View Full Version : August 2007 Mummies To Be #2

Pages : [1] 2

30-12-2006, 07:18 AM
Hi again

Hope your all ok. I've got an appoitment at the drs for wed to see what else needs to be done. Will be asking for more bloods. Silly me googled my numbers & i'm stressing so want re-assurance :o

Take care everyone :hugs:

Tan-mumof3
30-12-2006, 01:19 PM
Wow #2 thread already.
Rainbowbrite google is bad hey? Ive scared myself a few times reading too much info. :fingerscrossed: for your appointment on wednesday.
Not much else to report here still feeling really yucky at night & all day today, nearly :barf: this morning after breakfast, and went to the shops and the smell of the chicken & seafood made me feel really yuck.
Hope everyone else is well i have to get ready for work now so talk later.

30-12-2006, 03:55 PM
Sorry your feeling yucky. I'm not feeling the best either, the headaches have started :thumbsdown: I hate not being able to take Neurofen or asprin, its the only that works for them.

Oh well, i'll use it as an excuse to rest more :yes:

Secretive
31-12-2006, 05:52 AM
Wow I can't believe we're on a second thread already.
RB google is dangerous, don't go there! :laughing:
Sorry you guys aren't feeling well. I still feel great. I was reading my diary (private online diary) from when I was pg with DD and I was light headed, had headaches and felt sick for an hour after I got up in the morning. I have been a little light headed if I stand up too quick but that's it. I am crossing my fingers I don't get as sick as I did with DD.
Well have a happy new year everyone! What are your plans?
We are going to take DD to watch the 9pm fireworks and we will make that our midnight. We live in a city and a nightclub is on the opposite corner to us so I don't think we'll get much sleep tonight.

31-12-2006, 05:59 AM
Our plans are to put MJ to bed at a reasonable hour & sit & watch some dvd's till we pass out :laughing:

jcb
31-12-2006, 10:41 AM
Morning Ladies,

how are we all feeling today?

Well I am cleaning my house as we are having a party tonight, I have no idea how I am going to stay awake until 12....No idea on how I am going to explain why I am not drinking as no one knows yet......:detective:

Have a great new year girls.......:party:

jcb
31-12-2006, 11:10 AM
Also I meant to ask...I did start a thread but I didn't get a reply so I will ask in here...I know this is my 4th baby but I am not sure on what the process is to get to the hospital....I would like to have my baby at Redcliffe like my other 3 but everytime I have a baby the process changes so what do I do.....Do I get a referal from the doc then ring up anti natal to book a appointment or does the doc do it for you.....and advice would help.....Thanks

OJandMe
31-12-2006, 04:03 PM
Hiya Chikadees and Jellybeans!

I can't believe it's almost 2007!! ONLY 8 MONTHS TILL FRECKLES!!!

Not planning on doing anything tonight. I might set my alarm to get up for the fireworks...... or Imight hang out on here till midnight :D

What has everyone chosen as New Years Resolutions

these are mine:

1) Find more ways to play with the boys so they don't get bored
2) learn to stand up to my MIL
3) Have a beautiful baby
4) concentrate on my Master's degree so that I can :fingerscrossed: get it finished in one year.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

PS: Sorry jcb, I don't know. I wish I did coz I'd like an answer to the same question.

Tingles
01-01-2007, 11:49 AM
Hello Ladies,

Best Wishes for a fantatic new :party: year - 2007! The year of our babies!

JCB - this is our 4th baby too! We have 3 girls :eek: love my girls...but 'boy' would be something , nice & different! All new clothes! This time around I just rang my antenatal clinic & booked in - I went to the DR's the other day to get my referal. He gave me a form for an early ultrasound - but I'm not going, I didn't go last time...it's a real mind thing though, very tempting.

I spewed :barf: a little this morning - babe does not like weetbix! So that's a good sign for me:fingerscrossed: .

secretmum
01-01-2007, 11:56 AM
I haven't been in here for a while so I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas and New Year.

We had 10 for Christmas weekend/day, 21 for Boxing Day breakky and I'm still recovering!

We went to our neighbour's for New Year's and I was nearly asleep at 11 but I did manage to make it to 12 then we pretty much went home straight away.

JCB- I booked myself in to the hospital I wanted. (yay got confirmation letter last week!) My GP had written my obs referral and I booked in with her myself too. Not sure how it works where you are, that is all privately. If you rang the hosp they should be some help to you anyway.

I'm getting excited as we may start telling family about bubs from the end of the week. Not sure, see how obs appt goes on Thurs. May wait full 12 weeks and after nuchal scan, not sure yet.

niesl_bug
01-01-2007, 12:04 PM
Hi lovely ladies and Happy New Year!!!

I haven't checked in for a little while but I hope everyone is doing well and welcome newbies :wave:

I had my 8 week scan last week and all is good and had our first meeting with our ob who we really liked and feel very comfortable with! Still no m/s for me so :fingerscrossed: things stay that way!

Not many other symptoms other than a bit emotional - we went to beautiful wedding on Saturday and there were lots of tears from me!!!
Other than that, I am feeling great apart from the sleepiness ... luckily I have 2 weeks off work to spend snoozing :sleeping:

I hope everyone is else is happy and healthy xx

Secretive
01-01-2007, 01:15 PM
Also I meant to ask...I did start a thread but I didn't get a reply so I will ask in here...I know this is my 4th baby but I am not sure on what the process is to get to the hospital....I would like to have my baby at Redcliffe like my other 3 but everytime I have a baby the process changes so what do I do.....Do I get a referal from the doc then ring up anti natal to book a appointment or does the doc do it for you.....and advice would help.....Thanks

I'm in a different state to you but I just ring up my hospital when I'm 8-10 weeks and tell them I'm booking in to have a baby in August. I also had to book into the birth centre (as opposed to the delivery suite) but I have already arranged that. I don't go to the birth centre until I'm 20 weeks but I wanted the same midwife as last time. Just give the hospital a call and ask them what you need to do.

I hope everyone is having a great new years day! DD loved the fireworks last night but we didn't get her to bed until after 11pm. Everyone thinks I'm cruel for waking her up after one hour during her day time nap but if I let her sleep the 2 that she wants that's when she goes to bed! It wasn't as noisy as I thought either and didn't get woken up once....although we did fall asleep listening to Silverchair play live.

shorty_851
02-01-2007, 09:12 AM
Ok everyone i will properly join you this thread becasue i was a little overwhelmed trying to get into the last thread.

Any who how is everyone going and feeling.

I was sick for the first time in public

chicken
02-01-2007, 09:17 AM
Hi everyone!!! Merry christmas and happy new year!! :tree: Its my first day back at work today (yuk), but its got to be done I suppose.

Big :hugs: to all of you going through some unsettling times at the moment. Pebbles - you're in my thoughts.

I'm just past 9 weeks now and have noticed some belly changes over the past week. I think I've definitely got a little pot developing, and I'm sure its not just because I ate too much over Christmas.:D It all still feels very surreal though, as I feel like I'm feeling too good for this to be real. Only one more week to go before we get to hear the heartbeat for the first time at my GP's using a doppler. That will make it seem much more real then. I'm really excited, but also really nervous at the same time, because it will tell us once and for all whether this is a goer or not.

deb1234
02-01-2007, 09:20 AM
hi mandi - still haven't been sick myself. hope you are feeling ok today. roll on week 13!

chicken, i'm the same as you, still feeling very surreal. and i'm not sure if my stomach is from christmas or pregnancy!! :detective:

hi everyone else :wave:

niesl_bug
02-01-2007, 09:30 AM
Mandi - you poor thing! Hope you're feeling better soon.

Chicken & Deb - I am feeling the same as you guys. We saw the heartbeat last week and that helped to make bub feel real, but no other real symptoms - apart from dizziness if I stand up too quickly. I think my bloated belly is from gas :o

I have this week of work ... YAY :smiliedance: ... lots more sleep for me :sleeping:

Have a great day gals xxx

deb1234
02-01-2007, 09:33 AM
Tara, i get dizzy as well, DH keeps telling me not to stand up so fast but i keep forgetting!! :rolleyes:

yay for having the week of work...i might do a little bit this week but nothing major. (work from home.)

ETsMum
02-01-2007, 09:38 AM

Hey JCB, I'm having my bub at Redcliffe!!!
I just rang them and asked when do we book in and they said as soon as you know you are preg. You don't need a referal. They prob won't see you until you are 12 weeks or more - well that what they are doing with me and I'm classed as high-risk. I've got my first appintment on Monday! :smiliedance: (I'll be 12 weeks based on lmp, but I know I am not that far along, but I'm not telling them that.) I'm a bit scared, bit excited!

Tan-mumof3
02-01-2007, 11:11 AM
I too have been feeling quite dizzy when standing & lightheaded. I got this with my other 2 aswell cos my bp was quite low.
I have been feeling soo sick the last 4 days no :barf: but constant nausea 24 hrs a day everything i smell makes me feel like i want to barf but i can't and i am really hungary but nothing takes my fancy (the only things i want to eat are vegemite toast or cheeseburgers).
Anyone else got all day sickness?
I am also really tired (probably cos i already have 2 kids to look after).
Anyway enough whinging from me, hope you are all well.

shorty_851
02-01-2007, 11:28 AM
My goodness i haven even bookedin to a hospital yet only because of all the dramas i have had.

I have no idea where to start to book in.

Yeah am feeling a little better frosty fruits are great they settle my belly heaps.

shorty_851
02-01-2007, 11:29 AM
TAN i have the nauesa all day everyday i want to eat but the thougth of eating makes me feel sicker and sicker.

I just want to eat eat eat but don't want to only for the fact that i feel sick

Crazy Monkey
02-01-2007, 11:48 AM
We've had computer problems, so I haven't been here in a while...

Well nausea has definitely kicked in and the bump has popped out... So glad I have the next 5 weeks off work, wouldn't be able to hide it and don't want to tell work just yet...

Hope everyone had a good new years...

All the best

Tan-mumof3
02-01-2007, 12:05 PM
TAN i have the nauesa all day everyday i want to eat but the thougth of eating makes me feel sicker and sicker.

I just want to eat eat eat but don't want to only for the fact that i feel sick

Thanks Mandi, I was gonna say good, but i don't mean good your feeling sick it's just nice to hear im not the only one feeling like this. I might give the frosty fruits a try im about to go shopping so i will pick some up.
Any other remedies for nausea its getting so hard to look after my kids and keep my house clean cause all i want to do is lay on the couch.

02-01-2007, 12:10 PM
I was told when pg with MJ to have crackers next to the bed & have 1 or 2 before getting out of bed. Also chewing ice or pumpkin seeds is apparently good for ms too.

I'm still good, other than my sense of smell. Its gone haywire. DH cant eat around me or i'm heaving & the smell of wet cloth nappies :barf: I've one back to disposables till it calms a bit.

Other than that though, i'm feeling good. Very tired of a morning, but think thats because i cant sleep of a night & MJs up at 5 every morning :sleeping:

jcb
02-01-2007, 12:32 PM
Len- Hi:wave:....How cool we are going to the same hospital....Do you have the number I can't seem to find it....or do you just ring the main area of the hospital and they put you through........You would think I am new to this....:D

ETsMum
02-01-2007, 01:21 PM
Hi JCB,
I've got the number in my mobile - I'll go and get it and PM you. It is just straight through to ante-natal. :wave:

jcb
02-01-2007, 01:25 PM
Len- Thanks so much......:D
You never know we may see each other at Anti natal sometime....I am hopeing to go on Fridays as I don't have any of my littles that day due to daycare...

ETsMum
02-01-2007, 01:33 PM
Bec - With DS I started off on Fridays, and you wouldn't have been able to miss me. I used to wear the sports shirt for the local primary school where I worked (gold and maroon) but now I'm a Monday girl (diabetics go Mondays to see the Docs.)

AngelGirl
02-01-2007, 04:29 PM
Hello lovely ladies and Happy New Year! Can't believe it's 2007 :eek:

We celebrated with a BBQ at a friends' place. I tell you, it was very difficult trying to keep awake till midnight!! Most of the people at the party were not aware that I'm pg so I was drinking that awful 'pretend' wine. It's shocking.

RB - I ban you from using Google :laughing: -it will make you worry for no reason at all. Remember, my HCG levels at 4 weeks were low too (69) and the GP said it was normal. Good luck at your appointment tomorrow.

Secretive - Sounds like you didnt have a choice going to sleep early being near a nightclub!

Tan - Yes, yes!!! I feel exactly the same, I'm hungry but nothing takes my fancy...weird. I've still got nausea (no :barf: tho) and extreme tiredness, by the time I get up and get moving, it's time for an afternoon nap!! Thank goodness I'm on holidays!

Crazy Monkey - 5 weeks off you lucky thing!!

I saw my GP today and got the referal for the OB. I also had my antenatal bloods taken. Next Tuesday is our first appt with the OB, looking forward to it. I'm not sure whether I'll have any sort of scan done but at least it will make things seem more real!

2princesses1prince
02-01-2007, 06:44 PM
Just a quick update, haven't been able to get on here for ages. I am now 9.5 weeks due 2nd August.

Bleeding has finally stopped, but m/s still hangin around. Hope it's not going to be like last pregnancy when i was sick until 34 weeks (delivered by c/s at 35.4 weeks)

Had my 8 week scan, and to our relief I am not having twins again.

Hope everyone is keeping well

SilverStarfish
02-01-2007, 09:06 PM
jcb and shorty_851, I notice you're both in Brisbane :) Are their any other Brisbane Mums in August?

I'll be going back to the Mater for this baby. Sarah was born there, no huge dramas (**** bed, food, occasional nightmare nurse... same old same old) so at least I'll know where I'm going this time!

Secretive
03-01-2007, 05:43 AM
Angelgirl I know what you mean about making things more real. I go see my gp on the 18th and will get my first lot of blood tests and get my 12 week ultrasound booked then. I can't wait. Right now it kinda feels like I'm just missing a period.
Shorty I'm sorry you're feeling so rotten. I hope it eases up for you!
Well today was the day true morning sickness had started with DD (6 weeks and 2 days) and I still feel pretty good. I felt a bit rotten yesterday morning but I went to sleep hungry on Monday night so I'm making sure I don't do that again!
Will talk to you girls later...DD is up!

deb1234
03-01-2007, 07:47 AM
hi girls, i'm in brisbane too. well kind of, in ormeau which is JUST counted as gold coast :)

Tingles
03-01-2007, 08:08 AM
Hey there crazy monkey - where abouts in Melbourne are you? (Lilydale) What hospital are you going to? (Biralee part of Box Hill)

Crazy Monkey
03-01-2007, 11:18 AM
Hey Tingles, I'm in Melton (out in the west) and I'll be going to Werribee Mercy Hospital... Had DS there and it was pretty good, so I'll be going back with the same Obs too...

I see my Obs next Tuesday... Should be pretty routine, you know, blood pressure, belly check, etc, but I'm looking forward to it...

Nausea is pretty horrible at the moment... want to eat, dont know what to eat, everything makes me want to be sick... And very tired... Heartburn has also reared its ugly head...

Hope everyone is well...

Sandy
03-01-2007, 12:08 PM

Sorry for not writing. I haven't even booted my computer for days! Been reading and spending time with family.

Had my scan the other day and I am 10 weeks on Friday. They gave me some little pics of bubs and I saw my oby the other day. He wants to keep a closer eye on me cause of the cervical cancer **** but so be it.

Hope everyone has had a good Chrissie!

Sandy

shorty_851
03-01-2007, 12:12 PM
Good morning Everyone

Yes im in Brisbane.

How is everyone??

I know how you feel crazy monkey wth the neusea i can't hold food of a night and im starving yet i feel sick when i at. Its awful.

jcb
03-01-2007, 12:44 PM

Famel- Yes I am in brisbane but on the northside...I am having bub at the Redcliffe hospital...Had my others there so why not go back....

I had the doc today got my bt done will here back next week....Also got a form to get a scan so I will call them up and make an appoinment in a couple of weeks and the dates......

How are we all doing today....

livismum
03-01-2007, 01:03 PM
I have been feeling soo sick the last 4 days no :barf: but constant nausea 24 hrs a day everything i smell makes me feel like i want to barf but i can't and i am really hungary but nothing takes my fancy (the only things i want to eat are vegemite toast or cheeseburgers).
Anyone else got all day sickness?

Tan - I am the same. Constant nausea no :barf: . The only things that I have been craving are hungry jack's whoppers and vegemite toast. I do try to eat normal food but it just doesn't do it for me.
I must admit the nausea is beginning to subside, it is the worst in the morning and by lunch time okay.

My tummy and (.)(.)'s are growing - I'm in maternity pants already.:laughing: I can't believe it..
I am suffering from indigestion of an evening which is so horrible, also the wind OMG...

One remedy I have found quite good for the m/s is licorice. If you read the info on the left(in purple box) about it, it gives you some great remedies. 11 morning sickness remedies.. Anyone suffering m/s should read it. I'm also taking morning sickness remedy by Blackmores.

Anyway take care everyone.

deb1234
03-01-2007, 03:02 PM
i bought some maternity pants from kmart and they are so comfortable i think i will wear them even when i'm not pregnant!! :laughing:

sorry a lot of you are suffering from morning sickness. only a few weeks to go now...

i'm 10 weeks today :yelclap:

Tan-mumof3
03-01-2007, 03:10 PM
Tan - I am the same. Constant nausea no :barf: . The only things that I have been craving are hungry jack's whoppers and vegemite toast. I do try to eat normal food but it just doesn't do it for me.
I must admit the nausea is beginning to subside, it is the worst in the morning and by lunch time okay.

One remedy I have found quite good for the m/s is licorice. If you read the info on the left(in purple box) about it, it gives you some great remedies. 11 morning sickness remedies.. Anyone suffering m/s should read it. I'm also taking morning sickness remedy by Blackmores.

Thanks livismum it's nice to know im not the only one and that it will subside soon (well i hope :fingerscrossed: ).
I read the 11 morning sickness remedies but forgot to buy the licorice when i did the shopping yesterday.

Crazymonkey you sound the same as me also, i sympathise with you.

I have my first hospital appointment booked for 22nd feb ( i will be 14 weeks), now i just have to book my 12 week scan.

Hope everyone else is well, talk soon.

AngelGirl
03-01-2007, 04:35 PM
All I have eaten today is a fruit smoothie, some hot chips and a packet of crunchie chocettes. I actually drove 15 mins to to a bbq chicken shop a few suburbs away cause our local was closed. I guess that was a craving?? I ate them and felt like :barf: . I also can't believe I ate a whole pack of chocettes..........I need to get some healthy food into me!!

I am trying to think of what to cook for dinner but nothing appeals. I've gone off meat, can't stand the sight of it.

I've got cramping at the moment too. I haven't had that in about 2 weeks so I hope everything is ok.

Sandy - You mentioned cervical cancer? What's your situation and how are they monitoring it through pregnancy? I'm interested cause I had pre-canceous cells (CIN3) removed from my cervix about 10 years ago. I had aroutine pap last July which showed a low grade abnormality. I had a colposcopy done and the GYN said it was only low grade and I'm due for another pap very soon.

jcb
03-01-2007, 07:47 PM
Len- Would that school happen to be Scarborough state....it the only one with that uniform I can think of....

Angelgirl- you must of been craving to drive that far...aaahhhh the things we do....:)

ETsMum
04-01-2007, 10:20 AM
Len- Would that school happen to be Scarborough state....it the only one with that uniform I can think of....

Shhh.... :o :laughing: ... yep, that would be it!

jcb
04-01-2007, 11:25 AM
I booked my scan today its 8am:eek: Thursday the 18th....I should be be about 7/8 weeks by then...They are just checking its not an ectopic as I had one in Oct.....Plus then I go for another one 11/13weeks something about down snydrome test then its new....Does anyone know about this one....

Len- Do they do it at the Reddy hospital cause if not I have to go back to my doc..........

How are we all feeling today....Me I am feeling quite well...strange:detective:

OverTheMoon
04-01-2007, 11:38 AM
I am feeling good today too - how sad is this? I had my first :barf: this morning, and although it was gross, i was soo happy! I thought "well, baby's still there then! Yay" (i know that's probably not entirely true, but hey). What a dag! Just hope it doesn't happen too much more.

chicken
04-01-2007, 11:41 AM
IPlus then I go for another one 11/13weeks something about down snydrome test then its new....Does anyone know about this one....

Yes, this is the nuchal translucency test which is a screening test for downs syndrome (usually done in conjunction with a blood test a few days prior). This will tell you whether you are high/low risk for Downs and whether or not you should go on to have further tests (eg amnio). I'm having mine on 25th Jan at 12.5 weeks.

04-01-2007, 11:45 AM
I keep saying it but i still feel odd. I just cant believe that i'm pg again.

Went to the drs yesterday & she did the full pg blood test & also offered to do a date scan next week. I'm not going to complain :yelclap: I want to confirm everythings ok.

I'm about 6weeks atm. I'm just so tired all the time. Dont know how i'm going to go once DH goes back to work. He's been such a great help, getting up with MJ almost every day at 5am so i can have a rest, helping me with her sleeps etc. I wish he didnt have to go to work, i really do.

No strange foods here, though i have gone off sweet things. I love the look but have a little, then give the rest to DH. He's loving it :laughing:

Hope you ladies are all well.

Sandy
04-01-2007, 11:56 AM
Sandy - You mentioned cervical cancer? What's your situation and how are they monitoring it through pregnancy? I'm interested cause I had pre-canceous cells (CIN3) removed from my cervix about 10 years ago. I had aroutine pap last July which showed a low grade abnormality. I had a colposcopy done and the GYN said it was only low grade and I'm due for another pap very soon.

Angelgirl, I had my LETS (sp??) treatment for grade 1 cell changes identifed as cancerous in September and it seems that I fell pregnant not long after the 6weeks no bonking break :thumbsup: My gyn said at the time that they caught it early and so only had to remove a small amount from the centre of the donut if that makes sense and that pregnancy should not be an issue. I have colo. now every 6 months until I get a clear one. No family history of this either.

My oby is of a different opinion. He said there is a school of thought out there that says, if you operate and remove any of the cervix that it can't be guarented to work like a normal cervix in the future. So oby just wants to check me "there" more often and make sure that it holds up (stays closed I guess). I am just tired of being poked and prodded down there :o

I will know more when I see oby again at my 13 week check up following my 12 week scan and bloods.

10 weeks now and feeling fat and horrible. Got my hair cut though with thousands of foils so feeling a little better about myself. Hot here so in the bubble style dresses which is sooooo comfortable. I'm off meat too and was with DD. Craving olives (marinated) and anything savoury and salty. MS has settled down and now just an underlying queasiness all day, every day.

Sandy

bec77
04-01-2007, 03:51 PM
Hi Angelgirl and Sandy, just saw your threads on cervical cancer etc, I also had cin 3 removed by a lets procedure about 2 years before my last bub.
The docs at the time told me that 3 things can happen (1) nothing and all goes well :) , (2) the cervix can open early causing either m/c or premie labour or (3) the cervix is scarred and does not like to open at all, therfore can be a long labour or a c section.
My docs gave me monthly scans to watch the length of the cervix (these had to be internal scans) and therefore would be aware if it was going to shorten and open early, but all was good for me.
I actually had the opposite and the cervix did not want to open, I had a 40 something hour labour but it did eventually open on its own accord!!!
Not sure if technology has changed or different docs have different opinions but thought I would just tell you my experience.
Good luck with it all

jcb
04-01-2007, 04:38 PM

I got my appoinments in the mail today...My first is with the Middie on the 23rd Of Jan...but I don't go see the Doc until 12 April:eek:...I will be nearly 19wks then.....But I will go see the middie again by then I guess....Not sure...I am going public...I guess I could ask why so long then.....

Hope everyone is feeling alright today.....

Secretive
04-01-2007, 04:53 PM
I don't know how much I'll be around the next few weeks. M/S has started and being at the computer makes me feel awful. I'm going to ring my acupuncturist on Monday and beg her for an app....she's booked until the 20th but I'm hoping for a cancellation. At least it was pretty well over with at 10 weeks with DD. 3 1/2 weeks to go!
Just so you know why I've disappeared.

04-01-2007, 05:15 PM
Hope you feel better soon secretive :hugs:

niesl_bug
05-01-2007, 08:59 AM
Morning ladies :wave:

Had my 3rd :barf: yesterday morning since being pg so I think that's not too bad?? ... I was just standing in the shower, had a bit of a headache and whoa!!! Nearly did it again in Myer ... not good!

Other than that feeling good - enjoying my hols and doing plenty of spring-cleaning, shopping and home cooking for DH ...he is loving it!!

I hope everyone is feeling better today .. :thumbsup:

jcb
05-01-2007, 09:22 AM
Morning girls:wave:

I got my blood tests back and my levels are at 930 that was on Wednesday so all looking great so far...My iron is a little low but nothing I can't fix...

Hope you are all well.....

Tara- I find the smells of myer make me want to :barf: aswell...Must be all the purfumes mixed together or something.....

shorty_851
05-01-2007, 09:51 AM
Good morning ladies

Well i'm comign down with the flu my throat feels like its all clogged up.

Yeah i know thw feeling about :barf: in public. Don't feel bad about it.

livismum
05-01-2007, 12:21 PM

Sorry to hear about the m/s tara. I know how you feel. I had it with DD.
Shorty I think you're right about the perfumes in Myer, it is horrible, I even find it hard to walk past someone who is wearing a little too much at the shops without feeling like :barf: .
I haven't thrown up yet but each morning after I get up I have the "will I" or "won't I" feeling. I eat some crackers before getting up, it helps a little.
My (.)(.)'s have been quite tender and sore these last couple of days. My allergies have been playing up too - darn hayfever.
I'm all booked into the hospital, sent the paperwork back the other day. My OB organised it for me. I couldn't believe how quickly it came through.
Anyway hope everyone is looking after themselves, take care.

onabreak
05-01-2007, 01:50 PM

I am so over this morning sickness which lasts nearly all day, I have :barf: a few times but mostly it is nausea. Maybe I am having a boy this time as I had hardly any morning sickness with DD.

I went and had my first ultrasound today to find my correct dates etc I am actually 7 wks 1 day (I thought I was 8 weeks today) I must of conceived later than I thought. Everything was fine, heart beat was 143bpm. I also see my GP this arvo aswell for a check up.

It now seems so real that I got to see the little blob on the screen and the little heart beating away. Now I hope the next 5 weeks go quickly and hope this morning sickness disappears soon.

I have been telling my 2year old DD that mummy has a baby in her tummy but she does not understand what so ever. I am looking forward to when my tummy is really big she may understand a bit then.

Hope everyone else is going well and enjoying there pregnancy.

Oops forgot to add my EDD is now 23 August not the 17th.

AngelGirl
05-01-2007, 04:30 PM
I actually had the opposite and the cervix did not want to open, I had a 40 something hour labour but it did eventually open on its own accord!!!

40 hours.... :eek: whoa!! Thanks Bec and Sandy for your replies. I've got my appointment with the ob/gyn on Tuesday. I haven't seen her before so I'll be making sure she gets a full run down of my history.

Sorry to hear about all the m/s ladies :thumbsdown: I hope it eases up for you soon. I've just got the quesiness and tiredness :sleeping: . Oh and I've also had a breakout in spots....those awful big blind pimples!!

jcb
05-01-2007, 04:56 PM

I don't have m/s :smiliedance: its afternoon...I think my body doesn't know it afternoon and thinks it morning....cause I feel fine until about 1pm...

Angelgirl- Good luck on Tuesday...I don't get to see my Ob until April....but I do see the middies inbetween that time though.......

livismum
06-01-2007, 07:05 PM
Well so much for the m/s staying away....
It started last night, that's right I :barf: last night and again this morning. YUK!!!! I was hoping it would stay away.

I agree with you mandymoo, I hope by 12 wks it has disappeared.

Good luck on Tuesday AngelGirl..

jcb, I feel for you hun. Don't you just wish that there was no such thing as m/s....:laughing: then pg wouldn't be a challenge for some of us.

Anyway take care everyone and :fingerscrossed: the m/s will stop for us all at 12 wks...

06-01-2007, 07:17 PM
I feel so sorry for all of you that are suffering with m/s :hugs:

I had an odd feeling this morning. I've been sleeping on my stomach lately, its the only way i can sleep, but this morning i was so uncomfortable. It felt like i was laying on something. My uterus must be getting bigger or something.....didnt have any of this with MJ that i can remember.

I'm just really sore tonight. I was silly & got burnt yesterday. DH took pics on the mobile, this is the damage 24 hours after (http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b136/vert-01/burny.jpg):o I should remember to put blockout on all the time.

Oh well. Hope you all have a great nights sleep :hugs:

Sandy
07-01-2007, 06:28 AM
Rainbowbrite, as I was leaving the oby's office the other week he said as a side note that pregnant women burn easier in the sun as our skin dries out :confused:

Thanks Bec for the cervix info. My oby is going to talk to my gyn but my gyn is adamant that I should have a problem free pregancy and delivery with my cervix. God, I hope so!!

07-01-2007, 08:52 AM
Hope you all have a great pg. I wont be back, i miscarried this morning :gloomy:

SilverStarfish
07-01-2007, 09:00 AM
:hugs: :hugs: Oh honey, I'm so sorry to hear that. I hope you are ok.

Tan-mumof3
07-01-2007, 10:46 AM
Oh RB im so sorry for your loss :hugs: to you and your family:hugs: .

Livy
07-01-2007, 10:51 AM
Oh Rainbowbrite - I am so sorry for your loss :hugs: :hugs: I will be thinking of you and your family :hugs:

jcb
07-01-2007, 11:31 AM
I am so sorry :hugs:...Hope you are alright....:kiss::hugs:

OJandMe
07-01-2007, 12:59 PM

Haven't checking in for a while, so thought I'd get my finger out and get up to date.

RB: I'm so sorry :hugs: :crying: I can't begin to understand how you must be feeling.

I don't have m/s. It's ALL day. It's horrible and I can't eat anything without feeling bloated and 'over full'

Haven't got a clue when any of my appts are. My doctors away till mid-jan, but I really need the referral to book in to the Mater, coz I really want to be a part of the group midwife thingy if I can get in.

Scan is on the 15th Jan, going for my advanced BT tomorrow. (bit late I know, but was so busy with X-mas I didn't even think about it)

Moving the boys into beds next week :fingerscrossed: . So they don't feel like they're being 'kicked out' of their cots when freckles arrives.

haven't :barf: yet. Hope it stays that way.

Looking foward to catching up with the rest of you.

bec77
07-01-2007, 02:38 PM
Oh RB, I am so sorry, its a terrible loss for you and your family, hope you take the time to heal and look after each other, will keep an eye out for you in future posts.:hugs:

livismum
07-01-2007, 02:58 PM
Oh RB, I am so sorry to hear that hun. :hugs: &:kiss: to you. I can only imagine what you are going through. Look after yourself.

Kimee
07-01-2007, 04:18 PM
Rainbowbrite,

I'm so sorry to hear your news. My heart and prayers go out to you and your family.
Rest up and I hope to hear from you again soon:hugs:

chicken
07-01-2007, 05:28 PM
I'm so sorry RB.

Tingles
07-01-2007, 07:43 PM
RB sending you :hugs: . It just wasn't the right time, for whatever reason...:crying:

Love to you.

Crazy Monkey
07-01-2007, 07:49 PM
RB, so sorry to hear your news... Look after yourself... Thinking of you and your family at this time...

OJandMe, I know exactly what you mean about the 'feeling bloated' and 'over full'... I am the same and its horrible...

As for me, not much has changed, still queezy and tired, and heartburn is kicking in... Can't believe I have it so early this time...

Going to the toilet during the night is really driving me mad, the other night it was 5 times... Its bad enough that I'm not sleeping well as it is, and when I finally do fall asleep I get woken by my bladder :mad: ...

Anyway, hope everyone else is OK

chicken
07-01-2007, 07:58 PM
Crazy Monkey - you sound exactly like me. I've started getting heartburn the last few days too. Plus I'm sleeping so badly. I'm normally such a good sleeper, but I'm finding it so difficult to get comfortable that it takes ages to get to sleep and by the time I do, and hour later I've got to get up and pee! I suppose its nature getting us used to sleep deprivation early on!

bigglet
07-01-2007, 08:01 PM
Hello everyone! :wave:

I'm sorry RB to hear your news and everyone else who has M/C :crying: - big :hugs: to all of you....

Just want to wish everyone the best here.... I can't believe people are now announcing September babies!!
I still haven't told many people as yet - only my family and my best friend. I am still waiting for my first ultrasound - it will feel more real to me then I guess.

All the best to everyone!

OverTheMoon
07-01-2007, 08:41 PM
RB - so sorry to hear of your loss. :hugs: to you and your family. My thoughts are with you.

AngelGirl
08-01-2007, 06:39 AM
RB - hon, I am so sorry :hugs: ......you are in my thoughts and prayers. xxxx

deb1234
08-01-2007, 08:42 AM
RB we are all thinking of you. :hugs:

Crazy monkey & chicken you sound exactly like me. i sleep really well until about 1am then up every hour from then til i get up. i try to make up for it with a nana nap in the afternoon :D

jamb
08-01-2007, 09:28 AM
lots of :hugs: for you and your Dh RB xxx

shorty_851
08-01-2007, 10:22 AM
Hello Rainbow brite

I'm so sorry for your loss. I again had bleeding last night and am about to head of for the doctors for yet another check.

Hun please please please know that with everyday that passes things will get better.

I know that i can only speak from near experience but please know that my everythought is with you at this time.

Tingles
08-01-2007, 10:32 AM
you sound exactly like me. i sleep really well until about 1am then up every hour from then til i get up.

I'm sleeping pretty bad too - going to the loo lots, can't even hold on 'cause it's too uncomfortable!

I am soooo sick too - I feel like I'm dying:barf: :crying:

I am more sick now than on my girls... maybe I'm having twins?

OverTheMoon
08-01-2007, 11:02 AM
Oooh girls i feel awful today.:thumbsdown: I've got an appt with the FC middie in an hour, i met with her last week but they keep a really close check on you. She said last week that 'cos of the surgery i've had previously i would notice the broad ligament (and some other ligament - round???) pain a lot. Well, man i'm feeling it this morning. It's so sharp. I feel like i'm going to explode!!! And to make it worse i'm sure a vom is on its way. :fingerscrossed: for a good visit!

niesl_bug
08-01-2007, 12:55 PM
Rainbowbrite - I am so sorry for your loss. Our thoughts are with you and you DH xxx

Mandi - I hope everything is OK with you ... any more news ???

All fine here - haven't :barf: since Saturday which is good. We have 10 week u/s on Wednesday.

Take care everyone :thumbsup:

shorty_851
08-01-2007, 12:58 PM
Niesl_bug we are due on the same day.

Everything is fine according to the doctor he said it was just old blood from my last bleed he said to come back if it got heavy or started to turn red.

Im feeling so :barf: today.

Thats good you haven spewed since saturday.

Secretive
08-01-2007, 01:05 PM
Hi guys, just popping in so you don't forget me.

RB I'm so sorry for your loss. I was so shocked to read that :hugs:

I have been feeling pretty crappy. No :barf: but feel like I'm going to for most of the day...even in the middle of the night...it sucks! Blackmore's m/s tablets take the edge off it a little though. I actually feel human right now, after lunch and a nana nap.

DF went back to work today. He works next door so he bought me home lunch cause I couldn't face anything in the house, or going out and getting anything.

Everything else is going good here....I keep telling DF that this is our last baby but I said that with DD too in the 1st trimester so I'll probably change my mind.

Bring on the 2nd trimester....even though it's still a long way away for me, only being 7 weeks and all.

niesl_bug
08-01-2007, 01:06 PM
Mandi - that's wonderful news!!! So glad everything is OK!

There is a good chance I will have bub earlier than my EDD - with my scoliosis and history of large babies I am considering a c/s which may be on the 7th. Am keeping my options open at the moment and will see how things progress.

YAY for no spewing ... everytime I say that thought I get sick :o

First day back at work and I'm doing it tough :(

SilverStarfish
08-01-2007, 02:38 PM
I had a dating scan this morning, and the results were not at all what I expected. Either my dates are almost 3.5 weeks out from what I thought they were, or it isn't a viable pregnancy.

The scan put me at only 5 weeks and 2 days (I was expecting nearly 9 weeks) so they were unable to find a heart beat (not that you would see one at 5 weeks) or, strangely enough, my left ovary. And I know I've got one!

So all there is to be done now is to wait for 2 weeks and do another scan to see whats going on. In any case if the 5 weeks and 2 days is correct, that is going to move me into September anyway.

This is going to be a l-o-n-g two weeks.

shorty_851
08-01-2007, 02:42 PM
Faeml - this is what happened to me. And in the end it had a heart beat. I was also 3 weeks behind then i thought i was i too was 5w3d and thought i should have been 9w.

I only found this out becuase i had a bleed and had to wait the long torturous tww.

SilverStarfish
08-01-2007, 03:22 PM

I hate TWWs :banghead:

niesl_bug
08-01-2007, 03:22 PM
Wendy - I had the same thing, kind of. They wanted to rule out an ectopic so I went for a scan about 5.5 weeks - no heartbeat and they couldn't see anything but the sac. The charming GP proceeded to then tell me that it could be empty, blah blah blah. Of course I left there in tears. But I went back 2 weeks later and we saw the little heartbeat.

I know the wait is awful. Just try and look after yourself, keep bub-hubbing and remember that we are here for you (even if you do cross over to September!!!).

Sending you big hugs hun :hugs:

SilverStarfish
08-01-2007, 03:26 PM
:hugs: Thanks

chicken
08-01-2007, 03:30 PM
Is it just me, or has the Aug 07 group just had an extraordinary amount of bad luck and stressful moments?

jcb
08-01-2007, 03:32 PM
Was thinking the same thing Chicken....

Famel- :fingerscrossed: that all is fine...You are in my thoughts....:kiss::hugs:

shorty_851
08-01-2007, 03:33 PM
Chicken i will have to agree with you on that i thought it was just me to.

Everyone seems to be having the same problems to. I think it might be because we are all around the same time where things start to happen

SilverStarfish
08-01-2007, 03:41 PM
Yes, there has been a bit of bad/sad news about. But, yeah, I guess it is because most of us are only just now passing through the really risky part of pregnancy.

chicken
08-01-2007, 03:48 PM
I guess I was just wondering whether we were having a 'normal' amount of it, or whether we were a really unlucky group?

I had a m/c a few months ago, and thought I was just one of the really unlucky ones (one in five or so I thought), and just assumed when I got into a thread like this again that there would only be a few isolated cases. Yet there seems to be so many going through stress or having already had bad news. I guess its just brought home to me how common m/c are and how precarious the whole process is, and that if we do manage to get to the end of it all, how thankful we should all be.

Sorry, didn't mean to bring everyone down.

shorty_851
08-01-2007, 03:52 PM
Chicken i thought the same thing but with everyone going thorugh the same thing it sort of puts your mind at ease abit knowing its not just you iykwim

OverTheMoon
08-01-2007, 04:28 PM
:fingerscrossed: for you, Wendy.

I got great news from my middie - i can keep expecting the sharp pains, my body coping after all the surgery and stitches my ligaments, uterus and ovaries have had.

Chicken, i have been thinking the same thing.

Sending good thoughts all August mummies' ways!

08-01-2007, 04:35 PM
Thanks everyone.

Faeml, goodluck with your scan in 2 weeks :hugs:

Chicken, i was also thinking that a rather large amount of us have had problems.

Goodluck to everyone :hugs:

shorty_851
08-01-2007, 04:39 PM
RB i have been thinking about you all day. Please hun if you need someone to talk to let me know.

08-01-2007, 04:43 PM
Thanks Mandi, might take you up on that later. I'm just in a lot of pain today, bleeding is worse & the pain is so bad. Just want it to stop :gloomy: I'm still in shock i think, luckily MJs oblivious to it all. DH gets upset when i do so i feel bad for doing it.

Anyway, dont want to bring you all down :)

Take care all :hugs:

Tan-mumof3
08-01-2007, 06:28 PM

Faeml goodluck for your scan in 2 weeks.
Mandi thankgoodness for you it was old blood, it must have been a scare though :fingerscrossed: that is the last of it for you.
It does seem like there has been a fair bit of bad news in our little thread (hopefully there won't be anymore)
Sorry to all who have had bad news.
I booked a scan for wednesday afternoon to double check dates and to make sure there is only 1 baby in there (cos everyone keeps telling me im having twins).
Im still feeling sick all day nausea but still no :barf: thankfully, i too am having really bad time sleeping just can't get comfy, so by about 1pm im exhausted and usually have a lie down if the kids let me and im not at work.
Thats about it for me for now.
Sorry if i missed anyone, hope you are all well.

shorty_851
09-01-2007, 09:01 AM
I agree this thread has had its fair share of bad luck.

Maybe we should close this one and start a new lucky thread.

Sandy
09-01-2007, 12:01 PM

I'm still plodding along. Will hit 11 weeks this Friday and I am relieved at everyday that passes and no drama's.

My 12 weeks scan is booked and my follow up oby appointment. Not much to do until then except live life.

My ms has calmed down alot and my tiredness isn't as bad but I am still far from the energy that I had before pregnancy.

I sit here at work with my trousers unbuttoned :o . I seem to have popped again the last 24hrs. My boss is back from holidays next week so I plan to tell him then and get out the maternity clothes. I am just shy of the smallest belly belt strap so will have to wear pants unbuttoned for a while yet. Sooo not looking forward to the weight gain.

Either way, all is well today in this camp :)

shorty_851
09-01-2007, 12:25 PM
HAHAHAHA Sandy that sounds so much like me.

I sit around at home in undies that go under my belly and work pants unbuttoned all day hahaha.

I feel like i have popped but my pop feels squishy so i think it might just be all the fat i have i have put on.

Sandy
09-01-2007, 12:31 PM
I'm lucky that I have my own office! But when I get home, I too walk around in undies! G-string as I find the full pants take precious millimetres in my trousers or skirts! DH likes it to say the least!

My pot feels squishy too. My best friend who is a doctor said that its bloating, not the uterus. But trust me, when bubs does grow, your belly gets hard and tight and I swear you could pop it with a pin!

BF said that bloating will happen soon as your digestion slows down and fluid intake increases. Lovely.

deb1234
09-01-2007, 12:39 PM
i think if men had to do this pregnancy thing the human race would have died out thousands of years ago!

i think i'm about the same size, only now i can't suck my stomach in anymore. so this is just what i would look like if i let it hang out all the time! :laughing: lucky i work from home so can wear comfortable clothes :)

Sandy
09-01-2007, 12:42 PM
Deb, what do you do to work from home? I have considered doing the same thing. I am a building surveyor so can consult to anyone. Just not sure if I could do it with a toddler running around the house. Your thoughts would be good.

shorty_851
09-01-2007, 12:49 PM
I would love to work from home but im a freight forwarder and can't work from home unless i start my own business. Which the market is just to competitive for.

I do have accounting background as well so could always try and do something like that.

Sandy
09-01-2007, 12:52 PM
Mandi, I consult on the side of my full job (can see that stopping soon!) but the guy I contract too has a lady who does his books for him. He is a small business and doesn't have time to do the 'paperwork' side of things so this girl does it for him from home and for a few hours each week in his office. I have spoken to her (as she pays me ;) ) and she is flat chat and has been since she left full time employment. She is not an accountant either.

shorty_851
09-01-2007, 01:32 PM
Wow Sandy how did she find that

whatwasithinking
09-01-2007, 01:34 PM
Hi everyone - can I join in. I too like Shorty am due 11 August.

This is my third. DH hoping for a boy this time - and secretly so am I - but of course if it is a girl I will be just as excited. :D

Sandy
09-01-2007, 01:37 PM
Not sure how she found the job, I will ask Steve, the guy I do work for. But I do know that she works as well for other people and is making a healthy sum I think. I am very conservative and like my constant superannuation and all that boring stuff but everyday I debate about going to work full time for myself, from home. I would have a very small setup cost which makes it more appealing.

shorty_851
09-01-2007, 01:37 PM
whatwasithinking welcome to our lil group.

Thats great you are due on the same day as me i think theer is now 4 of us due on that day.

So how has your pg been so far???

Tingles
09-01-2007, 01:38 PM
Today I'm having an 'early' ultrasound (9+wks), yes I caved in and booked it...temptation....

:fingerscrossed: we have a healthy viable little one, who is the cause of my ill feelings...

Sandy
09-01-2007, 01:40 PM
Welcome to our group whatwasithinking and that is fab news Tingles.

whatwasithinking
09-01-2007, 01:43 PM
Wow how cool.

This pregnancy has been horrible. So not like the other two which were perfect except for heartburn 24/7.

This time I have had constant morning sickness all day every day. I have been so lethargic and tired - falling asleep every day whenever I lay down - with or without my other children running around (can't help it).

I have to go back to work tommorrow after xmas break and I am so not looking forward to it (I work fulltime too).

I have had pains like nothing else but had my dating ultrasound yesterday and the baby's fine and heartbeat was 182.

Just can't believe how different this pregnancy is - maybe I am just getting old :p .

Hope everyone else's is going OK.

Read RB's post and I am truly so sorry to hear the sad news :gloomy: .

shorty_851
09-01-2007, 01:43 PM
Tingles that is great :fingerscrossed: but i know everything will be fine.

Sandy - I think i will start looking now for soemthing better i thought about all the party plans but i really don't think i could stand and sell things.

I wanted tog et a new job just before i fell pg and still want one so i guess i will have to wait and see.

Sandy
09-01-2007, 01:48 PM
Forgot to say too that I know what you're going through RB and it sucks big time. Mine were both very painful too. Hugs sweetheart and don't give up. There will be another.

deb1234
09-01-2007, 02:16 PM
welcome whatwasithinking :wave:

my husband and i (and two cats) moved over from nz in august because he got a transfer. my boss is just letting me work from home but still working for an auckland company. i've been going back every month to get a lot of site work done then coming back to aust to do reports, contact clients etc. but i'll be going back less and less since i won't be much use on site very soon!

i work for an air conditioning company, my job is testing indoor air quality in offices, operating theatres, clean rooms etc. i can pretty much do my job from anywhere with an internet connection. my boss is really into everyone working from home anyway (in nz) since he doesn't have to pay for petrol in company cars getting people to the office!!
yes i have the best boss ever. :)

Sandy
09-01-2007, 02:23 PM
You are lucky Deb! Thankyou for sharing that info.

My MIL is living in NZ and has for the past 15 years! Palmerston North. She is a manager for one of the radio networks. We will probably fly over for a visit sometime before bubs is born.

deb1234
09-01-2007, 02:25 PM
if you are going to palmy you'd better go soon before winter starts!! brrr. :D

Sandy
09-01-2007, 02:28 PM
I know! I was last there when pregnant with DD and she was an August baby too. But our Canberra winters get just as cold! I have given up moving to Mackay QLD for this baby. He/she better be grateful as I will remind them of it years from now I'm sure!

whatwasithinking
09-01-2007, 02:31 PM
Sandy,
I too am from Canberra. Having this one in Calvery Public - how bout you??
Organised the registration papers today.

Sandy
09-01-2007, 02:34 PM
whatwasithinking!! How cool is that?? I am booked into Calvary too. We live in Banks at the moment but are moving to Weetangera in March, were DD was born. How bizarre??? I am going as a private patient cause I'm an oldie now and worried about risks etc. Nervous nellie really. Your story?

whatwasithinking
09-01-2007, 02:39 PM
Not much to tell here. Live on Northside (Nicholls), had first two bubs in Melb so this is first one in Canberra and nervous as I know nothing about the hospital - at least I knew what I was getting myself into with the other two at that hospital. Oh the mystery.
Want to go private but hubby says other two were public so this one can be too - mind you got a shock yesterday when had to pay for the dating u/s and it was $151 and only got back $51 from medicare and my healthfund wont' cover the difference. In Melb the dating scan was done at the hospital for free. Have to pay again when have the noccel (whatever however it is spealt) test in couple of weeks - another $100 out of pocket. Hope I have no other problems.
Oh well I guess there is worse things to complain about hey.

shorty_851
09-01-2007, 02:40 PM
God yo girls are so organized i dont know where to start. I haven booked in for anything. I feel so lost and confused and really am a little to scared to ask.

You can tell this is my first can't you

whatwasithinking
09-01-2007, 02:44 PM
If I can be of any help please do ask Shorty.

But I prolly would book soon though - when I rang up this morning the lady said they had a 4wk wait for antenatel visits and that it was getting bigger and had I waited I might not have got in at the right time (for when the schedule of visits supposed to start).

Don't stress though - your dr will tell you what to do and everything will fall into place I promise.

Sandy
09-01-2007, 02:52 PM
I was happy with Calvary with DD and hence am comfortable going there again. But I can only comment from a private patient perspective. When DD was born I had a suite to myself that had a king sized bed, its own full size bathroom, basic kitchen (tea/coffee and microwave) and sitting room with TV etc. Luxary. Didn't cost me a cent. I was only out of pocket for the epidural (after 9hrs ;) ) and a one off $1900 fee for the oby.

My best friend, who is the doctor, told me that Canberra Hospital is the only hospital that has paedatirans (sp??) on site and that she wouldn't have her kids any where else. Problem is, my oby doesn't work there and I am determined to have him. He rocks to say the least and is awesome in emergency situations (stories from other parents told at kids b-day parties. You learn heaps that way!)

Best friend had her two kids using the public system at Canberra Hospital and was happy. She went home the same day though, with both kids :eek: I stayed for 7 full days! Loved it!

My oby takes care of all my hospital bookings etc so not sure how it gets done normally. I do book my u/s myself though and pay for those. I get a fair chunk back from medicare too. For a $150 scan I end up getting close to $100 back. Not sure why so much :confused:

niesl_bug
09-01-2007, 04:30 PM
Gals :wave:

Just thought I'd let you know that once you meet the Medicare threshold, you get 70% of your medical bills back. This happened to me the other day and it was a nice surprise! Once you're registered for the safety net they calculate it automatically.

chicken
09-01-2007, 04:51 PM
Tara - I think its actually 80% which is even better! The only thing is though that the $1000 threshold is counted on a calendar year basis, so as of 1 Jan it all goes back to zero and you have to start again. Lucky for us August ladies though, that's probably not going to be a problem as we'll incur most of our costs from now on.

whatwasithinking
09-01-2007, 04:53 PM
Good point chicken - should be well over the threshold by then.

niesl_bug
09-01-2007, 05:38 PM
Sorry to change the subject, but does anyone else feel really bloated and gassy? Sorry for TMI, but the last 2 days my tummy has gotten pretty big! It's normally super flat but everyone has noticed it popping out. I feel kind of "full" and scared to sneeze in my open plan office in case a little fart slips out :eek:

I generally feel fine, just big for only 9 weeks !!! Please tell me I'm not the only one ???

whatwasithinking
09-01-2007, 05:41 PM
Hi Tara
As I have two already my belly always looked "popped out" before pregnancy. So I don't know if I have popped or not.
About the gassy feeling - yep same here - hope I don't let anything out at work either :o .
Great due date BTW :D

Tingles
09-01-2007, 06:17 PM
Had my u/sound today heart rate 170 - saw the little 'thingy' still has yolk sac feeding it...

Feeling a bit nauseaus so that's all good I guess.

Hope you are all well.

deb1234
09-01-2007, 07:00 PM
Tara i feel the same, looking forward to being a bit further along so i look pregnant and not just fat!! :laughing:

Tingles its so exciting seeing that beating heart on the ultrasound don't you think? makes it a million times more real!!

chicken
09-01-2007, 07:01 PM
Great news tingles.

Tara - I know what you mean. I've started feeling really full (although not in a hunger sense) and have seen my waistline expand over the past week or so. I'm 10 weeks now and I've been amazed at seeing some physical changes so early. But having had no u/s, and no m/s, I'm glad there's some evidence that there's something in there!!!

ETsMum
09-01-2007, 07:54 PM
I'm still here floating around, but haven't posted for a while.

I had my first appointment at the hospy yesterday. Saw a m/w to do the paperwork and she had a (half-hearted) go at listening for a heart beat but couldn't find it - so later I had to see the Doc, so I didn't say she already tried, so the doc had a go and picked it up!! :yelclap: I'm really looking forward to my scan next week.

DS DID end up with chicken pox so I had to have a blood test to see if I've had it. I get the results tomorrow. I think they just give the antibodies if not - like if you aren't covered for rubbella.

Hi and welcome whatwasithinking. :wave: Were you previously "Missunderstood" - ha ha that sounds funny but DYKWIM???

whatwasithinking
09-01-2007, 07:57 PM
Hi and welcome whatwasithinking. :wave: Were you previously "Missunderstood" - ha ha that sounds funny but DYKWIM???
Yes I was. My cover is blown :cool: .
How the hell did you guess that correctly? You clever munchin you.

ETsMum
09-01-2007, 07:58 PM
There is a good chance I will have bub earlier than my EDD - with my scoliosis and history of large babies I am considering a c/s which may be on the 7th. Am keeping my options open at the moment and will see how things progress.

Hey Tara - did you have surgery for scoliosis? As in rods in your back? If so, does that mean you'll have a c/s under general?

ETsMum
09-01-2007, 07:59 PM
Yes I was. My cover is blown :cool: .
How the hell did you guess that correctly? You clever munchin you.

Hehehe - I pay attention!
(Aug05bubs)

CONGRATULATIONS - I hope you have a fantastic pregnancy!

whatwasithinking
09-01-2007, 08:02 PM
Hehehe - I pay attention!
(Aug05bubs)
I applaud you and boy have you just blown me away. :yes: :detective:

Crazy Monkey
09-01-2007, 08:10 PM
Welcome whatwasithinking... I too am due on the 11th August...

I had my first appointment with my Obs tonight... Everything is well.. He checked and went through all my blood work, everything is good... Blood pressure, heart, tummy all doing well... I have to book in for my ultrasound for 3 weeks time and also call and book the hospital...

It seems a bit more real now that I've seen him and he's given me the all clear... All I need now is the ultrasound and I'll know we really are having a baby...

Hope everyone is well...

ETsMum
09-01-2007, 08:10 PM
Well Donna make sure you come back over to the old thread some time - it is really quiet there now. We'd love a catch up story about your girls - esp Rebecca. :D

ETsMum
09-01-2007, 08:14 PM
Crazy Monkey, I was thinking about you today - I posted this (below) in the July thread, but I just noticed that it should have been Aug - oops! So I deleted it and pasted it here!!

Is this the thread that Crazy Monkey is in?? Anyway I really enjoy reading your posts. I can SO relate to everything you say. My story atm seems to be exactly the same. :laughing:

I am so confused running between the 2 threads. Hopefully :fingerscrossed: I'll get my EDD determined next week.

AngelGirl
10-01-2007, 07:08 AM
Hello gorgeous August mummies and mummies-to-be,

I haven't been on in awhile cause I'm having some issues with my computer at home. Back at work now :thumbsdown:, I was getting used to being at home! All this talk of working from home too, I'd LOVE to be able to do that. Just need to figure out what?? Need a career change!

I had my first appointment with the Oby yesterday and all is well. DH came with me and we saw our little jellybean moving about on the screen. There's a strong heartbeat and she dated me at 9 weeks and 5 days which matches my dates perfectly. All is good! Yay!

Tara - IKWYM, I have a little potbelly too and feel quite bloated, especially after I eat. Looking forward to 'looking' pregnant!

Whatwasithinking - Welcome to our thread!

Len - great news about the heartbeat, it's such a relief isn't it?

Crazy Monkey - glad the appointment went well!

Wendy - I hope the next 2 weeks pass by very quickly for you and that all is well.

I agree this thread has had it's share of bad luck. Hopefully that has come to an end.

ps. sorry to anyone I have forgotten, tried to get through all the posts as quicky as I could.

Sandy
10-01-2007, 08:40 AM

Another day at the office. Going to be 34 degrees here so I am pleased to be in the air conditioning :thumbsup:

I have changed shape again it seems. I took DD to granny's this morning and even she said that I have changed shape. I think I have lost weight but my tummy is growing and taking a real pregnant shape now. Hard to explain. But last night when I got in the car to drive home, all my rings fell off my fingers. I'll admit that water retention was one of my major hates last pregnancy so this time I am drinking lots everyday so I thought that might be it. No water retention in the afternoon. But then I found some of my work pants fitted me fine again, but couldn't do up around my tummy (safety pin!). Mum then said that my butt/hips looks smaller again. So I'm pleased as you can imagine but I swear that its because I am eating half of what I normally do during the day. There is no room and even after a small thing (muffin say) I am so full for hours after. Other people the same? I passed half my breakfast to DH this morning cause I was full! Same with dinner. I leave my plate half full :confused:

Tingles
10-01-2007, 09:27 AM
omg sandy I just have to have a:bfp: and automatically start gaining weight! You have special :wizard: powers! ha, ha,ha.

I'm feeling sick most of the time - thought I'd increase my vitamin B intake by making some vegemite pin wheels....mmmm nice...well I do have three other little mouths to feed, must have a nice morning tea.

Finally my new (2nd hand) car has arrived - we needed to upgrade from the wagon to a people mover seats 7 - we saw what we wanted going to auction & 'yay' one it! It's a 'Ssang yong - Stavic' - really groovy! Dh is getting it registed today, and I will be cruzin':cool: tomorrow!

RE: My ultrasound - yeah, it's good to have seen the little one & seen the heart fluttering. I had to have an internal u/s - did you guys? In the past I have refused internal u/s.

Hope everyone is feeling ok.

Sandy
10-01-2007, 09:43 AM
Tingles babe, no magic at all! This has surprised me as I too got my :bfp: and then suddenly no waist and bigger hips. I'm coming up to 11 weeks in 2 days so maybe things do settle down closer to the 12 week mark. I have heard that it happens. No ms now either. I was reading a weekly email yesterday and it said that from 10weeks, most gals have the ms decrease or go, like mine has thank God. I still am off certain foods though. I'm studying personal training at the moment and I think that its just the basic theory of less calories in and still the same energy expenditure. No one else got the same thing?

I envy those girls who can be pregnant but look exactly the same bar a big tummy. Britney Spears on the other hand looked awful (in my opinion) during her (two) pregnancies and I swear thats how I will end up! I'm paranoid!

niesl_bug
10-01-2007, 10:00 AM
Hey Tara - did you have surgery for scoliosis? As in rods in your back? If so, does that mean you'll have a c/s under general?

Len - noooooooooo, it's not nearly that bad, thankfully - but I do suffer a lot of lower back pain which I manage to control with exercise, physio and core strengthening work but I can't do a lot of those exercises whilst pg.

Ally Jane
10-01-2007, 10:02 AM
hi everyone,my name is Ally and i thought id join you august mummies,this is my first child and im due somewhere around the 20th of august...dealing with morning sickness 24 hours a day at the moment..im hoping that goes away soon...cant wait to get a belly:)

deb1234
10-01-2007, 10:03 AM
tingles, i had an external ultrasound, lots of goo on my tummy (at 8 weeks). not sure why they do internal/external???

sandy, yip i think it all comes down to genes and unfortunately looking at my mum and her mum its not looking good!!! haha.

niesl_bug
10-01-2007, 10:03 AM
I envy those girls who can be pregnant but look exactly the same bar a big tummy. Britney Spears on the other hand looked awful (in my opinion) during her (two) pregnancies and I swear thats how I will end up! I'm paranoid!

Sandy - I do too! I have danced/worked out my entire life so have always been fit and slim. Everyone is dying to see me get fat!!! I am terrified of getting fat and not being able to budge the weight afterwards. I am still going to the gym (very light workouts), walking and start pre-natal yoga next week so hopefully that should help. Then i have to remind myself that my body is creating a miracle and maybe I should just go with the flow :o

deb1234
10-01-2007, 10:04 AM
hi ally jane :wave:

niesl_bug
10-01-2007, 10:06 AM
Hi Ally Jane ... welcome to a wonderful thread and Congratulations !!!

We have our 10 week scan today - will let you know how we go ....

ETsMum
10-01-2007, 10:25 AM
RE: My ultrasound - yeah, it's good to have seen the little one & seen the heart fluttering. I had to have an internal u/s - did you guys? In the past I have refused internal u/s.

I've refused internal u/s too. That is why I'm not having my dating scan done until next week. I don't know why I don't want one. I just don't. :confused:

Len - noooooooooo, it's not nearly that bad, thankfully

Phew - that is a relief. On Monday, the doc gave me some info on exercises that are safe for pregnancy. I haven't looked at it yet, but if you want I can post up some notes.

Hi Ally Jane. Welcome!!

AngelGirl - glad all is going well.

Now, now girls... not everyone gains weight! :D Not that I am boasting or anything... hehehe.... (sounds like it tho) but after I had DS I was 10kg lighter than when he was conceived. (GD was good for something!)

Sandy
10-01-2007, 10:26 AM
I'm like you Tara. I work hard to stay in shape. Of late, everyone has started telling me how well I pulled up from DD birth and how quickly. I lost the 20kg :eek: that I put on in 2 weeks. Breast feeding. That was the key I think.

This time, no way am I going to put on 20kg. I just won't allow it cause in the same breath, everyone is telling me how much harder it is to lose the weight 2nd time round. Great. I want to do the right thing, but don't want to get fat either.

I had an internal u/s cause they said my ut. was backwards or something odd. Wasn't with DD and not with the two mc's. Anyone else got this? I think my cousin had it too. Must ask her.

Sandy
10-01-2007, 10:27 AM
Hi Ally Jane and welcome!

Tingles
10-01-2007, 11:31 AM
I was 9w + 2 days at u/s yesterday. She put all the goo on my tum, had a quick look there - saw the bub, then said, I have to do an internal u/s to meausure the h/beat. I thought maybe there wasn't a heat beat!:confused: and that why she wanted a closer look.

But it was 170 - she said that was good & strong - that was a relief.

I have had the internal b4 - then miscarried - so I'm hoping that it's nothing to do with that. They say they are completely safe.

Don't know about you, but my DH hasn't even 'probed' down there:laughing: - I'm just too sick, too crabby, too grumpy! Poor DH, we have fallen pg first cycle the last two times - much to his disappointment!:laughing:

Tingles
10-01-2007, 11:32 AM
hello to any newbies

shorty_851
10-01-2007, 11:37 AM
Tingles i was told they do the internal one because they can't see teh heart beat with the belly one. I had to have one to.

Now i think it is normal proceedure

Dont quote me on any of that though just incase im wrong

Sandy
10-01-2007, 12:03 PM
Don't know about you, but my DH hasn't even 'probed' down there:laughing: - I'm just too sick, too crabby, too grumpy! Poor DH, we have fallen pg first cycle the last two times - much to his disappointment!:laughing:

DH got his first look in this morning ;) It's been a while cause I always say, yeah tonights fine, then I fall asleep at 8pm! Poor bugger.

I too fell pregnant without blinking and now DH is upset that he didn't get enough "practice" in!

deb1234
10-01-2007, 12:10 PM
they found the heartbeat with an external ultrasound for me.

haha i fell pregnant first cycle off the pill so my DH didn't get much practice in either! :D

shorty_851
10-01-2007, 12:14 PM
Jason and i were getting sick of BDing it took us nine long hard months

jcb
10-01-2007, 02:08 PM
:wave: Everyone....

Well I have my scan next thursday...I so can't wait then I will know if I am due late Aug or early sept....

I havn't really had any :barf: as of yet...Not sure why lucky I guess but then I could be wrong it can start anytime...but I have been sooooo :sleeping: its hard with three kids to get a nap I am in bed at 8pm so yep my hubby doesn't get any either....lol

I know for sure I am going to be like Skanky Spears, but I am not going to be let it this time...Walking everyday....but at the moment its hard as we have a attacker about but I still go for a little strole around the neighbourhood.....

Man I can :ecomcity: hope you are all well....

Bye

niesl_bug
10-01-2007, 02:15 PM
I am 9 weeks 4 days today ...
I got a little confused about my appointments! Today was just a regular scan - bub is all god (I forgot to ask what the heartbeat was!) 1.6cm, blood pressure perfect ... so far so good! next week i have to have BT and then at week 12 scan for nuchal fold (sp?).

My first scan (about 6 weeks) they did an internal because it was so early but still couldn't see anything.

My Ob is just lovely - we feel really comfortable with him.

I am going to tell DH how lucky he is because BDing hasn't really let up since I've been pg. There's just one thing I can't do though because of gagging IYKWIM :o

Ciao Bellas xxx

shorty_851
10-01-2007, 02:23 PM
Good afternoon everyone.

I have been having the worst pains in my back up behind my chest. But its only on the one side. Its on the left side.

So how has everyones day been so far???

onabreak
10-01-2007, 02:33 PM
I am so exhausted, this little baby is draining all my energy, boy I miss having my red bulls in the morning....

I am finding that I can't let my stomach get to empty as morning sickness hits me big time. I know I need to eat but just the thought of eating makes me feel sick, I end up forcing anything down just so the sick feeling disappears for awhile.

I can feel heart burn slowly creeping in, I will have to make sure that I have some quickeze with me at all times.

Thats about it for me at the moment. I will be 8 weeks tomorrow. I don't see anyone now until the 23 Jan when I see my OB for the first time.

Have a good day girls

jcb
10-01-2007, 02:51 PM
:wave: Everyone....

Well I have my scan next thursday...I so can't wait then I will know if I am due late Aug or early sept....

I havn't really had any :barf: as of yet...Not sure why lucky I guess but then I could be wrong it can start anytime...but I have been sooooo :sleeping: its hard with three kids to get a nap I am in bed at 8pm so yep my hubby doesn't get any either....lol

I know for sure I am going to be like Skanky Spears, but I am not going to be let it this time...Walking everyday....but at the moment its hard as we have a attacker about but I still go for a little strole around the neighbourhood.....

Man I can :ecomcity: hope you are all well....

Bye

shorty_851
10-01-2007, 03:01 PM
I ahve the chewable peppermint quickease they taste much better then the other ones.

whatwasithinking
10-01-2007, 03:36 PM
Hi Ally, welcome and congratulations on your pregnancy.

How was my day today? HORRIBLE! I went back to work today (since xmas) and all day I felt like I had a huge hangover - felt like I wanted to :barf: all day. We had an electrical fire at work too and the smell of rubber burning didn't help one bit (right near my desk of course) so we were able to have a long 2hr lunch whilst the smell went away - still stunk all arvo though but not as bad as the morning. As I said that didn't help my sickness much though.
Didn't get much sleep last night - probably about 1.5hrs all up. DH away and had Hannah in our bed and she kept rolling over on top of me or if not rolling on me hitting me with her arm (and boy it hurt) - plus I was feeling :barf: and I had anxiety attacks for unknown reasons (I occassionaly get them when DH is not home and I am stressed about stuff).
Haven't eaten much today so hopefully will have dinner tonight and early bed time - around 10ish hopefully.
I got my u/s pics today and had a little look (didn't get much of a look when the lady did the actual u/s - quick she was).
Just thinking should I be concerned that heatbeat is 182 as opposed to everyone else I see here is around 170 - is too fast too dangerous? U/s lady didn't speak much english so we didn't ask her much stuff.
Sorry this is so long and rambly. Might go and lay down for 1hr before I have to pick girls up from daycare.
Talk soon.

Tingles
10-01-2007, 05:26 PM
bub is all god

sorry had to laugh at this typo error!

niesl_bug
10-01-2007, 05:38 PM
sorry had to laugh at this typo error!

WHOOPS :o

Kimee
10-01-2007, 05:41 PM

Haven't been on for a while so I just thought I'd say a quick hello!

Wow! Lots of us are getting early ultrasounds!
It's so great to see that ur little ones are growing nice and strong!

I never got one the 1st time until i started spotting. This time round I will be having one early at 7 weeks (tomorrow)...I'm getting quite nervous about it now.
Has anyone had one done at about that stage and can you see much? I hope everything is in perfect order!
:fingerscrossed: for me and i'll let u know how it goes!

niesl_bug
10-01-2007, 05:59 PM
Hi Kimee :wave:

You have nothing to worry about! I had one around 6.5W as I had some cramping and they wanted to rule out ectopic. They did an internal but could only see the sac. She checked my uterus, etc to see how it was all looking. I went back at 8 weeks and we could see bub then, but he was only 0.4mm!!!

Good luck for your scan tomorrow (and try and relax). Let us know how you go xx

jcb
10-01-2007, 06:16 PM
Kimee- I was wondering where you were....Good luck tomorrow....What time is the scan.....It will be all alright...

Crazy Monkey
10-01-2007, 08:07 PM
Crazy Monkey, I was thinking about you today - I posted this (below) in the July thread, but I just noticed that it should have been Aug - oops! So I deleted it and pasted it here!!

Is this the thread that Crazy Monkey is in?? Anyway I really enjoy reading your posts. I can SO relate to everything you say. My story atm seems to be exactly the same. :laughing:

I am so confused running between the 2 threads. Hopefully :fingerscrossed: I'll get my EDD determined next week.

Len, its great that someone relates to me... Sometimes I feel like I'm the only way that feels that way...

Congratulations and welcome Ally...

Exactly the same here Tingles...

All the same here...
Hope everyone is well...

whatwasithinking
10-01-2007, 08:12 PM
I couldn't help myself - I just rang and told my side of the family - I don't think they were too happy - one of my sisters was though - haven't told dad yet as he was at the criket - thinking I should have told my stepmum though - she won't be happy that I didn't tell her - there is dramas there so I was damned if I did and damned if I didn't - I'll talk to dad tommorrow. Will tell my fil either tommorrow or when he comes and visits in feb - will leave that up to my husband.

ETsMum
10-01-2007, 08:23 PM
Don't know about you, but my DH hasn't even 'probed' down there:laughing: - I'm just too sick, too crabby, too grumpy! Poor DH, we have fallen pg first cycle the last two times - much to his disappointment!

Oh, what a relief to know DP isn't the only one missing out. :o No action here since BFP!!! After 7 months of "trying" I am happy to have a break!!! :laughing: But, he does work away a fair bit. I think he has been away more than home since then anyway - so no pressure!! :D

Sandy
11-01-2007, 08:36 AM
Not sure but it must be the hormones. DH cycles alot (I did too once, when I had a life before DD :) ) and when I got home last night, DH and DD were playing the garage after a bike ride that afternoon. DH had his cycle shorts on and that was it. Car has been leaking oil so he popped the hood to have a look and whilst bending over I couldn't help but stare. That butt! I got my mobile out and now have a few pics of hubbies butt on my mobile :yelclap: It only started this week but I'm becoming a real perv :o

I have started telling people at work now as I start 12 weeks sometime next week, and one guy said that pregnant women get really "horny" unquote and that I should keep away :o I work with alot of maintenance guys (tradies).

DD was playing with my mobile in the car this morning, flipped it open, nice big screen, and said "look mummy, daddy has a nice butt!". Oh dear!

deb1234
11-01-2007, 08:53 AM
:laughing: sandy!! just make sure you don't start perving at EVERYONES butt!! :laughing:

Sandy
11-01-2007, 08:56 AM
I know!!!! I can see why they don't let you have camera phones at the gym :laughing: At this stage, its just DH who is looking extra delicious!

shorty_851
11-01-2007, 09:00 AM
mY GOD Sandy you just explained me i can't get enough of Jason. I think he is getting a little sick of all the attention. hahahaha

secretmum
11-01-2007, 09:02 AM
We have been so busy, hardly stopped since we had our Christmas visitors leave.
I had my obs appt last Thurs. All good.
Having nuchal scan on the 22nd.

I've been so exhausted and now found out my 6 month old breast fed baby has lost weight so I'm trying to take it a bit easier now.
We keep persevering with solids, without much success, so last night and this morning we gave him some formula after I fed him. He hoovered that up which was excellent as he hasn't had a bottle since he was about 2 months old and that had expressed milk in it.

Hope everyone else is going along nicely!

deb1234
11-01-2007, 09:15 AM
hey secretmum you're not supposed to be a secret after 5 Jan!!!

secretmum
11-01-2007, 09:23 AM
I know Deb,
I'm soooo tempted to reveal my true identity.
We have told our family now and a few friends.
Guess cause we won't be telling everyone til after the nuchal I'm a bit hesitant.
Let me think about it a bit more this morning. It's the worst kept secret anyway!!

Kimee
11-01-2007, 09:33 AM
Thanx jcb and Tara! I'll try to remain calm about the whole thing...4 hrs to go...(it's a 1.30) I have to start drinking 1L of water at 11.30 and hold it til 1.30!! How am I gonna do that I'm a peeing machine!!

Tara its good to know that you weren't able to see much at urs so I won't freak out if we can't see bubba yet!

Jcb - how have you been darl? Hope everything is well with you :) I have this strange feeling that at my u/s today they're gonna shift my due to to early September...just a feeling

I know what you mean about feeling ahh extra amorous with your partners! My dr advised no action til after the 1st trimester and it's driving me crazy! I'm even having raunchy dreams nearly every night (I really hope I don't talk in my sleep!) :eek:

niesl_bug
11-01-2007, 09:37 AM
Sandy - you naughty girl :p I bet DH is LOVING IT though !!!

Kimee - good luck for you u/s sound today. I am sure everything will be A-Ok ... looking forward to hearing your news.

Secretmum - you reveal all when you feel comfortable. Looking forward to it!

Had my worst night's sleep ever last night and am an absolute zombie today. Having my first coffee since pg (albeit a week one) so I don't fall asleep at my desk :o

Have a great day gals xx

Sandy
11-01-2007, 09:44 AM
Tara - I too had the worst night sleeps ever last night and yes, DH has been looking rather smug :cool:

Kimee - With DD, my oby advised no nooky for the last trimester as I had a very sensitive cervix, and well, DH :o is "blessed" ifkwim? That was a killer!! Oby told us to think of "other" things to do. I was soooo embarrassed!

Don't worry about your u/s. You'll be fine.

Secretmum - Just how many people know you on this forum??? Popular girl! I have one friend who is ttc that checks in on me (:wave: ness) and thats it!

Shorty - My DH is a Jason too!!

secretmum
11-01-2007, 09:49 AM
Secretmum - Just how many people know you on this forum??? Popular girl! I have one friend who is ttc that checks in on me (:wave: ness) and thats it!

I know I'm being paranoid, everyone knows I'm a BH addict though!
Anyway, in a sec go look in the announcements section!

ETsMum
11-01-2007, 09:57 AM
I spoil the seaching...

It's KAZZA!!!! :yelclap:

CONGRATS!!! I would never have guessed it tho.

deb1234
11-01-2007, 09:57 AM
Kimee - i was told to hold 1L for an hour and i almost popped. i caved at the last minute and went to the bathroom just before i went in, then drank most of a pump bottle (750ml). i knew i could just SIT with that much in me but definitely not have someone POKING MY STOMACH!!! i was really starting to hurt! :yes:
Next time i'll just take a pump bottle in the car and drink on the way there, it goes through you fast enough anyway!

ETsMum
11-01-2007, 10:01 AM
Anyone know why you have to have 1L at the 12wk and only 500ml at the 20wk scan? I think I'll have an "accident" if I have to drink and hold 1L.. :eek:

deb1234
11-01-2007, 10:06 AM
Len, its all to do with the clarity of the picture i think. when you are REALLY pregnant you only have to drink like a cup of water, or nothing at all. (i think - going from what my sister tells me)
i guess the scanner needs the water when the baby is tiny, but when it is bigger its so near the surface it picks it up???

PS i thought for the nuchal scan they wanted you to have an empty bladder?

M O P
11-01-2007, 10:07 AM
Thanks Len, saved me a job.
Anyway I'm guessing the reason with the water is purely you will have a bigger uterus and won't need so much water to push it out to see in the scan.

M O P
11-01-2007, 10:09 AM
Deb, definately need a full bladder for the n/s.
I did have to let some out a couple of times, ahhh, lucky my pelvic door muscles, as my husband calls them, must have been very strong! Not sure what they'll be like this time though!!

jamb
11-01-2007, 10:12 AM
Congrats Kaz, you didnt even cross my mind!!

niesl_bug
11-01-2007, 10:14 AM
Hmmmmmmm ... I had to have a full bladder for my 6 and 8 week scans. But when I booked my nuchal scan i asked them about this and they said they would get me to empty my bladder before I went in?

my scan yesterday (nearly 10 weeks) i didn't need a full bladder either ...

i guess everyone does it differently ... ?

M O P
11-01-2007, 10:20 AM
don't you just love all the conflicting advice and info you're given!

Sandy
11-01-2007, 10:30 AM
I was told to empty my bladder then drink 600mls two hours before. I asked the lady at the reception and she said new rules. No longer do they ask for 1 litre. Might be Canberra has purchased new equipment?? My best friend, the doctor, said the same thing. 1 Litre is a thing of the past. For my 12 weeker, I have been asked to drink 600mls again. I empty for an internal though.

They need fluid in the bladder because it is my understanding that they look through your bladder to see the uterus.

M O P
11-01-2007, 10:37 AM
Has everyone got a Bounty Bag?
m/w gave me one last week at the obs in Adelaide. That was fine I chucked it in the car. It was 40 deg and it stayed in the car for a few days until I decided to open it going home Fri and found it contained a very runny block of choc!

jcb
11-01-2007, 10:38 AM
Morning girls:wave:

Hope you are well as can be....

Kimee- I will be waiting for you to come back from your scan...and if you are early Sept...don't worry everyone is soooooo nice in the Sept thread...Not that there is anything wrong with the August Thread....:o

chicken
11-01-2007, 10:39 AM
Good morning everyone!!! We have a heartbeat!!!

But, unfortunately, it wasn't exactly the awesome positive experience I was anticipating. We got to my GP and the first thing he did was to do a physical examination, so he started poking around trying to see what he could feel. And he said that he couldn't feel much (great start I thought!). Then he said that it didn't necessarily mean anything because the baby might just be sitting lower in the pelvis or I might be not as far along as I thought (which I knew wasn't an option as I knew exactly when I o'd - I should have been 10 wks 2 days).

So anyway, he got out the doppler and started moving it around. There was a lot of static and then I heard a heartbeat, only for him to say that it was my heartbeat! (which I'd never even thought of). So he just kept moving it around trying to find something. And kept moving it, and nothing. After quite a few minutes, I was starting to get quite anxious (and DH was too) and I could hear my own heartbeat starting to speed up. I could also tell, from the doctor's reaction, that he expected to have found something by now. So it was looking rather dim and I was starting to resign myself to the fact that something wasn't right. And then after a couple of more minutes, out of nowhere, he found another sound. The most obvious noise was still my heartbeat, which was loud, but in the background, there was a softer, faster rhythm, that I could then hear. Then once he found that, he was able to isolate the noise so that we could only hear that. He said a normal heartbeat range was 150-180 and ours was about 180. I asked how likely it was that my own anxiety and faster heart rate at that stage may have contributed to the baby having a faster heartrate, and he said most definitely, and that resting, it was probably closer to 150, which he said was really good. OK, so now I'm going to try to relax for the rest of this pregnancy. Can't wait till my scan with the OB on monday now.

Kimee - best of luck with your u/s this afternoon.

deb1234
11-01-2007, 10:39 AM
tara, did you get any pics of your 10 week scan? did it look like a baby or a blob? :D

niesl_bug
11-01-2007, 10:55 AM
Chicken - so glad you got a heartbeat!!! My first scan was awful - GP told me it could be an empty sac and then proceeded to tell me the high possibility of m/c, etc ... lovely!

Deb - if you look closely you can see bub. Here's a pic. I've pointed an arrow at his head and he is laying on his back.

http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q294/niesl_bugs/Peanut/Peanut9W4D10.jpg

PS: was just at the photocopier, didn't feel too well so bolted to the loo and :barf: ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.....................

Sandy
11-01-2007, 10:56 AM
Chicken - AWESOME news!! You had me on the edge of my seat reading your post.

Deb - got some gorgeous pics at the 9week. The put it on a cardboard frame too. It was a blob!

Kazza - No bounty bag for me yet :crying: A block of chocolate sounds divine! I loved all the free stuff I got with DD. I love showbags!

shorty_851
11-01-2007, 10:59 AM
Sandy - Yes mine is Jason i hope your Jason isn a big pain in the bum like mine when he wants to be

When do you get this Bounty bag i haven even booked into the hospital yet. I was wodnering should i have done that by now im so lost and onfused

deb1234
11-01-2007, 11:07 AM
Yay Chicken!! :smiliedance:

tara great pic! i can't wait for my next scan.

Mandi my doctor (apparently) referred me to the hosp but i haven't heard from them yet. will follow it up when i see the doc tomorrow.

Kimee
11-01-2007, 11:44 AM
What fantastic news Chicken!! I'm so excited for you! I would love to hear a hb today but think it may be too early. We'll see. I'll be straight back on here after my session to let you all know!

Tara that is such a beautiful photo! What a cute little bub!

Ok time to start drinking my water now...bottoms up!

chicken
11-01-2007, 11:56 AM
Tara - that is such a clear photo. How cute!

Does anyone know whether you can always get a photo when you get a scan?

I know I'll be able to get a photo at the nuchal scan I've got booked on 25/1, but I'm having a scan just in the OB's room on Monday and I was curious whether they would also given you photos to take away? (my poor DH can't make it so my Mum is coming instead), but I was hoping I'd be able to show him something afterwards).

Secretive
11-01-2007, 12:00 PM
Congratulations on a heartbeat Chicken!

Anyone else not getting a scan until the nuchal scan?? I feel like I'm the only one!

Kazza, does it feel good getting to expose yourself?! My aunty had three kids under 13 months (twins) and they are the best of friends to this day (29 and 30 this year). I think there are some real advantages to having kids really close! It was our plan but it took 7 months to conceive this baby.

I really doubt that anyone will know who I am when I reveal myself...that's ok though! Being an invisible bubhubber isn't so bad! :laughing:

As far as scans go...when I went for my 12 week scan with DD I was told to drink 1 litre of water an hour before the scan...well I was doing ok but then the gyno was running an hour late. I nearly burst!

I still feel like ****...having a peak moment right now but they are short lived. I wish I was closer to the 12 week mark...it seems like forever away still (7 weeks and 3 days here)

deb1234
11-01-2007, 12:15 PM
Chicken,

when we left after the u/s they gave us a big envelope with obviously some images in it but it had a big sticker over the flap saying "ONLY TO BE OPENED BY REFERRING DOCTOR", so of course as soon as i got to the car i carefully peeled back the sticker!! :laughing:
we went straight to the doctor and she gave us the scans anyway so i didn't need to be so sneaky. i figured we were paying for them so we should get to keep them! i actually asked the lady doing the u/s and she said no they don't take any photos this early. liar!!!

shorty_851
11-01-2007, 12:19 PM
I asked for my pictires at the hospital and was told i couldn have them and the only pictures i could have would be at my 18w scan

So you guys could only guess what i told her.

deb1234
11-01-2007, 12:30 PM
i think for the people doing the ultrasounds they see it everyday so its not such a big deal. but for us having our first baby (and second etc...) it is a HUGE deal! i want everything they can give me to document this all!! :yes:

:laughing: mandi, i hope you were nice to the lady at the hospital!

Sandy
11-01-2007, 12:30 PM
Tara - my baby pics look like yours! The sac is little rounder but head is down and bum is up. They saw said heartbeat was 170 but my bubs was 2.1cm long. Supposed to be 7cm now according to the weekly pregnancy emails. No wonder I'm so tired! Growing another person. They even checked and showed me which ovary this egg came from. It was sooo cool. They checked blood flow and showed me bubs heart beating. I should scan mine in too.

Mandi - I think all hubbies have their moments ;) . From memory, with DD, and things change in 3 years, I got a showbag when I went to my first huff and puff classes and after she was born. I also joined the Coles baby club. You get free samples too through them and discount vouchers for nappies etc.

Kimee - Good luck! ENJOY the scan! Don't fret!

Kimee
11-01-2007, 04:29 PM
Just got back from the ultrasound and it all went perfectly! They did a normal external ultrasound and i was ecstatic when the lady pointed out the heartbeat straight away. DH was fascinated by the whole thing as well and even decided to point out my fallopian tubes on the screen hehe how cute!

She then did an internal one to check the heartrate and do measurements. Heartrate is great, was just surreal to see that little heart flickering away! It turns out I'm about 6 wks 2 Wdays and due on 4/09/07 but dr still reckons I may be due in August...who knows!

Wasn't as scary as I thought it'd be. Seems like such a long wait til 12 wks when I'll have my next one done!

whatwasithinking
11-01-2007, 04:37 PM
Shorty - My DH is a Jason too!!
So is mine :eek: . But spelt Jaesen.

chicken
11-01-2007, 04:42 PM
Yey Kimee!!:smiliedance:

niesl_bug
11-01-2007, 05:15 PM
Kimee - see, I told you it would be fine :p

Chicken - my Ob just printed a little pic off on thermal paper in his office. He actually printed off 2 because DH wanted one!

Sandy - our bub is only 1.6cm but my book says bub should be about a size of an apple (weeks 9-13) so I guess a lot of growing will happen in the next few weeks ... hence our huge tiredness :sleeping:

Crazy Monkey
11-01-2007, 07:22 PM
Kimee, great news that everything went well with your u/s...

Secretive, I'm not having an u/s until the nuchal scan... So your not the only one...

Found out today that the iron tablets I'm on contain lactose... I'm lactose intolorant, so I'm thinking that a lot of the queeziness I've been feeling might have something to do with the tablets... I bought a different one today, lactose free, so hopefully I will start to feel a little better...
Apart from that all is fine... Very t ired today and when I layed on the couch for a nanna nap, DS was jumping all over me :sleeping: so I didn't get a rest... Might have to be an early nght for me tonight...

Hope everyone is going well...

bigglet
11-01-2007, 07:27 PM
Hi all!!

I'm so excited to hear all your news!!!

Went to the GP yesterday to get all my blood tests done - I warned him that my veins aren't easy to find and he confidently said it wouldn't be a problem..... well 3 attempts later (and those needles hurt!!) he finally got a vein!!! The worse I've had is when they have had to take blood from my wrist because they have pr!cked me so much from both arms and that was the last resort.

Got the 12 week u/s in 2 weeks - I am SOOOO looking forward to this!

oh.... I don't have the baby bump yet because I have the muffin top so it'll be a while before baby bump takes over!! LOL :laughing:

SilverStarfish
11-01-2007, 07:32 PM
Secretive, I'm not having an u/s until the nuchal scan... So your not the only one...

If we get good news in 12 days (not that I'm counting :() then we will be having the nuchal fold test done as well. I had one with Sarah too.

SilverStarfish
11-01-2007, 07:34 PM
Chicken, when we left after the u/s they gave us a big envelope with obviously some images in it but it had a big sticker over the flap saying "ONLY TO BE OPENED BY REFERRING DOCTOR", so of course as soon as i got to the car i carefully peeled back the sticker!! :laughing:

I'm not even sneaky about it, I just tear them straight open. It's my body, my news *shugs* plus there is never anything in the report that the sonographer hasn't already discussed with me.

Tan-mumof3
11-01-2007, 08:01 PM
My gosh you girls can talk lol.
Ive been feeling really sick the past 2 days and extremely exhausted so i haven't been on here since 9am yesterday & i had 8 pages to read.
Congrats to all who had there scans and got good results.
I had my early scan yesterday too and all is good HB is 150bpm and CRL was 1.1cms (which put my dates back 3 days but im still going by my dates until my next scan).
Anyways just a quick one today as my dinner is now just about ready, have a good night all.

AngelGirl
12-01-2007, 07:25 AM
I just did a really long post and it didnt go through...uuurrghh!!! My pc at home is still on the blink and now it seems I'm having issues with my work one!!

It's great to hear all the news on positive scans and strong heartbeats. Welcome to all the newbies too!! Sorry it's not more personal but I've had a heap of posts to get through.

Tara - great pic! :thumbsup:

I didnt get a pic, Oby didnt have the print function on her scanner....what the? Now I wont get a pic till 18 weeks as DH and I opted out of the 12 week NT scan. Anyone else doing the same?

In regards to drinknig water before the u/s, I drank 2 larges glasses as requested and I was BUSTING. To cut a long story short, I nearly had an internal u/s because the Oby thought I had a reverted unterus. After empying my bladder, all was fine. Turns out my bladder had been so full it had moved my uterus into a different position!! Too funny.

Moral of the story: there's no need to drink a gallon of water before an u/s. Just make sure you've had some liquid prior to the appointment so you're bladder is partially full.

Tingles
12-01-2007, 07:35 AM
Is anyone thinking of hiring a fetal doppler for at home?

After reading posts on your babes heart rates - I started to worry :confused: that mine was too high? (170) but some googling has relieved that...:)

M O P
12-01-2007, 07:58 AM
Kazza, does it feel good getting to expose yourself?!

The general public won't know til after the nuchal results, :fingerscrossed: there'll be no probs, but I already look preg.

When we were in Adel we went swimming and as I was there with my 6 month old I thought people prob think I've still got left overs:D , I'm sure most people think I just still look preg! Which I am but they don't know that :laughing:

Sandy
12-01-2007, 12:40 PM
Kimee - Wonderful news about your scan.

Tingles - My bubs had a heartbeat of 170 too. That's normal apparently.

Am at home today and too hot to boot the computer (no air con) so I won't be posting much today which is probably a relief for all of you :laughing:

Hugs
Sandy

AngelGirl
12-01-2007, 12:46 PM
Is anyone thinking of hiring a fetal doppler for at home?

Didn't know that was possible, would love to find out how??

Tingles
12-01-2007, 01:50 PM
http://www.bellybeat.com.au

this is one of the places you can hire or buy from... I just e-mailed dh as they are in our neighbourhood...he might surprise me:rolleyes:

$39 p/m

shorty_851
12-01-2007, 02:17 PM
Do many people have these and are they a good idea

luckymama
12-01-2007, 03:09 PM
hey ladies sorry to butt in, but there is also www.firstbeats.com.au

Secretive
12-01-2007, 03:17 PM
Wendy I'm like you...my body, my results, I'm going to read it!

Crazy Monkey ok good! I was feeling left out :laughing:

Tingles I won't be hiring a doppler. At my 14 week scan the midwife told me that she might now be able to find the heartbeat (was fine cause I had had an ultrasound and a few days before and seen the heart beating) and to not freak out, that it can depend on the position of the baby and being early pregnancy still. I was on another forum at the time and so many people that hired them were freaking out cause they couldn't hear the heartbeat and were rushing off to their doctor thinking their baby had died, when they just couldn't find the heartbeat. When I was in late pg with DD DF could hear her heartbeat when he put his ear on my belly. If you want to hire one go for it, but don't worry if you don't find the heartbeat every time.

Shorty I know this isn't on here but I saw your other post. My skin breaks out badly when pg. Unforutnately it's hormonal so there's not much you can do. My acupuncturist told me to keep up my fish intake (what is allowed) cause fish oil can really help and then to just treat them as they appear with whatever works best. Hopefully it will settle down 2nd tri...it did with DD!

This is getting long. I have been feeling half human the last couple of days. Still sick on and off but not constant. I'm meant to be wedding dress shopping tomorrow so I might make it yet. We'll see...have a good weekend everyone!

whatwasithinking
12-01-2007, 03:49 PM
After reading posts on your babes heart rates - I started to worry :confused: that mine was too high? (170) but some googling has relieved that...:)
Bubs was 182 - should I be worried? And bubs measured 2.6cms - is that awfully big for this "age"?

chicken
12-01-2007, 04:17 PM
Tingles I won't be hiring a doppler. At my 14 week scan the midwife told me that she might now be able to find the heartbeat (was fine cause I had had an ultrasound and a few days before and seen the heart beating) and to not freak out, that it can depend on the position of the baby and being early pregnancy still. I was on another forum at the time and so many people that hired them were freaking out cause they couldn't hear the heartbeat and were rushing off to their doctor thinking their baby had died, when they just couldn't find the heartbeat. When I was in late pg with DD DF could hear her heartbeat when he put his ear on my belly. If you want to hire one go for it, but don't worry if you don't find the heartbeat every time.

Secretive - I agree with you. I had thought about getting a doppler, but after my doppler experience with my GP the other night, I've changed my mind. Even he (a qualified OB) took forever to find the heartbeat. That stress was more than enough for me. If I was doing it myself, I'd probably cause myself numerous heart attacks for no good reason. :D If I ever feel that something has changed and something is wrong, I'll go to a professional to get checked out.

Crazy Monkey
12-01-2007, 08:33 PM
I've been feeling so good today... No queeziness just very tired from 4-6pm... I think changing the iron tablets to lactose free ones have really done wonders... So I guess it wasn't morning sickness but a reaction to the lactose in my tablets...

I wont be hiring a doppler... If I did, I would be checking the heartbeat every minute and stressing when I couldn't find it... Best left to the professionals in my opinion...

I booked in for my 12 week ultrasound today, its on the 31st January... I cant wait to see bubs... It will make it so real, even though I LOOK pregnant... Its amazing how different I look from the same time last pregnancy... I reckon I was this big at about 3.5-4 months with DS...

ETsMum
12-01-2007, 08:38 PM
Anyone else not getting a scan until the nuchal scan?? I feel like I'm the only one!

The NT will be my first scan. With DS the first scan was at 20 wks. I don't know how I was able to wait that long.:laughing: I suppose I didn't know what I was missing!! :D

bigglet
12-01-2007, 08:38 PM
Shorty I know this isn't on here but I saw your other post. My skin breaks out badly when pg. Unforutnately it's hormonal so there's not much you can do. My acupuncturist told me to keep up my fish intake (what is allowed) cause fish oil can really help and then to just treat them as they appear with whatever works best. Hopefully it will settle down 2nd tri...it did with DD!

me too me too!! I get facial eczema and it flared up big time - so much so that I've had people comment on it much to my embarrassment (so much for trying to hide it). In fact a few people jumped to conclusion that I was pregnant - it was like "hey, what happened to your face? You're not pregnant are you?" to which I was so taken aback I just stutted something and changed the topic (since I wasn't ready to announce it just yet)

Hope it gets better - I might have a look at getting some fish oil tablets. My skin is so dry that it's flaky, red and itchy - well it's eczema :(

ETsMum
12-01-2007, 08:45 PM
Now I wont get a pic till 18 weeks as DH and I opted out of the 12 week NT scan. Anyone else doing the same?

We opted out for our first bub. But this time, I have to have a dating scan, so I am combining them. I don't know why I bothered tho as DP won't discuss what we would do if we got sad news.

Kimee, Tara & Chicken (sorry if I missed someone else) - great news about your scans!!

ETsMum
12-01-2007, 08:55 PM
even though I LOOK pregnant... Its amazing how different I look from the same time last pregnancy... I reckon I was this big at about 3.5-4 months with DS...

Tell me about it!!! Last time I was about 4 months and not even showing. I remember someone was leaving work and in her speech she mentioned that she was disapointed that she wouldn't get to see me get fat (yeah.. she blabbed my news to the rest of the staff). I reckon I had more of a belly now at 8 weeks than I did then at 4 months. But it is all belly that has suddenly popped out. The doc said the bub and uterus is still very low. :confused:

Ok - I think I've hogged the posts for a while. I'm going now to give someone else a turn. You can tell I'm home alone and lonely tonight hey!!! hahahaha!!

bigglet
13-01-2007, 09:50 PM
I think we're having a unlucky August for some...

I'm 11 weeks pregnant and this evening I started bleeding - just looked like the start of my period, it wasn't just spotting, it was more period like.

Is this the start of a m/c?? :crying:

Just visited my friend who just had a baby and I got all clucky and now this has happened I'm feeling very very sad..... :crying:

SilverStarfish
14-01-2007, 02:43 AM
:hugs: Aww Bigglet, I hope you are ok. Is there an after hours/weekend GP you could go and see? I've heard that spotting is common during pregnancy, but that sounds serious. :(

Tingles
14-01-2007, 07:26 AM
:hugs: Bigglet how are you this morning?

:fingerscrossed: for you - my husbands cousin had a couple of 'serious' bleeds (but everthing was OK)- you need to have an u/s - u/s will determine what is going on. You could go down to the ER dept of your local hospital, they should do it...

Meanwhile rest & keep you legs elevated - take care.

bigglet
14-01-2007, 08:42 AM
Thanks guys :hugs:

I rang the hospital and they said to just wait and see - it could be a m/c or it might not be - they said wait a day or so and see how heavy the bleeding is.

If I didn't know I was pregnant I would just say that it's my period - that's all I can describe really.
I'm still bleeding a little - it's not too heavy but still :crying: It's definately not just a little spotting but then again it's not like huge masses of blood like some of the stories I have read here.
I would love an u/s just to reassure myself but I think I will have to wait until tomorrow. I'm thinking of going to my previous OB for reassurance - I had signed up to the public birthing centre for this pregnancy to save money but I don't know how long I will have to wait in the emergency dept to be seen. Might try ED tomorrow morn and see how it goes?

niesl_bug
14-01-2007, 11:55 AM
Oh Bigglet .. how are things now? I have everything :fingerscrossed: for you.
Is there a Women's Hospital you can go to? My GP said if I had any bleeding after hours to go straight to our public women's hospital ...?

Please let us know as soon as you have any news and remember we are all here for you. Sending you and DH lots of strength and support :hugs:

bigglet
14-01-2007, 02:24 PM
Just came back from the ED at the hospital - 3 hours later!!!

Well..... still have no news... :(
I had an u/s but the resident doctor couldn't see anything - not even my uterus so she made an appointment for me to see someone in radiology tomorrow morning. Then they tried to take a blood test to check my HCG levels but since my last blood test from last week I have bruising on both arms so they couldn't get a decent blood sample - they even tried my wrist but apparently after all the wait I was hungry and dehydrated which meant my veins just shrunk so after being used as a pin cushion I now have sore arms and a sore wrist and no result!!! :gloomy:

So tomorrow I have to submit myself back to the hospital and hopefully they will be able to get a blood sample in between all the bruising and hopefully I'll be able to have a better picture with the u/s.

I'm still bleeding just period like and feeling very stressed out and sad about it.... :crying:
I wouldn't wish this on anyone! Please take care of yourselves everyone!!! :hugs:

whatwasithinking
14-01-2007, 03:49 PM
:fingerscrossed: for good news tommorrow.

:hugs: and :kiss: being sent your way.

OJandMe
14-01-2007, 04:07 PM
Hiya Girls,

Haven't checked in for ages! Sorry! I'm so behind with evertything.

Hope everything goes okay tomorrow Bigglet.

I've got my first scan tomorrow too... not looking forward to drinking a litre of water!

Is anyone else REALLY HOT?? I used to have really hot showers, but now I have them ssooo cool they're almost cold, but it still feels warm. And I've been SSOOO tired this week. I just want to sleep and sleep and sleep.

What's everyone else up to??