View Full Version : Parliamentary Inquiry into Breastfeeding

DellaWellaWoman
21-12-2006, 14:43

There's currently a Parliamentary Inquiry into Breastfeeding being conducted. The terms of reference are:

“The Committee shall inquire into and report on how the Commonwealth government can take a lead role to improve the health of the Australian population through support for breastfeeding. The Committee shall give particular consideration to:

a. the extent of the health benefits of breastfeeding;

b.evaluate the impact of marketing of breast milk substitutes on breastfeeding rates and, in particular, in disadvantaged, Indigenous and remote communities;

c. the potential short and long term impact on the health of Australians of increasing the rate of breastfeeding;

d. initiatives to encourage breastfeeding;

e. examine the effectiveness of current measures to promote breastfeeding; and

f. the impact of breastfeeding on the long term sustainability of Australia’s health system.”

If you're interested in sending in a submission have a look at http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/haa/breastfeeding/index.htm

Have a great day everyone!

M O P
21-12-2006, 15:14
Well that sounds like a positive step-
sad isn't we need "d. initiatives to encourage breastfeeding;"

tbmum
19-01-2007, 16:10
Ahh, Debbie, I did a search and didn't find a post on this topic, so I posted information on it in another area probably - oh well, It won't hurt!

How is your submission going?
tbmum

DellaWellaWoman
19-01-2007, 21:57
I'm up to about 6 pages so far - just a matter of finding time to do it when (1) my brain's working and (2) DD doesn't want to be held.

I can type one handed, but it's such a slooow process, and I can do 80wpm so it's painful doing it while holding DD...lol

I'll definitely get it in before the end of Feb tho!

~Kimba~
20-01-2007, 09:14
Wow finally.

Thanks for posting this I'll definitely have something to say - especially after birthing DS in a supposedly 'breastfeeding friendly' public hospital who outright denied my request to have my son placed on my chest to allow him his first feed while I was in recovery after emergency c-section (and we were both fine, so no reason not to). The irony is that the middie who was with me in the delivery room and theatre was the one who'd conducted the antenatal class, where they showed us a video with all the benefits of skin contact and baby-led feeding in that first hour, and she didn't support my request! Talk about hypocrisy! :no:

OscarTheGrouch
20-01-2007, 11:20
Maybe they could look in to getting Lactation Consultants fees refundable from Medicare. Also having publically funded community Lactation Consultants.

Kimbaleo - Know what you're saying there, it's a horrible feeling having your child taken away from you when you're in recovery. I think it's more of an infection control issue than anything. Sux though.:thumbsdown:

20-01-2007, 11:50
Also having publically funded community Lactation Consultants.

I like that idea:thumbsup:

meme
20-01-2007, 17:29
Wow finally.

Thanks for posting this I'll definitely have something to say - especially after birthing DS in a supposedly 'breastfeeding friendly' public hospital who outright denied my request to have my son placed on my chest to allow him his first feed while I was in recovery after emergency c-section (and we were both fine, so no reason not to). The irony is that the middie who was with me in the delivery room and theatre was the one who'd conducted the antenatal class, where they showed us a video with all the benefits of skin contact and baby-led feeding in that first hour, and she didn't support my request! Talk about hypocrisy! :no:

Maybe they could look in to getting Lactation Consultants fees refundable from Medicare. Also having publically funded community Lactation Consultants.

Kimbaleo - Know what you're saying there, it's a horrible feeling having your child taken away from you when you're in recovery. I think it's more of an infection control issue than anything. Sux though.:thumbsdown:

exactly , these are the things that need expressing.
i hope that you guys can express this with a submission.

our little treasures
20-01-2007, 20:38

ABSOLUTELY.. What a fab idea!!

31-01-2007, 08:55
When do submissions close?

shed
31-01-2007, 09:10
exactly , these are the things that need expressing.
i hope that you guys can express this with a submission.

Expressing!! ha ha pardon the pun meme!!

Well if they want to help, my idea is to get some decent chairs in the parents rooms. the ones they stick in there have high sides and I can't get bubby on the right angle now. It was so uncomfortable once he got to be about two months old. I know its only a small thing, but I dread going in there now. It should be a relaxing comfortable place, not a dingy little room with a hard chair.

Also; Formula was pushed onto us when we went back for bubby to go under the phototherapy lights. I refused. Formula was also pushed by the paediatrician when we went for a follow up check up. I refused. It takes a lot of guts for a new mother to stand up to a doctor and then a paediatrician and it shouldn't have been necessary.

I'm still furious about it.

My cousin had twins by caesarean and they hadn't developed the sucking reflex yet or it was dulled by the drugs, whichever one.

They were given formula via tube and given a dummy to LEARN to suck :eek: she wanted to breastfeed, but needless to say, they would never attach after that. UNsurprisingly. :rolleyes:

Anyway, don't get me started.

Oh, you already did :D

tbmum
01-02-2007, 09:47
When do submissions close?
They close on February 28th - heaps of time!
An email describing all the **** experiences you and people you know have endured is enough, they are really keen to hear from mums of real experiences it seems. Especially the lady whose hcp's pushed formula - dreadful! The twins mum - if a milk bank was available would be the best option if she wasn't able to express yet from the operation, it is terrible she was thwarted in her bf. Demand all hospitals be made baby friendly - at least that guarantees a level of education totally lacking in many places. Ugh.

mythreelittlemonkeys
01-02-2007, 10:07
[QUOTE=Kimbaleo;1017472]Wow finally.

Thanks for posting this I'll definitely have something to say - especially after birthing DS in a supposedly 'breastfeeding friendly' public hospital who outright denied my request to have my son placed on my chest to allow him his first feed while I was in recovery after emergency c-section (and we were both fine, so no reason not to). The irony is that the middie who was with me in the delivery room and theatre was the one who'd conducted the antenatal class, where they showed us a video with all the benefits of skin contact and baby-led feeding in that first hour, and she didn't support my request! Talk about hypocrisy! :no:[/QUOTe
I had the same experience - there argument is the same recovery room is used for gynae patients and termination patients who may not want to hear a screaming baby...I was gutted...as it was 6 o clock in morning and room was empty...we were both fine and because of it I had real attachment problems I didnt get to have first feed till nearly 2 hours after...
I agree it is sad initiatives are needed to breastfeed...BTW I am the only one in 8 in our mothers group that does...

tbmum
01-02-2007, 13:02
I had the same experience - there argument is the same recovery room is used for gynae patients and termination patients who may not want to hear a screaming baby...I was gutted...as it was 6 o clock in morning and room was empty...we were both fine and because of it I had real attachment problems I didnt get to have first feed till nearly 2 hours after...
I agree it is sad initiatives are needed to breastfeed...BTW I am the only one in 8 in our mothers group that does...That's a garbage reason - babies can't 'scream' while breastfeeding - that is what you do for a quiet baby! It is so important these people are educated about establishing bf, and how skin on skin asap and bonding time and baby led attachment let nature take it's course - baby doing the work, not a midwife fluffing around with their head and your boob!

tbmum
13-02-2007, 08:02
I sent my submission in, feeling great to have had my say!!

Have you all sent yours yet?

I noticed they will remove all names, contact details from the submissions when they 'publish' them to the inquiry website. I said "Mrs X" would be fine by me!

Sheer Bliss
13-02-2007, 09:01
Expressing!! ha ha pardon the pun meme!!

Well if they want to help, my idea is to get some decent chairs in the parents rooms. the ones they stick in there have high sides and I can't get bubby on the right angle now. It was so uncomfortable once he got to be about two months old. I know its only a small thing, but I dread going in there now. It should be a relaxing comfortable place, not a dingy little room with a hard chair.

Also; Formula was pushed onto us when we went back for bubby to go under the phototherapy lights. I refused. Formula was also pushed by the paediatrician when we went for a follow up check up. I refused. It takes a lot of guts for a new mother to stand up to a doctor and then a paediatrician and it shouldn't have been necessary.

I'm still furious about it.

My cousin had twins by caesarean and they hadn't developed the sucking reflex yet or it was dulled by the drugs, whichever one.

They were given formula via tube and given a dummy to LEARN to suck :eek: she wanted to breastfeed, but needless to say, they would never attach after that. UNsurprisingly. :rolleyes:

Anyway, don't get me started.

Oh, you already did :D

It's great they are going to do something about it!

With the chairs in parents rooms - TOTALLY agree - half of them are awful! I tried to only go to the centres that have lounges in the parents rooms - it's not always that easy though.

With premmie/early bubs - it's strange how they are treated differently - i think it has something to do with how early they are - but...DD was almost 4weeks early, b/f was encouraged within minutes of her being born. Her sucking reflex was poor & she fell asleep after a few minutes. So we fed her colostrum hand expressed via a syringe thingy, then throat tube fed EBM AFTER whe fell asleep at the boob. And NO dummy at all was offered as they said that would make her too tired to feed. Totally opposite to other premmies i have heard about(although she has been classed as a bit early, rather than a premmie), who didn't go on to be breast fed. Surely there needs to be a uniform 'best practice' method out there??

13-02-2007, 18:44
I have almost finished writing my submission

our little treasures
13-02-2007, 18:48
I have to agree with those chairs, I thought it was just me!! I have had to use the actual lounge chairs in the front and the ff mums glare at me.. I can't help my big bubba didn't fit!!

tbmum
14-02-2007, 11:53
They are just starting to put the submissions up on the Inquiry website:
http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/haa/breastfeeding/subs.htm
I've had a read - great stuff.

meme
14-02-2007, 15:05
i just dashed off a quick email, it took me not too long to write.
i would have given it some more time and thought normally, but with the closing date coming up and all thats been going on with me i thought a quick email would be better than missing out on having a say.

this is too good an oppurtunity to miss of being part of a positive change that will benefit all mothers and babies.

if you are like me and leaving it till the last minute( or for someone else to do) consider dashing off a quick email to let our government know what would/did help with supporting, promoting and encouraging breastfeeding.

shed
14-02-2007, 15:59
I just wrote them an email.

It was a bit all over the place and I probably came across like a bit of a bogan, but hopefully they get the gist of it!

red crayon
14-02-2007, 16:11
Just discovered this thread. Good on you everyone who's submitted. I'm going to have a look and put some thoughtts together. I luckily had positive experiences when starting up the b/fing in hospital, including being helped a very gentle male midwife named Darren. Is it possible that we can recommend that the community mind their own business when it comes to mothers' choices and b/fing in public???

tbmum
15-02-2007, 15:37
You can put whatever you like in your submission - go crazy! bf in public: Here here! Ask for a TV campaign to support women!
I just wrote this in a letter for a magazine requesting an article on that very issue:

The issue of a baby’s right to breastfeed when its mother is out is another area that I’d like more information and support on – what laws protect us? What are our rights and recourse if discriminated against? What are examples of discrimination? What places are particularly breastfeeding friendly?
The ABA forum has a thread woth lots of discussion on the inquiry, there might be a few ideas that reflect your experiences, so you can use them yourself:
http://www.lrc.asn.au/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5313

AM
15-02-2007, 16:41
I think I might put some stuff together about supporting womens choice to homeirth, as breastfeeding estalishment rates for homebirthers are phenomenally high.

BJelly
15-02-2007, 16:52
Maybe someone from the government should go to Norway (Saw a bit about this on Oprah today) - they have a phenomenal rate of BF - nothing like not having to reinvent the wheel.

http://www.infactcanada.ca/goodgood.htm
Quote: In Norway, where breastfeeding policies protecting breastfeeding women’s needs have been in place since the 70’s, approximately 97% of women breastfeed when leaving hospital, 80 per cent are breastfeeding at 3 months and 20 per cent beyond 12 months.

Government family policies play an important role in enabling women to achieve good breastfeeding rates.

In Norway:

* maternity leave is 42 weeks with full pay or 52 weeks with 80 per cent of salary
* flexible part time is available for women from two months after giving birth with income supplemented from maternity benefits
* after returning to work women are entitled to 1 - 1 1/2 hour breaks to return home to breastfeed, or to have the child brought to work.

Another website's blurb about Norway
http://www.babymilkaction.org/pages/uklaw.html#15

Case study of Norway

"Recently a Norwegian cabinet minister went on maternity leave, being the first woman in the country's history to give birth while holding a ministerial post. Newspapers wrote with concern about how she would manage to combine her duties in the Ministry with breastfeeding her child. It was taken for granted that she was to breastfeed, even with such a demanding job." Source: The case of breastfeeding in Norway, The Norwegian Breastfeeding Association (Ammehjelpen, September 1994.)
Breastfeeding rates in Norway

98% of women leave maternity wards breastfeeding. 90% are breastfeeding at 3-4 months. 75% of women are still breastfeeding at 6 months.

Maternity leave in Norway

In Norway, women with paid work outside the home breastfeed more than women at home. Maternal leave has gradually increased in length, and currently lasts for one year with 80% pay, or for 46 weeks with full pay. Working women who are breastfeeding are entitled to a two hour leave daily.

Baby milk promotion in Norway

The Norwegian Government has, since 1970 had a strong, unequivocal policy on breastfeeding. There are only two companies marketing baby milk in Norway and after a voluntary agreement was agreed in 1983 they have not been allowed to promote their products. The agreement has been respected except for the content of commercial information material which has not been conducive to breastfeeding. But Norwegian health services have never been saturated with promotional material as they have in the UK and most Norwegian mothers are aware of the advantages of breastfeeding and all have access to the mother-support group network. Source: The case of breastfeeding in Norway, The Norwegian Breastfeeding Association (Ammehjelpen, 1994.) and Breastfeeding in Norway in Good Times and Bad, Berit Austveg, Directorate of Health and Elisabet Helsing WHO. 1992

Becbabe
16-02-2007, 08:14
Wow! Makes our government look incredibly backwards!

21-02-2007, 14:35
I just wanted to bump this up in case anyone else wanted to write a submission but didn't know about it.

Duchessa
21-02-2007, 18:28
Thanks Oscar's mum, I had missed this!

tbmum
14-03-2007, 12:55
They are still accepting submissions until they are all processed, while the inquiry goes on. There are over 400 submissions so far!!!

shed
20-08-2007, 07:00
I just received a copy of this Inquiry Report, called "The Best Start" Report on the inquiry into the health benefits of breastfeeding.

My name is in the list of contributors at the back, how exciting.

Did anyone else receive a copy? If you wrote to them you will probably get one.

Off to start reading :wizard:

20-08-2007, 07:14
awww Shed :thumbsup:

Wow finally.

I almost cried hun when I read this, its heartbreaking isnt it
I went through a similar thing with my bub I didnt get to hold him for almost ten hours after his birth
I did manage to bf but emotional the bond wasnt there for a long time and I feel it was a big contributing factor to my PND

With my second bub things were exactly how they should be, skin to skin contact from word go, baby led bfing within the first hour
Its amazing how much difference those two lil things can make I suffered no PND with my second bub and no bonding issues whatsoever PLUS bfing was so easy and a really beautiful experience NOT a horrendous chore like it was with my son

Great Thread!!!

djkinks
20-08-2007, 16:17
Yep I got mine today and my name's in the back too :yelclap:

meme
21-08-2007, 08:16
yep i got mine yestereday too.

how exciting. now we just have to keep the pressure up to our pollies so that they actually folllow through with all these great recommendations and actually do something about it.

it's an election year, so let's tell them this is important to us and not let it just fade away.

youngones
21-08-2007, 11:08
Wow guys, that's great - I didn't see this thread until today, but if I'd known about it back in January, I would have submitted too.