View Full Version : Which name for a boy?

1+1=5
27-12-2006, 08:14
DH's best freind is pregnant and shes about 3.5 months behind us. i'm due jan and shes due end of april. now, we decided on the name Jack for a boy and let people know BEFORE she even concieved. DH was talking to her the other day about how she was going and how they were going with names and she said if its a boy they are calling him Jack :eek:. she said shes not budging and that WE can't have that name because its the only name they could agree on :mad:. plus she has just found out that shes having a boy as well so what do we do? we these people all the time and i don't want our kids having the same name, they will also be like 3 months apart. its not fair!
so here are a couple of other names we have come up with just incase we decide to change the name. what do you girls/boys think?

ETA: here is a picture of Owen, i'm assuming the next one will look like him. does he look like a Jack, Seth or Noah?
http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m...alint/owen.jpg (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m14/andreabalint/owen.jpg)

Foxy
27-12-2006, 08:18
Some friend! :rolleyes: I'd still use Jack, but it could be the end of the friendship if you do. I think Noah is nice.

27-12-2006, 08:19
at the end of the day its up to you but I like eiher noah or seth

1+1=5
27-12-2006, 08:26
i like noah and seth as well but i'm angry because i have been calling this bub jack for months and it annoys me that she didn't even bother trying to think of another name so its up to us to think of somethign else :banghead:.

Littletreasures
27-12-2006, 08:28
i would still call him jack you chose it first.... Maybe if you call your bubs jack then she will change her name...
But otherwise i like Noah

ziggie
27-12-2006, 08:34
I'd still call him Jack... Your baby has to live with his name for his whole life, & I don't think you should change it just because of your friend. I have 3 very good friends who are all Sarah's!
BTW - how old is your friend anyway?!?! Is she mature enough to even be having a child?!?!?! No offence, but she sounds like a ninkumpoop to me :D

Kylles
27-12-2006, 08:39
Yeah definitely stick with the Jack, especially as you have already been calling him that, I guess in a way you have already named him and I wouldn't be changing that for anyone, regardless of whether the kids will play together.

Sharelle
27-12-2006, 09:04
What a b***h!!! :mad:
I would still go with Jack, after all you DID pick it out first and let people know what you intended calling bub.

27-12-2006, 09:11
Stick with what you like best.

1+1=5
27-12-2006, 09:12
BTW - how old is your friend anyway?!?! Is she mature enough to even be having a child?!?!?! No offence, but she sounds like a ninkumpoop to me :D

lol shes older than me...shes 26.

as for the other two names, i have had those on my list but DH would always say NO, now that his BF is taking jack also, he is 'considering' changing his mind. i just don't want he rot get her way because i'm a biatch and i kind of got attached to the name. the other problem we're having with jack is that its so very popular (most popular boy name 3rd year running) and DH and i don't want DS to have three other jacks in his class iykwim.......i do love the name though.

27-12-2006, 09:29
I'd be furious. :mad:

Well I think Noah and Seth are pretty good names, I like Noah better though. Could you use Jack as a middle name perhaps?

Noah Jack or maybe Seth Jackson or something?

When my friend was pregnant she told me her and her husband were thinking about Hayley if they had a girl, they named their daughter something else in the end but I would have been rather annoyed even though the name Hayley is pretty popular anyway ppl should think of other names, I mean theres millions out there.

ziggie
27-12-2006, 09:33
lol shes older than me...shes 26.
i just don't want he rot get her way because i'm a biatch and i kind of got attached to the name. the .

I think you got that wrong girl! She's the biatch! Hehehehe :laughing: :D

1+1=5
27-12-2006, 09:34
Could you use Jack as a middle name perhaps?

i like that idea and i would love to but DH is set on Henry as the middle name, after his Grandfather.....

27-12-2006, 09:35
i like that idea and i would love to but DH is set on Henry as the middle name, after his Grandfather.....

Oh ok, fair enough. Noah Henry or Seth Henry sounds nice. So does Jack Henry.

Minke
27-12-2006, 09:41
I'm a little bit biased... :D I love the name Jack! My closest friend and I were the same as you - I had already decided Jack, she was going to call her bub Jackson if it was a boy (bub was a girl). It really didn't worry us? It was the name we both loved, and I didn't think either of us should have had to change it. Yes it would be annoying having the same name - but as someone else said a name is for life. Stick with what you like.

~rambox~
27-12-2006, 09:44
Noah I think that is a great name:thumbsup:

1+1=5
27-12-2006, 09:47
well i'm glad everyone likes the two alternatives. DH and i figured we might wait till DS is born and see what he looks like. a Jack, Noah or Seth.....though its looking like we're sticking with Jack :devil6:.

Baby Girl
27-12-2006, 09:49
Stick with Jack, your bub will be born first so you get first dibs on the name IMO!!

Percy
27-12-2006, 09:49
I would definately stick with Jack. If you both agree on it then you shouldnt have to compromise.

However............ Noah is at the top of my list. I adore the name:thumbsup:

1+1=5
27-12-2006, 09:54
Stick with Jack, your bub will be born first so you get first dibs on the name IMO!!

:devil6:thats what i said but shes not budging, infact she said WE have to pick another name. i hope if we do go with Jack that she does change her mind. i don't really like the girl to begin with, i don't like the way she talks or looks at DH (they have been BFs for about 12 years) so it fuels me to be that much more upset about her taking our chosen name.

27-12-2006, 10:09
Stick with Jack, your baby is coming first and it can be her problem!

daisyxs
27-12-2006, 13:08
if you call him jack, chances are that she will use another name.
i was going to call DD Noah if she had been a boy so i like that name too

LoveMyBaby
27-12-2006, 14:58
Hi. :wave: I like Jack too. Maybe once your sons born, your 'friend' will change her mind.How awful would you feel if you choose something else and then she dosent even end up using the name? (this happened to my SIL).:thumbsdown: If you really feel like considering something else, what about playing on the name - something like Jackson or Jake.

Queen
27-12-2006, 15:24
Its up to you, BUT
Sorry you are having your bub first...first in first served...
She is trying to make you feel guilty:shame: and I think that if you name your bub Jack she will change...:D

melfunction
27-12-2006, 15:29
i like noah and seth as well but i'm angry because i have been calling this bub jack for months and it annoys me that she didn't even bother trying to think of another name so its up to us to think of somethign else :banghead:.

Bugger her, no one has exclusive name rights :thumbsup:

misskittyfantastico
27-12-2006, 15:31
If you love the name Jack, then use it! :thumbsup:

SamanthaJane
27-12-2006, 16:02
Are you serious?!?! :eek: Thats so rude. I'd be sooo p*ssed off :mad: ... A name is very special.... You were first... so you get to use it, thats how it goes.

And, you never know... she will probabaly change her mind once you've named your baby Jack ;)

spring
27-12-2006, 19:12
I reckon you should stick with Jack, she's probably just saying she will still name him Jack either way trying to get you to choose a different name but if you stick with it I doubt she'd still call him that.

ImSethsMum
27-12-2006, 20:45
I had to vote for Seth - but Im biased LOL. But stick with Jack I think. I mean you never know what the future holds and you guys might not even be friends with them in a few years and how peeved would you feel then if you had changed the name of your son to suit them and you didnt even see them anymore. Too bad for her. I knew when preggers that certain names were off limits because my sister and other preg friends were due first - its the golden rule, you dont pinch names. If she loved it that much - then use it as a middle name. The ONLY time id think it was ok was if the name was a traditional family name but even then its still 'off' to pinch someones babys name.

Baby Girl
27-12-2006, 20:57
:devil6:thats what i said but shes not budging, infact she said WE have to pick another name. i hope if we do go with Jack that she does change her mind. i don't really like the girl to begin with, i don't like the way she talks or looks at DH (they have been BFs for about 12 years) so it fuels me to be that much more upset about her taking our chosen name.
She doesn't have to budge. Once your bub is born and named you can simply be nasty and call her the copycat she is going to be. Trust me, if the 2 families are close she'll change her mind. She'll probably start telling you what a crappy name you chose :rolleyes: Some people....

mum33
27-12-2006, 22:14
you chose the name first, as you said, before she even concieved so why should you change??

tell her she is a nasty b**** and you had the name first and if she doesnt like it then its her tough luck. she doesnt own the name and she cant stop you from using the name.

who says they are always gonna be your friends anyways? they might not end up being your friends somewhere down the line but your child will be there for the rest of your life, choose the name that you will be happy with not a name that pleases someone else.

gosh, i cant believe the audacity of this woman...

tell her to get a life.....

jess_live_die
27-12-2006, 22:16
i like Noah

Beany
27-12-2006, 23:27
If I were you, not only would I be absolutely adamant that the baby would be called Jack, but I would very deliberately and very clearly call him Jack in front of everyone - especially mutual acquaintances, just so they all know that you picked the name first and that you had been calling your baby that name while he was in-utero.

Also, just to seal the deal, I would invent some relative that you were terribly fond of by that name. Dear old uncle Jack who was always so terribly kind to you ...

oleander
28-12-2006, 00:37
Stuff her! Go with Jack if that's what you like. Your bubs is coming first anyway so she might change her mind once you have your Jack:yes:

I chose Noah in the poll.

Mom2twingirls+2more
28-12-2006, 01:05
I would stick with Jack, its not like he baby will be the only Jack in the world, its quite possible he will have a class mate called Jack! And also Jack is great name!!

parkm
28-12-2006, 06:52
I say stick with Jack!

Your son is forever - you will always have him - so you need to know that you picked the name you really wanted for him (and I love the name Jack!). Your friends may not always be forever! Don't do something to make them happy, give the name to your son that will make you happy!!! Take care and best wishes to you....

Verdi
28-12-2006, 08:10
Stick with Jack, after all she will look really foolish if she names her baby Jack.

She also may be using a scare tatic to get you to give up on the name so she could use it, in reality if you name your boy Jack she may want to change.

I love the name Noah.

1+1=5
28-12-2006, 09:30
beany, you're too funny....yes my uncle Jack was a real inspiration ;).

Just to complicate the naming issue, DH doesn't know we're having a boy :eek:. i found out because i have to know things but DH wanted a surprise, infact i've dropped little hints to make him think we're having a girl just to confuse him.
so I can't fight the name thing tooth and nail but lucky i'm due in the next two weeks so DH can REALLY get stuck into defending our name once bubs is born. i was worried that if i kick up a fuss about the name now, he will know its a boy so i told him that we chose that name, and if we were to have a boy next time then i would want to call it jack......not a very good argument but it was enough for him to talk to her and say, lady, YOU need to change your mind about the name.
this friend of DH's has two other boys so surely she would have had lists and lists of boy names to choose from. why take the one your best friend chose and asked your opinion on BEFORE you even concieved? :shame:

stellarella
28-12-2006, 09:37
I would call your bubba JACK if thats the name you love, your baby will be here first anyway so SHE will be the one copying.

I would be naming my bubba whatever I wanted and would tell the "friend" to stick it.

I am keeping any names we decide on in the future secret until bub is born...I dont want any copy cats either.

I also like Noah BTW!!

sueliz
28-12-2006, 09:45
I love all 3 names - but I must admit I do think the combination of 'these are my boys, Owen and Seth' sounds fabulous together!
For some reason, I just really think Seth compliments Owen's name.
If that makes sense.

Stick with your gut instinct though. I know people who had their boy's name picked out all along and then changed it at the very last minute and they now wish they had stuck with the original name....

emilysmumma
28-12-2006, 09:57
What is it with some people?
Stay with Jack. Not only do you keep the name you love she also will look like the fool if she carries on about you taking it seeing as your bub is born first etc.
The other names are good also, but how can you keep it a secret from your other half that your having a boy. Your stronger than me. I also had to find out as I hate anticipation.

But tell her to stick it where the sun don't shine....I would. :p

iluvmeboyz
28-12-2006, 11:15
i luv both names stick with what you have no one has the copyright to any name.

1+1=5
28-12-2006, 15:50
I love all 3 names - but I must admit I do think the combination of 'these are my boys, Owen and Seth' sounds fabulous together!
For some reason, I just really think Seth compliments Owen's name.
If that makes sense.

;) we tried to choose names that would complement Owen's name...hence the four letter names. if by some miracle this turns out to be a little girl, she will be Olivia so it would be Owen and Olivia....he he.

to be honest i love all three names and it hasn't been until now that DH would consider the two alternative.

how about this, this is a pic of Owen, i would imagine the next one will look just like him (DH has very dominant genes). what does he look like? a jack, seth or noah?
http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m14/andreabalint/owen.jpg

28-12-2006, 15:57
Personally - I luurve the name Jack and its at the top of our list for a boy!

I think its very rude of her to tell you to think of a new name - seriously - where does this chick get off?

Stick with Jack. He is your son and you will be one proud mumma - with or without your 'friend' around :)

ImSethsMum
28-12-2006, 21:54
After looking at Owen's pic - Id say stick with Jack or Seth (some books have Seth meaning dark? others say chosen one) I know 3 Noah's and all are little blondies so I just cant picture a dark Noah if that makes sense :) My Seth is a red head but others Ive met are all dark.

TyBean
28-12-2006, 22:16
i would stick with Jack... the name you both obviously love and the one you said you have been calling him....
its your baby... and if you like that name,... then if he comes out a boy call him Jack like you want!!

Becteria
28-12-2006, 23:13
I think your son looks most like a noah.

I know 3 young jacks at the moment, but think its a lovely name and 1) you picked it first 2) your bub will be born first 3) she might change her mind when she sees you havent backed down?

I think its so rude of her to do that. its not like buying the same dress FFS.

mikaylasmummy
29-12-2006, 01:07
I voted for Seth, don't know but have always liked that name

happydays
29-12-2006, 11:40
You should stick to the name you like.

If she was a good friend, she wouldn't be so mean to make you change.

IheartOman
29-12-2006, 11:47
Your's will be born first so she will look silly when she calls hers Jack. Regardless, you want the name so just go for it. You may not even know her in years to come..

sueliz
29-12-2006, 13:12
;) we tried to choose names that would complement Owen's name...hence the four letter names. if by some miracle this turns out to be a little girl, she will be Olivia so it would be Owen and Olivia....he he.

to be honest i love all three names and it hasn't been until now that DH would consider the two alternative.

how about this, this is a pic of Owen, i would imagine the next one will look just like him (DH has very dominant genes). what does he look like? a jack, seth or noah?
http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m14/andreabalint/owen.jpg

Oh wow - I think you picked a winner with the name Jack then after looking at that picture.
I must have missed the part too where you had mentioned that the name would be Jack Henry. I looove that!!

Owen and Jack, Owen and Jack. Sounds like good times I say!!
The adventures those two will go on together!!!

Peaceangels
29-12-2006, 13:55
If you REALLY want Jack, then use it, who is she to tell you that you can't have a name .......pfffft!
If the friendship ends over it, would that be a bad thing?
Otherwise, what about something like Jackson?

SassyMummy
29-12-2006, 14:44
I like Noah the best, but if I were you, I'd stick with Jack. Why should EITHER you or your friend have to have different names for your sons? There's no reason, IMO, why you can't call your son Jack just because she's calling HER baby Jack... and vice versa (if someone named their kid "Chanel" before I named DD that, I wouldn't have gone, I'd still use that name if I wanted!).

There's no "dibs" with names... there's bound to be 10000000s of other Jacks out there...

Tulp
29-12-2006, 14:53
If you've been calling bub Jack, I'd say stick with it. Jack Henry sounds great. If you like the name Jack then name your bub Jack. You're bub is gonna arrive first anyway. :) Who know she may choose another name.

Pinkbug
29-12-2006, 15:12
My mum had the same problem YEARS ago when my brother was born I mean before he was born my mum and her sister in law (not anymore YAY! shh she's weird!) were pregnant and was about 1 month difference and were talking about names and by coincidence they were having boys.. and my mum mentioned she will name him Adam etc

then my bro was born named Adam as usual.. then hers was born and named him Adam!!!!!! STUPID!!! they even have same surname!!! my mum was SOOOO livid when she found out and she had told her that what he will be named once born!! she is a QUACKO!! so glad she isn't with us anymore!! (my parents are divorced and I couldn't careless about her lol!)

So choose what u r comfortable with!