View Full Version : New to Bris, seeking friendship and playmates

happymama
31-12-2006, 22:01
Hi to anyone who is reading this :wave:

I am 24 and have just moved to Brisbane and at this point I dont really know anyone. We are living in Bracken Ridge. I am a SAHM to our DD who is 15mths and we have a second baby due in April. I would love to hear from any other mums nearby who have kiddos similar age to mine who might be intersted in a cuppa and a chat and someone for DD to have a play with.
I was also hoping someone might be able to suggest a good quality reasonably priced butchers nearby? I like to buy a whole rump and have it sliced to put in the freezer, that kind of thing, you know get the whole mths meat in one go. And somewhere for good fruit and veg?
Oh and does anyone know of any play centres nearby? There was one in our previous town and my DD LOVED it so it would be great to find one here to take her to.

Thanks heaps for reading

Jess 24
DH 27
DD 29.09.05
EDD 19.04.07

Elmopalooza
31-12-2006, 22:02
Hi Jess! Welcome to bubhub! Im in Perth so not really much help to you but just wanted to say hi anyway! :wave:

OJandMe
31-12-2006, 22:05
Hiya,

Welcome to Bris!!

Sorry I can't help with the butcher or anything, I'm not in that part of town. But I'm sure there are some lovely ladies on here who can point you in the right direction.

Happy New Year!!

01-01-2007, 00:31
Hey I am in Bracken Ridge - we moved there about 5 weeks ago so I don't know about play centres or butchers etc. The Butcher at the CCC (where Coles is) seems reasonably priced though but I don't really eat meat so I don't know how cheap they are.

Perhaps in the New Year we could catch up at a park in the area - I have a 23 month old and a 5 day old.:thumbsup:

masami
01-01-2007, 21:57
We are in Bracken Ridge too, moved here just two months ago. I donT know about any playcentre or good butcher here (I don t eat much meat either...). There is a butcher in Virginia, which is supposed to be good and not too expensive... and there is a playcentre in tha area as well, but I don t know if that is too far for you.
Anyway, if you wanna meet up some time, let me know. My kids are 13 months and three years.

mum_inlove
02-01-2007, 09:18
Hi there..Welcome to Brisbane.
I live in Bracken Ridge too, my ds is only 5 month old, but he loves to play with every one. :) . We normally go to butcher the one in the plaza, but they've changed owner a couple of times already now, and the prices changes too, but i think they're alright. Maybe we should make a bracken ridge meet up. Maybe at the Pine rivers park? coz they have a big playgorund?

sueliz
02-01-2007, 09:23
Hi Jess

Jack Purcell Meats which is at Virginia, (I think), sells bulk meats very cheap. It is better to buy it and slice it yourself though as I think they charge a bit extra to slice it for you so it turns out to not be quite as good a deal if you get them to do it.

And welcome to Brisbane!!!! How are you finding it so far?

TrulyBlessed
02-01-2007, 20:56
Hi Jess

Welcome to Brissy and bubhub. I agree with Sueliz Jack Purcell's is a good place to buy meat, normally have very good deals and the meat is nice.

As for meet ups I live near Toombul so about 15mins from you via the gateway motorway.

Hope you settle in soon and if you want to meet up for coffee let me know, my son is 8 months old.

TwoBoysOnly
03-01-2007, 19:42
Hi all I live in Bracken Ridge too....A Bracken Ridge meet up sounds good I have an almost 4 year old that would love some new playmates, also have an almost 6 year old but he will be in Grade 1 this year so won't come to meets. The butcher near Coles is ok but I too would love to find a NICE but reasonable priced butcher and fruit and veg.....Let's make a meet date we are going away for a week but will be back around the 15th Jan.....

happymama
09-01-2007, 22:51
:) A Bracken Ridge and surrounds meet sounds great to me if any of you are interested. Maybe someone who has been here a little longer than my 5 mins can suggest a place, I dont mind driving. Anytime, day is fine for me, DD usually has a sleep around lunch time for an hour or two and I am at home with her so whatever day works best for others.

Jess

Manz
10-01-2007, 09:45
Hi all....

Count me in for a meet up.... don't really have much to do at the moment....

Hear from you soon
Mandy :smiliedance:

mama2cierra
10-01-2007, 16:28
HI happymama:wave:
my name is amy and im 24 aswell
We live quite close to one another as I am just past sandgate!!
I have a daughter who will be 2 in april! your bub2be might share the same bday as her!! hahaha
send me a PM if you would like to get to know me more or if you have msn messenger you can add me!!

amytal8@hotmail.com

cheers, welcome and nice to meet u!

MrsDribbleDrawers
10-01-2007, 17:12
Hi. Just on the butchers... Bernie the Bargain Butcher at Taigum is pretty good.. I usually get a whole rump for $5.99-7.99kg (depends on the day, usually early in the week is better). The green grocer there isn't too bad either, although he has to compete with woolies next door. Or Jack Purcells on Pritchard Rd Virginia... They are enoormous, so if you can handle the meat smell, you might get a better deal.

Good luck, and welcome to bubhub!

Cate

masami
10-01-2007, 20:56
hi!
We will be in for a meet up as well. Thursdays and fridays are best for us. I donT know that many places around here yet, so we are open for any suggestions, as long as it is possible to get there for us, as I donT drive.
mara

happymama
10-01-2007, 21:35
:) Anyone got any suggestions for location? And time?

Jess

mum_inlove
10-01-2007, 22:17
how about at the bracken ridge tavern? They have a gloria jeans coffee as well normal restaurant joins together. The area is quite big enough to fit all of us? Could you please let me know the date pretty soon as I'd really like to come and wanna make sure i dont work on that day. Thanks!!

happymama
11-01-2007, 11:42
How about one day next week then? Or the week after? Looks like Thursday or Friday is best for Mara, is one of those better for anyone else partiularly? How about for morning tea at about 9ish? Would that suit? How will we go restraining kiddos at the Bracken Ridge Tavern, do you think it would be ok with a crazy toddler :laughing:

Jess

jen0023r
11-01-2007, 12:15
im so up for it count me in just let me knoe details??

ogilberry
11-01-2007, 13:17
hey there jess lovely to meet you hehe

fee

masami
11-01-2007, 20:32
Next week either 9:00 or 9:30 would be perfect for us. Maybe a park would be a better idea, considering the toddlers and older kids?
Maybe the strathpine park? They don T have that much for toddlers, but the playground is fenced (at least it is supposed to be, alst time we were there all the doors were missing) and there are places to sit, and meadows to run around....
I dont know many other parks here though...
But I would also try to come to the tavern (untill the kids have enough...) if that suits the others better.
mara

GemmasMum
11-01-2007, 22:50
Hi Jess

Welcome to Brissie :wave:

I'd love to catch up with some northside mums but I work Mon, Tues, Thurs and Fri - so it's tricky unless it's a weekend or a Wed thing.

All the best with settling in!

Robyn

Manz
12-01-2007, 08:53

I am easy either way, but I don't know about other Toddlers sitting in a Cafe for too long...

Pine Rivers Park at Strathpine is a good choice...
There is also a park at the end of Dayboro Rd in Petrie which is nice... Its not fenced in like the one at Strathpine, but its away from a main road... my 3 year old loves it there..

Otherwise, any park would be good, as long as its not on a busy road...
Or, I am more than happy to go to a Cafe if its on a Tuesday or a Thursday, as I will only have Jayden - my 15 month old-

Anyway, love to hear from you all on thoughts with that

happymama
12-01-2007, 09:27
Yep I agree the cafe is a great idea but might work better when we can leave the rug rats with hubbies! Don't know if North Lakes is too far for any of you but apparently there is also a play centre there called Chipmunks? Maybe that would have more for toddlers than the playground although I am happy to go there also. We stopped there with DD the other day and you are correct there is really not alot for toddlers there but it is fenced but from memory there are still no gates like someone mentioned.
Seems like Thursday might be a good day for most ppl but wouldnt work for you Robyn. I would love to meet up with you and your little one though so if you cant make the group thing maybe send me a PM and we can organise something since I don't have any work commitments?
So who can/can't make a Thursday 9.30 meet up? And where are we going to decide to go?

Jess

Manz
12-01-2007, 09:35
Hey Jess,

Chipmunks is now closed down :thumbsdown: They are extending the Westfield at North Lakes and that whole section there is now closed... very annoying...

I am happy for Thursday, just wont have my 3 year old with me, so I am easy as to where we go then..

Anyway, let me know if you want me to find some other places...

mum_inlove
12-01-2007, 09:36
Either day is good for me. Morning tea sounds like a good idea. Im easy with the location so just let me know and we'll be there. Oh if we do meet up in the park, do we bring food to share? :wave:

happymama
12-01-2007, 09:43
Bummer about Chipmunks :thumbsdown: Will it be re-opening? Ok well how about we just settle on the park at strathpine? Seems like our best option this time? Unless anyone isnt happy with there?I am happy to bring a plate of something to share if everyone else is!:yes:
Sorry mods, just saw the post about NOT posting actual time/place details so I have edited my post, will PM anyone who wants to come if you let me know. Don't forget the hats and sunscreen, when I was there the other day it was fairly sunny there, I will try to bring some picnic rugs too if I can find them among the boxes :laughing:
Yay how exciting :smiliedance:

Jess

mum_inlove
12-01-2007, 13:46
We're in! Pls let me know the details..

Manz
14-01-2007, 10:16
Hey all,

Just bumping this up!!

Let us know if you ant details and we will send you a PM..

here_we_go
14-01-2007, 20:34
Im not from Brackenridge, I am a little closer to the city but anything that gets organised I dont mind a drive over to meet you all.

And welcome to Brissie, how are you enjoying it so far aside from the weather lol?

happymama
14-01-2007, 22:59
Manz, here_we_go and mum_inlove have PM'd u all :) anyone else who is interested in joining us please PM or post here so we can let you know details, the more the merrier :smiliedance:

Jess 24
DH 27
DD 29.09.05
EDD 19.04.07

JJ's mum
15-01-2007, 09:08

I am in Kallangur and would love to meet up. Can you PM me the details so I can see whether we can make it

Jude

Manz
15-01-2007, 09:19
Its good that there are a few people coming!

Come on!! The more the merrier, hey Jess!! :yelclap:

happymama
15-01-2007, 10:07
:) Have PM'd u JJ's mum
And absolutely the more the merrier!!:smiliedance:

Jess 24
DH 27
DD 29.09.05
EDD 19.04.07

Manz
17-01-2007, 08:15
Hi gals... :wave:

Hope everyone is still good for tomorrow!

Boy.... I hope its not too hot.... I'm a sook (knid of... hehe) when I'm outside and its really hot :yes: LOL!

Anyway....hope to see you all tomorrow :fingerscrossed:

See you then!

happymama
18-01-2007, 08:22
OMGoodness u just cant pick it, its pouring rain at the moment :gloomy: hope it clears up in time for our playdate!!

Jess 24
DH 27
DD 29.09.05
EDD 19.04.07

Manz
18-01-2007, 08:33
Hey Jess....

Hmmmm, dosn't look too promising.... All the play stuff will be wet now :gloomy:

Anyway.....lets see wht happens.... If it dosn't fine up, we could meet at Strathpine or Chermside Westfield for coffee - they both have free play areas for the kids...

Just a thought.....:thumbsup:

happymama
18-01-2007, 08:58
I was thinking of Strathpine too but I didnt know there was a playground at chermside as well :) could be ok :-) I wanted to pop into target at some stage so perfect excuse. But I am worried that maybe the other ladies havent seen this?? I would hate for anyone to turn up and be on their own :no: Everything would most likely be wet and I dont think it will be dry by the time we get there. :thumbsdown: I will PM u my mobile number Manz. If anyone else is reading this let us know what your thoughts are, was looking forward to escaping the house.

Jess

Manz
18-01-2007, 12:52
Well..... Jess and I had a lovely time anyway! :yes:

Sorry we missed you all.....

Jess.... Jayden must have been exhausted cause he fell asleep as I was reversing out of my car spot! :laughing: Didn't have the heart to try and keep him awake..... :sleeping:

Anyway..... hope to meet some of you soon, at some stage!

JJ's mum
18-01-2007, 16:24

Sorry we couldn't make it! I saw the rain and thought it would be cancelled for sure..and couldn't get to the computer. I'm glad you both had a good time. I have a thread 'one year olds in Kallangur' and I am meeting up with atleast one lady Vikki on Tuesday (she works every other day). Would you be interested in joining us?

Look forward to hearing from you

Jude

Manz
18-01-2007, 18:18
Oh yes please! Thats Liam's day at Kindy so I only have Jayden :yelclap:

PM the details to me....

happymama
18-01-2007, 18:36
Aliyah was asleep when we hit the road too! :thumbsup: Guess all that sliding wore them both out :) She stayed asleep when I brought her inside too so that was a good change.

Would love to join you all in Kallangur if I am welcome :) Dont do anything on a Tuesday so please PM me details too :D Always great to get the little ones out and wear them out!

Jess

masami
19-01-2007, 22:35
I am glad you had a good Time, although it was just the two of you... Iam sorry, we didnT make it on thursday, but we were cut off from the internet for a youple of days, sop I wasn t shure if that meeting was still going to take place...
Anyway, as I canT make it Tuesday either, I am still happy to meet up another day. Just let me know, if any of you would be still interested!
For us it would be great if there would be some older kids too, so my oldest (3 1/2) wouldnT feel left out...
mara