View Full Version : Most annoying tv ad

wattle
01-11-2005, 08:04
What's the tv ad that drives you crazy? Who annoys you so much that you change the channel? :eek:

On another thread there was mention of the lady from the Chrisco ads, and the woman on the Aust. Pensioners Insurance Agency. What's with those ridiculous glasses? And I'm not 'over 55' thank you very much.

brooke
01-11-2005, 08:12
the australian pensioners ad is pretty bad...
Hey but i cant talk i work for aami insurance... our ads have been known to be a bit annoying... he he he

I am in adelaide and they have this really really annoying ad for mt bankrupt its so high pitched and is so annoying! i have to turn it off... or the designer direct ads are pretty bad too...

01-11-2005, 08:15
On another thread there was mention of the lady from the Chrisco ads, and the woman on the Aust. Pensioners Insurance Agency. What's with those ridiculous glasses?

Hehehe...before i even read what you'd written, i thought of those exact ads!! I hate them with a passion and switch over if they come on...

Some of the best ads have gotta be the one where the (grandfather/father) explains to the boy why they built the great wall of china....rabbits...hehehe!, and the XXXX ads with the men and the dog...mostly fishing!

Melski
01-11-2005, 08:41
I CAN'T STAND the Australian Workplace Choices ads.

You know, the ones that the Govt spent 20 million MORE THAN ORIGINALLY INTENDED WHOOPS.

They are soooooo effing annoying I just have to change the channel. And then they are on the other channel as well. Can;t get away from them aghhhhhhhhhh!!!!

I also can't stand the woman that says "As a Mum, I'm a great believer in nutella for breakfast" hehehehehe what a moron!!!!

DH and I are seriously thinking of investing in one of those machines that allow you to watch your programs without ads. Bliss!

veve
01-11-2005, 08:49
I nearly fell out of bed laughing the other night when I saw the new Rugs a Million Ad- where he SERIOUSLY looks at the camera,... and says how scary petrol prices are.. and how he REALLY feared for the prices of rugs...

PUHLEASE!!!! get a grip... .like those ads weren't ALREADY annoying enough!!!

tickle
01-11-2005, 08:55
I also HATE the bloody IR reforms ads! What a shame, protecting Australian's AAARRRGGGHHH!! They make me really crazy!!!

The next ones on my HATE list are the Lite n Easy ones with all the women sitting around talking about their weight loss. They really annoy me and they make me not want to join. Do you think they realise how annoying they are???

MonMic
01-11-2005, 08:56
AAAAHHHHHHHH. :eek:

The Harvey Norman and Domayne adds are so loud and annoying! :mad:

I have to mute or change the channel as my poor sleep deprived brain can't cope with the barrage of noise. I don't know how people absorb any of the add with all the loud music!

M.

01-11-2005, 10:55
The most annoying ad for me is that crazy frog!!! He is the most annoying little frog ive ever seen! :D My DS who is 6.5months old loves him so much. Every time he hears that song come on he turns his head and laughs at him. So i call my son the crazy frog as a nickname!

Tea Lady
01-11-2005, 10:56
Any ad for alcohol which involves a) guys getting hit in the private parts or b) gross guys suddenly becoming reeaaally attractive to hot girls just makes me despair for the future of the human race.

I love those early morning ads (at least here in brissie) for Carleton Custom Upholstery where the people haven't even dressed up or brushed their hair for the ad (I can laugh because grooming isn't exactly my strong point these days).

L

PS I also hated the medicare ads before the last election, but who didn't?

Shelly68
01-11-2005, 10:58
I just hate the add where the tongue comes out of the guys mouth, switch over every time it comes on.

But I love the add with the 2 hippos in the bed, what a crack up, that is so my bedroom every night, lmao

TwoBlue
01-11-2005, 10:58
I hate the adds for the "massive clearance sales" when they hit Jeffs shed or the likes (Melbourne....)

"EVERYTHING MUST GO !!
BELOW COST
BUY BUY BUY !!"

All yelled at you, yelled at you, YELLED AT YOU !!!!!!!!!!!!

so very annoying :mad:

Shelly68
01-11-2005, 11:00
Oh, they just had one of those up here in Brissy last weekend,

Bras for $5, yes, $5 (yeah, alright we get it, shut up already)

And the add goes for about 3 bloody minutes.

I've yet to go to one of those sales and don't think I ever will.

Would rather go to Rugs-A-Million, lol

TwoBlue
01-11-2005, 11:02
LOL

Yep thats them !! so they come to you guys too !!

AAAAHHHHHHHH :eek:

tickle
01-11-2005, 11:57
Oh, they just had one of those up here in Brissy last weekend,

Bras for $5, yes, $5 (yeah, alright we get it, shut up already)
AARRGGHH!!!
They drive me the most nuts!!!! :eek:
I heard one last night and ran for the remote!!!

rainbow
01-11-2005, 12:11
I hate that antz pantz ad with those rich girls.
The previous models did a much better job.
The current ad is just annoying.

Rockett
01-11-2005, 12:18
I hate the adds for the "massive clearance sales" when they hit Jeffs shed or the likes (Melbourne....)

"EVERYTHING MUST GO !!
BELOW COST
BUY BUY BUY !!"

HeHe we had similar a few weeks ago too! The guys voice was hoarse from screaming out the bargains! He would say TODAY is the last day!! hurry in hurry in!, and in the end they had "the last day" about 3 times lol,so we had to put up with the ad for about a week!

veve
01-11-2005, 12:25

"EVERYTHING MUST GO !!
BELOW COST
BUY BUY BUY !!"

Why do these ads get through the censors???? surely people complain!!! - they are so aggressive... I HAVE to change the channel...

maybe we should all ring in and complain..
they also seem to be on more than one channel!!! (9 and10??) - so they are hard to avoid...

wattle
01-11-2005, 12:26
Oh dear, I am laughing so much ... yes they YELL them at you for ages.

What about (in Melbourne) DIMMEY'S AND FORGES, DIMMEY'S AND FORGES, DIMMEY'S AND FORGES......... yes, I heard you the first time. For Gods sake stop yelling at me!
AAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaargh.

That thrush ad is woeful too. The 'love and commitment' thing.... now we've got rid of the guys, we can talk about thrush.... grin grin. Eeeeeeech.

Bring back Prof Sumdermiller (or however you spell it)

Foxymoron
01-11-2005, 13:56
I hate with PASSION those ads where they have some well known actress or personality saying why they love such and such a product, yeh if I want an expert product reccomendation I'll beleive Nicky Buckley, or Jane Hall in a flash! And that Brand power chick... Who the hell do they think they are dealing with? I know as a mother I have NOTHING better to do than wait around for someone to tell me what product to buy my family, cos I'm to dumb to figure that one myself!
Ack!

razzle
01-11-2005, 14:02
...and the woman on the Aust. Pensioners Insurance Agency. What's with those ridiculous glasses? And I'm not 'over 55' thank you very much.
Yeah - what's with her glasses??? Has anyone else noticed that they're a different pair in every ad? On the Temptation sponsor ad at the end of the show they're metal frames, but she also has a red pair, a blue pair and I've seen a purple pair as well. And why does she speak so fast?! How can old people understand her when she speaks so damn fast?!

I really hate the, I think, AAMI ad, where it's just writing on the red screen background. I never read it, it irritates me too much.

whatwasithinking
01-11-2005, 14:08
My suggestion is the WOKSTAR ad - the group of asian people screaming WOKSTAR WOKSTAR WOKSTAR WOKSTAR gets sooooo annoying - I can't even turn it over as DD loves the ad and laughs at it because she knows I don't like it.

ElizaDee
01-11-2005, 18:58
I don't like adds that yell or are repetative!

Like the Mcdonalds adds for the toasted french roll, uggh don't tell me 5 times in the one add!

Actually I hate almost every add so it might be easier to tell you what I like :p

I like the duck toilet add where they say that they can clean your toilet and prevent guk from sticking by saying " A helps prevents nasty skid marks" and the duck drives a car up the bowl and skids out! I think that one is too cute and clever!

01-11-2005, 19:01
The Vita-Weeties ad.
It's not so annoying as much as it is horrific. :eek:

hummingbird
01-11-2005, 19:30
How about that Pull-Ups ad where the woman is singing in a baby voice
'I'm a big kid now!'
and adds that annoying laugh at the end.

God, I HATE that ad.

ThomasMum
01-11-2005, 19:41
I hate The Crazy Frog Ring Tone ads!

Yikes! :mad:

xkwzit
01-11-2005, 19:47
Apart from those screaming ads that you guys have already mentioned, I hate foreign ads where they've dubbed over in Australian accents. You know the ones for Vileda mops, ALL the dandruff ads, there are heaps more that I can't think of now. I reckon if you're too cheap to make an ad for us in Oz, leave your accents in and stop pretending. I'd REALLY like it if the foreign language ones were subtitled - but they KNOW we'd never read it :D .

brooke
01-11-2005, 20:05
Boomtish- i hate that ad too but suprisingly its actually really effective! believe it or not..

I also really hate the commercial where the guys tounge comes out and walks of with the beer.. its makes me gag! i hate it!

Pixie
03-11-2005, 08:51
I hate all the ones you have mentioned lol especially the lite and easy and the pensioners one. "we don't even insure you at 45" GAWD I HATE YOU WOMAN

But I have a fave the one where the girls mum comes for dinner and the bag breaks and the food goes everywhere then she sits on the cat then the fish bowl ends up on the floor OMG that's soooo funny

And I love the adds with Tom Williams making the boost juice hahahhahhah that's not his arms makes me laff every time

dee dee
03-11-2005, 08:58
I hate the Goldmark adds that are on at the moment. What is with that song and that woman's voice. It is hideous!!!!! Does anyone actually understand a word of what she is singing????????????

Harmony83
03-11-2005, 09:24
Okay I have a fave ad, can I add that here too, (tuff im gonna anyway!!)
That beer ad (Carlton??), where it is sought of the movie Braveheart, and all the people run towards each other, but when the camera goes back, they form a person drinking a glass of beer!!
Sings 'Its a big ad, mighty big ad' - 'It better sell some bloody beer' Or something along those lines anyway!

Tea Lady
03-11-2005, 10:29
I never realised I hated so many ads!

On the subject of the aust pensioners insurance lady, was it her who played one of Pam Mullins' friends in "we can be heroes"? I'm nearly sure it was. Not that it's relevant!

L

whatwasithinking
03-11-2005, 10:33
I never realised I hated so many ads!

On the subject of the aust pensioners insurance lady, was it her who played one of Pam Mullins' friends in "we can be heroes"? I'm nearly sure it was. Not that it's relevant!

L

No sorry Luwa - the person who played Pam Mullins played all the other characters (can't think of his name but boy was he funny) - I loved that show!!

Tea Lady
03-11-2005, 10:39
Sorry, I meant Pam Mullins' friend - the one with the red hair. That show was sooooo hilarious - I've just been watching the DVD this week.
L

Angel_baby_1982
03-11-2005, 10:41
That beer ad (Carlton??), where it is sought of the movie Braveheart, and all the people run towards each other, but when the camera goes back, they form a person drinking a glass of beer!!
Sings 'Its a big ad, mighty big ad' - 'It better sell some bloody beer' Or something along those lines anyway!

I LOVE that add!!!!!

Any add with repetition or yelling/screaming gets on my nerves. Also a boring voice, anyone remember the origional rivers adds? is it just me or was that guy just incredibly boring!

BJelly
03-11-2005, 11:08
I get angry every time I see one of the government's IR ads - they are spending $55 MILLION on "educating" us about legislation that hasn't even been released yet - it's a hoot ringing the "hotline", they just read from the "Workchoices" booklet and can't give you any specific information, because there is none.

The ads are misleading - many of the things they say are going to be "protected by law", are only if you stay in your current job - if you change jobs and are given an individual work contract to sign, then your penalty rates, public hols, super, meal breaks will be up for grabs.

And if you are on the dole, you'll have to take whatever you are given or lose 8 weeks of payments - even if the most basic of work conditions such as meal breaks have been removed - do they think workers are robots who don't need a few minutes off to eat, have a drink, rest, go to the toilet every few hours?

I weep for our children's future :( .

Angel_baby_1982
03-11-2005, 11:12
What annoys me is the thousands of twits who keep voting for 'little johnny'

whatwasithinking
03-11-2005, 11:39
Sorry, I meant Pam Mullins' friend - the one with the red hair. That show was sooooo hilarious - I've just been watching the DVD this week.
L

No I need to say sorry - I didn't read your first post very well :o - no wonder I didn't do too good at school exams (never properly read the question so always got them wrong :( )

Mumma_Duck
03-11-2005, 12:14

I don't really like any add that involves beer. Oh and those stupid Couger ads that use to be on. And any ad that involves that crazy frog!! its so annoying... ha ha, not a whole lot of ads that i can tolerate these days.. and the Coco Pops ad with the chick from playschool, Monica something.

There is an ad that i do like (but don't coz it's a Mc Donalds ad), is the inner child one, where the kids come out and they look like miniture versions of the adults. I think its so cute, in their little "adult style" outfits.

Thats my 2 cents!!

Shelly68
03-11-2005, 13:26
What about that stupid McDonalds add where they kids climb out of the people's stomachs (meant to be younger versions of themselves). I don't know why but it really irks me that commercial.