View Full Version : August 2006 Mums n' Bubs #4
MountainGirl
02-01-2007, 07:03
Re Meet,..... You are all more than welcome to come to my place,.......in Marrickville,... Beany - very close to the train station,........Ummm,......clean toilets!!! Heaps of Pram parking!,..... Ha!!! And I will even make tea and coffee,.etc,.etc,.etc,.! let me know,....
Not many trees for Shed in Coober Pedy!
oh,...yeah,..and inlaws are odd,...they must all go to some sort off oddbod inlaw school,.......:rolleyes:
*Country Bumpkin*
02-01-2007, 08:18
Which makes me also remember has anyone seen Kristi about she has gone awful quiet!
I spoke to her on MSN last night- she was ok as far as I knew
lottiesmum
02-01-2007, 08:42
morning all,
happy new year! been trying to get on to say hello for weeks but we've been v.v.busy with the holiday season. had lots of fun with the usual too much food, too many bubbles (well, for me too many compared with none!) and too many pressies. my 2 kiddies are fit and well and growing by the minute. DS has his next round of shots next week :thumbsdown: so we'll see his weight and height. he's busting out of 00 clothes...
so much happening here over that time that i don;t think i can catch up. will have to start afresh me thinks. but wow - bubs on solids. cant believe how fast the time has flown! i'm really keen to BF exclusively to 6mths because of family allergies, and milk supply seems ok and supporting DS's growth. he does look extremely interested in food, but then again he''s at that stage where he wants everything to go into his mouth :eek:
DH and I had a very quiet NYE together which weas just as we wanted it - nice meal, great bottle of red from the cellar and an early night. we got all soppy thinking over all the happenings of 2006 - new house, new baby....hoping for a quieter 2007 really!
my only whinge is the WEATHER....i have the central heating on...it's summer for goodness sakes!
right - got to sort the house out. next round of visiting rellies arrive thursday - only problem with having a big house with lots of space is all the people who want to stay. actually i love it - its just so much work :rolleyes: .
best wishes for the new year to you all.
Thanks Beany. I hope I haven't scarred him for life. oh the guilt, no one warned me about the guilt that motherhood entails. Its so hard just trying to bring him up to be well adjusted, and he's only nearly-five months old.
I joined a wedding discussion board today....BRIDEZILLA!!! :eek: :laughing:
Missie_mack, I rang Appin House. VERY reasonable prices (I think, but I might be a bit ignorant at this point coz I have never had a wedding before). $64 a head for a three course meal and the tables done and the DJ and the MC and the venue for five hours. Then the beverages are $22 a head or you can put money on the bar.
Most of "my" people don't drink, so we thought we might just put money on the bar. I forgot to ask them about a buffet though.
Anyway, that's probably fodder for my wedding discussion board...hope you don't mind me cheating on you ladies, seeing other women, lol.
Shed There is a book out called 'Motherguilt' by Ita Buttrose, apparently it's quite good, talks about all the guilt associated with Motherhood.
HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!:wave:
'Always remember for 2007.....
Life is short, break the rules.
Forgive quickly, kiss slowly, love truly, laugh uncontrollably and never regret anything that made you smile.'
Thank you for a year of great highs and incredible support and here's to another year equally as good!:thumbsup:
Best wishes all:hugs:
Lilbugalugs:wave: How is your Husband's recovery going? I hope he is well and truly on the mend and not in too much pain still.
*Country Bumpkin*
02-01-2007, 16:58
crikey were onto another thread already.... they are going to start charging us per post soon- thank the lord bub hub (is still) free:D
I was thinking that too Country Bumpkin (it seems so weird calling you that....just like Parisa and her change
morning all,
but wow - bubs on solids. cant believe how fast the time has flown! i'm really keen to BF exclusively to 6mths because of family allergies, and milk supply seems ok and supporting DS's growth. he does look extremely interested in food, but then again he''s at that stage where he wants everything to go into his mouth
I've been really interested watching everyone move towards food too, but I'm with you Lottiesmum...mine's not because of any known allergies, but I guess I'm a bot of a stickler for the 'rules' - Charlotte is growing in leaps and bounds and is sleeping at least 9 hours at a go at night (still the 6pm- 3/4/5am but at least that way we can have some time of a night where we can just sit back and relax, and she feeds and goes straight back to sleep if she wakes before 5, so really isn't too bad!) so I'm not in any hurry. She is so interested in us eating that I hope it will be an easy transition..
Other than that, it's been a great chistmas/new year...we had an unsettled bub over chrissy, but just a little overstimulated I think and went back to sleeping well once she got home to he own cot. I'm starting to wonder why on earth I even thought it would be a good idea to go back to work/school, but once I get back I'm sure it will be okay...It's been wonderfulk watching DH getting real bonding time with Charlotte (rather than getting home during the witching hours) and I'm feeling better about him being SAHD (I was a bit worried the first week of holidays, but he's relaxed right into it
anyway, I'm :ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity: .. hope everyone had a great holiday season, and that we have everyone back on board soon:wave:
I didn't know there was a new thread! There I was, looking at the user control panel bit and thinking that everyone was terribly quiet ... I should have known better! :D
I think I'm coming down with that blasted cold. I feel exhausted, my bones ache and I have a headache :(
Last night, Noodle had to vacate his shower earlier than expected to clean up vomit. No, not Asher's. Mine. I was standing by the bookshelf looking at a pile of paper, I felt suddenly ill and before I could do anything, out it came. Instead of running to the bathroom there and then, I stood there wondering what happened and the second wave hit me ... which I caught in my hands. Good going, genius. Now what? I stood there hopping foot to foot not having a clue what to do and eventually ran to the bathroom, dripping the entire way.
The reason I regale you with this tale of stench is because it just shows how nice Noodle is. He left the shower immediately, wrapped a towel around himself and without a word grabbed a mop, a sponge and a bucket and went off to clean my spew, pausing only to make sure I was okay and to tell me to sit down. Now THAT'S love!
Anyone here know any 5 year old boys? My best friend's son is owed a present (or five!) from me and I can't for the life of me think what to get him. They are in London so I need something postable ... any ideas? His sisters are getting clothes. Its easy for girls!
Off for my banana and ice cream now. Anyone else going a bit over the top with the bananas now that they are back to single digit prices?
Oh and I still haven't worked up the nerve to give Asher the farex. It's still sitting on the counter. My latest excuse is that I don't have a plastic bowl for him ...
Wow a new thread!! We must be big chatter boxes :)
Did anyone else make any new years resolutions? I always make them and never keep them so i decieded this year my resolution would be to not make any!!! LOL Anyways had a very very big new years as most of my friends were going to Perth cup on new years days we had a endless supply of baby sitters for new years eve! And my boys boys were asleep by 8.00pm and slept all the way through!! Anyways since then i have been trying to recover and decieded a good couple of veg days were in order! I was a little bored so i gots a little snap happy i thought i might share some with you guys.. My eldest sons name is Aiden and the bubbee Noah!
Oh and me of course Tegan!!! LOL
http://widget.slide.com/redirect/WsBh1iO-CeAbwa1ouSFe8AwOmftR9adzGzrvxTIzxwxJcyZDPPg-NNi0elv6ZkDT2H5e8hXdi6o0xBKVY00yV74cIw2bAJs1yJhSSn 15e9kvkJP6y9UBVFEngL5ptBJJO4MoHKSqosYGt_RQawX8Yzpt mzQB6hd1-U5aWhqxo6Z1Dp5Z8Pgbd9-L4m38BHgicrie4uVjTSGzBaFUAMj8s6wBt-dVqtFVtlYNVyCwemjsoPuu53OYNA.jpg (http://www.slide.com/item_finder?referrer=hlnk&pciid=lGTUlsi3qd2tjeyXeOe0z60F4U9r9H1k9iymn-6rJdOr0iIB0bAbPCjUTnSSuisU&dir=0)
http://widget.slide.com/redirect/SSEWdDBuSl14bvA-sc8cYi5wpuPwGlVxElGVgbXMgNh6Ojr9439WjQhj6DS1c9izPq oQwKApe4e-HMnad91EE_VkLIUsa0LhmFgdxwORG8SOZfN0UVc1H8FCpAOVbo Y5IerXofJcgqwVsSd7b9eMVSFHT9CcZs9JSmH9Oim53W7huGD8 Zt5qp6gLEM_iK-hvR8GWp3FeMXSGJL3FiEpkPx-Gcpgwhf6bQ_4Q55hfMY8wFgwLNQq4-A.jpg (http://www.slide.com/item_finder?referrer=hlnk&pciid=i7VT-1mFFMkQ8wkVQ4WzfJWOI5fSvNeDZ4w6lLRvSsxF7ZlxKMXAS-0imvyBSA6Y&dir=0)
Anyone here know any 5 year old boys? My best friend's son is owed a present (or five!) from me and I can't for the life of me think what to get him. They are in London so I need something postable ... any ideas? His sisters are getting clothes. Its easy for girls!
I have a brilliant idea... there is a website that you can order the kids a book and they print them up with there name in the story! I had a couple made up for my boys as xmas pressies! The also get to put in a couple of friends names, birthday and address.. you also get to choose a mesage to put in the front of the book... They are only about $15 and would be quite cheap to post... They took about 4 weeks to arrive though so not sure about the timing for u... Just click on the My Adventure books section and you can either order online or give them a call!
here is the site (http://www.identitydirect.com.au/index.html?lmd=39084.366447)
Fairyfloss
02-01-2007, 23:18
Did anyone else make any new years resolutions? I always make them and never keep them so i decieded this year my resolution would be to not make any!!!
hmm may be I should have done the same, I startd my resolution (loosing weight mid Dec hopping I will learn the ropes before th eyear starts, but the last two days been the worst diet wise:banghead:, but I must admit your resolution is the easiest to keep and oh I love the pics, specially the last one, should try that angle, looks really cute
it seems so weird calling you that....just like Parisa and her change
I seriuosly needed it, it was the most unimaginitive name on earth, I mean I had used my full name, such a genius I am :D.
Glad you are feeling in peace with your DH stayng at home
Anyone here know any 5 year old boys? My best friend's son is owed a present (or five!) from me
I am thinking, he would be a pre schooler, so how about one (or more ) of those leap frog story books, that helps kids read.
The reason I regale you with this tale of stench is because it just shows how nice Noodle is.he is indeed :smiliedance:
i'm really keen to BF exclusively to 6mths
great work, go mummy:thumbsup: I wish I could
a big Hello to Uniquey, *Country Bumpkin*, S-J
sorry if I missed any one, but I am sticking with the new tread.
Question: I am thinking of writting something in my diary, called the year it was , I have eth material but I ma nt sure if I should write it like news article snippets, or personal review essay type of thing. This is going to go into her time capsule. any ideas.
Thanks Beany for helping me find this thread. I'd had nearly a full stubbie of beer last night (to boost milk supply of course:rolleyes: ) and was a bit giggly and vague. hehe, doesn't take much these days.
Oooh isn't Noodle good value. Mind you if he hadn't come and helped you immediately we'd all be giving him our 5c worth! Hope you feel better soon, it's horrible being sick especially with a bub to look after.
Shed - how about you? Feeling any better?
Parisa, nice idea re the time capsule. There are lots of good websites with yearly info - like most popular song, prime minister, fashion, price of petrol etc. It would all be good to look back on.
Mumstar - great photos. I love black and whites!
Might sort through Stephs old clothes today. The 'too small' pile seems to be spilling over the top of the box. Does anyone have any hints to stop the clothes going yellow and a bit musty? Actually I might even clean out the linen cupboard - every time I open it about 12 towels tumble out on top of me.:laughing:
mum_I'm_hungry
03-01-2007, 06:28
Question: I am thinking of writting something in my diary, called the year it was , I have eth material but I ma nt sure if I should write it like news article snippets, or personal review essay type of thing. This is going to go into her time capsule. any ideas.
Running in and out as per usual and noticed your quessie! I write a b'day letter to the kids on their birthdays every year. I started the day Ivy was born and have gone on from there. I just talk about what's gone on in the year family-wise, things that have been accomplised, funny bits and pieces and so on. One thing I have had to start doing, though -- taking notes throughout the year so I remember things I want to include. Otherwise I sit down to write the thing and my mind goes immediately blank!
lottiesmum
03-01-2007, 07:16
hi all,
my baby boy is four months old now! i realise this is pretty self-evident and happened about a week ago, but i caught myself saying he was ''nearly 3mths'' yesterday but of course he's now 4mths. eek this is all passing far too quickly. he rolled over yesterday - yay! he looked so surprised, it was priceless. lots of raspberry blowing too - he does this in turn (ie: i do it to him, he does it back) which is very cute. our first conversations! he still doesn't have much of a routine, but perhaps thats just him....no sign of teeth either but DD got her first at 7mths so he may be the same??
i feel very martha stewart (minus the jail sentence....) as i turned the 2kg of apricots bought at a local farm into jam yesterday. it's beautiful! oh i do love this SAHM business on a good day. though having said that my new years resolution is to pick up the pace at work. who works from home - and how do you manage it? DD starts preschool when she turns 3 but that's in 6mths time so am thinking we might need a nanny until then...it's hard concentrating ad hoc.
i'm loving all your photos and promise same one of these days...
have a good day all. ill be away for a while again because we have overseas rellies arriving on our doorstep tomorrow. so best go clean that bathroom...:thumbsdown:
lottiesmum
03-01-2007, 07:19
oh - forgot to say we made the bed transition and so DD is in her new big girls bed and DS is now in the cot. He was squashed into the basinette and i had to wrap him to stop his little arms bashing against the sides. it was hard to do...i wanted to keep him in it until 6mths but there was no way....so they both look tiny again - we bought DD a king single from treehouse which is beautiful...they are both loving their new quarters however.
see ya :wave:
*Country Bumpkin*
03-01-2007, 09:09
I think I'm coming down with that blasted cold. I feel exhausted, my bones ache and I have a headache :(
Perhaps I sent you mine- Ive been sick with tonsilits and a cold for the last 2 weeks.. It was intersting trying to move with all that going on:(
Amandaw- You can still call me Adele:yes:
MountainGirl
03-01-2007, 09:39
Blasted Internet Colds! I woke up with a killer sore throat this morning,..bleugh,.....postpone the meetup?
Lottiesmum - how are you going with DD's toilet training? We have just started,..and I am bribing Scarlett with Gold Stars, and a very impressive chart on the wall!...she loves it and I think is catching on quite quickly,....3 wees so far,..but no poo yet... All I can say, is thank goodness for polished boards! BTW - the preserve sounds great! I made mango chutney on the weekend,.....yummo! Re: working from home,.. I have sort of started back again,..just doing a few small shows every couple of months,.. it is hard,....but I have a solid couple of hours from 12:00 till 14:00 when Scarlett is down for her sleep,.and I get stuff done when I finish feeding Jasper at 5:30am instead of going back to bed,... clients call me on the mobile,.and if it is a bad time, I simply don;t answer the phone and call them back when I can,... My parents take the kids on Wed,.so if I have meetings etc,..I schedule them for Wed,. I am trying to get Scarlett into a montessori preschool in our area that takes kids from 2,.but there is a long waiting list, and I really want her to be toilet trained before she goes,..the less interference in that area the better,.I think..
*Country Bumpkin*
03-01-2007, 09:48
Today is the day... The day I have been puttign off for about 2 weeks now
Were starting solids.
asked out Dr about staring skyla when she had her injections and Dr said it was not a problem as there is not history of food allergy in our family. She said that because of Skylas size(yes biiiig buba 7.5kg at the last check 2 weeks ago:rolleyes: ) shes not going to be happy on "milk shakes" for much longer.
She is so interested in out food I was eatign potato bake and she went nutso tryign to get to it
So here we go I hope nothing terrible happens:( :fingerscrossed:
If you're getting that cold then brace yourself, its a bad one. Its a really sinus-y one, lots and lots of snot, lol!! sorry for tmi but its just so you are prepared.
I still have it a bit, DP still has it, bubby is much better now.
We have major Cabin Fever from being cooped up in the house for so long. I might go out to the shops today. I need to buy a cot underlay. That's my excuse for not putting bubby in the cot yet.
He is STILL in the bassinette. He kicks the end of it when he wakes up now. I've never used a cot before so I am a bit nervous...how stupid!! I bought him some sheets etc but I am going to get the t-shirt material ones instead.
And...um...that's about the only excuses I can find not to put him in it yet.
Its just fear of the unknown...pfff, I'm pathetic, lol!
Jane, lets meet-up next week.
MountainGirl
03-01-2007, 10:08
Shed - I have Jasper in a Tetrabed inside his cot,..it is lovely and snuggly,..and he doesn't look as lost as in the cot - and it is more comfortable,....great for going away too,.....
Adele - Jasper has just hit 10.5kg,..... 7.5 doesnt sound bad at all! My back is killing me!
My throat has gone all weird. I sound all raspy which makes me sound ill which gets me sympathy - go the raspy throat! *cough splutter* Or perhaps that should be go AWAY the raspy throat!
My head still hurts, my neck is stiff and I really need sleep but every time I try, Asher wakes up. It's better for both of us if I just give up on the idea until Noodle gets back from work ... I get cranky if I get woken up just as I'm falling asleep. It's quite pathetic, really - I sulk. With a baby. Like he gives a stuff. :o
He's been sleeping through for a while now but woke up at 4:30am and was feeding for an hour. It utterly destroyed me! I think he only woke up because he needed to fart (2 huge apartment shaking ones when Noodle picked him up) and then he just wouldn't settle down properly. He woke up again later and was lying in his cot and grunting and there was *that* noise ... you know the pffflllppptttt ... poo! So I stagger out of bed, grab the wipes and a nappy sack and set up the poo station, warily un-velcro him and ... no poo! But his tummy was a bit smaller! :laughing: I swear I haven't been eating cabbages!
He's been chattering for yonks, as you all probably know, but since yesterday he's been hilarious going "blah blah blah" - literally! He looks very seriously at you and goes "blah blah blah", tongue waggling furiously. He also saw his dad going into the bathroom and said "dadda". This made Noodle terribly happy until I pointed out that he had only just a few seconds ago said the same thing to his cot. And the carpet. And the toilet.
Aren't I a killjoy? I'd never have pointed it out if the word had been mama ... :D
*Country Bumpkin*
03-01-2007, 10:50
Adele - Jasper has just hit 10.5kg,..... 7.5 doesnt sound bad at all! My back is killing me!
:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: Holy smokes
My goodness Jane! What are feeding the boy?!!! That's one healthy baby!
To all those ladies coming down with a cold, my heart goes out to you. Try lots of warm tea with honey and a squeeze of lemon and for those with a sore throat, gargle with apple cider vinegar diluted in half a glass of warm water- does the trick everytime.
Well, I'm having a very full-on week. MIL is driving me slightly nutty, but that's what MIL's are for right?!:rolleyes: I've sent her and my step-daughter into town for the day, and they'll be having lunch with DH, which means I really should be napping or cleaning or both, but instead Im on here catching up with all of the chit-chat.
Beany, your noodle is everso sweet. Dont know many men who'd do that. I'm even too grossed out by my own vomit.
Lottiesmum, well done on the homemade jam. I'll have to get the recipe from you. I've always wanted to make some homemade preserves but never got around to it. You've just inspired me to go for it.
Eamonn is still in his cradle too. I need to make the transition for Thomas from cot to bed before I can move him to the cot, and I'm absolutely dreading it. Thomas is being such a handful at the moment, I'm even too scared to take him to a bub hub meet-up. Plus, we moved the pc to our bedroom to keep it out of Thomas's reach, so there's no room for a cot in our room now which means we will need to rethink the set-up once we make bed transitions: do we move the cot into our room and the pc out to be destroyed by Thomas, or do we keep the pc safe in our room and move Eamonn upstairs with his siblings to be killed by Thomas? Im opting for the former, but it might spell the end of my bubhub contribution until such time as we can afford a bigger house/a new pc.
Well, best be off to do some cleaning up. Does anyone wanna do coffee next week? nothing too organised, just a coffee and a chat somewhere- preferably on a Tuesday or a Friday.
Hi Raff. Thomas sounds just like my mischevious little Max. What is it with that age?? Whinge, whine, destroy, touch everything, want everything, need everything, more whining. aaaaagh. He's at the inlaws today so I have lovely wonderful blissful girly time today. phew. So I guess there's not enough room for you guys, the pc and bub in your room? We recently put Max into a big bed and ditched the dummy. It's put him into a bit of a headspin, but we're getting there.
I have a new motto. Whenever anyone is testing my patience (ie MIL, FIL, my parents, Dh, ds and even on the extreeeemely rare occasion dd) I just say "they're teaching me patience and tolerance". It's sorta helping a bit.
Sorry guys, the longer this day wears on, the less likely it seems that I will make it to a meet tomorrow. I just want to pop my eyes out and stick them in soda water.
Next week should be fine (I hope!). I have no life so any day is fine by me :D Anyone fancy going to the Lindt cafe in Martin Place?
MountainGirl
03-01-2007, 14:35
Ok,... how bout next Friday? Somewhere toddler proof!!!! If such a place exists!
I know Raf/Adele,..Jasper is huge.........an insists on standing up all the time - murder on the arms,...!
I think Asher is going through another growth spurt. How much more is this boy intending to grow?!
He's been feeding like a thing possessed all day, draining both breasts and sucking on anyway. Maybe my supply is low with this head cold thing. Maybe he's just comfort sucking. Maybe he's a gargantuan.
He's the same as Jasper regarding standing up. I try to sit him on my lap and he tenses proto-tantrum style, body as rigid as a dive board. If the message isn't received quick-smart, he fusses, whinges and then cries.
He's a bit of an ye olde rocker :D I was absent mindedly singing to him and realised it was some old timer Guns'n'Roses stuff ... his eyes were wide, staring up at me in wonder. I hope I had the wherewithal to edit the less child-friendly language ... :o
lottiesmum
03-01-2007, 15:48
sorry to hear about all these illnesses.....lots of garlic and lemon juice/honey all around.
Hi Jane - DD is pretty much toilet trained now. she has the odd accident if she gets engrossed in something, and i still remind her every 30-40mins if she needs to wee. she's very good using the potty for a poo although i have yet to convince her to do this on the loo instead...she likes the potty because she can take care of her business herself but needs help to climb on the loo. much better than nappies :thumbsup: good luck with Scarlet - the stickers worked a treat with us. i'm with you in wanting them toilet trained for starting pre-school - and good luck with the waitlist. sydney is such a killer with waitlists...we are sending DD to montessori preschool in blackheath - she can only start when she turns 3 but we have booked her in 2 days a week. I can't wait...neither can she! i love the montessori method and think it;s a wonderful start to school life.
Shed - i dont think that is pathetic at all...enjoy your little boy they are babies for such a short time i think so its good to slow down that as much as possible and enjoy the ride. if DS could fit in his bassinette he'd still be in there, i can tellyou that's for sure!
Adele - good luck with the solids!
Raffee - nothing like homemade preserves :p though sometimes i wish i could preserve myself!! (2001 was my vintage year :laughing: ) mind you sounds like you have your hands full with your boisterous boys...i cant imagine having a toddler boy - they seem so active.
wattle - you must be a saint. that's an amazing attitude.
beany - wish i could meet you all at Lindt - ooooooooh all that chocolate. yum (i need a little lip smacking icon inserted here!)
right - have been delaying the inevitable....must get back to work. i'll be AWOL again for a while until our visitors leave...hope you all have a good week.
Mrs Potts
03-01-2007, 19:52
Hi everyone. I see we're all nice and comfy in our new home? I especially like the prints in here :D
Sorry to hear everyone is sick. I've had the 'snots' for a couple of days too but it seems to have eased. I was eating Vitamin C tabs like they were the last food on the planet so maybe that helped?
Beany - Mr Noodle sounds exactly like my Dough. He'd happily leave his shower to clean my puke. Men like that should be cloned!
Miss K had her first taste of Farex tonight. We figured it was a nice way to celebrate her 5 month anniversary. She didn't mind the taste, but she was a little unsure what to do with it. She started to get the hang of it around the same time she tired of it. But that's OK. She can have another turn tomorrow. Very unlike her big brother who, after the initial shock of 'solid' food, flipped his head open like the Reach toothbrush dude :laughing:
Mmmm Lindt cafe..... I wish I wish I was in Sydney!!! At least I have some Lindor balls in the pantry in the meantime.
Might take the girl for a weigh in tomorrow. It's been a month so I'm interested to see how much she's grown. When I go back to work in a month I won't be able to get her weighed anymore so I have to make the most of the baby stuff...
OK, I'm off to have a look around. See you soon!
*munchkin*
03-01-2007, 22:02
Well well well...who's the slow one around here:o I've been wandering around bubhub, wondering where you'd all got to for days. Du-uh. Aaah well, I openly admit to having no brain since DD was born. I think they removed it at the same time they put the guilt implant in :)
I was being glad not to be in Syderney what with the flu going around and all...until I heard about the Lindt Cafe! He-ello!! Book me a ticket! I'm on my way!! Why did no-one mention this earlier?! I thought we August mum's were meant to stick together?!!!
BTW: I am using Huggies for Em, but how do I know if they are NEW and IMPROVED? She's still wetting up out the back of them. I'm going to try the Aldi Mamia ones instead. Stoopid Huggies.
cheekypossum
03-01-2007, 22:29
mmm lindt cafe...will check flights to see if there are any specials:yes:
Fairy Floss - Belated happybirthday wishes...sounds like you got some lovely gifts
Rach - How was your New Years...did you end up at Southbank?
Bella - How is the settling going
AlliJB - Your Nanny has texted you another 2 times sick...WHAT THE??? You big meany keeping her present :laughing:
Adele :hugs:
To all those who are sick...sending you cyber vibes that you all make a quick recovery
Us We had a quiet New Years. Went to a BBQ at a friends house, was home by 10 but when I took Miss Chloe out of the car she decided she wanted to play and nodded off about 11.45 so we saw the new years in Chloe asleep on DH's chest and DH and I snuggled together "AWWWWW"
Went to the Clinic today, Chloe is now 6.4kg, her weight gain has slowed but they said that was normal considering she is moving around a lot more now. They gave me the OK to start her on some rice cereal (she si 21 weeks) but I am going to wait until she hits the 24 weeks. Even though I am so excited I really want to exclusivly BF her till then...unless something comes up. But she is really thriving on BF at the moment.
Had a few down days. I think it is just the hot weather. I love Chloe to bits don't get me wrong but yesterday and today have really felt like having a "day off". But then she chuckles at me or gives me that gummy smile and I just melt.
We bought a blow up pool and I have been taking Chloe in that and she just loves it. Have also been putting her in the jolly jumper and she too loves that. Cannot believe how fast she is growing up already.
Well I am off to bed now.
Talk to you all soon
cheekypossum
03-01-2007, 22:30
Monique - if I have my dates correct, you are in the process of moving. :fingerscrossed: everything goes to plan
Thinking of you
Noodle and Dough...maybe we all need men with food names.
Lindt cafe sounds allright. Is it really a chocklit cafe? I have never heard of it. Anywhere is fine by me.
I went out to the shops today and I forgot about makeup. I don't think there is anything wrong with having a day out without makeup but the thing is...I was in the shopping centre and walked past a chemist, and then I realised that I had not only forgotten to put any on, but I had forgotten that there was such a thing. :eek: It has completely fallen off the ritual, even for outings, oh dear.
I went and opened a trust account for my wee lad today. Its got both DP and I as trustees. Its all a bit complicated but its basically for our wedding money for the moment, and after the wedding we'll use it for Baden's school fees or something, I dunno. Its our first joint account and it felt very grown up and 'committed' to go and open such a thing.
I know we have a baby and everything, but it actually felt more serious than that in some ways!
I didn't get the underlay today, I ran out of time. I was in Spotlight buying wool and it always takes me at least an hour to pick out a few balls of wool. Baden HATES wool shopping at Spotlight. He always cracks it. I think its because the stroller stays in one spot too long and the aircon at that Spotlight isn't great so it gets a bit warm in there. Whatever the reason, my normally calm easygoing baby always, ALWAYS gets the major sh!ts in the wool section at Spotlight :laughing:
meandemily - I have heard great things about the Aldi nappies. Next time we get disposables I might try some.
Meeandemily: you know if they are new and improved Huggies if they have blue bits on them ... or, in your case, pink bits, I suppose! The old and rubbish (!) ones are plain white as far as I remember. With a little doodle of Winnie the Pooh on them. Also, the packaging has a small "new and improved" marker on them somewhere.
Shed: Yes, the Lindt cafe is indeed a chocolate cafe ... erm, in the sense that it is devoted to all things chocolate. Not in the its-made-of-chocolate kind of way. Though that would be interesting ...
I have been there once. I was 7+ months pregnant at the time and had to really struggle to get onto one of those high chair thingies ... This time, I think I'll get a nice low table with nice low chairs. The hot chocolate was yummy. They give you a jug of melted chocolate and a jug of warm milk and let you mix your own according to how strong you want it. Bliss! There are many many many other chocolatey delights on offer, too.
Hi lottiesmum, Mrs Potts and Tash ... and everyone else, of course!
MountainGirl
04-01-2007, 04:57
Why do garbage trucks feel the necessity to swing by at 5:00 and wake up 2 happily sleeping babies and one resting mummy? And why do we need 3 trucks in a row? blasted recycling!
If we do Wed next week, I can come without Scarlett,...and the Lindt cafe would be do-able! Does that suit everyone else? Morning,....say 11:00?
Had El weighed the other day... 8kg! I thought that she would be the biggest bub by far but... 10kg for Jasper! HOLY MOLY!!
I had considered starting El on solids but she just loves her milk too much, Im going to wait a few more months. The CHN said that there were definatly no feeding problems here, so I didnt really need to start feeding her anything solid yet anyways.
So, you guys are all sick eh? Im not! *naa naa na naa naa* Im just tired and grumpy. (heh, like thats a change from the usual latley.)
Been selling heaps of jewellery. Although I had some jack@ss yesterday suggest to a customer of mine that perhaps she visit a beadshop and COPY the piece she liked- it would cost her heaps less. THANKS JERK.He's had it in for me for a long time now and this was just icing on the cake. Im tempted to fly to Sydney and kick him in his fat head.
Anyways, Im going to be in the paper! Well, EL & I are. For baby development stuff... theres a thread on it in the Reserach bit on Bubhub... So, I shall let you all know when Im going to be in there so you can keep an eye out!
Anyways, must be off. EL has just drifted off to sleep- so Im going to try go back to bed.
Peace
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 07:26
Morning
Shed - Make up? What is that agina:laughing:
Beany - YUMMO....that Hot Chocolate sounds devine0
S_J - Garbage trucks at that time....I would be ringing that coucil and complaining
Jessi - What an ****.....tell him to mind his own business...glad the jewellery is doing well though
Well better go and give my possum a bath...toast for brekky as I Have no milk left
Ciao
Jessi - What an ****.....tell him to mind his own business...glad the jewellery is doing well though
Yeah I told him that telling people who are interested in my stuff to go COPY it was just not on. He said it was just a suggestion and to get over it. Needless to say, I said some pretty choice words to him.
I also got the MOD of this site (and very good friend of mine IRL) to have a chat to him. I dont think it will have any effect though. He's a jerk and wont ever change.
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 08:32
Good on you Jess:thumbsup:
Hope the MOD give it to him
The world is full of those kind of people :thumbsdown:
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 08:34
I think I read in someones post....Is there somewhere you can look on bub hub to see who is signed in the same time as you?
I may have misunderstood what I read too :D
Morning all
So tired this morning. I was up until 2am cleaning out the fishtank as we had lost 2 fish over the course of the day. Turns out the water was too acidic- we were frying the poor mites, and the filter was all disgusting. It looks so much cleaner now, and the fish much happier.
Jane, sorry hon but there is absolutely no way I could make a wedndesday meet if its at a chocolate cafe as I have thomas home on that day. He starts up at day care as of next week, on Tuesdays and Fridays. Otherwise, I could possibly make a wednesday if its at an enclosed place or a huge playground... but if that suits you then maybe I can make another meet later.
Jessi, well done on your jewellery and dont let the 'haters' bring you down. He's just a jealous git. :thumbsdown: And well done on Elsha's growth- 8kg for a girl of her age is spectacular!
Well, we're off on a day full of activity today, so will check in later in the evening.
Have a great one everyone!:wave:
Good Morning All!!
We have quite a big day planned for today lots of shopping and errands to run which seem to be all over town, im so glad Aiden is in daycare today so i can just take Noah who is usually a little angel and sleeps all the time in the car.
We have been really lucky with our kids and there beds and sleeping. When Aiden was about 1 year old he went into his big bed(he was climbing out of his cot and i thought if he is a climber i would rather have him fall from bed height rather than cot height) and he was brilliant, changed over great and never fell out of it. Well this ment when we had Noah we didnt have to try and change Aiden than. Lucky as well coz Noah has been in his cot from 2 weeks old. We had him set up in a cradle next to our bed but he has slept through the night from the night he was born so we moved him... Aiden slept next to us for nearly 6 months and didnt slept through the night till 9 months. It was a big difference between the 2 kids!
meandemily: I dont know what they changed but i have always found the huggies pre change and now to be the best... Noah seems really prone to nappy rash as soon as he is in any other kind of nappy,Aiden was the same before he was toilet trained and in the huggies they just seem to absorb better, but each to there own and you need to find something that suits you.
Shed: Makeup i havent know the meaning of the word for about 3 years now!!!
Jessi: Welcome back to bubhub, hope things are going well for you
ScarlettJasper: I totally understand the bin man thing.. We are kind of on a bend and so they go past our house like 3 times in the morning before they actually even pick them up, and because of where our house is they have to reverse as well so then we also get thet beep beep beep first thing in the morning!!! Not happy jan!:thumbsdown:
Anyway hearing about the meets and stuff i feel a little lonely over here in Perth! You all will have to come and visit :thumbsup: Not sure about the lindt cafe but over here they have this really yummy Chocolate factory where you can go and have coffees etc and they even have a big grass paddock out the front for the kiddies to play on!
Bye for now xoxoxox
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 09:09
Raffee - Cleaning a fish tank at 2 in the morning....wow, if I did that I would feel like ****. I feel as if I have no energy as it is, I think though mine is cause of this blasted stinkin hot weather....Bring on winter i say
mumstar - Shopping sounds like a good idea, AIR CONDITIONING :laughing: Though my little Chloe does not much care for car trips or shopping trips....I will have to teach my little girl the art of shopping I think
I am bored today as you can see.....mmmm what can I do today?
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 09:12
Jessi and Mumstar - I have sent a friend request to join on your myspace :D
Morning everyone. :wave:
Why is it that chocolate cake tastes so much better than lettuce? It's a conspiracy. *looks down at chocolate crumbs resting on the jelly belly :eek: *
HOT here today - 35, and we don't have any cooling other than a fan, but can't have that on with mr destructo 2 year old around. Maybe I'll pop it in Stephs room and have a quiet day in there with her. :thumbsup:
Raff - bet you have happy fish now. I can hardly see mine in the pond...I hope they like algae. Mmmm, think it's time to do the big clean too.
I have never been so offended and angry. I am fuming.
That guy who has been giving me heaps really took it too far today. He said that I am trailor trash, I have no class & I am a bad mother. :mad: :crying:
Who says that?! Who is he to say stuff like this about me. I just wish that he would leave me alone! He said I attack him- what?! Its the other way around! I made a complaint to the guy who owns the site but I know he wont do anything. Hes 'everyone's friend' and doesnt like getting on anyones bad side.
OMG, im so shocked. So shocked.
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 13:40
OMG...what site is this Jessi, can we go on and make comments...maybe we can all gang up on him :laughing:
That is so terrible....try and not take it to heart. He does not even know who you are :hugs: :hugs:
Hey wattle - can you share some cake?:D
He said that I am trailor trash, I have no class & I am a bad mother. :mad: :crying:
"There are way worse mothers out there than me. Yours, for a start."
That guy who has been giving me heaps really took it too far today. He said that I am trailor trash, I have no class & I am a bad mother. :mad: :crying:
That is just awful, I'm sending lots of :hugs: your way! Nobody ever has the right to say that, all that matters anyway is that u know your not a bad mum! I love your stuff and i think you are doing a really good job, juggling earning some money and a baby i say you're a star!!! :wizard:
No worries Tash, but there's only 2 pieces left and dh is eyeing one off right now! The recipe is somewhere on bubhub - the Donna Hay Chocolate Cake. Mmmm iftshs wreeeelly gooobd..... ever noticed how hard it is to talk with a mouthful of cake?
Is anyone else having trouble with bubhub? I can't do a search or get the new posts today. Ok, I just found the announcement that there's some difficulty with these functions today. Next question - I don't seem to be able to go 'back' lately. After I post I usually click back but the last few days it doesn't work. Anyone else found that?
Fortunately I put this thread in my favourites, so I can always find you special mummies with a quick click.
Jess, sorry to hear about that nasty man.
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 13:53
Mmmm iftshs wreeeelly gooobd..... ever noticed how hard it is to talk with a mouthful of cake?
Is anyone else having trouble with bubhub? I can't do a search or get the new posts today.
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
:yes: I am having troubles with bub hub too
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 13:54
:wave: Beany and mumstar
So bored today....living on my computer today when Chloe is asleep
Giving myself sore eyes looking at this darn computer screen
Is anyone else having trouble with bubhub? I can't do a search or get the new posts today.
Yeah me too :(
Hi there im trying to get Noah off too sleep and he loves being jiggled lying across my knees so i can actually sit down and play on the computer for a while... shopping was good and i got all my errands done
Silly me though my friend is getting her kids christened on sunday and i said i would make some mini quiches so i still have to do that this afternoon... Yes i will do that when noah is sleeping!!!
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 14:04
Mini quiches Yum. It is awful when you commit to something and then when the time comes you can't be bothered. I am well known for that :laughing: . When I tell my friends I will be somewhere they are quite prepared for that phone call to say that I have changed my mind :laughing: Then there are the times where I force myself to go and I have a really good time and am glad that I went..... I am a strange girl :confused: :D
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 14:05
Going up town now to get my darling a Air-Con
Talk again later
If nothing is done about it- I could use a hand in offending him somehow. :laughing:
:( I really hope they do something about it though.
where is he from or what site etc...
*Country Bumpkin*
04-01-2007, 14:15
Wattle- Im makign the Donna Hay cake tomorow!! I made a slice today YUCKO :barf: DP didnt even like it and thats saying something!! I did everythign right I think it must have been this recipe... I have NEVER mucked up a cake/slice before the only thing I could never do was lasagne- Ive masterd that now....:D
Jessi- PM me the name of this site and Ill give that guy what for..... What an A** I assume you only know him from the net... just rememebr he DOSN'T know you so he cant comment on your parenting skills- besides If you were a bad mother I would have told you by now:D :hugs:
missie_mack
04-01-2007, 14:42
Jessi- What a w****r! What would he know? I would just give him the whatever and ignore him. He obviously gets off trying to fire you up. Some people are just like that. I think he might have some issews of his own??
Meandemily- I have to tell you my blonde moment of the week. Ive been scratching my head trying to work out your user name. Im reading it as Mean- de- mily and Im thinking she's mean to who?? Derrr! Yes I have now found my brain again "Me and Emily" my DH thought it was the funniest thing.
Well we are all stations go here at Kinchela House (which is my house name BTW) We are off to see a priest on Sunday about getting DS Christened. Should be no worries it is the priest that has my families church at the mo. He knows me from doing my Grams funeral and would know my family has a long association with the Church. My Grandparents were one of the first marriages there and James will be the 4th generation christened there..... which I think is pretty impressive. We have asked the priest to do it by the end of January as we dont know where we will be in February. So we are busy doing extra house stuff to be ready for the christening. Im painting my dining room at the moment which is a huge room of about 30m sq and then Ive got some plaster work to do. Dont think Im a handy person or anything Im just too tight to pay someone else to do it and well DH is further from being a handyman again (by his own admission) Although he has been upgraded in the last day or so to being approved to use screwdrivers :laughing: still no power tools though... and his father is such a clever man with these things I was hoping it would be passed along the gene pool. Not to worry.
Well Im 2 days into the CSIRO diet. Looong way to go but... pregnancy wasnt kind to me. We were looking at pre pregnancy pictures the other day and a friend didnt even recognise me!! Ive done this diet before and it was great the meals were nice enough for DH to eat (not that his skinny you know what needs a diet) so I think I might sneak some fat boosters into his food to make me feel better LMAO.... I really have a evil streak lurking inside me that scares me some days. I would hate to cross myself!
Keep organising the meet next week. Im not sure if I will be able to get there but I will try. Question- Wont Martin Place be madness during the middle of the day. Its been a couple of years since I worked there but I cant imagine that much has changed. Im just thinking about room for prams.... Anyhow I have a aunt over in Greenwich and some family at Mosman and Longueville Ive been trying to get to see so might make a day of it or even try and convince DH to use up one of our Adavantage Plus free nights if we could get in somewhere. God knows it would be nice not to have to do housework for one night!
Hello:wave: to all our Mummies. I know I dont do personals as well as others but Im always thinking of you all. Ive been thinking about littlejoy and her DH and all these sick Mummies and Bubbies... not good for this time of year.
Right back to the salt mines have a great day all!
*Country Bumpkin*
04-01-2007, 14:59
Missie Mack- shhhh dont tell anyone but I did the same thing with Meandemily's name then I had a "light bulb moment" and I was like ohhhhh nooow I get it:o
Meandemily- I have to tell you my blonde moment of the week. Ive been scratching my head trying to work out your user name. Im reading it as Mean- de- mily and Im thinking she's mean to who?? Derrr! Yes I have now found my brain again "Me and Emily" my DH thought it was the funniest thing.
After the last exam I had to sit for my undergrad degree, I was well and truly knackered. I'd been ill all week and had had to sit 2 exams in one day followed by another 2 the next day. After the first set, on minimal sleep, still sniffling and snuffling, I did my revision for the next lot and finally headed off to bed at around 2am. At 4am I was woken by a horrendous gastric-attack. I was squirming and sobbing and carrying on in a manner unknown ... It was awful! Remember, I have actually been through labour and I'm still complaining about that particular attack!
It went away, after many different druggings, and I went to uni to sit my exams. On 2 hours sleep. I actually had to set my mobile alarm to make sure I made it to the second exam and didn't fall asleep in the library.
That night, I was at my in-laws who had been unpacking and repacking junk (looooong story) and I was sitting there facing a box that said "SEWING". Sewing? See-wing? Did they mean Sea wing? What's a sea wing? Is it that thing that people glide on over the ocean? Hang gliders? Why wouldn't she just write "Hang Gliders"? Seawing ... Seewing ... seeeeewing ....
*smack*
:o
And what am I doing a masters in? That's right! English ...
Unfortunatly, I have met him in real life... I kind of worked with him for this music website. And we made out one drunken night... LONG story. (AND a LONG time ago!!)
LOL, I dont know if I want you guys going there n going off at him. I cop it enough as it is, he'd really have a rant at me.
He seems to think that its all me, that I am the one saying horrible stuff to him. I have copped so much **** from him for so long and im just over it.
If ya want, you can check it out [link removed by mod] In the "SUBMIT" thread.
*Country Bumpkin*
04-01-2007, 15:38
Jessi- So the reason hes being an *** is casue hes hjealous of you havig Nat and he wants you for himself. In my experiance men can be asses if they want you and cant have you-frustrating I know:rolleyes:
*Country Bumpkin*
04-01-2007, 15:46
Jessi- :mad: why did you link me now Im fuming- Im trying to come up with something mean and witty to say to him but Ive got nothing. For the first time in my life Im lost for words- a** hole
lol... yes, he makes me so angry at times im lost for words also.
Ahwell... :fingerscrossed: the Mods do something.
mum_I'm_hungry
04-01-2007, 16:42
I wanna go to the Lindt cafe too! :D
omg i just read all the banter on the other site... i think u stood up for urself and elsha brilliantly! if u need reinforcements were here if not well just let it bee!!!!
*munchkin*
04-01-2007, 19:47
:laughing: Still smiling at that one! I have those moments ALOT since Em was born. I have been considering changing my username as I had no idea I'd actually post on this site when I created it, and you and Adele have just sealed the deal for me! Tee hee...still smiling...
My blonde moment recently was when I was at the Dr (whose name is Ian Williams) with Emily. He asked who her paedeatrician (was, and I said "Dr Ian Williams. Oh, no. :o That's right - YOU are Dr Ian Williams. I mean Dr Ian Robertson". Oh the shame...he laughed at me, needless to say.
Jessi - that guy sounds like a loser. Lots of :hugs: for you.
AlliJB - do we have a chocolate cafe here in Brissie? I'll be there in a flash if we do...
Thanks for all the tips on the nappies. I bought the Aldi ones yesterday, but they are way too big for Em's little buns! I think the problem might be that her hips and buns and very small (and tight...like her mum :laughing: ...SO not serious...)
I'm trying to do up the Huggies really tight on her (have pink bits on them, but not sure if they're new or improved?!)
I too am on a diet. My first ever in my whole life, and let me tell you, it's a hard chore for me. I have 5 - 8 kgs I really need to lose, cause I can't afford a new wardrobe! I got SOOOOO hungry today I was fighting with myself in my head. I overcame it...with the help of a cup of (skim) hot chocolate. Oops.
Went to visit the Grandparents today, my Mum and Dad, and was told lots about how to parent correctly. Sigh... Guess I'd better get used to it. Dad told me about the news article linking giving your kids alcohol to taste, and binge drinking in later life. Then he asked me if I would give Emily alcohol. I said I'd wait until she was at least 6 months old...
*munchkin*
04-01-2007, 19:49
Oh...and how do I go about changing my user name? How do I email Bub hub??
thanks tegan. I havent heard anything back from the mods yet...
Nat decided tonight to feed El abit of the old Heinz Apple Puree... she had 2 teaspoons. And has been crying and vomiting it back up and choking on the vomit. Does that usually happen when bubs first start to eat??
my eldest didnt, maybe she isnt ready for it... maybe wait a little while and try again,
we started aiden on rice cereal and then vegies and we dont have a fussy eater at all... how old is she now??
missie_mack
04-01-2007, 20:18
Maybe Nat gave her too much?
Oh dont change your name Meandemily I was thinking it was rather cool... unless of course you were Mily who probably wouldnt think so :laughing:
Now Im sure theres a chocolate and coffee cafe at the Queen Street Mall in Brisbane.... I only ever walked past it though but I heard that they're to die for...
Ive just had a psychic moment and Ive seen the future with James' christening..... WTF was I thinking I had enough of 'family' and I term that loosely when we got married why am I inviting them to our place for the christening?? :banghead: :banghead:
*munchkin*
04-01-2007, 20:22
Oh dont change your name Meandemily I was thinking it was rather cool... unless of course you were Mily who probably wouldnt think so :laughing:
Now Im sure theres a chocolate and coffee cafe at the Queen Street Mall in Brisbane.... I only ever walked past it though but I heard that they're to die for...
Yeh...I shouldn't be so mean to mily...:D
Right, I'm off to Queen Street Mall tomorrow then. Actually, I used to shop in the city all the time, but I've been too scared to go in there with Emily. I find myself going to Westfield shopping centres now. Oh no...I've become a suburban housewife...and I'm not even a wife :eek:
Oh no...I've become a suburban housewife...and I'm not even a wife :eek:
i cracked up when i read that!!! i was a bit of a house wife before i got married and had kids though!!! at least were not desperate!!!
*munchkin*
04-01-2007, 20:30
Yeh...give me another year or two to get to the 'desperate' part! I'll probably be chomping at the bit by then (ok TMI, sorry!)
*munchkin*
04-01-2007, 20:35
By the way, in case you haven't noticed, I've changed my username. Have been meaning to do it for a while anyway, but Mily prompted me .. hee hee.
I feel like a new woman!
*Country Bumpkin*
04-01-2007, 20:44
Jessi- after alot of research I think its probably best to start with farex. Skyla has half a teaspoon of farex and over the next few days we will build it up. "They" whoever they are :rolleyes: reconmend starting with savory food or bubs will become used to sweet and its possible they wont eat the savoury (like me hehe)
Also its important to only give very tiny amounts and build up as bubs tummys arnt ready at this age for large volumes of solids(or mush lol)
Id say el is chucking as Nat gave her too much.. 2 teaspoons is far too much for a little bub of El's (or Skylas age) Id say thats what the problem is
Just keep an eye on her though and if she keeps chucking or gets a temp call the hospy as she could be having an allergic reaction
I think your fairly safe though:fingerscrossed:
i like the change munchkin... hrmmm that took me a while to think how to spell that.. i must be getting tired! yes thats it tired!!!
then i see *country bumpkin* and *munchkin*... i think im gonna get confused!!!
*munchkin*
04-01-2007, 20:51
Oh dear! I only have the ** bits because someone else already stole the name munchkin, even though they haven't used it since 2005. Sorry *country bumpkin*!!
:party: my son just saw this little icon and stated singing happy birthday... how cute... maybe its coz we went to a birthday party yesterday were they were all wearing party hats!!!
anyway very sleepy thihnk im gonna turn in for the night (omg i sound like my grandad) night august mummies!!!
mama anne
04-01-2007, 21:03
hello hello hello!!!!
it's been a long time. hello to all the newies (well, newies to me anyway!) and oldies (remember when we were discussing our toilet habits together?) ................... i have thought about you guys alot actually lately. And i've been feeling guilty that we spent all that quality time together and now i havent been keeping up, then it takes me an hour to read alot of pages and i don't feel like i have anything intelligible to say ....
ANYWAY. Decided not to feel guilty anymore, so i'm back!
hope thats ok with everyone (and you remember who i am!)
Hope everyone had a great first Christmas with their bubbas. Bella got COMPLETELY spoiled by all (except mum and dad cause we knew what everyone else would be like with presents for her!) and slept most of the day away. We've been on holidays with her since then - a week in Port Macquarie then a few days camping with friends on the South Coast (we were in a caravan, not a tent!). It;s been great actually.
Me ....... I'm really enjoying this mothering caper. The usual stresses are there .... she's still being weighed weekly by the CHN (except when we were away) .... but my gp is happy with her so it's more enduring the visits than stressing about them IYKWIM. And we're still stressing if she sleeps too long in the day, not long enough .... etc etc etc.
but generally we're good. :thumbsup:
A big hello to all again .... hope to chat soon :wave:
*Country Bumpkin*
04-01-2007, 21:07
mumstar- nighty night
Ok here comes the rant
Its DP again who woulda guesed:rolleyes:
Surely its not that hard to
1: put a tissue thathe left on the toilet cistern which has now been there for 3 days now in the bin
2: Clip the legs onto skylas swing so I can put it all back together - I cant get the legs to clip in so he needs to do it
3; Do the ONE chore I ask him to do- empty the bins
:banghead:
I have asked and asked and asked- he tells me to ASK him to do things so I do and 3 days later Im STILL asking
Im starting to think that it would be easier and less time consuming if I did it myslef:mad:
WHat is he doign right now Playing the playstation well I have news for him- if he wants to behave like a child Ill treat him like one.
Playsation as of tomorow morning is now confiscated until further notice:devil6: Call me a b*** if you will but atleast it might get him moving
Dad told me about the news article linking giving your kids alcohol to taste, and binge drinking in later life. Then he asked me if I would give Emily alcohol. I said I'd wait until she was at least 6 months old...
My mother-in-law had a rant about some woman in the shopping centre that smacked her child on the bum. I know why she did it - to sound me out regarding my future discipline methods. Anyway, she eventually came to a halt with something that wasn't quite asking me whether I would smack a child but very definitely waiting for a response. I said "I'd never smack Asher and hitting any child with a closed fist is disgusting. That's what baseball bats are for" and walked away.
And regarding "chomping at the bit" ... oooo kinky!
Jessi: oh poor El! Perhaps it was all just too much for her. According to the "Breast Bottle Bowl" book (that I bought on Noosamum's advice - btw Where are you Noosamum?! Come back!!) it's best to start them off really slow. Half a teaspoon of farex (no allergy risk). It was probably a little too thick for her at this stage, too - next time you give it a go, water it down a bit with some cooled boiled water. I hope she feels better soon.
Anne!!! Aaaannnnnee!!! We missed you!! See, mention chocolate and everyone comes out of the woodwork! I'm glad to hear that the mothering lark is falling into place ... I remember being totally at a loss when we first met up, just muddling through and hoping I wasn't scarring him for life. Not much has changed but I'm more positive. I'm SURE I'm scarring him for life :D
How is Bella's reflux? I remember you said it seemed to be getting better before the wedding ... did it stick? What changed it? Did you see that chiro about it?
Missie: Martin Place ain't that bad in terms of foot traffic. There are always people in the cafe but it is pretty spacious. Or at least it was. There are also some tables outside. If the worst comes to the worst, we could just wander down to Pitt Street Mall and find a cafe there, I suppose. If it's all too hard, there is a playground in Darling Harbour and a Gloria Jeans right next to it. Or anything else anyone wants to pick :)
I'm knackered. Asher's still squealing to his dad in the bedroom. Nearly 11pm and still no dinner for me :( I guess that diet of mine is getting a head start!
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 22:01
Evening all
Jessi - remember we are here for back up if you need us
Mumstar - have a nice sleep Night
Adele - Men! Can't live with them can't live without. Sometimes I get cranky at DH when he does something, but does not do it the right way - I just say in my head "at least he is doing it
Missie_mack - :laughing: had to laugh at your "moment".....we too have picked a date for the Christening...2nd sunday in Feb...the only problem with the local church is that they don't do private....we have to have it in the middle of Sunday service Yeek!!!
Beany - :laughing: loved your silly moment too with the "sewing"
AlliJB - :wave:
Munchkin - love the name change
Mama anne - Hey there stranger :D Glad things are going goood......how is Bella's reflux going
Us - well I am off to express a little....thought I would start up a stash for the solids as my other stash has just been thrown down the sink as it has been sitting there too long
Bye
cheekypossum
04-01-2007, 22:02
I think I read in someones post....Is there somewhere you can look on bub hub to see who is signed in the same time as you?
I may have misunderstood what I read too :D
Just raising this question again...just in case you all missed it :D
I gave Baden a breastmilk slushie today, in one of those little mesh things. He LOVED it. He sucked it dry in about one minute flat and he had the hugest milky grin on his face. I just froze some milk in an ice cube try, then smooshed it up a bit when I put it in there.
No solids for us yet. I am waiting for six months. I don't think we will start on the farex or the spoon. I am waiting for his pincer grip to develop a bit more and then he can feed himself. Its all just fun and games with food at the start anyway, apparently. I am hoping to breastfeed for a year, so his main food will be breastmilk until then.
DP is on the Playstation again. I have a new saying for him whenever he tries to talk to me about either the boring playstation or his boring trading cards. I say "I'm pleased you're pleased darling".
I said it today and he gave me a funny look. Maybe he was talking about something else...:laughing:
mama anne
04-01-2007, 22:36
Anne!!! Aaaannnnnee!!! We missed you!! See, mention chocolate and everyone comes out of the woodwork! I'm glad to hear that the mothering lark is falling into place ... I remember being totally at a loss when we first met up, just muddling through and hoping I wasn't scarring him for life. Not much has changed but I'm more positive. I'm SURE I'm scarring him for life :D
How is Bella's reflux? I remember you said it seemed to be getting better before the wedding ... did it stick? What changed it? Did you see that chiro about it?
I'm so glad you missed me Beany :hugs: teeheehee.
I was thinking about the meet actually yesterday ..... us eating Maccas and sitting in THE WORST PARENT ROOM EVER at Harbourside. Good times :yes:
Bella's reflux is all but gone - no gaviscon for us anymore *phew!*. The gp thinks her stomach muscles just got stronger as she got a bit older - such a relief, fingers crossed it doesn't come back though. We still have her cot raised though ....... probably more a case of not messing too much with sleep stuff (at the moment she sleeps consistently 8 hours overnight).
Never went to the chiro ...... am a bit relieved now actually. Having said that though have heard lots of positive stuff about them since it all got better :confused:
I want to see how big your little ...... your littlebutbig man is now!!!!He's probably twice the size of bella ... she's only just cracked 5kg. DEfinately going to be tall and skinny like her dad - lucky her!
missie_mack
04-01-2007, 23:01
Ok Tash. You go to the main screen (where you can see all the thread options) and scroll right down the bottom and it lists everyone online... hope that makes sense.
Welcome back Mama Anne!!! :wave:
Also its important to only give very tiny amounts and build up as bubs tummys arnt ready at this age for large volumes of solids(or mush lol)
Id say el is chucking as Nat gave her too much.. 2 teaspoons is far too much for a little bub of El's (or Skylas age) Id say thats what the problem is
d:
I told him this! I was like "NAT, only give her a little teaspoons worth"... a teaspoon later "NAT, I told you only a teaspoon!" *WHY?!* "because their little stomachs arent ready for solid stuff yet, the only need maybe a teaspoon for them to be REALLY full!" *Oh I dont know Jess, have you seen some of her spew? Its really thick and lumpy. Im sure she can handle it* -Shovels more into her mouth- "NAT, STOP. THATS ENOUGH- give her to me." ~Elsha starts choking~ *Whats wrong with her* "You gave her too much, I told you she didnt need that much." *Nah, cant be that. Shes jst cranky*
OK WHAT?! :banghead:
Anyways, I got slammed with another 'Trailor Trash' call this morning. The head guy of the site messaged me back and said that he would check it out. And apparantly, this guy has filed a complaint about me too. Its probably warrented though, I did use some choice words in my PM to him. But still, it wouldnt have happened if he just stopped posting in any threads I post... because all his posts are negative towards me in some way. **AAAAAAAAAAAAAAARGH!** Its effecting me abit worse than what I thought it would.
So, Elsha & I have our photo shoot & interview for the paper today... WOOT WOOOOO :smiliedance: I think its for the Sunday mail so maybe :fingerscrossed: this weekend, we will be in there?!
Peace
cheekypossum
05-01-2007, 08:06
Ok Tash. You go to the main screen (where you can see all the thread options) and scroll right down the bottom and it lists everyone online... hope that makes sense.
:
THANK YOU MISSIE_MACK :smiliedance: :thumbsup: :hugs: :smiliedance:
cheekypossum
05-01-2007, 08:09
Shed - what is that milk mesh thing you are talking about?
Mama anne - glad to hear the reflux is all gone :smiliedance:
Jessi - :hugs: Try and not let it bother you too much.....you are a great mum....he is just an ****
*Country Bumpkin*
05-01-2007, 08:46
Jessi- If these phone call continue report him to the police. What he is doing is STALKING and that is so not on regarless of if he "knows" you or not:shame:
Perhaps stay away from the forum for a little bit until everything is sorted out
All Im going to say about Nat Is........... :banghead:
Beany: OMG your baselball bat comment made me laugh sooooo hard- sounds like somethng my MIL would say actually- I rememebr a story of DP getting cracked across the back of the leg with a small tree branch once haha- he deserved it mind you.. quite a funny story
Tash- your right- atleast he does help lol- errrrgh men
Shed- What are these mesh things I keep hearing about?? And where do I get one- gotta keep up with the Jonse's haha
Anne- Noice to have you back... We have had alot of MIA bubhubers recently perhasp your all coming "home":D
Welcome back Mama anne. Good to have you with us again. :wave:
Its going to be another stinker here - 35 again. grumble grumble sigh. Wish I'd got those ceiling fans organised a few months back when I was thinking about it. Damn procrastination. We have a double brick house, so its fine for the first few days, then it's like living in a pizza oven! I think I'm the cheese.....all globby and melted. :yes:
I have to buy a wedding present for my cousin today. Any suggestions? We're not going cos the wedding is over an hours drive away down the coast, we won't know anyone, and Steph still flatly refuses to drink from a bottle and I don't want to have to take her along - she'd hate it. Sound reasonable? I was thinking maybe some nice cutlery or something like that. They just put that they want vouchers on their invitations, but we're buying together with mum and dad and they wanted to give a gift. How much do people spend these days?
How are all the sickies?
Steph is overdue for her 4 month shots, but I'm going to wait until its a cool day. Don't you just hate knowing you have to take them. :( Ds is due for his chicken pox too and I've been putting that off for ages.....hmmm, there's that damn procrastination again. It's his 2nd birthday next week so I'm going to try and make him a truck cake. ha.
Mesh feeder, can't remember the brand but I got it from Big W or Target. Its in the aisle with the dummies and bottles etc.
here's a demonstration:
http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/1112/img1453oo0.jpg
cheekypossum
05-01-2007, 09:19
Adele :wave:
Shed - thanks for the picture of that mesh thingy, he sure looks like he si right into it :D
Wattle - I think the best thing about buying presents is you can make it look expensive without spending too much. Do they have a bath tub? Maybe get a nice box, buy some nice towels, get their name printed on them and then just get some bath salts, bath bombs, candles etc and just dress the box up with little gifts. That is what I usually do for people. And if you are sharing it should not cost you more then maybe 30 or 40.
Hope that helps
missie_mack
05-01-2007, 09:42
Rule of thumb for weddings is to cover the cost of having you there if you attend and if not it depends on how much you like them. I have some lovely gifts given to me for my wedding that were bought for me- one particular one is a bright purple and mauve bowl. We leave it sitting right on the edge of the table or cupboard hoping it will fall off lol Im sure I would be willing to part with it... I think champagne flutes witha bottle of champagne are always nice. Actually one of the most used gifts we were bought was a drink cooler. Only holds two bottles of wine or one bottle and two glasses. Something like this (to give you the gist of it)
http://www.petersofkensington.com.au/Product/ProductInfo.aspx?id=1538470
Hope this helps :wave:
Well Good Morning All
DH has just called me to inform me he is on his way home from work and we are going to go out today to pick more colours etc for our house. We are currently building our first home and as excited as i am about it i really didnt feel like going to pick out curtain colours and roof colours today with 2 kids in tow!! me thinks some one just didnt want to be at work today :banghead:
We had a pretty rough nite last night... I think Noah is starting to teeth he has all the tell tale signs! so mimimal sleep :thumbsdown:
Not really looking forward to this weekend either... DH is hosting his brothers bucks night at our house over the weekend which means me and the boy have to go and stay at my mums... This usually wouldnt be a prob except my aunty and uncle are over here from adelaide at the moment so there is no spare room... Which means i will be aharing a bed with my sister, noah will be in the portacot in the same room and aiden will be on a blow up matress on the floor in the same room :thumbsdown: Oh well what can i do
Playsation as of tomorow morning is now confiscated until further notice:devil6:
i cracked up when i read this... i might give that a go!
hello hello hello!!!!
it's been a long time. hello to all the newies (well, newies to me anyway!)
hi there my name is tegan my boys are Aiden about to turn3 and Noah just gine 4 months, look forward to chatting with you
Anyway hubby just got home better go get dressed!
Thanks missie mack, very helpful. One of our favourite wedding pressies was this candle holder, and there was a matching coat rack too. They're in the hallway and are so useful and look pretty.
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/Oct2110.jpg
(The dress wasn't part of the wedding present :laughing: )
I like the cooler idea. Maybe a nice picnic hamper? Its nice to have things you wouldn't buy for yourself. They're pretty outdoorsy people.
Mumstar - good luck, I don't envy you. All I can say is that I hope there's no evidence of a party when you return! Bucks nights.....how tedious.
MountainGirl
05-01-2007, 13:38
Shed - call me a daft old bat,..but what does that funky meshy thing do?
okay, you're a daft old bat. :D
oh - and the meshy thing is to put food in. I think its to stop them choking or whatever.
MountainGirl
05-01-2007, 13:56
roooiiiiiiiiigghhtttt! cool,...
Hey,...my DP is 40 this month too! Are you doing anything? Any cool ideas for pressies?
missie_mack
05-01-2007, 13:59
[quote=wattle;961398]
I like the cooler idea. Maybe a nice picnic hamper? Its nice to have things you wouldn't buy for yourself. They're pretty outdoorsy people.[quote]
Does this mean you dont want our lovely purple and mauve bowl then?? :crying: It looks like I will have to do some housework then :eek: in hope of bumping it off the bench.... maybe you would like these candles we got that have gum leaves all over them instead? Or shall I vaccum past them again? :laughing:
*Country Bumpkin*
05-01-2007, 14:12
*sigh*
DP now comes home for lunch at 1pm- 2pm......
He had to call suncorp and when he did they asked him for My details as a security check as Im on his account anyway he got the name out then they asked my DOB.. he got it wrong.
He dosnt even know my birthday.
He laughed
I got upset
He laughed some more
I slapped him on the arm
He went outside
He came back in and I said to him "so you dont evewn care that Im upset" he replied No
He went back to work
Im not speaking to him
He has just sealed the deal for me now. He dosnt remember my DOB he dosnt care Im upset. There is now nowhere we can go from here:gloomy:
Missie: wait till their birthdays and giver the mauve bowl giver the candles and the gummy candles giver the bowl! See, I have solved three problems for you: no bowl, no candles and no more housework :D
Not much to report here. We had a bit of an unsettled night (and day so far) due to a buggering up of the night routine by a Noodle that will remain nameless. I keep telling him that "ve must obey ze routine! Bow down to ze routine!" but he doesn't listen. And so we have a cranky pants doesn't-know-whether-he's-coming-or-going baby. Of course WE don't have him. HE got to go off to work.
Asher's still going "blah blah blah" at everything. It's very funny ... he looks so serious! He also sucks on his toes when he's in any reclining position which means we get a lot of funny looks when I take him out to the shops in the stroller. People look at him and then accusingly at me like I'm the one shoving his feet in his mouth. I just ignore them, smile down at him and make sucky-sucky noises. Nosey old buggers - what's it to them if he sucks his foot?
Oh and weird experience! I was turned around picking up a block of cheese at Woolies when I got a slight tap on my arm and a woman pointed at Asher and ASKED IF IT WAS OKAY TO SAY HELLO! :eek: That's never happened before! People just go right up to him and start talking away and trying (and failing, I might add) to touch him and things. The idea that someone would ask was astonishing! People like that exist! Wow!
Right, apparently chomping on a giraffe ain't fun any more. :wave:
missie_mack
05-01-2007, 14:29
Adele- from the many many years I worked in customer service (I worked in banks before the electricity industry) I can assure you very few men remember their partners birthdays. I seem to have problems remembering my wedding date. It doesnt mean I regret getting married or dont care about my DH, he's my best friend and the best thing that ever happened to me!Tim probably shrugged it off like most men would. Chin up there are a lot worse things than this.
Anyone heard from Lilbugalugs?? I wonder how her DH is going
Adele: not remembering your DOB isn't anything personal, I'm sure.
I didn't know Noodle's. Well, I could sort of guess (to within a day or two) but there were times I'd get it wrong. Only now, having been with him for 8 years, can I be reasonably sure I've got the right date. It's a combination of the way my brain works and the month he was born (my father, sister and one of my brothers all have birthdays at around the same time).
It gets worse than this. I actually stumble as to when our wedding anniversary is. We've been married 6 years. It is by no means an indication of my affection for him ... If he made a fuss about it, I might laugh as well - he knows my brain is like a sieve with (some) names and (some) dates.
(I can still remember my ex's birthday. And believe me, there is no affection there whatsoever.)
Don't take it too personally.
*Country Bumpkin*
05-01-2007, 16:39
The main reason Im upset is that he dosnt care
I asked him if he even cared that I was upset and he replied No- thats why Im upset:gloomy:
Well we had a most productive day today. All our prestart stuff for the house is completly done! And Troy even went to get his hair done and we caught up with a mate we havent seen in ages!!! Also i cam home and cleaned my house, did some washing, took some photos and had time to get on bubhub and let you all know... I think one of the most productive days i have had this year LOL
anyway this is one of the funniest photos i just took of Noah and thought i would share ... he looks like a cross between a :devil6: child and someone trying to eat the camera
http://widget.slide.com/redirect/bpTUrtibqDjbV-7otBMwNHzWuSTXLlK0weGlCNZe5H3NmMEChE7mfsb3VMnyK14Y t-9InWaHcFCks0bKXhljv2OxOjYR-92WErYhvEh9KmZcK_XhLmH537m2S4hHnOySqodmKim5JPLLiqL bHpdAqBcDVXFdUah0VIiBZ0Luzv-thvjiyV_cb5jtHShIprmYgIGfNa5YvfLmw6tVVlhDQMJVoxQOO QRh3ArrsT_S-dFqGTFLYqHWGg.jpg (http://www.slide.com/item_finder?referrer=hlnk&pciid=SKb29MtIP-fSI3ZsPXhtwhwamGUzzoAiGi1vkGPDvO5Ngdej18-LHGJPQUfQ6njk&dir=0)
The main reason Im upset is that he dosnt care
I asked him if he even cared that I was upset and he replied No- thats why Im upset:gloomy:
Yeah but sometimes Nat or I say little things that upset each other and the person who said it doesnt not care, its just that they find it abit funny.
Perhaps he thought it was abit funny? I dont think Nat will ever remember my birthday. Or anyone's birthday for that matter. Or our anniversaries. He cant even remember how old he is. (LOL, he always puts his age as 23, and im always like 'Nat, you're not 23 anymore. Remember, you had your birthday?... 5months ago" LOL)
And he doesnt know the month Elsha was born in- Some guy asked him the other day and he goes "September?" NO "November?" No, August is the month she was born in. Shes 4.5 months.
He doesnt need to remember dates, thats what he's got me for :rolleyes: *the date nazi*
So, El slept the whole way through last night! The 3rd time ever! The other two times were Christmas Eve & Christmas Night. (Great Xmas pressies wouldnt you agree?!) I was stoked, didnt even wake up thinking "omg, shes still sleeping- is she alive?!"
We had our photo shoot today for the paper. Shall be interesting. Keep an eye out in the Sunday mail... this Sunday for a pic of Elsha or Me & Elsha. I think they said they are going to put one of just her and one of us together, but who knows! I just hope I dont sound like a dumb@ss in the interview.
And lastly, I got a PM back from the Mods of the other site. He didnt get in trouble at all. But I did. I was like "WHAT?! COME ON!" But because of the PM I sent him, they said anything he said was voided. I only called him a **** and told him to f*&^ off. Personally, I think that being called trailer trash, and a bad mother is abit worse than being told to f&^% off. And then I got told by my very good friend, that she wasnt going to ban me from the site because Im a mother and being a mother can be isolating, I need some kind of interaction with other people.
BLAGH! Thats.... gay. (just a figure of speech, no offence to anyone who knows gay people or who might be gay- heh, gotta cover my bases).
Anyways. Im quiet stoked right now. I just recieved 2 orders for bracelets & a huge order of about 10 items! :smiliedance:
Hope everyone here is doing well this Friday afternoon.
*munchkin*
05-01-2007, 17:16
:laughing: Mumstar - that is a great shot! Love it.
Beany - guess this is the start of years of advice about bringing up our kids...sigh...
My Dad said "You'll be hearing more from us about child rearing". BAH!
As for people asking if they can say hello to bubby, I had a right weirdo in Big W RUN over to me, ask if she could say hello, then ask if she could touch Emily. I was kinda stunned so said "Errmm...yeh" and she stroked her and went "Ooooohh...sooooo soft....". It was very very peculiar!
Shed - so how do you feel about the big Four O? Or should I not ask! Hope DP is throwing you a big par-tay.
Mama Anne - :wave: I'm one of the newbies here. My little girl however is looooong and heavy - must be about 7.5 to 8kgs now, cause my back is starting to ache! My back wishes she was 5kgs!
Jessi - I'm still shocked at what that guy said on your thread. He sounds really vicious and a downright nasty piece of work.
Well, I have an announcement to make *drum roll*.... Today I did housework!! :yelclap: Yay me! I am so good at procrastinating, and today I really spring cleaned the place. Feels good. Em had an awful day yesterday - not feeding, and not sleeping. And today she is DreamBaby - currently sleeping and has been since 3.30pm! I dunna understand...like Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde some weeks.
2 funny things:
1. After Asher had a big feed and I was playing with him, rubbing his tummy, I could hear the milk sloshing around in there! I mean I knew it was in there but the sloshing made me laugh out lous - much to Asher confusion.
2. He looks so pleased with himself after he sneezes. It's all just too adorable!
Fairyfloss
05-01-2007, 18:04
wow you guys can talk, I am in a hurry but thought I will post this as a caution for you guys.
yesterday, yesterday DH tried to calm DD, after another eposoide of "oh I am awake now, world be aware" crying session. and somehow DD's handed ended up in DH's eye, the poor guy is now bed riden, with chunky bandages and eye creamin over his eye, I just hope, it heals soon, and does not become infected.(the Dr said, he can loosee his eye sight if it does) oh god why am I so lucky.:banghead:
any way, just wanted to warn you guys to watch out for the flying baby fingeres.
take care.
MountainGirl
05-01-2007, 18:51
Beany - we get the washingmachine tummy also,.....and it makes Jasper "humm" in time,... slosh - hmmmm - slosh - hmmmm - slosh,...
An old woman wanted to touch Jasper while he was in the pouch the other day,..and Scarlett slapped her hand away,....saying "No! Jas-ja mine baby"! Good for her,..mummy was too much of a wuss to do the same!
MountainGirl
05-01-2007, 18:55
BTW Mumstar,..I love the name Noah,.......really lovely,...
meanmunchkin - its not me thats turning 40 :eek: gawd no, I am MUCH MUCH younger...only 37, lol. Its my DP who's becoming a senior citizen.
Jane: a couple of his friends have organised a party for him that all of his friends are going to. One of them rang and told me the other week. So I can relax and do nothing, yay!
I am going to cook him a lovely dinner on the actual day (I think its next Friday) and he might get lucky (but probably not :laughing: ). Its our three-year anniversary on Sunday too. We met when he was out with his friends celebrating his 37th birthday.
On the DOB thing, Adele, your post inspired me to just say to DP
Me: Babe, when's my date of birth?
DP: <long silence> "uuum, f***ed if I know, is it July?"
Me: yes, its July...what year?"
DP: Year???? oh that's going a bit overboard isn't it? Is it 1970?"
Me: hysterical laughter. (Its 1969 but I'll take 1970).
Fairyfloss - thats terrible! I hope your DH's eye gets better soon!!
missie_mack
05-01-2007, 20:16
Shed Baden looks like a real little boy in that picture :eek: make him put his toddler face back on!
His toddler face left at about 2 weeks old!
We took him around to some friends today and their mum said he looks about 12 years old.
He's an old soul, my kid.
mum_I'm_hungry
05-01-2007, 20:48
The DOB thing can be frustrating. My husband's been repeating the kids' birthdates over and over to himself since Teddy was born. He's trying really hard to remember them as it always pi$$ed him off that his dad never thought it was important enough to remember his and his brother's birthdates.
We had our photo shoot today for the paper. Shall be interesting. Keep an eye out in the Sunday mail... this Sunday for a pic of Elsha or Me & Elsha.
I'll be looking for it! What's the article about, Jessi?
An old woman wanted to touch Jasper while he was in the pouch the other day,..and Scarlett slapped her hand away,....saying "No! Jas-ja mine baby"! Good for her,..mummy was too much of a wuss to do the same!
:laughing: Love it! Ivy always makes a big show of Teddy when I pick her up/drop her off from daycare. She bolts over to his capsule and fends the other kids off with a, 'MY Teddy!'.
Im kinda annoyed now wrote a long post and then pressed something and lost it so umm here goes again...
BTW Mumstar,..I love the name Noah,.......really lovely,...
My sister thought of it and i fell in love with it... She said we could have it as she didnt know if she would still want it by the time she has kids... As a thankyou we made her a godmother to noah and she was there at his birth and cut the cord. I think they will always have a special bond.
Jessi is there anyway we can see the article here in perth a website or could you scan a copy etc???
His toddler face left at about 2 weeks old!
but still a very good looking baby! I totally get the DOB thing even though DH is good with my bday its the kids he stuffs up
We actually had to take Noah to the Docs when he was only 5 days old and when they asked he dob he forgot.... 5 days and he forgot:eek:
anyway i think thats it again... good night all
missie_mack
05-01-2007, 21:56
Welcome to mummyhood for me. Its friday night and Im sitting at home DH is sunburnt badly we are both killing ourselves trying to beat the stupid gamecubey/ playstationey thing.... life is so sad I remember when I would be just going out now lol We think we might go to the Aquarium tommorrow. Last day of DH's holiday stint. Better make the most of it. Night night all... off to kill Homer Simpson:devil6:
Hello Chickadees:wave:
Sneaking a bit of Bubhub time before I resume the fun task of packing.... Yes, Tash, our gear will be gone on Monday, and then we'll stay in a Hotel until we set off mid week (next week).
Miss A is teething something chronic, and has a little cold, so it's all fun here with a unwell baby and a house to sort out then the big interstate move:no: Thank Goodess we're getting Removalists to do the pre-pack and also house cleaners in, that's two major things we don't have to worry about.
Erica, Don't worry, when we're living down your way I'll buy a stack of Lindt balls and we'll have our very own Lindt Cafe, a la lounge:D room
Mumstar Great pics! I love the name Noah
MamaAnne Welcome back, had wondered where you got to!
Sorry for the big lack of personals, but it took me ages to get up to speed with all the posts and I'm procrastinating, so better go for now. TAKE CARE ALL
Tegan- I will scan a copy in and post it on here if you want! The article is on Infantile development and how parents these days spend alot of money on making their babies 'smart' eg. Baby Einstein products, Brilliant Beginnings Products.
Let me tell you, Elsha is one hell of a model. LOL S-E-X-Y-!
Anyways... Im abit sad right now. Nat really suprised me this morning. He asked me to get a job. We had originally said that I wouldnt go back to work until Elsha went to Pre-School. Im sad, because it will mean I will miss out on certain things in her life. And Im scared- I havent worked in so long... I dont know what to do. We cant afford to put EL into daycare either so... I guess it will have to be a night shift job... but if I have to do a night shift job, how on earth will I watch El during the day? I will be so exhausted... :gloomy: omg, Im going to cry. I thought we had it pretty good, but Nat tells me that the life we live is costing us too much. But its not the life we live, its all the **** we are signed up for- Life insurance, Business Insurance, Income insurance, Car insurance, Loan repayments... OMG, its so bloody expensive! We spend minimum on ourselves... all the money is taken by other stuff!
In other news, I left the stove on all night. Im suprised the house didnt burn down.
Jessi that would be great if you could scan it and post it here i think we would all want to see it!
Also your job prob... What a friend of mine has done for a little while now is work for a creche at a gym. She works for a Zest club (dont know if you have that over there) 3 hours a day from 9-12 she can bring her daughter with her and take as many or as little shifts as she wants. Very flexible. You might be able to do something like that even for a daycare etc.
Otherwise ring centrelink and find out what child care percentage u would be on for child care benifit and if you worked and see how much you could earn before it becomes unworkable. I know its hard over the 3 years Aiden has been around i have had to work on and off and you do miss them and it is hard but sometimes you gotta do it and the bills dont stop coming in...
Another options seeing if you can find a work at home kinda job... If you went back to work would you still be making your jewellery???
mama anne
06-01-2007, 11:17
hello ladies :)
thats right, for the third time this week, i read all the posts ....... and am replying to them. Progress? A changed woman/lurker? Let's hope!!!
Jessi i second the thought of scanning us in/linking us to the article. We want to see! And the job stuff ..... not cool hey. I know what you mean though about too many money commitments .... are there any you could get out of if you decided they weren't as important anymore .... or perhaps not as important as you spending more time with your wee one?
beany bella also does the tummy rumbling thing ..... but after she sneezes she still looks shocked! a friend's baby sneezed yesterday after having a huge cry over something .... she clearly wasn't over the crying yet cause after she sneezed she started crying again ...... was so cute but i couldn't laugh cause her mum was a little stressed.
adele :hugs: about birthday stuff .... perhaps you could ask him to get it written on him in a tattoo to make up for it?
uniquey good luck with packing everything. i wish we were moving ..... SO over our tiny unit.
raffee havent seen u for awhile ...... just saying :wave:
thanks for the intro mumstar and ..... the other person ................... damn this mummy brain.
well off to start the day now...... at 12:17pm .......... oh well. :rolleyes:
just a quick question has anyone else having trouble getting onto bubhub today or is it just me and my silly old computer!
MountainGirl
06-01-2007, 17:07
I wear a necklace with all our birthdays on it,...I am hopeless with dates,....
Shed - lucky you! I am doing Mike a champagne breakfast,...bloody 40 people - how appropriate! I am thinking - Bacon and egg baguettes with hollandaise sauce, rockmelon and proscuitto, strawberries and cream, croissants and a barista with a little cart to come and make takeaway coffee,.... and champagne of course,.... anyone else got any suggestions?
Hey,...we feed Scarlett Japanese seaweed as a snack,...and today she came and asked me for "more yummy wee-wee please Mummy!" ha!!!!:D
*Country Bumpkin*
06-01-2007, 17:35
Mumstar- Bub hub was down pretty much all day apparently
Ive been in Dalby all day so I didnt know- but when I got home a friend sent me a link to fix it so I was never without bub hub anyway :D
missie_mack
06-01-2007, 18:07
I am doing Mike a champagne breakfast,...bloody 40 people - how appropriate! I am thinking - Bacon and egg baguettes with hollandaise sauce, rockmelon and proscuitto, strawberries and cream, croissants and a barista with a little cart to come and make takeaway coffee,.... and champagne of course,.... anyone else got any suggestions?
How about a friand stack instead of a birthday cake?
And danishes ... ooooh mini danishes *drool*
I'd leave the "wee-wee" off the menu, though :laughing:
mum_I'm_hungry
06-01-2007, 18:33
Ooohhh! A barista is such a good idea. Might have to steal that for my husband's 40th (9 years away, but I'm sure he'll still love it then). Couldn't believe how excited he got when he went to a medical course a while back. They had a barista van come in each morning. He was so impressed. I wasn't. The bloody course cost us $1500 for just one weekend. I thought it was the least they could do!
My poor big baby (3) is off at the GP. She walked into our bedroom last night, vomited all over me and told me she was, 'Sick' (you think?!). She's been feverish and tired all day and is complaining her girly bits are sore when we change her. We thought maybe a UTI, but we got her to wee in a cup and it's not cloudy at all. Poor sausage. You can so tell when they're really sick. They just lose all their life and go all limp and floppy and sad looking...
Jessi, do you like working with kids? Working in childcare is a great idea! We've just signed Teddy up for two days per week with family daycare. His carer has started doing family daycare as she wants to stay home with her little boy.
"more yummy wee-wee please Mummy!"
:laughing: Thanks, I had a good Old giggle at that!
Yeah, I have studied child care before, however- they dont let you, nowa days, bring your own child into the childcare you are working at. Well, all the ones I have heard of anyways. (Lots of friends who work in Childcare)... I dont think I could work with children now. Id just want to be snuggling my little Elsha. (**Edited to add: OOPS, sorry AlliJB, I didnt read your post properly... I dont think I could have Childcare at home... Id have to finish my studies, get my blue card... and child proof my house... lol)
I would be making my jewellery still if I was working aswell... but anyways, Nat called me before... I had been looking for Night Shift jobs around here and I said to him "Well, I can get a night time job... If I want to work ALL night, or become a stripper." He was like "uhh.... ok." And then proceeded to ask me if we could have take away for dinner... :banghead: If I need to get a job because we dont have enough money, then HELL NO, we cant have take away.
He asked me what was wrong with working all night... EXCUSE ME?? You want me to work all night, then come home to look after El all day long? When would I sleep? Ohhh. You didnt think of that did you. I forgot that you think Im INVINCIBLE.
Then he said "well, dont get a job then." FINE, I WONT.
*does victory dance* :smiliedance:
Well... guess id better go get some dinner... Steaks & Veges tonight... hmmmmm.... steaks...:chef:
cheekypossum
06-01-2007, 19:24
Hello all
Tegan - Love the photo of Noah...how is your week end going...aren't you staying at your mums?
Jessi - Yay no working......great to hear of your big jewellery order....Those Mods on that site need a talking to...if you need a talking to that man should too
Munchkin - Do you want to spring clean my house too?:D
Fairlyfloss - hope your hubby is OK
Alli JB - Your poor little Ivy. I hope she gets better quick smart
Monique - Hey there, thanks for the update, was wondering how you were
Hello to missie_mack, wattle, Scarlett_Jasper, Shed, Bumpkin, Beany and Mama anne
LITTLE PICKLE WHERE ARE YOU??
Nothing much to share. Just being a mum. DH is cooking tonight, I love him for helping, but 20 questions.....how long for? How much do you want? blah blah blah.....I am tired and cranky and trying to read my bub hub.....Just leave me alone for 5 minutes :D :mad:
cheekypossum
06-01-2007, 19:27
Also Lilbugalugs and Noosa mum, if you are lurking PLEASE say hi, we are all worried about you :hugs:
Yes, littlepickle, where are you?
Well, I went out and bought bubby some pyjamas today. I bought some size 0's so he had some to grow into, and I put one of the 0's on him tonight and it fits perfectly...
oh dear. I might as well take the 00's back then.
I am wearing my maternity pants today. I have NO clothes.
DP got a thousand dollars worth of Coles Myer vouchers from his work recently and he gave me a $500 one to go and get...something for bubby, I can't quite remember, so I still have it in my purse. Today when I was getting ready to go shopping and I had my spunky (pfff) maternity pants on he goes "what are you wearing those for?" and I go "coz I have got no clothes, don't you notice that I do washing every day?" and he goes "well I just gave ya five hundred bucks, why don't you go and buy yourself something decent to wear".
Oh.
Okay :D
I didn't even think of that.
I didn't find anything today, I was too busy getting stuff for bubby. He's a bit spoilt, this baby.
So are we meeting this week, Sydney girlys?
missie_mack
06-01-2007, 21:33
Ok if we have to do it in the city how about Jamaica Blue at Darling Harbour? It makes it easier for me if it has somewhere I can park nearby.
Wow $1000 at Myer Shed. Gee all my hubby got was $100 and a ham. At my work we get nothing.... Im in similar shoes though ie no clothes that fit well. Not finding much I like in Myer though or anywhere for that matter.
Darling Harbour works for me :) Where is Jamaica Blue? Attached to Harbourside? It sort of rings a bell though I can't quite remember ...
My wardrobe is tragic. I'm between sizes I don't want to be between. I don't want to buy the size up because it's depressing, and I don't want to buy the size down because it's also depressing. I want to buy 2 sizes down but that won't fit ... As is evident by all the stuff in my wardrobe that doesn't fit. I have masses of clothes but only a small pile of "fits right now".
I am going on a diet on Monday. Hopefully a greater portion of stuff will fit soon. This time last year I was 4.5 kilos lighter. 5 kilos to pre-pregnancy weight. And 5 kilos more to not-a-tub weight. 10 kilos ... Ah well, one thing you know for a fact when you've lost nigh on 25 kilos ... it's doable. It sucks but it's doable.
What day are we doing the meet? I'm a Johnny-no-life so any day works for me ... I'm so pathetic! :o
cheekypossum
06-01-2007, 22:47
Wow.....$500 to go shopping WOO HOO
Hello Missie_mack and Beany
What am I still doing up on this darn computer? The last three night I have been going to bed late...Chloe has been down for hours and I am so tired.
Funny story, went to the Warehouse today I quickly put a cloth nappy on DD (yes in other words I left a big gap between her legs and the nappy)....well she decided she needed to poop. All over DH, all in his shoes all on the floor of the shop :laughing: :laughing: . We had our 4 year old nephew with us and he kept repeating really loudly the situation we were in. :laughing: Our nephew thought it was the most disgusting thing.
Oh well, off I go for a shower and bed
Night all
As is evident by all the stuff in my wardrobe that doesn't fit. I have masses of clothes but only a small pile of "fits right now".
How sad is this...some days I go into my 'spare clothes room' and put together an "if I was skinny I would wear this today" outfit.
I sit there and gaze at it, sigh, dump it back and go into my wardrobe to pick up one of the three things that fits and put it on.
On that note, is the chocolate cafe off the list then? lol.
Any day is fine by me too.
On that note, is the chocolate cafe off the list then? lol.
I'm okay for anything really - whatever I have is going to be my adding-500-calories-due-to-breastfeeding.
This diet is well and truly doomed.
Hiya Tash :wave: Go to bed!
Which is what I should be doing.
oh you use the breastfeeding calculation too Beany?
I am always whingeing to DP about being fat, but if he ever dares question me eating something I shriek at him 'I AM breastfeeding YOUR baby you know!!! I need 2000 CALORIES A DAY!!!"
I'm off to bed too. I have been staying up late for no good reason.
missie_mack
07-01-2007, 00:16
Im glad you all can sleep- damn christenings!
Ok I got all my clothes (including underwear) last week and divided them into 4 piles. 1 to keep (fits now or is a size of so away and would wear) 1 to sell on ebay (doesnt fit, wouldnt wear it) 1 to give away (which means isnt worth selling wouldnt make enough money (so brand new with tags) and so n so will wear it or it could go to St Vinnies) and finally the just chuck pile (underwear and sad clothing). So far Ive made some money on ebay and when I need new clothes I can go and buy them. Im tired of hoarding clothes Ive got cocktail dresses, formal dresses and god knows how many business suits that will all be out of fashion by the time I might wear them again and even if I had the opportunity I would probably prefer to buy something new anyhow. It was the most heartbreaking thing Ive done all new year..... all my clothes fit into 2 washing baskets instead of numerous.
Beany Jamaica Blue was next to the exhibition centre off the top of the head next to that famous seafood restaurant (whose name slips my mind)
Im off to try sleep again:sleeping:
missie_mack
07-01-2007, 00:17
Oops dont think me rude or a snob just forgetful ....
Hello Tash :wave: Night Night Tash:sleeping: Sleep tight all
hello all...
yes i ended up staying at my mums tonight... wasn't a bad night either.. i had my to boys and then my aunty asked if i could baby sit my cousin (he is nearly 2) so i had 3 under 3 tonight... and i looked after them all by myself as my sister had invited her friends from work around... wasnt too bad too all the kiddies were really well behaved... but very sleepy noe so will check in tomorrow...
nite all!
MountainGirl
07-01-2007, 06:43
thanks for those ideas girlies,..love the friand cake - must admit I had forgotten about a cake! Can we meet on Wed so I can leave Scarlett with my parents and actually get to sit and have a chat?! Not caring where we go,....have car,..can travel,..and pay for parking!:eek: :laughing:
:wave: Morning everyone.
Steph hasn't had a feed since 4pm yesterday! That's 15.5 hours. :eek:
She was REALLY grumpy last night and wouldn't feed. I gave her 2 cool baths (its been stinking hot here), rocked her etc etc, she finally settled at 9.30pm and went to sleep. I think it's her teeth, poor little thing.
She's going to be absolutely starving when she wakes up.
mumstar - glad the stay went well. Isn't it a relief when they're well behaved.
mum_I'm_hungry
07-01-2007, 08:13
Wish me luck. Am going to the new huge Ikea. If I never return, you'll know it's because I'm lost in there somewhere. Either that, or have killed my husband and the kids from the stress of it all and am in jail... :eek:
Good Morning All! Well today my best friend Sarah is getting both her children christened at the same time. She had been meaning to get her eldest christened for a long time and it always got put off, she has had another child as well now and decided to get them christened at the same time. He is wearing a little white tux and she has tis beautiful christening gown. Should be an interesting day as Troy had quite a bit to drink last night at his brothers bucks doo but knows he has to come today, and as i got lumped with looking and missing out on the hens night i really have no sympathy for him hahaha:devil6:Nah he should be okay prob just a bit tired... Anyways prob wont check in again till tonight, so i hope you all have a very wonderful and relaxing Sunday. :hugs: to all
cheekypossum
07-01-2007, 09:41
Morning
Tegan - have fun today
AlliJB - You too (have fun killing your hubby and kids :laughing: )
Shed, Beany and Missie_mack - Did you have a nice sleep? :D
Wattle - Hope Steph is better today
S_J - Hello :wave:
Us - My little Princess is asleep at the moment. So I really should be doing something. Getting a real need to get out of the house for a day.....Might go to Cairns one day next week and have a day of shopping. DH and I have been in a mood to spend money :eek: Bit scary considering the lack of it HAHAHAHA
Well don't have much to say just bored and feel like talking to SOME ONE hee hee
Better stop just blabbering
Wish me luck. Am going to the new huge Ikea. If I never return, you'll know it's because I'm lost in there somewhere. Either that, or have killed my husband and the kids from the stress of it all and am in jail... :eek:
I went to the huge one in Sydney before Asher was born. Your fear is valid ... Asher was a hair away from being born in prison while his mother faced charges for garrotting his father with a bright pink CD rack.
I swear there's a direct correlation between store size and a drop in the male IQ.
*munchkin*
07-01-2007, 11:34
Hi all:wave:
Jessi - nice piccy in the paper this morning! You look great! And how cute is Elsha.
AlliJB - had to laugh about your IKEA comment. I have been too afraid to go to the new one yet. I actually get really freaked out in the old IKEA - I just feel so claustrophobic, and want to get out, but find myself stuck in an endless maize, then the scary warehouse section...by the time I get to the register I have dropped anything I was planning to buy and just run out the door to suck in the fresh air.
Kinda nice to know I'm not the only one who has a tiny pile of clothes that I can fit into, and 2 wardrobes full of clothes I gaze at longingly. Every now and then (eg. this morning!) I try on my favourite pair of Sass and Bide jeans. And sigh... I can get them on, but have serious 'Muffin top' happening, and the song comes into my head "I like Big Butts da da dah dah daaaah". And then I take them off and put them back in the farthest recesses of the wardrobe.
Still, I've lost 2.5 kgs since before Christmas. STill have 4 to go to pre-preg weight. And then another 3.5 to comfortably fitting into those jeans. Currently I'm rotating two pairs of Target shorts and 3 tops I bought just so I would have something to wear. So depressing :(
Missie Mack - do people actually buy clothes on Ebay? What sort of stuff? I should probably sell some of the 10 pairs of jeans I have in varying sizes!
Scarlett-Jasper - the "do" for your DH sounds amazing! You are a star.
Oh...and another *Drum roll* announcement....this morning I washed my dog. Yay me! Now she is actually white with brown patches, not just brown with brown patches. Poor doggy has suffered since Em was born. Irregular walks, irregular baths, on the Pal budget dog food....
*munchkin*
07-01-2007, 11:39
OMG...Just noticed I have been upgraded to a Senior BubHub member. How special am I?!
Page 31 in the Sunday Mail! Wooo... Yeah baby!
Whos that hottie Mc Hottie... LOL- Im talking about Elsha. Its probably the only picture they got of her with her tongue in her mouth! Its not a very good picture of me... but ahwell... at least Elsh looks cute!
*Country Bumpkin*
07-01-2007, 15:16
Ive broken my nose!!!:crying: Its smushed all over the place.....
i was in the laundry and I bent down to pick up a sock and as i was going down extremly fast as I was in a hurry I smashed the bridge of my nose on the laundry tub- I let out an almighty scream and DP came running and lets just say its not pretty:crying:
In other news as of 20mins ago- Im officialy on strike. Ive been running around like a mad thing all day and askign DP to help me- he wouldnt now hes asleep on the couch so Ive decided that Im not doign anything for him now.
No more washing for him
No cooking for him
No iorning for him
No cleaning up after him
Zero, nothing, nada, zip
:devil6:
mum_I'm_hungry
07-01-2007, 15:42
I see Jessi and Elsha in the paper! I would have preferred not to have seen it at 5.30am. I would have preferred to have seen it at 9.30am over a relaxing kidless brunch somewhere. But no...! :D
So, we all made it back from Ikea alive. Just. To make things easier, I planned exactly what we needed to get. And then what happens. Husband decides he doesn't like the storage item for the kids and we have to have a domestic about it in the middle of Ikea while Teddy screams and Ivy tips water on the floor. Aaaggghhh! Can't say it really mattered as there were a million domestics going on around us. Hey, it isn't a trip to Ikea without a domestic and someone kicking the $%^) out of the Ikea items as they put them together at home. The funniest thing happened on the way out. Over the loudspeakers came the following, 'Code 300 in Small Land. Code 300 in Small Land.' (Small Land is the kiddy play centre). I guess I'll be trying to convince Ivy to do a 'code 300' in the toilet this arvo!!! :laughing:
**here** (http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/NewspaperArticle1.jpg) is the Newspaper Article and Picture if any of you want to have a ganz... Apologies that it is hard ti read!
*Country Bumpkin*
07-01-2007, 17:25
Yaaaah Jessi- Now were both famous:D
jessi, you look beautiful, both of you. I can't make out what the article is about though.
We just put bubby's 'christmas present from daddy' up on the clothesline. Its a Fisher price lift and lock swing. If you had looked in our backyard you would have seen a mummy and daddy all excited going 'woohoo, woohoo bubby,' and some dogs going crazy at the weirdness going on and a small, unimpressed person at the centre of it all. Gosh, he's so hard to please sometimes. He gets this withering look on his face. It makes me feel so judged, lol!!
Adele, I hope your nose gets better soon. Are you going to go and get it reset?
I don't do any of those things for my DP. I know its a bit mean of me not to do it, but I don't want us to get into any lifestyle that makes me unhappy and he's not unhappy doing it for himself and I would be miserable if I had to do all that stuff for him.
It works for us, even if its not what most people do.
But I am cooking us a lovely lamb roast for dinner. Its our anniversary!! 3 years since that fateful night that we met and our lives changed for the better, forever. yay for us. And butterscotch pudding. that's his choice not mine, I don't like butterscotch that much, but I love him so I make these sacrifices!
*Country Bumpkin*
07-01-2007, 18:14
Shed-If you hold ur mouse over the article a magnifying glass will come up- click and the article will be enlarged enough for you to read:D
We have one of the fisher price swings too- havnt put skyla in it yet as were waiting for hooks to be put up under our patio to connect it and the jolly jumper too. Skyla loves her jolly jumper
My poor old nose ah yes- Im not entirely sure what Im goign to do- I think Ill wait til the morning and see how it is. If I go to the hospy they will just send me home and tell me to go to Toowomba- there is a HUGE dr shortage out here. Unless your dieing(litteraly) you wont be seen
Oh and Im coming to your house for dinner- mmm laaaaaamb now I miss my Nan:crying:
OMG, Toowoomba... you poor soul. I lived there for 15yrs. When we left, I vowed I would never return. Ive found it pretty easy to keep my word!!
*Country Bumpkin*
07-01-2007, 21:44
OMG, Toowoomba... you poor soul. I lived there for 15yrs. When we left, I vowed I would never return. Ive found it pretty easy to keep my word!!
phhhhhhhft chinchilla makes toowomba seem like one of the greatest places on earth.... Dont get me wrong I love living in Chinchilla but c'mon I need to shop:crying: lol
Thank the lord fro internet and credit cards:D Now if only I could convince DP to let me use mine:rolleyes:
*Country Bumpkin*
07-01-2007, 22:00
Hmmmm its been awfuly quiet in here today....
Well Im off to bedy bys now
Nighty night to anyone who may be lurking:wave: :sleeping:
missie_mack
07-01-2007, 22:43
Missie Mack - do people actually buy clothes on Ebay? What sort of stuff? I should probably sell some of the 10 pairs of jeans I have in varying sizes!
You would be very suprised! Jump on and have a look. I became an ebay shopper because I was a shiftworker and it meant I could shop in my time. Generally I only buy new clothes with tags myself but occassionally you find a bargain. I sold a pile of my maternity clothes- some ripe pants, room42 dress, pumpkin patch shirt and some other stuff that I bought or was given as maternity wear that I had never actually worn most with tags the other week for about $100. Now if I didnt wear them last time I was pregnant Im not likely to wear them next time when the fashion has changed. I wouldnt have made my money back on what they cost but I wasnt collecting any money storing them either. They put the money in an old bank account I have that has no money kept in it (incase someone tries to pull some swifty not that its ever happened) they pay postage and its gone. All I do is take a photo and describe the clothing. If its not great clothing but ok I take it to charity. Dont get me wrong I dont mind giving it to charity but when you hand over a pair of levi's that have never been worn and cost close to $200 dont tell me they always end up on the shelf....
Im trying to part with some of James' baby clothes too but I think its too soon I have the attachment issue "aww thats too cute" "aww I will save this for the next one it cost me a bit" but I will get there. Ive been told the baby/childrens clothes are the big movers as they dont wear them long enough in early years to wreck them:thumbsup:
Speaking of clothing
I will be wearing white. I didn't get my teeth bleached for nothing :laughing:
What have you got in mind Shed? The classic 1940's type look or something more modern?? Come on tell us
mama anne
08-01-2007, 00:03
:wave: hey beany
what are you doing up? braxton hicks again :detective: :laughing:
MountainGirl
08-01-2007, 07:05
Youch Adele,....cant believe you are so chipper! When Scarlett was just crawling, we were having an Indian dinner party, and I was getting our very heavy stainless steel and glass crockpot down from a high shelf, and the big glass lid slipped off and cracked me across the nose,..... I managed to close all the doors in the house to ensure Scarlett was safe before I passed out in a pool of blood,....10 stitches later I was very miserable,... and we had to go to a wedding the next day,...me with my stitches, swollen nose and 2 black eyes!!! I like my scar now though,......strange, I know,...but I think it is interesting! Hope you slept ok!
Code 300,..!!!!!!!!!!!! thats funny!!!
Ebay - I was addicted for a while,....spent yoo much money on necessities such as Chloe bags, Seven jeans, Juicy couture tracksuits,.....sigh,....I really need all those things now!
OMG! Elsh finally rolled!!! From her back to her front... this morning early when we got up, I put her on the rug in the lounge and she just rolled! I was like WTH?! She has been showing NO signs of rolling at all! And now she wont stop! Everytime I put her on her back, she rolls right back over again. She's got to have rolled about a hundred times in the last hour or so!
Teehheee.... im so excited. :smiliedance:
Shes not a real helpless little baby anymore :( LOL
*Country Bumpkin*
08-01-2007, 08:00
jane- I wa sin a similar situation once... I was packing up to move(yes once again :rolleyes: ) snd I reached up to the top of the kitchen cabinet to pull down the huge stainless steel crockpot down also. The problem was that when I pulled it.... the extremly heavy CAST IORN wok came with it bompt me on the head and I was out like a light. Woek up abour 2hrs later on the kitrchen floor with a splitting head ache (I was home alone) and a rather nasty concusion
Jessi- YAAAAAAH El.. Im still waitig for Skyla to roll she tries really hard but I think shes just a bit too lazy lol - must take after her father:rolleyes:
Im trying to part with some of James' baby clothes too but I think its too soon I have the attachment issue "aww thats too cute" "aww I will save this for the next one it cost me a bit" but I will get there.
Speaking of clothing
What have you got in mind Shed? The classic 1940's type look or something more modern?? Come on tell us
I have been through Baden's stuff and the only things I can part with are things he hasn't actually worn. I was supposed to be handing stuff down to my cousin who had the twins recently, but I can't even bring myself to do that.
As for my wedding dress, hmm, I don't really know. We went to a wedding recently where I liked the girls dress and I want to ask her where she got it made. I will have to wait until DP's surprise party because I know she will be there. I've never really had a vision of what I would wear at my wedding. I want to wear slingback shoes, I know that much. I love slingback shoes.
This other girls dress had a gathered bit at the hip with a diamante brooch. I thought that looked quite noice. And maybe a cross-over-y bit at the bodice.
Jessi: Yay for Elsha rolling!! There will be no stopping her now!
Jane: I never noticed a scar. Have to have a closer look next time!
Asher hasn't rolled in ages. Not since he rolled on Pixie's floor. I think he's figures that he's been there, done that, got a round of applause and that's plenty enough, thank you. He's more keen on figuring out this standing business. He's doing proto-walking motions. I keep telling him to learn to sit first but he won't listen. The idea of being still repulses him.
Anne: I was at the time of your message telling Asher that he was more than welcome to stay up but I'm going to bed. He laughed. Literally cackled in my face. Little monster.
Jane: How many people glared at Mike during the broken-nose-and-two-black-eyes wedding? :laughing: I had a huge bruise on my forearm once from falling against a metal rail in our old apartment. It looked remarkably like a defensive wound. I had also been suffering a bit of insomnia so my eyes were all red and swollen, like I'd been sobbing ... Noodle got a lot of very funny looks.
He actually DID break my nose once. We were horsing around and he misjudged the distance between us and crashed his shoulder into my nose. The break was along the bone rather than across it so there was no bruising or outward indication of a break. Dear god that almighty crack is still fresh in my mind, though *shudder*
Is anyone still wrapping their babies before bed? I'm too scared to not do it ... He doesn't seem to settle as easily without it but I am loathe to enter the 6th month (when they start forming habits) with this one. Those with older kids, how did you wean them off the wrap? When did you start? Did you sleep? :laughing:
Morning everyone :wave:
Beany - ds loved to be wrapped. I had to keep making bigger and bigger wraps. They ended up about as large as a picnic blanket! When he started crawling (at around 10 months) they had to go, so I just made them looser and looser and within a week or two he didn't need it any more. Don't stress too much, it's fine to wrap them until they're mobile.
Back in a tick.....
MountainGirl
08-01-2007, 10:18
Hi Beany,.....it didn't help that I told everyone that Mike beat me up! Amazing the number if men who thought it was attractive - a little scary really!
no rolling here!,... he did by accident the other day,..I think it was cause he was wrapped like a sausage on the couch on a slight angle...and the laws of physics kicked in,..he rolled onto his face, and lay there making a strange 'gaw,gaw,gaw' sound,..I thought he was being smothered, so I rolled him back kinda like a pig on a spit - and the little devil was laughing!!!
I wrapped Scarlett till she was 12months!!! and then progressed straight into a sleeping bag..I was petrified about her arms,...but she was fine,..... Jasper hates being wrapped,..but wont sleep unless he is...so we will keep on with the struggle!
Oh Jess,...great pic,... are you really doing that stuff with El though?
MountainGirl
08-01-2007, 10:23
She - there is a fabbo coutur-ey sort of wedding dress place on Parramatta Rd in Annandale - they have a dress in the window like the one you described,.... I think it is a soft dove grey silk,..gathered at the top with a wrap front and a diamonte brooch at the waist, and I cant remember the skirt,.. it is very glam and beautiful,..... Next time I drive past I will write down the name/number..
Jasper hates being wrapped,..but wont sleep unless he is...so we will keep on with the struggle!
Yep - that's just like Asher. He will struggle as I wrap him but won't stay calm enough to sleep if I don't. And, when I check on him after 15 minutes of sleep, his arms are already out of the wrap. Little wriggle monster.
cheekypossum
08-01-2007, 10:37
Morning all
Jessi - Great Pic in the paper.....YAY for Elsha rolling over
Adele - Yeek...broken nose....must be so sore
AlliJB - glad you survived Ikea....now comes out my small town ways...What is Ikea??? :D
Shed - Just read how you cooked lamb roast...yum..made my mouth water...I made that Friday night for dinner...can't beat it!!
missie_mack - I love EBAY...but I am a stickler with my money and always end up just looking hee hee
Hello Beany Muchkin mama anne Scarlett_Jasper and Wattle :wave:
Well not much to report here. Had a quiet week end...not that there is a difference between week ends and week days now. Have to go grocery shopping sometime today...nothing in my fridge to eat. Chloe is not far from crawling I reckon. She makes her way around no problem....I have a big Buddha that sits on my floor and she just loves it...she spots it and then off she goes.
Question - Does anyone know a site where I can find the top news stories, music etc so that I can make a list for Chloes book. I have tried looking but don't know If I am using the right search words.
Gotta go
Talk to you all soon
MountainGirl
08-01-2007, 10:50
CRAWLING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Crikey:eek: :eek: :eek:
I hope Jasper does nothing of the sort for ages yet,..I can only cope with one little monkey on the move!:laughing:
cheekypossum
08-01-2007, 11:19
CRAWLING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Crikey
I hope Jasper does nothing of the sort for ages yet,..I can only cope with one little monkey on the move!:laughing:
:yes: I know:eek: I keep telling her to slow down....but she is definately not far off it. The worse thing is because we are so proud of her, we keep dangling things in front of her and then putting them out of her reach so she has to move which in turns makes her stronger and stronger and more likely to start crawling sooner. We must stop it so she stays a bub a bit longer I say
Fairyfloss
08-01-2007, 11:25
Morning all
Question - Does anyone know a site where I can find the top news stories, music etc so that I can make a list for Chloes book. I
try searching for " the year it was" or xxxx review"
if you need the important news for 2006,
go to CH9 and CH7 I think they have the summmary with pics and everu thing. as a summary.if You can't find it, pm me and I will email you the one I made for Elena. (2006)
also I saw an ad on the web for a CD called the year you wete born, if all else fails you can get that, it was n't that expensive
Chloe is not far from crawling yay:smiliedance:
Jessi - YAY for Elsha rolling over, cute pic btw
Adele - oh you poor thing
AlliJB - how was shopping in Ikea
Shed -
I love slingback shoes me too hat is a lovely idea, oh not having any idea about the dress is a good idea, cause it gives you more flexibility
missie_mack - EBAY, my way of spending money on things that I know DH won't approve and then pretend I got them as advert freebies.
Beany Ash
er hasn't rolled in ages elena hasn't either, according to the nurse they might been scared when they accidently rolled over, saying "oh I am not doing that again":D
Scarlett_Jasper
Iwrapped Scarlett till she was 12months!!! well done, mine did not last 2 months
Wattle want to meet up sometimes. (oh any other melbourne mum too)
:wave: Muchkin mama anne
Oh Jess,...great pic,... are you really doing that stuff with El though?
Yes... I knew that some people would ask that. I got a sarcastic "Do you play Mozart to her in her sleep too?" comment from someone else but I wont go there :rolleyes:
I must admit that im not doing it with her everyday. But probably every second day, we get the flash cards out and look at the pictures. I even read her some of the "facts" on the back the other day. We also listen to the Brilliant Beginnings music CD (which I love... its not child like music- its world music!) I honestly dont know whether the flash cards & music will make any difference to how smart she is when older, but it doesnt hurt to give it a go!
Man, my child is crazy. I dont think I like this rolling thing. LOL. I cant even put her on her play mat. She just rolls over. And then cries. Until I put her on her back again. Then she rolls.... and then cries... LOL, you get the picture!
MountainGirl
08-01-2007, 13:22
Good on you Jess,...even if it doesnt work, all the additional attention/stimulation can only be good.
Hey Shed,..I got a mesh thing,...shoved half a banana in it,..and he LOVED it! Everyone should get one!
I wish they would open a Target in the city. The closest one to me is in Bondi. I want a mesh thing! Waaa!
Okay, tantrum over :D
I still haven't tried Asher on the farex. The latest excuse? Well, he doesn't have a high chair ... and of course he can't sit up yet so there's no point getting one just yet ...
What's wrong with me?! Oh well, he'll be at the 6 month mark soon so there'll be no excuse. At least, I hope there won't be. Maybe I'll just keep inventing new ones, though.
Talking of high chairs ... when I was in London a few years ago, one of my friends had a high chair for her son that converted into a normal little chair and a little table for when he was a toddler. Anyone seen anything similar here?
*Country Bumpkin*
08-01-2007, 14:16
Beany- Your telling me you live in Sydney and there are no mesh feeders readily available to you:confused: I got one out here in the blumin sticks:p
The hich chair thingo I have seen somewhere Im just trying to think where:detective:
Mrs Potts
08-01-2007, 14:17
Hi everyone! I haven't been in for ages and it's just taken me seemingly hours to catch up on the happenings.
Hope the sick and injured are all on the mend soon.
Monique - I'll take you up on that offer of creating our own Lindt cafe *drool*
I had a giggle at the Ikea stories. We don't have one here :(
We tried Miss K on some Farex but I don't think she's quite ready. She didn't mind the taste but she wasn't sure what to do with it. We'll try again in a week or so.
OK, I'm not going to hang around. I'm not much fun these days - lots of stress here. In a nutshell - DH had a car accident a year ago and has been off work injured. He lost his job at Christmas, I'm on maternity leave til Feb then going back part time so no idea how we're going to pay the mortgage while DH still can't work. So you can imagine what a barrel of laughs it is around here.
Take care all. I'll pop in again when I feel chipper enough to face the world! :)
Oh Mrs Potts :hugs:
I hope the stress evaporates soon.
missie_mack
08-01-2007, 15:31
Life isnt always fair and bad things just have no ettiquette with timing :hugs:
Im so sorry to hear your news mrs potts. Not a nice thing to be going through at all. :(
Beany, I remember seeing something similar to what you describe in Sydney Baby Kingdom.
http://www.sydneysbabykingdom.com.au/. Eamonn has been on solids for close to two weeks now I think. He's on to two meals a day now and loving it. He actually grabs my hand and tries to direct the spoon to his mouth the little glutton.
Tash, what a clever bub you've got there! Nearly crawling already?! Mine just rolls, as he is getting to be a bit of a rolly polly. He can also scoot himself on his back when in tantrum mode, but I think that's purely involuntary. Yesterday he almost jammed his head under the tv unit- he kept shuffling along on the floor until he got the the unit, then shrieked that he couldn't go any further. Im sure had his head been a bit smaller, he would have got stuck!
Shed, how are all the wedding plans going? Is there anything I can do to help? Is there still a meet this week and if so where? If not, then you are all invited to my place for coffee and cake. Or if I'm feeling extra adventurous then maybe a bbq.
Does anyone know of any scrapbooking classes in Bankstown/Liverpool area? I've found a pretty cool site that offers online courses but I would still like to do an actual face-to-face class.
missie_mack
08-01-2007, 15:40
Talking of high chairs ... when I was in London a few years ago, one of my friends had a high chair for her son that converted into a normal little chair and a little table for when he was a toddler. Anyone seen anything similar here?
http://www.litaf.com/web/inner.asp?cat=gallery&catId=5&info=32 I know they are sold here but dont ask me where. You know the sitting up thing isnt the best excuse as most of them have reclining seats these days. Will have to think of something more imaginative for you Beany? Maybe hes just on a liquid diet for another month or so?
We too have tried the Farex. James was disgusted in me to even think of putting that in his mouth. He has since found a love of pumpkin and avocado. Im hoping the avocado works out good for his skin he's starting to show signs of skin issues... cant name a particular one as we have some many skin issues in my family.
Hello Noosamum?? where are you?? We miss you terribly there are no purple dancing hippos to keep us entertained! :(
You know the sitting up thing isnt the best excuse as most of them have reclining seats these days. Will have to think of something more imaginative for you Beany? Maybe hes just on a liquid diet for another month or so?
Shhhh! Don't wreck my excuses to myself!
Maybe I'm just turning into a hippy ... I found myself reading thread in the clothies section last week :eek: Put an end to that as soon as I realised what I was doing!
So are we all still meeting up at Jamaica Blue in Darling Harbour? No one objected so I assumed it was all still on ... What day is good for people? I think Jane preferred a Wednesday - is that okay with everyone else? And times ... is 11am okay? Or are we doing lunch? Midday?
Hi. Well typing this is rather awkward as I jammed my finger in one of the clips on the pram this morning and ripped a whole chunk of my finger tip off. Ow ow ow ow ow owwwwwwwwww. Nearly as painful as a contraction! I was holding it, jumping up and down trying not to scream, and Steph looked over at me rather bewildered, then laughed!:eek: hmmm.
Beany - I bought one of the mesh feeders - they stock them at safeway. I'd imagine all supermarkets would have them as mine is a pretty dinky bogan type one. (Nothing against bogans :o )
I made some expressed milk ice blocks to put in the mesh thingy and I caught dh JUST IN TIME. He was going to put some cubes in his glass of water. Hahahahaha, that would have been hilarious! He was horrified when I told him.
Mrs Potts, sounds like you're doing it tough. :hugs:
Missie mack - avocado was a winner for ds, so I might start Steph on it too when she's ready. They're rather pricey though aren't they. I found the pear and banana farex was much nicer than the plain stuff. At least it doesn't taste like glue.
Hi Raffee. How on earth you have time for scrapbooking I'll never know! I'd love to see your pages when you do some though.
Hi. Well typing this is rather awkward as I jammed my finger in one of the clips on the pram this morning and ripped a whole chunk of my finger tip off. Ow ow ow ow ow owwwwwwwwww. Nearly as painful as a contraction! I was holding it, jumping up and down trying not to scream, and Steph looked over at me rather bewildered, then laughed!:eek: hmmm.
Beany - I bought one of the mesh feeders - they stock them at safeway. I'd imagine all supermarkets would have them as mine is a pretty dinky bogan type one. (Nothing against bogans :o )
I made some expressed milk ice blocks to put in the mesh thingy and I caught dh JUST IN TIME. He was going to put some cubes in his glass of water. Hahahahaha, that would have been hilarious! He was horrified when I told him.
Mrs Potts, sounds like you're doing it tough. :hugs:
Missie mack - avocado was a winner for ds, so I might start Steph on it too when she's ready. They're rather pricey though aren't they. I found the pear and banana farex was much nicer than the plain stuff. At least it doesn't taste like glue.
Hi Raffee. How on earth you have time for scrapbooking I'll never know! I'd love to see your pages when you do some though.
So are we all still meeting up at Jamaica Blue in Darling Harbour? No one objected so I assumed it was all still on ... What day is good for people? I think Jane preferred a Wednesday - is that okay with everyone else? And times ... is 11am okay? Or are we doing lunch? Midday?
I am happy to meet there, but cant do Wednesday. Only Tuesday or Friday. But if Wednesday suits most, then Ill see you at the next one. Plus, I'm happy to host you all over here anytime.
Wattle, I dont have time, but I really really want to do it. Maybe in the early morning hours after an Eamonn feed...:)
Oh and Wattle OUCH OUCH AND TRIPPLE OUCH on the finger jamming!!!:eek:
Shed, how are all the wedding plans going? Is there anything I can do to help?
DP and I are driving out to Appin House when we get around to it. If I like it we will book it and then hopefully everything will fall into place. I wouldn't mind a few other suggestions of places that are similar i.e. about an hour from Sydney and can do the ceremony and reception in the one spot, just to compare.
When we get to April and I am doing the last minute panic I will definitely remember your offer of help :laughing: you might regret it.
I wouldn't actually mind booking a venue and then hiring our own caterers. Is there such a thing as doing that? But then I suppose they wouldn't decorate it, I would have to do that or hire someone else to do that. Which I probably can't be bothered to do.
Actually, I probably can't be bothered hiring the caterer separately either now that I think about it...
sorry, just thinking out loud.
Does anyone know of any scrapbooking classes in Bankstown/Liverpool area? I've found a pretty cool site that offers online courses but I would still like to do an actual face-to-face class.
Yep, Scrapbook Dreams are on Hoxton Park Road, and 'Memories that last' is on Maryvale Ave. I think its Maryvale Ave anyway. Both of these do classes.
Beany: you're not the only one, I am also waiting for six months. Why? um, I dunno really! In some ways I can't wait, its a bit exciting, but in other ways I am in no hurry because it will change the contents of his nappy and I am in no rush for that. Is it a hippy thing to wait? Oh well, another tick in the hippy box for me, lol.
He doesn't have a highchair yet either.
He's still in the bassinette too :o I have completely run out of excuses for that.
missie_mack
08-01-2007, 17:01
:eek: I thought I was anything but motherearth but James is still in his bassinette.. does that mean he should be out of it by now? We have one of those really big 70's cane ones. Ive just measured it and its over 80cm long and James would only be in the 60's at a guess.
:hugs: Hugs Wattle Ive done the same and ended up with a blood blister on my thumb a couple of weeks ago. Its bad owies!
Wedding reception places- wouldnt there be lots of places in Parramatta along the river those old style houses? Ive got a function menu from Barnabys in Parramatta its not up to date (it was for my wedding in april just gone) but the site is nice
Ours is just the normal sized bassinette and he kicks it when he wakes up.
Although he only sleeps in there for abour 4 hours anyway, then he's in our bed.
James is a full month younger than Baden anyway, remember. He's the baby of the group, so I think he's "allowed" to still be in there, ha ha!
I don't want to get married in Sydney. Parra is in Sydney (despite what the eastern suburbs folk think!). Although I might look up a few anyway. My decision isn't set in concrete.
What sort of venue are you looking for, Shed? The Tea Room in the QVB caters for weddings and is very swish - lots of room, lovely lighting, good staff and (I think they did the catering too) the food was pretty nice. The wedding I went to was a sit-down meal but I'm sure they could cater to a buffet-style thingy if you wanted that. Whiel you couldn't stay there, there are a million and one hotels within spitting distance. Including the Hilton ... book a honeymoon suite there! You don't need two kidneys!
No Beany, far too Sydney-ish for me.
Think something more along the lines of "the opposite of that", lol!
Somewhere quiet, country, no parking meters, far from the madding crowd, elegant without being swanky, and the only thing happening for miles is that I am getting married!
missie_mack
08-01-2007, 17:52
I wanted to get married here www.ravensthorpe.com.au (http://www.ravensthorpe.com.au) but they were having a change of management at the time I enquired and took too long to get back to me with prices etc. By the time they responded I had booked elsewhere... very nice but!
Heres a couple of other places kinda fitting to your description. Ive been to lovely weddings at all the locations although cant vouch for whoever may own them or run them now..
http://www.briars.com.au/
http://www.highlandsnsw.com.au/journeyman/index.html
http://www.escholparkhouse.com.au/specials.html#dates
http://www.lintongardens.com.au/weddings.html
http://www.panoramahouse.com.au/
Mrs Potts
08-01-2007, 18:04
Thanks for the hugs everyone. I'm having a down day, so I really needed them. DH is scheduled for surgery on the 17th so hopefully he will be better after that and things can start to return to normal. If there's a God, of course....
Also, forgot to ask about the jeans! Was it Missie_mack who was talking about selling jeans? If you have any spunky brands in a size 10-11, drop me a PM. I could very well be interested...
Hi All!
Hubby is on holidays for a week, im really excited its the first time apart from when noah was born that Troy has had holidays in about 3 years. He kept changing jobs there for a while and instead of taking a break between the he had his hols paid out and worked through them. Also we are getting our new computer tomorrow!!! yeah more excuses to spend time on bubhub!
Mrs Potts: :hugs: to you hope everything picks up
Jess : Loved the article that was such a great picture
As i tagged along with this thread a little late i was wondering the birthdates of all the august bubbies.
Noah was born on the 21/8/06
Anyway got to get dinner going...
check in again later!
MountainGirl
08-01-2007, 18:44
Beany - The Tearoom is indeed lovely,...I haved done a couple of shows there,...infact it was there that I met Mike,...he was working for me! hehe!
Wed 11:00 @ jamaica Blue sounds good for me - sorry raf,..... otherwise it is just too hard with Squidg,.....ummmm,....or if we go to Rafs place then I am good for any day,..... Beany - I got my mesh thingie at Coles,... Tommee Tippee,... want me to get you one and give it to you on Wed?
MountainGirl
08-01-2007, 18:47
Oh Mrs Potts,..:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: you poor duck,....hope things seem better in the morning,..
biscotti
08-01-2007, 18:49
This is noosamum's husband. Guess that makes me noosadad.
She would love to be doing this herself but is yet unable to so you are stuck with me. I don't even know if this is the right place but am hoping it is.
She wants me to tell the "Sydney Mums" that she won't be coming to Sydney this week as planned and she wants me to tell you that she is only postponing and hopes to come down asap.
She also wants me to say thank you for all the PM's and the emails, she wants to reply to them herself though so please don't think she is ignoring you. She is worried that you will think she is ignoring you.
I really hoped that all made sense to the people it was supposed to make sense to, she has been nagging me for the last few days to come on bubhub and say these things.
Clio is happy and well, she wanted me to say that too.
Thanks for your time.
Mark
Hiya noosadad!
We'll settle for the blue dancing hippo in the absence of the purple - thank you for letting us know that you are all well. Do let her know that she is missed.
Jane: if you are likely to be at that Coles again then that would be great - thanks! But don't go out of your way for me :)
biscotti
08-01-2007, 19:09
I guess this is the right place then, that's good, I tried to post in the thread that she had in favourites (which is what she told me to do), but I couldn't post there. It was closed or something which threw me into a spin as I was under direct instructions to post there and not to come back until I had. This chatting thing is not my thing so I am winging it. I know she loves it though, on Bubhub, she has missed it which seemed crazy to me at first but I think I am starting to understand.
Oh and she wanted me to say that she's not in jail, in case anyone jumped to any conclusions ha ha.
Thanks again, and I will tell her that she is missed Beany,
Mark
Hi Noosadad. Far out......what a brave man to venture into this mothers domain! Welcome. We'll get the iniation ceremony underway shortly (mwaa ha mwaa ha).
Please pass on our best to Noosamum and Clio. WE MISS YOU!
Parisa - would love to catch up. Are there any other Melb August Mummies? I haven't visited the september thread but perhaps there would be some mums there too from melb?
Hey guess what.....I just found the mystery smell in our kitchen. Ewwwwwww, there was a piece of fish once in the fridge. I think it was creating its own ecosystem inside the plastic container. The sneaky lettuce was covering its whereabouts but I finally found it!!!!!!! Out damn fish......OUT!
noosadad...thank you so much for writing that. We have missed dear noosamum terribly and can't wait for her to come back.
missie-mack - fanks for the links, I am investigating each one.
I wish I could travel forward in time and experience the last minute panic with my weight, to motivate me to start jogging. I always leave things to the last minute and then rush through it, but that's not going to work, even if I starve for the last two weeks. So I need to start now.
noosadad welcome to the august thread... u did well to find us even with the thread move! past on best wishes to noosamum. my dh is reading this over my shoulder and said he guess that makes him dadstar then LOL!!!
Hey guess what.....I just found the mystery smell in our kitchen. Ewwwwwww, there was a piece of fish once in the fridge. I think it was creating its own ecosystem inside the plastic container. The sneaky lettuce was covering its whereabouts but I finally found it!!!!!!! Out damn fish......OUT!
:eek: :barf: i hate it when that happens!!! i usually send dh in there to go and fish out the offending smell!
Holy heck can you all talk - 13 pages in 2 days!!!!
Man, my child is crazy. I dont think I like this rolling thing. LOL. I cant even put her on her play mat. She just rolls over. And then cries. Until I put her on her back again. Then she rolls.... and then cries... LOL, you get the picture!
That's exactly how Charlotte was ...I was loving 3/ 1/2 months when all was settled, then at 4 she decided to roll (but only onto her belly and then the crying would start) Lucky for us, she quickly picked up the roll back, but it still sometimes has it's moments. The best part about rolling is that Charlotte now burps herself! She let out something that would rival even my hubby's burps today!!!
What's wrong with me?! Oh well, he'll be at the 6 month mark soon so there'll be no excuse. At least, I hope there won't be. Maybe I'll just keep inventing new ones, though.
You don't need an excuse!!! The current WHO reccomends 6 months, so you're just siding with them.....now if it goes to 12 months there may be issues:D As per the highchair, Ikea used to sell them, but no longer do (though DH did find one on ebay a few months ago...his sister had had one, so he was looking for them too). In the pre christmas junkmail Kmart was advertising one - don't know how good it would be though
As i tagged along with this thread a little late i was wondering the birthdates of all the august bubbies.
Charlotte was the 12th as well...5.40 pm...so is she older or younger than Noah??
hello NoosaDad...say hello from all of us:wave:
And Uniquey (I know you're probably on the road somewhere) thanks fr the Toasted (I've been meaning to say that for a week now) - I don't have a sig, so haven't added it, but nice to be thought of.
Also had a lovely husband story to match the ones from a week ago (sorry forgot to tag it as I went) - When we'd been together for about 2 year (I was 19) I went to a friends 21st a few hours before Joel as he was at work...didn't know a huge no. of people, so pretty much stayed up with the drinks of the guys I knew there..anyway 4 hours and 11 glasses of wine later, Joel arrives....now 11 glasses is a lot for anyone, and I'm seriously not a drinker so it was even worse, but as we were driving back, I opened then car door through Nundah (which for those who don't know Brissie, had a lot of shop front awnings with poles), threw up outside the primary school where I had just finished my prac teaching (while two cop cars drove in the opposite direction) and then to top it all off, tried throwing up out the window of the car....while it was still up!!!! I don't remember any of this (suprise suprise) but I do remember stopping in the driveway and telling them to leave me there and I'd clean the mess up in the morning....Joel finally convinced me to go inside, put me in the shower and then to bed, and went back outside and scrubbed the car out....I felt sooooo guilty next day, but even back then he was a goodie!!!!!!!!
Not much else happening here - we seem to have absolutely no routine, but pretty much a happy bub, so it's not too bad. I really don't think we're too far of crawling either - Charlotte pushes herself up onto her feet, and motors along on her forehead - hopefully soon she'll discover arms!! She's taken to sucking on my check or clamping her gumps around my chin which is so cute, but very very salivaish!
It's my birthday tomorrow (was anyone checking the birthday list?:party: ), so we had all the family up yesterday. Went and ordered Charlotte's carseat today, and I even did some driving (may get that license yet!). i think tomorrow will be a fairly quite one....the best thing about birthdays' used to be not having to do dishes...it gets even better now - Joel's on nappy duty YIPPEE!!!!!:smiliedance:
*munchkin*
08-01-2007, 23:07
Hi Everyone! Sorry for limited personal greetings, but my brain just can't remember them after 4 pages. You guys can TALK!
Well, I went to my mother's group catch up this morning. All the babies are getting SO big! They are all nice girls , but I have to vent about one girl who really gets my goat every time. And somehow I always end up sitting next to her. You may have met the type - the one who knows EVERYTHING about EVERYTHING, and whose baby is just PERFECT. "Oh, my baby slept through even when she was in the womb. Oh she sleeps anywhere. Oh, she's been on solids since she was 2 days old, and talking since she was 3 days old".
And she poo-poohs anyone who does anything different to her "oh, you don't WAKE HER UP TO FEED HER AT 10PM AT NIGHT DO YOU?!! HAven't you got her on solids yet? Don't you go out much - is that why your baby doesn't sleep in public?". AAARRGGHHH!! Anyway, vent over.
Missie Mack - cool about the Ebay. I'll have to give it a go.
Mrs Potts - it was me wanting to sell my jeans. I'll go through them and PM you what I have. Lucky you fitting into a 10!
I'm sloooowly getting there. HAve been on Lite and Easy for 3 weeks now (excepting Christmas and New Years) and have lost almost 3kgs. It's getting easier each day, and my shorts are getting loose! Yay!
Jessi - It must be the day for rolling! Em finally rolled over from back to front this morning! I was so proud. :D She's been trying for days now, but couldn't get over the bottom arm. I was so stoked when she did it in the morning....and now by nightime I am now officially un-stoked! She keeps rolling rolling around in bed, back and forth, like one of those dolls you push over, and they bob back up. And then she cries, cause feet and legs go through the cot slats, and the arm gets stuck underneath! I can't believe I wanted her to roll over! What was I thinking?!!
I haven't been able to wrap her for about a month, cause she would wriggle out of it, and then try to eat the wrap! Today I've taken the covering sheet out of the cot as well, as I don't want her to face first into it and get suffocated.
Chloe is not far from crawling I reckon.
EEEK!!! Crawling?!!! I'm no longer looking forward to that after the rolling rolling rolling efforts today!
Mrs Potts - :hugs: Sorry to hear about your problems...that must be very stressful.
Wattle - OUCH!!!!!!!!
AmandaW - happybirthday
Hi to everyone else...uniquey, AlliJB, Raffee, Fairy floss, Shed, Beany, NoosaDad, mumstar, scarlett-jasper...and anyone else my baby brain has forgotten to mention.
*munchkin*
08-01-2007, 23:10
Oh...last bit of vent about know-it-all mother... she found out today my pregnancy was unplanned, and went "WHAT?! It was UNPLANNED?!" with a horrified look on her face. I wanted to throttle her!!!
Fairyfloss
08-01-2007, 23:21
Cathy: oh you poor thing, hope you haven't damaed your nail bed, that must hurt :hugs: . hope you feel better soon.
I just posted in the Sep tread will let you know if I get any response. other wise it is just us. oh and one of the possible locations for the general mebourne metting is in Oackleigh, that can be an option too. (although not sure how much luck I will have there:D )
MountainGirl
09-01-2007, 05:22
Mark - just tell her that we miss her,...and I hope everything is ok with you all.....
Beany - no worries,....I'll get one if I go,...
Munckhin - (cant be bothered with the starry things - you know who you are),...I HATE women like that! Why are they everywhere???They make me go the complete opposite way and imply that my children are slightly backwards,...just to annoy them,.....and for some strange reason, it actually does annoy them! stupid competitive women! Stage Mothers in the making
Gotta go now,.....but will be back with a hubby vent,..after I deal with the soaking toddler nappy that is stomping down the hallway!
lilbugalugs
09-01-2007, 07:40
Hi everyone...I havn't been around for a while because I haven't been living at home basically...I have been staying with my inlaws while my husband has been in hospital.
I think that I posted when it happened....6 weeks ago my husband had a motorbike accident and broke both his arms, his pelvis in a few places, his hip and a few vertibre in his back...he has been in hospital ever since...He is due to be released in a week or so we think and maybe life will return to normal again....
Riley is doing fabulously and nearly weighs 7kgs...he has been on solids for about a month because he was a bit slow to put on weight...he is packing it on now though..still waking in the night though.
I have had a bad bought of mastitis recently which was very painful to say the least...thank goodness that only lasted a day or so...I have also had an infection in the cornea of my eye that meant that I lost about 3/4 sight in that eye for a few weeks...it is returning to normal again now.
We deserve a better year this year..
Cheers for now
lottiesmum
09-01-2007, 08:00
morning all.
we are finally visitor free...for a month at least :fingerscrossed: i mean i love having people stay but it does get tiring...
poor DS had his 4mth shots yesterday. he's ok - no fever or anything but i'm pretty sure his legs are rather sore poor little guy. but he's grown alot - 69cm and just shy of 9kg! no wonder he's only just squeezing into the ''00''s! but not much action - he can roll (tummy to back), but rarely does it. no sign of crawling thank goodness!!!
DD has started a bit of a bad habit - if she wants my attention when Im concentrating on DS bec ause he is cryinmg/fussing - she bangs her head on the floor and starts crying. i'm trying to ignore it...but am not sure this is appropriate. its attention seeking, but i dont want her to hurt herslef. any ideas???
jessi - what a beautiful pic of you and bub!
beany - crikey dont think you should feel guilty about not introducing solids yet - the recommended starting age is 6mths. sounds like asher is doing beautifully with BF - no need to rush,.
Mrs Potts - :hugs:
solids - i read a post on here by a user who provided a link to a dutch (I think...) website where they suggested babies not be given ''mash'' but soft cooked wholefoods (ie: pieces of well cooked veggies). did anyone else read that and if so what do you think? I introduced DD to veggie mashes and she would eat ANYTHING (one day I made sweet potato, garlic and cous cous mash - another beetroot and carrot - or silverbeet, sweet potato and tumeric!) but then as a toddler she has a very limited repertoire and i wonderwhether the method above might be good to encourage veggie eating.
high chairs - we got the peg perego for DD. its actually an annoying highchair for those looking to purchase one, because food gets trapped in various places and its hard to remove because of the way its constructed. with DD - before the water restrictions - I used to hose it down after her meals! anyway, one good thing is that it reclines, so DS has been sitting in it for a month now. he loves it because hes high up, closer to our level. we have a baby bjorn chair which sits on the floor but hes not as keen on it...
Fairyfloss - you confused me but now i know your alias. love the new name!
munchkin - don't we all know those kinds of mothers well...and dont we hate 'em??! good thing is that most others do too :devil6:
adele - take care of that nose!
shed - the Everglades in leura are magnificent gardens - they are a National Trust property. i went to a wedding there once with the reception at a nearby restaurant - there are tea rooms there so maybe you could hold the reception there i dont know. there's tons of local accommodation but it might be further from sydney than you are looking for...but it is just gorgeous...wet weather option might be a bit of a worry however...im probably just scheming myself a peek at your wedding day as we live nearby!!!!!
S_J - hows the toilet training going?
gotta go feed the prince - back soon...
*Country Bumpkin*
09-01-2007, 08:11
LilBugalugs- Oh my you poor thing. I had been wondering how you were all getting on... Good to hear you hubby may be returing home soon:hugs:
Lottiesmum- I used to work as a nanny and I took care of a 3yr old,18month old & a new born
Now Morgan(3) used to do the same thing (but she really was the devil in disguise) what we did with her weas forst ignore her. If she didnt stop we would then tell her in a firm calm voice "to stop that or she would go to the "corner". If she still continued we would take her to the corner and leave her on her own. If she moved we put her back- Its alot like how supper nanny deals with kids- and guess what it worked after about a week she learnt that she got no attention and stopped:yelclap:
SJ- looking foward to someone else venting about their DH rather than me:rolleyes:
Munchkin- ARGGGGGH I HATE peopel like that I too have a "friend" who is the same I ignore her now. If I didnt Im sure Id bludgen her with a blunt object
Good Morning All
firstly
happybirthday :party: happybirthday :party: to amansaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumstar http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=972433#post972433)
Charlotte was the 12th as well...5.40 pm...so is she older or younger than Noah??
noah was on the 21st at 6.30pm after a 3 hour labour!(i was lucky with this one) was charlotte the 12th or 21st?
lilbugalugs sending lots of hugs your way, i hope things starting loking up for you soon..
Noah has been rolling now and tummy crawling for about a month! Its driving my nutty as he moves around the whole cot now from one end to the other under the covers and all. I have basically has to strip the cot apart from the bottom sheet and put him in a grobag now for nitetime... i dont know how long that will go on over summer... plus my 3 year old had his little girlfriend over for a playdate the other day and they climbed up into Noahs cot were pulling on the side that drops down and broke it... boy did they get a time out in the naughty corner! Anyway hubby fixed it but im still worried that it might not be as stable as before especially with noah moving around so much!
Well we have a few things to do today, i get the finance from my house loan in my bank!!! we are picking up our new computer and my MIL is coming over so i can put a color in her hair! Fun Fun Fun!
Hope everyone has a good day!
Im so confused. :confused:
Nat asked me to leave this morning. He said he loves me but cant put up with my anger anymore. (Unfortunatly, I substitute whatever emotion I am feeling for Anger. I am one angry chicken most of the time... bet you guys didnt pick up on that hey?) He says, if I keep on being this angry, we are going to end up splitting anyways, so why not just do it now?
*sighs*
Wooo :party: (not)
In other news, Elsha kept me up from 2.30am - 5am this morning. Man, was I happy.
:smiliedance: HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMANDA :smiliedance:
lilbugalugs what a tough year you have had! Hopefully this difficult time is drawing to an end and you can have a healthy and happy 2007. It must be so hard to keep it all together at the moment.
hehe Parisa, I put a post in the sept thread too! Maybe we'll give it a day or two and if nobody else is keen we could just catch up at Ssouthland or something?
missie_mack
09-01-2007, 09:43
Happy Birthday Amanda!:party:
Wow it looks like nearly all our MIL mummys have made contact. All these people having a tough time just isnt fair. Babies never make things easier with maternity leave and all the other extra stress's that add to it, these extras really arent needed :( .
Ok I know Im a stresser about these things but I need to confirm so I can be organised (we arent morning people here) 11am Jamaica Blue Darling Harbour tommorrow? and whose coming????? Shed, Beany, S_J....??? anyone else? Lottiesmum sounds close-ish??
Im so dissappointed that you cant come Raffee :thumbsdown: With us likely to be moving at the end of the month I probably wont get to meet you now unless we end up having a Augustians Meet for everybody one day someday.
*Country Bumpkin*
09-01-2007, 09:44
Jessi- AW hun... by the sounds of it you and Nat would be better off apart yeah yeah I can talk I know:rolleyes: Perhaps I should take some of my own advice...... Its no good for you or El if you unhappy all the time- maybe go and see how it all works out..let Nat come running back to you saying oh I love u I miss U I cant live without you:hugs:
Jessi: :hugs: be strong, you will get through this. I don't really know what to say, but just know that we are here for you if you need to get anything out, anger is usually a sign of frustration.
Happy Birthday Amandaw happybirthday
munchkin - if you ever intended to have children at some point in your life then your pregnancy was not unplanned, it was simply unscheduled.
In regard to the competitive mother syndrome, she needs to come on bubhub. Not that we want her on here lol, but at least she will learn that there are a million and one different ways of nurturing babies and none of them are wrong. You only need to look at the diversity of this very lovely August mothers group to see that. I don't think any of us do things exactly the same way and we all seem to get along just fine.
Lottiesmum - yes, Leura is a bit far. In regard to the solids website, I thought it was interesting. I am worried about him choking, I think that's every mother's worry. To be honest I wish he never had to start on solids. Its so nervewracking, especially the first time round. I think by about the fourth kid most people are getting the hang of it, but hardly anyone has that many kids these day (oh, Raffee!!! :wave: )
I just got the Community College magazine in the mail. I am going to enrol in a course, knitting or crochet or something like that. I say that every time and I have never done it yet.
Cot is going up TONIGHT.
Uni assignment is being started TODAY
umm, that's all.
Bubby is in the Jolly Jumper and he's starting to whinge. I better get him out before someone calls DOCS (its been a while, oops)
*munchkin*
09-01-2007, 10:38
munchkin - if you ever intended to have children at some point in your life then your pregnancy was not unplanned, it was simply unscheduled.
Aaaw - you rock Shed! I look at it as the best 'accident' to ever happen to me. It was meant to be, otherwise I wouldn't have Emily.
Lilbugalugs - hope your hubby is on the improve soon. 2007 will be your year I hope!
Jessi - :hugs: I hope you don't mind me saying this, but maybe counselling for both of you would be a help? Sounds like you love each other, just have some communication problems to sort out. I thought "Bah - counselling would be stoopid", but having done it myself when our relationship was breaking down, it was so so helpful and the best thing I could have done.
Well...started Em on solids this morning. Was so so funny, as she just sat there with the spoon in her mouth, looking at me. Then she blew some raspberries in the rice cereal, then clamped her lips shut. At the moment she is dropping about half her formula from her feeds, which is a bit of a worry. I don't know why. But she seems to still be putting on weight anyway.
She's sitting on my lap as I type this, just staring intently at her own refelction in a mirror (about 3 cms away from her face) :laughing:
She also seems to have forgotten she can roll!
*Country Bumpkin*
09-01-2007, 11:08
I just got a new Visa:smiliedance: Now I have 2
I have a commonwealth yellow and now I have a suncorp Visa debit WOOOOOHOOOOO
Watch out ebay here I come :laughing:
I dont use my commonwealth credit card.... never ever- its for emergencies ONLY we got it to pay for the move out here
But now I have my own visa debit i can actually buy stuff without having to call mum trasfer money into her account and use her card details:D
MountainGirl
09-01-2007, 11:17
Ummm,....Sorry Adele - I have totally forgotten what my DH vent was about! Funny that things that seem so important at 5:00am are usually forgotten about by lunchtime! ha!
Lottiesmum,...we have that stupid Peg Perego too,........I hate it....and it was expensive too! Apparently Ikea does an all in one piece, really simple highchair for about $30....you can just wipe/hose it after a feed,.and it is a nice simple white also,.... I have heard about the whole vegie thing,......that is why I bought the mesh thing,...I put a cooled piece of pumpkin in it last night and Jasper loved it! Re food - we did the same thing with Scarlett,....fed her pumpkin and hoummous, basil and parmsan mashed parsnips etc,...and now all the little bugger will eat is:
- Chicken with tomato "horse"
- cheese
- baked beans in a baked potato
- proscuitto
- home made ham pineapple pizza
sigh,.........nothing even remotely green!!!!!!
re meet tomorrow,..yup,..I am up for 11:00 Jamaica Blue,..... Shed? Beany?
Jess,....do what is best for you and your little one.......and dont let Nat tell you what to do! If anyone is leaving,.it really should be him! Moving with a baby????I dont think so!
littlepickle
09-01-2007, 11:22
Sorry for being MIA:o Thanks to everyone that was asking about me:hugs:
I have had a few weeks of feeling a bit down, and tired. I dont know if its just somthing to do with the anticlimax of Christmas, but ever since Christmas I have turned into a bit of a recluse.. I just feel a bit boring I guess, I bore myself at times, particularly over the last few weeks! I have decided that going back to work in March will be good for me. I am only going to be doing two days a week, but I think it will give me the mental stimulation that I need at the moment. I have also started packing for our upcoming move which has been keeping me busy so things seem to be getting back to normal a bit now which is good. E has been loving all the mummy daughter time though and has been reaching milestones at a rate of knots! The one thing she doesnt want to have anything to do with is solids! She spits everyting out, whatever I give her and no matter how much I perservere, so I am going to put the whole solids thing on the backburner for a while as she is just not ready.
Shed: Your wedding plans sound great, and your dress ideas too. I didnt really have a clue what dress I wanted except that I wanted a fitted dress. When I got married I ended up getting the first dress that I saw. It was a full skirt/train Vera Wang with a mauve sash at the back.. sounds strange but was a real cinderella dress. The funny thing was that it was the furthest thing from a fitted straight dress that I could get! I guess you just know when you see the right one.
I think winery wedding are lovely, very elegant without being too stuffy!
Beany: Your new hairdo sounds great! That reminds me I havent had my hair cut for ages... need to make an appointment eeek! I must look like the wild woman from Borneo (no a=offence to anyone from Borneo)
Tash: Wow! Crawling!! How cool! dh keeps trying to teach E to crawl, but she seems happier to lay on her back and push herself along with her feet. She can move accross the floor quickly this way and has even mastered steering, so that she can get to where she wants to go.
Monique: Hope your move is going well! Looking forward to hearing all about the big move when you get settled into your new place :-)
Noosadad: Lovely to hear from you, cant wait to hear from Noosamum again, i hope she is well
Adele: Glad that your move to Chinchilla went well and that youb managed to sort things out with Tim.
Jessi: Sorry to hear that you are having a tough time with Nat. Hopefully you will be able to work it out
MrsPotts: :hugs: Sorry to hear that you have been going through a tough time lately. Like someone else said, bad luck has no etiquette with timing: ) I like that saying, but it is true. I hope that things get easier for you.
Jane: Did you manage to get Scarlett in:hugs: to the Montessori preschool? Sounds really nice, I have been reading about them.
To anyone that I have left out. My appologies, that'll teach me to leave it so long between posting! Its hard to keep up!
Mrs Potts
09-01-2007, 11:34
Mrs Potts - it was me wanting to sell my jeans. I'll go through them and PM you what I have. Lucky you fitting into a 10!
I didn't say I actually fitted into them LOL I'm currently in an 11, and it's only belly slowing things down. Hopefully that will miraculously vanish in the near future.... (where's out "totally deluded" emoticon? )
and thanks!
*Country Bumpkin*
09-01-2007, 11:37
YAAAAH Rach:wave: Welcome back- we have all missed you:hugs:
trying to type while a baby chews on my arm and grabs at the keyboard chcjnb
just like that jhhhhhhhhhhhhb
Get yer mitts off!
bnhj nm nomvb v nb f
I think he's trying out that monkeys and Hamlet thoery.
Ahhh yuck ... drool is literally dripping off my elbow ...
anyway, I just popped on briefly to say that I'll be there tomorrow at 11. Just listen out for the squelching as I approach!
I'll go wrap this child in some Viva now.
*Country Bumpkin*
09-01-2007, 12:41
Little Pickle- Last time you were here u mentioned gettign a second sensor pad for the angel care monitor.. Im just wondering where you got it from
We have to get one- the same thing happened to me yesterday... I almost died I thought skyla was well dead:crying: Ive never jumped out of bed so fast in my whole life
littlepickle
09-01-2007, 13:04
Hi Adele,
I just bought an additional sensor pad from Ebay. I am not sure where to buy them other than that. I know you can buy two versions of the angelcare, one comes with one pad and the other comes with two. But sometimes people sell the pads on ebay.. bound to be cheaper too!
Yeah, I said to Nat "Why do I have to leave?" and he said "how will you afford to pay rent?" :rolleyes:
I cant go anywhere anyways... my Grandma is staying with my family... thats the only place I can go. Im sure they'd find some place for us to sleep but I havent been able to get hold of anyone to see if its ok that we come stay. So I guess Im going to be sleeping in the spare room for tonight.
We've talked about councelling but it has never actually happened. I dont know if its worth it...
Shed - The Anger is frustration comment you made is SO true. I am frustrated. Extremely. I dont get much help... and I resent him. He has it good. Time away from us, full nights of sleep. And he doesnt have to pick up everything after me.
Im frustrated with being a mum. I havent been handling El very well at nights when she doesnt go to sleep like usual or stays awake after her 3am feed. Mostly, im frustrated at myself. Because I worry how I will be towards El when she's teething and hardley sleeps at all. If Im getting angry at her now when the amounts of sleeplessness is minimal.... can you imagine?
I feel like a bad mother. I used to want to be a young mother, and have babies because I thought it would be so awesome. But I was wrong to think that - Im not doing good at it. I dont really think I was cut out to be a mum at all. :gloomy:
*Country Bumpkin*
09-01-2007, 13:58
Hi Adele,
I just bought an additional sensor pad from Ebay. I am not sure where to buy them other than that. I know you can buy two versions of the angelcare, one comes with one pad and the other comes with two. But sometimes people sell the pads on ebay.. bound to be cheaper too!
And how do you connect it up... I bet there is another conection point at the back of the monitor and I just havnt seen it:rolleyes:
lottiesmum
09-01-2007, 14:03
oh Jessi, im not sure anyone is cut out to be a mum everyday and to the expectations we all put on ourselves. i just had a little look at your website - which is gorgeous. you clearly love your little girl, and maybe that love is all that's needed to be á good mum. we all just have to keep trying....and remember that tomorrow is a new day. take care.
*Country Bumpkin*
09-01-2007, 14:03
Jessi- You ARE a GREAT mother... El is happy, healthy, well cared for and very much loved becasue she has a GOOD mother who looks after her. If it wasnt for you El wouldnt survive.. you keep her going.
The way you feel towards Nat is totaly valid. I have the same feelings of frustration and resentment.
The frustration does become too much soetimes and I have found that if I just walk away I will settle down- with time. Its a hard thing to do but worth it in the end.
I suppose you really have to decide if you want to keep going round in circles though. Whatever your decision just remember that you have us and we all love you and think your a great mother regardless of anyone elses opinion:hugs:
*Country Bumpkin*
09-01-2007, 14:17
rach- just wondering how much u paid.... there is one on ebay for $51 has 2 days left and 12 bids- its the only one
MountainGirl
09-01-2007, 14:23
How is your nose today Adele?
Oh,..and Jess - I am echoing Lottiesmum,.... listen to her!!!!
LP - welcome back girl,.....missed you!
Beany - Your boy doesnt do anything by halves when it comes to bodily functions,..does he? Drooling.......pooing,........farting!
Lottiesmum - we are not going that well on the TTing,.... Scarlett has decided that she reallly isnt that interested in star stickers,..and would rather wee in the garden,...sigh.....
missie_mack
09-01-2007, 14:37
S_J- Does she have a goal to aim towards with the star stickers. You know if she gets this far she can have.... Its probably not good to resort to bribery but if it works.
Jessi- Should you leave Nat you need to remember that you are entitled to financial assistance from the government and Nat will have to pay child support. In the short term do you have some fantastic plastic incase you get stuck?? Nat needs to remember you are meant to be his partner in more than just title and that means helping you out. Giving you say 3 hours to yourself when he gets home where he and El can have a bath together (literally) or something. My DH loves bathtime its their bonding time. Babies are big strains but things in someways are getting easier as they get older they dont need our attention every single second of the day as much....
Oh Shed Ive seen that bridal shop in Annandale. The clothes are gorgeous!
*Country Bumpkin*
09-01-2007, 15:08
Jane- turns out its not broken thank god- just fractured instead. Wont need to be restet though thakfully.... Still bruised and reeeeeeealy sore though:(
MountainGirl
09-01-2007, 16:35
MM,.....yeah we have a chart that the stars get put on,..and she also gets one on her hand,..I am also bribing her with "The Natural Confec. Company" dinosaurs,....worked a treat at the beginning,...now she has lost interest,....I am not really into giving her sweet things,..so I thought I was doing something that would be a sure fire hit,..nup,..... she is seemingly smarter than me,..yet again,..
Good news about the nose Adele!
Hey,..we just had a sparky over to quote on installing some halogen lx in our bedroom,..and he walked into our bedroom and SAT DOWN ON OUR BED!!!:eek: :eek: I was so stunned I didnt say anything,...so Mike said "Actually mate,..we have just washed the sheets!" :laughing: Needless to say.....the sheets are now in the wash,....gross!!!!!!!!!
Hi Shed, I really just needed an excuse to go and look at my wedding dress again. Here is the webpage http://maggiesottero.com/dress.aspx?showAll=1&pageSize=8&style=341
Hey just found a pic of me wearing it........yes I'm the one honking!http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/dress.jpg
There's zillions of dresses available - might give you some ideas, although I think when you put on 'the one' you just know straight away.
*Country Bumpkin*
09-01-2007, 16:40
Jane- Tradesmen:banghead:
Jessi : My your life seems to be echoing mine in so many ways when i first had Aiden. Troy and i went through a really rough patch, and i had two grandparents pass away (i dont cope well with grieving) no sleep first time mummy etc etc. We split for about 2 weeks it gave us a break and also let me know i can do this on my own if thats my choice. Troy refused to come to conselling with me so i went on my own to help tackle some anger issues and would come home and share with him my plans to change things. We also had some money issues and went to the local government they provide free finance conselling helped us with a budget etc. Before you throw it all away give some of these things a chance coz every relationship needs attention and maitenence especially after a big shock to the system like a baby! You both need to adjust and hopefully you will find away to be the same couple you were pre baby but now just with baby. Im really glad i stuck through the rough patches coz it makes the good times that much better. In the meantime :hugs: :hugs: to you and if you wanna chat pm me!
wattle : your wedding dress is beautiful!
ScarlettJasper: My son Aiden is TT now, we tried so many different things including the star chart but no really worked then one day it just clicked no probs only a few little accidents and he has been in undies since!!
missie_mack
09-01-2007, 18:39
MM,.....yeah we have a chart that the stars get put on,..and she also gets one on her hand,..I am also bribing her with "The Natural Confec. Company" dinosaurs,....worked a treat at the beginning,...now she has lost interest,....I am not really into giving her sweet things,..so I thought I was doing something that would be a sure fire hit,..nup,..... she is seemingly smarter than me,..yet again,..
Umm what about a toy? or a dress? there must be something she really wants. Of course she would have to do it a little longer unless its a little toy. A friend of mine did it with Fairy Knickers. They were too pretty to get dirty was the theory lol :hugs: It must be so frustrating Im so not looking forward to TT! And they say girls are easier than boys!
littlepickle
09-01-2007, 18:59
And how do you connect it up... I bet there is another conection point at the back of the monitor and I just havnt seen it:rolleyes:
I paid $36 dollars for the additional pad. I guess you just have to keep a look out for one going cheap, it just depends how many are being listed and how many people are looking for them I guess.
They connect by plugging one sensor into the other and then one into the monitor itself
Jane - I cant beieve that the sparky just sat on your bed like that! Of all the things to do!! Eeek!
Does Scarlett pull her pants down to pee in the garden? At least that indicates that she knows what she's doing and is intentional ... you just have to redirect her to the loo somehow. Is there some sort of dye you can put in the loo that would change colour with the wee?
I watched a Dr Phil show during my pregnant months (when I was permitted to stay in one place at midday) that suggested bribing them with an offer of getting a call from their hero. You promise them a party when they do a wee in the loo. When this happens, you stick to your word and throw a little party with hats and streamers and such. As an added surprise, you get the child's hero to call them (a friend pretending to be Spongebob Squarepants or whatever kids are into these days) and get them to be very excited and impressed about the fact that Scarlett had achieved a wee in the loo. Apparently this has great success rates.