View Full Version : due in may 2007 part 2

Pages : 1 [2]

twitch
28-01-2007, 06:48 PM
I'm definitely a low-belly.

LusciousMum23
28-01-2007, 07:29 PM
My tummy is quite low still .
Baby is kicking and moving around really low too.
DS2 25/9/03
EDD 31/5/07 GIRL

28-01-2007, 08:51 PM
I LOVE your random q's Kristy!!! Keep em' up :D

My belly is really low still - bub seems to be kicking my pubic bone - though I've had a few taps underneath my belly button too... I suppose at 23 weeks this is to be expected huh?

*babygirl*
28-01-2007, 09:38 PM
i couldnt tell you lol.. MOST the time she is lying really low and is kicking the side of my belly or straight down into who knows what lol (* ouch*) it feels like i am holding her at thigh high some days lol... but when i lie down she does flips and kick all the way up my belly then around and starts at the bottom all over again lol... and sits all on one side at the bottom.. she's active and very strange lol..:yes: JUST LIKE MUMMY :D

miss ani
28-01-2007, 09:55 PM
i'm low-slung. bubs is kicking down in the right hand corner of my belly, but she flips sometimes and kicks up higher to the left!!

i went to visit my mum today, and she pulled out her stethoscope to try and see if she could hear the heartbeat. she could hear a bit of movement, but thought that it was probably a little early to hear the heartbeat without a doppler.

Kayte
29-01-2007, 09:51 AM

Just thought i would update you. I was in hosp on saturday from 11 - 5. Went to bed friday night with a bit of cramping - Woke up saturday in absolute agony & coudlnt walk. Went to the toilet and there was blood but it was very very dark brown but definetly noticeable. So dp took me to emergency and we were seen 2 straight away.

Anyways after being examined for nearly 2 hours they decided i have a Urinary Tract Infection. Also it has spread to my right kidney so i know how a kidney infection and tonsillitis aswell.

Still in lots and lots of pain.. Buba is fine.. Still been kickin away and moving.. nice strong heartbeat and my cervix is firmly shut (as the midwife told me i wont be expecting this bub for a while lol!!)

Im back off to the docs today as im still in pain and MORNING SICKNESS is back ALL DAY ! great huh !

Just thought i would let you all know xoxox

Belly rubs 2 all !!

OopsieDaisy
29-01-2007, 11:34 AM
Oh Kayte, you poor thing! I know what bladder and kidney infections are like, not fun!!

Hope you get better soon!

OopsieDaisy
29-01-2007, 11:35 AM
Random Question of the Day: (fill in the blank)
I am looking forward to ............. after I give birth!

Michelle_N
29-01-2007, 12:25 PM

I am looking forward to lying on my stomach and bending over at the waist after I give birth!

Its so hard to play with DS at the mo...I am struggling with bending over and getting up off the floor now. Imagine what it is going to be like in a couple of months! :eek:

borntobemummy
29-01-2007, 12:29 PM
Kayte:hugs: that sounds horrible, hope you feel better soon:hugs:

In response to the questions, my baby is all over the place! I feel kicks and movement right at the bottom, on the sides, out fron and on top (about 10cms above my belly button):)

And after pregnancy I can't wait to see what my baby looks like, give him a name and BF:yes:

29-01-2007, 12:42 PM

I am looking forward to...
* sleeping on my tummy
* having a drink (have been CRAVING verdehllo)
* being able to hug hubby properly without a tummy in the way
* my feet not being so swollen (I have cankles!)

Kayte - I'm so sorry to hear you were in hospital... sounds like an interesting week for us both! Have they got you on any medication or is it just a case of 'wait and see' how things go?

charlis_mum
29-01-2007, 12:52 PM
Kayte you poor thing :hugs: Not what you need at the moment. And for nasty MS to return too - yuk! Sending you heaps of feel better soon vibes. :wizard:

Well I would say a glass of wine (the hospy i transfer to for antenatal care serve beer & wine with dinner if your dr OK's it!) but i'll be b/f so i'd better stay off it for at least a few more months. So....eating ANYTHING i want without me or DH worrying about listeria or it just disagreeing with me! And sleeping on my tummy. I have been mostly on my side/tummy until the last few night bubs has been objecting with massive boots whenever i try & lay on my belly.

LusciousMum23
29-01-2007, 01:25 PM

Looking forward to....
*sleeping comfortably(I can only sleep on left side & i'm waking up with a dead arm each day)
*Having a can of Canadian Club (craving it bad but i'll BF so it will be a long wait)
*Being able to stand up without making a terrible grunting sound:o
*Definately seeing my little baby(and making sure it IS a girl!)
Yeh, the grunting sound tends to make an appearance a lot of times during the day so i'll list that again

LOVING your daily question Kristy.

Sorry to hear your not well Kayte. Lots of :hugs: to you and :fingerscrossed: m/s goes quick.

Alli 29 :wave:
DH 29
DS1 31/3/01
DS2 25/9/03
EDD 31/5/07 GIRL

Kayte
29-01-2007, 01:44 PM
Hi girlies

Thanks for your well wishes ! They actually gave me antibiodicts and they last 7 days and it should all be cleared up but im still in soooooooo much pain so im off to docs again at 1.40 so :fingerscrossed:

twitch
29-01-2007, 02:14 PM
Oh Kayte :hugs: to you. I really hope you're feeling better soon. Which hospital did you go to? Hope they treated you well. That's so good they saw you straight away. :yes:

Let us know how you go at the docs.

I am looking forward having a champagne after bubs is born. And some camembert.

Tanya1985
29-01-2007, 04:33 PM
Kayte, hope all goes well, I have had a kidney infection too, it feels like someone has kicked the hell out of your back, and I have a sore back being pregnant already so can't even imagine how you are feeling.

I response to Kristys question

King Island Triple Cream bree and crackers..... yum yum yum.
And being able to have Coke, I have cut it out because of the caffine content, I never really drank it anyway but for some reason I am missing it.
Ohh and I am not craving alcohol, mainly because I have had probably one glass of red wine a month, my Ob said it was good for me so I will go with that!:laughing:

charlis_mum
29-01-2007, 04:52 PM
Yum Tanya - King Island Triple cream brie - sounds heavenly!! I have had king island cream b4 - didn't know there was cheese too. Gonna hafta get that for sure.

OopsieDaisy
29-01-2007, 07:22 PM
I am looking forward to.....

My vein going down and being able to walk and have urmmmmm sex :o

*babygirl*
29-01-2007, 08:14 PM
lol...i think we're all missing some things more than others lol:o

i cant wait to:
*hold my baby girl.
*eat the things i've been missing.(*sushi and cheeses*)
*have sex without worrying about squishing bubs:rolleyes:
*being able to have a good snuggle with dp and get closer than i can atm lol..
*being able to bend over and stand without feeling dizzy.
*and definately having a few drinks with dp and mates over the weekends...

but all in all... i think i just want to see my bubs:yes:

twitch
29-01-2007, 08:15 PM
I am looking forward to.....

My vein going down and being able to walk and have urmmmmm sex :o

:laughing: :laughing:

OopsieDaisy
30-01-2007, 09:39 AM
:laughing: :laughing:

HAHA it's true :o
Last night I promised DH a special something... mwa hahaha but oops I fell asleep on him... poor guy must be hard for him :rolleyes:

OopsieDaisy
30-01-2007, 09:40 AM
Random Question of the Day:
Have you got a linea nigra yet (is that how it is spelt LOL?)

charlis_mum
30-01-2007, 09:48 AM
Dunno how to spell it - but i know what you mean!! :laughing: Yup, sure have. I have olive type skin, so it didn't take long to pop up again. It was there for my first too. Getting a bit darker, but still not hugely noticable.

Michelle_N
30-01-2007, 10:53 AM
Nope I dont have one and I want one! Guess I must be too fair. My belly button didnt even pop out either!! No fair!

But I do have varicose veins....do they count?:laughing:

OopsieDaisy
30-01-2007, 11:31 AM
Nope I dont have one and I want one! Guess I must be too fair. My belly button didnt even pop out either!! No fair!

But I do have varicose veins....do they count?:laughing:

HAHA got them too LOL

Nope I do not have the line either yet... did get a very very faint one last time though!

borntobemummy
30-01-2007, 11:41 AM
I don't have the line and didn't get it with DD, so I'm not expecting one any time soon:rolleyes:
I did get plenty of red lines (stretchies), do they count:D

Kayte
30-01-2007, 11:44 AM
Hi Girls !

Hope your all well !

Went to docs yesterday. Bubs is fine. Both my kidneys are infected aswell as my bladder. If im still in pain tomorrow its off to hospital for me and i will be in for 3 days on a drip ! Eek.. Not feeling slightest bit better today so who knows what tomorrow will bring !!!

Just wanted 2 let you all know ! Back to bed!

Big belly rubs !!!!! Im 25 weeks tomorrow ! Omg its going so fast !

twitch
30-01-2007, 11:49 AM
Oh Kayte, all the best for a speedy recovery for you. Rest up :hugs:

twitch
30-01-2007, 11:51 AM
Hhmm, I don't have that line yet, but I've developed heaps of dark hairs there! It looks like my bikini line is migrating north towards my belly :laughing: Not a good look!

LusciousMum23
30-01-2007, 12:09 PM
HAHA it's true :o
Last night I promised DH a special something... mwa hahaha but oops I fell asleep on him... poor guy must be hard for him :rolleyes:

:laughing: Kristy,My DH is in the same boat as yours but he's been telling anyone who'll listen that he's been living on 'hand outs' since i've been pg:rolleyes:

I haven't got the line yet.Had it at week 15 with both boys pregnancies but this time nothing....even the stretch marks are left overs from the last 2 times!!

Alli 29
DH 29
DS1 31/3/01
DS2 25/9/03
EDD 31/5/07 GIRL

OopsieDaisy
30-01-2007, 01:40 PM
HAHA Alli men hey! :cool:

Kayte, rest up! :hugs:

30-01-2007, 05:00 PM
Random Question of the Day:
Have you got a linea nigra yet (is that how it is spelt LOL?)

Nope - but lots of stretchies which are GROSS!

I've developed heaps of dark hairs there! It looks like my bikini line is migrating north towards my belly

Oh good - so I'm not the only one!!! Eh - aren't they ewwy... The other week I used a hair removal cream; but they came back thicker and darker than before! So yesterday I made hubby pluck them out one by one with the tweezers. Sad to say I think he enjoyed himself - I'm just glad that they're gone!!

Both my kidneys are infected aswell as my bladder. If im still in pain tomorrow its off to hospital for me and i will be in for 3 days on a drip...

Oh Kayte! Please take care of yourself chicky - we are all thinking of you and hoping that the infections clear up ASAP :fingerscrossed:

And as for me - yesterday I experienced Braxton Hicks (BH) for the first time - and then again today. I certainly wasn't expecting it at all... Eh - felt horrible!

Tanya1985
30-01-2007, 05:09 PM
I don't have a line yet but like some of you I have strech marks, only a few and Palmers Coccoa butter seems to be keeping any more at bay for the moment.

And the sex thing, I had a 'Discussion" with my DP about it last night, I said that he shoudl be happy he is getting it twice a week, but he keeps reminding me that after the baby comes he won't get any for AGES..... poor thing! I wish he would think about WHY he can't have any for a while after the birth.... it could be because I would have pushed something that big out!:laughing: I am sure he will get over it!

SammiJane
30-01-2007, 05:30 PM
I do have the line, its not super dark but its there. And so far i only have one stretchie on each side of my belly....
I was really lucky when i had my boys and didnt get any... the two that i have now was from loosing heaps and heaps of weight years ago.

carly29
30-01-2007, 06:03 PM
No line down my belly, which i did have with both boys..weird... my original strechies (3) (which have grown off of an old appendix scar.) are growing, i was so lucky thats all i got, im at the point of no return with my bikini line!! as i can no longer see it!! my DH says he will keep it under control for the next few months, just to save us getting the council in with the hedge trimmer!!! - He thought it was funny i didnt:D

LusciousMum23
30-01-2007, 06:45 PM
No line down my belly, which i did have with both boys..weird... my original strechies (3) (which have grown off of an old appendix scar.) are growing, i was so lucky thats all i got, im at the point of no return with my bikini line!! as i can no longer see it!! my DH says he will keep it under control for the next few months, just to save us getting the council in with the hedge trimmer!!! - He thought it was funny i didnt:D

I couldn't believe the sight of my bikini line after having DS1 , it looked like Chubacca (Sp?) from Star Wars:eek: and now the same thing is happening all over again!

charlis_mum
30-01-2007, 07:22 PM
Kayte - sending you heaps of get better soon vibes :wizard: I hope it all clears up soon, a few days in hospy don't sound nice.

Hmm yes - the bikini line migrating is definately not a good look, but i've got it going on too!! I sometimes sit there with tweezers & pluck all the hairs i can see, but they come back again! Going to try & book in at the beauticians in a week or so, but i'm a bit embarrassed that they will be horrified by the sight of such a hairy animal. :laughing:

On the 'action' scene - DH has been lucky to get it once a month since i fell preggas. I was always feeling far too naseuas to consider it, and now i am feeling so big. Plus it's always a but of a turn-off if bubs kicks like mad, or i get a braxton hicks in the middle of it all.

So far no new stretchies - i have 4 lightnight bolt shaped ones on the bottom of my belly from DD, but I can't see them well!! I am sure they are getting bigger though.

*babygirl*
30-01-2007, 07:22 PM
lol to asnwer your question three sweet peas... no i dont and i've been keeping a look out lol... but stretch marks are slowly making their way up.. i feel like soon ill have lines going from tops of boobs to groin lol... they will join up soon:eek: lol
i have the hairs too :( i've just been buying nair strips and waxing that little bit off... DP has promised to either help me keep 'down there' in relatively acceptable condition... or not laugh at the new hairy me lol..:o

i understand how your DP's feel.... atm we are still going strong... but i told him soon it will only be a few times a week and then it will be nothing after bubs is born at least for the recommended 6 weeks lol... and i TRIED to explain to him that if things arent 'good' down there... it might not be 'textbook' and he may have to wiat a little longer.. poor fella. oh well i think holding bubs will be worth it :yes:

belinda4879
30-01-2007, 07:42 PM
Hello everybody, hope everyone is going good. I am fantastic I got my short term results for my amnio everything was normal. I have never been so happy it was such a relief. I had been told that I had some soft markers for down syndrome on my 20 week scan. I had my scan when I was 18 weeks and I only found out about this last week and am now 24 weeks and was very upset that I hadnt been told earlier as amnio arent meant to be perfomed by this stage but it was recommended by a genetic counsellor. I am so happy that bub is healthy. The actual amnio wasnt that bad either, just stressful praying that I wouldnt miscarry for the 48 hrs after it.

:) :) :) :)

OopsieDaisy
30-01-2007, 08:44 PM
I don't have a line yet but like some of you I have strech marks, only a few and Palmers Coccoa butter seems to be keeping any more at bay for the moment.

And the sex thing, I had a 'Discussion" with my DP about it last night, I said that he shoudl be happy he is getting it twice a week, but he keeps reminding me that after the baby comes he won't get any for AGES..... poor thing! I wish he would think about WHY he can't have any for a while after the birth.... it could be because I would have pushed something that big out!:laughing: I am sure he will get over it!

Oh poor them hey! What about US? LOL
LEt's send our DP/DH out to buy themselves a blow up a dolly hehehehe if they are that worried~~!!

*babygirl*
30-01-2007, 09:34 PM
no blow up dolly for my man!!!:mad: if i have to push HIS baby out of my vagina, breastfeed, change pooey nappies and the like... HE can wait a few weeks for me lol :yes:

im not bitter lol.. but there is no easy escape for him!!! like you said 'WHAT ABOUT US???'

charlis_mum
31-01-2007, 05:42 AM
Glad to hear you got good results Belinda! It would have been scary to go through - but now you can relax and enjoy the rest of your pregnancy. :smiliedance:

twitch
31-01-2007, 10:45 AM
Congrats Belinda that's great news!

Well before I got pg I was all over DH when we were ttc, now he's lucky if I give him a look in once a week. Poor bugger. He's been really good about it, I don't know how I'd go if he was mean about it.

Steph_mum2Jayden
31-01-2007, 11:31 AM
I haven't gotten the line either... but I do have the hairs...and the stretchies on my breasts...they've gone up more than two sizes....

As for the nighttime activities.... DH has been too afraid to touch me since I've gotten preggers... he's afraid it might hurt the baby....lol.. espicially after I had a scare at six weeks... he's only gotten it once....and he was sooo worried...lol... too cute

OopsieDaisy
31-01-2007, 02:41 PM
Random Question of the Day: What are you more inclined to eat? Something sweet or something savoury?

borntobemummy
31-01-2007, 02:55 PM
savoury I think, depends on the current craving:p

31-01-2007, 03:28 PM
Random Question of the Day: What are you more inclined to eat? Something sweet or something savoury?

Sweet - ALL the way :thumbsup: I've made half a dozen batches of chocolate brownies, and really should buy shares in Cadbury and Lindt :rolleyes: So naughty!!! :eek: :laughing:

belinda4879
31-01-2007, 03:38 PM
wasnt much of a chocolate muncher prior to being pregnant and now I love the stuff. DP is a food nazi though, dammit. And I cant get enough of pickled onions. So i'm a bit of both.

I think I am lucky so far at least but I am still not very big, big for me though. I dont have any stretch marks (that I can see) or the line but those black hairs!!! ooooh I hate them!!!

Bri44
31-01-2007, 04:23 PM

Hi Guys
I have always been a savoury eater but usually still enjoy i really bad piece of cake every now and again, but since i've been pregnant i haven't been able to stomach the cakes (not fair). Strangely enough i think i actually miss them, mind you my my butt and hips won't be missing them. I still occasionally get a craving for a bit of chocolate but not very often and i eat 1 or 2 squares and i've had my limit. Mind you i think my DH makes up for it, he loves his chocolate and will sit there just about every night and eat a whole block while watching tv!!
By the way has anyone else booked in for there Glucose test? I rang this morning and found out all the info and gee it changed since i had my last. They say now i have to increase carbs 3 days before and that i have to strave from 11pm the previous night (appt at 8am thankfullly), but the hardest part is that i work mornings so by the time the 2hr test is finished and then my doctors appt is after that i am going to be starving!!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsdown:

31-01-2007, 04:34 PM
DP is a food nazi though, dammit

Ohhh - mine is too. Stupid me began a 'stash' - but pg brain kicked in when I put it behind the doppler in my bedside drawer - of COURSE he is going to find it there!!! :rolleyes:

Note to self: Must build up stash! :laughing:

OopsieDaisy
31-01-2007, 04:45 PM
Hi Guys
I have always been a savoury eater but usually still enjoy i really bad piece of cake every now and again, but since i've been pregnant i haven't been able to stomach the cakes (not fair). Strangely enough i think i actually miss them, mind you my my butt and hips won't be missing them. I still occasionally get a craving for a bit of chocolate but not very often and i eat 1 or 2 squares and i've had my limit. Mind you i think my DH makes up for it, he loves his chocolate and will sit there just about every night and eat a whole block while watching tv!!
By the way has anyone else booked in for there Glucose test? I rang this morning and found out all the info and gee it changed since i had my last. They say now i have to increase carbs 3 days before and that i have to strave from 11pm the previous night (appt at 8am thankfullly), but the hardest part is that i work mornings so by the time the 2hr test is finished and then my doctors appt is after that i am going to be starving!!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsdown:

I am more savoury!

I have my GT on Monday all I have to do is stay still for an hour and no eating or drinking during that hour, only water..

LusciousMum23
31-01-2007, 07:43 PM

I would have to say sweet (i'm eating a packet of cream-filled biccies now) :o

littlegreenfrog
01-02-2007, 07:49 AM
hello may mummies!

I'm Trudie and preg with my 3rd and last bub and due on the 12th of may.
I'm also going to try a vbac after 2 c/s.

will like to join.

Trudie

OopsieDaisy
01-02-2007, 09:03 AM
hello may mummies!

I'm Trudie and preg with my 3rd and last bub and due on the 12th of may.
I'm also going to try a vbac after 2 c/s.

will like to join.

Trudie

Welcome Trudie!!!

I am aiming for a vbac aswell!
Do you know what you are having? What are your other 2 children?

twitch
01-02-2007, 09:36 AM
I used to be a savoury person but I've switched to the other side - can't keep me away from sugar mwahaha!

Welcome Trudie :wave:

What's the deal with the glucose test? Does the OB book you for that or do you have to do it yourself?

belinda4879
01-02-2007, 11:55 AM
hello trudy.

Yeah what is this glucose test?? I have not heard anthing about it, please explain?? What is it for?

borntobemummy
01-02-2007, 12:08 PM
Hi Trudy:wave: I'm going for a VBAC too:smiliedance:

the glucose test is to check your blood sugar levels for gestational diabetes;)

Michelle_N
01-02-2007, 12:20 PM
Welcome Trudi!

The glucose test is a pain! You have to fast and drink this horrible extremely sweet drink and they take your blood either twice or three times over 3 hours to measure your insulin to see if you have gestational diabeties.

Usually the doc will make you get one at about 30-ish weeks and you have to do it at a blood test place.

As for a preference between savoury or sweet well lets say I like my savoury then I like my sweet preferably at each meal! :laughing: I dont discriminate!

OopsieDaisy
01-02-2007, 12:23 PM
hello trudy.

Yeah what is this glucose test?? I have not heard anthing about it, please explain?? What is it for?

Wow it seems so different for everyone?!!

For me, I go to the hospital,drinkt the drink and have to sit in the waiting area for an hour, no eating and only drinking water if need be. Then they take my blood after an hour....

It isn't routine either, I was selected cos of bigger sized babies in the past which can be a sign on GD.

OopsieDaisy
01-02-2007, 12:24 PM
Random Question of the Day: Would you like an epidural during the birth?

borntobemummy
01-02-2007, 12:25 PM
mine's the same as yours Kristy, except I think it is routine at my hospy.

belinda4879
01-02-2007, 01:25 PM
okay, so the dr will identify whether you need to have one or not?

I was interested in having a water birth but the hospital I am going to doesnt do them, but they have a labour pool to sit in. The midwife I seen when I booked into the hospital went through all the pain relief with me but I guess I wont know until the day I am not against drugs or anything so I guess seeing as this is my first I will see what happens on the day and our much I can handle.

Any pro's and con's advice would be great.

WeloveHarriet
01-02-2007, 01:59 PM
Had an epi with last labour - it was brilliant. Will again attempt to last as long as possible but if it is needed I will use it. I am a great believer in that only YOU know what your pain threshold is and until you have gone through labour you cannot begin to imagine what it entails. JMO.

Isn't the first glucose test only the 1hr one? Yep you still drink the yukky drink and they only take one blood sample. If you fail that one then you have to do the 3hr one (which is triplally (I know no such word!!) bad then the first). I failed the first with DD and ended up with gestational diabetes - luckily it was diet controlled and didn't need to have insulin injections.

belinda4879
01-02-2007, 02:07 PM
when you had your epi could you walk after it? A friend of mine had epi's with both her kids and says she was able to walk and have a shower straight after, but when I asked at my hospital the lady said we have never had a walking epidural. Just wondering what the norm is?

Thats my plan go in with an open mind and have what I need on the day.

Michelle_N
01-02-2007, 02:09 PM
Isn't the first glucose test only the 1hr one? Yep you still drink the yukky drink and they only take one blood sample. If you fail that one then you have to do the 3hr one (which is triplally (I know no such word!!) bad then the first). I failed the first with DD and ended up with gestational diabetes - luckily it was diet controlled and didn't need to have insulin injections.

I think all docs are different. Mine always wants a glucose test done and its the 3 hour one. I would have loved to do only one hour! I was sooo hungry and sick by the end I had to get food ASAP and the closest was Maccas!

But belinda4879 as for pain relief just remember its there for when you need it. If you dont great. If you do great. Do be afraid to have it as its there to help you. I know some people feel like they are less then a woman as they couldnt go without pain relief but you know, it hurts and when you are in pain you take something to make it go away.

I had it all! Gas (that was so much fun!), pethadine and an epi and my bubs turned out fine, I had no trouble breastfeeding and recovered fine as well.

I am sure on the day you wont have any doubts about what you want and dont want! :D My docs knew exactly what I wanted and when...and I wasnt going to have any drugs!

Just keep an open mind!

Michelle_N
01-02-2007, 02:12 PM
when you had your epi could you walk after it? A friend of mine had epi's with both her kids and says she was able to walk and have a shower straight after, but when I asked at my hospital the lady said we have never had a walking epidural. Just wondering what the norm is?

Thats my plan go in with an open mind and have what I need on the day.

From my understanding they dont do a lot of walking epis as it can be dangerous for you and the bubs (someone correct me if I am wrong).

Probably in your friends case they didnt give her a high dose of drug so it wore off quickly so she could move around faster.

A doc could probably explain it a lot better then I can. When I had my epi I was able to move my legs but didnt feel like walking anywhere as I had a c/s.

twitch
01-02-2007, 02:30 PM
I'm keeping a very open mind about my labour. I'm ok with a vaginal birth, or a c/s, drugs, or no drugs, walking, sitting, standing, laying, whatever! Every mum says to me "Go the epidural", so if I want/need it at the time then I'll have it. I trust my Ob completely so I'm happy to go with his recommendations.

WeloveHarriet
01-02-2007, 02:45 PM
With my epi I could still feel the contractions but no pain and still move my feet but not my legs - which made me laugh as it was sort of like when your leg goes to sleep - felt really weird. They turned the epi off once DD was delivered and within 1hr I was up and showering. I wanted to walk to my room from the delivery suite but they made me use a wheelchair (hospy policy).

You're right - just keep an open mind to everything - that is my policy - and then I think if the unexpected happens then it won't upset the process too much. Our DD was born concussed and had to be taken into Special Care Nursery for 3dys after birth which meant that they tube fed her (4wks early as well). I tried to just always focus on the positives and we had the best experience. She took to breastfeeding like a pro - we only weaned at 9mths to help our chances of conceiving this new bub - and was an angel from day 1.

My big motto - don't stress over anything you have no control over - it doesn't help in anyway. You can only do what you can do.

Ooooh ladies not long now for us!!!!! How exciting!!!!

miss ani
01-02-2007, 04:08 PM
kayte - i'm glad to hear that bubs and yourself are fine!! hope the infection clears soon!!

eating cheese. i love my food... especially weird and wonderful cheeses. i'm really missing soft, gooey, mouldy cheeses!! argh!!

OopsieDaisy
01-02-2007, 04:15 PM

I am so scared of them! I am not sure why exactly I think it is the thought of my spine being meddled with. I have never had one before.
I also really want to be active with this labour but I guess when the time comes we will see!! If I am in sooo much pain and want one I will otherwise I don't see me asking for once until I reach my breaking point!

miss ani
01-02-2007, 04:19 PM
trying to catch up....

all these random daily questions i keep missing!!

- faint linea nigra... very faint. i am getting the hairy belly, i was trying to remove it for a while but then couldn't be bothered.

- no epi for me - unless i have a c/s. i'm aiming for a natural birth with only gas if needed. DP , my mum (doula) and i are working on hypnobirthing so i'm hoping to be able to follow through with that.

belinda, glad your amnio results were positive!

welcome trudie!

i'm being sent off for the glucose test as well. both my paternal grandparents had type 2 diabetes, and i've had sugar problems in the past so just to be safe. i thought i would have to fast, but the ob told me that it wasn't neccessary.

OopsieDaisy
02-02-2007, 11:58 AM
Random Question of the Day: How often do you wake in the night to go to the toilet?

miss ani
02-02-2007, 12:11 PM
once or twice - depending on how much i've drunk before i go to bed!

borntobemummy
02-02-2007, 12:22 PM
I haven't had to wake up during the night this pregnancy, but I am REALLY busting by the time DD wakes me up in the morning:yes:

As for Epi...I must've missed that question. I'd like to avoid all drugs and hopefully stay in the bath and give birth in there (the hospital doesn't like water births for VBACs, but with my Doula there, maybe we can work something out;) )

02-02-2007, 01:38 PM
Random Question of the Day: How often do you wake in the night to go to the toilet?

I'm trying not to drink too much before I go to bed - so usually 2 or 3 times during the night I still have to pee. Also depends on how active bub is!

Today I met the second doula and decided that I will go with her for my bub's birth. I'm so excited now and kind of relieved that I know that regardless of having a c/sect or a natural birth I'll be having one.

So now to celebrate! Where is that chocolate??? :D

miss ani
02-02-2007, 01:42 PM
PL that's great that you've found a doula you feel comfortable with. :)

you can share this big tub of chocolate chip ice-cream i have, with me!!

Foxy
02-02-2007, 01:44 PM

It has been soooo hot here, I am drinking so much water so - once or twice at the moment. :sleeping:

LusciousMum23
02-02-2007, 01:57 PM
I missed the epidural question too...Not sure if I'll have one, will probably depend on the quickness of the labour.I only used the gas with the boys births.The midwife was going to organise a epi for me during DS2 birth but he popped out 6 minutes after she broke my water! I am a bit of a sook with needles so I'd most likely chicken out anyway.:o

I don't wake up during the night to wee anymore (I have to if boys wake me etc) but by morning I'm bursting!!

Hope everyone is feeling O.k today?

OopsieDaisy
02-02-2007, 02:26 PM
I wake at least 2-3, 2 weeks ago it was about 5 or more thankgod it has settled a bit now!

Steph_mum2Jayden
02-02-2007, 03:33 PM
at about 15 weeks I was up about 2 times a night... now its only very rare I have to get up once... but like most of you by the morning I am busting

OopsieDaisy
03-02-2007, 10:45 AM
Random Question of the Day: Do you need a day nap?

indimay
03-02-2007, 11:02 AM
hi im emma im due may 25. i have a three year old. chat?

OopsieDaisy
03-02-2007, 12:11 PM
hi im emma im due may 25. i have a three year old. chat?
Welcome!!! :wave:

doin'mybest
04-02-2007, 01:20 PM
Hi and welcome Indimay:wave:

Random question: Do i need a nap? Yes :yes: Do i get a nap? Very rarely!:no:

04-02-2007, 03:26 PM

I LOVE a good Nanna Nap! But lately I haven't been sleeping too well at night, so I'm going to try and cut out the nanna nap during the day and see if I sleep better at night.

Okay - now someone tell me that there is LOGIC in that somewhere :confused: :laughing:

borntobemummy
04-02-2007, 06:04 PM
I do need naps but I often go on Bubhub when DD has her sleep and lose my chance:rolleyes: Sometimes I get so tired though that I fall asleep on the lounge while DD is playing, as soon as she notices I'm asleep she climbas all over me and pokes my nose and tries to open my eyes:D

OopsieDaisy
04-02-2007, 08:14 PM
Sorry guys this one is late!!

Random Question of the Day (or night lol): Did you or do you suffer morning sickness?

04-02-2007, 08:24 PM

Random Question of the Day (or night lol): Did you or do you suffer morning sickness?

I did - and thankfully haven't since about 11 or 12 weeks along :thumbsup: Just woke up one day and felt brilliant :D

OopsieDaisy
04-02-2007, 08:28 PM

YESSSSSS good 20 weeks or so :barf:

Does someone want to do tomorrows question for me as I won't be home... :idea:

miss ani
04-02-2007, 09:17 PM
i had horrible morning sickness at 9 weeks for about 3 weeks... and then it just became nausea for another 3 after that.

charlis_mum
05-02-2007, 05:15 AM

YES! It must have been a man that called it morning sickness too! For me it was more like all day nausea & :barf: . I hav been in hospital twice to be on a drip and at 26 weeks i have just decreased the Zofran to 4mg a day. That's the only way i canget throught the day with no puking & only slight nausea.

charlis_mum
05-02-2007, 05:26 AM
Whoops looks like I missed a bit working full-time last week!!

Welcome Trudy & Emma!!

Probably more inclived to eat something sweet - stone fruits, or ice-cream!!

Probably not (but i'm open to change!!) I thought about it last time as it can lower your BP (and i had high BP) but during labour my 140/95 went to a perfect 110/70 and stayed that way until after DD was born.:smiliedance:

About 2 or 3 at the moment. :no:

Ooooh yes!!! At work last week i so just wanted to put my head on the desk for a nap! Usually around 1-2ish. When home i lay on the lounge & rest (can't always sleep) for an hour when DD is asleep. But like borntobemummy I often spend that time in bubhub so miss my chance.

It's not fair being at work - i miss too much!! This is my last full-time week, then 2.5 weeks until maternity leave starts! I can't wait.:yelclap:

WeloveHarriet
05-02-2007, 11:05 AM
LOL I am so slack that I have only just today requested an extension to my maternity leave at work - Retail Resourcing is going to get a shock when they see that I am already 25wks hahahaha.

No nana naps here - too busy getting house on the market.

twitch
05-02-2007, 11:22 AM
Ooh a nanna nap, how cool would that be! I don't get one cos I'm still working full time, but I would love to have a snooze after lunch.

As for m/s I was so lucky, I didn't get sick at all.

I haven't got up for the toilet once during the night, maybe I need to drink more water...

twitch
05-02-2007, 11:29 AM
In Kristy's absence....

Random question of the day:

What is your favourite part of pregnancy?

For me, it's laying down at night and seeing little elbows and knees poking up through my belly. I just love that :D

05-02-2007, 12:54 PM
In Kristy's absence....

Cheers - I was wondering who would do today's question! :D I'm loving them!

Favourite part of pregnancy... not needing an excuse to wanting chocolate and ice cream 24/7 :yes: LOL - Oh and feeling bub grow and move inside of me. I love knowing that I am supplying everything that he needs to become a real little human :kiss:

jeski
05-02-2007, 01:20 PM

I also love feeling my bub's little kicks, but probably my favourite part of pregnancy so far has been just generally feeling a lot healthier than I did before. I smoked and drank quite a bit before I got pregnant, and since quitting all of that completely I feel so much better. (I found it really easy to give up the smoking and drinking even before I knew I was pregnant, due to morning sickness :p)

miss ani
05-02-2007, 01:53 PM
In Kristy's absence....

For me, it's laying down at night and seeing little elbows and knees poking up through my belly. I just love that :D

i love that too!! :) feeling her move about is just great, and so reassuring. the best part is when she wriggles hearing DP's voice when he comes home!! at first i thought i was imagining things, but after seeing/feeling a pattern over the last week, i'm convinced she reacts to his voice!!

belinda4879
06-02-2007, 09:37 AM
feeling the movement is great, its the best part. But I am loving that DP is so soft with me now he has gotten to be very sweet and is getting so excited, now he can see things happening.

twitch
06-02-2007, 10:07 AM
Miss Ani, my bubs does the same when DH gets home. I thought I was imagining it but over the last 3 or 4 days I've really noticed it. She also goes crazy when I'm typing at work, it must be another familiar sound.

charlis_mum
06-02-2007, 10:54 AM
yup - definately the movements of bubs kicking about is my fave part! It's something i really missed after i had DD - so am taking every opportunity to enjoy it this time.

Last night it looked like he was having a party in there or something. Massive kicks you could see, then DH started poking him & he would poke straight back - it was awesome.:wizard: