View Full Version : infants and flights
just wondering if any of you have taken a flight with your newborn. do u have any tips for a safe happy trip
my daughtger is 11 weeks old and we are going on a 2 hour flight this weekend, im planning to breastfeed her while taking off and landing any other suggestions
i am worried her ears are going to pop every time i fly the pain is really bad and that scares me that she will be in alot of pain:(
any sugestions/advice very welcome:)
Spewiesmum
15-12-2006, 18:47
My husband took our son to NZ a few months ago and he asked the flight attendants about DS ear's popping. They told him to give him a drink when the engines start roaring as that's when the pressure changes.
Ask when you board - I'm sure it's something they're asked a lot.
~Kristin~
15-12-2006, 18:59
I'm concerned about the same thing, going to Tassie in a few weeks.
The only info I've been told is the drinking thing too, or if bub will suck a dummy.
Here's hoping the little munchkins play the game for us.... :fingerscrossed:
Sharelle
15-12-2006, 19:32
We flew from Brisbane to Tasmania with DD2 was 4 weeks old. Fed her during take off and didn't hear boo from her the whole flight.:yes: :thumbsup:
I took DS on his first flight at 8wks old and we've been flying quite a bit since then, I havn't had any problems with his ears or anything, I suggest feeding your little one on take off and landing, or you can use a dummy, as long as they are sucking something they will be all right as that helps the ears
also I suggest booking in early as then if the flight isn't full you can get a row to your self, a frount pack is handy as well, leaves your hands spare
also I gave my DS some pamol before the flight, just incase, I still do it now at 2.5 years
It is the landing which plays havoc with the ears, not the takeoff, so do try to make sure you feed then.
Dont feed them too early or you'll be finished before takeoff - been there done that. Watch out for when the flight attendants take their seats and strap in and then start to feed.
I've done two long hauls with DD and she was fine, good luckx
I gave DS a drink on the way up and down and it worked not problem. No other tips really other than to be at checkin early so you get a bassinet.:thumbsup:
Princess_Alisa
15-12-2006, 21:44
If your baby has a bit of a cold or is in pain with the ears, following helps:
Ask the flight attendant to put a few tissues in 2 plastic cups and fill the cups one centemeter or less with very hot water, so the tissues soak up all the moisture. Then place the cups over babies ears - the warm steam will help! (I used to be a flight attendant and that was how we did it).
My DD is 12 months now and we have been already twice to Europe with her as well as a few flights in and around Australia. We never had any problems with her ears or that she was in pain. I also did the breasfeeding on start and landing, but sometimes she was not even interested. It did not bother her at all. I just found she always gets sleepy at take off :smiliedance:
Well, have a great trip and good luck :)
My bub is 7 months old and has already done 6 return trips from Brissie to Sydney. The only advice I can give is to be organised.
Rather than lugging the whole nappy bag into the toilets if the need arrives, have a smaller bag, like a snap lock bag with a nappy, nappy sack and wipes on hand. Also have dummies and bottles easily accessible. I fly alone with Nick and it helps having everything on hand.
I've not had a problem with sore ears, even flying when Nicholas has had the flu - I checked with the doctors before flying and Nick did well.
Turbulance is great, helps put Nick to sleep everytime! Good luck and don't stress, the more relaxed you are, the better!
Thanks very much for your replies, you have made me feel a little more at ease about the whole thing, just to top if off though Im very nervous of flying:o I will pull myself together though for bubba
2 hrs on the plane bub probley wont even know...
My friend come over from england with her 2 little ones a new born and a toddler by her self and she just had stuff for the toddler to do and the baby just slept like she was at home..
There would be no way i would be putting hot cups on bubs ears 1 drop of hot water and you have a burn just what you need in the air on a plane..
I am shocked that you would even be alowed to offer this to someone you are risking sued..
There would be no way we would even be alowed to do that at my work and i work with kids in a hospital...
littlepickle
15-12-2006, 23:52
I took dd on a flight to the UK at 11 weeks old, she was fine and slept through all takeoffs and landings without any problem. I was all set to breastfeed her etc but she wasnt interested! Personally, I think the younger they are, the easier it is to fly with them as they just sleep pretty much all the way!
sweetsugardumplin'
16-12-2006, 11:41
fantastic ideas :yelclap: probably the most important thing is to be relaxed. If you are then bub will be.
Another thing I have found to be really helpful is to take a muslin wrap. Planes can get quite cool and I found that it helped my DS feel warm and secure as he snuggled into me and fell asleep (even at twenty months).
Also most flights, even the cheapy ones (Virgin and Jetstar) usually let parents with children booard first, so you can get organsied.
Oh yeah, if you are going on a cheapy flight bring your own pillow, it will save your poor arms when holding bubs...just prop the pillow between your upper arm and the seat or side) it will prop you up and you can relax those arms muscles.
Finally, I'm never excited about giving children or babies drugs to fly.....often they don't really need it and once they get older and have their own seat (2 yrs) thet can be really excited about the whole experience. But that's JMO.
Happy Flying :wave: