View Full Version : knitting soakers

BlueGin
18-12-2006, 15:42
Hi all, I am very new to knitting, as well as to soakers. My Gran has offered to make some, but she thinks they are just outer covers for the "pretty" factor, and will not accept that they can go over terry :rolleyes:... she also wont follow the patterns (such as Alice's) which recommend 8 ply, as she says the baby will be scorching hot. My explanation of lanolising just left her asking if I'd ever been in a sheep pen, did I want my baby smelling like that?
I did get a laugh when she whispered to me to ask if I realised that "wee wees would go through terry towelling, and on to the wool!" and that maybe these soaker thingamabobs would work... if I used PVC pilchers between the nappy and the soaker! :laughing:

SO: Can anyone tell me -

1. Will a 4 ply tighter knit still be effective?

2. Are the old fashioned knitted pants called "Modesties" going to work as soakers?

3. Is there a way to explain the way they breathe, allowing warmth in Winter and coolness in Summer?

4. Can anyone convince a non-believer that they don't reek?

Thanks in advance, I hate the idea of her wasting her time and money making useless knickers that never get worn :(, but being such a good knitter, she has the potential to make me some wonderful soakers... if she'll listen!!!

18-12-2006, 18:57
Can anyone tell me -

1. Will a 4 ply tighter knit still be effective?

2. Are the old fashioned knitted pants called "Modesties" going to work as soakers?

3. Is there a way to explain the way they breathe, allowing warmth in Winter and coolness in Summer?

4. Can anyone convince a non-believer that they don't reek?

I think 4 ply may work but may have to make a tighter knit. 8 or 10 ply is recommended though esp for night.
What are Modesties? I have knitted pants for all my kids way before I knew about the effectivesness of wool as a cover. And as an addition to your 1st q, I knitted my bub a pair of knitted pants when I was preg with him and i now use those on cool days like longies. I have patterns for knitted patterns and they would work also. There are a few patterns on the net that are from old (vintage) knitting books - crochet and knitting.
How old is your gran? From my understanding before PVC wool soakers were th only choice of nappy cover. I am not sure what other choice they had.
Wool is breathable. In fires people are known to wear wool as it doesn't flame up and is breathable.
I think the proof is in the pudding. You just have to experience it for yourself. Do you think your Gran could humour you and just 'pretend' to believe you then see for herself?

18-12-2006, 19:01
Characteristics of Wool

Durability: Wool fabrics are very durable and flexible. It can withstand being bent 20,000times without breaking. In comparison, cotton breaks after 3,000 bends and rayon can only be bent 75 times without breaking.

Comfort: Wool is an excellent insulator. It keeps heat close to the body by trapping still or dead air within the fibers. To a certain degree, wool is considered water repellent. Small amounts of liquid, such as spills, light rain or snow, will stay on the surface or run off the fabric. Wool fabrics also wick moisture away from the skin, keeping the wearer dryer when sweating and cooler when hot.

Care: Wool garments do not soil easily and are not easily spotted by grease and oils. These characteristics decrease the need to clean wool garments after every use. Recommended care for most wool garments is dry cleaning, however advances in technology have produced washable wools for more than 20 years. Washable wool garments with improved hand and shrinkage resistance are being developed. Wool blended with synthetic fibers and/or treated with special finishes help achieve the easy care characteristics.

Flammability: Wool is popular with interior designers because it is considered naturally flame retardant. While it will burn if exposed to flame, it burns slowly. When the flame is removed, the fabric usually quits burning.

Cost: Wool garments are not cheap. Consequently, wool is considered a luxury fiber. The initial cost of wool garments combined with the cost of dry cleaning makes wool clothing a continual investment. The high cost of wool clothing has lead to a number of synthetic substitutions. Acrylic, for example, imitates the characteristics of wool better than any other manufactured fiber.

Properties of wool (http://www.fabrics.net/amywool.asp)

hth

BlueGin
18-12-2006, 19:15
Fantastic, thanks for that Kymmy! Modesties (I think) are just little outer knickers to hide nappies if girls bend over and their dress rides up. I guess as long as they fit over the nappies they should be fine, she is doing a tighter knit.
She's around 80, and I never thought of asking her what she used, but it would have been in the 40's and I can't imagine PVC being on offer...
I was wondering where you found those patterns you mention?
Thanks for the wool info, I might print that off (as Mum is being nice, but is a little sceptical as well) and as for Grandma, I guess she can just humour me for a bit :)

18-12-2006, 19:44
http://www.craftyarncouncil.com/projects/nov98_crochproject.html

That is one for crochet. A layette/set, blanket, cardi and blanket. I can find more if you are intersted. Also have a knitting pattern book with lil knitted pants in there. Might give them a go soon. One of them is very similar if not the same as the Possom Pouches pattern.

shed
18-12-2006, 20:17
You can't tell her, she just has to try it and then she will see for herself.

I have just started to use my soaker regularly because I was a bit doubtful about it, but you know what??? it flippin works!!! I don't know how it works but it does, yes it does :yes:

8 ply is the best, pure wool, not acrylic. Tell her to stop trying to reinvent the wheel, its already been invented and works well.

BlueGin
18-12-2006, 20:23
8 ply is the best, pure wool, not acrylic. Tell her to stop trying to reinvent the wheel, its already been invented and works well.

:laughing: can I put you in my pocket and take you with me to tell her that? :p

And glad to hear yours is working well, I too have an inner sceptic, but I have locked her up tight!

I will push the 8 ply, it seems to work for everyone else, another quick question, are soakers OK to use under wondersuits when they are newborn?

eternalmaternal
18-12-2006, 20:24
:smiliedance: I just had to come and say I started making my own wool soaker today:yes:

CurlyG
18-12-2006, 20:30
Mel you clever thing!!! :yelclap:
All this talk about knitting soakers makes me want to learn (again, for the third time!) to knit...but the patterns look complicated!

What colour are you going to use?

BlueGin
18-12-2006, 20:38
:smiliedance: I just had to come and say I started making my own wool soaker today:yes:

:yelclap: yay!!! I should get cracking on mine, as I put myself in the knitoff!

stellaj
18-12-2006, 21:32
No advice but your nan sounds sooo cute!

BlueGin
18-12-2006, 22:20
LOL Mel, yeah she is funny, and very sweet... but stubborn as a mule!
I do look forward to seeing her creations though, and she is also making a big shawl, which apparently is tradition for newborns - great for the pram!

Love your avatar by the way, those gorgeous young men are so big now!

BlueGin
18-12-2006, 23:18
And thanks for that link Kymmy, I am actually pretty rubbish at crochet - I can only do that basic one in squares - but those knitted ones sound great, would love to have a squiz if you think they'd be any where near my skills range (which at the moment is: knowing the theory of all parts of the Alice's one, but not having completed it)... lol, don't ask much do I? Sorry about the barrage, you just seem like "the" person in wool round here hey?

19-12-2006, 11:30
Yep just call me the crazy woolly one.
I will see what I can find for you. Lots of crochet ones!

19-12-2006, 11:33
striped set (http://www.craftown.com/knit/knit26.htm)
This one seems easy.
vintage soaker pants (http://freevintageknitting.com/baby/soaker-pantie-baby-pattern.html)
Another easy one - knitted like a triangle then sewn up (see pic)

19-12-2006, 11:44
tinybirds (http://www.birdcrossstitch.com/soakers/pattern/index_printable.html)

This is a good pattern for beginners as it shows step by step pics.

H&B'sMum
19-12-2006, 12:59
I've made heaps of soaker, shorties and longies now and love them.

tehyc an be used under wondersuit when newborn. The wool allows the wee to evaporate almost like breathing, which keeps bubs nice and cool. My SIL lives in Darwin and she only uses woolies.

Tell your nan to only use 100% wool and 8ply is better. 4 ply would be too thin when pulled over bubs nappy, 8 or 10 ply is best.

Good luck with it all.

I should post some of my creations....might do that tonight if I have time.

19-12-2006, 13:08
Please do Karena - I for one would love to see!

19-12-2006, 19:11
knitting soakers (http://diaperpages.com/soaker.php)
That might be helpful too.

BlueGin
20-12-2006, 00:16
Yep just call me the crazy woolly one.
I will see what I can find for you. Lots of crochet ones!

Thanks for the links Crazy Wooly One! :D
Just love the look of the triangle one, for ease and speed, might pass that one on to Gran. Also, how cute are the Little Turtle ones?!? I am tempted to save up and buy their "famous" soaker and longie patterns. I have my eye on the Tinybirds, I think that will be my 2nd attempt now after Alice's, as it does look straightforward.

Hey Karena, didn't know you were a wool-head! Thanks for the info, I will pass that on as it would be a waste for all that work to be done with the wrong ply. Saw your pic thread, just lovely! Very nice indeed :thumbsup:. So where did you learn to embelish?

20-12-2006, 12:41
I was just cruising the LTK site last night! Yeah they are good patterns. But me I am a cheapskate, I just study the pics and I make up my own patterns (also better for custom designing). Seems exy to me cos I don't like even paying $7 for a book of patterns! Rather be buying wool anyway.
Embellishing I would like to learn. I can do a little when I am in the mood. I need to learn the chain stitch.

BlueGin
20-12-2006, 12:54
But me I am a cheapskate, I just study the pics and I make up my own patterns (also better for custom designing).

Embellishing I would like to learn. I can do a little when I am in the mood. I need to learn the chain stitch.

You sound like me, rather spend it on the material! ;) Well, that's what I'm like with sewing, and I can't follow patterns very well :o
Shame I am such an amateur with knitting, I am stuck paying for it for a bit, until I get the hang of knitting that is! I guess it will make sense though, as you can hold knitting against a drawing or the baby itself to do a "measure" as you go. Is that how you do it?

As for embellishing (same as embroidery yeah?) I am a bit slap dash, but like playing around with it, once I get the scanner going I can scan the chain stitch page for you if you like? And any other stitches (bullion, lazy daisy, etc) it's a great book, pretty clear :)

20-12-2006, 14:27
I started out using the free patterns. But If I see something I like - eg. I have made 2 skoakers from looking at pictures and just winging it. I think its easy enough for me cos I have had a lot of experience knitting. You know the motto - once you know the rules you can break them. A lot of experimenting can pay off.
I do need help with embellishments, and I need more time. Have any spare? ;) lol

susiehomemaker
20-12-2006, 16:38
lol - your gran sounds so cute! Definately stuff that little sceptic girl down inside - I was sceptical too but now I want only woolies! I wish my 2 new ones would arrive... ***taps foot impatiently***

H&B'sMum
20-12-2006, 20:55
Hey Karena, didn't know you were a wool-head! Thanks for the info, I will pass that on as it would be a waste for all that work to be done with the wrong ply. Saw your pic thread, just lovely! Very nice indeed :thumbsup:. So where did you learn to embelish?

Yep I'm a wool head from way back!!!!!!

I mostly get my wool from the NZ wool company (google it for the addy). Great vargiated wool and love all the colours. Have knitted Harry 4 longies, 2 vests and a jumper all from the NZ wool. Look for the vargiated ones, some nice colours for both boys and girls.

I found some embellishing sites and practised on a pair of Harry's until I was satisfied I could do it properly enough for other people to have the garment.

Glad you like them

20-12-2006, 21:04
Oh now I am interested in seeing the vests and jumper Karena. Please?

H&B'sMum
20-12-2006, 21:13
Here is just one of his jumper's I have on the computer. The others are all in his room and I can't be bothered getting them, taking pics, loading them on the computer and then uploading them. Sorry. But here is one

H's jumper back (http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f215/Wombat_97/Harrysjumper025.jpg)

H's jumper front (http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f215/Wombat_97/Harrysjumper022.jpg)

They aren't very good as H was in a mood when I took them, but you get the idea, enjoy.

20-12-2006, 21:36
Lovely! I like that jumper very much. Utiki Blue Haze?

H&B'sMum
20-12-2006, 21:36
Yep Kymmy.

mum2elouise
20-12-2006, 21:43
I'm loving that jumper Karena!:yes: I'll have to get a bit of practice knitting in now before we have a boy so he can wear a trendy jumper like that!:D

BlueGin
20-12-2006, 22:03
I do need help with embellishments, and I need more time. Have any spare? ;) lol

:laughing: well the embellishments, sure, the time... :p

lol - your gran sounds so cute! Definately stuff that little sceptic girl down inside -

Don't worry, I'm sitting on her ;)

Yep I'm a wool head from way back!!!!!!

I mostly get my wool from the NZ wool company (google it for the addy). Great vargiated wool and love all the colours. Have knitted Harry 4 longies, 2 vests and a jumper all from the NZ wool. Look for the vargiated ones, some nice colours for both boys and girls.

I found some embellishing sites and practised on a pair of Harry's until I was satisfied I could do it properly enough for other people to have the garment.

That wool sounds lovely, I am going to stick to the basic Cleckheaton for my first project, getting tension even and such, but look forward to branching out! Adorable jumper, just beautiful!
I think I might do an "embellishing square" to mess around on, so I can be bit freer before attempting to attack the soaker, wiser methinks. lol

Just have to catch that Grandma of mine before she hits Spotlight and gets the 4ply now...

fruitjuice
20-12-2006, 22:26
I just got a book out of the library today called 'knit and *****', it's a good book for learning how to knit because it's not old-fashioned. It tells you how to read a pattern too. And it has some great patterns in it.

BlueGin
21-12-2006, 08:37
Thanks, that sounds like a great book FruitJuice! I am desperately trying to figure out what the ***** stands for though, lol

22-12-2006, 00:36
b*****? They actually have s 'n' b sessions - never been to one myself but might be great way to learn?

BlueGin
22-12-2006, 11:09
b*****? They actually have s 'n' b sessions - never been to one myself but might be great way to learn?

I wonder if it is b****? LOL, I am so boring, would never have thought! I think it would be a great way to learn, and if I'm still having probs after Grandma goes home I may well have to seek one out!