View Full Version : Knitters! Knit off entrants sign here

shed
29-12-2006, 22:07
Wool soakers! Anyone else want to join in the knit off? Sposie users, don't forget, you can also use a cute little knitted soaker over a disposable nappy! Summer weather will bring plenty of opportunities to show off your handiwork.

The vote will be held on or around 12th January.

I will try and track down some links for patterns to help.

Its easy and fun.

Here are the entrants so far:

Shed
Kymmy
BlueGin
Noo
mum2elouise
mama anne
neurofern
my_fallen_angel

stellarella
29-12-2006, 22:11
Are you telling me they have to be finished by 12th january???

Fat freaking chance...if I start now I might be finished by next christmas...:rolleyes:

I have just got myself a knitting book with a tutorial etc....im just too scared to start...help...I so wanna knit cute woolies...

shed
29-12-2006, 22:15
the pattern I use is so easy, you can't stuff it up. You need to learn to add a stitch on the end of a row, that's all.

http://www.tinybirdsorganics.com/soakers/pattern/index.html

Theres a free pattern on here.

KaM
29-12-2006, 22:22
Im signing up my mum since she has just started to knit one!! So excited!!

I have some pattern links for ya

1 - http://www.ottobredesign.com/en/print/pdf/wool_diaper_cover_en.pdf

2 - We are using THIS (http://grapevine.net.au/~bluegum/freesoaker.html) one

3 -

stellarella
29-12-2006, 22:24
Ok now I only need to learn how to cast on, knit a stitch, cast off...work out what gauge means...figure out how to get my stitches tight enough.....:o find out what needles to use...and what wool...

I should be all good for 12 january 2008...

Just kidding...thanks for that pattern...looks pretty easy...ive got a 14 day trip to darwin starting on the 3rd january so plenty of time to knit in the car... I might join in the next knit off...

29-12-2006, 22:27
I recommend the one Krisseh (or her mum) is using.

29-12-2006, 22:40
Oh i can't wait !! I know which pattern I'm going to use :yes: i just hope that i win (ebay) the wool that i really want it's gorgeous. We'll see in 2 days time :D

I'm either going to use the Alice's wool cover or the Curly Purly pattern :detective:

29-12-2006, 23:02
I'm a maybe - I'm still having a trouble with a stitch :/

KaM
31-12-2006, 10:48
Umm. .where do we post the pics of the soakers once they are done?

My mum has finished already :yes: and its so cute!!

shed
31-12-2006, 14:07
Far out krisseh, I haven't thought that far ahead yet, I have to learn so much to organise this freakin knit off, I don't even know how to do a poll yet.

Just sit tight for the moment! Or post it on here, and then I will collect them all off here and put them all together for the vote.

I think that's what they do...kymmy, is that right?

31-12-2006, 14:11
Shed - start another thread for just the pics? Then another thread for the poll later on.

shed
31-12-2006, 15:16
Might as well just post it on here, then we can see where we are all up to and might attract some new entrants.

Then I will collect them all for the poll.

Krisseh, just post it in here. Wanna see.

31-12-2006, 15:25
Yeah I so wanna see Krisseh.

KaM
31-12-2006, 21:40
Here it is. I have some pics of it on Matilda which shows the legs a bit more. They are kinda frilly when on. I will have to upload them tomorow.

Mum's 1st Soaker (http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g152/jaded_deciphers/soaker.jpg)

31-12-2006, 21:43
Gorgeous Krisseh. Your mum has done an excellent job. No doubt they will sell like hot cakes.

shed
01-01-2007, 00:17
Oh.

That is pretty.

She is SO not allowed in the knit off anymore :laughing:

drewid
01-01-2007, 00:37
Ooh, pretty! I love the hot pink...its so gorgeous on a soaker.

I'll have to upload my pics tomorrow when I dig out the camera.

Sheer Bliss
01-01-2007, 07:45
krisseh - that is sooo cute!!

:banghead: I still don't know how to knit! Mum is going to teach me when my leave starts in March - so i'll have to hold out until then.

drewid
01-01-2007, 11:17
OK, I've knitted 4 soakers since I signed up for this one...can anyone say knitting-addict? :laughing:

Some of the photos didn't turn out too well, but you get the gist of it

So here they are

Pink hearts (http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j316/ngrennan/Knitting/DSC05794.jpg)
Stripes (http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j316/ngrennan/Knitting/DSC05798.jpg)
Pastel Stripes (http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j316/ngrennan/Knitting/DSC05796.jpg)
Green Striped Shorties (http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j316/ngrennan/Knitting/DSC05800.jpg)

01-01-2007, 11:23
oh dear all these soakers are absolutely adorable, there's no way in hell that i stand a chance. I haven't even started yet :o I've only just organised the wool i'll be using and i hope that it arrives in time.. ARGHHH :banghead:

01-01-2007, 13:36
Wow! Krisseh, I wonder if I can hyena one. They look great, professional too.
Noo - yes a knitting addict, join the club. You make the cutest soakers, no wonder you are addicted.!
Love the shorties colour!

shed
01-01-2007, 14:07
ooh Noo, those shorties are a bit flash!!

GraceUnhearing
01-01-2007, 15:28
im back now,
had a little boy on christmas eve,
he sleeps great so i'm just about finished my soaker to put in the knit off.

i'll post pics up as soon as its finished.

just went and bought myself some blue wool now, now i know hes a boy :)

shed
01-01-2007, 15:55
Good on ya Kellie, and congratulations, he looks a beauty!

BlueGin
01-01-2007, 16:58
Congratulations Kelly! He looks like a real sweety in your avi, look forward to more cloth bum pics :yes: :D

01-01-2007, 17:32
Well done Kellie and congrats on your lil boy.
lLooking forward to seeing your blue soaker!

KaM
01-01-2007, 17:55
Wow! Krisseh, I wonder if I can hyena one. They look great, professional too.
!

Never know your luck in a big world! . .hehe

shed
01-01-2007, 22:18
I have finished my entry but just have to do the crocheting thing on the legs.

eternalmaternal
01-01-2007, 22:59
count me in , good excuse to make another one hahaha

shed
01-01-2007, 23:02
So far we have:

Shed
Kymmy
BlueGin
Noo
mum2elouise
mama anne
neurofern
my_fallen_angel
eternalmaternal

KaM
01-01-2007, 23:09
fine then .. don't include me!! how rude!! not my fault mum is like speedy gonzalez!! :p :p :p

shed
01-01-2007, 23:12
oh bollocks, sorry me old luv...can;t even blame preggy brain any more either

The nominees are:

Shed
Kymmy
BlueGin
Noo
mum2elouise
mama anne
neurofern
my_fallen_angel
eternalmaternal
Krisseh ('s mummeh)

01-01-2007, 23:18
I am hoping I will finish this week. But I have a short attention span. I want to knit so much. If only I had more handsand more time. Ahhh dreaming...

Lunar
03-01-2007, 16:42
Can I still sign up???? P.p.p.p.please!!!!!??

I have just started knitting my very first soaker and will start another tonught (yeah I know before the first is even finished but I wanted 2 different colours..lol)

So can I still join???

03-01-2007, 16:46
When do sign ups close?

03-01-2007, 20:03
12th is when voting starts so sign up and join in!

KaM
03-01-2007, 22:00
Okay so mum is on to another one. Boys one this time. So make sme wish I could knit. She has shown me a million times but I cant get the hang of it. Embroidery I love. .scrapbooking . .bring it on . .but knitting.. Im way deficient in!!

shed
03-01-2007, 22:28
I've finished one

http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/8027/img1418im9.jpg

I put the frills on the legs for the simple reason that I just learned how to do it, lol.

I have an idea for another one so I am going to start on that tonight (instead of my uni assignment, heh).

So far we have:

Shed
Kymmy
BlueGin
Noo
mum2elouise
mama anne
neurofern
my_fallen_angel
eternalmaternal
Krisseh ('s mummeh)
Lunar

and hopefully cheezelkat. Cheezel, are you in? Hows ya knitting dilemma going, did you figure it out?

Lunar
03-01-2007, 22:52
Oh POO! Shed your's is so good, mine is going to really look cr@p now!!! I can only do stripes at the moment. That is so good. Don't know why I'm bothering entering now.
Can we have a beginner knitters category too??? Just for me... or anyone else who is still learning??? purdy pwease!:p

03-01-2007, 23:02
NO!!! Lunar - just for fun remember!

03-01-2007, 23:03
And it looks like I could join the beginner knit off.
Wow Shed - just amazing!

Lunar
03-01-2007, 23:10
Oh Kymmy, I'm just being silly, Sheddy knows that!
I am having heaps of fun knitting my (I mean Kailah's) soakers. I might try and put a lil pattern on one... will TRY.
But won't be anywhere near as good as Shed's.!!!:eek: :no:
Think the comp has already been won me thinks:yes: :laughing:

03-01-2007, 23:19
Shed, I'm battling it out still. Once Liam is asleep tonight I will be fighting the war and WILL WIN and have an entry in :laughing:

03-01-2007, 23:25
I should start mine ...
I did start but hadn't enough wool so um mde a hat instead - it would have made a great night soaker too - wool so thick and thristy but that just meant their was not enough metreage :(
I can't pictures or embroidery, only can knit....cheaters :p

shed
04-01-2007, 00:07
fun schmun, I was out to kick your asses.

Ah harrrr!!:laughing:

Its knitting kymmy, only embroidery is the white bit in the ears, honest. Coz I forgot to put it in.

Okay, so you're impressed with that...I'm sure someone will come along and top it.

Might even top it with my next effort....!!!

04-01-2007, 00:13
Hmmmm (no comment)

I was kict n the last knit off, I have nothing to lose!

mum2elouise
04-01-2007, 12:19
Ok, well, i have my entry - except for the crochet around the legs, but i don't know how to do that yet - Mum is coming to stay overnight on Saturday so she'll teach me then. If i've finished the legs by the vote, then i'll submit a new pic.

To tell you the truth, i don't know if i want to enter now, with all you ladies having done such a professional looking job! Please keep in mind that this is only my first attempt so it's not as perfect as it could be...

Rach's first attempt soaker on Elouise (http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g97/mum2elouise/Cloth%20Elouise/Myfirstattemptsoaker1.jpg)

Isaac's Mummy
04-01-2007, 12:51
Shed - that soaker is gorgeous! I love it. Such a great job.

Rach - your soaker is fabulous as well! Is it really your first ever soaker? Because it is fantastic.

All of you girls are so clever. So, who do I see about putting in my orders?!:D

HoopDeeDoo
04-01-2007, 13:53
you girls are sooo talented!!

Shed you are just a show off aren't you? First the dino nappy and now this teddy soaker!! :p

04-01-2007, 13:54
I'm so impressed with all these soakers. Wow!

*hides mess under the desk* :o

mum2elouise
04-01-2007, 16:15
Rach - your soaker is fabulous as well! Is it really your first ever soaker? Because it is fantastic.

Thanks!:D It really is my very first attempt - it took me about a month to knit, to tell you the truth...:o Although i can blame the busy Christmas / New Year period for that... It's a little big for Elouise but not too much. She can grow into it. Better being too big than too small, i reckon:yes:

shed
04-01-2007, 19:28
Shed you are just a show off aren't you? First the dino nappy and now this teddy soaker!! :p

Yes I am :yes: :D , All these new talents I am discovering. Who knew? LOL

Whatever will I do when bubby is toilet trained???

I've always liked knitting but I never finished anything. A soaker is just the right size to manage.

Rach - that soaker is brilliant. Your knitting is so nice and neat!!

beeware
04-01-2007, 21:51
I wanted to agree- you did a fantastic job on your soaker Rach. It's lovely...imagine what your 2nd one could be like. Superb..!

mama anne
04-01-2007, 22:33
well here's my first attempt this time - knitted for a friend's bub who's WAY bigger than b - so it took me what felt like ages!

http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g37/mama_anne/DSC00046.jpg

shed
04-01-2007, 22:37
ooh I would love to see that soaker on a little bum. It would look awesome.

is that a bit of embroidery on the top righthand side mama anne?

I was just messing around trying to embroider a flower on one I am doing. It sorta looks like a flower.

Sorta.

I want to go and do an embroidery course at Spotlight. I will have to have a baby girl next. I don't think Baden will appreciate seeing photos of himself with flowery soakers on, in years to come!

04-01-2007, 23:27
Shed, if Liam can wear pink nappies I think baden will deal with flowers :laughing:

mama anne
04-01-2007, 23:43
is that a bit of embroidery on the top righthand side mama anne?

certainly is, it's ...... chain stitch i think? i never know the names, i just do it. i wasn't completely happy with how it turned out ....... but i never am really, comes with being a little bit of a creative perfectionist :banghead:

but i was a little sad to give the soaker away :(

05-01-2007, 01:13
Well done Rachael! Love it. What pattern did you use and what wool?
Mama anne - very nice, so pretty.

Lunar
05-01-2007, 10:07
Rach, your's looks kinda like my first one I'm finishing off ATM. Similar colours.

Mama Anne- looks fab! I would cry if I had to give that one away too:(

Shall have mine in by the end of the week:fingerscrossed: and then a 2nd shortly after that. (I'm knitting 2 at the same time... get sick of looking at the same colours for too long...lol.)

05-01-2007, 18:32
*dies*

I have DONE the first ribbing section. OMG. It just about killed me. I swore, unpicked and reknitted about 10000 times. I had too many sticthes, too few, holes appeared and things twisted ways they shouldn't but I have CONQUERED the rib.

On to the easy part :D

05-01-2007, 18:39
Well done CK. :thumbsup:

HoopDeeDoo
05-01-2007, 18:54
Can I enter on behalf or my wonderful MIL?

isn't it beautiful? (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/web.jpg)

Second pattern much better result, she has made another one already too but she's just doing the tie :yes:

She knitted three other ones but I don't think they are usable as soakers cause they are too loose in the stitches.

But I LOVE this one and the one she made after it :yes:

shed
05-01-2007, 19:54
Hoopdee, that wool is gorgeous. where where where?

CK well DONE!!! I have unpicked my second attempt a couple of times now. I just can't get it looking how I envisage it. Its peezing me orf.

05-01-2007, 20:37
Very nice Emma! Lucky you to have such a MIL.

Funkychicken
05-01-2007, 20:41
That soaker is stunning HDD! Your MIL deserves a big hug for that one!:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:

HoopDeeDoo
06-01-2007, 10:24
Hoopdee, that wool is gorgeous. where where where?

Not sure where she got it from I'll ask her today, she said she just had heaps in her stash. I'd given her heaps of wool but I'd mentioned I wanted to get some verigated ones. She surprised me with this one.

I love her she's so good to us :D

She gave me another one last night I went and bought more wool and dropped it off and she handed me the completed soaker and she's started knitting another one :smiliedance:

I'll have to get her a special thank you present

HoopDeeDoo
08-01-2007, 09:44
Here is the next soaker from my MIL, works beautifully!!

purple and cream stripes!!! (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/soaker2.jpg)

this is the closest to pink I'll ever have in my stash, isn't it pretty? :D

08-01-2007, 15:58
OK my soaker is 50% complete :D

I was doing all my knit stitches wrong EEK - I was wondering why it was so hard to knit with a flowing movement (I was inserting the needle in the wrong spot). But I corrected myself and OMG so easy now. I love knitting :smiliedance:

Pics soon!

10-01-2007, 17:26
That is lovely Emma!

How you going CK?

I m knitting away and hope to have something decent to show for the knit off soon

10-01-2007, 17:32
kymmy I'm finished - just need to sew it together :D :smiliedance: :yelclap:

I'm stoked I did it! It may not be the fanciest one this round but I'm just so proud of myself.

10-01-2007, 17:36
Well done CK! :smiliedance: Look forward to seeing it.

Lunar
11-01-2007, 19:39
OK ladies... be excited, be very excited!

I have finished 2 soakers.
Will post the pic later when I get the kidlets off to beddie byes....

Keep your eyes peeled!!!!

mum2elouise
11-01-2007, 21:57
Looking forward to seeing your soakers CK and Lunar!:yes:

11-01-2007, 22:03
I am excited Lunar!
Looking forward to seeing the soaker.

I have a soaker finished but I think I like this other one I am knitting better. Can't tell til its finished I guess.

Lunar
11-01-2007, 23:22
Well, I went to take the pics tonight but the camera batteries are on charge... so, will have to wait till tomorrow. I have them lanolising now though:thumbsup: .

The cut off is tomorrow isn't it????:confused:

12-01-2007, 01:28
Can we make the cut off midnight tonight?
Cos I haven't quite finished and I would like some sleep.

drewid
12-01-2007, 07:53
I've got one last one.
Stripey (http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j316/ngrennan/Knitting/DSC05814.jpg)

KaM
12-01-2007, 08:25
I agree with the midnight cut off. . lol .. mums knitted one in some weird odd way and just has to finish it up!

shed
12-01-2007, 09:12
Actually I need another day. its DP's birthday and I have so much to do. Have to bake a cake etc.

Lunar
12-01-2007, 10:30
Actually I need another day. its DP's birthday and I have so much to do. Have to bake a cake etc.

No freaking way woman! You have your entry in!....*says with jealousy* you don't need another one do you????
Now really, you don't, one is just simply enouggh. Yours is the best we all know so just leave us to think we still may actually have a chance without you entering ANOTHER one....

:( .......:p

BlueGin
12-01-2007, 11:36
Frustratingly, I'm not going to be ready in time :no:
The good news is that being in the knit off inspired me to get cracking, so I should be able to have a few ready for the baby when it arrives :thumbsup:

And if there's another knit-off, I'm hoping I'll have a couple of entries. This month was a bit nuts, had to make my outfit and bag for a wedding (as I look rank in maternity dresses) and I am not a fast sewer either, lol

Look forward to seeing the rest of the entries though!

GraceUnhearing
12-01-2007, 14:50
Can we make the cut off midnight tonight?
Cos I haven't quite finished and I would like some sleep.

sounds good to me just finishing mine off now :)

12-01-2007, 14:50
Cr@p.. I've only just started because i received my wool yesterday, finally! Can i submit what I've done so far ? hahahha joking :p Looks like I'll be sitting out on this one sorry guys but i will be well and truly ready for the next.

Goodluck guys!

P.S here's a sneak preview of what i'll be submitting for the next knit off.

Clickety Click! (http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j275/KarniF00l/Dakotas%20Nappies/wool005.jpg)

shed
12-01-2007, 15:04
Allright then, midnight is the cut off then, but kymmy, can you collect up all the pics and do the poll?

Today is frantic for me. I think I was the one who suggested today as the submission date anyway, my brain must have fried along the way somewhere, or I forgot that it was DP's birthday at the time.

If I somehow manage to finish it between now and tomorrow morning then I'm sneaking it in, I don't care what old bossy britches Lunar says :p coz I think my new one is way better than the other one I did.

Karni, where did you get that wool? I am kool aiding and I hope it looks that good!!!

12-01-2007, 15:17
Karni, where did you get that wool? I am kool aiding and I hope it looks that good!!!

Now you know why i was hanging out for this wool. I didn't want to start anything else until i received this one :p I've sent you a PM.

Fern Treacy
12-01-2007, 17:44
I should have posted this ages ago! Prego brain is taking over!

Three photos of my wrap around cover (I can't knit, only crochet!) can be found here (http://flickr.com/photos/treacy/325728367/), here (http://flickr.com/photos/treacy/325728359/) and here (http://flickr.com/photos/treacy/325728364/). Beautifully modeled by Jovis The Giraffe - I'm still waiting on the baby to try it out on!

I wish I'd have had time to do some embroidery on it now, it looks so plain compared to the beautiful ones that have been posted here!

GraceUnhearing
12-01-2007, 17:45
heres one i made
just finishing off the other one

front
(http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/purplesoakerfront2.jpg)

front again (http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/purplefrontsoaker1.jpg)

back
(http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/purplesoakerback2.jpg)

back again
(http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/purplesoakerback1.jpg)

its purple and yellow
but the pics dont show that well (camera phone)

i'll post the other one up soon, nearly finished

12-01-2007, 18:27
So pretty Lauren! That wool was worth the wait by the look of it. Is it soft? I do not need any more wool

Oooh love the crochet wrap - the giraffe is cute too.I want to make one.

Kellie - I like the design on the soaker.

Okay Shed I will do a poll tomorrow.

I have almost finished the 2nd one I was knitting and umm its ginormous. It will um fit me.. well not quite. Its meant to be a night soaker.

I wanna see more action pics. Please?

12-01-2007, 18:36
My soaker is way too big for my boy. Boo! Will post the pics tonight though :)

GraceUnhearing
12-01-2007, 18:41
Beautifully modeled by Jovis The Giraffe

very nice and the giraffe did a great job too!

12-01-2007, 19:02
fruity (http://picasaweb.google.com/mychildrensmother/KnitNap/photo#5018205574866574178)
I coloured the wool with kool aid - cherry, black cherry and orange. The wool is lovely and soft and available locally. Cleckheaton Super Merino.Its perfect for night as this is the only thing Av needed (cept longies for Winter)

Mamaduke
12-01-2007, 19:10
Just a suggestion...
when you guys are sick of knitting soakers (or are getting so good you want a challenge) I came across this site which sends knitted items to orphanages in Africa.
Thought you may be interested...
http://www.aids.net.au/aids-global-malawi-20061104.htm
I'm sure there'd be other charitable organisations doing the same thing but this is just the one I came across.

12-01-2007, 19:22
Oh wow thanks MD. What a great thing to do. Will look into that for sure.

mama anne
12-01-2007, 19:59
i'm so glad the cut off is tonight .... meant i got to finish attempt #2 :)

here it is ..... a newborn punk knitters. i call it "under the sea".
front view
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g37/mama_anne/DSC00073.jpg
back view
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g37/mama_anne/DSC00074.jpg
back detail
http://i52.photobucket.com/albums/g37/mama_anne/DSC00075.jpg

everyone is so talented.
i agree with the knitting stuff for africa ......... good call.

12-01-2007, 20:01
That looks great. Which wool did you use?

mama anne
12-01-2007, 20:03
the waistband, cuffs, and detail is 100% aus cleckheaton country.
the body is 100% nz wool called "naturally landscape" - it was on sale at a wool shop in hornsby.
i could spend SO much money at that shop .....:D

12-01-2007, 20:12
Hornsby NSW ay?......I like driving to wool shops....(I am in Melb)

mama anne
12-01-2007, 21:08
yes hornsby nsw :)

eternalmaternal
12-01-2007, 21:13
Here is my entry for the knit off

Front

http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o252/eternalmaternal/S5000042.jpg

Back

http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o252/eternalmaternal/S5000043.jpg

And another couple for fun

http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o252/eternalmaternal/S5000044.jpg

You girls are so clever :yelclap: . I am heading to Bellingen tomorrow and will definately be picking up some wool so hope to have something a little more exciting next knit off :yes:.

Lunar
12-01-2007, 22:55
Ok girlies, here they are..... nothin spesh but not bad for my very first attempts.

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m229/My2Joys/P1120009.jpg

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m229/My2Joys/P1120010.jpg

And here is number 2....

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m229/My2Joys/P1120007.jpg

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m229/My2Joys/P1120008.jpg

Percy
12-01-2007, 22:58
Ok girlies, here they are..... nothin spesh but not bad for my very first attempts.

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m229/My2Joys/P1120009.jpg

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m229/My2Joys/P1120010.jpg

And here is number 2....

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m229/My2Joys/P1120007.jpg

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m229/My2Joys/P1120008.jpg

They are fantastic Lunar. Well done!!:yelclap:

eternalmaternal
12-01-2007, 22:59
Beautiful Lunar :yes: . Which wool did you use in the first one. Is it cleckheaton col 2274?

M&M'sMummy
12-01-2007, 23:35
Hi Mums:wave:

I absoloutly loooovvve your soakers!

Now, I have a proposition for anyone who can knit.......

Would someone like to make me a soaker and in return I can make you 2 fitted nappies,

I cant for the life of me knit although I have tried to learn quite few times, I can sew tho and have been sewing up a storm lately making fitteds for my two.

I make my fitteds with a double layer flannel outer, A sewn in soaker of 3 layers microfibre and 4 layers flannel and then I have a microfleece inner so its soft and dry for bubs bum. I have heaps of Boy and girls print flannel.

Here is some pics of one I made today.
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c70/MyasMummy/12-01-07_2244.jpg
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c70/MyasMummy/12-01-07_2245.jpg

PM me if you are interested!

Sahra

GraceUnhearing
12-01-2007, 23:36
ok here is my blue one
just in time for the cut off :)

blue soaker back (http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/bluesoakerback.jpg)

blue soaker front (http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/bluesoakerfron1.jpg)

blue soaker back gain (http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/bluesoakerback1-1.jpg)

blue soaker fron again (http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/bluesoakerfront.jpg)

hope you like them :)

12-01-2007, 23:37
OK Bubhub is so broken right now so hopefully this works.

http://www.banditcat.net/images/bubhub/soaker.jpg

The pink legs are an afterthought after the main pictures were taken. I think it adds a nice touch!

shed
12-01-2007, 23:40
Yay, I have made it in time.

Front of watermelon soaker
http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/576/img1530mn2.jpg

Back
http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1953/img1532qd2.jpg

mum2elouise
13-01-2007, 00:06
OMG Shed!!!:eek: That is absolutely gorgeous!!!:eek: Now, i wonder who is going to win this thing??:rolleyes:

mum2elouise
13-01-2007, 00:08
BTW, everyone else's are beautiful, too!:D CK, fallen angel, eternalmaternal and Lunar, your soakers are all fab!:D

beeware
13-01-2007, 12:03
I didn't quite get to finishing my soaker this time :o . School holidays doesn't always lend itself to knitting pursuits I'm afraid. Esp since I've discovered the MCN and have to do a bit of net surfing as well. Next time I'd love to join in.

Thanx and I think all the entries are truly marvellous.

13-01-2007, 12:58
Okay I am going to start a poll but I am not sure if we can fit all the entrants as its limited to ten....

All the soakers are wonderful!
Shed - I am going to eat yours...