View Full Version : "Select" nappies

whatwasithinking
28-10-2005, 12:46
Just wondering has anyone tried the "Select" Brand Nappies from Woolworths?

Saw them today and they are not overly expensive but unsure if they would be any good.

I bought the "Woolworths" brand nappy wipes but didn't want to risk the nappies until I received any "reviews"

Any recommedations would be great as I (like alot of other mums of course) am finding it financially hard buying nappies for both DDs.

tickle
28-10-2005, 12:59
I tried them with DS and at first I thought they were great. Then they leaked the second night, and then he got nappy rash. Saying that though my DS can only where Huggies or Aldi nappies without getting a rash. I know others who have tried them who thought they were great though. Only down side is you have to buy a huge box. I only put them on him if I know he will only be wearing them for a very short time (I've got lots to get rid of!!).
Also comparing prices, if your bub is still small they are not that much cheaper than huggies. It is when they are in the bigger sizes that they start to work out cheap.
If you have an ALDI near you their wipes are as cheap as they come ($2.99 for 80) and they are the best quality I've found.

razzle
28-10-2005, 13:05
I like them so far... I've only used about half a dozen as I'm still trying to get through the rest of my snugglers! They're much softer than snugglers IMO and a little thicker. I still think that Huggies are the best - I only use them at night.

whatwasithinking
28-10-2005, 13:23
I tried them with DS and at first I thought they were great. Then they leaked the second night, and then he got nappy rash. Saying that though my DS can only where Huggies or Aldi nappies without getting a rash. I know others who have tried them who thought they were great though. Only down side is you have to buy a huge box. I only put them on him if I know he will only be wearing them for a very short time (I've got lots to get rid of!!).
Also comparing prices, if your bub is still small they are not that much cheaper than huggies. It is when they are in the bigger sizes that they start to work out cheap.
If you have an ALDI near you their wipes are as cheap as they come ($2.99 for 80) and they are the best quality I've found.

thx - i didn't know ALDI sold that sort of stuff - next time I'm in that area I'll pop in a buy some.

Baby Girl
02-11-2005, 21:42
I have been using them overnight for DD1 for about a week now and no explosions, leaks or dreaded nappy rash - and DD1 wakes up with a very full nappy after a whole night!!

I find them comparable to huggies so far. I wanted to try them on DD1 before DD2 as she only has the one nappy a day as opposed to DD2 who is in nappies all day and night!! When I run out of huggies for her I definitely am going to try them on her.

What are the woolies wipes like?

razzle
02-11-2005, 21:50
I use the Woolies wipes - I think they're fine. They smell a bit icky but at the end of the day, it works out to be about $3.30 per pack if you buy them in the bulk box. They're just as thick as huggies, not quite as big I don't think.

SugarBlossom
03-11-2005, 07:52
I think using cloth wipes are fantastic! No icky chemicals on bubbas skin and the initial cost is about $15...then water is free.....i used to use wipes in pkts but I found the cloth ones do a heaps better job! :D

Fraggle
03-11-2005, 09:02

I have been using the select nappies on my boy for while now, 3 boxes or so. Nothing compares to Huggies, nappies wise, but I have found the select brand to be a close second, and trust me, I have tried them all except the Aldi brand.

He did get nappie rash for a short while, but he was teething at the time?

As far as wipes go, the homebrand wipes from woolies aren't too bad, but the select wipes from woolies i have found to be closest to Huggies. Hope this helps.

Good luck

whatwasithinking
03-11-2005, 09:26
thanks girls for all your advice - will definatly take it all on board the mummy train (brain)

Baby Girl
03-11-2005, 22:36
I use the Woolies wipes - I think they're fine. They smell a bit icky but at the end of the day, it works out to be about $3.30 per pack if you buy them in the bulk box. They're just as thick as huggies, not quite as big I don't think.Huggies wipes seem to be shrinking everytime I buy them!! I am going to try the woolies ones!!

aimeesmum
13-11-2005, 21:06
I have tried the Woolworths Selects Nappies and think they are good, My little girl wears disposables overnight and when we go out (cloth all other times).
I have also used the Woolworths Homebrand ones and they are excellent. We had lots of problems with leakies and exploding nappies when I used Huggies, :eek: one day I went to the supermarket and there were no Huggies on the shelf (country area with supply problems), so I grabbed the smallest packet of nappies available, which happened to be the homebrand ones, and I havent even contemplated Huggies since, I just cant justify the cost. :)
We are currently trying Aldi nappies and they are a little bit more expensive than homebrand but not quite the same price as the Selects.
Also I have tried the Black and Gold label nappies and they are hopeless, I threw out the packet I got after 3 nappies!!