View Full Version : Doing more research
Angel_baby_1982
31-10-2005, 17:59
What is your fav fitted cloth nappy/flat nappy fold and why?
Really want to find a cheaper alternative to sposies but having difficulty finding a cloth nappy that can contain my son's poops!
If you have a few favs feel free to list them all ;)
Thanks guys!
sopolicha
31-10-2005, 18:25
After using Huggies on numbers 1 and 2, I thought I had contributed enough to the landfill and for number 3 - I am now using fitted hemp nappies. I love them and would not go back.
They take a bit of getting used to - with what liner and cover to use etc and the "dry pailing" thing (I really hate that expression), but it is well worth it. With three small kids I find that I am washing every second day anyway, so I have not really noticed it. If you want the particular brand I am using PM me.
H&B'sMum
31-10-2005, 18:33
I'm a pockets girl and love Greens or Bitsforbots. I also love my Honey hemp from baby beehinds.
The 'best' nappy will depend on your child - age/size/shape. Which ones have you tried?
My fave fitted nappies for a newborn would be a size 1 snappiable Tots Bots (cleverpants.com.au) because it is fantastic for containing explosive poos. The terry loops seem to catch everything and they provide the best fit over the widest range of body types. It is also really absorbant but unfortunately you compromise bulk for that (it's not as bulky as a folded flat terry though).
I also like Erica's (http://www.ericanappies.com.au/store/) hemp blends. They are a nice trim fit and come in heaps of cute prints. Most of mine have an inner layer of cotton velour which is nice and soft against bub's skin.
Lots of people love BabyBeehinds (http://www.babybeehinds.com.au/). They are a one size fits all hemp nappy. I'm not as keen on it because I find that it still doesn't absorb enough for my heavy wetter and the fit just isn't as good for us. I also find it to get very 'hard' due to the hemp content (which wouldn't be a problem if you used a dryer).
I would advise against getting the Motherease One Size (http://www.nipnaps.com.au/products/nappies.shtml) because I find it very wide in the crotch which results in a poor fit around the legs. It also isn't very absorbant even with the extra booster.
Since about 6mths, I've been a pocket nappy convert. Fuzzi Bunz (www.theweewuns.au.com) are great because you can fit in a lot of stuffing/boosters without overstuffing it and getting leaks. However, I find it doesn't provide a good enough fit around the legs for when DS is doing those runny teething poos. It is my preferred night nappy because I can used a microfibre insert and a hemp booster which will last my son 12hrs easily overnight without it being too bulky.
My favourite pocket nappy would have to be a Sandra's Stuffable (http://www.sandrasstuffables.com.au/) side snap nappy because of the wonderful fit. It would be my second choice after Tot's for containment but I don't know what it would be like on a smaller baby. Sandra's online store is closed right now though :( Green Nappies (www.greennappies.com) are good too.
I like my Swaddlebee (www.theweewuns.au.com) pockets because they are super trim but you can't fit in much stuffing so I need to change them more often which is a pain.
There are heaps of other great nappies out there, I've just covered a few of the more well known ones :) The most important thing with fitteds and flat nappies is to get a good cover. The Motherease Airflow (http://www.nipnaps.com.au/products/covers.shtml) is my fave over folded flat terries but does have a 'puffy' look. It works well over fitteds too but I prefer something trimmer over trim nappies. I also like wool covers but understand they're not for everyone.
If you planning on using folded flats, I would recommend the Jo Fold (http://www.thenappylady.co.uk/Advice/Instructions.asp?InstructionID=2&index=1). It is excellent for newborns and can be adjusted to fit toddlers too. It only has two layers at the back so won't cause bub's bottom to stick up in the air and has all the extra layers where it's need most. If you 'roll' the fabric in around the legs before snappi-ing you create a gusset effect which will help catch any accidents too. To make it fit a larger baby, just make the initial 'square' into more of a rectangle. It's difficult to explain without pictures but if you play around, you'll get it.
Hope my ramble helps and feel free to ask any more specific questions :)
Angel_baby_1982
31-10-2005, 22:33
Thanks girls, Keep those reccomendations comming!
My son is 4 months old but I am not sure of his weight at the moment!
I have only used cloth fitted nappies I have borrowed; I have tried
baby behinds
motherease
Fluffies
Terra Gronappi
widdlebumz hemp nappy
and 3 others that the mums couldn't remember what brand they were and had no labling.
All of these leaked poop for me.
Right now I am using terry towling flats because its all I own and they do just as good a job as the fitted ones I have tried, and we can't afford more sposies :(
I'm not surprised that you weren't impressed with cloth if these are the fitteds you have tried :eek: The only one out of that list that I would recommend would be Baby Beehinds but as I mentioned, they are not my favourite.
Motherease are nortorious for not being very absorbant and I found the OS to be a very poor fit too. Fluffies are just plain crap. The stuffing in the middle is a synthetic non absorbant wadding (what are the manufacturer's thinking??? Don't they realise what a nappy's job is??). I haven't tried widdlebumz but have read a non favourable review about it.
If cost is a big issue, I would stick with the folded flat terries and invest in a couple of good quality covers. I'm very happy with my Motherease covers but I also hear people rave about Bummi's. The usual recommendation is 4 covers per size but if you were willing to hand wash and give your son some nappy free or cover free time you could get away with just one. Once when I was caught out, I hand washed a cover in the bathroom vanity (with just plain soap) and just rolled it up in a towel to dry it.
Also, are you using snappis to fasten the nappy? They seem to secure the nappy better than using pins.
Edited to ask - are you using fleece liners? If not, you should consider trying them. They help to create a stay dry effect for bubs and makes cleaning up much easier too. You just need to get some 100% polyester microfleece (thinner and better quality) or polar fleece from Spolight or whereever and cut them to size. It doesn't fray so won't need any hemming.
Angel_baby_1982
01-11-2005, 16:16
Thanks Lucy!
I am using a snappi and the only covers I have at the moment are mainly the pvc ones from woolies. I have a few nice ones but not sure what brand they are.
I'm using that jo fold, so far its great! Can't believe I never saw it before!
Have to get some of that microfleece, Tommy gets rashy very quickly in cloths, the fleece might help.
Thankyou!
sundaymum
04-11-2005, 10:18
Hello Angel-baby!
just thinking about your pooping little 4 month old...
to me, success for you will probably be all in the effectiveness of your cover, and as others have recommended, the Motherease PUL covers are great.
I prefer wool covers myself, but for explosive poos, you would definitely be better off, at this stage, with a good, quick washing, easy cleaning waterproof Motherease Air Flow.
My favourite nappies are Tots Bots and Ella's House hemp bumhuggers (http://www.nurturenappies.com.au) for overnight; I've found that Tots Bots have a really reliable tried and tested classic nappy that has always contained our poos well!
I've tried lots of fitted nappies, and I can't think of one that would be superior in terms of poo containment than a classic Tots Bots nappy. Snappi fastening would be better than Aplix fastening, for the most snug fit.
Also,if Tommy has a bit of nappy rash, apart from the fleece liners, you can try silk liners to help treat and prevent the rash.
Hope this helps you a little...