View Full Version : game ideas
Twin Mum
30-12-2006, 14:44
hi,
I'm organising my cousins baby shower and i was wondering if anyone has idesa for games. i've organised 3 before but i've run out of ideas and they need to be original games (same people that were at mine).:hugs:
any help appreciated
Bron:wave:
At mine, we were blindfolded and had to transfer cotton balls from one container to another using a ladel. ehehe so much fun :D
At mine we froze a jelly baby in water in a plastic cup. The first persons water to break (melt) and get their baby out was the winner.
My sil organised a 20 question game about me and hub. Including funny multiple choice about where we first met, what i was wearing, how much weight i'd put on while preggers, whats my favourite colour etc.
We had guess the size of the belly too. I can't realy remember anything else...it was a busy arvo...with lots of pressies to unwrap!
Just a little hint...we had heaps of people so we made special nametages up for everyone...very helpful...
I went to a baby shower and there was one game that kind of stuck out for me where each person was given a roll of ribbon or something like that.. and had to pull of as much as they thought would go around the mumma to be.. And whoever was the clostest was the winner.
Jess xx
sweetsugardumplin'
18-01-2007, 15:06
Here are some we did our our baby shower:
nappy throwing competition - soak a cloth nappy in a bucket of water and get each contestant to sling that nappy as far as they can (great fun on a hot day). The winner is the one who thows the wet nappy the greatest distance
putting a nappy on a baby - ( great one for the fellas) borrow some dolls if you can - the first one to put a nappy on the doll - without it falling off, wins (we used cloth nappies and pins - more difficult - more funny) :laughing:
taste testing - purchase the cheapest baby food you can, blind fold taste testers and have them guess what they are actually eating WARNING - it will put you off feeding your baby this food (but that is a good thing) You'll need pen and paper handy to write down guesses - add them up and declare the winner. We had about six different foods - apparently thay all tasted the same (like sh#t- except for the banana custard)
guessing the arrival date of the baby - we made up a huge wall calender, indicating two weeks before and two weeks after the EDD. We asked party goers to write their prediction on the calender and after bubs was born, we presented the winner with a little gift.
We had so much fun. Hope these ideas help :hugs:
I'm organising my SIL babyshower this Saturday. One of the games I've come up with is to print out pictures of baby things (from the internet) and then a couple of pictures of babies. Cut them out, put them inside balloons. Put all the balloons into a container, each person takes a balloon, blows it up, pops it and the person who gets the baby inside is the winner.
IheartOman
18-01-2007, 15:12
I saw on girls of the playboy mansion a funny one.
They melted chocolate and then put it in nappies and everyone had to eat out of the nappy and guess what type of chocolate it is.. It looked like poo so I can imagine it would be hard to eat it.
You can also have alook on the net. There are HEAPS of sites on baby showers :)
ImSethsMum
18-01-2007, 15:54
Im from a large family with lots of babys so we always needed new games to make the showers different LOL. Here are some we've done:
* 20 questions about mum & DP
* Name the celebrity baby (ie, Apple is Gwenyth's daughter)
* Nursery Rhyme game (read out a line from a nursery rhyme and guess the title)
* Ice cube babys (we got little pink plastic craft babies and froze them in ice cubes. Everyone got one to put in their drink and first baby born or ice cube melted was the winner)
* Name the characters of kids tv shows (Bob the builder you would have to put Bob, wendy, scoop muck, dizzy, roley, lofty etc)
* TV babys and kids names (like what was Samanthas daughters name in Bewitched)
* Guess the Tummy size (get a long ribbon and each person guesses the size and using a marker pen puts a line and their name on the ribbon. Closest wins but also ribbon kept as a momento of the day)
* Memory tester (tray of baby things is viewed for 1 min then covered up and person to remember the most amount of things on the tray wins)
* Solutions game (on a peice of paper write a problem you came across ie crying baby or temp or teething. Fold up and pass to the next person. On the back of their piece of paper write the solution to your question. The mum then reads them out and they are hilarious ie Q. Bub is teething, Answer on the back might say 'have a glass of wine and relax')
* Balloon waddle relay race (balloon between knees you waddle to the person at the other end and using no hands pass the balloon to them between their knees and they waddle back)
* Nappy change game (fastest wins, blindfolded is funnier)
* Mums the word (pick a word that cannot be said ie mum or baby or the babys name etc and give each person 5-10 pegs. When someone says the forbidden word and they are caught out then the catcher gets their peg. Winner has most pegs at end of shower)
* Need more hands game (Holding a doll in one arm, try and collect as many pegs off a clothes line or clothes airer using one remaining hand - cant peg them on yourself etc just what you can hold in your hand. Winner has most amount of pegs.
* Match the babys (ask everyone to bring a baby photo, put them up and guess who is who)
* Shape-o race (using a Shape-O Tupperware toy or other toys, have a race to see who can put all the shapes in the fastest, or if a jigsaw who can do it the fastest etc
Ok im having brain fade now ...... there are lots more, if I remember I will post them. Hope that helps,
Have fun!
Kel
neeshNgeorgia
18-01-2007, 21:03
This is a good one for getting addresses for thankyou cards, we filled up a baby bottle full of M&M's, at the door or when ppl had the chance they wrote down their name, address and their guess of how many M&M's were in the bottle, into a not book or an address book, how ever u like to do it, closest to or exact guess (a gf did this at my shower clever chic) gets to keep the bottle and lollies inside. Then when it comes to writing all those thankyou cards for all the wonderful gifts u'll have all the guests names and addy's right there and ready. Doubles as an address book too.
Also name tags are a great idea as u'll have mothers, MIL's, SIL, sisters and gf's there. Good luck!!
*Sparkles*
18-01-2007, 21:27
Here's some that I have copied and pasted from another thread that I started. (sorry if some of them are repeats of what anyone else has already posted)
Ideas for games;
1) Wrap up various baby items in brown paper, pass them around and everybody has to feel and guess what's in the parcels.
2) Pin the dummy on the baby whilst blind folded (like pin the tail on the donkey). The one closest to the mouth wins a prize.
3) Everybody brings a photo of themselves as a baby or child and has to guess who is who.
4) Guess what the sex and weight of the baby will be at birth. (The mum-to-be will take them home and the winner gets announced later).
5) The expectant mother stands in the middle of the room and all the guests get a chance to get a good look at her belly. Next, a spool of ribbon/string is passed around and all the players cut off the amount of ribbon that they think will go around her belly exactly. The person closest to it wins a prize.
6) Everyone writes their name on a card or envelope which goes in a hat. At the end of the day you draw a winner for a lucky door prize.
7) Give every guest a clothespin to attach to her clothing and wear during the shower. Tell everyone not to say the word "baby" for the rest of the shower. If someone hears another guest say the forbidden word (and it's hard not to say it!), she gets to take the other guest's clothespin(s). The winner is whoever has the most clothespins at the end of the shower.
8) This is one of those verbal memory games in which you add onto the list until it becomes too long to remember. The first player starts by saying the name of an item that would normally be found in a nappy bag. The second player says that item plus one of their own. Each subsequent person must say everything already mentioned, in the proper order, and then add one more item. If you forget an item or say them out of order, you're "out." The last person still in the game is the winner.
9) Pass around a jar full of baby safety pins, cotton buds or similar. The one who guesses the closest wins a prize.
10) Have each woman write down in 5 minutes all the songs that have baby in their titles (i.e., baby love, santa baby, one for my baby). You can make it harder by stating that you have to name who also wrote the songs!
This one is not a game, but you could also do the ring on a string test to determine the sex of the baby.
ImSethsMum
19-01-2007, 10:02
Oh I forgot to mention that as part of the little games pressies have a little gift certificate which says something like this:
This certificate entitles ______ to one free babysitting session
To be held whenever ___ & ___ beg nicely.
Valid until baby ______ is 15 years old.
Conditions may vary depending on how nicely the begging is done.
jess_live_die
19-02-2007, 00:21
at a friend we had a game where you had to hold the phone a baby doll and hang out the washing all at the same time the one to do the lot and have eveything not fallin was the winner.
grass is always greener
26-07-2007, 11:57
I am organising the games for my SIL's baby shower and i just thought of a great one. You hand around a ball of string/wool and everyone has to take a piece, doesnt matter how long. Most baby shower veterans will think that it is for the distance around mums belly and take a bit, but really what it is for is they have to wrap the string around their finger while saying nice things about the mum to be until the string runs out.
It is a great thing for mum to be at this stage as she proberly isnt feeling all that great atm.
Mataamua
31-07-2007, 10:25
I went to a shower on the weekend and we had a couple of games.
give everyone a list with two columns, one for boys and one for girls, a> z down the side, and everyone then has 3 minutes to write down as many baby names, and you then go around the room to see if anyone has the same names written down, If they do they dont score a point, if the names are different then you score a point, add up points at the end and you will have a winner.
another game we played we had to close our eyes and draw a baby, our host gave us instructions, Every time you finish drawing something on your page you have to take the pen off the paper, then she said draw a head, draw a body, draw its eyes, draw its belly button, draw its mouth and nose, draw its arms, legs, hands, feet, belly button, etc, then you get points for the baby looking like a baby , arms attatched belly button centered etc.
quite fun
mummyrissa
31-07-2007, 18:31
my work held a baby shower/farewell for me on the weekend so much fun!
the games we played were:
everyone had to put vasoline on thier nose and put there face in a bowl of cotten balls... the winner is the one with the most stuck to their face! it was so funny!
another game was we had 4 teams of 2 and one had to feed a bottle of water to the other person
we also had your regular guessing comp and everyone wrote name on envelope for lucky door prize.
Fuchsia!
31-07-2007, 18:50
i went to one that was in summer and we had to hold balloons filled with water with our knees and run! Pretty funny to watch, and the other one was we had to skull alcohol (not for the mum to be) In a babys bottle and the winner one a cruiser. This is really hard to do! Mind you we were young and loved to get drunk at the time so im not sure if that one is for you or not.
And just a little silly one but you were given a packet of pegs and if someone caught you with your legs cross you had to put a peg on your shirt. Im not sure on what the outcome was! We were a bit drunk! hehe!