

I took their chrissy photo today, which is on my avatar. It was so hard to get them both to look at the camera. And Charlee won't smile when i take a photo, but as soon as i take the camera away, she grins as big as anything!! Typical! lol

Welcome to justcooked & Mary_T - I hope you are all well....and all the other mums and bubs on this thread of course!

zenifa
28-11-2005, 06:28
[QUOTE=shannon] It was so hard to get them both to look at the camera. And Charlee won't smile when i take a photo, but as soon as i take the camera away, she grins as big as anything!! Typical! lol

/QUOTE]

Hiya Shannon and all the other mums!!
We took Romilly to Pixifoto on Sat, hoping to get a nice family Xmas photo and we had the same thing, all smiles till the camera is on her and then nothing!! when the photo session stopped she couldn't stop grinning and laughing!!

I had Romilly weighed at 12 weeks (at local chemist) and she was 5.4kg, but that is a couple of weeks ago, so not sure of her current weight, but she is getting chubbier by the day!! She's lost some of her baby hair, but its growing back very slowly, so she's a real baldy. A couple of weeks back, she was sleeping through from 7.30pm til 6am (yay!!), but over the last week she's been hungry and had a feed in the middle around 1am.

Romilly is drooling heaps, sucking on her fingers and trying to swallow her whole hand, enthralled by the tv (even when its switched off, she loves the reflection),loves her playgym and can activate toys that need a pull or push (like her ocean aquarium soother thingy). Every time she wakes up she greets us with smile and giggles and her grizzly time (usually 5-7pm) is also getting better, she hardly grizzles at all!! She has excellent head and neck control (which she has had from a very young age, 4-6 weeks, maybe its all the tummy time??), loves sitting and standing (supported of course!!)

We're off on our first family holiday next week (to Lamington Nat Park at O'Reillys and then to Lennox Heads), so we are looking forward to that - walks in the rainforest for a couple of days and then a week at the beach!!

Does anyone have any good tips for travelling with a bub under 4 months??

wattle
28-11-2005, 07:09
I'm here. :D

28-11-2005, 07:50
Good to know that Cathy.... :D

mel
01-12-2005, 16:45
hello all...

i like the comment at the start of the thread, cant remember who it was, where is everyone playing the word association game? guilty :D
i tend to not get past the friends chat section now....
anyway, my little one is 12 weeks old now OMG where does the time go?
she is 6.5kgs and 60cms long, what a whopper!
lots of smiles and gooing and gahing (?) eating our hands is the thing of the moment, so much slobbering :p just figured out how to hold onto her rattle, gives it a shake then drops it.

just about to move out of the bassinette (its a big one) and into the cot, i'm so excited! cant wait for xmas, made her a hat (shes wearing it in the photo) and going to make a santa sack (fits more stuff than a stocking!) better get my butt into gear...
we had our first family portrait done today, cant wait to see them in 2 weeks, hope they look nice, i have a nasty habit of blinking at just the wrong time, lots of piccis with me looking slightly out of it cause my eyes are half closed!

01-12-2005, 18:55
Wow Mel, your 12 week old weighs more than my 14 week old! I haven't had her measured yet, but will have to get in and do it.

I love your little girls name....Arwynn, its gorgeous!

I too can't wait til christmas, i got some my little pony stockings made for the girls with their names on them, a little bit smaller than expected but something that they can keep for the rest of their lives.....Mac is a bit better at understanding chrissy this year and knows who santa is so it should be a bit more fun. And of course its Charlee's forst christams, though she won't know much, will be more interested in the paper i think!

Anyway, i hope all this years new bubs, and the elder bubs of course, enjoy their christmas's and get spoilt rotten! :D

mel
02-12-2005, 14:38
Hey Shannon,

i know, she's a big baby! i guess she just had a growth spurt. she's bigger than all the other babies at the health clinic group too... never mind, DH and i are quite tall, maybe she'll be a front rower! :D
thanks for the compliment on the name, i got it from the lord of the rings (but different spelling)
I love your photo, your kiddies are so cute!

i'm also thinking that the xmas wrapping will be more entertainment value than what's in it...

Merry Christmas everyone :)

giggles
05-12-2005, 14:48
Well, my Ava is just under 16 weeks now and the last few days have had some new things....

She has really begun to bat at toys now, not just reach in the general direction anymore.

She is talking more, as a matter of fact now she sounds like a nesting pigeon :) Lots of cooing and so singsong!!

Sleeping like a little angel too.....we just had 4 days with the in laws down south and we slept in the annexe of their caravan and she did wonderfully. Four people and a bub in such confines just screams disaster but she was perfect....

And the four hour car trip wasn't a problem either.

What a good girl we have....

What is everyone else up to?

JnA
05-12-2005, 15:09

Jade has gone leaps and bounds in the last two weeks. The same as Shazbutt, she was just lifting her head off the ground but holding it well in a sit.. all of a sudden she lifts it fantastically, she also is rolling from her back to her side.. only be a matter of time until she goes that extra bit on to her tummy.
Yesterday she learned how to bat hanging toys with her rattle. I thought it was just co-incedence but I put her in her rocker chair today and she did the same thing. She's tool using!
She's 5.1kg at 16 weeks... I don't know how long she is.
She went into the 'big bath' for the first time last week too.. and loved splashing around.
Talks like nothing else.. wakes us up in the morning with her chatter (such a nice way to wake up :) )

Hope you all are doing well.

05-12-2005, 17:40
I got Charlee weighed today with her 4 month needles, and she is spot on 6kgs, 64cms long, and a head circ, of 42....(big head!). She's been a bit grizzly since then, has a bit of a temp, but i put her in a nice cool bath, and gave her some panadol (most of which she spat straight out!), and hopefully she'll calm down soon....

She still hasn't lifted her head off the ground yet, and hasn't rolled yet either, starting to get me a bit worried. Everything else is fine though. She talks all the time, and i wake up to that in the morning too. She's also batting at her toys on her rocker and in her cot, and loves her little teddy at night.

She's back to waking up at about 3.30am, i don't know why, but i'm going to put her back to 3 hourly feeds of a day instead of 4 hourly, and maybe she'll start sleeping through again?

Glad everyone else's bubs are doing so well, they're growing up so fast!

whatwasithinking
06-12-2005, 09:21
I have only just found this thread so I'm a bit late.
My DD#2 was born 29/8/05 (14wks old yesterday).
I have another DD who was born 29/9/02.
Having 2 children is not easy but at least I know I'm alive :) . I take my hat off to people who have twins or more!
I've been married for almost 4yrs.
We live in Melbourne but am moving early next year to the ACT. Will be good as it is closer to all our family (we only have DH's sister in Melb who we don't see much) and the rest of the family live either in Newcastle, Sydney or the Central Coast.
Anyway thought I'd introduce my self and my family to the birth group of Jul-Sept 2005. Talk to you all again soon.

06-12-2005, 21:15
Hey Donna,

Welcome to our thread! You may have noticed that we don't seem to post too often on here, but try to keep everyone up to date!

My DD Charlee was born on the 11/08, and had her four month needles yesterday. She hasn't been a happy camper since... :o She finally went off to sleep at about 6.15pm, and now i have to wake her for a feed. I just hope she goes back down easily again, she normally does.

We look forward to hearing about all your little bubbas milestones, and again, :D welcome!

BecH
07-12-2005, 06:00

My bub was born on the 27th of August, she can now roll over both ways and loves her tummy time. I am very super protective of her and haven't had anyone else babysit as of yet (we were very lucky to fall pregnant). The more the family pushes the more anxious I get about leaving her, I don't know why I feel this way except that I feel like if I miss a minute it wil be too much. I think having always wanted kids and pretty much knowing she is going to be an only makes me want to have every moment. We have a wedding coming up though and I will have to express and give a bottle, how do your bubs go with express milk?

How do you all cope leaving them for the first time? I would love some advice as I feel really anxious about it.

BecH

Ruby Grace 27-8-05

giggles
07-12-2005, 07:54
HI Everyone,

I only just dropped in the other day but thought I would say hi again!

We had an off night last night.....up a couple of times which is a bit unusual for Ava but she must have needed it.

Shazbutt, Ava is just the same as your Charlee. Ava was born on the 14/08 and is showing no interest in rolling or holding her head up on tummy time. They will do it when they are ready, nothing to worry about.

I went through a stage of worrying that she wasn't developing quick enough but have since thought, she is only three months into this world, she can take her time :)

Having said that, yesterday on tummy time she reached for her dummy and jammed it into her mouth....the right way too! :p

Anyway, welcome to everyone that has since come into this thread.....great to hear how we are all getting on.

But what about us Mums? How are we going? I am settling into this a lot better in the past couple of weeks after having a tough time with feeding.

My mum came and stayed for a couple of days and I went out and got a new haircut and some waxing done and it did me a world of good. I was pretty anxious about leaving her but when you get back, you think why the heck was I so worried! I also went out to tea with my DH after Ava had gone to bed for the night and it was very refreshing.....Those couple of days restored my sanity anyway.

OK, enough waffle....speak toy ou all soon!

mel
08-12-2005, 08:27
hey BecH,

my little girl goes well with expressed milk, the first time you could see her thinking what's this plastic crap? but once she realised what was in the bottle it was full speed ahead! it's so nice to watch her daddy giving her a feed every now and then.
i have to go out tomorrow evening and it will be the first time i will be going anywhere without her....
she was 3 months yesterday, shes now 6.6kgs, 62.5cms long and head circ is 41.3cms....
still gets cranky about going on her belly.

saqqara
08-12-2005, 12:38
hello everyone :)

i recently joimed bubhub (loving it btw) and thought i'd introduce myself in here as i have a july 05 dd :p i have a 4 year old DD also, they both keep me busy lol.

anyway, always nice to meet other mums :)

scuse one handed typing feeding time lol

cara
DD1 4
DD2 5 mo

08-12-2005, 14:45
Welcome Cara, i'm gald you're enjoying buhub, as you will soon find out, it WILL become an addiction! LOL

My girls are 2 1/2 & 4 months, and keep my pretty busy....I'm still getting used to trying to go to the shops with two of them to handle. One of whom ALWAYS runs off on me!! The only reason Charlee can't is cos she's too little! I'm sure she'll try it when she's old enough too.....

What date was DD2 born? Charlee was 11/08, as per my siggy down the bottom....

Anyhow, enjoy your time on this wonderful site!, talk soon!

mummyto3
08-12-2005, 23:06
Hi all,can i join in as well?.
My daughter Madison was born on the 20th September,15 days early.She is an absolute delight,sleeping 12 hrs a night(and has been from very early on).
I had her weighed last week,and is 5.8kg (3.4kg born).She is now getting those adorable rolls on the tops of her legs and a double chin!.

Does any one elses bubs hate it on their tummy?.Well Madi willsleep on her tummy if she is laying on me,but when i put her on the floor for tummy time she isnt interested in lifting her head up,she just wants to headbut the floor and try and suck things off it.

Anyway hope to get to know you all better :D

JnA
08-12-2005, 23:33
Hi BecH

I am very super protective of her and haven't had anyone else babysit as of yet (we were very lucky to fall pregnant). The more the family pushes the more anxious I get about leaving her, I don't know why I feel this way except that I feel like if I miss a minute it wil be too much. I think having always wanted kids and pretty much knowing she is going to be an only makes me want to have every moment. We have a wedding coming up though and I will have to express and give a bottle, how do your bubs go with express milk?

How do you all cope leaving them for the first time? I would love some advice as I feel really anxious about it.

I am the same with Jade, I haven't left her for a minute. I even have a physical reaction when someone is holding her (right in front of me). My CHN referred me to 'see' someone about it. I don't know what good it'll do, but it can't hurt. I'll let you know if they give me any suggestions (or if I'm just loopy ;) )

Hi mummy to 3

Does any one elses bubs hate it on their tummy?.

yep! Jade will roll from her back to her tummy, then cry becasue she can't get back. If I put her on her tummy she is good for about... oh.. half a minute :D But she holds her head up great when she is sitting up.. so I'm not too worried.
They'll do it when they are ready. Maybe your bub is concentrating on perfecting some other milestones first.

16-12-2005, 09:21
Hi mummy to 3, and welcome!

Charlee will tolerate it on her tummy, she just lays there most of the time, no interest in moving at all. Sometimes after a few minutes she will get cranky, but not often. She has even gone to sleep there a few times....

She rolled from her back to her tummy on Wednesday! She got her arm stuck under her and started bawling...hasn't done it since though...:o

We're finally starting to get a few more Jul-Sept mums on here...its great! Look after yourselves and your little ones guys and keep having fun! :D

Grubincubator
17-12-2005, 08:08

Thought I better provide an update...

DS had his 4 months shots a week or so ago. It was a little easier this time. I think the doctor has improved her technique... thank god. He was grizzly for a day or so and that was it. Didn't even get swelling at any of the injection sites this time.

He still occasionally rolls from front to back, if he's got his arms in the right places lol. He frequently manages to roll onto his stomach when he's playing. A couple months ago we said we'd find him wedged under the coffee table one day after rolling off his play mat... he's getting closer.

Teething has accelerated. He's an absolute drool factory and lurves his thumb. Thank goodness he never took to using a dummy. The thumb is portable and he always know where it is. :D Still no sign of the teeth but s..u..r..e..l..y it can't be too far off??

Over 8kg now and a bit of a drag on the arms come bedtime. That sling is an absolute godsend!

Still feeding every 2 to 3 hours at night but co-sleeping makes it bearable. He doesn't generally wake up for it. I just wake to his fussing and feed him before he wakes.

Both grandmothers have been babysitting from time to time while we grab a movie or endure another christmas party lol. Had a real trial with the first christmas party of the year. It was in Brisbane (a couple hours from here) so we packed up Mama (my mother) and left her and E in a hotel room. The party was on a river cruise... I made the mistake of calling her to see how they were going just before the point of no return (getting on the boat) E was having a bit of a howl and I nearly turned around right there... All was successful in the end.

We've been having a bit of trouble with wind at the moment. I'll have to start seriously watching what I eat and seek out some things to help ease his pain :o Poor little man. And he usually cops it in the afternoon/evening which is when he's most likely to be in the arms of a grandmother. They're starting to crave the sight of happy E. lol

Bored yet? That'll do for now.

Cheers all.

zenifa
27-12-2005, 17:40
Hello to all the August Mums out there (to the July and Sept mums too of course!)

How was everyone's Christmas?
For XMas, I got my DH and my dad a stubbie cooler with piccie of Romilly on it, and for my mum and FIL I got some keyrings made with more piccies of Romilly. We also got a Xmas photo that we sent with cards and gave to the grandparents. There were other pressies too, but being Romilly's first Xmas I couldn't resist doing some personalised gifts.
Our Christmas was great, Romilly enjoyed being thoroughly spoilt by both sets of grandparents!! We had lunch at my parents house and with all the excitement of extended family and new toys to play with, she didn't have a nap and wasn't all that interested in food. We popped home, so she could have a nap before we went to my in-laws for xmas dinner - again, more presents, photos, cuddles, laughs but again too excited to sleep, but at least she had some food (booby of course!!). She was totally exhausted and crashed at 9.30pm and had lots of big sleeps on Boxing day to recover. We were very proud of Romilly, no crying, tears or grizzles, she was a pure delight!!

Aside from Christmas, we have had a very busy December - holiday, needles, weddings and DH has been home all this month, so lots of family time!! YAY!

Romilly had her four month needles a couple of weeks ago - DH came with me and he held her this time but I think it was worse than last time, as I could hear her cries and screams, and I had tears of my own in the GP waiting area. Also this time, she got a lump on her thigh from one of the needles, it was a little red and swollen, but its getting better. She was a little grizzly and warm that night, but recovered quickly. Also DH was trying to cut her fingernails with the clippers last week and with all her wriggling cut her finger - again I was in tears as I had her blood all over my hand and shirt, but Romilly is much more resilient than me!! Poor DH he felt so guilty and apologetic, but Romilly still loves her dad!! Her finger has healed up, so all is well.

Romilly went on her first family holiday in the first week of December, we went to Lamington National Park (O'Reilly's) and Lennox Heads - Romilly slept through the car trip and wasn't too disrupted being in a strange new place. We had cots provided at both places which were great and Romilly slept and ate well. She enjoyed her first swim in the resort pool, a local teatree lake and our unit had a spa on the balcony - boy, she loves bubbles!!! We didn't try her at the beach, as it was very windy and the water was freezing!! We all had a great time and are looking forward to our next trip to Straddie in March.

Romilly attended her first family wedding a couple of weeks ago and again was pure bliss - she was very happy and giggly in the church and was a delight at the reception, eating, sleeping and survived all of my extended family cooing and going gaga over her!! Actually Romilly has attended two other family weddings this year (april and july), but she was still in my tummy LOL!!

In terms of milestones - Romilly has had good head and neck control from only a few weeks of age and she really loves sitting and standing (supported of course). She used to love tummy time, but over the last month she tries to crawl, but isn't very coordinated, so she gets frustrated and grizzly. Romilly often will wriggle and turn herself 180 degrees in her cot and rolls from back to her side, but still hasn't rolled over onto her tummy yet!! She has been drooling like crazy for the past month and I've given her a couple of teething rusks (despite them not really being recommended til 6 months) and she loves them!! I've got the gummy teething dummy but she's still getting used to it. I've given her Bonjela occasionally in the last week or so, so we're definately in the teething phase!!

Anyway I think thats enough of an update, hope to hear more from you other mums!! Z :)

04-01-2006, 20:51
Hey everyone! Hope you all had a great christmas, as we did....

Chrissy was at our place this year, with Boxing Day spent with my side of the fam at Kingaroy at my aunty's place. It was a good couple of days, with Charlee being an angel.....Mac was cranky and ovetired by the end of it all though, but we've all gotten back into the swing of things now...

Charlee has her first tooth!!! I noticed a couple of weeks ago that she was chewing her fingers alot and not wanting her dummy, but there was no sign of any teeth. But today i looked in there out of curiosity and there it was! Its through the skin, and the other bottom one isn't far off either! No grizzles from her...nothing! I thought she might be like Mackenzie and get them late, but apparently not!

I weighed her today on our not so accurate scales, and she is about 6.5 kgs, still small, but very chubby, and short. I haven't measured her yet though, so when i do i will post here....

She now rolls from her back to her tummy, on her right side, but hasn't yet done it on her left...or from tummy to back. She has FINALLY lifted her head a few times, for short periods, which i am glad of as i was starting to get a bit worried. All in good time though...at least i know she CAN do it....

Hope to hear from all you other mummies soon! Take care.....

saqqara
05-01-2006, 09:48
Shazbutt, my charlie's birthday is 9th July :) i just love the name Charlee, we considered it, but in the end went with the traditional Charlotte and i just call her Charlie.

Wow, teeth :eek: Charlie doesn't have any yet. Although i'm not holding my breath; rachel didn't get teeth until she was 15 months old!

I don't always get time to sit and read this forum at length, but it is nice getting to know everyone and their babies :)

05-01-2006, 14:18
Hey saqqara....Mackenzie was a late teether too. She didn't get her first teeth until she was 11 1/2 months old. I was thinking maybe Charlee would be the same......but it appears not. :)

I thought about naming her Charlotte, but with Mackenzie having a kind of differnt name, Charlee sounded better. Plus Charles is my DH's grandads name, and since we had another girl, we thought we'd honour him that way. No more for us, so at least we got the family name out of the way! LOL