View Full Version : married? engaged?

dannii
22-12-2006, 01:56 PM
i was just curious to find out how many people are actual married? or just plan on a long engagment etc... or have no plans of getting married but live like a married couple iykwim.

my sister just told me this morning shes getting married, and they havent even been together for a year. (i have no problem with this)

DF proposed to me after about the 1st year and were heading into our 7th year together now and we still have no plans on a wedding.

so i was curious how long it was until you got married from the time you got engaged?

zada
22-12-2006, 01:58 PM
we got engaged august 03, married march 04, had bub may 04 :laughing:

dannii
22-12-2006, 01:59 PM
ok well you were much more organised than me :D

zada
22-12-2006, 02:04 PM
oh if dh had his way it wouldnt have happened like that :laughing:

mochridhe
22-12-2006, 02:05 PM
We started "dating" seriously in December 99, got engaged in Feb 00, married in Jan 01.

QTB
22-12-2006, 02:07 PM
Married

and we got engaged in august 04 married may 05 :)

Sharelle
22-12-2006, 02:08 PM
We got engaged in June 03 an will get married when we can afford too!!!

Well we were going too next year, but as my Mum passed away this year and I had to pay for the funeral it put as behind financially.

God that sounds horrible!:eek: I didn't mean that in a whingy way...:rolleyes:

dannii
22-12-2006, 02:10 PM
wow so many organised women.
the money is partly the reason, but i know i could save for it. its more the organising of it all :cool:
im not real good at organising celebrations!!

dont worry sharelle, it didnt sound like u were whinging hun. you'll get there. :)
im very sorry to hear about your mum passing.

mochridhe
22-12-2006, 02:13 PM
dannii, it is definitely one of those things that does seem totally daunting, until you actually get into it.

Once you start researching, contacting people, getting prices & quotes, it all kind of falls into place! :)

dannii
22-12-2006, 02:17 PM
dannii, it is definitely one of those things that does seem totally daunting, until you actually get into it.

Once you start researching, contacting people, getting prices & quotes, it all kind of falls into place! :)

lol mrshiggins. i must be REALLY bad at it then.
because i once step into the world of wedding organising.

i got the wedding venue booked, the celebrant, the suit for the groom, the outfits for the kids (flower girls and page boy) the bridesmaids dresses on layby.
the groomsmens suits on order. etc et

and then the day came and went . we got a bit into it and just stuff kept coming up.

now we still have his suit in the cupboard. the kids clothes dont fit them anymore and lost the deposits for the venues. :rolleyes:

Pixie
22-12-2006, 02:17 PM
Met in 97 got together 98 so coming up 9 years I am not into weddings as such nor marriage but he has asked 4 times and I have said no, but apparently I am getting married in 6 months and then we are coming back here for a party with our Aussie friends....good he can organise it all I shall lose ten kilos and turn up :D

I am not interested in rocks or dresses so he picked an odd one, I'd rather my money, sorry our money go to our sponsor kiddie and Eliza and our future not on a wedding. JMO

+ for some reason I am terrified of the idea lol

dannii
22-12-2006, 02:20 PM
lol pixie, i wish my df was like that. although he has proposed twice, he still expects me to organise everything and he'll just show up! :D

22-12-2006, 02:21 PM
Grant and I have been engaged for 2 years (just over) I am hoping to get married next year in October but we'll see what happens.

22-12-2006, 02:24 PM
We started dating in 1998 then engaged in 2002 married in 2003 had Ozzy in 2005. I think that's right!:o

Pixie
22-12-2006, 02:26 PM
lol pixie, i wish my df was like that. although he has proposed twice, he still expects me to organise everything and he'll just show up! :D

I told him this morning as he was telling me all about what will happen at the party.

He seems rather excited to be getting married it's weird, I didn't think guys got excited about that sorta stuff!!

FourAngelKisses
22-12-2006, 02:27 PM
Married for 10yrs here.

We were engaged 3mths after we met and married 12mths after that.

dannii
22-12-2006, 02:30 PM
I told him this morning as he was telling me all about what will happen at the party.

He seems rather excited to be getting married it's weird, I didn't think guys got excited about that sorta stuff!!

yeah i didnt think so too.. well i was hoping it wasnt just me hahaha

i guess if he didnt want to marry me he wouldnt have asked twice.

hes not real big on detail though, so maybe its best if i plan it :laughing:

Pixie
22-12-2006, 02:32 PM
ya can you imagine walking down theasile going
"ughhh, why did he pick those flowers"

Rockett
22-12-2006, 02:33 PM
We got engaged about a year and a half after we met...got engaged in July 04,married Sept 04 (I organised the wedding in 4 weeks :eek: ) and had bub in Feb 05.:)

dannii
22-12-2006, 02:38 PM
lol pixie :laughing:

We got engaged about a year and a half after we met...got engaged in July 04,married Sept 04 (I organised the wedding in 4 weeks :eek: ) and had bub in Feb 05.:)

think u may need to give me some tips!!!!! :D

threecuties
22-12-2006, 02:39 PM
We meet in Dec 95, got engaged in Feb 98 and was married in Nov 99.

our little treasures
22-12-2006, 03:59 PM
Started dating March 00 Engaged March 02 Married March 03 first bub January 04 second bub August 05..

This year is the first year we haven't had anything major happen..

shed
22-12-2006, 04:05 PM
Got engaged at Easter 06 and will be getting married in May 07. Hopefully. If I can organise something before then.

I really want to get married, I am looking forward to being married. A bit ho-hum about the organising of the wedding. Its not as much fun as what I thought it would be but it might get better as the time gets closer.

Oh, and we would have been together for three and a half years

oleander
22-12-2006, 04:18 PM
I am soon to be divorced:smiliedance: so I chose 'single' :)

Back to the question, I was engaged after 15 months then married 9 months later.

DubbaBubba
22-12-2006, 04:26 PM
We met In 2004 startedd dating got engaged after 6 months and married April 2006.
All DH did was got the suits ( he works in a mens wear store ) and turn up :laughing: :laughing:

Eleroo
22-12-2006, 04:37 PM
we got together in feb 99 and we got engaged beginning of march 01 and we got married in nov 02, so it was just over a year and a half beween engagement and wedding

22-12-2006, 04:45 PM
we got together april 1996, engaged sept 1998, married sept 1999.

just not long ago celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary :D

Lirael
22-12-2006, 04:47 PM
you dont have an option for

'not living together, not engaged or married, sometimes in a serious relationship sometimes not, dont know whats going on but we love eachother and are faithful to one another' :o:D

Percy
22-12-2006, 05:29 PM
Got together in feb 04, engaged in august 04, had DS in May 05 and then were married jan 06.:kiss:

Bron
22-12-2006, 05:40 PM
OK, this is not a typo, I repeat, this information is correct.

Met and started going out in 1993. Moved in together in 2001. Engaged June 2004. Married January 2005.

:eek:

Bubble*Crazy
22-12-2006, 05:43 PM
We have been together 8 years this coming February (Feb 99) and (well, at this stage :p), no plans of marriage. We moved in together though after 4 months (Jun 99), and had DD 14 months later (Aug 00). DS then arrived May 06 ... another 6 years on!

Geez, there's only 2 of us that have voted for this option so far - I'm very surprised!

ButterflyMama
22-12-2006, 05:52 PM
We got engaged april 06, married october 06.

dannii
22-12-2006, 05:55 PM
you dont have an option for

'not living together, not engaged or married, sometimes in a serious relationship sometimes not, dont know whats going on but we love eachother and are faithful to one another' :o:D

You know.. i nearly put that exact option in. now i know i should have:D

TabouliRasta
22-12-2006, 06:56 PM
We met and got together in Feb 1997, moved in together in Feb 2000, got engaged in October 2002 and got married September 2003.

dannii
22-12-2006, 07:45 PM
OK, this is not a typo, I repeat, this information is correct.

Met and started going out in 1993. Moved in together in 2001. Engaged June 2004. Married January 2005.

:eek:

lol
when i met my df i said to myself i wanna wait for ages b4 we move in together... we done the usual "were spending all this time together, we might as well live together"

and that happen not long after we were together.
so i reckon u done well :D

blessedmummy
22-12-2006, 09:43 PM
DH and i met in May2001, got engaged in july 2001 then married in Jan 2002, had 1DD in June 2003, 2DD in October 2004!! :D

Rockett
22-12-2006, 10:18 PM
think u may need to give me some tips!!!!! :D

Here's my best tip for you :D ...don't organise your wedding in 4 weeks!!!
It was so stressful,and being pregnant made it just that much harder.

BlessedWithBlue
22-12-2006, 10:50 PM
After a 4 year engagement we only just got married in November lol

kristy J
22-12-2006, 10:53 PM
we met in 1999 (19y/o)

Engaged in 2002

Married in 2004 (only so long between cause the reception venue was booked out for 2 years)

Niki
22-12-2006, 10:57 PM
we got engaged feb 2006
and are getting married jan 2007

22-12-2006, 11:03 PM
We recently got engaged,we had previously been engaged for a couple of years but we had a break and then got back together and he proposed,we are getting married next year in November.

HugsAndKisses
31-12-2006, 12:03 PM
Df an i had been together 3 years when i fell pregnant...about four year when he asked me to marry him...we planned our wedding for september of this year (2006) but it was put off because we moved and used our money to move rather than the wedding....its back on now for feb 24th and its all planned and paid for :yes:
:smiliedance: im so excited:smiliedance:

LittleBoysRock
31-12-2006, 12:06 PM
We got engaged March 2004, pregnant Nov 2004, married January 2005.

Coming up to 2 years married and loving it!

31-12-2006, 01:47 PM
so i was curious how long it was until you got married from the time you got engaged?

13 Months (too long :p )

TyBean
31-12-2006, 03:30 PM
DF and I got engaged exactly one year ago today... well tonight at the stroke of midnight.... we set the date for November 07... then we could have time to set up a house, TTC and possibly have a lil bubs.... which we conceived first time... so now is just the countdown to the wedding!! YAY

LoveMyBaby
31-12-2006, 03:36 PM
Married.
We got together at 16, engaged at 18 and married at 20. Seven years later and we have a gorgeous baby boy. We are still best friends too.:kiss:

borntobemummy
31-12-2006, 03:38 PM
we got together in January 2000 when we finished high school, got engaged June 2000, married January 2002, first bub September 2005, second due May 2007.

Dannii79
31-12-2006, 03:40 PM
DH and I got together just after I turned 17. He FINALLY proposed on our 8 year "anniversary" and we got married 5 mths later.

Mamaduke
31-12-2006, 03:41 PM
We met in June 1997, got engaged March 1998, got married December 1998, had our first child September 2001 & had our second June 2004.

SweetDreams
31-12-2006, 04:46 PM
Together beginning of '01, living together mid '01, engaged mid '03 then married mid '05 (after having LDR between '03 and '05!)

31-12-2006, 04:53 PM
Met in 1996
Dating 1997
Engaged 1998
About 11 months later
Married 1999
First child 2000

Scout
31-12-2006, 05:27 PM
Have been together 8 years and lived together for 7. No plans to get married. Although (and I admit this will sound weird), I want DP to buy me a ring to wear on my left ring finger so that people who don't know me think that I am married. I find that some people look at me a little strangely - or maybe I move in circles where it is more "acceptable" to be married.

I've been married before though and for me it is not the be all and end all.

Kizmet
31-12-2006, 05:59 PM
We have been married for 3 long months now :laughing: :laughing: we got married on the 16th of september 2006 and DD was our flower girl-she was 6 months old at the time and stole the show but that was ok took the pressure off us :thumbsup:

auntka
01-01-2007, 05:07 PM
hi all,
DF and I met in 2003 (I was seeing a friend of his)
got together in October 05
got engaged in May 06
getting married in 26 days :smiliedance:

brooke
01-01-2007, 05:11 PM
my dh and i met Feb 02 engaged march 03 and married feb 04! baby dec 2005 :laughing:

Dannii- i will come organise your wedding for you! :laughing: You know how much i love to organise parties! :D

library-laksa
01-01-2007, 06:40 PM

met: late 1999
got together: april 02
moved in together: december 02
got the mortgage: april 04
engaged: june 06
married: december 06
bub due: march 07

we were discussing the wedding before we officially got engaged, hence only 6 months between engagement and wedding! :hugs:

angcaltam
01-01-2007, 07:48 PM
Started dating 8th Oct 1996
Engaged 29th May 1997
Moved in together August 1998
Married 9th Jan 1999
DS1 Born 29th Oct 2000
DS2 Born 8th Nov 2002
DD Born 14th April 2006

Almost married 8 years ! ! !:yelclap: :smiliedance: :wizard: :party:

kewlchicmum
01-01-2007, 07:58 PM
Hey I am engaged and we are getting married just before the baby is due wedding date 5th Jan baby due 16th Jan.....we were always going to get married just thought it would me nice just before the baby....its only a very very small wedding just my family mum dad and 2 sisters and cousin and her hubby later when it all settles down with bub and stuff we are going to have a party and invite everyone and have a baby name giving as well my partner works away 2 and 2 so its hard to arrange a proper wedding but I just really like this idea

library-laksa
01-01-2007, 08:06 PM
hey kewlchicmum
my hubby works away too, his roster is one week on, one off. he is home tomorrow night, yay! we only had 2 1/2 days together after the wedding and most of it was filled with xmas relly bashes :(
and i need a lower back massage!

Lollie
02-01-2007, 02:06 AM
I'm married :thumbsup:

April 2nd 2007 is our 2nd yr wedding and 7 yr anniversary :smiliedance:

2000 - met
2001 - engaged
2002 - firstborn
2005 - Married
2006 - Twins
2007 - 7yr 'itch', & birth of baby #4

meb
02-01-2007, 05:13 AM
Together 8 years this year. Engaged 7 months. First bub due 5th of February. DP would like us to be married when bub arrives but I'm not in such a rush. Not that I don't want to but I just didn't want to be a "fat" pregnant bride. Once bubs arrives I need to serviously look at walking this weight off and all things going to plan I think we'll get married Cup Weekend this year.

iamstephyc
02-01-2007, 12:08 PM
My DH and I knew each other for years but were not really friends... After we beacme friends it was between 6 months and a year before we started 'going out', then 4 months later we were engaged and 3 1/2 months after that, we were married... 18 months later we had our first baby, and now here we are almost 8 years later expecting our 5th!

candyn
02-01-2007, 02:30 PM
I also knew of Hubby for years and we always saw each other here and there but there is a bit of an age gap, there is 11 years difference the first time i saw him i was 10 and he 21!!

Once we got together we were going out for 7 months before he proposed on October 1996 and we got married 5 months after in March 1997.

I was happy to get eloped as i believe that marriage is not about the who ha, but we ended having a big wedding of about 300 people:eek:

imogensmummy2005
04-01-2007, 02:25 PM
We just got engaged on xmas day!!

Feb 2004 Started dating
June 2004 Moved in together
August 2005 DD born
Dec 2006 Got engaged!!
Jan 2007 DS or DD2 is due!

So it has been quite an action packed 3 years for us, and the next 2 years should be just as hectic with a new house to build and wedding to organise!

JorBai
04-01-2007, 02:28 PM
Married:thumbsup:

Got together officially in July 1998, Engaged in August 2003 and Married in November 2004.

Our first beautiful baby boy born in Nov 2005:D

justrace
04-01-2007, 09:50 PM
Knew each other for 6 years (same as iamstephyc)through friends, but we weren't really friends.
Started Dating: April 2000
Living together: June 2000
Engaged: April 2003
Married: March 2004
Our boy born: April 2006

Ness84
04-01-2007, 11:13 PM
I'm nearly married :fingerscrossed: . DF and I were pretty quick at deciding we wanted to get married, and didn't want to live with each other prior to getting married (due to bad ex experiences) so only wanted a one year engagement (give or take). Once we set the date (3rd February 2007) and paid the deposit, I did a spreadsheet of all the things I had to do. And I still have heaps left!!! :eek:

This was our timeline:

Met DF January 06
Engaged June 06
Set wedding date July 06
Got BFP September 06

mumofcaleb
05-01-2007, 10:10 PM
We got together in September 2003 and had Caleb in November 2005. Have no plans for marriage until we can afford it. Although I would love to get married, we want a house first.