View Full Version : Challenging all runners/joggers/walkers!

Jeffy
20-12-2006, 13:36
OK, so I'm just starting out again with the jogging :barf: after having bub and my DH bought me one of those Nike Ipod thingies for Christmas. I have set myself the goal of running (very slowly!) 50 km in 4 weeks through the Nike website, tracking my progress along the way. I need more of a challenge, however and want to compete against other people to see how far we can go, motivating each other along the way to keep doing it and to get faster and go further.

I thought if any other people were interested, we could maybe set up a Bubhub challenge to see how far we can run in one month, then try to beat it the next month - as a group and individually.

Any takers? :fingerscrossed:

Funkychicken
20-12-2006, 13:40
Sounds like a wonderful idea. I am just about to start running again (regularly) but I don't know if i'm up to competing yet! Can you PM me the link and I'll have a look?

Jeffy
20-12-2006, 18:30
First run in a whole year today and I did 6.2 km in 40 minutes flat. That's not too bad but I used to do it in 35 minutes. Only 43.8 km to go! :D

Jax Tellers Old Lady
20-12-2006, 18:51
i ru on the treadmill at the gym does that count? if so im in

rynosmum
20-12-2006, 18:53
I'm not breaking any speed records as I kindof walk/jog about 3 times per week. How do you clock your distance? Do you just use a pedometer?

Jeffy
21-12-2006, 07:49
You could just use a pedometer or run a track or something. Treadmills most definitely count and so does walking! I used to love running at the gym.

What if we just aim for distance and then try to beat it the next month or something? That would be pretty motivational.

I am feeling really good today for it :smiliedance: (SORE!) and when I run, it keeps me eating well and drinking enough water.

Jax Tellers Old Lady
21-12-2006, 08:27
cool im up for it then when does the challenge start

Funkychicken
21-12-2006, 08:58
I have many points of reference around our area for distances. Years ago I drove it out using the odometer in the car. I have so many 'set' runs but i think I'll keep it simple and steady for a while. I am a wee bit concerned about my BF boobies bouncing too much!:rolleyes: In the past I have always finished BF before I start running again but at least we live on deserted roads-no one to watch me bouncing my boombas!

Jeffy
21-12-2006, 09:24
I'm sticking to flat tracks at the moment, to build up a bit of endurance first. :)

Why not start today? (But I am counting last night as today because I hurt so much I earnt those 6 km's!)

Team: Jeffy, Bertandernie, Funkychicken...
Month 1: 21 Dec 2006 - 20 Jan 2007
Individual goal: 50 km
Team goal: 100 km (?)

21-12-2006, 22:04
I'm interested but I don't know how to see how far I've walked

Jeffy
22-12-2006, 05:40
You could drive it, maybe? Otherwise you could just state how many times you walked and try to beat that the next month.:thumbsup:

22-12-2006, 06:37
Sounds good :D Anything to motivate me :)

Jeffy
23-12-2006, 10:41
Going for another 6.2 km run this afternoon. Kind of looking forward to it but NOT iykwim. That will bring me up to 12.4 km and will burn off the red wine, brie and rum balls I ate yesterday! I have also started doing push-ups again and can do about 10 men's again. I lost sooo much strength when I was pregnant and it feels good to be able to do these things again.

I know it's Christmas but I don't think we're going to get any more takers.

Anyway; MERRY CHRISTMAS! :tree:

suemp
26-12-2006, 17:57
i will join in once big boof is back at school (walking though...i cant jog to save myself)

seekrit most pedometers tell you distance travelled and you can buy them next to nothing these days

Jeffy
26-12-2006, 18:03
So far I have done 12 km out of my 50 km goal. I was going to go again today but I am too tired, full of junk food and.....tipsy!:laughing: Love that chardonnay! Come on girls; I'm off again tomorrow morning for another 6 km. I need to run off the trifle, pavlova, roast, cheese, wine, champagne, chocolates......:rolleyes:

neeky
26-12-2006, 19:02
i will get in on this, i might need to buy some new shoes first, mine are not fitting all that well (they are 4 or 5 yrs old!) and get a pedometer of my own, my one i borrowed from the library is due back today! oops! :laughing:
i will probably only walk/jog at first. i havent run in a very very long time so it will take awhile for me to get back up to it, i really miss it tho.

this is a great idea!

porridge
30-12-2006, 08:50
OH!! I want to join too!!

I'm only running 5km twice a week atm... hopefully going to build it up!

Jeffy... what's the link for the nike page?

I love running! makes you feel so alive, hey?

rynosmum
30-12-2006, 09:46
I've only done about 8kms so far.

Question for you Jeffy. I have joined the Nike website but can't seem to get it to actually DO anything, it just keeps showing me examples of what the site can do.

How do I track progress - do I need to have the Nike gear to get it to work or am I missing something obvious...:confused:

By the way, about to go out shortly for another 4 km circuit. All incline as we live in a very hilly area which means a combination of jog/walk.

Jeffy
30-12-2006, 09:56
The NIKE site is for people with the Nike/Ipod shoe thingy. I just got the idea from there. :) Basically, this little thing sits in your shoe and talks to your Ipod. It then links all your data to the website and tracks your progress.

My dog has paralysed his back leg :( and I haven't been able to run because I have been back and forward to the vet and looking after bubby. Hopefully I will go again this afternoon after I pick my hairy baby up!

porridge
05-01-2007, 09:53
Oh No!! your poor dog! that's no good! I hope your dog gets better soon!

I went for 2 runs on the beach this week (about 3 kms each so nothing too extreme!) It was so much fun and I went for a swim after (stripped off - LOL)

All my running buddies have gone away on holidays! OH NO!!

Jeffy
05-01-2007, 20:42
(Sigh) - My dog has a spinal paralysis problem and we don't have the $4,500 - $5,000 to fix it. Even if we did, he is getting pretty old for a collie and is in no pain. The idiot is still running around falling over occassionally, so we are just going to let him keep going until it gets too much :crying:

On a happier note - I started Body For Life on Monday and I have now finished my seventh run. I am mixing it up with hill sprints and interval training during the week and a big run on Sundays.

Porridge - You need some music to keep you company! I always run faster when I have boppy music. None of my friends belive in exercise, only in tim-tams :laughing:

Funkychicken
05-01-2007, 21:00
Well my efforts have been very sad! I am still only walking-haven't gotten as far as running again yet. :o It is stinking hot here at the moment and the mornings would be the best running time but I'm too busy making the most of school hols still and lying in until DH goes to work (7.30). Then I have the three children all day so no chance of running. I am probably self-sabotaging at the moment but i know I'll get there. I heard or read something the other day. In fact it was probably here on Bubhub-I can't remember now but it has become my new mantra:
Chocolate never tastes as good as slim feels!
I am repeating this over and over and over and over ........and you get the picture. :D
I usually do the Portsea Twilight run in January but I am just not up to it this year. I could walk it but there are no longer any free T-shirts, so I don't feel like paying $30 for a walk.

Jeffy
06-01-2007, 07:21
There is nothing wrong with walking! Walking is excellent exercise. I had to run just before 9 last night because my little bunny would not go to sleep and it was also too hot earlier in the evening.

Funkychicken
06-01-2007, 07:24
I do enjoy walking but after running for so many years, it can be tedious! Unless of course I have a pack on my back and I am on an interesting trail. :D

porridge
06-01-2007, 08:32
I've tried running while listening to music and it doesn't work! I run/breathe/think in time to the music and get too muddled! :laughing:

It's raining today, so hopefully I'll get to go for a run! yay!

I haven't run up a hill in a while :o

There's a multi sport challenge on next weekend... my sister and I are thinking about doing that. I think it's about 6-7km through a bush reserve... what could be better??

Jeffy
07-01-2007, 07:02
Well, I started off walking after bub and gradually added hills in and the like to get my fitness back up. My first run almost killed me but I felt so good afterwards.

I would love to do that run through the bush!

porridge
07-01-2007, 08:23
I piked and went for a swim yesterday instead :o It was fun though... we took a tennis ball and played classic catches!

Am organising to go for a run tomorrow! I might suggest we go up a hill (or two!) maybe through the reserve...

Jeffy... my DS has the same tshirt as yours!!

Jeffy
07-01-2007, 19:37
Just did another 30 minute run - half up hill! It just about killed me but I feel great for it (although I am extremely stinky and sweaty). Come on girl; lets get into it! I need someone to compete against! :laughing:

porridge - DH bought that outfit and the green and gold stripey jumpsuit for bubba while I was pregnant. Sam wore the jumpsuit as his going home outift. Not very traditional, hey?! Swims count - we could just make it general cardio.

porridge
08-01-2007, 08:05
I am going for a run today and it has hills! yay! :eek:

I even dreamt about me run... oh dear, I am pathetic :o

will let you know how it goes!

Jeffy - DS wore his watching Australia play in the world cup... every game! lol... biggest (smallest) fan... or we were too noisy cheering and he couldn't sleep :p

rynosmum
08-01-2007, 08:17
I need some advice.

I need a new pair of running shoes. The ones I have now are walkers and are almost 2 years old so not very supportive. I'm getting bad shin pain after jogging (hoping it's more to do with my shoes and not shin splints:eek: )

I have Asics at the moment and my physio has recommended me away from Nike or Reebok but back toward Asics or New Balance. What have you found to be the best shoes for impact cushioning?

Jeffy
08-01-2007, 13:06
I am pretty much stuck with Nike because I have very narrow, long feet. I think you really need to go to the Athletes Foot or somewhere like that and get them to look at your feet. The staff in those places are trained to assess each person for the right shoe. Might cost you some money but it will definitely be worth it!

porridge
08-01-2007, 16:06
I have asics... probably my 6th pair now? I *was* a pe teacher and found they were great as day to day wear and also for my running. You can get them with different soles in regards to cushioning... gel etc. I am also hooked because I can take the inner soles out and put my orthodics in!!

I went on my run today and it was a dream! I felt so good!! It was just like in my dream (yeah, I know - PATHETIC!) and oh! I love running!!

Going to drag DH and DS out for a walk before tea I think... have been doing gardening all afternoon and just want to keep going!

bekkyboo
09-01-2007, 09:44
I know its late... But can i join?

I looked at this thread when it started but i wasnt in the right head space to start something then.

I have a gym membership wasting away because i cant get there, so i will start walking around my area.

Ill get back here with some set k's goals soon when i set out a track and measure it...

Funkychicken
09-01-2007, 09:49
I need some advice.

I need a new pair of running shoes. The ones I have now are walkers and are almost 2 years old so not very supportive. I'm getting bad shin pain after jogging (hoping it's more to do with my shoes and not shin splints:eek: )

I have Asics at the moment and my physio has recommended me away from Nike or Reebok but back toward Asics or New Balance. What have you found to be the best shoes for impact cushioning?
We are a family of New Balance wearers. Myself, my dad, my brothers. We are all wide footed although short (Dad is about 8EEE) in length and New Balance are perfectly designed for this. They have quite a number of options in shoes so maybe get down to The Athletes Foot or similar and play around with a few. Good luck.

Lirael
09-01-2007, 09:51
ohhh, can I join too? I have a treadmill, and I really need some motivation:yes:

Rynosmum, I have asics gel kyano(sp?) they were a bit expensive, but well worth it! I had horrible shin splints, and needed front cushioning. my physio inspected them and said they were really good, exactly what I needed! soooo comfy! I got the 2005 'model' for $150 they release new ones every year and retail around $240, have a look and see if you can get an 'older' pair cheaper.

porridge
09-01-2007, 10:11
Hi guys!!

getting 'last seasons' model of shoe is a good idea.. usually it's only the colour that has changed...

off for a run today - yippeee!!

porridge
09-01-2007, 12:48
it was sooo hot running! I would've given anything for some shade! But all good... I did pilates afterwards and a cool shower... ahhhhhh :D

Jeffy
09-01-2007, 14:08
Right! That's it! We're all starting today :yes: . Finally we have enough people to make it a real challenge! Let us make it a distance challenge: Run, jog, walk, swim...who can go the furthest by January 31?!

I'm starting with a run tonight. Keep a tally of how far you are travelling.

emevity & bekkyboo - Of course you can join! Let's start today and see how far we can get. :wave:

porridge
09-01-2007, 18:15
Can I count my run today??? I did 4.5kms (not a huge start, but a start all the same!!)

am going surfing tomorrow... lol I'm such a scaredy I might only go in the little waves :D

Jeffy
09-01-2007, 18:26
Of course you can count it! I'm piking out tonight because bub has been a naughty little munchkin and won't get off me!

porridge
11-01-2007, 08:37
the beach was sooo good yesterday! I was absolutely stuffed though when I got back - best nights sleep in a LONG time!!

my sister gets back from holidays tomorrow... one running buddy returned!!

bekkyboo
11-01-2007, 08:40
I got off my ar$e this morning and did my walk :smiliedance:

Ill get hubby to do a trip in the car and figure out how long the track is and ill let you know. My goal at the moment is to walk this track every morning this week and then extend it further next week.

The track is good as it starts downhill giving me a ease in, then a flat then up hill then a flat and then a downhill stretch home for a cool down :D

Jules16
11-01-2007, 09:00
I'm keen to start too!! Count me in!! Must go get some new shoes in the sale this weekend though! Will do my first walk tonight. Hard to keep up with you all with working full time but will do my very best!

porridge
11-01-2007, 09:08
bekkyboo - that sounds like a great walk! we live at the top of a hill, so it doesn't matter where we go/what direction... we're always coming home up hill!! ARGH!

hope you find some cool new shoes morganj!

Jeffy
11-01-2007, 14:26
Well; I am off to buy new runners tomorrow night. I have to do my run tonight and it is 36 degrees at the moment, so might wait until about 8 pm. Sounds like we will be pretty good at motivating each other.

Wish I had a running buddy though....stupid Canberra.

bekkyboo
11-01-2007, 14:37
bekkyboo - that sounds like a great walk! we live at the top of a hill, so it doesn't matter where we go/what direction... we're always coming home up hill!! ARGH!

hope you find some cool new shoes morganj!
Yeah its good. This is a short walk for now - prob only 30min or so.. But i can expand by adding more blocks in, but i thought since i have been slack for alittle while, it was best to ease in - and not over do it just yet.

porridge
11-01-2007, 14:54
Well; I am off to buy new runners tomorrow night. I have to do my run tonight and it is 36 degrees at the moment, so might wait until about 8 pm. Sounds like we will be pretty good at motivating each other.

Wish I had a running buddy though....stupid Canberra.

It was 32 when I was wandering thru town earlier (bought a new running top and sports bra!) so probably no run for me either unless the temp drops a fair bit.

My DH is tossing up whether or not to apply for the army... if he does... you may have a running buddy for 18 months! :D

Jeffy
12-01-2007, 09:29
porridge - I didn't go; it was still 36 at 9 pm! :eek: Tonight, hopefully! Also; I used to be in the Reserves as a Signaller, did a year full-time service with the Regular Army and now work for Defence as a civilian.

Lirael
12-01-2007, 09:35
so far I have done 8.8 km

thats over 3 days on the treadmill, not counting walking into town etc:yes:

I have been walking and running for 2 mins every 5 mins or so (im am soooo unfit)

porridge
12-01-2007, 10:45
Well, DH and I (and DS!) went for a walk last night... it was cooler but after a hot day I was pooped!!

I went for a run this morning (just got back!) so 4km more...

:yelclap: well done emevity! Keep up the good work!

Jeffy, how did you find the regs? I'm pretty scared about the prospect of being an army wife (I'm such a wuss!)

Jeffy
12-01-2007, 12:53
Got my runners and they cost $180 :rolleyes: What can you do? I had them fitted properly and yes, I KNOW I have narrow feet, wench! I ended up with New Balance. I even bought new cushy socks :yes:

emevity - You are kicking my butt already! :yes: The walk/run you are doing is interval training and is actually the best way to get your fitness up. Try doing 60 seconds walk, then jog, then run if you can set the treadmill for it. You will be amazed how quickly your fitness picks up!

porridge - Army was okay. It depends what trade he wants to enter into. The only bad bit about being an Army spouse is that he will go away on a lot of courses and exercises and you will move every couple of years. It is not so bad though; the money is good, the rent is very cheap and they do look after you. It is a hard life, don't get me wrong but is very rewarding. These days you don't have to live on base and you can carry on a normal life. I did it for the training and then got myself a nice public service job! He doesn't have to do it forever.

Well! I think I had better run tonight (4km) and then do the lake tomorrow morning (6km) so I can catch up to you people and wear in my spanking new shoes.

porridge
12-01-2007, 13:06
I love new shoes... but without a doubt, first time I wear them I get them dirty!! ARGH!!

I did a pilates dvd before lunch and think I may have done a tad too much today... feel really pooped now.

Have started taking multi vitamins too (well, actually pre pregancy ones but shhhhhh! don't tell anyone!) Hopefully I'll notice an improvement with general health and well being.

my sister comes back from holidays today... one running buddy returned! woot!

Lirael
12-01-2007, 17:01
The walk/run you are doing is interval training and is actually the best way to get your fitness up. Try doing 60 seconds walk, then jog, then run if you can set the treadmill for it. You will be amazed how quickly your fitness picks up!

yep I used to do this at the gym but its been a while lol. just taking it slow as I also have asthma.:thumbsup: well thats not:thumbsup: lol

porridge
12-01-2007, 20:44
ARGH! we have a multi sport challenge on tomorrow and I forgot! oh no! I *might* be going in it with my sister - she'll do the MTB and I'll do the run (5km trail run)... hmmm wish I was more organised!

bekkyboo
13-01-2007, 06:30
Ohhhh. Guess what!!!

My pedometer (sp?) stuffed up when i did my calculations of my walk... It orginally said .53km.... It is really 1.47!!! HURRAH! So next week im stepping it up to 2 laps a day.

Its saturday - hubby is home - and i still went on my walk - im rather impressed with myself.

So Bekkys goals for this week (ending tomorrow) lol...

Week : 8.8km (But i wont make it as this hasnt been a full week)

Next week: 17.64km

The month: 61.72km

Amount completed: 4.41km (57.31km remaining)

Ill reassess it in a month a maybe increase the laps...

porridge
13-01-2007, 11:20
Well, I have piked on the comp... not to worry. I'm going for a walk with a friend in a bit (then lunch, so they might cancel each other out!) and a run later tonight with my sister! :D

Bekkyboo - your goals sound good!

Do any of you guys worry about walking/running alone? A friend of mine was walking on a fairly busy bush track a couple of weeks ago late afternoon and came across a man with no pants on... bit icky! Needless to say her walk turned into a run! Have you ever had a problem?

bekkyboo
13-01-2007, 11:46
Nah I havent had that problem... I take G - and we go at about 6am. My track is 3-4 blocks around my house - so its all suburban streets.

porridge
13-01-2007, 22:17
Well!! I went for a BIG walk today and then a BIG, HARD run - it was so good but very tough.

Best thing about running is the cool shower I have after :D

hope everyone is having a good weekend!!

mum2littleman
13-01-2007, 23:05
can i join too---

i run-jog 10 km a day what else do i need to write down{ sorry i didnt look at the rest of the thread just read the start.

rynosmum
14-01-2007, 06:55
Do any of you guys worry about walking/running alone? A friend of mine was walking on a fairly busy bush track a couple of weeks ago late afternoon and came across a man with no pants on... bit icky! Needless to say her walk turned into a run! Have you ever had a problem?

We've got the local attacker issue with 38 sex attacks now on walkers/joggers/cyclists on public roads and bikepaths.

To be honest, it's freaking me out a little because 3 attacks have happened on my standard path and many more locally. That's why I now take our big dog and won't wear an Ipod. It's just too risky.:yes: I certainly no longer go anywhere that is secluded.

porridge
14-01-2007, 07:27
We've got the local attacker issue with 38 sex attacks now on walkers/joggers/cyclists on public roads and bikepaths.

To be honest, it's freaking me out a little because 3 attacks have happened on my standard path and many more locally. That's why I now take our big dog and won't wear an Ipod. It's just too risky.:yes: I certainly no longer go anywhere that is secluded.

Oh wow!!! That's insane!!! It makes me so mad when I hear about things like that! :mad:

I would be taking a big dog with me too!

mum2littleman - of course you can join! 10km a day!... I am ashamed :o

Jeffy
14-01-2007, 12:36
10 km?! You will make us look bad!

I've did 5.03 km Friday night.

bekkyboo
14-01-2007, 17:23
10 km?! You will make us look bad!

I've did 5.03 km Friday night.
5.03km!! That is making my 1.4 look shamefuL!!! Oh well...

I added a jog into my track today. Not sure if i will keep it tomorrow when i do the second lap -See how i feel...

How is everyone going? Is there a set goal for the month now???

Funkychicken
14-01-2007, 20:01
OK, I finally put on my running shoes today-as opposed to my walking shoes (actually the same pair but if i call them two different names I feel more committed :D ). My first run in about two years! I did our road (2km) and felt really good, so I now feel like I can attempt this often and then increase over the next few weeks. This afternoon, I dragged the whole family off for a big walk. We went down to a nearby school (about 1.5 km one way I guess) and had a cricket game-until the ball broke in two! So tonight I am feeling good about myself as I have made a start.

mum2littleman
14-01-2007, 20:15
well done funky chicken, and what a great idea to play a game while out an about makes it fun for everyone..:thumbsup:

went for my run again today same track so another 10km however my father{my running partner} is off over seas next week for a few weeks and i dont think i will be running that one alone to much bush and trees. so i decied ill take DS up to the duck pound to feed them and back not as long but still around 6-7km or so..

{thanks for letting me join guys i feel like i have a reason for running now i can tell everyone how im going rather than just waiting to see a diffrent in my self only.}

Funkychicken
14-01-2007, 21:53
well done funky chicken, and what a great idea to play a game while out an about makes it fun for everyone..:thumbsup:

went for my run again today same track so another 10km however my father{my running partner} is off over seas next week for a few weeks and i dont think i will be running that one alone to much bush and trees. so i decied ill take DS up to the duck pound to feed them and back not as long but still around 6-7km or so..

{thanks for letting me join guys i feel like i have a reason for running now i can tell everyone how im going rather than just waiting to see a diffrent in my self only.}
My dad is my running partner too. :D But we live about 45 mins apart, so whenever I go and stay with my parents, I join dad on his foreshore run. We do quite a few fun runs together and to this day he still runs at my pace when we run together (he has been doing this since I was 11!) and he is a veteran of 20 marathons! Gotta love dads. :yes:

porridge
15-01-2007, 07:52
My dad was my running partner through primary and high school (can still hear him saying 'don't stop, just slow down')! He moved away when I was 14 though... he's moved back now but has osteoarthritis so can't run anymore!!

Lirael
15-01-2007, 08:33
hey everyone:wave: hope all is well.

I did 4.3 k last night:smiliedance:and 1 k of that i ran (half nonstop then walked then the other half lol)

13.1 k so far:yes:
I had a break sat cos I walked into town and got sunburnt:mad:<---- that was me

porridge
15-01-2007, 09:40
Well done emevity!! :yelclap:

I did a walk this morning (my normal running track)... it's already too hot!

Going for a swim tonight though! yay! :smiliedance:

Funkychicken
15-01-2007, 18:44
I did another 2 kms today and felt really good for it but my legs are a little sore tonight. I am aiming for 10 x 2km runs then I will increase in lots of 10 until I am back to where I was two years ago. :thumbsup:

Funkychicken
15-01-2007, 22:05
How was your swin porridge? I so miss living near the beach.

porridge
16-01-2007, 10:31
my swim was GREAT! we went for about an hour... in a lake :D well, it's just part of a river (big river)... we just call it the lake.

I went for a walk with my friend this morning. 6km I think (or there abouts)... the sign said 90mins return, but we did it a lot faster than that. I nearly trod on a snake!! Just walking along, stepped over it thinking ahh, a snake... a few more steps and turned around because my friend had stopped!! D'uh! All is well though it did remind me that even for a short walk we need to take a first aid kit!

The aim is to eventually start running it... there is a section of it called 'penstock ladder' and it's exactly that! I could feel the burning in my legs literally going straight up!!

I'm doing my walks/runs/swims either early or late atm... too hot!!

How's everyone going?

bekkyboo
16-01-2007, 10:34
Em, im the same, Early morning is the best for me. If i leave it till the arvo i find excuses to back out.

I did my first 2 laps with the pram today. Gosh, you feel hills when you have to push i bertini shuttle and a 11kg kid! Oh well - its good cause i can lean into it and i feel it alot more in my calves then!

Jeffy
16-01-2007, 10:56
I'm back into it tonight; had some dramas with bubby and lack of sleeeeeep! So, another 5 km for me tonight.

Let's just see how far we go individually this month and then try to beat the distance the next period. What if we add this to our posts every time we check in?

Period: 09 January - 29 January (21 days/3 weeks)

So far I have run (walked/swum...): 5.03 km

My goal is to run: 30 km

porridge
16-01-2007, 19:21
ergh, went for another walk this evening - still think it was too hot though...

DS and I had a cool bath but I'm hot again already *sigh*

pilates tonight methinks :D

mum2littleman
16-01-2007, 20:15
run another 10km

and i must be getting faster i cut 15 mins off my run today, still useing the same track. :thumbsup:
Todays Fav run/jog/walking Songs:

IM A SURVIVOR
Proud{the biggest loser theam song
Taller,Stronger<better

i also jumped in the pool and was going to do laps but after 20 laps i was stuffed.lol

Jumped on the scales this morning and have lost another half a kilo = 5 kg weight loss so far
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

bekkyboo
17-01-2007, 08:37
Jen thats a good idea. Mine is in my sig - so that i have to own up to it...

Its been a week, im feeling much better for it! So thanks guys!

This morning two houses had huge dogs that scared the cr@p out of G, so im going to see if it happens again tomorrow, and if it does i may have to find a new track :( I like this one tho - i feel safe - its all open, the other ways have bush next to them - not a good idea in Brisbane at the moment

Jeffy
17-01-2007, 09:10
(sigh) I didn't get to go for my run again last night because bub wouldn't settle and it was too hot anyway :banghead: . This weather is driving me insane! I told DH he has to come home early tonight so I can go. It is supposed to rain but I am going anyway! I feel disgusting and am itching for a good run.

porridge
17-01-2007, 09:29
It absolutely bucketed last night and I thought I was in for a cool day today - but nooooooo! It's supposed to be 33 and already it's very warm and very humid... this is Tassie!! ARGH!!

The *plan* is to another walk and maybe a swim tonight, see how I go.

I am loving this thread though... it's really nice to talk to ppl who want to get out and do stuff (and like it!!) :D

bekkyboo
17-01-2007, 09:33
Awww :hugs: Jen and Em!

I go from my walks in the morning so that other things in the afternoon dont take over and then i miss out. Also, its cooler in the mornings here, if i was to wait for it to cool at night, it would be dark - and then WAY to dangerous to go out...

porridge
18-01-2007, 14:29
Hey guys!! how are you all going?

I went for a swim today - long and lovely!! and a paddle in the kayak. Great fun!! :D I think I'm burnt though... oops.

I had planned to go fro a run this morning as it was nice and cool... but we had to go and visit DH's family. That was ok though (that's who we went swimming with).

It's now too hot to run but I've already asked DH if we can go tonight and he said yes! woot!

I'm in a bit of a rut atm... I'm not overweight (nice and healthy!) but my middle just looks awful! What do you guys do to trim/tone/vanish! your middle section???

Jeffy
18-01-2007, 16:10
:banghead: :banghead: :banghead: DH's stupid cat has an infected cheek, so once AGAIN I can't run tonight because I have to go to the vet. I am so peeved. It is supposed to storm again here anyway. Think I might start going to a nearby gym casually to run on the treadmills whenever the weather is cr@p. So glad I have you girls to make me feel guilty :laughing:

porridge - Same here; I am not overweight at all but my tummy is protruding more, thanks to bubby. I have lost another belt notch and I have been told that doing the 'bridge' is the only way to tighten up your innermost stomach muscles which get stretched with bub. Push-up position but on your forearms and you hold it for as long as you can. It really does work. I also do reverse crunches; you start with your legs facing the roof and slowly lower them to the floor, then pull your knees into your butt and then raise your legs up to start again. Hope that made sense!

bekkyboo - I just can't get out until after Sam goes to sleep at night. He has been a mummy's boy lately!

Lirael
18-01-2007, 16:57
ok i have been lazy!

i only did 3 ks last night, but on the plus side I ran for 1 k STRAIGHT!!!

first time ever:smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:

porridge
18-01-2007, 19:19
well, another walk today... we had tea early (6:30 - these days we're lucky to eat b4 8 most nights) and I don't do well on a full tummy (if you guys want other excuses not to run, just PM me :laughing: )

Jeffy - I am going to do those exercises tonight! I'm going to do a pilates dvd too... I'm so hooked on them :o

emevity!!! well done on your run! How are you feeling now you're upping the time?

DH has put a fitness/workout log on our computer which is cool... it has a calendar and for each day I do *something* I can enter it in... and keep track of what I'm doing, on what days etc.

keep up the good work guys!!! (that includes you too Jeffy!!!)

Jeffy
18-01-2007, 19:52
I got my run :smiliedance: I did 3.95 km before sprinting back to the house before it rained. I feel soo much better for it.

So far I have run (walked/swum...): 8.98 km

Porridge - Those exercises are taken from pilates, I think!

emevity - Well done! Isn't it a huge feeling of accomplishment when you can manage to go further than ever before? Sounds like you are improving very quickly.

Well; I had my steamed fish and salad with rice for tea and I really wanted McDonalds all day. Didn't have it and so glad I didn't because I am now down to 62 kg:smiliedance: I thought this was my goal weight but I think I'd like to get to 60kg. I can now pull my size 12 shorts off without undoing them.

porridge
18-01-2007, 20:29
I got my run :smiliedance: I did 3.95 km before sprinting back to the house before it rained. I feel soo much better for it.

Well; I had my steamed fish and salad with rice for tea and I really wanted McDonalds all day. Didn't have it and so glad I didn't because I am now down to 62 kg:smiliedance: I thought this was my goal weight but I think I'd like to get to 60kg. I can now pull my size 12 shorts off without undoing them.

YAY!! I'm so glad you got your run!!

We had fish for tea too - baked trout - YUM!!

I had to laugh about the shorts - I'm exactly the same! I don't even bother undoing them, just *whoosh!* and they're off :laughing: (I'm just lazy)

We must be about the same size J... I'm about 63-64kg... 170cm (or there abouts). I want to get down to 60kg, but the last time I was there I just didn't have the energy to do anything! It was awful!

Anywho... have a good sleep guys!

Jeffy
19-01-2007, 07:24
I want to get down to 60kg, but the last time I was there I just didn't have the energy to do anything! It was awful!

I know exactly what you mean; I weighed 58 kg at one stage and lost all my energy. At my fittest, I weighed 59.5kg and felt fantastic. Lots of muslce on my frame though and I have a long road ahead of me to get all that back.

bekkyboo
19-01-2007, 10:22
Hey ladies...

Jeffy - I take G with me... He sits in the pram and just watchs the world go by...

So far i have walked/jogged = 20.58km in just over a week... Im pretty happy with that... My goal is the 61.72km. It works out at 2 laps of my set out track, 6 days a week. So far i have done it every day since i started.

Im overweight for my frame... which sucks - but on the other hand i must have a good responding body, as i have only been doing 2.94km a day, but already noticing a big difference in my legs... Starting to really tone them up already!

I do sit ups and what my personal trainer called "superman" - where your on all fours, and lift oppostite arm and leg, while keeping your stomach tight and keeping your back flat and still. She told me to imagne a cup on your back and not to spill anything out of it. Its another pilates move. Another one is laying on the floor with an object (rolled up towel or what ever) inbetween your ankles, arms out straight behind your head, raise them (feet and hands) to meet in the middle, exchange the object between ankles and wrists and lower. Dont touch the ground but hover (sp?) - do 5 sets, rest. do another 5 and so on. Good for upper and lower abs..

porridge
20-01-2007, 10:48
hey guys... went for a big leisurely walk this morning... finished with a yummy juice of pineapple, watermelon, apple, orange and a bit of ginger... mmmm.

Had an ok run yesterday - in the rain!! Feel a bit flat though.

Hope you all have a great weekend :D

Jeffy
20-01-2007, 11:41
I'm on strike from my heakth kick. No sleep last night because my stupid cat ran away (he just had surgery and is wearing a bucket on his head!) I had chinese for tea last night and I am currently eating a 100g packet of Cheese & Bacon balls.:)

porridge
20-01-2007, 14:25
:laughing: I LOVE cheese and bacon balls!! I haven't had them in ages though *thinks of sneaky plan to get some tonight!!!*

Well, it is bucketing down with rain today YAY!! Still muggy though, but cool :D

DH got a job!! (sorry Jen, looks like we're staying in Tassie)

bekkyboo
20-01-2007, 14:33
Nothing wrong with a off day Jen :D

Hope your cat is home safe and well (well - recovering anyway!)

Feeling really good today... Seems to be a positive day. I have cleaned alot :eek: and did pilates as well!

Funkychicken
20-01-2007, 14:42
I haven't had a chance to come back in here but you girls have been posting like mad! And getting out there as well! Well done emevity on your run. Isn't it the best feeling.
Well I have managed 2km/day for two days then one day off then another of the same and once again (make sense?) so I have clocked up 12 kms since last Saturday. I am still planning to do this run 10 times before I up the kms but I am getting toey now that I have begun.:D Only four more to go then I'll increase.

I was sitting on the edge of my bed the other day and saw myself in the mirror and honestly I think i look just like I did one week after DS#1 was born, eight years ago! :eek: It is seriously time to get serious. :yes: Prior to my last pregnancy I was pretty happy with my shape but the pregnancy took a huge toll on me and I wasn't even as big during it as I was with the other two.
Anyway, I'm on track so I'll have to just take it day by day.

Jeffy
22-01-2007, 12:01

So far I have run (walked/swum...): 8.98 km

Not long left for our challenge!

Another 4 km tonight! I read in the news that a new study has found that interval training helps you lose weight more effectively than jogging at one speed. So, tonight I am off to find a 400m track to walk/jog/run around for 20 minutes.

porridge
22-01-2007, 15:19
ooh!! That's interesting news Jen! I might have to start doing that too... need to lose this tummy and these chubby handles...

My sister and I went on a killer run this morning - 53 mins. We went part of the way on our normal track and then went up the bush... across a river and UP (seriously, nearly straight up for aaagggges!!) and back through the bush. It was so good, but tough going. We have *said* we will try to do it once a week (yeah... maybe!)

My SIL and I went swimming this afternoon and I'm absolutely stuffed!! We chucked around a tennis ball for ages and must've looked ridiculous jumping and leaping around in bikinis :o

Anywho... I'm going to undo all my good work with dvds, chocolate and ice cream!! YUM!

Jeffy
23-01-2007, 08:54
My health kick strike was well worth it! Too hot to run yesterday afternoon and DH didn't get home until 10, so I did weights instead - lower body and abs. Tonight I am going to try some interval training, DH is going to look after crany bubby and do his bedtime routine.

I went for a walk this morning but didn't get far because of a certain cranky baby. So:

So far I have run:8.98 km
So far I have walked: 2.13 km
TOTAL Distance:11.11 km

Funkychicken: I agree; just take it day by day and all of a sudden you will think "My god, when did THAT happen." when things start looking better. How is it going, increased the km's?

porridge - I'm not sure I could run for 53 minutes, 45 is the most I have managed. Well done to you!:yelclap:

bekkyboo - The stupid cat came home. I hate the thing but it looks pretty funny!

bekkyboo
23-01-2007, 09:10
Jen - lol about cat...

I have walked/jogged just over 30km in just under 2 weeks. Im pretty happy about that... Ive been weights and other stuff when i get home too - so its going pretty well. Havent missed a day yet. I think about it and then out of habit put my walking clothes on and shoes and start wlaking without really thinkin anything more...

Im thinking of upping my km but i think ill add more jogging first...

porridge
24-01-2007, 07:58
I didn't do anything yesterday - except pick blueberries for about an hour. Not very strenuous!

I've been doing the 'plank' (I forget what it's called) morning and night... doing ok.

Hanging out for a run...

bekkyboo
24-01-2007, 08:01
this sucks :(

G has been waking at 5am (when J goes to work) so we get up and go for our walk then...

Youd think it would be cool then... it isnt :banghead: Damn you Queensland!

Jeffy
24-01-2007, 08:42
I didn't do anything last night; too hot! It is supposed to rain here tonight, so I will do an upper body weights seeion if it does. If not, I can run!:fingerscrossed:

porridge
26-01-2007, 08:42
I went for a run this morning! YAY!!

On our usual track with my usual buddy... except the river was up and so 80% of our track was under water!! (we got very wet!)

We're hoping to go for another run tomorrow, or surf... whichever comes first.

How are you guys spending Australia Day???

Jeffy
26-01-2007, 10:32
It is my DH's birthday. No run for me today as I have spent a couple of hours in the garden weeding. That's more than enough exercise for me!

porridge
27-01-2007, 08:37
Went for a run with both my buddies this morning! About 5 - 6km? Felt great!

How's everyone else doing?

I've started doing crunches morning and evening (well, this is day 2... see how long it lasts :rolleyes:

Jeffy
27-01-2007, 11:39
I had a pig out yesterday - my MIL put on antipasto :banghead: and I had too much wine :o but this morning I did an hour of upper body weights and I am currently eating a tuna salad. We're going out for tea tonight, so I plan to order healthy and to run 7 km tomorrow morning.

Lirael
27-01-2007, 11:41
you guys are so good, i have been really lazy.

must get back into it!!:shame:

Jeffy
28-01-2007, 07:00
I'm not that good; I ate sooo much last night but the workout in the morning cancelled it out at least. I am running this afternoon as the weather isn't too bad here today. It's the end of our challenge tomorrow! We will all have to report in!:eek:

porridge
28-01-2007, 09:21
EEEK!! so what do we have to do for that????!! I'm a bit nervous...

Funkychicken
30-01-2007, 13:00
Wow, have we reached the end of the month already?:eek:

Ok, I have kind of made up my challenge as I have gone along.
My aim was to run 2km x ten over a few weeks and then increase by a couple of km's over the following few weeks. I am now up to somewhere between 4-5 each run and I've been going nearly every day. I've also cleaned up the bike baby seat and I've been riding a few kms every few days as well. The problem with that is Hamish keeps falling asleep in the seat!
Overall I am so amped about this at the moment and I'm loving running again. Two years was the longest break I have had in about 10 years.
I am going to set up some proper goals/schedule but I'll only do it for me, so I'll discuss where I'm at as we go along but I don't want to put it in an online journal. I need to keep in mind that I run because I love to run, not because the sheet of paper tells me I have to do it. In the past this has been my downfall-I get so focused on what I think I HAVE to do and if it doesn't happen, I put myself on the biggest guilt trip and that's when my running can go pear shaped. So fo now, fo me, it's about having fun, getting fit and as a bonus, dropping a few kg's.

Jeffy
30-01-2007, 13:33
Good on you Funkychicken!

I can't find my Ipod so don't know how far I have gone...I really should clean the houe up. I didn't reach my goal but I am below my goal weight and am feeling fit and healthy, so I'm going to ease up on myself a bit.

For everyone else; should we start again 01 Feb?

My goal will be: Run 40 km, Walk 20 km

porridge
31-01-2007, 20:44
ok... today is the last day of January... so how good have I been???

run: 35km

walked: 22km

For February I want to run 40km and walk 30km... DH is back at work now so it might be a bit tough.

Tomorrow 3 friends and I are attempting to do a 10km (ish... am not really sure how long it is)... starts on our normal track and then keeps going into the city. I'll let you know how I go!! If I run the whole way, that's 1/4 of my distance done!! woot!!

porridge
01-02-2007, 16:50
I did it!! I ran the whole way :D

It took me 58.03 mins - I am chuffed!! at about 43 mins my friend and I decided to really try to do it under an hour... pushed hard and YAY!!

Our next challenge is to do it in 55 or less... then 50.. see how that goes.

keep going guys!!

Lirael
01-02-2007, 17:01
you guys are all doing so well, im not, been so lazy!! new month so new goal.

my goal is to walk/run 100 k a month:yes: so around 3.4 k a day.

I want to be able to be running the whole time by April:eek:

do ya reckon I can do it:fingerscrossed:

porridge
01-02-2007, 19:04
That's a pretty impressive goal emevity! I think you can do it! It's really good that you have a goal further down the track - ie running all the time by April - to help keep you motivated.

Take it easy though if you're doing something everyday, maybe walk one day, jog the next?

Hope it goes well for you!

Lirael
02-02-2007, 07:45
well....... I ran(jogged:o) for 2 ks straight last night!!!:smiliedance: I am so proud of myself! all up I did 4.05 ks including the walking warm up and cool down:yes: so lets hope I can do this every day(though I will see if my body can manage it tonight)

see, Im already 4.05 ks into my goal! only 95.95 to go in 27 days(darn feb and its 28 days)

Porridge, I dont think its that big of a goal really, it kinda sounds big but when its broken down into 3.4 k a day it seems like alot less.

and I cant wait for april:yes: I told the ex Im gonna kick his @ss in 3 months time running!

DiscoBlob
02-02-2007, 14:04
Ladies hi, Just dipped into this thread to find out what the challenge was as I'm normally a runner....but am now at 22 weeks and so walking and gyming it for the foreseeable.....I need some advice tho....how soon after giving birth (this is my first!) is it advisable to start running again? I know joints and ligaments will be loose for a while so I should take it easy....ALSO how soon is it safe to run with the baby in a stroller without risking it injuring it's neck over bumps etc etc? Someone told me six months someone else told me three....I obviously don't want to do aything to risk that!!! What's everyone else's experience??? Thanks SO much!

Jeffy
02-02-2007, 16:15
Hi all! I'm baaaack. Just a quick one. I did not achieve my last goal and kinda lost the plot and haven't run for 2 weeks or so. Anyway:

My new goal:

To run 10 times, at least 50 km. Can't do more because I am doing weight training as well.

Discoblob - Welcome! I was waslking the day after I had Sam (slowly and only around the block) and running (trying to!) 6 weeks after I had Sam :thumbsup: . I had my check up and was given the OK by my doctor. It wasn't that hard to get back into it, you'll be right! I don't know about running with the baby though because mine HATES the pram, so stays home with daddy.

emevity - You have improved so quck! Well done :yelclap: That is a fantastic goal, girl. I'm going to add WALK 50 km to mine. Soon you will all be kicking my bum.

porridge - Wow! That is bloody impressive! :yelclap: I wish you lived here so I could run with you.

funkychicken - That's why I didn't bother reporting. I want to just go when I can and want to and start afresh this month's challenge. You've got me looking forward to getting Sam into a bike seat when he's big enough.

All of us sound so revved up since this this all started. Isn't it amazing how much better you feel both physically and emotionally when you so something?

porridge
03-02-2007, 10:12
well, there was 3 of us who set out this morning for a punishing run... and 3 who made it back! YAY! We did this one in 50mins, 3mins less than the last time we did it!

there was this girl running a bit ahead of us... my sister and I kind of chased her (to improve our time... she was like the bunny on a greyhound race)... and we caught her!! Poor girl, probably didn't know what we were doing, just hearing heavy breathing and stomping feet coming up behind her! :laughing:

Monday we're going to attempt to do it again, but see how we go. There were a lot of up hills and my legs really felt it. Does anyone know a good way to replenish your muscles after a hard run?

DiscoBlob... I started jogging about 4 weeks after I had Griff, but only little bits at a time. By 6 weeks I felt stronger and more normal. I had checked with my physio beforehand and I didn't have separated abs so that was good and had to really work on the pelvic floor exercises. It must've worked because I never leaked!! That was the sign I was told to look out for - if you pee'd yourself (or felt like you were going to) then it's probably too early to be running again.

I found jogging with the pram was a pain but we went on lots of very VERY bumpy bush tracks and all was good. Griff fell asleep in the pram, so the bumpier the better for him. Your bub will soon tell you if they're having fun or not :D

Jen... I wish we could run together too!! You would love the tracks we do! Today when we were running through the bush, there were butterflies and wallabies everywhere! It was so lovely!

Going for a swim this afternoon, to sooth my muscles! I can't wait. Hope everyone has a great weekend.

Lirael
03-02-2007, 10:17
well, nothing last night, I have had severe stomach cramping:( think its the bread I ate the other day:thumbsdown: gonna try to do a gym class this afternoon, and I want to switch from running at night to early in the morning, Im not getting enough sleep and the kids are up before 6 everyday:crying: I need a sleep in!!!!

bekkyboo
05-02-2007, 08:53

I know its been ages since i posted.

Last week AF was here, and OMG was in agony. I couldnt make it out of the house, so i only walked VERY rarely, and am paying for it now.

Funkychicken
13-03-2007, 21:57
Thought I'd bump this along and see how you all are.
I have been 'reasonable' in the running dept for the last month or so. Getting out when I can. I have gotten my fitness level back up to average so I am pleased that I can go out for 5km or so and finish feeling fine. I have been stuck having to push the pram on one particular day of the week which is not the most enjoyable way to run but I am trying to think of it as an extra challenge!:D On the hills, I push it ahead of me hard, and then as I catch it, I give it another push etc...
We all (whole fam) spent a weekend away hiking a few weeks ago and the children did an amazing job. We took them on two 5km hikes on the first day and a 7km uphill one on the second day. Then two days later we rode our bikes 12km's to a Bub Hub meet. There were a few tears from 6yo DD but she was fine afterwards.
I am hoping we can all do an overnight hike at Easter. The trial run worked well and I think the children should be fine. DH will carry DS#2 in th backpack and I'll have to carry the tents and food etc... in mine but I think the children can carry their own packs with sleeping bags.
So, until then, as much running and hill walking as I can possibly do to make sure I am up to this!

babylover111
13-03-2007, 22:02
Can I join?
Tonight I ran 5km in 30 minutes :smiliedance:

Funkychicken
13-03-2007, 22:11
Welcome BL! :wave:

Chub Chub
13-03-2007, 22:53
Let me know if you all start up your run/walk challenge.

I am running 3 times a week at the gym (bit too scared road running at dusk or night:no: ).

I'd be keen to have some cybermotivation:yelclap:

Chub Chub
13-03-2007, 22:54
very impressive babylover!

Funkychicken
30-05-2007, 21:57
So, it has been a while since this thread was last visited. I thought it was about time to try to revive it. Hey, if I am the only one here, never mind-I'll just chat with myself. :D

I got off track for a couple of months but have been back at it for a few weeks now. I have a friend who over the last year has transformed herself from comfortably cuddly to amazon beauty! She has asked me if I can help her with a fun run, so I have picked out one here in Melbourne in June and have been madly working on my own fitness to ensure i am up for it! It has been a while!
So far, so good. I have finally cracked the 'planning' part of running. Instead of trying to fit it in when I can, I now get up by 6am and make school lunches, do dishes etc...and by 7am, it is light enough to hit the road, and I am back in time to shower, and head off to school by 8am. It's working a treat and wonderful DH is doing the breakfast for three children while I am out there, although DS#1 has been coming on his bike some mornings which is really nice.
So, anyone else getting out there at the moment?

Chub Chub
30-05-2007, 21:58
So, it has been a while since this thread was last visited. I thought it was about time to try to revive it. Hey, if I am the only one here, never mind-I'll just chat with myself. :D

I got off track for a couple of months but have been back at it for a few weeks now. I have a friend who over the last year has transformed herself from comfortably cuddly to amazon beauty! She has asked me if I can help her with a fun run, so I have picked out one here in Melbourne in June and have been madly working on my own fitness to ensure i am up for it! It has been a while!
So far, so good. I have finally cracked the 'planning' part of running. Instead of trying to fit it in when I can, I now get up by 6am and make school lunches, do dishes etc...and by 7am, it is light enough to hit the road, and I am back in time to shower, and head off to school by 8am. It's working a treat and wonderful DH is doing the breakfast for three children while I am out there, although DS#1 has been coming on his bike some mornings which is really nice.
So, anyone else getting out there at the moment?

Count me in:thumbsup:

Funkychicken
30-05-2007, 22:11
:yelclap: I knew there would be someone else! :D

brookeme
30-05-2007, 22:13
Yeah I guess I will try!! Not much enthusiasm there! Last time I tried I did my knee in(too heavy!:laughing: ) Im not really sure what happened it just all of a sudden got really sore. It kept giving in on me. I was going really well too!
I will try again:fingerscrossed: In the morning

Funkychicken
31-05-2007, 14:11
Hi brookeme,
There's no need to put ourselves under any undue pressure. Maybe some good, strong walking will be a better idea for now?

babylover111
31-05-2007, 16:51
I'm excited to see this up and running again no pun intended :laughing:

Has anyone ever done the 12 minute running challenge on a treadmill? You go for 12 minutes and see how many km's you can run, increasing the speed till you can't keep going.

I managed to do 2.29km in 12 minutes :yelclap: I'm going to do the same next week but 6 minutes so hopefullly I can go faster for longer.

Funkychicken
31-05-2007, 18:26
Good to hear a few people are still having a go. :thumbsup:
I haven't been on a treadmill in about 9 years but from roughly timing my runs, I am manging 6minute km's, so I have a way to go to get back to my pre-baby speed. It's just one foot after another, one foot after another, one foot........:smiliedance:

babylover111
31-05-2007, 18:31
6 minute km is fantastic! I love running outside but I don't get around to doing it that much unfortunately. Do you find in winter it's harder to run outside because the airs so cold?

Funkychicken
31-05-2007, 20:14
6 minute km is fantastic! I love running outside but I don't get around to doing it that much unfortunately. Do you find in winter it's harder to run outside because the airs so cold?
:laughing: This morning was the first morning in about a month that I didn't go out running. I am usually out there by 7am and this morning in Vic, it was pouring with rain, gale force winds and icy cold! I don't mind running in the cold (as long as I have my ears covered!) or even in the rain but when you throw strong wind in, it gets really yuk. :thumbsdown:
If the air is still and really icy, I do find it irritates my throat and nostrils for a bit, but I can usually push through that.

babylover111
31-05-2007, 20:22
:laughing: This morning was the first morning in about a month that I didn't go out running. I am usually out there by 7am and this morning in Vic, it was pouring with rain, gale force winds and icy cold! I don't mind running in the cold (as long as I have my ears covered!) or even in the rain but when you throw strong wind in, it gets really yuk. :thumbsdown:
If the air is still and really icy, I do find it irritates my throat and nostrils for a bit, but I can usually push through that.
Oh my god!! That sounds awful, I understand why you didn't end up going I don't blame you. You sound sooo motivated and now I'm going to borrow some of that off you :D another thing do you carry a drink bottle with you while you run outside or do you just wait till you get home? I get frustrated running with one but feel like I need one oooh the luxuries of running on a treadmill with a special drink bottle holder!

Chub Chub
31-05-2007, 21:21
Has anyone ever done the 12 minute running challenge on a treadmill? You go for 12 minutes and see how many km's you can run, increasing the speed till you can't keep going.

I managed to do 2.29km in 12 minutes :yelclap: I'm going to do the same next week but 6 minutes so hopefullly I can go faster for longer.

So how exactly does this work?

So I run at peak speed for 12 minutes and she how many km's I run? Or do I have it wrong???

Funkychicken
31-05-2007, 21:32
Oh my god!! That sounds awful, I understand why you didn't end up going I don't blame you. You sound sooo motivated and now I'm going to borrow some of that off you :D another thing do you carry a drink bottle with you while you run outside or do you just wait till you get home? I get frustrated running with one but feel like I need one oooh the luxuries of running on a treadmill with a special drink bottle holder!
Running for me has always been about being minimalistic. Me, shorts/tshirt/runners and the air. Oh, and a good supportive bra! :D

My dad has a book (I guess you would call it a coffee table book) called The Zen of Running. When I was little, I would paw this book over and over-I was so taken with it. There is a picture of this man, all wild beard and barefoot, running along a beach in just a pair of shorts. He looks so free and that to me is what I have chased through my years of running.

Most days running is just good. Some days it is crappy and hard work but now and then, I go out there and it is an amazing spiritual experience that has me living right in the moment-no thoughts of later that day or next week or next year, just me and now. These moments are the magic ones and can never be predicted. If they happen, then I usually have no warning-they are just there.

babylover111
31-05-2007, 21:37
So how exactly does this work?

So I run at peak speed for 12 minutes and she how many km's I run? Or do I have it wrong???
Well you've got 12 minutes ahead of you to see how far you can go. Being a treadmill girl I normally start at about 11km/h and work my way up, at the end of the 12 minutes you want to be sprinting to the finish line! I normally finish on 14 or 15km/hr. It's bascially seeing how fast you can go for how long and increasing the speed when you think you can.

I hope I've explained that well!

Funkychicken you've described a great run so well. Once you get past the pain you get into such a magneficent mindset and it's so amazing that it can happen on any given day. Some days you think you're in a running mood but then you find out you aren't and the other day when I was feeling sick and tired I had the most amazing run when I felt like I could've gone on and on for hours!

Chub Chub
31-05-2007, 21:42
Well you've got 12 minutes ahead of you to see how far you can go. Being a treadmill girl I normally start at about 11km/h and work my way up, at the end of the 12 minutes you want to be sprinting to the finish line! I normally finish on 14 or 15km/hr. It's bascially seeing how fast you can go for how long and increasing the speed when you think you can.

I hope I've explained that well!

Yip:thumbsup:

I am also a treadmill girl, with a 2 year old and a hubby that works early mornings the only time I get to run is at night....so it is a treadmill for me.

Well I was at gym last night but won't get there again till Sat morning. Will try your 12 minute challenge. The sprinting part...would you say you sprint the last 2 minutes or more or less?

babylover111
31-05-2007, 21:51
Yip:thumbsup:

I am also a treadmill girl, with a 2 year old and a hubby that works early mornings the only time I get to run is at night....so it is a treadmill for me.

Well I was at gym last night but won't get there again till Sat morning. Will try your 12 minute challenge. The sprinting part...would you say you sprint the last 2 minutes or more or less?
I normally increase it half a level every minute then get to my maximum by 10 minutes and sprint and maybe even bump it up half a level or a full level for my last 30 seconds or another level until I'm almost dying :laughing:

Chub Chub
31-05-2007, 21:55
I normally increase it half a level every minute then get to my maximum by 10 minutes and sprint and maybe even bump it up half a level or a full level for my last 30 seconds or another level until I'm almost dying :laughing:

OK! I will let you know how I go.....I am a little scared!:eek: :p

babylover111
01-06-2007, 14:13
OK! I will let you know how I go.....I am a little scared!:eek: :p
:laughing: Goodluck! I can't wait to hear how you went.

Today I ran 7.12km in 45 minutes!! I was so proud of myself, I wasn't going very well in the beginning but then I got into the "groove" and at the end I had such an endorphine rush that I was covered in goosebumps. I was always watching my heart rate closely it's amazing how high it can go in a matter of minutes, when I hit 40 minutes I was on 170 then at the end I was 187 :eek:

Zeal
02-06-2007, 06:03
Hope I can just jump in here, because I ran for 30 mins last night on the treadmill. This is something I have not done for about 9 years!!! I think I was a bit slow (just under 5kms in 30 mins) but I would love to get faster and increase the duration as I get fitter with it.

Jeffy
02-06-2007, 15:43
I cannot believe this thread is still going!

I kinda didn't get very far with it all but I am pleased to say I am now in week 3 of the Body For Life challenge. I have dropped 1 kg and 3cm from my waist :yelclap:

I also bought a treadmill, so now I can run whenever screamy-baby is asleep! I don't do as much cardio as I used to because I have included weights in my program. I do hike up and down a nearby mountain once a week though!

Zeal
03-06-2007, 10:04
5 km run today - 30 mins :)

Funkychicken
09-06-2007, 20:44
:yelclap: to everyone who is trying. Jeffy, good to see you back in here too.
Well, it looks as though my friend is going to chicken out of the fun run but I have worked really hard so I am going to do it anyway. I put my entry in last week and figured I would go either with her or alone. Plus I wanted to get it in before it was considered a late entry and cost me another $5! :p

So, tomorrow is "practice run day". I need to do at least 8 km's to make sure I am up for the 10 nest Sunday, and then I can back off a bit this week. I have pushed pretty hard this week, so I think I'll be OK. :fingerscrossed:

Well done Rachel and Babylover. Feel's good doesn't it! :thumbsup:

Jeffy
10-06-2007, 07:13
Well; I did 20 minutes yesterday on my treadmill. Not a run though, as I have to do interval training with the Body For Life challenge. Still; I am definitely getting fitter (and thinner):yes:

babylover111
10-06-2007, 08:25
I'm improving! On Friday I ran 7.35km in 45 minutes :yelclap:

Jeffy
11-06-2007, 09:00
Well; not a run as such but I worked out yesterday. Lower body weights and today I have a 6 km walk with my sister, then upper body weights tonight. I've been doing Body For Life for 4 weeks exactly and hadn't seen much change in my body.

I went to Myer yesterday and they had a massive Cue sale. I tried a few things on and they looked awful. A dress happened to catch my eye but it was a size 8. I almost didn't try it but did anyway and.....IT FIT! :eek: I have NEVER been a size 8. Before I was pg, I was a snug 10.

So I just spent $600 on a suit, a top and a dress. All this exercise is paying off :yelclap:

So, anyone who thinks they're not getting anywhere, KEEP GOING!

Funkychicken
17-06-2007, 22:27
That's fantastic Jeffy. It is so thrilling when all the hard work pays off and we are taken by surprise. It sounds as though you deserve that shopping spree! Good on you. :thumbsup:

Well today was the day. I ran the 10km aspect of "The Run To The G" this morning and it was great. I found my form so quickly and felt really good the entire time. I felt a bit tired at about 7.5 km's but by the 8 km mark, I knew I was doing great, so I pushed harder and flew home! I am yet to find out my time as the race start was a bit of a debacle due to so many entrants. They sent us off in waves so I didn't actually cross the start line until 15 mins after the first runners went out, but our numbers had the Windag transponders on them so my time did begin as I crossed the start line. I just checked the results on the website and they are posted for the 5 km and 1/2 marathon but not the 10km yet!
Anyway, I had a great run, although I am pretty sore tonight. We spent the rest of the day touring Melbourne and visited Scienceworks and my legs are really paying for it now. I asked DH to take some pics on the phone-unfortunately there is only one of me and it's not too clear but you can tell I am wearing a bright pink Bub Hub hat! :D

ME (http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g175/SalOO8/0617071102-00.jpg)

CROWD
(http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g175/SalOO8/0617070956-01.jpg)
MELBOURNE'S NEWEST ATTRACTION! (http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g175/SalOO8/0617070957-00.jpg)

babylover111
17-06-2007, 22:32
Funkychicken that's fantastic!! You look very in the "groove" in that photo :yelclap: love the hat too!!

Jeffy, a size 8 is amazing :eek: you must be so proud of yourself!

The other day I ran 7.5 km in 45 :smiliedance: