View Full Version : Bub hardly drinking milk anymore

mum2maddy
03-11-2005, 09:26
My little angel has decided that milk is boring and would much rather eat cheese and fruit and drink water.

She will only drink about 120 mils (at the most) per feed.

SHe's just nine months and I was under the impression that kids around her age need 4 x 240 ml formula feeds a day as well as 3 solid feeds and morning and afternoon tea.

She normally wakes at 4ish for half a bottle then has baby muesli or weetbix for brekky at around 6.30.
Half a bottle, Yoghurt or Cheese or a peice of fruit for morning tea.
Some toast with vegemite/vegies/fruit/if we are out something canned like apple and oatmeal for lunch.
Half a bottle for arvo tea and maybe an arrowroot bikky or some fruit/cheese
Then dinner she gets meat and three veg, hehe, or tuna or something like that and custard or fruit puree for desert.
Then she has half a bottle before bed.

Thats' on a good day, some days she just has 1/4 bottles.

Is this normal??? Am I feeding her too much solids or something?

She's a big girl - she's always been "off the chart" in her weight, since she was about 2 weeks old! She doesn't look fat, she's tall and well proportioned. She seems hungry when I show her the bottle but it doesnt last.

Any thoughts? :o

Supermum
03-11-2005, 09:35
Hi Angelina

I wouldn't worry. As long as she is getting lots of fluids and calcium via other sources ie. cheese & yoghurt, I personally think there is no reason for concern.

My DD, now 1½ has never been interested in cow's milk. She went straight from the breast to water in a sipper cup - she was never interested in milk or bottles for that matter.

Having just had a look at your DD's daily intake of food, it doesn't sound like she's missing out on a thing. 120ml's four times per day equates to half a litre of milk - sounds like plenty to me!

the_queen
03-11-2005, 10:19
Hi Angelina,

When my DD was 9 months old, I found myself tipping 3 full bottles of formula down the sink every day! She was sleeping through the night, and eating 3 meals a day plus snacks, and she was having a bottle after each meal too. But then all of a sudden she just wouldn't drink it anymore. I went to the CAFHS nurse and she said that as long as she's healthy (she was), active (very!), and having a good variety of "normal" foods (definately!) then she should be fine. And she is fine. She has always had yogurt every day since she started solids, and at 9 months she was having cheese everyday too, plus cows milk on her weetbix, plus I put milk butter and cheese in the mashed potato.

So I guess my advice is, if you're really worried take her to your GP/child nurse lady. But as long as she's getting all the nutrients she needs from her food, then it shouldn't be a problem!

It's hard not to stress about stuff like this, I know!! I was so worried about it, until I realised I wouldn't have to buy expensive tins of formula anymore!!! Yay!!! And no more sterilising bottles!!!! YAY!!!! The only sad thing for me was that she was no longer a "widdle bubby" *sniff sniff* :rolleyes:

jessica
03-11-2005, 12:38
My little lady is another non-milk drinker!! Has NEVER had formula and went straight from breastmilk (stopped BF at 12months) to water in a sipper cup. At 14 months now the only milk she has is in her weetbix for breaky. She also has cheese and yoghurt every day (and LOVES the stuff!!).. I used to stress about this so much - but like the others have said as long as she's healthy and active I wouldnt worry - Needless to say I do hope she decides to try milk one day - I love the stuff! :D