View Full Version : Video Editing

emmas
11-12-2006, 22:19
I've just started up a business doing video editing (well, it's about 1 day old! LOL!!)

anyway, i'm after some help in what to charge people and if you would use services like this or not.

it's nothing flash, but aimed more at those who have a video camera but don't have the time, or couldn't really be bothered to convert it into a dvd.

so, if this is you- what would you be prepared to pay for this service? I was thinking about $35 for 1 hour of unedited footage? for example- if you had a birthday party and the footage of the day is around 1 hour- i would be editing that, adding music and basic effects and then presenting it to you on a dvd.

do you think this idea is viable???

does anyone have any thoughts or questions- things that i should be thinking about??

Thanks so much everyone!!

Emma.

mum2littleman
11-12-2006, 22:54
i like to do mine my self as i like things to be just the way i would want them to be but im sure there are ppl out there that would love it, as i know there are heaps of ppl that have no idea when it comes to that..
what a great idea i hope all turns out really well with that.:thumbsup:

Jinglebells
11-12-2006, 23:02
I like to do my own so i'm of no help really lol

but what you could do to get some idea is ring round a few companies to find out what they charge and what for, that will give you a idea

danielle13
12-12-2006, 07:12
I think it's a great idea! And $35/hr is quite reasonable.
I'd definitely use it, I have alot of video of DD that I'd like to edit down and copy to send to people, but I'm sure I'm not the only one who has no idea how to do it!
Don't really have any suggestions sorry, just giving you a :thumbsup: on the idea!

shinebrite
12-12-2006, 07:26
Hey this sounds like a great idea! are u just wanting ppl locally or from anywhere around Aus? coz u can hav ur own site on myspace which is great advertisment..

just a few ides:

You could do a section of the business just for like babies? do like an advertisment that intices people who have footage on their bubs. Or then again ppl who have heaps of birthdays on camera? or even the first five years of bubs life?

I have a friend who works for the ABC here in canberra and he does a DVD for all his kids for every 5years and they are lovely!

you could have a lilst of suggestions songs to go as a back ground or obviosly they could pick their own..Our wedding DVD our friend made is awesome! it has 4 different songs and at the start you can pick either 4 of them to play and most of the reception wedding is actually in those 4 songs...

Personally I dont think $35 is enough for editing as it takes so much time!

mayb you could charge by the hour and then extra for how many DVDs they want?

target it to the customers that its a great christmas, birthday, mothersday present.... I wuld definatly ring up and ask around for prices though...

Hope that helped a little....

emmas
12-12-2006, 07:31
Thanks everyone! i dont' want to get too carried away with it at the moment as i would need to update my skills with courses etc, but my website would be very basic and includes a link to a site where i have uploaded a couple of videos so you can see what you would be getting first hand.

i also think i need to speak to people first and then give a quote- obviously if their footage is on vhs and they want it on dvd, that's going to take a little longer!!

Emma.

shed
12-12-2006, 07:43
Yep, I would use a service like that. I am fairly computer savvy and have a background in design, but now that I am a mum I don't think I can be bothered learning how to do that.

I'd pay $35 an hour for it.

Good idea. We have some footage but its long and gets boring. I would like to get it made into a liddle movie to send to my parents every few months.

Sign me up!! oh hang on, no, don't sign me up because I don't want you to get moderated for advertising.

sign me up

Jenko
12-12-2006, 07:48
I think it's a great idea. I have no idea about that stuff. Neither does my mum, she would definately use something like that.

We recently enquired at a photo shop about prices and got quoted $50 (they had to send it away), so i think $35 is great! :thumbsup:

Mrs Potts
12-12-2006, 12:54
$35 p/h sounds reasonable.

By all means, ring around and see what others charge - but make sure you are comparing like with like. That is, there's no point ringing a professional production house as they charge upwards of $250 p/h for an edit suite, and they wouldn't touch this kind of work anyway. You will need to find others who do the same thing you are planning to do.

You will need to take into account whether they want you to produce things like title screens, as this will incur more time and the use of a graphics program like Photoshop.
Also as this will be a commercial venture, you won't be able to use commercial music unless you apply to APRA for licencing and this costs. It also involves answering to them on a monthly basis telling them what music you have used, and you will be charged accordingly.

Will you be registering a business name and getting an ABN? This is all stuff you need to think about.

If you have any questions regarding the technical side of things, please feel free to ask. I am a video producer/editor for a production house specialising in tv commercials and corporate videos.

emmas
13-12-2006, 14:37
ok, thanks everyone for your help. i'm all set to go, music licence sorted, website nearly up- but i need a business name!!!

can anyone help!! i've been thinking so much, but can't really seem to think of anything special. i dont' want a professional sounding name (mainly cause i'm not!!- we compared to those who charge professionally anyway). The idea is converting home/domestic videos onto dvd- anyone got any thoughts???

TIA!!

Becteria
13-12-2006, 15:01
Home Movie Magician :wizard: ???

emmas
15-12-2006, 09:59
Thanks Maikeysmum! That's a good one! i'm not sure if it goes with my website though.. still thinking really...

does anyone know of any good private video hosters? i don't want to use youtube, or myspace, or google etc as they are public and anyone can see them. i've got one at the moment with some of my previews on it, but its going to cost $100 per year to upload my videos and i dont' quite have that right now......

Princess naimh,thanks for your idea- i'll probably use my rate for basic stuff and give everyone a quote for the whole dvd before i start anything.

Thanks again everyone- you have all been soo helpful!!!

Mother Duck
15-12-2006, 12:32
Sign me up!! oh hang on, no, don't sign me up because I don't want you to get moderated for advertising.

sign me up

*Section Moderator smiles and thinks, nah she'll be right!*
;)