View Full Version : babies left in car

WeThree
01-11-2005, 19:50
omg, you'll never guess what my mum,sis and i witnessed today at the shops. this woman gets out of the car next to us, locks it all up and walks away. i stand up to get out of my car, glance into hers and here are 2 little ones, about 10mths and 2!!!!! i said 'quick guys come see this' mum and sis were equally horrified, she had nt even left a window a tiny bit down! we watched here walk away, not wanting to leave the little ones, we were hoping she was just going to the atm, but no, she kept going into the mall! so we follow her, take her number plates and mum heads to centre management to tell them,in the mean time this chick heads into woolies, grabs some things etc before strolling out!! surely im not the only one who thinks this is soooo wrong, not only was it a very hot day but her little ones could have got scared, someone could have stolen the car, anything!!! stuff like that makes me so upset and mad, our bubbas are to precious to not take a few secs to get them out of the car and take them with us

cosmic
01-11-2005, 19:53
That is shocking, Erin!!! I can't stand to leave my dog in the car for 5 minutes so it's beyond me how anyone could leave a baby in a car. :(

Chickadee
01-11-2005, 19:53
Yikes! That's too scary. I don't know what I'd have done... would have been tempting to break into the car just to get some air in there for the little ones. What did centre management do or say?

Wasn't there something in the news recently on a parent being charged over leaving her kids in the car? I know there is a TV campaign on right now, not sure if it's just in Melbourne.

H&B'sMum
01-11-2005, 19:55
I accidently locked Harry in the car today.
See thread "I'm the worse mummy in the world"
I still feel so guilty and horrible about what I did. At I screamed, cried got hysterical when I did it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

brooke
01-11-2005, 20:00
How anyone one could leave their kids in the car like that is beyond me!
My husband and I can not stand it when people will do that! we will sometimes wait in our car until the parent comes back just to make sure that they will be ok!

I would be interested to hear what centre managment had to say too!

drewid
01-11-2005, 20:01
Its scary isn't it.

It only takes a minute or two for the inside of a closed up car to get sooo hot and low in oxygen. I can only imagine how horrible that would be for young children, as I know how yucky it was as a teenager and adult!

I'm sooo glad there are people like you and your family who will report these matters and watch out for the interests of the children!! :)

Ffrenchknickers
01-11-2005, 20:03
OMgosh! That is awful. :mad:

Chickadee
01-11-2005, 20:03
Karena, what happened with you today was an accident and I'm sure everybody who was helping you break back into your car realised that. No body would be judging you as a bad mum, and certainly not on here :) I hope tomorrow is a better day and you get your usual car back!

WeThree
01-11-2005, 20:14
Karena, yours was an accident, this woman did it on purpose! i cant think of one mum who hasnt got a story of the time their kids accidently got locked in the house or car, it is sooo awful and scary, but a bit of a right of passage or something i think!!!

by the time someone from centre managemnt got there she was gone, but they have her number plate, so im hoping they take it further

veve
01-11-2005, 20:15
I accidently locked Harry in the car today.
See thread "I'm the worse mummy in the world"
I still feel so guilty and horrible about what I did. At I screamed, cried got hysterical when I did it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Karena ((hugs)) there is a MASSIVE difference between your horrible experience... and her deliberate negligence!!!! she made a CHOICE!!!

:mad: people that LAZY (what other excuse is there??!) make me so angry!!!!!

kimmy
01-11-2005, 20:19
:mad: That is really scary i'm completely horrified that people do that. Makes me so angry & sad, anything could have happened to those poor little bubs it make me cry. I would never leave my kids in the car but when my sister in law use to visit me she tried leaving her baby girl in the car because she was sleeping but i always told her there's a bed up here which has to be better then a smelly hot car.

mummycloud
01-11-2005, 20:19
Karena, what you did was an accident, what this other woman did was stupidity!

I almost locked Aiden in the car yesterday :( I put the keys down next to the baby seat to clip him in and then almost shut the locked door when I looked down and saw them sitting there :eek:
It happens alot...so don't beat yourself up.

Around 8 years ago this guy was supposed to take his son to daycare on a really hot day, he didn't usualy take him and because his boy fell asleep in the car, Dad forgot he was in the car and drove to work, hopped out and locked the car.
The poor thing died before his dad remembered he was there :( I'll never forget that happened.
How people can leave thier kids in the car and go out of site is beyond me. When I get peterol, I lock bubs in the car to pay, but only if it's raining. I do get worried that someone will steal the car with him in it, but I lock it up and walk almost backwards to the counter and don't take my eyes off the car long enough for anyone to break in. If it's a hot day I have to take him out because if you leave the car running with air con on, that when they get stolen.

Imogensmum
01-11-2005, 20:23
I also hate it when i see people lock there little ones in the car- I know it is sometimes a nuisence to get them in and out but it would be more of a nuisence to go to the police station to fill in the missing peoples register!!!

I must admit though i have left DD in car to pay petrol--- but only because it is a wind hole at my petrol station, and it was middle of winter and bub was brand new!! but i ran- and used the outside pay window!! (i am giving you all excuses cause i feel really bad for doing it ;) )

the_queen
01-11-2005, 21:41
When DD was a baby, I always used the "pay at the pump" petrol bowsers, for this very reason. Not only is it convenient but quicker as well.

(no I don't work for BP ;) )

I will leave her in the car (locked, and never in summer) if I'm going to the ATM, and I'm parked directly in front of it. IE it's 3 steps from the car to the ATM.

Isn't it funny how attitudes have changed though. My mum used to leave the 3 of us in the car all the time. Once when my sister was 3 I fed her a couple of Serepax tablets that mum had left in the glovebox. She had to be rushed to Adelaide, have her stomach pumped, etc etc. But still, after that mum would STILL leave us all in the car!!! And a couple of years ago, mum was telling me how the local copper (i grew up in a small country town) cautioned one of my old class-mates, because she'd left her son in the car while she did the shopping. I was disgusted - at the mother. My mum was disgusted at the police officer! Then mum got offended because I agreed with the police officer!!! I think I said "What kind of mother leaves her children in the car by themselves" so perhaps that touched a nerve with my mother..... :rolleyes:

Ffrenchknickers
01-11-2005, 22:12
I always used the "pay at the pump" petrol bowsers,

Yup, I love these....I'll drive out of my way to get to one, they should have more around

Miss_Vicki
01-11-2005, 22:40
id call 000 as thats what the news said a while back
Did u know if a child is left in a car With the windows up for more then 5 mins u are aloud to Break the window to Save then kids?
Its also a fine Up to 20,000 !!

If u ever see something like that id ring the local cops or 000 right away !
its illiagal to leave your Dog in the car even with the window down a lil bit so Why leave humans in a car?

I offten see this women in Daycare Wind up all the windows an leave her Baby in the car an go get her Daughter inside Makes me mad But yet as she suchs a nice person i just dont have the guts to say anything :(
She has Very tinted windows an usally this only happens early in morni or late arvo when she gets her lil girl

still it shoudlnt be done :/

madvoice
01-11-2005, 23:21
I hope this woman is charged with negligence. That's disgusting.

02-11-2005, 00:42
I cant believe some people! I dont think that its too bad to go to pay for petrol as long as the window is down a bit and its for a second. Although i wouldnt know about this as i have never driven and so dont pay for fuel. I certainly dont agree with leaving the kids in the car while going into a mall. Thats so wrong!! :mad: Some people need to take a step back and think about what they are doing.

Angel_baby_1982
02-11-2005, 00:50
I couldn't imagine leaving a dog in the car with no windows open to do the shopping! Let alone my precious baby boy!!!!! What was she thinking?

razzle
02-11-2005, 07:07
its illiagal to leave your Dog in the car even with the window down a lil bit so Why leave humans in a car?
Yeah, I would have called the police. And I would've told her I was calling the police. There's no excuse big enough.... :mad:

ThomasMum
02-11-2005, 07:25
Wasn't there something in the news recently on a parent being charged over leaving her kids in the car? I know there is a TV campaign on right now, not sure if it's just in Melbourne.

Aye, she was charged and fined heaps and I'm not sure but I think she also lost her license. (Hallelujah!)
Guess whats her offence was?
She left the baby in the car park so that she could play Poker!! :mad:

Good on you Erin for reporting this irresponsible person. Blimey! :mad:

Rockett
02-11-2005, 08:17
Just what was that lady thinking???!!!!!! Obviously she wasn't!!!!!
You'd think common sense would have kicked in!!! GRRRR that makes me really mad! :mad: :mad:

annsam
02-11-2005, 09:26
If it were me that came across that situation (and it has been in the past), I would call the NRMA, they get someone there IMMEDIATELY. It may make the mother think twice about this action in the future. Some people are just idiots really. :mad:

carls
02-11-2005, 10:04
I would have called the police immediately and waited for them to turn up.

HoopDeeDoo
02-11-2005, 13:06
People like that make me so mad! Why have children if you are going to treat them like that? I understand it's hard to shop with small ones, but why not wait until someone can come with you to help out or leave them with a responsible person while you shop! :mad:

Nickster
02-11-2005, 13:33
That is really terrible - are people so ignorant these days that they don't believe a baby can die when left in an overheated, locked car - I thought that people were much more aware of this sort of thing. One of the things I really hate is cruelty towards those who do not have a voice - those poor kids!
I'm with Rach (boomtish), I would've called the police immediately. But would they have turned up in time?
I'm also surprised this lazy "mother" (and I use the term loosely) even bothered putting them in the car in the first place instead of leaving them at home to fend for themselves!!
Like some of the other ladies here, I sometimes have to rush into the service station to pay for fuel, leaving DD in the car, but only in cool weather, only with the windows down a fraction, only with cash (no waiting for eftpos) and I NEVER take my eyes off her - that makes me feel guilty enough!
This sort of thing makes me so sad.... :(

whatwasithinking
02-11-2005, 13:41
id call 000 as thats what the news said a while back
Did u know if a child is left in a car With the windows up for more then 5 mins u are aloud to Break the window to Save then kids?
Its also a fine Up to 20,000 !!

I offten see this women in Daycare Wind up all the windows an leave her Baby in the car an go get her Daughter inside Makes me mad But yet as she suchs a nice person i just dont have the guts to say anything :(
She has Very tinted windows an usally this only happens early in morni or late arvo when she gets her lil girl

still it shoudlnt be done :/

Jaz's mum,
maybe you could have a private word with the director and ask her to have a talk to the lady without mentioning who brought it to her attention.

mollyandkurtsmum
02-11-2005, 16:34
this disgusts me and I cant understand how any mother could leave a child in the car even on a cold day. apart from lack of oxygen and heat stress there are so many other things that could go wrong.

My hubby rang the police once when a lady did this at bunnings she went in and was gone for nearly 3/4 of an hour and left her small baby (about 3 months) and her toddler (about 2 ) in the car. hubby rang the police and when she finally came out with some craft paint and a weeping cherry tree(lifes essentials) she was arrested and her children taken by the department. Not sure what happened to her after that but the police broke into the car and when she came out all she could do was yell at my hubby for being a sticky beak and yell at the cops for scratching the paint on her car. Her priorities were obviously in the right place

02-11-2005, 17:00
My hubby called the cops too once and they came within minutes. They didnt hang about either LOL they smashed the car window and got the poor bubba out(as DH had waited a good 5 mins before calling the cops in the first place)

DH said the women rocked up a whopping 20 mins later with a couple of bags of grocerys :eek:

Mahjong
05-11-2005, 18:31
To the OP, I congratulate you, your sister and your mother for being such concerned people and looking out for these little ones.

To the mother, YOU DONT DESERVE CHILDREN :mad:

Merlion
07-11-2005, 16:57
I have left DD in the car for 30 sec in our garage (i always make sure I close the roller door) while I have gone in to get something or gone quickly to the toilet (if i do so i only do it if DH is with me otherwise I take her in to). I always made sure DH was with me when I went to fill petrol or go to the pay at the pump bowser and play peek-a-boo through the window at DD while filling the car. I always had the window opened a little

Mum2Tyla
08-11-2005, 11:34
I am a vet nurse and I have broken into cars when people have left dogs in them and I would do the same if some idiot locked there kids in a car it gets so hot so quickly in a car and anything could happen to them. I won't even leave my dog in the car with the window down , she is an alaskan amlamute so can overheat very easily. I think you should need a licence to have kids sometimes.
Kelly

Mamaduke
09-11-2005, 22:58
What a difference a thread makes?!
I was just on the 'mother chops off her son's leg' thread, and it's just one big sympathy bath over there!
Anyone stop to think that maybe the mother of these babies was mentally ill...it seems to be an excuse to chop limbs off children, surely it would work for children left in cars?
What a funny world we live in...

Angel_baby_1982
09-11-2005, 23:45
Life can be so cruel can't it?

You know, Mrs. Buckman, you need a license to buy a dog, to drive a car - hell, you even need a license to catch a fish. But they'll let any butt-reaming ******* be a father.

I'd say the above quote also applies to mothers!

(Quote from 'Parenthood')

sasholi
10-11-2005, 11:26
I've left bubs asleep in the car while I went to pay for petrol once. He was fine and the car wasn't hot when I got in (it was in the shade with the windows rolled down) but i felt SOOOOOOOOOOO guilty. Even though I parked right outside and I could see him I still felt like people were judging me... I felt so guilty!!

I have to admit I leave bubs asleep in the car in our carport. We get an awesome breeze through there - it's cooler than inside! When we get home and he is asleep in the car I roll down the windows, get a chair and a magazine and park myself next to the car and read. It's a good excuse to sit and read a mag!!!

Is that bad??? Seriously...

WeThree
10-11-2005, 11:45
lol carlyb, i know ,apparently cutting off your babies leg is a ok as long as you have a mental problem, or are too tired or too stressed or,..........

WeThree
10-11-2005, 11:47
lol aleksanders mum, no i dont personally think that is bad at all :)

10-11-2005, 12:48
Too true ladies, there's always an "excuse" :mad:

GUESS WHAT.....

A lady did it today while i was at the shops :eek: Its 34 out there :mad: She saw me getting MJ out & smiled, then walked to the ATM to get money out & slowly walked back.

I was dumfounded. Really should have said something but didn't want to get into it with littlies around. I just really took my time getting MJ out & putting her in the pram.

People will never learn till something happens :(

RB