View Full Version : A bit of reassurance please......

Jamily
01-01-2007, 07:40 AM

I am going into hospital on Tuesday to discuss a date for delivery for this little man. Unfortunately due to IUGR it would appear at the moment that I will be unable to go full term or into spontaneous labour :( I didn't realise how sad I would be for things to work out like this after having an amazing waterbirth with DD just 18 months ago....but of course my boys health comes first.

So, please could anyone give me their experiences - good and bad. I have no idea what to expect in terms of the op, recovery etc. and is there anything I can do to prepare?

Minke
01-01-2007, 07:46 AM
:hugs: :hugs: This thread might help - it's positive c/s both elective and emergency.

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=42161

Also, Becca (in case she's not on in the next few days) always recommends birthrites websites - there are c/s birthplans (hope she is on - she'll be able to give you far more info.)

nats
01-01-2007, 07:56 AM
:hugs: You'll never forget the first time you see your little man :yes:
What an experience!!! :thumbsup: You have a speedy recovery.

PS- Do tummy tucking afterwards when they tell you to. The back wont have the support of your abdominal muscles so don't do any backstrain vacuuming etc... and try sitting down in a chair to pick up your toddler when ever possible. Oh, and make sure, if you can get him to, make DH push the trolley in the shops!!! It gets heavier by twofold each aisle

suemp
01-01-2007, 11:46 AM
i had 2 c/sections. they were never my initial plans but i excepted that it was the way to go. my first came out not breathing so it was more panic than anything however my second boy , born 2 months ago came out crying and it was still the best feeling in the world.
all the best

SassyMummy
01-01-2007, 12:56 PM
I hated my caesarean, but it's not because the experience was horrible - it's just because of my feelings about caesarean section (I never wanted one, and I REALLY want to experience labour and birth... so that's why I hate that I had surgery).

The actual experience, feelings aside, was pretty reasonable. I lay down, slightly euphoric, as someone performed the surgery.

When they stitch you back up, all you can really feel is lots of tugging - it was really intense. It didn't hurt... but it felt like they were tugging SO HARD. It was a very strange sensation.

Also, don't be scared to get up and move around once they give you the go-ahead. I got out of bed less than 24 hours after my c-sec... and had a very quick, straightforward recovery (I remember that, 10 days after having my c-sec, I went on an all-day shopping trip... so I must have been fairly good by then).

I know women who have just laid around for ages after their c-sec... and their recovery was far from good. It took them forever to get back to "normal." I think that, because I walked as much as I needed to, my recovery was pretty good.

It'll hurt like hell though - and some hospitals won't provide you much in the way of pain relief (I was given one single panadol...once. That doesn't even help with period pain... let alone surgical pain!), especially if you're breastfeeding.

The nurses will show you how to support your stomach with your hand (to relieve pain) and how to move. You'll soon figure out the best way to move around without too much pain (expect to walk really slowly, and lean on thnigs for support a lot).

Also - don't freak out about carrying your baby. I used the strength of my arms (not my body at all - just my arms) to lift by big baby from her crib into my bed for a feed the first night of her life. I never DIDN'T carry her... because really, if you don't do it yourself, who is going to do it for you? Just try to avoid long distances at first...

You WILL have to move slowly, and the house probably WILL get messy.. but it's not too bad. Order take-away more than usual, accept help, and pre-pare meals and freeze them BEFORE your c-sec... all this will help.

Also expect to not do any driving for a while afterwards... I don't drive so I don't know when you'll feel ready (they say wait 6 weeks... but they also say that about sex and otherwise, but I didn't wait.

Hope I helped a little...

Beany
01-01-2007, 01:06 PM
Claire: I have no experience to offer, just these :hugs:

Best of luck.

becca74
01-01-2007, 01:39 PM
Big Hugs :hugs:

IUGR sounds pretty serious....my SILs mother had that with her youngest, but they induced her at about 36 weeks, and her baby was born fine, just small. He thrived once outside....

Not that induction is that exciting a prospect. It must be really difficult to be facing this decision making at the moment.

as Kelli79 suggested, check out www.birthrites.org and scroll to their section on planning a positive c/section. The other thing you can do is maybe get onto their forum or email group just to see if anyone else has had to face a c/sec for IUGR, and see if they have any advice?

much love to you, and positive vibes that all will work out beautifully for you :wizard:

Bronwyn
04-01-2007, 11:31 AM
Hi Clairet

It must be an awful feeling to have that control taken away from you after such an amazing first birth but you are right in saying that the health of your little boy is the most important thing so just be guided by the doctors.

I had an elective c/s (I'm a chicken and was scared of labour). Everyone told me how awful it was going to be and how silly I was electing a c/s so I was really determined to prove them wrong and was pleasantly surprised how easy the whole thing was.

I had my dd later afternoon and the next morning I tried to get out of bed but was a little wobbly so the nurses just sponge bathed me then later that day after some food and feeling stronger I was up and going (gingerly but going).

I agree with Sassymummy...the women that lay around do take longer to recover. I was doing slow laps around my neighbourhood when dd was 2 weeks old, very slow but getting around.

My ob said I could lift baby without doing any damage and she was 4.2kg just not leaning over or picking her up off the floor. I had trouble bathing her cause of the pressure you are under to not drown them (1st child bit nervous) but dh helped there.

My ob said to me later that often bigger girls (me) get infections because of the extra tummy skin hanging over the scar area. He told me to wash my tummy with dettol wash the morning before the c/s and then I continued for 6 weeks and no infections here.

Also another little tip from a nurse was to drink lots and lots and lots of water after the birth as it gets the kidneys going and also softens stools to make that first poo easier. It worked.

If c/s is the best thing for your little man then go with it and focus on him and the rest will just follow. You'll be fine.

Good luck
Bronwyn

harvey123
06-01-2007, 08:54 AM
I had a caesarean due at 41 weeks because I never dilated and looked like she would never come out. I was given the choice to be induced but mu obst. recommended against it. It turned out that our daughters' umbilical cord was between her head and my pelvis, so even if I had gotten induced and gone into labour I would have had a c-sect. I was pretty scared about having a c-sect and it wasn't what I'd planned on, but it was really ok and I got to hold her onece she was born and tried feeding her as soon as the surgery was over, so there was no real delay in bonding and also my husband got to spend about half an hour with her whilst i was being stitched up. So for us it was great..we safely had our baby Zoe and she's thriving. The recovery after the c-sect was what scared me the most, I was up and about the next day and really experienced no pain at all. All that matters is that you and your bub are ok. Good luck with your birth :thumbsup:

Africamum
06-01-2007, 06:50 PM
Clairet,

I had the same issue with IUGR and had a C Section at 37weeks , even without the issues I would have had a C-Section anyway.

I enjoyed my C-Section experience - as much as you can enjoy major surgery :laughing:. I was booked in for early in the morning. I go the the hospital and had a hour of being prepped etc. Then they took me downstairs and inserted the epidural and spinal block - I had DH by my side for support and holding my hand.

I was numb up to my chest which made me feel a little clausterphobic (SP?). The anethastist was explaining things to me and my DH the entire time. I got to hold DS for a while and then they had to take him up to NICU (I was aware that he was likely going to end up in NICU for a while anyway). At the end of the procedure I started was very nauesous and started to vomit - I was given something to settle my stomach and was fine after that.

I was up and moving the next morning. The nurses managed my pain well, I was given whatever pain relief I needed.

I was doing all of the things I would normally do at home in less than two weeks (I had to pack up the house and move country), I was walking ever day.

I agree with the comment the the earlier you start moving the better you are off.

One negative of the C-Section was that my milk didn't come in until Day 6. DS was comp feed formula for the first 12-14 weeks. Now he only takes breast milk and looks at the bottle with complete distain :rolleyes:

DS has grown 25cm in the first 7 months and was 7.8kg at 7 months so he is doing quiet well now.

I hope all goes well for you

becca74
07-01-2007, 01:06 PM
Clairet,

What are the indications as to why your baby is deemed to be not growing/growing too slowly?

Sometimes the diagnosis of IUGR is given 'just in case' just like the diagnosis of CPD.

If having a c/sec is really something you are not keen on, maybe a 2nd/3rd opinion is called for?

:wizard: sending beautiful birthing vibes to you no matter what!!

Pixie
07-01-2007, 04:10 PM
Claire my friend:hugs: it is devastating, I know how much you wanted another waterbrth/natural.

I think the way I look at it is. IF I have sought out enough evidence to suggest I need a C/section then I will
have another one. If there is the slightest chance of natural birth then I will go with that.

Just be prepared that you will need help especially with Emily. Get things done as much as possible before hand.

I would even try to plan a birth plan c/section and ask you OB/midwife to try and fulfil your wishes as much as possible.

I am having to get back to packing/sorrting now so can't type, but you have my number if you want to chat!

Lallas' Mum
07-01-2007, 04:36 PM
I have had two Caesarean sections due to macrosomic bubs (really big bubs) and prior history or PPH. As my DS1 was born naturally and was completely terrified of a c/s with DS2 and I think it affected me. My recovery seemed long and very painful and I got really down about it all.

With DS3 I refused to let the experience be so terrible again. I spoke to the Drs about it and it turned out that a lack of pain relief was the underlying cause. I was only given panadol and not much of it. Last time around the nurse were right on top of my meds giving me panadol and voltaren. On discharge my Dr recommended continueing with nurofen as it is safe during breastfeeding. By the end of week two I no longer needed much pain relief at all. Just some occasional panadol.

Don't try to be a martyr and go without relief but don't be a sook either. Get up and moving as soon as possible but remember to pace yourself.

The first 24hrs are spent pretty immobile as you have a catheter inserted and sometimes a drain in your wound. I didn't have a drain the first time around but I did the second time.

The first c/s I had disolvable stitches and the 2nd time I had staples. The staples actually scarred less. But that could have been the different surgeon as well I guess.

The best thing I ever did for myself was to get one of those picky upper things so I didn't have to bend down. You can get them from Bunnings hardware. You can pick up all sorts of things. I still use it to pick up all the kids toys.

Bottom line - don't go in expecting the worse or it will be. Try and focus on your new little one.

Jamily
07-01-2007, 05:20 PM
Thanks for all your advice everyone :) Its really appreciated.

Becca - the reason they have classed bubs as IUGR is that he is in the 7th centile (according to u/s which of course is not exactly accurate) and that the cord flow is just 'outside the normal range'. So they are happy for me to stay pregnant but keep monitoring the cord/placenta.

Anyway, I go in again on Tuesday for my next appointment so will ask about the chance of a natural birth if I can get to 38 weeks which should be likely if the cord flow is ok.

Pixie - i'll give you a call anyway lovely ;)

Thanks,

Claire xxxxx

damien's mum
07-01-2007, 05:25 PM
Sending u lots and lots of :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

mumofcaleb
07-01-2007, 05:44 PM
I had an emergency c-section and my recovery wasn't all that bad. I had to take lot's of pain killers for the 1st 2 weeks and I felt tender for the 1st couple of weeks. Just make sure that you have someone there with you for the 1st couple of weeks. Maybe a friend, DP or MIL. Someone who can help take the load off, especially if you have another little one running around.

becca74
08-01-2007, 03:01 PM
Claire, definately go with your instincts on this one. IUGR is rarely an indication in healthy mums.....is there any reason why? My SIL's mum who was diagnosed with IUGR, smoke and drank like a trooper whilst she was preggers, and this was the reason....

if it is private, the reason why, I understand, so please dont feel obliged to tell me.....

I may be colouring your circumstances with my own, as I was told the opposite, that I grow my babies too big for my body, and this turned out to be a crock.

And I am always suspicious of ultrasound diagnosis, as with each of my children, except my most recent, they have scared the heck out of me with something they 'found' that turned out to be totally untrue (excess fluid/downsyndrome/kidney problems/clubfoot - my children were born without any of these, though the sonographers and Obs were sent into a panic over what they saw on the screen - especially the downs diagnosis, they were so worried they didnt even wait to give me an amnio, they rushed me to do one there and then - more risk for no reason at all). What a waste of anxiety over nothing!

So, I hope I dont offend you....just wishing for you the opportunity to have the beautiful birth that you are dreaming about :hugs:

Jamily
08-01-2007, 05:13 PM
Thanks Becca - I am still pushing for a VB so although the docs are being cautious, they are also listening to me which is great.

No, I am no smoker, drinker etc so its a mystery as to why this has happened.....if it has indeed happened at all. As you said u/s's can create a lot of upset and needless worry.

Anyway, I have another appointment tomorrow so hopefully we'll know more!

Thanks again for everyone's advice and best wishes....

Cxxxxx

babyluv3
09-01-2007, 05:54 AM
I had a csection for bub#1 as she was breech. When my dr told me jut how dangerous it is to deliver a breech baby, we decided it was the safest option. Making sure dd was born safely was the most imortant thing for us. I was scared, but birth is scary anyway!

Heres a big tip tho, if you do have a csection, make sure they put the catheter in After youve had your spinal, omg!! They did it first with me, and I swear it was more painful than giving birth (Ive had 2 vbac since).

At least with a cesar you can relax and have a cigar while someone else does all the work:laughing:

And you can do a wee without it hurting!! Always a good point:laughing:

And bubs comes out looking all perfect, no squished body parts from being squeezed out!!

Goodluck and I wish you all the best!:)

Leez
09-01-2007, 08:40 AM
I had a c/sec after being induced, and yes it was pretty rough when it was happening - I couldn't stop shaking from the epidural which freaked me out, but the most painful part for me was that they were having trouble with the canula in my arm and that was making me yell out with the pain, not the fact that my abdomen was cut open and they were pulling my daughter out of it!:laughing:

Anyway, my recovery was as good as could be, I was up and about after 24 hours, home on the 3rd day. Bit sore for a few weeks but nothing to worry about. The way I look at it, sore abdomen, sore vagina, if you give birth, something is probably going to be sore!

As the others have said - don't be afraid to get moving, let yourself be guided by your body, it will let you know what it can handle.

I don't have a vb to compare my experience with, but I can tell you that the second I laid eyes on that mop of black hair, it was the highest high I'd ever had, and the way she just entered the room didn't even figure into it.

Best of luck for you, I hope you and bubs come through your birth happy and healthy - whichever way it happens!:hugs:

Jamily
09-01-2007, 07:32 PM
Thanks for all your stories and help everyone. It turns out they will let me have a VB as bubs is growing well, but my blood pressure is getting too high, so I am booked for an induction on Friday. Please wish me luck :)

:hugs: to you all xxxx

babyluv3
09-01-2007, 07:58 PM
:) Wonderful!!

Best wishes and Goodluck!!:hugs:

Jamily
16-01-2007, 07:31 PM
Just to let you all know that I had my little boy last Friday and managed to have a normal VB which is awesome! I actually had a relatively easy birth and my son James was born after 3.5hours in labour.

anyway, just wanted to say thanks for all your advice and best wishes....

Cxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Jodiee
16-01-2007, 07:45 PM
congratulations on your little man, and your strength to have him on your own..

I also want to say, that sometimes ultrasounds are sooo wrong, my SIL had her daughter early, I think it was 37 weeks, cause of IUGR, and the US indicated 3-4 lbs, she was 6lb, 13oz, and extremely healthy, albeit a little short, and still is, but that may be genes.. lmao..

anyway, congrats again

Beany
16-01-2007, 09:17 PM
Oh congratulations Claire!

It seems like only yesterday you were showing me your non-existent baby bump!