View Full Version : Hand, Foot and Mouth

30-10-2005, 09:24

My mum was diagnosed with Hand Foot and Mouth last week but I really didnt think anything of it until this morning. I woke up with a big blister on my lip and then I noticed DS had some blisters on his legs. The more I looked the more I found on him, he has six on his right foot and leg and 4 on his left one.

I have seen HF&M before as I work in child care so I really think DS and I have it :eek:

But I cant for the life of me remember how it is treated (my mums at work so I cant get a hold of her) so if anyone knows I would love to hear from you.

I'll head off to the doctors this afternoon and hopefully get some answers, if its not one thing with DS its another.......it never ends LOL :eek:

kiara
30-10-2005, 10:03
Working in childcare you must be used to and sick of yourself and your child getting sick. I work in childcare too and am so over getting everything. Since I've been in it for 5 years I don't seem to get as many things as I used to, thank goodness.

I can't remember either what to do. We had 2 children excluded the week before last because of it but still can't even remember what to do. Brain so doesnt work.

rynosmum
30-10-2005, 10:16
Hi Sarah,

DS had this a few months back and the Dr just said to keep him away from other littlies. If the sores in his mouth are very painful, then give panadol or Nurofen. It is only when the blisters are open that they are contagious.

Then again, the Dr told me that adults couldn't get it - and I believe that you and I are proof that they can !

I used pawpaw ointment on Ry's sores - it was only really active for 2-3 days. After that, I just made sure that the most active blisters (on his feet) were covered.

Doesn't it always happen on the weekend ?!? :D

30-10-2005, 10:23
Yeah I know you take them to kindy healthy during the week and they end up being sick all weekend :eek:

DS started getting a runny nose after friday(as I worked an extra shift this week so he attended day care) He was fine all week until yesterday when his nose wouldnt stop runing (thank goodness its clear so far)

He only has the blisters on his feet and legs and they dont appear to be bothering him at all so far which is good. I probably wouldnt even had noticed them but for the one I got on my mouth and then I remembered my mum having them in her mouth (so cant blame kindy for this one lol :rolleyes: )

Do you remember how long your son had them for? just wondering how much sick leave I'll be using up this week :eek:

mimi
30-10-2005, 10:40
Hi O's mum!

Commiseration's to you and Orlando - oh and to your mum of course! I have been trying to remember these things too ... oh how the memory fails me these days! :D
I found this page - it is from the US though - http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dvrd/revb/enterovirus/hfhf.htm which has some info. I really thought the exclusion was for 10 days [??] but I think it says in the CDC document, one week? I also thought the coxsackie virus lived in the dirt [??] but it doesn't mention that either ... so maybe that is NOT so at all!!! :p
But I do remember having to clean all the plastic and sand pit toys, at the childcare, with bleach after a child had the illness.

My nephew had HF&M quite badly - to the point that he couldn't eat anything because his mouth was so sore, and afriends teenage daughter had it so bad on her feet she couldn't walk!! ... but I have seen others too, that hardly seem to notice. Lets hope you and Orlando get off lightly!!

mimi
30-10-2005, 10:45
Ahh but here is a Victorian document that says 'until the blisters have dried' . Go to http://www.health.vic.gov.au/ideas/bluebook/hand_foot.htm

AND [why didn't I go here first??? memory!! :p] http://www.cyh.com/HealthTopics/HealthTopicDetails.aspx?p=114&np=303&id=1783#5

How long is it infectious?
A person with the disease is infectious until the blisters dry up. The virus is in the fluid of the blisters, and can be spread by coughing, sneezing and putting objects in the mouth.
The virus is found in the child's poo, and can still be there for several weeks after the child has recovered. Careful hygiene practices are always needed in child care centres and at home.
Children with hand foot and mouth disease should not attend school or child care until all the blisters have dried up.

30-10-2005, 11:58
Oh Mimi big hugs to you lol thanks heaps :)

I love bubhub your always bound to find people who have priceless info that you need on a sunday morning lol

P.S I so hope DS and I dont get it bad thats the last thing we need :eek:
P.P.S I so need a Holiday- no hubby, no bubba and no work!!!! (Like that'll ever happen :rolleyes: )

H&B'sMum
30-10-2005, 14:48
I'm sorry you and DS have HFM O'mum. I too work in child care so have see this as well. You will need to keep the blisters covered when they open and make sure you are washing yours and DS hands all the time. It will stop it getting worse.
It is annoying when our chn get sick from day care, but really there's nothing we can do about it if you want/have to work as well.
I hope they are not bothering you too much.

30-10-2005, 16:13
Thanks everyone,you've all been great :D

We went to the medical centre and it looks like we'll be at home all week waiting this thing out. I hope I can survive another week with my sick little bub though at the moment they dont seem to be bothering him at all, thankfully :)

Your right Harrysmum we all have to go through these things, I think its called "having children" lol :p

H&B'sMum
30-10-2005, 16:17
So True OM!!!!!!!!!!! ;)

rynosmum
30-10-2005, 22:52
Do you remember how long your son had them for? just wondering how much sick leave I'll be using up this week :eek:

The Dr quoted about a week away from Daycare but as Ry only goes 3 days per week (Tues-Thurs) and also got it on a Sunday :mad: , he was back at daycare on the Thursday - albeit with socks covering his little feet.

The spots on his hands were little dots but never turned into blisters but the ones on his feet were the main issue. They were happy that these were covered and as other kids there had already had it that week, they were focussing on extra tight hygene.

Apart from that, it didn't really bother him at all. :D

31-10-2005, 11:02
Thanks for that info :)

Sarahxxxxx

TuesdaysPrincess
29-07-2008, 09:34
My DS was exposed to this on the weekend, and has woken up with a rash on his thigh and on his bottom. He doesn't have any mouth ulcers at the moment, and doesn't have a temperature.

My main concern is that I'm 8 weeks pregnant - Should I call the obstetrician? Am going to try to see the GP today for DS, but am freaking out a little bit!