View Full Version : dec 05 mums.... (#3)

mytwolilprinces
01-01-2007, 18:35
jackie-lmao or even the due in sept 2007 thread! :laughing:
When i got pregnant with pp it took sooo many tests before it came up positive so who knows! but it did also take us along time to get pregnant too....

:laughing: I don't like to admit this but I have already taken about 5 tests ( I bought a bulk pack!) :eek: maybe I just enjoy peeing on a stick :o

elissas
01-01-2007, 21:21
I did 6 tests before I got a positive one with Will. I knew I was pg though, and insisted to Noel we were pg even though kept getting BFNs

:yes:

brooke
02-01-2007, 12:16
jackie- Bulk packs??? i didnt even know you could get them! what a great idea! well i still have no period so u never know.... here's for wishful thinking... lol i still cant believe im saying that! :eek:

emilysmumma
02-01-2007, 13:19
HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I hope you all had a good night. We ended up going to our friends place at Caloundra on the sunshine coast for a bbq. We went down to the beach for the fireworks which were a waste a time, they were crappy as, but Emily was in awe of them and the last two explosions had her cuddle into me with fright.

Went back to their place and I fell asleep getting Emily back to bed and DH woke me up about 11.00. I was not happy as would of happily slept the night through, but ended up going to bed around 3.00.

On the talk of possible pregnancies (no I'm not) I can completly understand not wanting another baby but wanting to at the same time. But I don't think any time is a good time for a baby. I think it just has to happen. We are always being asked if we are having another and I honestly can't say if I do or not. I want to but I can't seem to totally come to that decision in my head. Then other times of madness I have gladly said I could have 3 or 4 (just bypassed the actual births in this fantasy).

I'm sure we will have another, but I am waiting to move house first. We are hoping we can develop our block of land and build another house on it at the back but are still waiting for the approval. This way we will be able to all fit in a house as this one is so small, we don't have an actual laundry and it's not very user friendly. So once I know if we will build or move then I think it will happen.
But in saying that I'm only on the mini pill and are not using any other protection and AF came back after 8 months but very erratic. I get them every 2 weeks for the last 2 months which is very annoying.
So you never know what could happen............

Chumps
02-01-2007, 13:40

I'm starting to feel like the dec mum snob - only popping in every now and again, and rarely having much to say! Well, actually it's not that I don't have anything to say - it's finding the time without having Ryan attached to my leg to write anything more than 2 words :rolleyes:

Hope everyone had a fantastic time over christmas & new year, and of course thankyou to those lovely birthday wishes for Ryan. We had a pretty good day, except both Ryan & I had a bit of a cold. It was a pretty full on day with us passing between birthday / christmas mode, not knowing whether we were coming or going! I'm thinking it might take a few years to refine the technique!

Ryan is gonig full steam ahead now & only yesterday started walking all around the house as though he'd been doing it for years - must have been his new years resolution :D .

On the baby front, I'm hearing ya all! Hubby is on my case almost everyday about getting pregnant again. We had initially intended on trying after november - but I keep renigging! But I think (and he will be happy to hear this) we will be trying within the month. Considering I fell pregnant at the drop of a hat first time round, I don't think there is any room to play with. I want to feel ready, just in case it happens straight away again. Must say though, I'd be completely fine if it takes a little while. You should have heard him the day AF returned recently! He said - "see, it's your bodys way of telling you it's ready to go again":laughing: Who is he kidding?????? Thank god it didn't come back after a few months!!!!!!!

Oh boy, must go, bubs has just woken... till next time!

mytwolilprinces
02-01-2007, 14:26
Brooke - it wasn't that long ago you were saying you were NEVER having another - but I knew you would change your mind :laughing:

Chumps - we don't think you are a snob :D it's good to see you pop in though!

Sounds like a few of us might end up in back in the "due in" threads - how exciting.

I worked out on the calendar today that AF isn't actually due until the 6th, so the tests that I were doing were done too early - so there may still be hope for me. Although I have that deep down feeling that I'm not pregnant, despite the symptoms. With DS1 it took us 7 months to conceive. Blake only took 1 try, so my fertility is all over the place .....

Anyway, I will be keeping an eye out for :bfp: 's from some of the Dec mummies :smiliedance:

Chumps
02-01-2007, 14:26
And Brooke - did I read correctly that you were thinking about the shuffle to Qld? Ohh, that would be exciting to have another dec mum up here :smiliedance: .

Miss Sarah, we will have to organise another park date soon so our children can eat some bark & bugs together!

Chumps
02-01-2007, 14:29
Ha Jackie - I just glanced at your post & saw the :bfp: and thought you were announcing something! He he, then I read the rest ;)

mytwolilprinces
02-01-2007, 14:34
I thought that my post might get a bit of attention by putting that in ;)

I'm hoping I may be able to use that one legitimately soon though.

brodiebunch
02-01-2007, 15:26
Hi everyone!Just got back from my big trip.We all travelled well but today has been a nightmare.Were do I put all these new toys,books,and clothes?I will have to read back a bit to see whats been happening in dec bubs world.

DP and I have had the is it time for more babies talk,we havent really decided to try as such but to see what happens naturally.YAY one less tablet a day.He is a little concerned that I may not be ready yet with all I have been through,But i really want another one.We have even been talking names again.

Oliver is well and handled xmas better than expected.He has started getting really jelous when I hold other babies even head butting them.He has also started biting and laughing about it.He took 2 steps on the 30th and we all got our hopes up but he has not done it again.He was at the melbourne botanic gardens and saw another child with a bannana.He took the steps and then remembered he was on grass and chucked a tanty as he hates grass.talk to you all soon:wave:

mytwolilprinces
02-01-2007, 16:25
Brodiebunch - welcome to the ttc but not really trying club :laughing: - it's so exciting!

I still haven't managed to read back to what was happening between christmas and New Years - probably will never get the time, so if there was anything major that happened or any big news could someone fill me in? :D yes, I know I'm lazy.....

SJE
02-01-2007, 16:28
brodie bunch - I did some 'toy archiving'. Some will be sent up to mums ( rattles and stuff) Now there is room for more grown up toys - Yipee

About making another bub - DD took us 4 months and we were about to have a break for a month ( All that Bding can be tiring (sp?) when we finally concieved. Dont know how long the next one would take. The thought goes through my mind about whether the pg symtoms would be worse or better. about coping with 2 under 2, costs, career, body, equipment etc.
A little while back there were some scares when I thought we might be preg but my cycles were just doing some weird stuff. The :bfn: brought up a whole range of weird emotions.

Perhaps the mind turns to having more babies once the mum has forgotten what pregnancy and newborns are like; MS, fatigue, swelling, stretch marks, peeing like there is no tomorrow....
Maybe there is some weird 'I want another baby hormone' they havent discovered yet:detective:

Mytwolilprinces - I hope you get the pg result that you want.

Chumps - How lovely your hubby is so keen to make another baby! It can really add to excitment when you have someone else who shares it esp. in those 1st few weeks.

Emilysmumma - AF every two weeks:eek: that must have drove you nuts!

Brooke - Lets hope you get the results you want. You and DH made a beautiful DD so you should at least 3 more I reakon:laughing: If you are preg maybe this time your body copes with it better.

With bulk pack pg tests, some also come with ovulation tests. What a great idea

mytwolilprinces
02-01-2007, 16:36
Seejay - totally agree with you about the 12 months mark mysteriously bringing about a desire for another baby. It happened to me around the same time with DS1 - so I was expecting it this time around. Although I only want 3 so I don't know what I'll do when the same clucky feeling returns after baby number 3 :eek:

You must have seen the same bulk pack as I did, it had 5 ovulation tests and 3 or 4 preg tests (can't remember exact number) I got it from Coles - only $18 which is a bit of a bargain I reckon!

Me
02-01-2007, 20:14
Alright, I fess up! You can count me in on the "ttc but not really" club. I'm so confused too!!! Lately I've been thinking I want another but can we handle another, can we afford for me to take the time off work again etc, etc... OMG there are SOOOOOOOO many questions!!! so many decisions to make - and all in order to come to 1 HUGE decision. Isn't it funny how once 1 of us "fesses up" the rest of us do too:laughing:

Happy New Year to you all(sorry I'm a few days late!)! Hope you all saw the new year in a bit better than us(being woken by some bouistrous teenagers who proceeded to run havic in the neighbour hood until the police showed up and made their parents come and pick them up:laughing: to them!).

Brooke - Congrats to your friend. Hope she's feeling better soon - YAY another dec mummy!

I went on a little shopping spree today and bought myself 6 new shirts! I very rarely to this, but today I just let loose on the sales, and I must say, it was fun!

I felt really bad this afternoon because we took down all the christmas lights and tree over the weekend but this afternoon Caydence was pointing up at where the lights were and saying "oh oh" but there weren't any lights there:( Poor little girl, she's not going to understand where they've gone, I guess to look on the brighter side, I just have to imagine how excited she'll be next year when they go up(plus we have more lights for next year!!!).

I have decided that this year is my year of "back to basics". I've decided that life is becoming so over-complicated that when something happens, I'm going to do the basics to fix it, eg. DH and I don't spend enough time together for us, so from now on, we're going on a date once a week(yesterday's date was an hr long motorbike ride through the mountains - very nice), when Caydence was having her food tantrums I started waiting for her to tell me she's hungry and it worked a treat. I'm trying to adopt this "back to basics" idea into all different parts of my life, and hopefully, my life will become a little less full on and stressful, ppl have been trying to tell me for years that i need to do this(my nickname used to be "stress-less-jess") and I am finally doing it - I just want to be happier and healthier!

Sorry for the long post, just had lots i felt I wanted to share - better go before I blab on too much!

brooke
02-01-2007, 20:34
omg im so glad i found you ladies! :eek:
I thought i had lost you all for good!

haha im glad to see im not the only confused one... I like to call it the "12mth itch" :laughing:

Jess- back to basics sounds like a good idea... hmmm now i wonder how i manage to do that!

Chumps welcome back! your not a snob at all!

Seejay- i think no matter what you some how manage to "afford" another child...
I agree with sarah there is never a perfect time to have a child there will always be something!

I went and saw my friend and her new baby today... he was so adorable and i was so clucky being in the maternity ward and holding a new born baby.. i bought her some new born baby clothes and i couldnt bring my self to wrap them before dh got home because i wanted to show him! :o

Funkychicken
02-01-2007, 20:34
Hi Dec mummies. Wow, what a lot of chat over the last few days! :laughing: All this pregnancy talk. It's quite stirring for me I guess as it is like reading through my life about 7 years ago, just as reading this last year was like my life 8 years ago. Am I making sense? Going through all the pregnancy and birth stuff with you all in 2005 had me thinking back then about how I was when Tristan was born. All those firsts and the excitement and exhaustion everyone spoke about. I remember thinking, "I wonder if talk of next babies will arise at the one year mark?" :D This is exactly how I felt when Tristan turned one-I was overwhelmed with a need to have another baby. It is definately a phenomenon as it seems to happen to sop many of us at this point. So all the best to everyone trying and not-really-trying-but-sort-of-hoping. It took us three months to conceive Tristan, five months to conceive Ella (working on the girl baby principles) and Hamish was a "How the hell did that happen" conception.
We have not long returned from our New Year camping trip. We had to change our usual camp site due to the fires so we headed in a completely different direction. It was a a nice break but we missed a lot of the things we would normally have elsewhere. The river was dry, the 4WD tracks were (in DH's words) sissy-***, the grass was missing from the camp-site and I guess the big one was that because it was accessible by 2WD's, we had a couple of groups of yahoos nearby. The camp closest to us was a group of three young guys and one of them came over for a chat and was really nice, talking about his 9 month old DD at home but one of the other ones lost the plot at about 7pm. I don't know what he was on but he just went ballistic at his mate, blaming him for stealing his bourbon and smokes and the language was horrendous consdidering we had children present. In the end DH, BIL and friend went over and sorted it but it still took him ages to settle and he eventually hasd a punch-up with his freind who was so embarressed by his mated behaviour anf came over to apologise. DH also had an argument with his ister who invited 15 post-grad school kid's over to our fire. I had to go over and tell them sorry, but we have a baby and five children asleep and NYE or not, I can't have them being woken up. SIL wouldn't understand (No kids of her own) and it was a bit messy between her and DH. The school kids were fine and completely understood. The good news is that Hamish slept from 9pm until 3am amd our tent was closest to the celebration spot. And apart from having the police come to "do their duty" at about 2am, the night finished OK. I went to bed about 1.30am so missed the visit form the boys in blue.
We are now home, all showered, scrubbed and fresh again and looking forward to my own bed. :yes: As much as we love going camping, it is so tiring with a crawling one year old.
Happy New year everyone and I hope all your resolutions stand true and your wishes come true. :wave:

emilysmumma
02-01-2007, 20:36
Jess, sometimes it's hard to see the obvious :banghead: I try and use the K.I.S.S principle. Keep It Simple Stupid. Me being the stupid one. Instead of stressing about it, I do something about it, and hopefully the easiest way too.
Sounds nice your bike ride. We are trying to get out together for a movie night this week by ourselves. It will be the first time since bugalugs arrived. I'm actually trying to get him to the drive-in theatre with Emily tomorrow night then on Friday night it's his birthday (the old f*rt :D ) and we were given gold pass tickets to the cinemas so it should be romantic. Might even squeeze dinner in too, but not if it took as long to get Emily to bed as it did tonight, over an hour.
I tried to get her to bed an hour earlier as she had been up for over 4 hours, the most is usually 3 hours up. But her internal clock must be set to 7 as even though she was tired she wouldn't sleep till then which is her usual bed time.

To all those TTCer's, good luck with it all :hugs:

Tracey- Emily would love to eat dirt, bugs and leaves with Ryan. Shall email you.

Lis- I forgot to say it seems a bit worrisome about Will and his eating. Lets hope it's nothing to worry about.

Oh and SeejayElle, it's still every 2 weeks with the AF :(

Funkychicken
02-01-2007, 20:38
Oh, and Hamish has a new trick. Actually on old one rehashed. He claps and says, "Ayyyyyyy" and then when we clap back and say yay he cracks up laughing. Tonight I was breastfeeding him at bedtime and he was half asleep but clapping still! He tried to say Ayyyy but it was all muffled and gurgly. It was such a cute, special moment.

brooke
02-01-2007, 20:43
sal thats adorable! Hamish sounds like such a character!

emilysmumma
02-01-2007, 20:47
Hamish sounds like such a doll :)

On the boasting side, this evening as mum and Dh were getting Emily in her pj's after her bath. Yes it needed two of them :rolleyes: , they were asking where her nose, daddy's nose and gran's nose was and she pointed at all of their noses at the right time. She even one time tried to pull her gran's nose.

So when I came out they only thought to tell me at the last moment so I missed it all and were surprised that I would find it so amazing. Just a proud mumma!

Me
02-01-2007, 20:57
How cute of both Hamish and Emily!

Sal - camping with a 1yo just sounds so tiring - good on you for still doing it!

OMG is that the time!?! I've been on BH for HOURS:o

Funkychicken
02-01-2007, 21:02
Just a question (and probably a really stupid one). Because of daylight savings, the Bub Hub clock reads 10pm here but in QLD does it read 9pm or do you have to take an hour off it when you look at it?

mytwolilprinces
03-01-2007, 06:07
Sal - Good on you for your camping effort. Our holiday was hard enough with the kids and we stayed in a nice (but unfortunatley not childproof) house with a pool, so I can't imagine how hard camping could be with kids!

emilysmumma
03-01-2007, 06:41
Just a question (and probably a really stupid one). Because of daylight savings, the Bub Hub clock reads 10pm here but in QLD does it read 9pm or do you have to take an hour off it when you look at it?

I know the answer to this question but my sleep deprived brain just isn't getting it at the moment

brodiebunch
03-01-2007, 07:40
Never thought about the daylight savings time difference on posts things.Maybe because it hurts:D

I woke up with a chest infection today,I cant stop coughing.I have what the dr calls the green and yellows(thats code for coloured mucus and needing to go to visit him)My little neice who is 10mths gave it to me.She was just way to cute not to hug regardless of snotty nose and a cough.Well that serves me right.Oliver is fine.

Oliver has decided that he has to share all food and drinks with us.He gets so excited about offering us food and taking it in turns to eat.He has finally gone on to exactly the same food that we eat:smiliedance: and is a real mushroom muncher.He has also satrted nodding no and yes when you ask him questions,or lookinh and pointing at what you have asked him to find.Well I am off to look through my 2.5 thousand b'day and xmas pics(that is not an exageration).It is anoying to pic out the good ones,we have way to many photographers in our family and a baby willing to pose.

Me
03-01-2007, 12:26
Sal - yes, when it's 9pm here, the clock reads 9pm, does that answer your question?

Ohh :hugs: BB - hope you are feeling better soon.

On the illness front Caydence has a rash:( Took her to the dr's and they just think it's a reaction from her needles the other week, but have said to keep her home for the rest of the week just to be sure. Lucky dh isn't busy and it's not busy at my work either, so he'll look after her and if i get the chance to come home early I will(hehehe, already did it today!).

While Caydence is having a nap(my goodness some days that girl can sleep!), I might go catch a few zzzz's myself...

Caio

brodiebunch
03-01-2007, 12:39
I feel a little better now,thankfully all the new toys are keeping O busy so I can lie on the lounge and rest.I hope caydences rash is only from vaccinations.O got a rash after his on his legs chest and face and a temp that was up and down.Rashes are scary:eek: I always see them and think the worst.One came up quickly in my preBH days and we rushed him to hosp as the drs weren't open.They stuck us in isolation and kept us there for monitoring for about 6 hours.The nurses were panicking and the dr was concerend.He had a virus similar to meningitis,he was crook for about 2 weeks.

emilysmumma
03-01-2007, 13:09
OK, I have to apologised for posting when I just woke up and the little man hasn't had time to turn all the lights back on.:o
Sal- when I posted the oh so clever non answer to the daylight saving question, the time it posted is my time meaning qld time. Clear as mud?

Sickness can be scary. I hope Caydence and you BB feel better soon.

Funkychicken
03-01-2007, 13:28
Thanks girls. Just to clarify, you don't have DLS in QLD do you? Or do I recall reading something about it being introduced? If you don't and we both read the clock as say, 9pm, then Bub Hub is very clever! :D

emilysmumma
03-01-2007, 14:20
No daylight saving here in Qld. They are talking about introducing it only in the south-east region but who knows?

mytwolilprinces
03-01-2007, 15:06
JRMumma - how is Caydence? Has her rash improved at all?

Well, definatley no pregnancy for me this month - AF turned up today :(

Brooke - any luck yet? By the way, if you are after bulk packs of pg tests you can get them online ( they are $25 for 10 of them - saves so much money as DH goes off at me for how much I spend on tests!) PM if you want the website I bought mine from.

Well, not much else to report. Blake still hasn't started walking, even though we've had a few steps and he can stand on his own, he prefers to crawl - perhaps he is just lazy?? Can't believe he is nearly 13 months now! Time is flying .....

brooke
03-01-2007, 18:52
hello ladies...
wow looks like all of us are sick!
We had to take poor pp to the hospital at 3am because she had a temp of 40deg and threw up all over our bedroom! She seemed better this morning so we all went to work and i was so sleep deprived i actually fell down the stairs! :eek: My back is killing me and i have the worst carpet burn on my knees! and to top it off i then fell up the stairs... yes UP THE STAIRS later in the day! :o

mytwolilprinces
03-01-2007, 19:22
Oh Brooke - I hope you are ok after your fall? I fell UP the stairs when I was pregnant with Blake - although it was the outside stairs and it was because a possum growled at me :laughing: It hurts doesn't it?

Hope PP is feeling better now.

brooke
03-01-2007, 19:30
thanks jackie- yeah it does hurt! Its been years since ive had carpet burn! I swear i had a emotional meltdown when childcare called and said she was sick again! I was just over whelmed with guilt that i have to work and she has to go there! I just wanted to quit there and then but thats not practical either! So i have taken some holidays instead!

PP seems better just wingy...non stop winging!

Im busy planning a suprise 60th for my mil! I have no idea how i get myself into these things!

mytwolilprinces
03-01-2007, 19:34
Im busy planning a suprise 60th for my mil! I have no idea how i get myself into these things!

You're the party queen, that is why you get yourself into these things :D maybe you should get into event management!

brooke
03-01-2007, 19:36
thats what my neighbour says all the time... can u imagaine how stressful it would be as a full time job.. although im sure i would love it! Maybe i will do a course in it one day! :cool:

mytwolilprinces
03-01-2007, 19:43
Well if I ever need any party ideas I know who to PM .... although I've already had my wedding, christenings, oh but my 30th is coming up - but then again I am thinking of bypassing that one - don't really want to advertise how old I'm getting. I'm thinking of saying I'm 29 for the next 5 years or so!

On that note. I just happened to stumble across a thread in the ttc section on 30+ mums and how much trouble they are having conceiving. Of course now I'm stressing because I didn't get pregnant this month and am starting to worry that I won't be able to get pregnant. DH says that if it doesn't happen we won't be getting IVF as it's a sign from God that it wasn't meant to be - :rolleyes: how lame is that? I want reassurance that we will do everything possible to get our 3rd and final baby! None of this "leave it up to God business" (as you can probably tell DH is a bit more religious than I am!)

Oops, I've rambled again ... sorry :o

brooke
03-01-2007, 19:48
jackie- im sure that you will be fine.. it was only 12mths ago you were pregnant and i have a friend who is 33 and has a massive amount of trouble getting preg and staying pregnant you may remember me telling you about her... well she had her baby 8mth ago and she got pregnant again! :smiliedance: after only 2mths! i cant believe it!

mytwolilprinces
03-01-2007, 20:03
Thanks for the reassurance Brooke. I know I am just being paranoid - well hopefully I'm just being paranoid anyway.

I just ordered a pack of pregnancy tests so I'll be ready to test like a tiger next month :laughing: :laughing: Poor DH (or should I say lucky DH) will be a busy boy this month :D he has given up drinking for January - after going out on New Years with the boys and not getting home in time for our midnight kiss (so hopefully that should help things along a little). He actually got out a piece of paper and wrote up a "contract" to say that if he drinks he will do ALL the housework for a month blah blah blah, he got me to sign it and everything - all while he was still drunk. I've stuck it up on the fridge not sure that he realises Australia Day is coming up and he will be dying to have a beer that day!!!!

Funkychicken
03-01-2007, 21:06
Ah, Jackie. Don't stress luvey-I fell pregnant with Hamish at 34 and I have a number of friends having more babies after 35 and a few of those happened 'unplanned'. I'm sorry that AF arrived though. Here's :fingerscrossed: for next month.
Brooke, I remember falling when I was pregnant with Hamish. I decided to mow the lawns (I think i was about 7 months) and as I pushed the mower, I stood in a hole and knew that if I kept going I would roll my ankle, so I pushed the mower forward out of the way and fell forward landing on my hands and knees. The first thing I did was look around to make sure no-one saw me as I looked pretty silly! I hope you are OK and PP is recovering-it's so horrible when they are sick and I can't imagine how tired you must be feeling.

emilysmumma
03-01-2007, 22:14
Brooke- hugs to you and PP, I hope you are both feeling better soon.

Well it looks like it's going to be a long night. She has been so unsettled.

I have a feeling that Emily is having a bit of trouble with milk. Just before Christmas she got a bit of diaroehha (sp?) and her first cold as well. After her cold finished I started giving her porridge for breakfast which she loves, but with about half a cup of milk in it. I think her tummy is a bit sensitive to the milk for now as she has had a terrible f*rting problem. And I mean big stinky ones, all day and night. It seems to hurt her and is keeping her restless at night and waking all the time. The only thing I can think of thats different is the milk.
She will only sleep on her tummy but now rolls over so I can rub it for her to get her to sleep. Also just before she lets one rip she makes a little moan or squeek :(
So have given it up for now and will try in another couple of weeks.

I thought since she hasn't had any milk since yesterday things may be a bit better but it doesn't look like it. My milk supply has been upped with her feeding lots during the night, so that also could have her gulping air down trying not to drown when I feed her.
Who knows, but it's been every hour since 6.30 tonight and the last hour every 15 minutes or so. Thankfully my mum has pitched in at last to give me a hand. DH will be on call later tonight.

So here is some :hugs: to my little windy pants :laughing:

mytwolilprinces
04-01-2007, 06:30
Sarah, I think the milk could be the problem as the same thing happened to Blake when I gave him his first bottle of cows milk ( and milk on his weetbix ) I have gone back to using formula ( the toddler formula ) and he is fine - so there must be something about the cows milk that upsets his tummy. He was also getting HEAPS of gas and was scrunching up his legs in bed, crying and then letting out HUGE stinkies!

I told my GP and he said to try again in a few months as it can take some babies longer to adjust.

Hope emily gets better soon.

brooke
04-01-2007, 06:36
poor emily :hugs: sounds like she ahs a reaction to milk.. poor bubba... i hope she is feeling better soon!

jackie- i just re read what you wrote yesterday, dont ask me what i was on yesterday! lol...
what a bummer your af returned! Guess it means more baby making for next month! :D

I had the best sleep last night! I slept thru my dh having a coughing fit and having to sleep on the lounge! I must have been tired!

well its ment to be 40deg here in adelaide today... what a stinker!

emilysmumma
04-01-2007, 08:00
Jackie it seems like your DH will be getting a workout this month :laughing: It's lots of fun trying to make babies ;)

We ended up giving her some panadol around 11.00 last night and a BF, and she went into a deep restful sleep............for 40 minutes only.
Dh just bought her into bed with us which we had a fairly good sleep till 4.30 when she woke for a BF.
I have been out of bed since 5 and am in a really foul mood. It might have something to do with DH being still fast asleep. At least Emily has had b/fast and is
back asleep again.
So not to bring any bad vibes here with my crankiness
I shall just lurke today.

I hope everyone has a better day. Wish it was sunny and hot here like Adelaide,Brooke. Just cold, cloudy and wet but not raining.

brodiebunch
04-01-2007, 08:01
Brooke,40 deg and a sick princess and DH:hugs: :kiss: You need them!

Kisses to Emily too.When O started cows milk as a drink we were told to look out for that reaction and if it happened go to soy (he flatley refused formula).We had no probs though and he is the biggest milk pig.Good luck finding what works for you and Emily,It can be a long and stressful process.

I still am not feeling crash hot today and now Oli is coughing :( I am convinced that at least half are fake,but some sound nasty.He has become a real little chatter box in the last week.If you pay attention you can actually figure out what he is talking about by watching his body language and listening to repeated sounds.His new word yesterday was guddle,followed by a big hug for me.It wasnt to hard to guess that one!

Good luck all the over 30 ttc.It is hard enough at 26.With O we found out we were pregnant 3 days before seeing our specialist to start the IVF procedure.I have health probs. This time all will work out again.I wont go to IVF this time,I am not religous but At least I have 1 addorable baby.My sister is still not that lucky,at 29.5 her 1st IVF cycle is begining in feb.:fingerscrossed: My hopes this month unfortunatley are resting only on xmas day.It was really hard to find anytime for us as we had O in the same room at everyones house.I was ovulating at least.O was in his aunts room and they were out.DP decided he would try and give me an extra special present for my 26th birthday/christmas day.Sorry I have rambled a bit,chat soon

brodiebunch
04-01-2007, 08:05
Sorry Sarah,you posted while I was.Hope lurking helps you cheer up a bit.:hugs: to you

Chumps
04-01-2007, 08:32
Oh dear Sarah -

Hope your days gets a little better :hugs: . Sounds like your having a sh*t time atm :( .

elissas
04-01-2007, 09:47
Hope you're feeling a bit brighter Sarah!

On the cow's milk thing, we've had the same problem with DS, even if he only has 5ml. He seems to be fine with goats milk though.

My MIL told me that they never went to straight cows milk from bm/formula - she said they started by diluting it, and gradually increasing the strength.

I think I'm gonna stick with goats milk though.

On a slightly more positive note at our end, Will only woke twice last night between 11 and 7:30 - at 1:30 and then again at 4:30! He did that the night before too! Yippee. I feel hungover from the extra little bit of sleep.

And also on a positive note, he also watched us eat last night and mouthed a couple of times. That's the first time he's shown any interest in food for months. Of course, we put some on his high chair tray and he threw it on the ground after trying to offer it back to us (lil bugger has been trying to feed US since he was 8months old), but at least he was interested in it.

We're taking him to the GP today -probably end up with just a bunch of referrals... I'm also going to take him to a homeopath and naturopath to see if they have any advice.

OK, gotta run now - looks like he's munching down his favourite snack - some cardboard from the Chicken Snacks box that DH left out last night :banghead:

Then I better go make some phone calls for work - boring :sleeping:

Funkychicken
04-01-2007, 12:42
Wow, it's hot here today and if it's 40 in Adelaide it looks as though we will get even more hot weather over the next few days!
Sarah, when Tristan started on cows milk, we found he got quite constipated and I read somewhere that soy can be a great altenative for this ver yissue. So we put him on soy and then reintroduced cows milk on cereal after about 18 months. It worked a treat and by 2 years of age he was drinking both which I looked at as a good thing-an extra food couldn't hurt him. he won't touch it now at 8yo but it served it's purpose at the time. Goat's milk, as Elissa has said, is a great alternative too. Most naturopaths will probably recommend this.
I've got a picture to share from our camping trip-Hamish playing in his Uncle M's 'playpen".

http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/9286/pic01783so5.jpg

brodiebunch
04-01-2007, 12:47
Hamish is a real cutie!They look like very pinchable cheeks.

Just brought a slow cooker,I am off to work it out :chef:

mytwolilprinces
04-01-2007, 13:12
Sal - Hamish is so cute! His hair is exactly like Blakes - they actually look a fair bit alike :) Love the play-pen too ...... looks like he was enjoying it!

SJE
04-01-2007, 15:03
Emilysmumma- not too good about the AF every two weeks - I'd keep an eye on those iron levels.

Sal - How do you keep your hands off those cheeks! Very cute

With the whole milk thing - bubs is a bit behind the eight ball as far as food is concerned so we are going to keep up with the formula for a while yet. We picked up a super bargain today the Heinz Nuture Gold 2 were only $11 each - woohoo. More money for more fun things:thumbsup:

Brooke - You've had your three things in a row. Time for three nice things to happen to you :yes:

Can we have a TTC but not TTCing thread where we can talk about trying without any pressure? Ppl might think we are crazy though and tell us all to just do it.

elissas
04-01-2007, 15:52
Elissas - not too good about the AF every two weeks - I'd keep an eye on those iron levels.

hehe - that ain't me... I haven't had mine for nearly 2 years!!! :eek:

We took Will to the GP today and she was useless. I left feeling worse. She didn't listen at all and tried to tell me that it's probably not anything but "nurture" and that I have to cut back the breast feeds. I'm happy to do that, and I think it's mostly behavioural, but all I want to do is rule out any physiological probs before pursuing the behavioural side any further. I figure if there's a problem physically, then trying to make him eat would be more traumatic than anything.

Time to make the trek to our old, but awesome GP (he's 1.5hrs away in Healesville, but worth the drive). So we'll go there on Monday and speak to him instead.

On a brighter note, Will voluntarily ate half a toast finger for lunch! My sister brought her friend over who has a 6yo boy, and while Tristan was eating his sandwich I put toast in front of Will, and he stared at Tris while biting and chewing. So this kiddy thing might work!

Sal - Hamish is gorgeous!! That looks like up Neerim way? Am I right?

brooke
04-01-2007, 15:52
sal- hamish is so adorable!

seejay- what a great idea... a non ttc but ttc thread lol... dont tell my adelaide mummies! :o

we have put pp on to straight cows milk and so far so good... and plus its working out so much cheaper.. we have also cut out all day time bottle feeds and now just having one before bed! its saving so much time and money its amazing! im really feeling the differnce!

its so hot and dry here in adelaide today! our poor air con is really struggling!

emilysmumma
04-01-2007, 15:59
Thanks everyone on reassuring me that it's most likely the milk that's causing the windy problem.
Thought as much, but who would of thought no more than half a cup a day could do so much.
She does eat yoghurt nearly everyday and has now for months with no ill affect, which I presume is all that good bacteria working, and occasionally some cheese.

That is one very, very cute pic of Hamish.

brooke
04-01-2007, 16:07
is it just my silly internet or does everyone get the same message when they go to "new posts"
it keeps coming up data error! :banghead:

emilysmumma
04-01-2007, 16:08
[QUOTE=elissas;957934]hehe - that ain't me... I haven't had mine for nearly 2 years!!! :eek:
QUOTE]

That's me she means.

Never thought about iron levels. It may have something to do with my crankiness today :laughing:
Seriously though I feel like I have no reserves left, that I have nothing left to give. I just put it to tiredness and I guess it mostly is, but may look if I can take some supplement while I'm b/feeding to give me a boost.

emilysmumma
04-01-2007, 16:09
is it just my silly internet or does everyone get the same message when they go to "new posts"
it keeps coming up data error! :banghead:

yep, it's been going on since last night and they are aware of it. It's annoying.

brooke
04-01-2007, 16:12
phew glad it isnt just mine! and i can actually still speak to you girls!

Chumps
04-01-2007, 16:27
Hiya all,

Thought I'd take this opportunity to jump on pc - Ryan is having his 1 in 100 marathon sleep - has been out since about 1pm :eek: . But I'm loving it after the morning we had!

Decided to get out & about for a bit, headed into Indooroopilly only to find Ryan won't sit in his pram for more than 20 mins at a time (which I knew about already) but now we refuse to sit in my arms either - so I ended up leaving in a huff with a wriggling writhing baby kind of on my arm shoved into my hip :D . Then I thought I was being stalked (as you do) :rolleyes: I'm so paranoid these days when I go shopping! So worried about being car jacked :laughing: . The car jacking is ok (as long as the car gets written off) but I'd prefer it to not happen with Ryan involved!

Blah blah blah I'm in one of those moods.....going stir crazy I suspect.

brooke
04-01-2007, 16:30
lmao tracey! car jacked! haha i always say to my dh i wish some one would steal our car and write it off... one could be so lucky! :laughing:

emilysmumma
04-01-2007, 16:37
Not to worry Tracey, I'm paranoid too when I go out.
As soon as I get in the car I lock the doors, always have my keys ready before I get to the car and am always looking over my shoulder. People must think I'm nuts the way I put my head down and peak around whilst loading the groceries in the boot. :o

Chumps
04-01-2007, 16:45
Maybe it's just a Brisbane thing????? :o

God help us if we went shopping together Sarah, we'd look like we we're doing drug deals or the like :laughing:

emilysmumma
04-01-2007, 17:01
Hey Tracey, I may just not have ever noticed before but have you changed your signature to read that you are 31 now or have you always been? :o

mytwolilprinces
04-01-2007, 19:05
Sarah and Tracey - please tell me Brisbane isn't that scary as we are thinking of moving there sometime in the next 18 months! Sydney is scary enough (remember the Cronulla Race Riots - I live right near Cronulla and the hospital I gave birth to Blake at is just up the road from where all the action was going on, each night I heard sirens during my stay and the middies would update me on what was happening down the road!)

Seejay - a ttc but not really ttc'ing thread would be perfect - although I think I am now officially ttc :eek: I can't deny it anymore - I want another baby!

Brooke - hope you survived your heatwave!

mytwolilprinces
04-01-2007, 19:07
Oh, just realised there are not other Dec mummies online atm ..... it's so lonely in here - come back girls!!!

Me
04-01-2007, 19:26
I'm here Jackie!*Jumps up and down for attention*:laughing:

Me
04-01-2007, 19:37
Caydence's rash got worse today:eek: She had a restless night, but I went to work as normal, she slept in for over an hr this morning, then got up, had her milk and breakfast then went straight back to bed. I asked dh to ring me when she woke up so i knew how she was going, by 11 I hadn't heard from him so i rang and his reply was "Sh!t I forgot about her, I'll go check on her":eek: it was ok, she moved when he went in there but kept sleeping. She ended up waking up at 12! that's a 5hr NAP!!! he checked her out when she got up and the spots were about 4 times bigger than last night, so i rushed home from work and rushed her down the dr's(she had a fever too) but again was told it just viral, except this time the dr explained to me how he came to that conclusion, which really did help me feel better about the situation. So she's in bed, in an hr has already awoken once, so i'm hoping that's it for the night. Dr's said she should be improving tomorrow but if she's not to take her back. if she's restless again tonight and seeming in pain i'll probably just take her up to the hospital - rashes are scary and i'd rather not take the chance if she's getting worse.

Brooke - Is PP getting better? I really hope so - Hugs to both of you. Don't worry about the stairs, i constantly fall up the stairs*OMG did i really just admit that - oops!*

Don't worry Jackie, Brisbane's not that scary, we're just all paranoid(yes, I did say we because I do it too!). Wouldn't it be great if you moved to here, and Brooke too, then the rest of you will just have to follow:laughing:

I've taken tomorrow off work as well, so will can be home with Caydence. I'm sure some mummy hugs will help her to get better, plus a sleep-in for me wouldn't go astray!

Sarah - I hope Emily is feeling better and you are getting some more sleep. When I was taking iron tablets, I found Fefol to be really good - you can just get them from the chemist.

Anyway, must go check out what's been happening on the hub - I haven't been on in 31 hrs - a lot can happen in that time:laughing:

emilysmumma
04-01-2007, 19:38
Jackie i'm just a paranoid freak :eek:
Brisbane is fine. We have never been broken into in the 5 years we have lived here.
My old car was broken into once about 4 years ago. It was my own fault. I parked outside my friends house and left the window paritally down and the stereo face in the stereo. The only time I had ever left it in. It was around 1 in the morning and she lived in a not so good area and a really bad area was right next to her, literally. On the other side of the fence was one of the worse suburbs here. Needless to say they ripped the stereo out.
So a big "DUH" on my part. Talk about making it easy for them.

Chumps
04-01-2007, 19:41
Im here kind of too - in between caring for Chumps & DH :laughing: .

Yes Sarah, Mrs Observant, I did change my sig BUT, the age thing changed 2 months ago :D :laughing: .

No Jackie, Brisbane isn't that bad at all! I'm sure all places have their down side, but we are just over paranoid mumma's I think! It seems you travel along fine, then you hear about a story on the news, and that guard goes up again. I guess that's life though. Can't afford to be at all complacent these days unfortunately.

emilysmumma
04-01-2007, 19:41
Jess, big hugs to Caydence :hugs:
I hope it's an easy night for you both and she is better when she wakes up tomorrow.

Chumps
04-01-2007, 19:42
Paranoid, paranoid - we should make that our middle name Sarah!

emilysmumma
04-01-2007, 19:44
I guess a belated happybirthday is in order then for you Tracey.

emilysmumma
04-01-2007, 19:47
Jackie......Jackie, where are you?

We are here at your request and you've taken off :no:

Not to worry this will be me for tonight.

I hope you all have a lovely sleep because that's what I'm hoping for, after a late dinner of homemade pizza, Yum!

Me
04-01-2007, 19:47
Another belated happybirthday Tracey - I hope you got spoilt!

mytwolilprinces
04-01-2007, 19:56
I'm back again, not for long though as Blake is still up and is whinging so I guess he's finally getting tired :fingerscrossed:

Hope all the sick bubs get better soon.

Ok, quick question for all you Brisbane Girls, what areas of Brisbane should we avoid if we move there? And what area's are good for kids and where you can pick up a house for high $300's/low $400k mark?

Me
04-01-2007, 19:59
Jackie - renting or buying?

mytwolilprinces
04-01-2007, 20:00
Buying, for no more than about $430,000 so a suburb within that price range around Brisbane - is there much for that type of price?

brodiebunch
04-01-2007, 20:02
Hi guys.Thought I would say goodnight as i was on here changing my avatar.I don't like it though so will probably change it tommorrow night:o It was taken last week in melbourne.

I had never thought about saftey in the car from other people.Now I am Paranoid:eek:

:hugs: To all the sick babies mums.I hope you all get a good sleep.

mytwolilprinces
04-01-2007, 20:05
Goodnight Brodiebunch - by the way, I like the avatar pic - cute!

brodiebunch
04-01-2007, 20:08
He was so grumpy because his Gran(my MIL) wouldn't put him down.He eventually bit her and she got the message.It was so hard not to LOL as I felt like doing something similar to her myself:p

Me
04-01-2007, 20:09
There are lots of really nice homes in great locations for that price Jackie. It will ultilmately come down to how far you want to be from the city and what kind of home you like. For that price you could even build a new home at somewhere like North Lakes(30-45mins from the city, maybe an hr in traffic?!?). Also depends on how many bedrooms you want - I'm assuming at least 4(master, Josh, Blake and the soon to be concieved no 3!). A holiday up here would be the best way to see what houses are available and in what locations - and of course we'd all take you out for lunch!:D

Me
04-01-2007, 20:09
Nighty Night BB. I hope you and Oli get a good nights sleep to help you both recover.

Chumps
04-01-2007, 20:10
Jackie -

Sarah is at Fig Tree Pocket, but I'm not sure of prices there. It can be pricy - but probably some still in your range. I'm at Jindalee not far from her. Prices here are pretty good, older part, but definately within that range! If you look at a Brissie map, out the west way, you ideally wouldn't want to go out any further than Jindalee / Mount Ommaney area. I'm not familiar with any other sides of town sorry! I guess an easier way is if you look & then ask us opinions on what you find!!!! Always up for being critical :D .

brodiebunch
04-01-2007, 20:12
Goodnight all,Have fun talking house.:wave:

mytwolilprinces
04-01-2007, 20:16
Thanks girls, we are probably going to come up there for a holiday and a look around at the end of this year :fingerscrossed: I've been to Brisbane before and DH has cousins that live in Alderley.

Just out of interest, how long would it take to drive from the northen surburbs of the gold coast to Brisbane? DH loves the beach and wants to be near the ocean if possible so that is always an option too.

Me
04-01-2007, 20:17
Fig Tree Pocket is a lovely area. We were going to buy there years ago but DH didn't want me travelling that far to work(back then I was working nights and would have had to travel over mountains to get to work - literally!). We were driving past there the other night and I got so sad that we didn't buy there when we had the chance, although I love our area too, but I have a lot of friends already living out that way or moving out that way.

Me
04-01-2007, 20:19
Only an hr, maybe allow a bit more for peak our traffic. We've got a few of our guys at work who live on the coast and I work 10 mins from the city. I've never heard any of them complain about the drive. 2 of them have also just moved up from Sydney.

Me
04-01-2007, 20:30
Well I've gone wayyyyyyyyy over my 1.43 post per day average, so I'm going to call it a night.

Jackie - if you have any more questions on suburbs, feel free to ask!

Night Night!:sleeping:

Reidymac
04-01-2007, 21:48
Good grief :eek: You dec mummies sure can chat!!!! :D a girl gets a little distracted in the Christmas festivities and the next thing there is a new thread, heaps of pages to catch up on and a mind blowing 47 posts in the last 12 hours........well done!

There is no hope for me to catch up on all the goss so in summary.........Hope you all had a great Christmas and new year, hope the sick little ones are all on the mend, hope there is some long and restful evenings for the mummies, and all of my fingers and toes will be crossed for all the clucky mummies not trying to try not to get pregnant......or is that trying to conceive without trying to ...........or not trying.......who are bonking alot without fear of consequence:D

I do have to say don't stress about the TTC 30+ Jackie! I'm sure you wont have to wait too long and you are not alone! there are a few of us blue rinse mummies here in the dec thread. My first was at 31 and Liam at 33 both took only 2 cycles not trying not to get pregnant. Ahhh I remember it well... a two week christmas break with nothing else to do and no protection to do it with, nine months later a september bay girl, now 3year old monster;)

Reidymac
04-01-2007, 22:04
Ahhh I remember it well... a two week christmas break with nothing else to do and no protection to do it with, nine months later a September bay girl, now 3year old monster;)

Ohhhh, I just rememberd... this means I have been perpetually pregnant or breast feeding for 4 whole years straight. 4 whole, long, sleep deprived, years. I'm not sure if that means I deserve a medal or a little lie down :laughing: :rolleyes: :laughing:

Funkychicken
04-01-2007, 22:06
Wow-what a lot of chatting in the last eight hours! And talk of moving! The Dec mummies will be the QLD mummies with one or two living elsewhere-one of them being me here in Vic, thinking about you all out drinking lattes and eating cake! :p I hope all turns out well for both of you Jackie and Brooke.
Sarah, how are you feeling? Are you recovered from your sleeplessness? The iron idea is a very good one. Whenever my iron drops even a little, I feel like a train wreck.
Jess I hope Caydence is feeling better too.
Elissa, the pic was taken just outside of Blackwood, in the Wombat State Forest.
Also, I have a great, caring GP in Berwick that I have been going to for 11 years. If you are interested, let me know and I will PM you the name and phone number.

Reidy, how lovely to hear from you. Was christmas fun for you and your family? We haven't heard any mention of not-really-trying-but-not-trying-not-to from you on a personal level????? Is there plans for any more bambinos in your family? :D

Brodiebunch-I love that avatar pic. It looks perfect where it is.

Funkychicken
04-01-2007, 22:10
Ohhhh, I just rememberd... this means I have been perpetually pregnant or breast feeding for 4 whole years straight. 4 whole, long, sleep deprived, years. I'm not sure if that means I deserve a meddle or a little lie down :laughing: :rolleyes: :laughing:
Definately both Reidy! I have done that 4 year stint of pregnancy and BF (just short actually, thanks to a self-weaning DD) and I know I needed a lie down. It took four and a half years of lying down to recover but I must have stayed there too long though because when I got up, I was pregnant again!!! :laughing:

brooke
04-01-2007, 22:22
ladies you have all been busy in here tonight! :eek:

Jess- i hope caydence feels better soon! Poor pp still has a really high temp! I wish it would just go down!
I am really hoping she gets over what ever she has soon, I feel bad for saying it but i cant take much more of the wingying! :crying:

Jackie- moving to brisbane! haha we can all move there! :yelclap:

Reidymac
04-01-2007, 22:45
Reidy, how lovely to hear from you. Was christmas fun for you and your family? We haven't heard any mention of not-really-trying-but-not-trying-not-to from you on a personal level????? Is there plans for any more bambinos in your family? :D

don't make me tell Sal! My lips are sealed :p I am a superstitious girl and and besides I wouldn't know what to say .......trying not to try not to try and conceive while not really trying......trying to not.......its all too trying........... bonking alot with fear of consequence :p

Hi ya Brooke :hugs: hope pp is asleep now and feeling much better in the morning

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 06:02
Reidy, YES, you deserve a medal and a rest.

Oh, I have a funny story - in the supermarket checkout with DH and both Josh & Blake sitting in the trolley. The checkout lady looks at the boys and says "oh, one's got blue eyes and one brown how strange" then another franklins checkout lady looks over and says to her "what's your problem with that (nicely) it's modern times!" so she was assuming that Josh and Blake were not both my DH's!!!! I was shocked (and a bit offended because my boys are both my DH's) I have blue eyes and DH has brown, so it's not as though it isn't possible for us to produce a blue eyed baby together :rolleyes:

I ALWAYS get comments when out shopping, mostly people look at them and say "gee, you've got your hands full" - or "you are going to have a busy christmas" blah blah blah. Just wait until the see me carting 3 kids around the shops - BRING ON THE RUDE COMMENTS OLD BIDDIES!:laughing:

brodiebunch
05-01-2007, 07:34
You have to LOVE:rolleyes: the old ducks(that is sarcastic).I have been asked and abused many times about being a tenage mum?I am 26.Is it my fault I look young?And dont start me on old people and dummies,Nips of scotch/brandy in bottles all that wonderful advice.On a nicer note I have had some helpful tips mostly from men.People just seem to feel that as a young mum with a first baby its their place to comment.

Okay enough venting.I woke up(if you could call 3hrs sleep in half hour shifts sleeping)on the wrong side of the bed.O had a really bad night:crying: he woke every hour screaming.Dont know what is wrong but he usually does that for a couple of days when he has a growth spurt.I hope that is all it is.Every time I woke up I had a coughing fit and I would just get back to sleep and O would wake up again.Then the one time I drifted into a nice sleep I woke up and needed to pee.Nanna naps for me today:sleeping:

I only just realised that the christmas smilies are still there.I thought they would have been replaced by easter ones on boxing day...LOL.There was actually eggs in coles on the 26th and hot cross bun have arrived.Yum hot cross buns,I love Bakers delights ones and If I am feeling naughty a choc one.Its my one food weakness.

brodiebunch
05-01-2007, 07:41
Just went into to see why O wasn't sleeping.While changing his pooey nappy he smiled and he has 6 teeth that look like they are going to crack:eek: No wonder he is grumpy.

Me
05-01-2007, 08:00
OMG BB no wonder Oli's grumpy! 6 teeth at once, ouch. big :hugs: to you and Oli - :fingerscrossed: he's feeling better soon so that you can both get some much needed rest.

Reidy - I think you deserve a big glass of champagne to toast you on your amazing mummy efforts! Well done!

Oh I know what you all mean about the rude comments. My mum was a young mum and so am I so when we are out together and she is holding Caydence everyone thinks she's the mum. The looks I get when I make it known that I'm the mum are astounding! When I was pg my wedding ring physically didn't fit me, so i didn't bother wearing it, but was told on a number of occassions that I should be wearing it because I look like an un-wed mother! Even if I was, there's nothing wrong with that. There are seriously some ppl out there who have a lot of prejudices, I wish ppl could just accept each other for who they are! Grrr, sorry, vent over.

I should be sleeping, but a good movies on, might go snuggle up to dh and watch it:D

brodiebunch
05-01-2007, 08:08
Yep I could be in for a rough time.When he wakes I will start him on his Brauer teething relief.It is homeopathic and seems to work.I have been looking in his mouth for ages wondering when he would get another tooth.I checked yesterday and couldn't see anything!Oh well at least he will be able to chew better.I also better go and buy some bread to make teething rusks.A sleep would be nice but I think I will have a bath instead.

brooke
05-01-2007, 08:12
- reidy lmao "trying not to try not to try and conceive while not really trying......trying to not.......its all too trying........... bonking alot with fear of consequence "

that is the funniest thing ive heard in ages!

Well ive just woken up! i cant believe it! pp is still sleeping! :smiliedance: Poor little thing still has a high temp! i just wish the doc"s would say exactly what it is!

Jackie- I cant believe the comments people make!

I was waiting at a popular itialian pizza bar yesterday to get lunch for me and some friends and there was this "chubby" little boy who pp was blowing kisses too and trying to talk too and he just sat there next to us grumpy with his hands folded and then all of a suddon he turns around and hits pp! :eek: wth! so i turned around and was like "that wasnt very nice" as calm as i could and his mum was like "oh its ok he is used to it he as a baby sister" so i said "no he hit her!!!" and boy did he get in trouble she asked him to apoligise and he spat at her! :eek:
Poor pp! she was still blowing him kisses though!

Funkychicken
05-01-2007, 08:13
BB-I hope you get a few nana naps in today! I know I could do with one.
My mum had my brother at 22 (they had been married for a year) and when she took him as a toddler to the movies, the lady said to her," Two child tickets is it?":laughing: I think the fact that mum used to wear her hair in piggy tails probably contributed to that! As a teenager we were always getting the, "Are you sister's" comment. Mum loved it but I'm a bit worried about what that says about me!
Hope you enjoy the movie, Jess.

Me
05-01-2007, 08:15
:eek: did the little boy get in trouble for spitting? Poor PP!

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 08:19
Brodie - hope Ollie gets his teeth thru without too much trouble!

Jess - when I was pregnant with DS1 (I was 26) I got a LOT of dirty looks from people thinking I was too young to have a baby. It wasn't so bad when I was pregnant with Blake as I guess I aged a bit since (28) but I still had a lot of people tell me I looked too young to have kids.

Actually, even my ob asked me when I saw her for DS1 if my pregnancy was planned :eek: she said I was the youngest patient she had - WTF I was 26??

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 08:25
Oh, so many posts all whilst I was posting!

Sal - that's funny about your mum, maybe I should start wearing pigtails to knock a few years off my look - the old ladies will be chasing after me to voice their concerns no doubt!

Brooke - PP sounds so cute, hope that little boy changes his attitude towards girls before he grows up :D

brooke
05-01-2007, 08:29
jackie- when i first saw my midwife she said i was the "prime" age for having a baby! isnt it weird! I cant say ive had any comments or stares or anything.. i thought i might of.. the only time i had a comment was my first check up with cyh and the nurse said wow your young to be a mum! and i was like am i??? :rolleyes: then she procceed to say she was the same age when she had her 1st! so i was like well whats the problem then????

brooke
05-01-2007, 08:32
the little boy got in a heap of trouble! I kinda felt bad after dont ask me why but then i saw thinking... i kind of felt like kicking him when he did it! :o Im so horriable!

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 08:51
Brooke - my cyh barely looked at me. I had DH with me and it was like HE was there for the check up. He's a very chatty guy and usually manages to be the centre of attention. Especially when he brings up his brother ( who's in a fairly well known band ) and then they start discussing what's been in the papers etc blah blah, drives me nuts. I was like "umm hello, we are to check the baby!!!!" Even when I go there to get check ups she STILL asks about my DH and my BIL.

brodiebunch
05-01-2007, 09:08
LOL.I get the same thing when I do anything like that with DP.My SIL is in a pretty well known band too.I just dont go to the drs with him anymore.

When DP and I went to book into the hosp the midwife was suprised to find out that we were both the same age.He looks older and I look younger.It was a real scandal when we first moved to bega as evryone thought I was 16 and he was 30ish:D The midwife was even more suprised it was a planned preg, as she said most these days were accidents.She was on duty when we went into hosp and all the midwives that day were really excited cause we didn't know the sex.It was fun before the probs kicked in.they were placing bets and saying that about 90% of peeple they get know the sex.They were a bit disapointed that I wanted DP to tell me the sex though.It made the long day a little shorter.

Oh my long bath was great;) I used some products from Lush that I got for Xmas.

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 09:14
Hey Brodie - what band is your SIL in (if you don't mind saying?) - it's funny because DH always says he's embarrassed about it but he brings it up to strangers so he can't be THAT embarrassed :laughing:

I got some LUSH products for christmas too - one just opened in Miranda so basically everyone I know bought me something from there ( not complaining though!)

brodiebunch
05-01-2007, 09:21
She is in a group called KAYA.Based in sydney,they are a girl group,4 of them,sing barefoot and (they would like to forget)on the X factor.They are bigger in mel,and QLD.

When I was in miranda on the 15th I shopped up a storm at Lush.My fav thing is a soap called gratuituos violets,flowed by the ickle baby baff bath bombs.They smell so good and O and I can share the pleasure

brodiebunch
05-01-2007, 09:22
I use honey I washed the kids on him.I end up sniffing him all day.

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 09:27
Brodie, I have heard of them. My BIL is the lead singer of The Vines :o he's had a lot of bad press in the past but please everyone don't stop talking to me as DH and I are not like him!

I got the "Snow Fairy" pack from LUSH, it's really nice and leaves your skin sparkly which is a bonus!

brodiebunch
05-01-2007, 09:34
Lucky I dont read any music reviews or the like.I couldn't judge anyone anyway as we belive my step bro is on ice and has a 9mth old baby girl.Thankfully he has nothing to do with her anymore.

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 14:11
Brodie, yeah - I don't read the reviews either but I usually have friends calling or emailing me "just to let me know" what has been said about him - or they just want free tickets to stuff (now THAT annoys me!)

brooke
05-01-2007, 14:28
jackie- :eek: the vines! they are a huge band! you never know the boys might grow up to be rock stars! :cool:

BM- i have heard for kaya too... they have beautiful voices!

can you tell i love my music... in this house mtv and club v are ALWAY one.. pp is always dancing along to the music!

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 14:35
Brooke - I hope they don't! I don't want them to take after their Uncle :eek:

brodiebunch
05-01-2007, 17:11
In case you haven't noticed I have changed my avatar again.Dinner time for the boy then bed,then best of all mummy time!

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 17:13
Great pic Brodie, have a good nite.

brodiebunch
05-01-2007, 18:21
So much for me time.:mad: :mad: DP has just taken off to take photos of the sunset.He wants me time.Meanwhile cricket tommorrow which goes all day apparently does not count.Oli wont go to sleep,I am exhausted and all i want to do is cry.

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 18:24
:hugs: Brodie, I know how you feel. I just had a huge fight with DH. He walked in the door complaining about being "starving" I was in the middle of bathing the boys and thought we had decided to get pizza tonight (we emailed during the day). He yelled at me and told me that I had "failed" to provide him with dinner WTF?

Men!

SJE
05-01-2007, 20:34
Where is our Thinking of trying thread?

emilysmumma
05-01-2007, 20:42
Men......humph!

So sorry for you Jackie and BB that they are testing your limits.

Wow us girls can sure go on. Check out all those posts yesterday.
Nice to see you around again Reidy. I have to say I would never of thought you are that age. You look like a spring chicken to me :thumbsup:

How are Caydence and PP going with their sickness?
Hopefully a whole lot better.

Hey Jackie you don't have to worry about me trying to get any insider info on your BIL. I've heard of the band but wouldn't be able to name a song.
I'm hopeless with the latest music. My radio in the car is set to the AM station which plays "older" type like Daydream Beliver by The Monkees :p
I do have 2 new cd's of Pink and Snow Patrol but that's only because DH likes a couple of songs and bought them himself.
How old am I? Rapidly approaching 30 too.

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 20:50
Sarah - don't worry I am also hopeless with the latest music. I have a total of 3 (yes, only 3) cd's which I listen to in the car (pete murray,missy higgins & ministry of sound chillout sessions) and they are the ONLY thing I listen to - sometimes the radio too but not that often! To be honest I don't even like my BIL's music (hope DH doesn't read this :eek: )

Seejay .... I have been lurking in the normal ttc thread but all the ladies are so certain that they do actually want to ttc - so I feel like a bit of an intruder as some days I really want to get pg other days I think I should wait a while!

Funkychicken
05-01-2007, 20:53
I was a HUGE fan of JJJ and only ever listened to it. I have always disliked (still do, probably more passionately now) commercail radio. It makes my skin crawl trying to listen to all the ads. But a few years ago I had to concede defeat with JJJ. I could no longer turn it on and sing along. I realised I was no longer a part of the youth movement that is JJJ. :crying:
If I try to listen to it now, I am completely lost! I think when Paul, Mikey and the Sandman finished up in the mornings and then Helen and Judith finished up their day session, it was the end of that part of my life.
So now I listen to a local non-commercial station that plays some awesome blues and rock stuff and none of the mortgage/viagra/mathematics ads that DH keeps telling me about. Plus I find myself listening more and more to ABC classic FM-can't go past Margaret Throsby for a great, interesting interview. :thumbsup:
And to finish off my choice in radio, I occasionally flick to the oldies station that is increasingly playing more and more of my teenage years music! :eek: It is scary to think that Duran Duran is considered golden and olden!
I have heard of The Vines though-I'm sure my brother has seen them live a few times.
BB and Jackie, I'm sorry your other halves are being inconsiderate-it really sucks when they are like that and you are the one who geuinely needs a break. (((But you've done nothing all day! I've worked all day, surely you could have had dinner ready? And what do you mean you need some time to yourself, you have that all day!))) :rolleyes: Yeah, right.

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 21:03
Sal- I too used to be a huge triple J listener. Yes, back in the days of Sandman ( I even had a "sandman" t-shirt) those were the days of Nirvana, Pearl Jam ( I had the biggest crush on Eddie Vedder ) Violent Femmes .... then I found that triple J started to play a lot of Hip Hop and other cr*p that I just couldn't get into. I still tune into the hottest 100, just to see what's going on though :thumbsup:

Duran Duran was slightly before my time and besides, I was too much of a grunge try-hard. I refused to listen to anything if it had a beat in it - ha ha!

Now I'm blessed to hear anything that isn't sung by a bunch of guys in colourful skivvies! The sad thing is that "hot potato, hot potato" is actually very catchy and I often find myself singing along to "rock-a-bye your bear!" :o

SJE
05-01-2007, 21:04
The Vines - Are they more alternative or am I just getting old?

Attempting to think from a man's perspective * very strained look on face*perhaps they feel they have had a big day. Maybe the boss or the customers were being a pain. Dh used to think I have it easy - a couple of days with bubs soon changed his mind!

mytwolilprinces
05-01-2007, 21:10
Seejay, they are alternative/rock - they are not that popular so don't feel old for not knowing them!

As for the mans' perspective. DH admits he has it easy at work - I know because I worked in the same industry as him prior to maternity leave. He was just hungry and being hungry makes him go a bit crazy I think. I got an apologetic phone call whilst he was out getting Red Rooster for his dinner ( I didn't give him and cook for him ) I told him to get his own food!

Funkychicken
05-01-2007, 21:51
I have the same thing with DH. Our jobs were identical before I started maternity leave the first time and I mentioned that a few times in early days!:rolleyes: I rememebr saying to him, "I know exactly what your day was like and I also know that what I have done today was a whole lot more challenging! I KNOW which is the easier job."

mytwolilprinces
06-01-2007, 06:53
I have the same thing with DH. Our jobs were identical before I started maternity leave the first time and I mentioned that a few times in early days!:rolleyes: I rememebr saying to him, "I know exactly what your day was like and I also know that what I have done today was a whole lot more challenging! I KNOW which is the easier job."

That's right! I remind him that he gets a lunchbreak - which usually last for hours and involves a fancy restaurant and wine and can put things off if he doesn't want to do them. It's not like I can say "oh, don't think I'll give Blake & Josh their lunch today - I'll do it tomorrow" and "I don't feel like changing Blake's nappy right now - maybe I'll pass it on to someone else to have a look out" IF ONLY I COULD DO THAT!

Me
06-01-2007, 06:58
Huge :hugs: Jackie and BB. Sounds like you both need to send off your dh/dp with your boys and enjoy your Lush products alone!

Thank-fully Caydence is getting better, but I've come down with Tonsilitus:thumbsdown: Well I've had my 3 bad things happen for this year already(Caydence getting sick, me getting sick and Caydence burning her mouth:eek: - dh was giving her dinner while i was downstairs with a friend, so he opened a tin of baby food and followed the instructions(heat on high for 1 min and stir before serving), after 47 sec he decided that would do, so he got it out stirred it, left it on the bench for 5 mins, stirred and tested it, he thought it was ok, but something in there was too hot and it burnt her mouth, not too bad thankfully, but still enough to hurt. it's not like our microwave it high wattage or anything - it's over 20 yrs old!!! he rang heinz to complain about their instructions - what would have happened if he'd heated it for the whole minute!grrr! she's ok now, but had a rough nights sleep). So the original point is :fingerscrossed: that's my share of bad things for this year!

little chicken needs some breakfast so I'll have to pop back on later.

Funkychicken
06-01-2007, 07:02
Poor Caydence! I hope her mouth is OK. It is always one of my fears that I'll burn one of my babies mouths. I remember being worried about this with both of our other children. I go a bit overboard with the taste/heat testing but Hamsish doesn't complain. :D

mytwolilprinces
06-01-2007, 07:19
Ouch, poor Caydence! I also go overboard with the heat testing too. Actually Blake is now used to it being pretty cold ( I am overly cautious! ) poor thing wouldn't know what hot food tasted like I don't think!

Me
06-01-2007, 07:42
She's fine. She doesn't usually have hot food either, I only started heating her food a few weeks ago(just to luke warm). I'm more worried about dh - he's pretty upset about it, but it's not his fault, he was just following the stupid instructions - I'd hate to be the rep from Heinz who has to ring him back on monday - I'm sure they're going to cop it.

BTW - Reidy, your PM box is full!

Seems like a few of us were in the same industry as our dh's prior to maternity leave. We too are in the same industry, but 2 different sides to the industry, mines more traditional and his is more technologically advanced!

On the music note, Caydence is a HUGE hip hop fan!:cool: when she hears a hip hop song she starts dancing away, she's just recently started swaying to a slower beat. It's very cute! Ever since she was very little she could be screaming her head off, hear a Ne-Yo song and go dead silent til the end of the song then start screaming again! Always assures a few minutes break during a screaming session! As for me, I'm a bit of an allrounder, I like a lot of older stuff, but the only really modern stuff that I like is hip hop, but not all of it, I'm pretty picky!

I'm sure I've bored you all - sorry! just talkative, and my mouth doesn't feel like co-operative so my fingers have taken over!he he he

Have a great weekend:wave:

mytwolilprinces
06-01-2007, 09:25
Yeah, I would be telling Heinz off big time. Maybe they can send you some freebies to make up for it?

Tell your DH not to feel too bad, things like that happen all the time. Blake fell out of his highchair because my DH unstrapped him and then turned away to do something else - he felt bad for ages! He has also accidently kicked Blake in the face - Blake was crawling behind him and he didn't know he was there he turned around and Blake got a foot in his face :eek:

brodiebunch
06-01-2007, 18:06
Hi ladies.Just a quick one.Oli is still a teething monster.I am still tired but he did sleep a little better last night once his teething relief kicked in(9.30) he screamed between 6.30(norm bed time) and 9.30 and I couldnt do anything for him as I had exhausted all my means of getting him to sleep.

Had a good chat with DP this morning.He went and had a good think last night and he has decided that we are wholeheartedly TTC:smiliedance:

Poor caydence:kiss: she has had a bit of a rough trot.I hope the year picks up for you.

I am now going to devour a bag of salt and vinegar chips.Catch you all tommorrow.

mytwolilprinces
06-01-2007, 18:46
Had a good chat with DP this morning.He went and had a good think last night and he has decided that we are wholeheartedly TTC:smiliedance:

Congrats Brodie - that's great news! There might be a few of us that end up having bubs in the same month again - gee, what thread would we pick - we might need to create a Dec 05/Sept 07 Thread (or would it be October 07 - sorry my calculations are not great!).

Had a bit of a stressful day, Blake has been crying and clingy all day, I am not sure what his problem is, I have given him some panadol as I've had a bit of a cold and sinus headache and he may have the same?? Took him to the beach this morning and it was a nightmare, he just crawled straight into the surf and could not be stopped! He has no fear of anything that child - I didn't have my swimmers on so I couldn't take him in properly, just ended up with very wet pants and wet sand all over me!

Me
06-01-2007, 19:22
:hugs: Jackie. Hopefully Blake will be in better moods tomorrow.

:smiliedance: BB! How exciting! BTW, Jackie, it'd be Oct 07(was checking dates today:o ) I also had a chat with DH today and we are now officially not-ttc-but-not-trying-to-not-conceive!:smiliedance:

BB Salt and Vinegar are my favorite! Got to be smiths crinkle cut for me! Love them, my mouth is drooling just thinking about them...

Well I've got a killer headache and a long night ahead of me - Caydence had a really bad knock on the head this afternoon so I rang the health line to see how long I had to wait before I put her to bed(because she was due for a sleep and I was worried about concussion), and they told me that tonight I have to check on her every 2 hours! I personally think it's a bit OTT but will still do it. She seems completely fine, but it's something that I don't want to take a chance with. Might go grab some sleep while I can. Nighty night all

mytwolilprinces
06-01-2007, 21:01
OMG! There are so many of us ttc but not really ttc now, it's so exciting ( I think I've said that about 50 times already ) wonder who will be the first to get "knocked up" don't you just love that saying :rolleyes:

Ok, well I am jumping way ahead of myself here but if I were to conceive this month my due date would be around 11 Oct 07 :eek: that seems so close - oh but hang on, I'm not even pg yet! To be honest I think it will take me a while. I am not in my best health atm. I am a bit stressed and haven't been eating well so I think it will make it harder when ttc.

As for having to check on Caydence every 2 hrs, it does seem full on. I have never heard of that. Blake had hit his head HARD many many times and I haven't done a thing - I feel like a very slack mum now. It has crossed my mind that all the hits that he's had must be doing some damage to that soft little brain of his!

Anyway, gotta run - good movie just started (SBS American Independants every Sat night - love em!)

Me
07-01-2007, 08:10
your right Jackie, 2 hrly checks did seem pretty full on, I was talking to DH about how we were going to do the checks(who was to do which ones etc), and we just decided we'd check on her whenever we were up, rather than 2 hrly. Although for me, that meant most of the night, my tonsilitus has now come with a free cold included!:gloomy: I'm feeling pretty cruddy today, had a long hot shower when i first got up hoping it'd help, but didn't have much energy to stand up, so sat there, it was nice. dh cooked us both a lovely big breakfast, so that's given me some more energy too.

Yesterday afternoon after having my little chat with dh, I was going to the shops to buy nappies for Caydence and had a HUGE look around the baby section:o Clucky - OMG yes!!! I'm trying really hard not to buy anything, I don't want to put any pressure on DH, and also don't want to jinx myself. It took us a long time for Caydence to come along, so I'm too confident on falling pg quickly this time either. If i get too ahead of myself I'll just get disappointed iykwim.

i don't even know if any of this has made any sense, so i'm going to go back to bed - my head is pounding and a soft pillow sounds so inviting!

Funkychicken
07-01-2007, 08:14
:hugs: to you Jess. Being sick is horrible. Touch wood, I have remained relatively healthy this year. I rememebr the year after Ella was born (and during the entire pregnancy) I was sick ALL the time! I never got past one cold and another was there waiting for me. I think I spent a year walking around with a box of tissues and a very sore nose as well as a sore chest and throat! Maybe it's a girl baby thing??
Take care and rest up. You need energy for other things! :rolleyes: :D

brodiebunch
07-01-2007, 09:06
Jess,I hope you pick up quickly.It can be so hard to get the rest that you need to recover.I have had my chest infection scince boxing day and just cant shake it.Not to sick anymore but barking all the time.I have never worried about bumps to the head as DS went through a stage of head butting his cot to get to sleep:banghead: .He even gave himself nose bleeds.Thankfully that has stopped.But now I feel a little bad,what if he did have concusion and I didnt know?Hope caydence is alright.:hugs: To both of you

Jackie,Love the pilchers!Were did you find them?.O has a good collection of them but nothing that great.

We had another shocker night.Oli slept from 6.30-9 then woke up screaming and tearing at his mouth and ears.I had almost got him to sleep and he heard DP laugh at the tv.He started singing out to him as he was not there at bedtime.DP came in and that was the end of sleep.We tried and tried but he just wanted to play with dad.He got so worked up cause we wouldnt let him that he screamed till 11.30.He woke at 6 this morn so grumpy and is back asleep now,so is DP.

Not doing anything exciting today,probably just housework.we might go to a friends after lunch if they are home.It will give us both a break.The friends are almost like mine and DP adopted parents.Great to have when there isnt any family around.

Me
07-01-2007, 09:23
big :hugs: BB. You are having a bad run atm, hope things look up soon and both you and Oli are back to normal again soon.

:laughing: DH showed Caydence the speakers the other day, now she's obsessed with feeling the vibrations of them - she's currently holding onto them while she's dancing away. too cute.

Brooke - I showed DH the Maxi Rider today, and we'll wait til we see it on sale, and probably pick one up then. He doesn't really see the value in the II over the I so we might have to go and have a look at both of them - I think that the I is on sale at toys r us atm, might head in there today to have a quick look at it.

Ohh Caydence just started singing!

brodiebunch
07-01-2007, 09:41
Funny you said that about feeling normal.I just had a nice shower and then put on the first really pretty undie set scince 15wks preg. with O.And it was a new one:yelclap: blue and lacey.I just hope I get at little enjoyment out of it before no.2 starts cooking:laughing: .It feels really comfy and very normal.Have fun shopping

Funkychicken
07-01-2007, 10:01
They are too cute when they start dancing. Ella adored dancing. She used to bop up and down with her fists in the air and her fav music was always Doof (DH's-not mine!).
BB, I hope you can get a rest in today as well as O. Did you mean me when you mentioned the pilchers?
Well, we are off to the trout farm today. I have been promising Tristan for so long so it's about time! Picnic lunch and hopefully some fish to bring home. :fingerscrossed:
Have a lovely Sunday everyone. :wave:

brodiebunch
07-01-2007, 11:45
Yeah I did mean you?

Reidymac
07-01-2007, 15:03
Hello lovely people :wave: hope your all having suitably restful and enjoyable afternoons. I am sending get well vibs to you BB and JRmumma hope you are both feeling much improved.

Jess we have a maxi rider 1 for little G. We bought it in early 2005 so she would be over the convertible when Liam arrived. At the time the Maxi rider 2 were only just coming out on the market a bit of an unknown and $500+. Back then the 1 seemed like the safest most highly regarded option. If you wanted to check it out, have a chat about the pro's and cons, or take it for a test run you would be very welcome

Sal, I just had to say this post had me laughing so hard I almost wet myself (as one of these advance years is prone to do :p ) You are a kindred spirit indeed. Everything you said was so spot on I felt like I could have written the same post word for word.

I was a HUGE fan of JJJ and only ever listened to it. ..... had to concede defeat with JJJ.......I think when Paul, Mikey and the Sandman finished up in the mornings and then Helen and Judith finished up their day session, it was the end of that part of my life.....So now I listen to a local ...mortgage/viagra/mathematics ads .......Margaret Throsby.....occasionally flick to the oldies station that is increasingly playing more and more of my teenage years music! It is scary to think that Duran Duran is considered golden and olden!

I used to live and breath for music. I put myself through school and uni working 7 years in an independent 'record' store and playing in a couple of bands. If we weren't playing we were out dancing or seeing other bands. Then as a youth worker I was involved in the start up and running of a couple of youth culture and music festivals like Homebake and Field Days, even working at the Big Day Out for a few years. Youth music has always been a big part of day to day work and the 3+hour commute to work and back every day for 12 years meant plenty of JJJ listening time too. Now ......... I hear a lot of Mozart as played by the fisher price piano and various other noisy toys:laughing: I prefer radio interviews and documentaries. I even got a $100 music store voucher from my big bro OS for Christmas and cant imagine what I'm going to do with it? DH is still into music in a big way but now the hundreds of records and CD's we have are gathering dust and it's all MP3's traded and downloaded .......He always has music going. This morning he had video hits on TV and I was disgusted to see the special "Retro Show" was quite familiar but hardly retro!!!!:laughing:

mytwolilprinces
07-01-2007, 15:25
Reidy - I was watching the so called "retro" show on video hits also - geez, if they call that retro then what do they class the great hits by the likes of Boy George, Bananarama and Sinead O'Conner as???

It made me feel so old when they played a "No doubt" song and called it "retro" :eek:

Sal - they are great pilchers! I have to admit I have been slack with my cloth nappies latley. I am finding it hard to completley convert. They seem to leak and to be honest I can not get past the wet cloth smell. I can SMELL Blake when he has a wet nappy - with sposies he is odour free and there are no leaks...... any ideas to help me get past these issues??

Better go. DH and I are making like members of parliament and debating and creating our "budget07" so much fun!

Charlie
07-01-2007, 16:20
Just thought I'd pop in quickly to let everyone know Princess Paige is in Hospital with a urine infection:gloomy: , she went in on Friday & will hopefully :fingerscrossed: be home tomorrow after some more tests, she has been on a drip every 6 hours & had lots of needles ( which Brooke was very brave about ), she will be on antibiotics for a few months & is having some tests on her kidneys to be safe aswell :crying:

mytwolilprinces
07-01-2007, 16:30
Charlie - thanks so much for letting us all know! Please pass on lots of :hugs: to Brooke and little PP from all of us Dec Mummies!

Poor PP :crying:

Funkychicken
07-01-2007, 18:42
:hugs: to Paige and also to Brooke. We know how terrified she is of needles! Thanks for the update Charlie.
Cute soakers hey? they are made by a WAHM who has an online business. They were my present to Hamish for christmas and also cost more than any other nappy or cover I have bought-$40! But a percentage went to the Wildlife Warriors so I just had to get them. :D
Ah, Reidy, in another life we would have been teenage friends, I am sure of it.
This afternoon we watched My Favourite Album on the ABC (I think it was repeat) hosted by Mif, and it was the top ten albums as voted by Australians. I was commenting and even guessed right twice as to what would be next and DH just gave me those looks with the comment, "Yes Miss music expert". :rolleyes: For anyone who hasn't seen it, it was very much in the style of Spicks and Specks (My fav show!) and was probabl;y the most enjoyable thing I have seen on TV in a very long time. I actually sat and watched it in it's entirety-something no other show has done for me in a very, very long time.
This morning we went off to the Trout Farm. Apart from the rain, it was a fun adventure. I've got a few links here to the results of the day.
http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/605/pic01801hi6.jpg

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/4299/pic01802nn5.jpg

http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/2528/pic01806qo1.jpg

We just had them for dinner and they were really yummy.

Me
07-01-2007, 19:44
:hugs: and :kiss: to both you and PP, Brooke. I hope PP is on the mend and they find the cause. Good on you for being brave about the needles, we all know how much you hate them.:hugs:

Thanks Charlie for the update.

mytwolilprinces
07-01-2007, 21:22
[QUOTE=Funkychicken;968111]:This afternoon we watched My Favourite Album on the ABC (I think it was repeat) hosted by Mif, and it was the top ten albums as voted by Australians. QUOTE]

Sal - I watched that too! It was really interesting wasn't it?

Great Pics too - Hamish looks a bit freaked out by the fishy - I can't say I blame him. I don't mind catching them but I can't bring myself to touch them, so slippery and smelly! Oh, can you tell I'm not an "outdoors" girl. We have a huge, and I mean HUGE blue tongue in our yard atm. Although I reckon he's more like a goanna or something - his head is as big as my hand and I'm not exagerating. He is living under our house and comes out to steal scraps from the bbq. I am TERRIFIED of him ... I can hear him rustling around through the garden and when the sounds get too close I grab the kids and run inside as I can picture him taking a big bite out of blake's chunky little toes :eek:

Oops, rambled again....

Wonder how PP is going - hope she is on the mend :fingerscrossed:

Funkychicken
07-01-2007, 21:50
LOL Jackie! I used to 'catch' blueys with my brother when we were kids. Along with little skinks which we used to race in our card houses. Whichever skink appeared first was the winner-but I'm sure many went missing, to live out their lives in a quiet corner of our loungeroom.:D I'm an outdoors girl but in all honesty, fishing doesn't do a lot for me. I was jumping when the fish were flipping over on the grass. I couldn't bring myself to touch them either. Fishing doesn't rank high on my excitement list of outdoors activities-it's a little bit too sedate for me but the important thing today was that the children enjoyed the day. I have resolved to spend more time having fun with them this year, as I arise out of the baby fog of last year and this was a step in that direction.

brodiebunch
08-01-2007, 07:49
We had a nice outdoor adventure yesterday afternoon.When Oli had woken from his afternoon nap we decided to go to the A friends house.It was so hot and muggy and Oli was really uncomfy.The people have a creek in there back yard and 2 swimming holes.It is in the most beautiful bush setting.We spent ages splashing and swimming,O loved it and he was so happy to have no nappy on.Dp was really proud as oli Pulled himself up on my legs turned around and pee'd off a rock,men:laughing: 5 mins latter he sat and did another one and splashed in it:eek: back into the water.We ended up staying for dinner.It was great.Oh and they gave me a huge box of there kids duplo and some books.

:hugs: PP and mummy.I almost cried when I read the post.I hope there is no problems with her Kidneys etc.My thoughts are with you.

SJE
08-01-2007, 08:53
Poor little PP

Hope things are better today and she gets to go home soon.

my two little princes - Dont worry spiders esp. redbacks terrify me! Its just the whole legs, fangs and hiding waiting to surprise me. Just the sight of them turns my legs to jelly.

emilysmumma
08-01-2007, 09:59
Oh No! Poor Paige, that is just terrible. My thoughts are with you Brooke. Let's hope she will be home soon.

Sounds like a nice afternoon BB with Oliver swimming. It's going to be a stinker here today, how I wish for a pool, but the air con will have to do. Chumps and I have cancelled our playdate as it will be too hot down at the park and Emily has her vaccinations this afternoon. And Ryan tomorrow :(

Friday was Dh's birthday and we had a nice day. We went to the movies while my mum looked after Emily. The first time she has been offically "babysat" since she arrived, and the first time we have gone out by ourselves.
We have a tradition of birthday plus 1, meaning the day after your birthday is treated as your birthday as well. Good tradition to have :thumbsup:
So we had a bbq down by the river with some friends and they stayed the night. Dh had a great time, completly sloshed and is now covered in huge mossie bites on his arms and legs, even on the back of his neck. Not sure where he was when he got them because no one else has. Mossies just lurve him and he always puts on repellant, but this time he was just a bit late in applying it due to his sloshiness.

On the Emily front, she is going full throttle in getting this walking business worked out. She now will stand up and walk up to 7 steps to you, usually 3 or 4 before she loses her balance and falls down. Also another tooth is just about through which will make 5 all together.

How's this. Tomorrow I have booked an appointment with Dh and my mum. When Emily wakes up they are going to take her, feed her and put her back for her morning sleep so I can sleep in till she wakes up from her morning sleep. So hopefully that will be around 10-11. I've just been so tired. I've started taking iron tablets but thought no one is offering to help more so I will make them. I get the best sleep when I know I don't have to get up for her or keep an ear out for her. Because occasionally Dh will take her in the morning so I can sleep solidly for an hour. It's such a deep sleep it feels like only seconds have passed and I have to wake up again.
Until she sleeps through the night I'm planning on making this at least a monthly occurance.

Funkychicken
08-01-2007, 10:09
Good on you, Sarah. :thumbsup: It is so tiring being the only one getting up to a baby every time they wake and it is such a treat to be left in bed, knowing that bub is in good hands. I still wake to Hamish at least twice a night for a BF but if he is having a rough night it can be more often. He hasn't had a day feed for at least two weeks now:crying: and if I try he just bites me and laughs so I am still happy to feed him through the night. I think I'm the one not ready to wean him yet!
BB, it sounds like O had a great day swimming. They love the water at this age. We took Hamish to the beach last Thursday night and he had so much fun being nappy free. If I dig a small hole at the shore, he gets straight into it. I can dig holes all lined up next to one another and he goes from one to the next so fast.
Hi Seejay, nice to see your little avatar in here. :wave:

mytwolilprinces
08-01-2007, 11:32
Sarah- congrats of arranging some sleep for yourself - you deserve it. Sometimes if you don't ask for help, you just never get it. It's the same with me. I have to ask DH to look after the kids for me so I can get a bit of a break. He doesn't do well with letting me sleep in as usually the boys end up banging on the bedroom door crying and DH is too wrapt up in the newspaper or the tv to notice!

Just had a friend over with her little boy who is the same age as Blake, it amazing how differently babies develop. He walks around everywhere ( and Blake can only crawl ) but then Blake can clap hands and do actions to nursery rhymes and he can't - so they all have their own acheivements :yes:

Well, better go. Blake is busy trying to bite my bottom (which is hanging over the edge of the chair!) I wish he would get past this biting stage :eek:

brodiebunch
08-01-2007, 12:08
Biting:eek: I wish Oli would stop too!Yesterday morn DP was trying to have a sleep in after a rough night of getting up,Oli crawled into the room lined up DP's big toe and chomped down.He woke up pretty fast:mad: Next time he might close the door.He has also started biting the cats,but only gets a mouthful of fur.

The beach is the only water my little fishy wont go near.He loves the sand but screams at the waves.

:sleeping: !How nice a sleep in would be!I might take a leaf out of your book Sarah.Otherwise it will never happen.

Funkychicken
08-01-2007, 12:15
What is it with the biting? Neither of our other two ever bit but Hamish does it all the time. More so when he is tired but it has gotten to the stage that every time he plants his face on me I am ready for him to bite. It spoils our cuddles. :(

Chumps
08-01-2007, 12:33

Sounds like everyone has their hands full with little chompers at the moment! I hope Ryan doesn't think it's ok to start that activity. I'm sure it's only a matter of time though. I'd be happy if Ryan just continues to kiss everything in sight........ maybe he's 'a lover, not a fighter :laughing: '

Well, I think Ryan is definately in the self weaning process. Yesterday was the first day he had only 2 booby feeds. They were at 5am & 5pm. So didn't even need it to fall asleep last night. Then he managed to sleep right through for me. Wonderful it was, I managed to get myself 6 hours straight :sleeping: . It was great, although DH doesn't know what I was so happy about....... typical. Generally now, Ryan is sleeping through most nights anyway, but I think I'm still in that routine of at least waking every few hours, even if it's not to get up.

My sister in law is due to have her baby any day now, so I'm guessing once she pops, those clucky clucky clucks will definately & I can give DH the green light!!!!I was doing a bit of a tidy up this am & packed away some old clothes of Ryans - oh my god, the size 00000 wondersuit that swam on him......

mytwolilprinces
08-01-2007, 13:19
Sal - Josh didn't bite either, so I don't know why Blake is doing it? The hardest thing is that now JOSH copies Blake and yesterday (when I had my gym tights on) Josh walked up and bit down HARD on my backside. I screamed and jumped around and yelled and smacked him on the arm (I am not a smacker by the way) I felt so so soooo horrible for smacking him but it was just an uncontrollable reaction. Poor Josh didn't know what had happened. He was confused because he see's Blake do it and I usually just push Blake away - I certainly don't smack him.

Anyway, I think Josh learnt not to do it again, he told DH "I ate mummy" when he asked why he was crying!

So now I have a big bite mark on my bottom and a huge case of the guilts for having such a bad reaction - but it really really HURT!!!

brodiebunch
08-01-2007, 13:19
00000 wodersuits.They are just the cutest things.Oli was so small he swam in his 5-0's as well.I got really teary going through them a few weeks ago :crying: Where has my little baby gone.

I am also waiting for a sister to have her baby.She was due on the 5th but there is still no movement.Cant wait till it happens,:smiliedance: a new neice or nephew for me,that will make 4.

To all those mums with self weaning bubs:hugs: It can be really hard to deal with.I was a wreak for a week or 2 when Oli did it.People kept saying it was good and I was so lucky.I knew that but it felt like losing our special bonding time.I cried ALOT and knew that it was the end of BF.On the last BF I got DP to take a pic so that I would always remember the special way Bubs used to snuggle into me in the morn,I cried and gave him a long hug and offered him the bottle.When he took it I cried some more but could see that was what he wanted.DP waited till I was ready to share the feeding responsibilites but was so happy:D when it happened.This may sound silly but it was like the end of a 9.5mth realationship.Now I have so much more energy and Oli is happier so I can see in retrospect that it was great.It took almost 3mths for my milk to dry up and every time I saw a BF mother and got sad I leaked. OOPS I am rambling.

brodiebunch
08-01-2007, 13:23
I smaked Oli the other day on the bum and cried.I was digusted with myself.He bit me really hard on the leg and didnt let go.I think I shocked myself more than him.It was not hard at all just a tap but that is no excuse.He laughed at me and crawled away.

mytwolilprinces
08-01-2007, 13:38
It's hard to know how to deal with the biting. I try not to make too much of a fuss when Blake does it as he tends to find my "stern voice" amusing. My mum tells me that I don't sound cranky enough, but I don't know how to do that deep scary voice that the "super nanny" suggests! Blake laughs when I say no, so I find just removing him from the situation helps ( he has a huge tantrum though ).

Josh, on the other hand knows all too well when I am angry, most of the time he doesn't care and talks back etc so I find the best tactic with him is to remove myself. If I walk away from him and give him no eye contact he gets really upset and says "sorry mummy". He really is turning into such an adorable boy atm. He will be 3 in March and I woke up yesterday and realised that in 2 years he will be starting primary school :eek: I feel like crying just thinking about it!

Sal - did you go through this with your older 2?

Reidymac
08-01-2007, 14:03
What a vicious group of vampire babies we have :devil6: Liam is currently (for the last month) cutting his 4 double molars (soon he'll have 12 teeth). poor little man has been quite distressed and some days would chew off his own foot if he thought it would help. Needless to say there has been lots of biting and a grumpy sleepless boy. DH though it was sweet until Liam attempted to remove a portion of DH's thigh muscle......that'll learn him

Liam was biting me every feed for two weeks over christmas. It was quite deliberate.. he would assume the feeding position, watch me out of the corner of his eye, pull back his lips and take a good nip then laugh. I tried to stay calm and say no, stop for a minute then start again, after every third attempt I would put him down and walk away. It seemed like the only thing to do but I soon realized it had been a week since the last successful feed and he was maybe self weaning. Naturally I panicked :eek: and did something naughty I'm not very proud of :cool: *shifty eye emoticon* On attempting the next few feeds I watched for the signs I was about to get bitten and quickly squirted him with milk before he bit down. :o Poor little fella was left shocked, coughing and spluttering , I mostly got him in the back of the throat but a few times in the eye and up the nose. I didn't realize it would come out with such force but it worked, he has stopped biting me and if anything he has actually increased his feeds. Now if someone could give me some advice on how to keep him still and get him to stop trying to climb down and walk away "while still feeding from me" I would be very happy

Reidymac
08-01-2007, 14:28
Hi Brooke, saw your light on. How are things with you and little PP? Hope your both OK you have been in our thoughts . Big hugs to you and the princess

brooke
08-01-2007, 14:37
hello ladies,

I have been trying to read over all the posts but i finally gave up! eek
Charlie thank you for updating the girls for me!

PP and I are finally home... I dont think i could have taken another night in there! PP was so brave with all the needles and catheter etc... did way better than me! She had an ultra sound today and it came back that her kidneys are enlarged and there is a mark on her urine track or something along those lines its all hard to understand. She goes in for another test on the 24th where they will put in a catheter and shot some dye up there and take x rays as she pees as they seem to think she has a reflux issue with her urine.. if she does and its only minor then just anti biotics should be able to help if not then she may require surgery! Im still in a bit of shock... my poor baby! I wish she didnt have to go thru all of this! :crying:
You should have seen her face when we pulled up in the driveway at home.. she started clapping yelling out LEO LEO LEO (our doggy) it was so cute!

I will up date you all more as i learn more.. but for the moment she is on 2 different types of anti biotics!

Reidymac
08-01-2007, 14:58
Happy to hear you are home :hugs: Poor little Paige. I'll be keeping my fingers crossed that the antibiotics do the trick. Not sure if this helps much but I noticed a few other hubbers talking about urinary reflux lately. Might be woth doing a search or staring a thread for information on what how, treatments etc.. Hope the whole family get some rest today and that you are all feeling much better soon. :hugs:

mytwolilprinces
08-01-2007, 15:05
Brooke - :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: to you and especially PP! I really hope you find out what is wrong soon and when you do let's hope it's easily fixed!

Reidy - well, after reading your post I'm grateful I stopped bf Blake a long time back as I think a bite on the shoulder and leg is bad enough - but on the boob, now that would be agony! :laughing: I love your squirting tactics though!

Funkychicken
08-01-2007, 15:17
Oh, poor little Paige! How awful for her and for you to watch her going through this, Brooke. I'll keep my :fingerscrossed: that it is a simple issue, treatable with antibiotics. :hugs: to you both.

Jackie, I had no biting issues with either Tristan or Ella. They just didn't do it. Although Tristan once bit two other babies at mother's group when he was about 7 months old. One mother (today my dear friend) was fine and rang me that night to see if I was OK! The other mother cracked the s#@ts with me because I refused to bite my baby back!

Reidy, we have been on the booby biting rollercoaster for a few months now. He did it the day he turned eight months and had one brand new tooth-that hurt. He has since gone through stages and I think part of it was that he just didn't want any booby at that time and would bite instead. I got sneaky too and started to feed him while he was asleep or only just waking. :D I would hear him stir and immediately go in and lie down next to him and before he knew it, he was feeding!
I think for me letting go of BFing is that bit sadder knowing this is the last time. Not only the end of my BF relationship with Hamish but the end of BF for me in my lifetime. It just seems so final-that is why I am happy to continue feeding at night as long as Hamish wants to. I know I have the rest of my life to sleep well, so for now, we will just keep doing what we are doing. :thumbsup:

mytwolilprinces
08-01-2007, 15:21
Sal - who bites their babies back! Do ppl actually do that :eek: If someone told me I should be biting Blake back I would bite them - see if they like it!

Funkychicken
08-01-2007, 15:41
I know. She was very young and quite an angry girl too. Not long after she cracked it because two of us went to visit a third member of our group with her new baby (2nd) and hadn't asked her.:confused: She felt we should have rung her as well. hmmm...she didn't show up at mother's group again. And, weirdly, now that we are having this discussion, I saw her in the shopping centre the other day but we were too far away from each other to say hello.
She never did understand my concern that I was trying to teach my child that biting was unacceptable at any level therefore, my biting him would have been very hypocritical. Ah well, horses for courses.....

mytwolilprinces
08-01-2007, 15:49
:eek: sounds like she was/is a bit of a scary lady!

emilysmumma
08-01-2007, 16:40
Funny you should all be talking about biting.......'nervous laugh'. It's just today I have come to the conclusion that any day now I will be having my booby bit whilst feeding.
Her 5th tooth is just about through and she has taken to biting the lounge, her clothes, my clothes, my shoulder, her toys, grinding her teeth, even hitting the top down to the bottom. So she has really discovered them so any day now I'm sure I will get the big "CHOMP"

Brooke, got to go but glad to hear your both home.

brooke
08-01-2007, 16:56
thanks girls... im hoping its something simple too... there is nothing worse than watching your poor innocent baby going thru all of these things! i was a nervous wreak but put on a brave face for her and everyone else!

eek biting! Im glad that we havent had to deal with that much yet.. PP is more of a hair puller and she likes to hit! :eek:

Me
08-01-2007, 18:03
Brooke I'm so glad that they have some more info for you. :fingerscrossed: the tests come back that it is treatable with anti-biotics.:hugs:

Oh No! Biting! You poor mummies! Luckily Caydence doesn't really bite ppl - just everything else:laughing: Although, lately she's started grinding her teeth together, it's got me really worried... A) it can't be that good for them and B) I can't stand the sound of it! Any tips to get her to stop?

It's soooo muggy here this afternoon. I even got in the pool with Caydence. We got out at the right time though, by the time we got inside and to the bathroom for a shower, it had started to spit outside(but proceeded to stop pretty much straight away!).

Dinner calls:wave:

brooke
08-01-2007, 19:12
jess- I love being in a pool when its warm and it starts to rain... maybe im just weird!

Im really looking forward to a good nights sleep in my own bed.... think i might take a relaxing bath before i head off to bed tonight!

emilysmumma
08-01-2007, 21:00
I haven't done it for a while but as a kid I loved nothing more than swimming in the rain. It would be so refreshing as the rain would be cold while the pool was warm.

I hope you get a good nights rest Brooke.

Had to quickly go before as Miss Emily had woken up as she fell asleep on the way home from the doctors. She got her needles, all 3 of them, and in her arms.
And I had to be the one to hold her on my lap and her arm down. :crying:
While we were waiting our turn a 2 month old babygirl was having hers and I was in tears listening to her cry. So when it came to Emily I just had to switch off, but DH and I both felt the after affects. We argued on the way home over someting trival with the car that wasn't working, just because we were both so distraught for Emily.....who was fine by then and fast asleep in her car seat :o

Going to update (a bit late in doing so) the 12 month stats.

Funkychicken
08-01-2007, 21:33
Sarah, I just wanted to say how gorgeous Emily is in your avatar. She looks so healthy and happy. :yes:

emilysmumma
08-01-2007, 21:36
Thanks Sal. She is a happy baby and I feel very blessed to have a little girl who is so content with life.

Reidymac
08-01-2007, 21:45
:hugs: Sarah. sorry your day has been so hard. Hope you and miss emily are feeling better tomorrow. She is just beautiful.:yes:

I think for me letting go of BFing is that bit sadder knowing this is the last time. Not only the end of my BF relationship with Hamish but the end of BF for me in my lifetime. It just seems so final-that is why I am happy to continue feeding at night as long as Hamish wants to. I know I have the rest of my life to sleep well, so for now, we will just keep doing what we are doing.

Its important to cherish every moment isn't it. Hamish, Ella and Tristan must be so proud to have you as their mum:hugs: . I have to admit I think I understand that sadness you may be feeling. I am not sure what the future holds for our little family but I do know that with each new milestone I feel an equal sense of excitement and sadness that my little one is growing and I may never know this joy again. Maintaining the BF relationship has been huge in this respect. So for now I will cherish every bite and the future... who knows

Sal - who bites their babies back! Do ppl actually do that If someone told me I should be biting Blake back I would bite them - see if they like it!

You betcha they do! My PIL's are forever suggesting the eye for an eye method of parenting especially when it comes to biting. FIL even suggested the old 'let them touch the hot plate of the BBQ and they will soon work out never to do that again':eek:. They are really quite nice people and they have a lovely boy who I like a lot but .........WTF. It has always been clear they we are coming at the world from very different angles

emilysmumma
08-01-2007, 21:55
Breastfeeding is starting to wane with us too.
It seems only a few short weeks ago we could stop and take time out together to spend such a special time whilst she was feeding. That was 4 times a day as well as night feeds.
Now all of a sudden it has seemed, she only has a 4 or 5am feed and nothing again till bed time and night feeds.
So the whole day goes by now and I'm missing it terribly. I have helped the process along by not offering it to her but I didn't expect her to be fine with it.
Just rereading above and it just really doesn't portray my feelings of I guess aloneness you could say of not having her just to myself at those times.

Me
09-01-2007, 06:57
:hugs: Sarah. Letting go of the BF relationship is hard, it was hard for me at 4.5mths, but I'm sure after a year it would be so much harder.:crying: I still feel the pain when a see someone BF, but I know that since starting FF Caydence is so much happier and healthier. I am begining to no longer feel the pain - perhaps as I get to the time in her life when I was aiming to wean anyway I am accepting it more, who knows???

I have decided that next time around I will give things more of a push along to successful BF from the start. Next time I would like no drugs in labour(I had pethadine and an epi)to help establish BF earlier(Caydence had to be forced to BF after 24hrs as she wasn't interested in breast or bottle). But I also know not to expect things to be "perfect", just to let them happen how they happen. One thing I said to DH is that I realised the other day that our massuse does massage during labour and next time I'm considering hiring him for labour - last time I basically spent labour in bed screaming in pain trying to get some sleep as I was in painful labour all night. DH thinks I'm getting a bit ahead of myself thinking about such things, I just responded back with "there's nothing wrong with that":D I have even gone as far as reminding myself I need to clean up the spare room - I want to have a really good cleanout so that when #2 comes along all we have to do is move out the bed in there and move the playroom in(the playroom will then become the nursery).

OMG I'm rambling!:ecomcity: sorry, maybe I am getting carried away with the excitment at the thought of #2, after all we aren't even actually ttc, just not trying not to!

Have a lovely day all, I'm going to pull my head in out of this daydream state and go get myself ready for work.

mytwolilprinces
09-01-2007, 07:23
Sorry to come on here just to have a whinge but I'm feeling really down and annoyed at the moment.

DH and I are pretty low on money at the moment he has a good income but we have both been unwise with our money and this year we have decided to really try to be sensible. Anyway, DH made the mistake of telling his parents all of this and the proceeded to rely stories about all the couples they know where both parents work (ie, they think that I am lazy for not working) in defence of DH he did explain to them that these other people generally don't have to pay for childcare (inlaws or parents mind the child) - we have gone thru the whole "work" scenario and childcare costs for my two boys would be $57 per day for Josh and $66 per day for Blake ( $123 per day :eek: ) the childcare centre closes at 5:30pm which means that either DH or I would have to leave our jobs early - very hard to do in the stockbroking industry to get back to centre before it shuts! Even now I feel like I am trying to justify myself for not working and I hate feeling that way!

To top it all off she then said " I hope you two are not planning on another baby as that would be plain stupidity".

I feel really upset because DH is easily influence by everything they say. Ok, she might have a point about not having another baby but really, when is the "right time" to have another one? I don't think we'll be financially better off if we wait ( I can't work so where is the extra money going to come from?) and I already have all the things needed for a baby so there is no immediate expense if I have another.

I just wish he wouldn't tell me the things she says because it's always aimed at me and it just makes me feel that I am not doing enough or the right thing.

Anyway better go ... so for the vent :o

brooke
09-01-2007, 08:06
:hugs: Jackie- you just do what is right for you. In laws or should i say "out laws" dont think before they speak and always think their son cant do wrong! If you want another baby then go ahead who the hell are they to dictate (sp) when and if you have a baby! when isnt money tight when you have children! there is no "perfect" time to have another!

Jess- :eek: another baby! haha your as bad as me..... lol so no only child??? hehe

DH and I have decided to wait until we know what is happening with PPs health! once we have all that sorted then as my dh says "Hop on" :laughing: sorry TMI he actually wants another and we are looking at moving to a bigger 4 bedroom home so fingerscrossed it all works!

brodiebunch
09-01-2007, 09:19
Morning all.Brooke I really hope PP is alright.I had to get of BH last night when I read your post and Hug Oli as I couldnt stop crying for you.:fingerscrossed: :hugs:

Jackie, it must be something with In laws.My MIL is always aiming stuff at me.She doesnt want me to go back to work though it is still my prob that we are a little tight up at the moment.I try to ignore but sometimes it is hard.

DP is applying for a job at fairfield in syd. this week.Half of me is happy but the other half worries that if he got it I would have to leave my comfort zone.My panic attacks happen when I am in uncomfortable or new social situations so the prospect of starting new groups etc is very daunting.Not to mention the idea of bringing O up in syd:eek: It would be a good thing as we would have family support,DP's career would go somewhere and the pay is better even considering the cost of living.He has a really good chance of getting it as the manager asked him to apply.

Does anyone have a good book on toddler raising etc that they like?I am thinking of bying one but cant decide which.I am not an AP mum so some just arent "for us".

mytwolilprinces
09-01-2007, 09:33
Brodie - There is a great book about Toddlers called "The Mighty Toddler" by Robin Barker. It's pretty good. She wrote "Babylove" which is a fantastic book about babies ( it was basically my bible with DS1) - the toddler book has some good tips and also includes receipes etc Wow, if you DH gets the job in Sydney finally there will be a Dec mum within 100km's of me!

brodiebunch
09-01-2007, 09:42
Thanks Jackie."baby love" was my bible last year.I hadn't even thought to see if Robin Barker had a toddler book:o

Funkychicken
09-01-2007, 09:45
You poor thing Jackie. That is so unfair of your PIL's to say things like that. Why is it that those of that generation always think they know best. I am sure at some point in their lives, they made decisions of their own without asking their parents for permission! I have some dear friends who have had a couple of really rough years (lost their business, bankruptcy, she had Irritable Uterine Syndrome during two pregnancies) and when they recently moved to a new rental home, his father said to him, as they were unpacking the truck, "not much to show for all your years of work, is it son?" :eek: What a b@stard!
Anyway, as you know, we had a baby that was not a part of our life plan :D and we are also not all that well off financially. The thing is we have always gotten by with what we have and I believe we always will do. As much as I think how I would love to be better off financially, I know deep down that we are happy, we have healthy, happy children, we always have food, petrol, clean clothes, roof over our heads etc... and somehow manage to take a holiday each year. Having a third baby may incur some costs but certainly not what some people would imagine. We had no baby equipment, clothing, maternity wear, nothing. But all of these things came to us from family and friends. I haven't bought one new baby item. I bought a couple of things on Ebay and as Hamish has grown past them, I have re-sold them. Probably the thing I have spent most money on is funky nappies!:p But then I have saved thousands in disposables.
Sorry to ramble on-I get so cranky when parents and in-laws make people feel like cr@p.

brodiebunch
09-01-2007, 10:01
:smiliedance: Oliver has been asleep for 3 hrs now:yelclap: he is still sleeping!:D mummy.He will wake soon cause I just walked past his room and there is a nice smelling present in his nappy for me.I usually only get a 1-2 hr morning nap from him.:thumbsup:

mytwolilprinces
09-01-2007, 10:10
Thanks everyone for helping to make me feel better. Unfortunatley it all comes from my MIL. She is the type that really cares what everyone else is doing and how she looks to the rest of her "church" community. She knows what every family and their offspring are doing, how much they earn, what they own etc. We are only renting and are a big dissapointment to her. Yes, we could have both kept working after we got married and bought a big house with a huge mortgage but the repayments would be so high that I would be working full time still and wouldn't have had any of the beautiful children that I am blessed with. DH and I took the path of having children straight after we were married because that was what was important to us. I have a lot of friends who took the other path and bought their big houses and are paying over $800 per week in repayments, the want children but can't afford to take the time away from work. I am glad this didn't happen to us.

I don't think I could ever please her though. If I did go back to work full time and put my children in childcare she would think I was a bad mother for that too!

We did own a unit prior to having Blake and were paying off a $320,000 mortgage just on that. It was hard and then Blake came along so we sold it and went back to renting. MIL was VERY mad at us for that move - she thought we should have stayed in our 2 bedroom top floor unit with 2 young children and put up with the 6 flights of stairs, dangerous balcony etc just so she could tell her friends we "owned" our home :mad:

Funkychicken
09-01-2007, 10:17
Big :hugs: Jackie. It sounds to me that you know what is really important in your lives as opposedto what your MIL thinks is important. I often wonder if people like that are that way because they are threatened by other peoples happiness. They feel if they attack them, they may justify their own unhappiness.

Yay for Oliver:yelclap: . It has been a while since Hamish had one of those really long sleeps but after last nights party tricks, maybe he will sleep longer now too. :fingerscrossed:

mytwolilprinces
09-01-2007, 11:19
Brooke - I hope you get PP's health issues resolved quickly. It must be worrying you not knowing what the problem is. That's awesome that your DH is excited about another baby and you being able to get a bigger place - lucky girl!

Chumps
09-01-2007, 12:07
Brooke - :hugs: to pp, hope she gets well with minimal intervention here on in.

Jackie - you poor lass :hugs: to you too. Excuse me for saying this, but your inlaws sound (something I can't write here). Don't let them get to you, like you say, there is no 'perfect time' to have a baby, and when it happens, people always find a way to cope & deal with financial issues and the like. Sal is so right when she suggests that people may be like that b/c they are threatened by other peoples happiness. That really s**ts me too as I know a few people who carry on the exact same way, & I've always thought it was jealousy towards the person they are attacking.

Well, we are off today to get those dreaded vaccinations :( . I am so not looking forward to it. They havn't ever really bothered me up until this time. I guess I don't want Ryan's routine to slide over the next few days if he has a bit of a reaction. We have been going great guns atm.

brooke
09-01-2007, 12:09
:hugs: jackie. i dont think owning a home is the be all and end all of everything! DH and I were looking at buying a home before we had pp then we decided we wanted a baby now so gave up on the house idea and we are glad we made that choice. I like having the option to move and also not having huge repayments over our head. and it also lets us have the freedom of being able to live in the suburbs we love! I sent off our application for the new 4bedroom place that has an ensuite and formal lounge area... way bigger than what we have now and a street over from pps god mothers! :smiliedance:

Broadiesmum- thank you for being so concerned.

It is hard not knowing i am praying like mad that she will be ok. I couldnt cope if she needed surgery. The hardest thing was seeing her in hospital the whole time i was thinking why her poor little thing doesnt deserve this. I know there are people worse off but that still doesnt help. she has become really shy and scared of people now... she hangs on for dear life when ever people come up to her now! poor thing its so not like her at all. Im not really looking forward to the next test where they do a cathater and shoot dye up there and take xrays.. it seems so invasive!

mytwolilprinces
09-01-2007, 13:25
Brooke - our thoughts are with PP and the new place sounds lovely, good luck with the application!

I absolutley love the house we are in atm. It's perfect for us and in a great area 5 mins from the beach. When it was Blake's party so many ppl commented on how nice our house was - if MIL was in ear shot she kept on pointing out to everyone that we only rented it and it would be better if we owned it (well no sh*t, of course it would be better to own it but unless someone is going to give us $600,000 it's not going to happen!) - sorry, just getting angry again - I can't help myself :mad:

brooke
09-01-2007, 18:33
Jackie dont worry my in laws do that too... I have just stopped listening and if they make comments I just say we are Happy and Healthy and that is all that matters. Truth is scott and I dont really have a huge desire to own a place and if we do we might by a investment for Paige

mytwolilprinces
09-01-2007, 19:18
Well, DH and I have made a pact (sp?) not to discuss any of our finances or baby making plans with any family members from now on. We are just keeping it to ourselves and if and when I get pregnant I'm not even going to tell them until it becomes quite obvious and my belly is noticeable. I don't want to give them the satisfaction of being able to comment for the entire 9 months. Hopefully I can hide it for about 4 months and then they only get a few months to make their snide remarks!

DH has just taken the boys to the park - so I have a bit of quiet time .... ahhhhh, it's so peaceful.

Enjoy your night girls.

brooke
09-01-2007, 19:25
jackie- LMAO well here's for hoping you can hide it for longer than that! I never tell my MIL anything about money she is so up tight about money all the time... gives us lectures etc. I turned around to her once and said i dont need a lecture my own parents dont even do that!!!!!!!!!!!!!
she soon learnt! :rolleyes:

Funkychicken
09-01-2007, 19:26
:yelclap: Yay for you Jackie!!!! It's very exciting to carry a secret like that-especially when you are keeping it from 'certain' people. And this way you get to bask in the glory of pregnancy without being concerned about 'them' commenting negatively.
I think everyone who doesn't own their house (or have a house owned by the bank!) spends way too much time worrying about it. I know we have on and off over the years. Because our house is part of our job package, we don't own or rent and this has always been like this for me as I have worked on horse properties for the majority of my working life. DH and I did rent for a year when we lived in QLD but aside from that we have always lived in farm homes.
It took me quite a long time in my twenties to understand that home doesn't necessarily = house. We have always had a home and no-one can take that away from us. Who owns the house is irrelevant. And there is no way we could replace the life our children have if we were to go off and buy 'in town' so to speak.

brooke
09-01-2007, 19:34
sal- that is exactly the way i feel too.. i say that to my dh all the time. just because we dont "own" the house it doesnt not make it our "home" we own the things in side and our family and our feeling! and thats all that matters!:thumbsup:

Funkychicken
09-01-2007, 19:37
Well said Brooke. :thumbsup:

brodiebunch
09-01-2007, 19:41
I feel exactly the same.I think thats why the prospect of moving is a bit sad.But I suppose home for me now is really DP,Oli and mmy cats.I could do without anything else

brooke
09-01-2007, 19:44
BB- thats all that matters in family! and friends too and you can always make more friends! Have you heard any more about your dh's job! Hoe exciting the thought of moving states!

brodiebunch
09-01-2007, 19:51
No wont know for 2-3 wks:eek: Not moving staes as Bega is actually the far sth coast of NSW,it may as well be Vic it is only just nth of the border.:eek: :eek: Would probably have to move in with SIL for a few wks till we found a house.

brooke
09-01-2007, 19:54
BB do you get along well with your sil?? at least you will have some family close by!

brodiebunch
09-01-2007, 20:04
Not really.She is younger and not in the least bit responsible.We watch her like a hawk with oli.She is 24 and likes to party,a typical muso,need I say more.
I love your new avatar!How do you find time for this with PP not well.You must be a supermum:yelclap: Anyway I am almost headbutting the keyboard falling asleep so I will have to say goodnight.I need some :sleeping: and I just got a weird urge for a bowl of cocoa pops and DP has just got back from the shops with them.Must be PMS choclate munchies visiting early,But cocoa pops???:wave:

bub7
09-01-2007, 20:34
hey everyone,

this may sound silly but how do i find the #2 of dec mummies coz i liked reading the part about what our babies acheived in first yr??

Me
09-01-2007, 20:45
:laughing: BB Cocoa Pops? at this time of night? But on the other hand, the chocolatey milk could be soothing before bed.

:hugs: Jackie - please don't listen to your MIL. As Sal said, keeping a pg secret would just be so much fun, enjoying the knowledge that your are pg without having the negative comments from MIL. OMG Jackie - they charged $66/day for Blake for CC!?! I think $55/day is bad!

Bub7 - I'll find the link for you and post it shortly.

Tracey - :hugs: to Ryan for his needles - hope he coped well.

Brooke - good luck with the house application. I hope you get it.

Today one of the guys from work had to leave early to take his wife up to the hospital to get induced. I'm so excited for them, but a little worried at the same time(she doesn't do pregnant very well). Hopefully tomorrow we'll be hearing news of the safe arrival!

Might go do a bit more cleaning in the spare room before I go to bed... :laughing: I just can't help myself!

Me
09-01-2007, 20:47
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=53032

This is the thread with the 12mth stat's, including achievements for the year. I hope that's what you were after.

mytwolilprinces
09-01-2007, 20:59
Jess - yeah it will be fun to keep it a secret.

:fingerscrossed: I don't get Hypermesis again and end up in hospital on a drip like I did with both my pregnancies .... oh, and also being my 3rd child I am sure I'll start showing really early - just have to get out the baggy t-shirts and lay low for a while if they see me.

It will be funny because they'll all be thinking how much weight I've put on :laughing:

Hold on - I'm not even pregnant yet and I'm already planning it :o

emilysmumma
09-01-2007, 21:08
Hey Jackie, I can just picture you doing what they do on tv when the actors are hiding their real pregnancies for their acting part. Leaning against high tables, standing in front of large vases, sitting on the couch surrounded by pillows.
I think you have mentioned your MIL before on other matters. Seems like you need to move to Brissy to get away from her :D No ulterior motive here!

Dh and I have always said no matter where we are it's home as long as we are together, be that in a tent or a hotel.

bub7
09-01-2007, 21:17
yep thats it thanks heaps JRmumma :thumbsup:

mytwolilprinces
09-01-2007, 21:22
I think you have mentioned your MIL before on other matters. Seems like you need to move to Brissy to get away from her :D No ulterior motive here!

So now you all know WHY I want to move to Brisbane :D Yes, the MIL is a bit of a monster. Funny thing is that everyone who meets her thinks she's so lovely but if only they knew what she says about ppl behind their backs!

On that note, I'll tell u a funny story. When DH and I first moved in together "and living in sin" she made it her mission to make my life as miserable as possible. We had to go to a family wedding in Qld and all stayed in the same hotel for a night. Whilst everyone was getting ready, DH's younger sister (then 8 yrs old) comes running up to me and says "I knew it, you're false" - I was like WTF? And then I looked up to see where she had just come from and she had just been getting ready in the bathroom with said MIL and DH's Aunty. I was so upset that they had obviously been talking about me and saying those things. I had to hide my tears the whole night and couldn't wait to get out of there in the morning and come back home. I almost broke up with DH there and then because I didn't know how I was going to cope with such a dragon of a lady!

emilysmumma
09-01-2007, 21:49
What did she mean by "your false" Jackie?

mytwolilprinces
09-01-2007, 22:04
I have heard MIL say this about other people who she thinks are fake, or lacking in personality etc ....... it's a term she uses all the time so when DH's little sister said that too me I knew exactly where she had heard it as 8 year olds don't come up with those sort of comments without hearing them from someone else!

emilysmumma
09-01-2007, 22:17
Jackie you're a stronger woman than I. I've had told her to shove it long ago.

Well I had my sleep in this morning, till 10.30 :smiliedance:
Emily woke at 5.30 Trying to get DH awake and up even with her wacking him in the face with her hand was an effort. He had completley forgot and just thought I had a bad night with her when I told him I wanted to go back to sleep :banghead:
It was a fairly good sleep but with lots of anxious dreams, kind of like a thriller, so I woke up not as relaxed as I hoped and with a really sore back and neck. Body musn't be used to being in bed for so long.

We can officially say she is walking now. She keeps shocking me because everytime I look at her if I've been doing something she is standing up on her way to somewhere. Still has the wobbles and we are teaching her dancing. It's so cute, she jigs up and down on the spot.

Good luck Brooke with the house application and great avatar. How is PP feeling?
BB, we are here at all times if you need us to help you through the possible move with the new job.
WTG Jess with the not ttc ;)

Reidymac
09-01-2007, 22:32
Do you think that we will ever end up being one of THOSE mother in laws?

I met my MIL when I was 15 and since that day I am sure in her mind I have been trapped in some kind of time warp as the 15 yo weird looking hussy hanging around with her son, getting him into no good, probably scheming to get myself pregnant and trap him into a life of hell, connected to me for an eternity.

:thumbsup: She was a little bit right .........except for the part where I actually hung out with him for 11 years before finally letting him talk me into marrying him and moving in together, then 5 more years before getting pregnant. Does that still qualify as entrapment?:rolleyes:

You have my sympathy Jackie :hugs: and this is for you Jackie's MIL :p

Reidymac
09-01-2007, 22:53
:yelclap: :smiliedance: Woohoo Go little Emily, Go! It's so exciting. Sorry your restful morning didn't turn out better Sarah

Liam started his first real walking today too. 3 steps yesterday has turned into a whole day of trial and error then lots of walking everywhere this afternoon. Best part was that my mum was here for the day and got to witness the beginning of the first real walking. She was over the moon. little G on the other hand has just realized that the competition has speed and weight on his side and her toys are fair game :laughing: "Aaaaaahhhhh Mummmmmmmy .....hes chasing me, he's chasing me...Liiiiiiiiaaaaaaammmmmmmmm" Poor Little G....Poor, Poor Mummy :laughing:

Me
10-01-2007, 05:20
YAY! Go Emily and Liam:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

brooke
10-01-2007, 07:25
whoo hoooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
go Emily and Liam! :smiliedance: :yelclap:
I bet they both look so adorable walking!

Jackie- wow your MIL sounds like some kinda... (something i cant type here) who says those types of things. and to think christians are ment to be non judgemental! :rolleyes: I would have told her along time ago to get off her high horse and just be happy her son is happy! but i dont have much patience for that type of thing!

Im so excited everyone is talking about TTC. DH and I spent the whole night talking about names... well actually I was talking and he was nodding :laughing:
I even bought a cosmo pregnancy book dont ask me why haha couldnt help myself!

brodiebunch
10-01-2007, 07:39
YAY:smiliedance: to the walkers,Emily and Liam.

My cocoa pops were really good last night.I was right about the pms thing.Woke up this morning with really bad cramps etc.Nothing unusual for me.

Jackie I hope your day is a little better today.We need to ring DP's parents tonight to find out what they will help us with towards a wedding budget:eek: I hope they are in good moods.

Brooke I almost got a pregnancy mag yesterday:laughing: I put it back and got a wedding one instead.My sis got me a practical parenting mag subscription last year it runs out in 2mths so I have no shortage of baby/preg mags coming in.

brodiebunch
10-01-2007, 07:48
2 of the 6 teeth Oliver is cutting came through last night:thumbsup:

SJE
10-01-2007, 08:18
mytwolilprinces
- Your MIL sounds like that one from the movie monster in law!
From what you are saying, perhaps she needs to listen more at her church?? Christianity is about loving others unconditionally isnt it?

Brooke - Lets hope you are sucsessful with that 4 bedroom place.:yes:
Do you ever think about if the next preg is a multiply birth:eek: ?
It freaks me out just thinking about the feeding, settling and sleeping with twins!

It was my bday yesterday - 29 years old :eek:
Bubs finally got her 12 month needles and was a bit unsettled. DH surprised me by taking me out to tea and a movie (drive-ins) though it was not particularly fun as bubs just cannot keep still!
I will have to keep my eye out for things we can do where bubs is occupied. Perhaps we are limited to DVD's at home. Personally I am happy with just reading the back of the DVD cover now.

Another biter here - in the immunisation waiting room bubs was playing with some of the toys, (Usually wouldnt allow this due to all the nasties floating around atm) She goes to lick the toys and I just put my hand in front of her mouth and she got mad and tried to bite my hand:eek:
With the concept of doing it back, I wonder what ppl would have said if I bit my child in the waiting room. Somehow I think it wouldnt have gone down very well.

mytwolilprinces
10-01-2007, 09:02
happybirthday for yesterday Seejay!

Reidy - I am terrified of being one of THOSE MIL'S. Having 2 son's means that one day I will have 2 DIL's - well hopefully anyway. So I'm going to try to remember what it was like to have a difficult MIL and not be one myself!

Has anyone seen that show "everybody loves raymond": ? Well, Marie (the mother) is a great comparision to my MIL!

Brodie - poor Ollie getting all those teeth!

Congrats on all the little walkers, I hope Blake will soon follow in their footsteps (literally ha ha)

mytwolilprinces
10-01-2007, 09:05
Oh, forgot to add, I bought some maternity clothes online yesterday - they were on special! So I think that's even a bit more full on than just buying magazines! I got some nice hipster cargo pants from belly basics for only $35 (bargain) and a pair of pumpkin patch maternity jeans for around $40 - so cheap! Shame I'm not pregnant though :) I've hidden them away from DH - he'll think I'm mental !

brodiebunch
10-01-2007, 09:17
All my maternity clothes are still in really good nick as I was really preciuos about them.I had them out on the weekend DP just rolled his eyes and said not to get to carried away.Next door is puppy sitting and it has howled for 2hrs straight:( It is so mournful that when O wakes up I think I will go out.Otherwise the constant grizzling about teeth and the dog noises will drive me bonkers.

happybirthday Seejay,all be it a little late:D

I almost forgot,I am going to buy Oliver real PJ's today instead of rompers.He will look like a real little boy.And a tip for all Dec mums..........Make sure not to accidently put orange pilchers in a white load :o

emilysmumma
10-01-2007, 09:48
Happy Belated Birthday SeejayElle happybirthday

With the biting issue, yesterday while speaking to Emily's unoffical godmother, I mentioned that I'm expecting a bite on the boob soon with her interested in her teeth atm. Well blow me down, she said 'well that's the time we will be biting you back' :eek: Then my mother agrees with her, double :eek:

:smiliedance: for Liam. Little G better get her running shoes on.

We have had a tooth finally come through too BB.I couldn't imagine what 6 teeth trying to come through at once would be like.

brooke
10-01-2007, 09:58
jackie- wow that is full on! they do sound like a bargain! I didnt buy any maternity clothes at all when i was pregnant with Paige... maybe i will this time!

Seejay Happy birthday for yesterday!happybirthday
I do think about what if we have twins... my little mazda astina hatch would be WAY tooo small! :eek:

Well my realestate agent called and asked why we didnt want to stay in the place we are now... I was like well lets see for the same price we are paying for this place I can get an extra bedroom, bathroom, and living area... not to mention a pargola, builtins 2 car garage, alarm etc etc and it will be newer... really why wouldnt i want to move. they are trying to make it difficult now because our landlord doesnt want us to leave.... why sould that stop us??? seriously i am not really in the mood for rude people today! sorry just peeved that because we are good tenants they dont want us to move there for making it difficult to get that other place:crying:

mytwolilprinces
10-01-2007, 10:10
Brooke - ha ha, I am addicted to clothes shopping so any excuse for something new. Wow no maternity clothes - what did you do to make pants fit you - any tips would be great. I tried to get away with normal clothes for as long as possible with my last pregnancies but in the end the pants were hurting or wouldn't stay on properly etc. There are a lot of funky maternity clothes out there these days the "bellybutton" maternity wear website is my secret addiction :o

That's horrible that your landlords are doing that. I had the same issues a few times in the past but at the end of the day as long as you are not breaking your lease there is nothing they can do to stop you moving.

I would DIE if I found out I was having twins - 4 kids under 4 years - NO THANKS!

brooke
10-01-2007, 10:23
jackie- my normal clothes just seemed to fit me. My jeans fit me up until around 33weeks and then i just wore my skirts and trackies... i think i was just lucky!
I am gonna have a look at that bellybutton website... sounds good!

Im so mad at my agent right now! How rude. Its a new property Manager to what we had before. Thats fine I will just apply for ones thru a different agent and that will make their life harder! :banghead:

brodiebunch
10-01-2007, 10:26
Brooke it sounds like your landlords/real estate agents are a real pain in the bum.I think you are only required to give them 2 wks notice if you want to leave your lease.Have you tried other agents?Maybe if you mentioned going elsewhere they would be more helpful.:fingerscrossed: everything works out for you.

OMG guys!I try not to think of twins.One baby at a time is enough for me.I would love my sis to have twins.Her 1st IVF cycle is in feb:fingerscrossed: :fingerscrossed: we get results quickly.She is the type of person that could handle it.She regularly babysits 3 bub at once over night and a 4yr old.She is just a born mum.

mytwolilprinces
10-01-2007, 10:28
Brooke - ha, I wish I could have fit into my normal clothes but I put on too much weight! With DS1 I got away with it until about 20 weeks ( because I was so sick and didn't put on any weight) but with Blake, I had a full on tummy by 14 weeks and had also already put on about 11kg by then :eek: I tend to get MASSIVE when pregnant but luckily lose most of it afterwards.

On that note, I have started my healthy eating diet today ... so far so good. Just want to get back to a proper size 8 ( about 3kg's to lose :eek: ) so I can get pregnant and put it all back on again!!

Good luck with the application & the agent, I am sure it will be fine.

brooke
10-01-2007, 10:32
jackie- i think the only reason why i didnt put on too much weight is because i threw up 5 million times a day. My ms passed at 20weeks and then i started again towards the end. fingers crossed that doesnt happen again!

brodiebunch
10-01-2007, 10:36
Ahh I had forgotten about morning sickness.:barf: <me untill 20wks too.I lost 15 kilos in 20wks.It came back at the end as well.I only put on 7 kilos prepreg weight by the end.Lost 10 in the week after Oli was born.Still need to lose some so starting the csiro diet

brodiebunch
10-01-2007, 10:37
Jackie,Thanks for the sandwich tips.Great to see you in another thread.

mytwolilprinces
10-01-2007, 10:45
Brooke & Brodie - I was in hospital because of my ms with both pregnancies ( dehydration ) but somehow I managed to still put on heaps of weight with Blake. I think it was because of the medication I was on - it made me stop vomiting but I still felt really really ill unless I ate - so I had to eat non-stop so I didn't feel sick!

Having trouble getting back to normal, my eating habits have changed and I still eat as though I'm pregnant - oops.

You are both so lucky for not gaining that much. Last time I weighed myself when i was pregnant with Blake I was 70kg (and that was with a few weeks to go still) my normal weight is 53kg! I'm about 55kg at the moment so I've still got a couple to drop - hopefully this "diet" will do it!

mytwolilprinces
10-01-2007, 10:47
Brodie - no worries 4 the sandwhich tips. I don't really visit other threads that often - well I do, but I don't post that much!

Brooke - some other tips for nice clothes to wear when pregnant is anything from Witchery - their sizes are really big ( their size small swims on me normally) and a lot of their fabrics are really stretchy. They also have a website which you can order from if you don't have a witchery nearby. I really love their clothes, it's just a shame they don't normally fit me!

brooke
10-01-2007, 10:48
jackie- what medication were you on?? I had to take zofran for my pregnancy. was the only thing i could take (disolved in my mouth) and would stop the vomiting!

mytwolilprinces
10-01-2007, 10:52
I took Maxalon - it worked really well. I still felt sick but wouldn't throw up, not as often anyway. I started taking it with Blake from 5 weeks because my OB didn't want me to end up as sick as I was with Josh. She said the earlier you start the medication the better it works. If I was having a really bad day and couldn't keep the tablets down I had to use stemitil by supositry (sp?) DISGUSTING - I hated that so she organised my GP to come to my house and give me a maxalon injection so that I could keep the tablets down and start feeling better. I also went to hospital for injections and a day on teh IV Drip if things got really bad. I also went into premature labour with Blake at 31 weeks (not sure if you remember) so yeah, I don't do pregnancy well!

Chumps
10-01-2007, 13:54
I think it was Jackie that mentioned a while ago about the bulk preggo & ovulation kit available at teh supermarket - well I got one today :D .

And because I'm a bit of a fence sitter, I was on messenger to DH & told him I got it so I could see when I would be ovulating so that he could well & truely avoid me on those days :laughing: (just kind of mucking around) but in true male style - he didn't seem to realise I was joking & he replied with a 'what the?' Men..... there isn't really much of a sense of humour when it comes to sex is there?

Ryan coped well with his vacs. No temp at all (yet) & slept fine again last night afterwards. Got to be pleased with that. Still waiting for my sister in law to pop - must be hard once that 'expected due date' arrives and leaves. Glad that didn't happen to me. Certainly hope it doesn't happen next time either. I would get so impatient with that I think. I remember getting impatient because I didn't pop early with Ryan! I think in my mind I just wanted to have it all done & over with before that 'magical date' arrived!!!! As it was, smack bang right in middle of day on due date :laughing: .

happybirthday to you Seejay!

brodiebunch
10-01-2007, 14:32
Chumps,I am still waiting for one of my sister to pop as well.She is almost a week overdue:eek: She has a check up tommorrow I think to see what they are going to do.It is so exciting waiting for a new bub in the family.

elissas
10-01-2007, 14:45
Wow, so much going on - I'm trying to catch up, but I only get to sit down 15mins at a time and I'm trying to do work in between (well, meant to be working, but BH is tooooo tempting).

And internet is sooo slow coz DH has downloads going. But we'll be 3 times faster in Feb coz we can get DSL2 then! Can't wait!

Brooke - I hope pp is feeling better and that it all works out!

Jackie - booo to your MIL. I think some MIL's just get funny because their darling DS's are "stolen" away, and they found someone to "replace" them... Who knows. I'm lucky though I guess. My MIL jokingly says she's glad I took DH off her hands and says she doesn't know how I live with him :D

I'll post more in a bit. I really need to make some phone calls for work before the manager emails me and asks me for a status report - I have to have something to give him!!

Chumps
10-01-2007, 14:58
OOpppps - sorry guys about all those posts back there - just trying to get my count up :laughing: :laughing: ,

no seriously, was having problems & didn't think it was posting, so I kept hitting 'submit', promise I won't do that again........:o

mytwolilprinces
10-01-2007, 15:38
Tracey - those kits are good aren't they? I call it my "conception" pack. DH thinks it's all silly and can't get his head around the whole ovulation thing really... he just thinks you can get pregnant any old time of the month!

Well after all this talk of finances and MIL whinging about me not working I have scored myself a job interview tomorrow - it's for a reception job at a real estate on Saturdays. I've never done reception before, nor have I been a secretary :eek: so to be honest I don't think I will get the job. They are interviewing 15 people tomorrow. The job add said "would suit Uni or TAFE student" so I am thinking that once they see my age, they will want to employ one of the young girls so they can pay them the award wage which is a lot less for under 21 year olds! Oh well, can only try. It will be sad to give up my Saturdays with my boys and DH - I'll only get 1 day per week with us all together but us women have to make sacrifices don't we?

Chumps
10-01-2007, 16:30
Well Jackie, I have to say, that was my main concern about returning to my job on Sundays. As it turns out, I absolutely love the idea now of walking out that door on Sunday morning & leaving DH & Ryan behind :D . Most people can't wait for their weekend - I can't wait to get to work! Sure it eats into our family time, but the way I look at it, we did a lot of sitting around the house anyway when I wasn't working on weekends, so it wasn't like we were always off doing stuff as a family! This way, I'm assured that DH at least does one day of hard slog while I'm out having fun at work! (yes - my work is fun, I work with koalas).

On that note though, can't say I'd be so eagar to go to work if I didn't work in the industry I do.

Funkychicken
10-01-2007, 19:03
All the best for tomorrow, jackie-for whatever outcome you want! :D

Me
10-01-2007, 19:49
As Hamish's pants say Crikey! 4 pages of post to read - and that's in the last 12 hrs!! Makes me wish i could BH from work, but I'd just feel too guilty!

Good luck Jackie for tomorrow!

I thought I was taking this #2 business a bit too seriously by planning to clean out the spare room! DH would freak if I bought preg mags or maternity clothes, or even bought out my old maternity clothes from the cupboard. I didn't buy much last time around, just sort of "made do". But next time, I'll splurge on a few more items than last time:D

I don't know if I'm brave enough to commit to a "bulk pack" yet. wow that sounds stupid!:laughing: i don't know, the thought of making the commitment to the bulk pack seems like i'm tempting fate - maybe i have this thought somewhere deep down that i don't need a bulk pack - a single or double will do:laughing: that's so not the case - I spent a fortune last time on pg tests! off and on for 3 years - that's a lot of tests!!! Maybe i should just go get the bulk pack - this is so stupid that I can't just commit and go buy it! Right, that's it, i've talked myself into it, now I just have to remember to pick it up when I'm shopping! Oooh and folate tablets too!

I am so past rambling it's not funny!

Lis - How's Will's eating going? is it getting better?

Caydence is having major tantrums at dinner time now, wants to feed herself but won't, wants you to feed her but gets grumpy that she isn't doing it - all in the same meal! DH has figured out that if we feed her but make her hold the spoon as well she's pretty happy... what a lot of messing around though. After the tantrum at dinner last night, I went out today and bought "the mighty toddler" I am currently reading the behaviour section - hoping it will give me some insight into dealing with some of these situations.

Jackie - I used to take both Maxolon and Stemitol. I used to randomly just start throwing up uncontrollably(thinking back now i think it was panic attacks), but it worked really well. fingers crossed you don't get MS so bad next time.

well, BH time is almost over for tonight, I'm going straight to bed after dinner(and dinner's nearly ready!)

Enjoy!