View Full Version : june 2005??(18monthers) where are you....

meme
04-01-2007, 09:56
i would love to chat with other mums with an 18mth old toddler.
( i think mine is about that old) she was born june 2005.

mine is just so much fun, and also can be a challenging little monster!

she is getting a bit better at not pulling hair, biting, kicking....i think that is passing, :smiliedance: .

and the words and sounds that she is coming out with it is sooo delightful to watch her.
yesterday we were playing 'farm' and i tried to make a camel noise, which she just cracked up at and then she just kept trying to copy with this funny grunting noise.

it's a great age.

anyone else got one this age?

TinyStar
04-01-2007, 21:35
Hi Meme,

I've got a June 05 Girl too. We are still working on the biting, hairpulling, throwing and hitting.

Will post more later as we have guests.

It's certainly a challenging age............:rolleyes:

MonkeyMum05
04-01-2007, 22:10
I have a June 05 bub!
He's full of tantrums and bad manners... but is a great little friend most of the time.
He has boundless energy... loves to look at books... and talks a lot of jibberish!

meme
04-01-2007, 22:44
oh yay! joy to hear that it is an age thing! it is funny bit with each child it is a discovery all over again of the growing up stages and i guess they are all their own little people!

my lo's word of the day was spider and that is because we have a book called spiders spin webs and she was 'reading it'.

i also took her to the movies for maybe the first time in her life to seee happy feet. when the penguins came on she just could be heard calling out 'duck' over and over:D whenever something funny happenned and everyone in the cinema laughed then she did her evil laugh ( it really sounds like an evil laugh , that's the best i can explain it!) and then we had to go out in the foyer to run around for a while..... then i convinced her that a straw was an interesting thing and got her to boob off to sleep on my lap for the rest of the movie! winner!:laughing:

Mojogal
04-01-2007, 23:52
My lil girl Lily is a June 05er too!

She is a bundle of energy, learning something new every day, and scaling new heights of mischievousness also. But she loves her books, she will 'read' them to herself, and as we are teaching her sign language, she knows over 75 signs, and will sign to herself what's in the books! So smart! She also loves most music and will shake her lil groove thang in the loungeroom, the supermarket, the car, wherever. LOL!

We havent had many tantrums so far - I'm convinced it's cos she can sign most things she needs, so there's little frustration in our lives - except mine when I find her standing on the coffee table for the 3rd time in a morning, or her food all over the dining room! :banghead:
It's amazing to me just how much her little mind can comprehend - we sometimes don't give our tiny ones enough credit. They were right though weren't they ladies? They grow up too quick!

Meme - how hilarious at the movies. She sounds like a darling. Oh and Lily also has an evil laugh! Like a guttural cackle, dunno where she got it, but it's hilarious!

Looking forward to hearing more about our 18monthers!

Suze

TinyStar
05-01-2007, 09:23
Way to go with the signing suze! Thats awesome.

I wish I had kept going with it, I went to a workshop but just nothing clicked. My mum on the otherhand manged to teach Miss E how to hold her hands up for "all gone" and "stop" in one evening. (Mum is a special ed teacher so that might explain it) She still uses a lot of body language but as she is learning to express herself verbally she is loosing the signals.

She wanted to toilet train herself last week, kept saying Ka Ka (our word for poo) taking off her nappy and climbing onto the toilet. She didn't quite get the hang of it and later on in the day asked for her nappy back (very sheepishly too I might add).

She loves her books too, ATM we are looking at counting books (cos I am sick of baa baa black sheep her absolute favourite)

She has a little brother and likes to play mum, wants to feed him, cut his nails:eek: , wrap him and even brings me his nappy when he needs changing.

Anyway I must dash, both kidlets are sleeping and as always there is plenty to do.

Mojogal
05-01-2007, 11:23
LOL TinyStar - of course there's plenty to do, but somehow, I always find myself here when Lil's asleep! LOL Oh well, call it Me-Time!

Lil is very similar in her TT stage as your little one - happy to sit on the loo or potty, knows when she wants to go, but can't quite let go of it without her nappy on.... unless it's to stand up off the potty to wee on the floor! ROFL! :banghead: :laughing:

Ah such fun!
Suze

mummade3
05-01-2007, 11:36
yay...
for the the june 05 babies!!!

lol.. i only joined only a few days ago n couldnt find a thread for us!!

my handsome little man Luke is quite a terrorist when he wants to be, which at the moment is during the night.. it's killing me as i love my sleep..

he loves everything about life and right now his kitten Maxi is his best friend!!

ca n someone please tell me how to put a pix up on my profile thingy please.. (sorry i'm blonde)

hope 2 talk more soon!!

munchkin05
05-01-2007, 14:17
i have a june 05 bubba to

well hes not so much of a bubba anymore
hes turning into my big boy
he was born on the 8th

he is taling heaps its amazing how much
he can actually talk and the words that come out

everyday he is surprising me with something new
and wonderful (ok so not everthings wonderful the
biting the hitting stuff like that

but hes absolutly amazing to watch grow up
knowing that i created this life :thumbsup:

mummade3
05-01-2007, 21:24
hi there just thought i'd tell u my gorgeous terror is the the 8th aswell!!

munchkin05
06-01-2007, 23:02
must be a great day to be born :laughing:

meme
07-01-2007, 15:34
wow, it's great to hera from other mums with june 05 bubs,
they all sound just as cute as my lo. i just keep finding this age so much fun and so cute.

i agree they just seem to understand so much and learn new things everyday.

how does everyone else go with teeth cleaning? it is a hgue struggle for us most nights. and i feel some motherguilt over the fact that i didn't bother at all with it this morning.

mine is the youngest with 2 big sista's that she beats up on whenever she gets the chance, although i do think she is getting a little better. of course they encourage her without meaning to by laughing while she pulls there hair and stuff, so not helpful, but my 3 year old doesnt't even realise she's doing it i think ( laughing that is) so difficult. but i love the whole sibling interaction thing.

TinyStar
08-01-2007, 10:20
Funny you should ask about Teeth cleaning, I was going to ask something similar.

However E just loves eating toothpaste, and she is going through toothbrushes like crazy by biting them. I just let her do it cos I dont want to turn toothbrushing into a drama when she seems so enthusiastic. Not quite sure about that one.

My mum bought a great toothbrushing book for xmas. Its got soft toothbrushes and toothpaste and furry mouth germs, crinkly shiny teeth etc etc etc and some story, dunno what:laughing: I just noticed E has smeared toothpaste on it, so it must have made an impression.

munchkin05
08-01-2007, 13:14
ben is obsessed with cleaning his teeth

if i go and do mne without calling him into the bathroom he looses th plot

i got him a hot wheels toothbrush its got a car on th eend of it and he just thinks its great

he brushes his teeth so well
lets just hope it continues:thumbsup:

maad
08-01-2007, 13:29
Hi I have June 05 bubbies also.

My two are terrors with her having the evil laugh and him the infectious one. They do learn and grow way to quick. Just starting to take nappy off her more than him, but he talks more she's pretty quite really but throws more tanties than him. Both are great mates and play really well together, just great to sit back and watch them go for it.

Talk soon

Maad
Mum to twins

Mojogal
08-01-2007, 23:21
I too have twangs of motherguilt when I give up on the teeth-cleaning thing! LOL My little one is usually pretty good, loves to copy us brushing our teeth, so it's easy. But when she's having a bad day teething (just got one eye-tooth to go, then I guess it's 2yr old molar time :banghead: ) it's a wasted effort, she HATES brushing her teeth when her gums hurt and I don't want to create negative feelings towards toothbrushing :no: So I generally don't push the issue too much when this happens. It's quite rare, thankfully, mostly she loves it - time for a new brush actually, the current one looks like palm trees on a hurricane-ravaged shoreline! :laughing: That's what happens when you let her brush her own teeth before you get in to 'help' LOL

Maad - how do you do it with two?? Lily runs me ragged every day, you must be some kind of wonder woman!

meme
09-01-2007, 14:34
my lo is getting a smidge better with the teeth, even though i have been very mean and made sure it is done at least once a day, even if she is crying and protesting. somehow it is making an impression, there was less crying last night anyway!

her new word is share. we have to do lots of sharing, but with her sisters they usually 'share' with her, ie we use the wordshare to get our toddler to share with her--but now she is always telling other lo's to share, i think she thinks share is synonymous with mine, another favourite word.
so she gets a bit upset if i tell her weare sharing and i take the toy away from her:p

lanta01
10-01-2007, 15:03
Hi everyone, My name is Atlanta. Ive just joined bub hub, and I was scrolling though threads when I came upon this one. I too have a bub bron in June 2005. Our son is now 18months old, and his name is Bryce. I thought I would pop in and introduce myself, and hopefully get to know some of you! I already recongnise some names from the Live chat session today. Hope everyone is well!

Mojogal
10-01-2007, 22:59
Hi Atlanta! :wave: Welcome to Bubhub, I'm sure you'll find loads of friendly people to share your experiences with here :)

It's a great age isn't it, full of new things and fun and mess and discovery - hard to keep up sometimes! :banghead: :laughing:

Hope you enjoy your time here at the forum!

Suze

lanta01
11-01-2007, 09:52
Hi Mojogal! Yes it is a great age! Bryce just looks more and more like a little boy everyday. (the picture of him is 7months old!) And he makes us laugh!! He has a real little sense of humour! And god knows he plays up to it!!

Hes napping now, but im not looking forward to this afternoon, its time to visit the hairdresser again! Not one of his favourite places!! :devil6: Thats for sure. I hope he will be good! Normally screams hysterically. But last time she gave him a lollypop, and he made it thought almost all of it without crying. Just a little whingy. So im arming myselft with a whole bag!! LOL!

Wish me luck!!

munchkin05
11-01-2007, 09:58
we are yet to visit the hair dresser
ben dosnt have much hair

hes got such personality sometimes its funny but sometimes its not so funny :confused:

its a great age :smiliedance:
and wouldnt change him for the world

TinyStar
12-01-2007, 19:52
We've been to the hairdresser twice now, I always say "we want to grow her hair long, please just take off the untidy bits" so they chop off the lot! DH wont let me take her anymore :no:

Anyway she chucked a monster wobbly today, had to really put my mummy hat on. (she was tired and I went back to work this week so missed me too) I was totally surprised. I sat her down made her face me and told her crying for no reason was silly. If she was not hurt, tired, hungry or scared then she shouldn't cry. and yanno what, she looked at me, sniffled then stopped!:yelclap: Sometimes I dont give her enough credit.

Todays word was bubbles, as my mum bought her a bubble blowing thing. her speach is getting clearer, it's so nice to see.

meme
12-01-2007, 20:11
ah, bubbles is such a cuuute word. it was one of lo's 1st words and for a while there we couldn't say it as she would start saying it and be demanding we get the bubble blowing stuff out.
cute but the mess she would make with it!

today was just exhausting for me. lo did not sleep well last night. she was up till late and so we were both tired and whingy today and had a long late nap, so i am guessing bed time will be late tonite too.

she wanted to just be on my lap today and pulled out all my sewing things and poured her drink into my embroidery cottons.
looking forward to tomorrow:rolleyes:
on the plus side i only used two nappies so far today and only 1 and a half accidents on the floor. ( not really toilet training, she just runs around naked coz she can! )

my poor kids have nevver been to the hairdresser. my older dd is 10 and never been. i didn't mean that to happen, it's just i always cut her hair and we never got around to going.

lanta01
13-01-2007, 12:57
Hey gals! Just got home from a big walk around Centennial Park! Whoo....im all excersied out! I took Bryce to Fox Studio's and took him to the playground there...its such a great playground! But there were heaps of kids there today, because of the markets, so Bryce wasnt real happy. He seems to like it better when there a less kids and he dosnt get bullied around!

And we had a nice lunch, and the lovely old man who opperates the old merry-go-round was there and Bryce loves him as when there is nobody waiting to get on, he gives Bryce an extra long ride!! (spoilt!)

So he is all tuckered out, passed out before I had even done up his seat belt! I love that! All that fresh air and sunshine! Its the first time out and about having fun for at least 3days cause of the heat!

And im very excited, Bryce, my DH and I sat down with a baby dictionary book with names and pictures in it, and we thought we would try showing him and see if he would learn some new words. His vocabulary only consists of daddy, mumma, toot toot (thomas) and meeeoww. LOL, so I thought Id try..... but To be honest I didnt think I'd get too far, I thought he is still a bit small. But....he learnt to say cat and book!! Without any real prompting either!! I was so surprised! Im really excited now....I thought I might get some flash cards for him....

Do any of you use them?

Mojogal
13-01-2007, 20:20
:laughing: I love hearing about other toddler's antics, makes me feel like I'm not alone in the madness! LOL

Atlanta Great to hear you had a nice day out and about. We left Sydney just 2 weeks before bub was born and I miss it sooo much sometimes! It would be lovely to be able to hang out in Centennial Park again! *sigh* It's so cute when they fall asleep before you even get going eh? LMAO It's great Bryce is picking up words, he'll be saying new things every day soon! No, we don't use flash cards, there's so much in the world to show her, we don't need em. Junk mail is good for pictures if you want some variety, and books books books! Lily loves to read books alone now, and we are teaching her Auslan, so she signs all the words she knows too. So cute to watch her do it all by herself, and sometimes she gives herself a clap when she gets one right, just like I do when I'm there! :D She cracks me up!

meme I hope you all get a better night's sleep tonight :hugs: It's a long day when they're tired and cranky - Lily does mischievous and cheeky stuff when she's in this mood, throwing toys and food much more than usual. Also so clingy on these days. Lily loves to run around naked too! LOL So we have the potty there and she loves to sit on it, but keeps standing up to do her wee! LMAO Not too worried about it, she's still pretty young for TT.

I cut Lily's hair myself yesterday. This was the 3rd time I've given her a little trim off the ends. Daddy was there to distract her and everything, but he made her giggle and she threw her head back really hard, so I accidentally nicked her neck with the scissors! :eek: Twas only a tiny scratch, but she cried like mad and we felt sooooooo bad!! I had the shakes afterwards, thinking I'd really hurt her! Dunno if I can put myself thru it again, so I think we'll get to the hairdressers next time - my nerves are shot to pieces! LOL

meme
15-01-2007, 22:19
i too love hearing abour everyones cute bubba's.

today we found a little padded toilet seat in our local cheap shop. ( yanno $2 shop place) and lo fell in love with it.
i wish i hadn't bought it becoz all she wanted to do this arvo was sit on the toilet!!:laughing:

i really feel like we are on a fine line between baby and big girl, as sometimes she identifies with being my baby and other days that independance drive just makes her want to do everything herself. even things she cant' really manage yet.

i hope that we sleep beter tonight. last night she woke at 3 am and thought it was time to get up. hoo boy i hate seeing 3 am!

best get off to bed soon then!

Mojogal
15-01-2007, 22:34
meme My LO is also waking in the middle of the night lately, ready to play. Maddening isn't it? Just when you thought you had em all figured out eh?

LOL
Suze

mummade3
18-01-2007, 11:22
just wondering how all the june bubbas are going!!!

my boy is waking after midnight to come into my bed.. its so tiring..

he is getting funnier every day!! like right now he is trying to bitet the cats tail n my daughter is getting very worried!!
we went to the aquarium on monday for dd2's 10th birthday!! we all had a ball... its a pity my boy fell asleep before the big shark tunnel.. but before he fell asleep he had his face painted for the first time.. he was a little penguin... so very cute... i couldnt believe he let the girl do it as it was whole face!!

the most exciting part of the day for him was the birds that cam near our table inside the darling harbour eatery!!

he says many words now.. i try n write tehm down but always forget a few, my fave is bubbles, one more n oh no which he says for everything!! good or bad!!

he doesnt seem interested in toilet training.. he does like to run around naked tho.. n he has bad habit of putting hand down pants of a night time n repositioning his little man so he points up n pees right out of nappy... very frustrating cos he's doing it every night!!

he screams lots n throws lovely tantrums but alot of time its because his sisters are ignoring him!! i've told them to acknowledge him but they dont have to do everything he wants..

our boy is such a joy to have around!!

lanta01
18-01-2007, 11:47

mummade3- It sure sounds like you have your hands full! LOL, its great at the aquarium isnt it? We became members, so we can go as many times as we want for a whole year...bryce loves it! I think he likes going on the train and ferry the best tho! He loves the penguins, he hits the glass and yells at them in his little bubba language!!

Not much to reprot around here, bryce gave me the biggest fright this morning! I was driving back from dropping Dh at work and cruising along happily doing 100ks down the M5, when all of a sudden Bryce grabbs my shoulder and squeals and sticks his head into the front of the car! I mean JEEEZZ!! Hes only 19mnths and is still in a 5pnt car seat! I have no idea how he got out!! I dont think he can get the buckle undone....the only thing I can think of is the clip may be broken......I know he has spilt quite a bit of juice and food on that buckle.....

He got told off big time!!:shame:

Other than that, we bought him some flash cards yesterday and he isnt interested in them at all! We are trying really hard to teach him stuff, I was really happy at first because he said teddy 12 times in a row....and learnt moo, but since then he dosnt want to try to talk.....I guess I ll just keep trying!:o

hope your all well!

mummade3
18-01-2007, 12:15
hi all

lanta01 - my cousin had to buy a clip to kepp the shoulder staps in place on car seat as her daughter would slip arms out.. babies galore it think is where she found them!!

i havent bothered with flash cards tho i kno alot do.. my lukey doesnt sit stil long enough to use them.. he learns most of his words from sitting on bus, we see cows n horses, trucks busses or being in pram n walking... he loves to say moo n moon!! but last night we couldnt see the moon at all n he wasnt happy!!

have a good day little 19monthers!!